Submitted by Bush Tea

barbadosnationalbankOK, I admit that Bush Tea is a freak that suffers from strange brain waves and, like some living at a certain place in Black Rock, cannot be relied on to have rational opinions. But cud dear, even in such a state Bush Tea is challenged to understand why we would want to buy back the BNB.

Admittedly, we should never have sold it in the first place. But having sold the thing – and it seems like the buyers were happy, we were happy, everybody was happy – now I am hearing all sorts of big-up bright people talking about finding hundreds of millions of dollars to buy it back?!?

WHAT THE  ????!!!

A fool and his money are soon parted. Here we have a small country that produces NOTHING. Have no natural resources. Facing difficulties ahead – and from the Prime Minister back talking about spending precious money buying something like BNB???

These people really ‘outside’ the fence at Black Rock?

Listen to Bush Tea’s foolish advise people. Let Republic Bank keep the thing. Why can we not see this as an opportunity to at last produce something for sale –National Banks!!!

All like now, we should have started two more national banks – The National Savings Bank of Barbados and the National Commercial Bank of Barbados. Bush Tea estimates that it would cost about 5 Million dollars each to start such a bank.

Any ‘national bank’ is purely a creature of the government of the country. Government stipulates which institution it will use. Credit Unions decide where they will save their funds. Barbadians decide which bank they will deem to be ‘their’ bank.

In short order, we could also sell these two other ‘national banks’ maybe to Venezuela and Canada for 200 –300 million U$ dollars each. – All the while we starting on ‘national banks’ numbers four, five and six….

This is so obvious. Barbados could be in the business of growing and selling ‘national banks’

Wanna see now why fools are always poor?

Instead of exploiting a super business opportunity and making hundreds of millions of dollars per year, our business ‘experts’ are recommending that we BORROW money to buy something that we can replicate for next to nothing. Well! Well! Well!

In the old days when we had people like the Dipper in charge (and when the Bush Tea had a younger and more agile brain) we had this identical situation and it is well documented in calypso.

Apparently, a Trini decided to invest some meat in a Bajan pot of rice. That old time Baje readily acquiesced to the investment and everything went well until things came to a boil, at which point the ‘Dipper era Baje’ invited the Trini to hold on to his investment while that Baje divested his shares of rice.

Um is the same thing. What buy back what meat what?

1. BAFBFP // March 1, 2009 at 9:01 pm

Elombe
    You worry me.
    ===========================

ha ha ha I know you did not get his disclaimer, i didn’t either. This Joker is no Elombe.

2. David Thompson explained himself on the BNB issue tonight with calm assurance and clarity.

He knocked aside Michael Howard with consummate ease yet humility.

Obama and David Thompson are the young men we should be proud of: bright, articulate and humble.

3. Wuh, you is real yardfowl yuh!!

4. Given that Republic Bank has said that BNB is not up for sale all this talk about buying BNB is just piss froth: along the lines of
    * the vegetables from Dominica,
    * the fishing agreement with Trinidad, *the reduction in the cost of living (where is Costco?),
    * the completion of the ABC highway by mid 2008,
    * the declaration of assets
    * immigration reform and
    * QEH expansion and refurbishment.

5. Adrian Hinds // March 1, 2009 at 6:44 pm

Hally Hanyes opinion was specific. Enter into a partnership with Government and other LOCAL persons, even bjans in the diaspora, to conceptualize and fund A NEW BANK.

Go to the basics.

A partnership is like a marriage.

While the two parties will be different in many ways and in some ways compliment each other, they better had have something deep and lasting in common.

David Thompson looks at what happened in the OECS and the nationalist agenda imposed on the national banks there and bemoans the fact that the GOB does not have this option here.

The Credit Unions bemoan the regulations which constrain their operations.

Where is the commonality?

Why would parties with such disparate positions even want to come together?

What is the commonality they possess?

Is the profit motive a sufficient commonality to create a lasting relationship?

Is this the only reason why new businesses are formed?

…. and where is a third party or parties to be found that will make a menage a trois work?

There just seems to me that the fundamentals are missing.

It may sound good on paper but …….!!!

Families have been making businesses for generations all around the globe.

Fix the family!!

Concentrate on this fundamental of strong societies.

6. Don’t mind how much yardfowl I am. Two years ago, I didn’t even care about politics. And I once liked Owen Arthur. Something stirred me in 2008. I discovered the man I liked is a crook. And the facts came out again last night.

Taking $80,000.00 in donations from the subsidiary of Clico, ignoring the statutory deficit and licensing the company, then blaming David Thompson! What a story…

I am proud of my PM, his intelligence, his wit and his command of issues. That can’t come from coaching. He has it in him.

I feel good this morning!

7. @wuh…you fah real?…Ask de PM how much money HE tek from Clico in donations*schupse* politicians always telling one side of a story. Also, look at the other regional governments, Clico all over was allowed to continue business with a statutory deficit-look at Big Trinidad, anybody blaming Manning?The PM was in opposition AND was /is Parris bff AND was Clico lawyer..so you mean to tell me he didn’t know anything?Think, please.
    As for Mia, she needs to come off it. I tired of politicians now, I believe nothing they say, I don’t see why you do.

8. Wuh? // March 2, 2009 at 7:36 am

Don’t mind how much yardfowl I am. Two years ago, I didn’t even care about politics. And I once liked Owen Arthur. Something stirred me in 2008. I discovered the man I liked is a crook. And the facts came out again last night.

Taking $80,000.00 in donations from the subsidiary of Clico, ignoring the statutory deficit and licensing the company, then blaming David Thompson! What a story…

I am proud of my PM, his intelligence, his wit and his command of issues. That can’t come from coaching. He has it in him.

I feel good this morning!
    ===========================

Wuh? you feeling good means that a lot uh red shirt people got a political hangover, and the minority elites, who are raising hell and dragging Barbados name down, are sure to regroup, to look for the next situation that they can use to rile up Bajans in fear and panic.
    The PM made some favourable comments about the Credit Unions last night, that makes me think he and Hally Haynes are going to see eye to eye on the basics of the CU involments with BNB or something similar. This could open the CU movement to scrutiny of the minority elite, as they search for ways to sure up their declining influence.

9. John: I have no uses for the current family owned bajan business. My mind would not allow me to do business with them no matter what, and that’s the message that i will continue to preach wherever and when ever i can.

10. Adrian

If you go to a supermarket you support and do business with what was once a family owned business.

No doubt members of the family retain some form of shareholding although it is probably a minority interest.

Goddard, Bourne, the big six of the BS&T etc. etc.

If some of the old merchants and traders on Roebuck Street were still open and you went there, you would be supprting a family owned business, Stuart & Sampson, Lynch, R.L. Seale etc etc.

But I note that you use the word current and would ask you to say what differentiates current Barbadian family businesses from those of the past.

Where do you buy your groceries when you are in Bim?

11. John:
    When I am going to Bim, two to three barrels are sent ahead of me. When i am in Barbados my main staple is Sardines, and canned salmon and lemonade home made. lol! Did i tell you that i does have oatmeal and sardines every morning? I do! lol!

The last time i went to Barbados, I have 2,000 us wid me and came back 1700. I have tuh pay customs, renewed the passports, and put a lil someting in the credit union accounts for my nephews. lol! and btw i don’t drink rum!

12. Good for you Adrian!!

I am a teetotaller myself, but I will take a banks beer (BS&T … the big six) or a glass of wine (? ….) when I am close to home with family or good friends.

I get giddy easy.

However, I wonder where the Sardines and canned Salmon come from!!

Perhaps they are supplied to the Shop or supermarket by the trucks of R.L. Seale & Co.

Maybe they come in your barrels from over and away, delivered to the port by one of the shipping lines with local agents (? ….).

I think you are also pushing the the old time Barbadian qualities of thrift and frugality.

These are virtues we have long since forgotten and are not supplied by anyone except perhaps your close family.

You have them or you don’t …. and nobody can’t take them from you.

13. (? ….) means fill in the blanks!!

14. John i understand how interwoven the elite players are in the economic life of Barbados, and i do go out of my way tuh shun dem, but i am realistic tuh know that it is not possible to completely bypass them, but nevertheless i am committed to not spending one dam cent with them, and as a result I end up spending much less than i otherwise would. I had a Banks beer on new years eve(Old years night), it was nostalgic, but atlast i realize that i have moved on. I was disappointed to say the least.
    What i am pushing to my family and other Bajans back home is to seriously withold their dollars from the usual retail players as much as is humanly possible. I saw the head of BARP making the case for amount of spending power her group has.

15. Adrian

We are a bit off topic but I would agree that if you want to influence prices and believe you are being ripped off the simplest way to respond is to find alternatives.

There are monopolies in Barbados that could do with some serious competition to drive down prices.

…. and you are right, that competition is fuelled by people like yourself who consciously go the extra mile to ensure it is fuelled.

My point about families and business is that most successful businesses start off as family businesses.

If in our society we do not promote the family and family values as the incubator of new businesses, then those new businesses we so dearly need to rise up and provide competition will not appear.

Building a business is tough and a family … tougher.

Both take time.

Some people can manage to do both, most cannot.

Many Bajans successfully kept kitchen garden and/or stock to provide both food and cash to get their families through life.

As sole traders Bajans have shown themselves to be very successful and entrepreneurial.

More of us should move the next round up, but I think that we have allowed the skill of building a strong family to lapse.

This is just my observation and opinion.

It might explain why the competing alternatives are not emerging, …. then again it might not.

I prefer this explanation to the one which requires the input of wicked white merchants and planters (how many generations ago).

One of the reasons I prefer my explanation is that I know families whose forebearers came from India with very little after partition, 1947, 48, and who have built successful families and businesses here in Barbados.

The presence of white planters and merchants has not kept them down.

I know “black” and “coloured” families who have likewise started from humble beginnings and have grown a business, or businesses.

I like to watch the Brethren as well, ….. very strong family and work ethic, perhaps a bit too much so for me.

… and the Muslim community is built on family.

It just seems to me that there is alot more to this family thing where business is concerned.

…….. but family can also be subverted and support crime, eg Mafia and other secret Societies.