The new General Manager of the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation assumed duties Wednesday morning at its Pine headquarters. Lars Soderstrom was met on arrival by CBC Chairman Leroy Parris and Executive Director David Wright and then was introduced to the senior managers in the Corporation's boardroom – Source:Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation 30/07/2008

The Swede Lars G.O. Söderström is reporting on his Website that he has been the General Manager of the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) for the last three months. We try to keep on top of the news which affect Barbados but we have to confess we missed this announcement. As always the BU household thanks the BU family member for drawing this matter to our attention. We have to admit though that the Swede’s resume is impressive, on paper!

It is a crying shame that at a time when Barbados is struggling to maintain its  cultural identity we could not find a son or daughter from the region to perform this job. The importance of our ONLY television station to facilitate cultural expression we believe to be critical to the development of our people. In the interest of transparency it would be interesting to find out  the selection criteria used to appoint the Swede to the post of General Manager. Is it true that Mr. Söderström was hired by the CBC as a consultant in 2004 and has participated in a restructuring exercise along with Trinidadian Malina Salandy up until a few months ago?

Barbadians need to have an explanation from Chairman Leroy Parris about this appointment. It appears that the Swede Lars G.O. Söderström joined CBC in his new capacity at the end of July 2008. It therefore begs the question – how is it that the Swede has published on his Website that he has been General Manager of the CBC for three months? As a matter of interest the BU family should recall that it was around July 2008 Deputy Chairman Jeannette Layne-Clarke resigned from the CBC Board citing illness and the need to recuperate.

The CBC has operated below expectation over the years and there are two reasons we think, the high level of political involvement and the cut-throat behaviour of the staff. We remember stories about Nigel Barrow the former Minister of Information playing dominoes away from CBC and looked-up to view a TV, when he saw a former popular news anchor, he telephoned CBC from the domino table. The anchor never appeared on national TV again after the call. Just as important is the need for the CBC staff to recognize the importance of teamwork and professionalism.

The former government had enunciated a public policy of working to beef-up the CBC to make it ready for privatization, is this the policy of the current government? We agree with the policy of the former government that the National Cultural Foundation (NCF) and the CBC should have a model which separates the commercial and development aspects of their businesses. What we can deduce from what we are hearing about the the Swede’s appointment is that it appears to be a continuation of the former government’s policy. Do not forget he participated in a restructuring which started in 2004.

It is unusual for agents who participate in the restructuring of a company to eventually land the job of managing the company. We venture to suggest that it is not the recommended management approach. We have two questions for the BU family:

1. Can you recommend Barbadians and other Caribbean media professionals in the diaspora who qualify for the job the Swede landed?
  2. What do you know about the Swede?

163 responses to “The Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation In The News”

1. Where is the $60,000.00 usd figure coming from.

2. Oops. I re-read the entire post and Anonymous seems to be the first person who mentioned the amount, then J and now me.

@ Anonymous. That figure correct? Where you get it from? We need to verify. Might be plenty more than that.

3. youcouldbelievethis Avatar
    youcouldbelievethis

Interesting, I just hope the hiring process was fair and balenced. Of course I’m a little wary of foreigners running things for us…but his foreigness can also be a good thing. Guess we’ll have to wait and see…and is that Tony Hall from Gayelle commenting?

4. Dear You Could Believe this:

How on earth could the hiring process be fair and balanced if the job was not advertised?

5. WIV
    I’m still awaiting to hear from you. I will check the blog in the morning and hope you reply to me.

6. US$60 000 is the approx figure at the top of the scale for heads of statutory corporations when you include, travel (including vehicle and petrol), entertainment and all de lil perquisites.

7. @ notesfromthemargin

It seems to me that all forms of wild allegations are being done here by people who are posting anonymously and engaging in a most vicious form of character assassination. In my view this is an abuse of BU.

Characater assassination my ass. De long and short is dat a bajan should be in de r_sshole job.

8. @
    lsoderstrom@cbc.bb

GET TO F_CK OUTTA BARBADOS GO LONG BACK WHERE U COME FROM. DUH GOT BAJANS DAT COULD DO DE JOB PON WE TV.

9. @ Anonymous

Cuh Loss, Anonymous. We really should not be attacking and cursing this poor man.

After all, he din give heself the job. The ones who really want buseing are those who put the man in this precarious spot by hiring him without advertising the position.

Although it seems real strange that with his qualifications he would accept a position at that salary, if that is really what he getting, maybe the position also come with one of those beach front houses with swimming pool rent free – in a tropical paradise. Maybe it isn’t so unbelievable after all.

The staff at CBC seem real frighten, though, or maybe they just real loyal. Not one of them would not even unpick duh teet and give the BU family a little news.

10. In typical bajan style dem mussee up dey grumbling in de corridors. You believe dese same so-and-so people walk out pon strike when pearson get hired year before? And not a fella unpick he teet when dis swedish refugee sneak in dey!
    SHUPES!

11. @ Partial

We aint want no mo news. We got enuf. He aint had no right dey. Gih a bajan de job. Any bajan, any color, any race, any religion, but not he. He aint no bajan. Go and work somewhere else. Go in de private sector. Not pon de government owned TV. dah aint mekking no kinda sense at all.

12. Marginal:

Wild allegations?

The man claimed to be a VP of the BBC (see CBC press statement link above) when he was merely a sales consultant for a technology unit in the lead up for the sale of that unit to Siemens of Germany (see his own LinKedIn posting)>

If you doubt the bankruptcy and deadbeat father allegations, look up the Trinidad case referenced above.

If you doubt the mysterious circumstances of his abrupt departure from TSTT, check out the link provided above.

If this is not enough to warrant a closer review of his qualifications, then more details of his true past can surely be provided.

Lastly, how is someone named “Marginal” any more reliable than an “Anonymous” who actually provides hard proof?

Anon

13. Partial:

Yes, he has been provided very comfortable accomodations and a generous expense account.

14. Now I know that this is off topic, however I think it merits mention and if possible some investigation.

I have noticed that MCTV has taken to showing pornography on one of its Cinemax channels, not only are they showing it but early in the evening like 9:30 pm when children are awake and flipping through channels.

This is not right and should not be allowed at all, I am deeply concerned as a parent that this dog is going on. I am really very angry at it.

15. Well well well the more things change the more there remain the same.We looking to this government for action with illegal immigration & questionable work permit that were issued.
    A white swede with a questionable personality heading CBC.Only in Barbados.
    Trinidad is next door to us and no background checks were made of the individual who was short listed to take up such an important post.
    What kind of joke government we have in place.Hopeless for us.We are from the frying pan into the fire.
    This government should be recalled.I cannot believe this.I am totally dumbfounded.
    A joke government with clown ministers we have elected.

16. It would appear that this government is hell bent on cutting up this fatted calf among people that was staring for 14 yrs. If that isthe case Mr.P.M you making a big mistake and playing right into the hands of that ******woman leading the opposition. We want Dipper or Tom duppy to come back quickly and save this country.

17. @ Warrior

Put dat in submissions nuh. Wha you come here and change de subject fuh and see we maliciousing.
    Btw, tell me which channel de porn pon.
    Oh shite I got Direct TV though.
    It free pon MCTV? I better switch back.

18. Somebody tell Warrior dat de remote control can block out de porn so he lil children cant see it. Shupes.
    Shite man, de Hallelujah Chorus come over here too?

19. @ Negroman

Since BU aint plan pon doing it, gypsy me calling Harvard today. I goin put on my speakie spokie accent and find out if de Swede got he MBA fuh trute.
    Ya know if it did one o we, duh woulda call ever since. Or duh woulda say “man he aint got nuh doctorate fuh trute, he buy dah!”

Why Layne-Clarke cant come out and tell de public something? Or we gotta wait to hear um in Pampalam?

20. @ Scout

You getting too political now. You want WIV come on hear and talk bout corruption again? You aint tired o he/she? We got 50 months till elections.
    Wha got me bothered is dat de staff in de Pine quiet like church mice.
    Wha dem brutes does strike fuh any lil ting.

I feel Leroy Parris got dem friten or confused. Duh mussee cant understand how such a green verb idiot could be setting policy. I feel duh confused.

21. @ Warrior

BU, I’m not getting off track the subject, but just another lil comment.

I don’t mind watching a lil porn every now and again and I don’t see why I should have to wait till midnight to see it. I ain’t Dracula. I pay MCTV big money too and they should be catering to all tastes.

All you need to do is put parental control on the channel if you know it shows porn at 9.30 p.m. and then unblock it when the kids gone to bed so you can get a lil peep – if you want.

Back to CBC and the foolishness that keeps going on and on.

Chairman Parris. Barbadians need some transparency here please. DLP dealt with criminals and now BLP doing the same. Any man who does not support his child is a criminal and any man who runs from country to country to avoid same is worse.

Make sure you let Ms. Layne-Clarke help you with the speech before you let loose with the verbiage. (I hope that is a word).

22. Sorry, family. Switch round the Bs & the Ds.

23. At 9:30 he children should be sleeping to get up early fuh school de next morning. If dem aint dah young, den duh ole enuf to watch porn. If he block it pon TV duh goin in duh room and watch it pon de Internet or somebody else chile goin bring it school and show everybody.
    You wanna tell me he aint see a porn magazine at school.
    De Hallelujah Chorus does mek me sick.

Who send he over hey to change de subject doh?
    He talking shite bout porn and tt is alleged de GM o CBC wanted fuh chile money!

24. @ Partial

I thought you were a peace loving person. Why de hell would you want to unleash Leroy Parris pon de poor public with a speech. Could chrise man!

25. @ Anonymous

I’m not so peace loving, but you quite right. Lol.

26. So much for transparency and integraty. These are just fancy words. I guess some people meant what they said when the staement was used but when your hand is in the lion’s mouth you have to befriend that lion. Welcome to the real world of politics.

27. See why I can’t support any particular political party? Too many diehard supporters end up spitting up in the air and watch it falling right back unto their faces. The funny thing is the poilticians look on a get a good laugh.

28. Leroy Parris the chairman of CBC the comedy act of the year.That is right the idiot of Barbados a political lackey is the head of such an important national institution no wonder we have the spectatcle of a white swedish “criminal” running from his moral responsibility heading CBC.”The blind leading the blind”
    I agree that we replaced 1 oppressive,corrupt government with an equally oppressive & its appears to be just as corrupt government.
    The clowns are at it again.
    David Thompson & his cohorts.

29. I asked the question a few days ago and didn’t get a response. I am asking it again. Is it true that Sagicor and ICBL Ins. were dismissed from CBC and replaced by Clico?

30. Is my question too sensitive for an answer? Am I treading on dangerous ground? Negroman, Anonymous, you are my friends, if I’m asking too much please tell me so that I can stop. Victimisation can be detrimental to my family and I

31. I have no idea if Clico took over, but Sagicor at CBC did not give as good a rate as in Hospitality – I eventually signed on under my wife when she was at Grand B’dos and now at Hilton (can claim more for my specs) was given a better plan & it was cheaper too… The same Sagicor, amazing huh?

32. As far as I heard scout; tenders were sought for Insurance and Clico and somebody else were the lowest bids . the portfolio was then split . I seem to remember reading this in the press at some point in time since it was a burning concern earlier in the year.

Maybe Mr. Parris cant speak, I dont know; I have never listened to anything he has said , never had to; But I would not disregard his business acumen and ability to efficiently manage a corporation; after all he has done it with one of the largest in Barbados. I seriously doubt if as chairman he has anything to do with programming etc

33. Let Parris sit on the Board and shut up. Please dont ask him to speak on anything. The agony is too much to bear. Could chrise man!

34. Nobody cant victimize you Scout. We would come fuh dem!

35. We would send de same people dat work Obeah pon Negroman to soften he up fuh dem ef duh trouble you.

36. Just like the sneak in the new Swede is just like they sneak in the porn on the MCTV. If I had any idea that it was showing I would not allow my children to watch it, and for the record it was during the summer holidays.

Perhaps the reason why they snook in the Swede is because they know that Bajans are now callous to anything and anything goes.

I prefer to sing the Hallalujah chorus any day.

37. Wow! The Swede bring de porn? See? Cultural norms??

38. Anonymous You are making me laugh.Somebody wuk obeah on Negroman.Wuh loss.No one could shut up this blackman,however,in war you must know when to retreat,regroup and come again. I am the same old Negroman fearless and willing to state his position.

Do not inflict the “green verb man” Leroy Parris on the good people of Barbados..
    Scout,I heaard the insurance company at CBC was changed to CLICO I heard that on a news cast on CBC a few weeks ago.I believe it happened when thre was a retreat for the staff of CBC.I wonder if some light could be shed on that issue.I also believe we the public should be given a reason why the insurance company of CBC was changed for CLICO whose president is the CEO of the said company.
    Could this be a form of corruption or a conflict of interest?

39. @ Warrior:

Aiight den. I fuhget de childrun was pon vacation. So I trust you does put dem to bed early now dat school start back.

Mek sure de newniforms in order ya hear, cause de head o de Hallelujah chorus (my good friend Matthew Farley) leading de campaign and sending home de people children.

40. @ ROK

Well yuh know dem swedes good wuffless. Dem like more porn dan me.

41. @ Negroman.

My brother, in de good ole days we called dat conflict of interest. Under Thompson it’s called sharing de fattened calf.
    Wuh loss. Duh right like shite!

42. Well a lot of you let yorselves be fooled by the DLP’s “time for change” jingle.

But my question has always been change to what???? I did not hear any answers during the election campaign.

CBC should not be showing porngraphy at all. Not at anytime. If they can’t afford any programming then shut down programming at 9:30 and let the good men and women of Barbados go to bed and sexually entertain each other instead of watching mock-mock sex on tv.

We need to get back to old fashioned Bajan family (and family making) values.

At 9:30 p.m. sharp every man goes to bed with his own woman. NAKED now tht it is so hot outside. No need to pay for porn in you have a good man or woman in the house. If you don’t have one, then start looking for one now.

43. Wow, J,

I agree wholeheartedly.

When I was younger I had a friend who had many siblings. He said his parents had no TV to watch at night.

There are a few things we can do about that now.

44. CHANGE TO WHAT –

-was always my question too

Owen asked the same question on the election campaign trail.

OWEN –yuh did good -never mind the naysayers
    WHAT WOULD THEY HAVE DONE ?

45. @ROK et al

Do Statutory Corporations in Barbados have to abide by a legislated Code of Ethics? If so wouldn’t Chairman Leroy Parris have bene expected to recuse himself/CLICO from the insurance transaction which occured at CBC?

46. @David

Not sure about a code of ethics but under Owen Athur, there has been some attempt to redefine the status of the officers of these institutions and bring them under the Ministry of the Civil Service.

Since this happened it is obvious that from Director up would become political appointments and outside the control of the Ministry, except that in the case of a director the unions may still claim territory as seen at NPC.

When it comes to board meetings all that happens is that if a matter concerns you, you declare your hand and when the debate arises you either leave the room or say nothing depending on the depth of the involvment.

That is the extent of the transparency. So if the Chairman owns a soap company and he happens to be the Chair of the Government soap buying Corporation, then as Chair why should he not make a contribution to the use of soap and simply because he happens to own a soap company don’t mean that the company should not benefit because he is chair…

But was COW Chair of Pine Hill Dairy and was selling the most milk to the dairy? Is that how we should look at it? Two different situations? Can’t say.

What about the Chairman of the Private Sector Agency being Chair of CBC? Is that not a conflict too? The CBC runs off advertising from the Private Sector. That sounds even more dangerous.

I would therefore have to conclude that there are no codes of ethics, only policies pursued.

47. Dear ROK:

Can you say that in English please.

I studied English up to university level and I don’t understand a word of what you are saying.

48. @J

What can I say, I ain’t too pretty at this English thing. I only recounting what I know from sitting on corporations as an NGO and then from what I see happening.

I never see a copy of a code of conduct that was legislated unless done as Chris suggested; by statutory instrument (SI).

49. @J: “Can you say that in English please. I studied English up to university level and I don’t understand a word of what you are saying.”

For the record… I almost dropped out of (Canadian) high school because I hated, and could not deal with, “English class”… It was only because I was introduced to Shakespeare in grade 11 that I kept on…

I managed two more years in University (without English classes) before dumping the “formal education thing” because I had already learnt what they were teaching… (I felt somewhat vindicated when, ten years later, I was invited back to teach…)

But, to put on the table, what ROK wrote above, and which you objected to, was perfectly clear to anyone who can read…

May we live in interesting times…

50. @ROK

We suspect that you are correct and this is a shame. It fits with some info we got recently that former Prime Minister is about to hand over several gifts which he received when Prime minister to the Arlington House Museum in St. Peter.