Prime Minister David Thompson
Opposition Leader Mia Mottley

The following comment was submitted by BU family member Barnabas Collins under a previous blog Questions Must Be Answered. It is a comment which has stimulated animated discussion in the BU household. There was consensus that the comment may have accurately captured the mood of the average Barbadian.

What do you think?

I was not included neither was I excluded, I am a craftsman of my own fate. I am neither B,D or P but I am very very tired of:

1) listening to the opposition criticizing a 9 month old government after being in charge for 14 years though some of the criticism might be true. To me it is obvious that this government is inexperience but I am willing to wait.

2) I am very tired of articles by Albert Brandford, Reudon Eversley and Mr. Statistics. One should be humble in victory especially in politics. It only takes 5 years for your circumstances to change.

3) I am very tired of one particular call-in programme moderator who this afternoon claimed that the public library does not matter but said last year that it was a national shame that the then government could not get the library re-open and at that time I agreed with him.

4) I am not happy with this inference by DLP supporters that the former government did nothing besides steal our money.

5) I am very unhappy with our PM making serious serious allegations on foreign soil. Like if that will help his or our image abroad. It seems that this is a habit that he thinks is good. But I place that habit in the same category with the former PM berating of private citizens at the end of every budget debate. It is classless.

6) I am tired with this ruling by PR that is being embarked upon by this government. Just Do the job that we elected you to do and stop this “governing by PR” like a bajan reality show.

I also want the supporters of both parties to understand that party supporters don’t get political parties elected….full stop.  My Electricity bill has gone up, my gas bill gone up, my insurance gone up, my land tax gone up, bread and biscuits gone up, My spending power and savings are going going gone and all I am getting from this government which includes the opposition is PR from one side and press conferences from the next.

Finally, I am also tired of the hypocrisy in Bim. Our trade unions threatened to shutdown the island because of a dispute with Royal Shop but allow the the moving around of civil servants all about the civil service and having more actors than hollywood and not a peep from the unions.

I wanted change but it seems I getting more of the same. Sad!!

40 responses to “More Of The Same?”

1. He’s right, we need a valid third party to kick serious butt and commit to ISSUES & d e l i v e r – understand, I don’t mean poppets like PEP or the Somass-Freedem, we need a real Rottweiler not any pit-bull! Maybe limit parties to a 3 year term rather than 5, force them to earn their keep

2. “I wanted change but it seems I getting more of the same. Sad!!” – Barnabus Collins

A serious psycho-political and social analysis of the two older and withering parties – DLP and BLP – would show that there is REALLY A SINGLE MIXED PARTY CULTURE IN PLACE IN BARBADOS MORE THAN IT REALLY APPEARS TO BE SO, with regard to the functioning of both DLP and BLP in Barbados.

And, contrary to what some people in Barbados are falsely arguing that there is this two party system in Barbados, there is this said SINGLE MIXED PARTY CULTURE in existence in Barbados, and which happens often to be implied by many persons in Barbados who posit that the DLP and the BLP are the same, ideologically, functionally and essentially.

The newer and more progressive parties PDC and PEP are NOT part of this SINGLE MIXED PARTY CULTURE, because they are operating outside of and are vehemently opposed to this culture, which itself is tending to unwisely put party before country and private interests before public interests.

Of course, only since independence has this SINGLE MIXED PARTY CULTURE emerged over time in Barbados – having reached its greatest height during the joke prime ministership of Mr. Owen Arthur. It is a primary function of those two wretched pre-independence parties becoming more and more familiar to each other yet more and more older yet more and more weaker, and thus more threatened by the coming onto the political scene of any other newer and more progressive parties or other newer political formations that are ultimately about the welfare and well being of significant sectors of public opinion/expression, public mobilization, and public organization esp. of a political nature.

So, to ensure their survival – not necessarily their further development – both DLP and BLP will often – covertly more than overtly – wittingly and unwittingly cooperate between themselves and other social organizations in Barbados like the traditional media, to shut out any possible advances toward their so-called political turf by any of those newer and more people centered political organizations.

Sometimes, some members or even strong supporters of these two older parties become so anxious and fearful of the newer parties and political formations that they even resort to infiltrating the newer parties/political formations with a view of finding out what is happening in these political organizations and then having infiltrated them with a view of destabilizing them or making them shift their political emphases away from their original missions to ones that would favour any of the two older parties. How wicked and evil these persons are!!! Of course, we in PDC know about such because we have experienced a few such cases.

Any how, some of the main factors giving rise to this SINGLE TWO PARTY CULTURE are:

1) The adversarial way in which our parliament/system/its chambers/committees are structured to cater for proposition/opposition which ultimately forces/brings both proposition/opposition together at many points in time (thesis, anti-thesis and then synthesis) – thus helping to create a class of so-called politicians that largely know who they are and that largely look after their own interests from time to time, moreso than the interests of the people/country – NOTwithstanding the appearance of they being DLP and BLP and representing such;

2) The familial, class, religious, professional, fraternal, commercial and other non-partisan ties that – more often than NOT – bring so many DLP and BLP members/SUPPORTERS – including the leaders – of these two older parties together whenever, and that are so difficult to hide in public, and that too provide evidence of the countless similarities and consonances that exist between these same members/supporters, and thus between these members/supporters of these two older parties; there therefore mainly remains for them a few differences that exist among them – including two different labels – DLP and BLP;

3) The fact that many of these DLP and BLP members and their supporters too have been educated in many of the same formal school and university systems and in many of the same informal education and philosophic systems, here and elsewhere, and therefore this reality making it very probable and possible that they will share the same ideologies and philosophies that are or would have been found in these same systems, and making it very probable and possible that they will express themselves essentially the same way or in similar ways or share the same or similiar ideologies and philosophies, even when – in doing so – they do so by cutting across the same wretched older DLP and BLP political lines; and,

4) The fact that the majority of the political sectors in Barbados – being of a particular Western social political tradition, are and have been long normally influencing, and, at times, are and have been long imposing their western adopted ways of life and thinking on these two wretched parties – thus making these same parties appear – in the results of their kind of behaviour and thinking -influenced and imposed – to be similiar or identical to these majorities in the overall imageries, policies and organizations of these parties.

Finally, as we have said so often – here and elsewhere – the key to real substantial betterment and progress for Barbados, is for the broad masses and middle classes to make sure that the majority of voters in Barbados STOP ELECT DLP and BLP Governments in this country, and to otherwise make sure that progressive PDC and other party governments are elected in this country.

3. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Barnabas Collins,

My friend the 14 years of neglect and abuse of the public funds of this Nation cannot and will not go away in wishful thinking.

The reality is that we are not an isolated nation but we are part of a complex group that has been affected by world events, our course of action cannot be reckless and careless, it must be measured and administered carefully.

I am sure you find it annoying to be confronted with revelations of gross corruption and neglect but you know what they are real, no amount of wishing them away as the opposition would so dearly love to have done will happen they will continue to be shown for what they were a group of vultures of blood ( money) sucking Vampires.

In your comments above you do nothing to chage the status because you attempt to halt the discussion because the discussion is most unfavorable to the opposition party.

I also noticed that you skillfully omit to to mention anything positive coming out og the new 9 month old gov’t such as the free school bus rides for the school children of this nation this in itself speaks volumes as to your direction and to your motivation.

Fear not my friend they and the party you love will be exposed for what it was, as we are seeing the corruption filter all the way down to areas such as URBAN, RURAL, Immigration and the list goes on, so your desire to have the 14 years of corruption swept under the carpet is one of Wishing In Vain.

4. notesfromthemargin Avatar
    notesfromthemargin

I for one agree with Barnabas Collin. WIV’s response simply makes BC’s point for him.

5. One day Bajans will stumble upon the truth about our two party first past the post socialist adaptation of West Minister. Where centralization of power is at it’s core, and the voice and participation of the people in governing themselves has been frowned on.

1: Calls for a third party will not solve the problem but it is a good start

2: Voting for and recognizing “Independent” candidates for parliament is good start but will not solve the problem

3:Realizing that political party diehardism is not in your long term interest is a good start but will solve the problem.

4: Realizing that giving a party more than 10 years is a huge mistake and making them earn a second term is the right approach is a good thing but will not solve the problem.

People questioning the system? this is good.

6. So what solves the problem, AH? In ancient Greece a Dictator was sent to another isle after one year’s rule… You talk of steps in the right direction but not solving, so what does?

7. Ian Bourne // October 7, 2008 at 9:56 am

So what solves the problem, AH? In ancient Greece a Dictator was sent to another isle after one year’s rule… You talk of steps in the right direction but not solving, so what does?
    =========================

If the system is the problem, and i believe it is, why would throwing more political parties into it solve our fundamental problems with the political class and the institutions they control?

8. I agree with BC regarding the performance, disappointments and the same same approach by the two parties. Surely, I don’t want a party of the likes of the PDC who simply do not understand what it is of running a country. How on earth you can you do away with taxes, give away land and all the nonsense emitting from a party that would like to run the affairs of this country. However, I will say that these two parties are identical in nature with the same ideologies approach, that’s why we have not seen a vast change as manifested during the run up to election.

We have to make a drastic
    CHANGE in GOVERNANCE (cause to change; make different; cause a transformation). Since Barbadians have not seen this turn-around in Governance, people becomes disillusion since the robustness that was discussed failed to come to fruition.

9. T he former party might have done some bad things, but MONEY was circulating and everybody was getting some,now all of a sudden everything get hard, go in the country and talk to ppl,school children travell free but ppl are still crying.

10. West Minster, Adrian Avatar
    West Minster, Adrian

Adrian, it’s West Minster, not West Minister.

11. Hi Adrian, please don’t criticise Westminster style democracy too, unduly bro, because if Bim had had a system with the checks, balances and scrutiny which the Westminster model has, Bim would n’t be in the *hit it’s in, today!!

Peace, bro!!

12. @West Minster, Adrian

That was back in a time when the British could not spell. 🙂
    I sticking wid Gabby’s choice of word when he sang
    ” West Indian politician, becuase you train in England,
    West Minister choking we” 🙂

Seriously I do not think anyone was confuse by my use of “Minister” instead of “Minster”. Wikipedia uses it, a number of Universities use it, including Oxford Uni journals.
    —————————

Bimbro, my brother. 🙂 When i used to the phrase “Socialist Adaptation” of Westminister, and further reference to it as a centralization of power, with it’s practioners (political class) frowning on allowing the people to participat in the governence of themselves, this should have been a qlue to you that what you have in England differs tremendously from what we have in Bimshire, and that we call West Minister. You have town councils don’t you? we are now working on some form of such. You HAVE mayors don’t you? we HAD one in the distant past, in Bridgetown.

13. If Westminster is not the way fwd, you surely cannot mean to adopt the US form of Representation? Only one part of that I would amend – the voting of Senators for an 18 month period or 2 years so as to make them WORK for their ballots

14. Westminster, Adrian Avatar
    Westminster, Adrian

You are correct Adrian, I don’t think any one was confused. I just thought that I would plug it in.

By the way, the British are the true expositors of the English Language.
    I think the Americans have gone too far in redefining how English should be written.
    They are the self-ascribed Sultans of England’s English.

Right, old chap?

15. British are dinosaurs of language and US are evolutionary pioneers, correct!

16. Ian Bourne // October 7, 2008 at 2:47 pm

If Westminster is not the way fwd, you surely cannot mean to adopt the US form of Representation? Only one part of that I would amend – the voting of Senators for an 18 month period or 2 years so as to make them WORK for their ballots
    ===========================

ha ha ha ha given the years you have been plugging away online and given the years that i have been a critic of our current system government, our paths having cross on many occasions, I don’t think your sudden interest in my opinions are genuine, but more to attempt a “Gotcha moment” be that as it may, I am quietly confident that my positions re. the system of government we have in Barbados can withstand your questioning.

I would not even concider an adoption of any part of the American system of government for Barbados. It is too complex and would be too costly, and the intended affect would most likely be lost anyway. The Barbados system which is much simpler doesn’t even seems to be readily understood by Barbadians hence my continual reference to it’s shortcommings. There are several best practices to draw from that some Barbadians over the years have highlighted. Jeff Cumberbatch i believe has written many many articles on the subject over the years, Sir Richie Haynes, and Oliver Jackman as well. But i prefer to believe you are not interested in such beyond the potential to prove me wrong on something or the other. 🙂

17. We agree with you Adrian.

Now would be a good time for MP Lashley to resign and run as an Independent. The debate now caused by a by-election would help our politic to move to the next level.

By the way BU has communicated to MP Lashley that he can feel free to use our medium to broadcast his views in the event he is unable to do so in the mainstream media.

18. Westminster, Adrian // October 7, 2008 at 4:11 pm

You are correct Adrian, I don’t think any one was confused. I just thought that I would plug it in.

By the way, the British are the true expositors of the English Language.
    I think the Americans have gone too far in redefining how English should be written.
    They are the self-ascribed Sultans of England’s English.

Right, old chap?

I usually ignore language mavens whatever their nationality or bias. I have never heard it that Americans by and large are that interested in preserving the English language, most as i do,…. see language as nothing more than a communicating tool. It is dynamic and ever changing. It’s alive. If ever it becomes like Latin (dead) we can perserve it. 🙂

…I don’t think the Americans have asked anyone to join them on their language odissey, but i could be wrong.

Can we get back to discussing Systems of governance?

19. Ian Bourne // October 7, 2008 at 4:26 pm

British are dinosaurs of language and US are evolutionary pioneers, correct

ha ha ha ha ha Yuh know Bourne you could adopt that position and have a good old argument with yourself. 🙂

20. My statement “that was a time when the British could not spell” was meant to demonstrate that i beleive that “minster” is probably old english. I looked it up and it is old english derived from Latin “ministerium”, the “office” or “service”, So i sticking wid Gabby use of it. And keep de Americans out of it! 🙂

21. Some of the few ways Brit version of English is cool – travelling/kidnapping and others as opposed to kidnaping, etc; tyre for a car as opposed to AH tires me…

Where UK version falls flat? When there’s colour, valour, favourite and other unnecessary “U’s” *OR* whilst, how i HATE that! WHILE!!!!

ee cummins may also have a bit worthwhile too, why capitalise reference to self? French & Spanish do not, why do we?

22. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

Maybe we elect a king or queen,

After one year, if a good job is done, that individual is rewarded with a choice of continuing or retiring.

If a bad job is done, as assessed by a stadium and the ‘thumbs-up or thumbs-down’ scenario, then we do like the french in the old days.

Whaddya say?

23. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

I is doan onnerstan’ how wunna cud argue ova de propa English that we does nuse.

Iffin I say a ting as I did learn from young, den I does be right.

Wedder de English is de English or American vershun doan matta.

How about dem dere so that went tuh Brumley?

Dem doan know propa speaking, nuh?

24. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

Although, having said that my good man, you should be glad that you leant the ‘mother tonngue’.

This way you can communicate properly and correctly with the rest of the Commonwealth, not to mention other nations.

What say, old boy?

Have a crumpet and some tea.

We drive on the left, the Americans drive on the right.

We pronounce tomato correctly, the American do not.

Jolly good thing we are here to correct them, don’t you think?

Another crumpet?

25. I prefer the British “Fanny” to the American “Fanny”.

What say you Sir Dick?

26. […] rumours have been circulating about former Deputy Prime Minister Mia Mottley. Keltruth Corp. appreciates that Mia has confronted these rumours and put them to […]

27. Splendid, Sir Brentwood. Splendid.
    Carry on, old chap!

28. Adrian, I think that essentially, we’re in agreement!! Bim has a long way to go to achieving the Westminster ‘ideal’!!

Oh, BTW, I did n’t realise that one of the BFP crew was married to Shona!! Well, after my remarks in praise of the boys and ignoring her, it’s no wonder they ban me!!

Lor!! Woman-power, eh?!!

29. While in opposition in parliament, the DLP had the habit of severely criticizing the then BLP Government – particularly in its last term of office – for the shocking staggering number of SUPPLEMENTARY RESOLUTIONS that it used to be ever so often bringing to the House of Assembly for its approval.

But, lo and behold, who would think that this same DLP – now only in its first nine months of holding the reins of government – would be doing the same damn thing that it accused the then BLP Government of doing? Who would think that this is the same damn DLP that conveyed the impression to the people of Barbados that – once in Government – it would NEVER EVER indulge in the financial excesses and outrages that were stoutly part of the reign of the then BLP Government?

Well, just as this DLP had terribly started the first working session of this current parliament on Tuesday, February 26, 2008, with the introduction of a SUPPLEMENTARY RESOLUTION for BDS $ 182 239 to meet expenditures related to conduct of business by the Ministries of Social Care and Commerce, it noticeably continued this AWFUL TREND OF SEEKING “SUPPLEMENTARY ON TOP OF SUPPLEMENTARY” when on Tuesday 7, October 2008, in the House of Assembly’s first sitting after its summer break, it cowardly sought parliamentary approval for a whopping BDS $ 80 million SUPPLEMENTARY RESOLUTION to provide for the transfer of such an amount from the Consolidated Fund to the Government coffers and then for the use of that amount in some of its current programs including BDS $ 33 million to the Barbados National Oil Company for the cost to the Barbados Light and Power Co. Ltd of providing subsidized electricity to Barbadians; including BDS $ 39 million to the Transport Board to finance its operations for the rest of the financial year 2008-9; BDS $ 10 million for a Special Projects Road Improvement Program, and BDS $ 3 million for Road Rehabilitation in Barbados (Daily Nation Tuesday, October 7, 2008).

And, who would believe that such a REBARBATIVE SUPPLEMENTARY RESOLUTION has been brought mere three (3) months after the passage of the July 7 Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals in the Houseof Assembly? Who? Why, huh?

Where is the fiscal prudence which is said to be a central plank in this DLP Government’s so-called macro-economic planning for the country? Where is this fiscal prudence at such a time when the so-called Barbados economy is shrinking? Is NOT the DLP and BLP the same foolishness in regard of their gross and reckless mismanagement of the affairs of this country? When the majority of voters do stop electing DLP and BLP Governments in this country, would they NOT have got the rid of these and other types of massive DLP/BLP problems? Huh?

30. Sir Benwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Benwood Dick

BAFBFP,

Are you trying to stir the pot by such comparisons, young fellow, or young lady as the case may be?

Surely you know the dangers in responding to such a question?

But then, I am answering according to the ‘British’ interpretation of ‘fanny’.

Oops.

31. LOL Sir Dick, right choice.

32. Barnabas Collins Avatar
    Barnabas Collins

@WIV et al

From your writings, I will contend that you seem to be an intelligent person. Are you suggesting to the other intelligent persons here on this blog, that during the 14 years of the former government, they did nothing right except be blood sucking vampires. Well I have to tell you that the elections are over and your party is in charge.

Rt. Hon. E.W. Barrow fought for independence not only because he wanted to untether us from the mother country but for independence of thought. If I was a B,D,P or any other letter of the alphabet, I would not be so partisan as to make a statement that ANY political party did nothing for this country besides lined their pockets. That is as ludicrous as calling Barack Obama an elitist, a black man in the US.

My point is that at present, given the external forces, the time is ripe for Barbadians (B,D,P and Ind) to consult with each other so we can weather this storm because we are so vulnerable in this global economy and to think that one set of people has all the answers is not only less than smart but dangerous.

And to suggest that I am in love with the other political party because I make a less than flattering statement about this government is insanity and I don’t think you are insane. As for my omission of the free bus rides for school children, I know both political parties monitor these blogs and I will leave that for their surrogates to mention. I was mentioning what I am tired hearing and seeing.

I think there will be time for politics as usual but I don’t think the time is now. We need unity to get thru this crisis. We don’t need a third or fourth party for that we just need someone to lead Barbadians and not spew out crap because you are in opposition or government.

BC

33. notesfromthemargin Avatar
    notesfromthemargin

having read this post it reminded me of a post on the Margin that we wrote back in October last year.

The title was “Wanted: An Electable Alternative” that was published after the first Cadres poll. Obviously the DLP was able to galvanise public opinion and seize the Government. However when I read the discussion here I can’t help but wonder if we didn’t call it right at the time.

http://notesfromthemargin.wordpress.com/2007/10/15/wanted-an-electable-alternative/

34. @notesfromthemargin

We agree that the time has come at this juncture in our history that we as a people must change how e do things. The hybrid system of government which we practice in Barbados has many loopholes. Our size/limited number of members of parliament relative to the UK makes the house committees in the Barbados parliament largely ineffective. House committees are critical to the functioning of a working Westminster System.

35. Yet another destructive action for mottley and her 10 month group of rascals.

After instructing Clyde Griffith to write more vicious anti DLP articles in his Nation Newspaper contributions and his refusal to do so because as he said the gov’t has not been deserving of the terror attacks perscribed by mottley and Vivian Ann Gittens and the Nation and blp teams, his articles have now been discontinued from the Nation.

Wonder how the blp works?

This is just another classic example of their mind set and their willingness to get nasty and play dirty.

Actions such as these fully explain the depths to whih mottley will stoop to create unrest and division.

36. Propaganda. Creating an issue that simply doesn’t exist. WIV, yuh know wha’ ah talkin”bout.

37. David // October 8, 2008 at 7:02 pm

@notesfromthemargin

We agree that the time has come at this juncture in our history that we as a people must change how e do things. The hybrid system of government which we practice in Barbados has many loopholes. Our size/limited number of members of parliament relative to the UK makes the house committees in the Barbados parliament largely ineffective. House committees are critical to the functioning of a working Westminster System.

David if you have the time take a look at the Commission of law and order report. It has many of the recommendations of the Constitutional reveiw commission report in it, re the disadvantages of the current system and the recommended changes. The original CRC report seems to have vanish into thin air, or have fallen of a truck into the hands of a Bajan info-horder. The Law and order commssion report can be found at the GIS website.

38. Ian Bourne // October 7, 2008 at 7:02 pm

Some of the few ways Brit version of English is cool – travelling/kidnapping and others as opposed to kidnaping, etc; tyre for a car as opposed to AH tires me…

Bourne, really! You shouldn’t lie about what really “tires” you, … yet “Tyres” they may be, you could be proof they are not only found on cars. :0 lol!

What is so cool about spelling traveling and Kidnaping with one or two L’s or N’s. Schhuuppppssssse

39. Well from a phonetic standpoint, there’s actually a rule.
    The sound of the vowel before a doubled letter ‘opens’.
    For example we say beh’ter (better) and not bee’ter. The function of the doubled letter is to open the vowel sound and not close it.
    Therefore in order to maintain the open vowel sound in the word kidnap when another syllable is added, the rule is that we double to consonant.
    Hence the sound is kid-nah-pping and not kid-nay-ping.

Notice the movement of your lips when the vowel sound is open and when it’s closed.

40. Nonsense i say. There is no way that my pronunciation of Kidnaping could lead me to vocalize it as “Kid-nay-ping”. Only and idiot would so do, and I am but a fool. 🙂