Early on Sunday morning about 1AM, the BU household was plunged into darkness. A quick look through a window confirmed that as far as the eye could there was darkness. However, because it was so late we scurried off to bed earlier than planned, disappointed that our viewing of the Olympic broadcast was abruptly curtailed.

We freely admit that we have always had good things to say about the reliability in the service provided by the Barbados Light & Power Company Limited (BL&P) over the years. It is therefore of concern that in recent times we can easily recall three or four occasions when the island has suffered island wide outages. The most famous of the outages was the time a monkey was said to have caused the shutdown.

In all the explanations we have heard, Chief Marketing Manager of the BL&P Stephen Worme has been consistent in his message. Whether caused by monkey or bad weather it triggered a shutdown of the BL&P grid. It is good to know as a subscriber that the BL&P has a system in position that will trigger a shutdown to avoid severe damage to its network. Is the BU household being naïve by asking why should a monkey or the mild bad-weather experienced early Sunday morning have shutdown the BL&P electricity transmission?

We are asking questions which the average-man on the streets of Barbados is beginning to ask. Maybe we are being too hard on the BL&P. Maybe what has transpired in recent months is acceptable given the vagaries of operating a fossil powered company. To our layman way of thinking we appear to be experiencing a level of outages which is unacceptable in the year 2008.

More questions than answers. There was a time Chief Marketing Manager Stephen Worme would have responded directly to the concerns of the BU family. Unfortunately that door has been slammed shut. Hopefully the cloak of anonymity that BU affords can encourage some level of response.

Related Links

146 responses to “Barbados Plunged Into Darkness, AGAIN”

1. I only remember hearing of Fork and Sheet Lightning.

These blogs always teach me new things.

2. Bush Tea

I got a good laugh at your reference to the covering of mirrors with a bed-sheet.
    Man, I wonder how lightning used to get in the house. There were no glass windows nor glass doors and every flap was stuffed with paper……..I almost said newspaper but I remembered that a newspaper was a luxury in those days. Lol

3. We don’t want to rehash the argument but we remain convinced that something is wrong when a problem in one area can shut the whole island’s grid down. We are not convinced! Chief Marketing Manager Stephen Worme is very articulate by repeating the same excuses each and every time. To his credit this last time he admits that the shut down should not have happened.

4. Dey shif’ de bounty to the snails so de Monkies runnin’ wil’ again…!

AAAAAAAAAAGhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

5. You know what– with the power out I got the best sleep of recent months– my neighbor’s gigantic stadium lighting, which could light up the oval was OUT!
    It was fine by me!

6. You can Imagine reading the blogs just to have a massive black out from my house and around the neighborhood. I wasn’t pleased the next morning the electricity goes out island wide.

This is becoming more pathetic coming from the onliest Power-Utility powering this nation. A company who sneak through a rate-hearing who may soon raise the rates upon us. Pitful…!

I would wish for solar-power and some batteries for my home and forget about BL&P. Don’t know how or what, but it can be done.

7. Please

You know what, I appreciated the darkness for a change too.

I spent a while on the gallery looking at the rainy sky and no lights.

Back to basics.

Made me remenber just how cool it used to be in the past to be in the dark.

Sometimes I go camping in other countries wih friends and I appreciate no telephone, no electricity, no cars …. just peace and quiet …. and very few people.

Even the lack of running water is fun as there is usually a creek or stream and lugging around a back pack with just the bare necessities makes life so uncomplicated.

A week or two of that and I am a new man.

We need to get back to the basics now and again to appreciate how little we need to live happily.

8. There are those in the DLP who will tell you that on January 15, 2008, Barbados was plunged into darkness.

Some patriotic dems will also admit that there is no ligh coming from the the about how it plans to create jobs; reduce the cost of living and protect Barbadians from the “mess” it is making.

Why blame the Barbados Light and Power, when the DLP is the main reason Barbadians remain in the dark about what the government is doing about a fishing agreement with T&T and also, how it plans to protect their jobs?

9. @Dark Knight

Why do you trivialize such a serious topic by depositing it into the realm of political yardfowlism. This is why many Barbadians get turned-off.

10. Let me Jump in hey Avatar
    Let me Jump in hey

Question:

Is Dark Knight telling the truth? {I am neither B or D}

11. @Let me jump in hey

A fishing agreement with T&T will always be an elusive exercise. Barbadians with commonsense know this and just like the former government filibusterered so too will the incumbent government. Why would T&T surrender resources in these times?

12. @BU Family…

It is my opinion that almost no one here understands and appreciates the extremely difficult job it is to provide power to an interconnected area.

Hundreds of megawatts of power… Three sine waves… Cross two of these, or ground one, and it can be a *very* bad day!

BL&P obviously have some work to do, to figure out why a protection circuit didn’t trip in the milliseconds required.

But because it didn’t, another part of the system did what it was supposed to do, and shut down the system. And we found ourselves in the dark.

But, if it hadn’t, then we would have observed power lines literally melting off the poles, generators being damaged, and Barbados being in the dark for days, weeks or months, rather than an hour or two.

People complain. And they should.

But let us not forget that a similar (but much larger) cascading failure put the entire eastern sea-board of the USA and parts of Canada in the dark for many hours only a few years ago.

Large scale electrical power is a non-trivial problem space.

13. @Chris you wax lyrically on this matter.

Many of us are not engineers or that technically minded to possibly appreciate like you do how complicated the job of providing uninterrupted power supply to Barbadians.

This is what we know: In recent times (1-3yrs) we have been having an increased number of outages many of them on a national scale. Stephen Worme’s (Chief Marketing Officer) himself admitted that BL&P is concerned why the country shutdown because of the recent problem. We are not saying that we don’t understand why the grid shutdown i.e. to protect the whole, this is not the point.

14. The people must be first not politricks // August 19, 2008 at 11:41 am

I asked the PDC to use English but they continue to speak Bullshish ( a form of English used by aspiring politicians to make the masses feel they are saying something when indeed they are saying nothing (ask mia). I do not even bother to read anything they write anymore. One sentence is enough to work your brain tired.

(ask mia?)

I think you meant to say DAVID.

15. @David…

I agree with you. Something went wrong last Friday. BL&P admit this, and are drilling down.

But most of the grid had power back 55 minutes later. From a full cold-start (I have UPS logs.)

Those parts of the grid which were directly involved with the short had to wait a couple of hours for restoration.

May I please note that this is an improvement from past experiences.

Compare this performance to any other country here in the Caribbean.

Or, compare this to the performance of Telephony or Water providers here, or anywhere…

And, to be clear, I think I’ve demonstrated that I’m not one to blindly defend the Company…

16. May I please note that this is an improvement from past experiences.

Chris this point is well taken but with a little salt. We should not term the restoration of power in 55 minutes in real terms if by BL&P’s own admissions they are clueless as to cause and have to investigate.

17. Did anyone realise it was Earth Hour on Saturday March 28, from 8:30pm to 9:30pm? Well I guess Barbados did its part (involuntarily) on Friday.

However there are admittedly some issues that need to be worked out. I can appreciate the complexity of running all the plants etc. However this is not a good sign. I believe I have an idea where the problem lies, however I doubt BL&P would be forthcoming with the answers.

18. @David: “…if by BL&P’s own admissions they are clueless as to cause and have to investigate.

Not understanding why a particular piece of equipment failed to perform /does/ /not/ mean they are clueless.

Words matter…

I have *no* information on this particular outage, beyond what I was able to observe as a consumer. (Or, actually, to be more accurate, many consumers…)

But, I know about equipment failures…

From what I have *read*, a particular isolation switch failed to trip in the milliseconds required.

*THIS* is what must be investigated.

Please trust me on this: BL&P are *far* from clueless….

19. Barbados is not the only place that you have electric cuts. I live in Spain and every time we have really bad weather, the electricity goes off even if only for 5 minutes. Sometimes more than once…..it is a real pain. They don’t actually tell us why, we just know it’s going to happen. The citizens are only told if it’s a major cut i.e. for 6 hours in the day etc. hence affecting businesses.

Spain is not considered a 3rd world country.

But I always say….this never happens in B’dos, that little island in the Caribbean Sea. Ok so now I know it does and it appears the electricity grids of many countries have a few problems from time to time. So what, can’t we understand that things happen sometimes. We don’t live in a perfect world.

And who exactly was affected in B’dos at 1.00am in the morning. Por favor !

20. Hey… Just for fun…

Let me please quote from today’s Nation News. Page 3.

Headline: “Generator Probe at QEH

“INVESTIGATIONS are said to be ‘quite advanced’ into why it took more than ten minutes for back-up generators at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital to get going in last Friday night’s island-wide blackout.

“Deputy chairman Guy Hewitt said they recognised what the problem was and were addressing the situation as a matter of urgency to ensure it did not happen again.

“An electrical fault with an overhead line plunged Barbados into darkness for more than two hours.

“‘There was a delay in the delivery of back-up power which we are addressing now to ensure it does not happen again.’ Hewitt told DAILY NATION.

“‘We also did a walk-through the entire hospital at the time to ensure there were no adverse consequences,’ he added. (CA)

Gosh. I feel *much* safer now, knowing that Hewitt did a “walk-through”, and that their investigations are “quite advanced”…

Please note that, to be best of my knowledge, we have not yet heard why the airport’s runway lights weren’t lit by their backup generator(s)…

Sigh….

21. @Chris

We did read that article. If the QEH was a private sector company the employee in charge of premises would have had their performance marked down. All it takes is for periodic maintenance checks. This routine we would imagine should be a priority matter at ANY hospital.

22. @David: “If the QEH was a private sector company the employee in charge of premises would have had their performance marked down.

No sir. They would have been fired!!!

@David: “All it takes is for periodic maintenance checks.

Not just maintenance checks, but also tests.

Further, those ultimately responsible should have run these themselves from time to time.

The procedure is simple: ensure that nothing critical is happening at the time, summon those responsible into the power room, and then throw the main breaker and see what happens. (Been there; done that. The expression on their faces is *priceless*.)

And again, we still haven’t heard why the runway lights weren’t on the backup generator.

Two incoming flights had to be diverted. How much did *that* cost us???

23. To:Chris Halsall

I don’t know the answers to your questions, cause I thought that incompetence and all the bad wicked things went out wid Owen and his hive of ministers and board chairmen. Really thought that de hospital had overcome its problems and all de messes in government were cleaned up by now. No more sabotage of the elevators in the hospital. I wonder if there were any casaulties as a result of the incompetence. The minister of Health really has to get on top of this situation. Who is to pay for the blackout …BLP of course and then who will pay for the consequences at the QEH?. Seems like the Hon. Minister needs some help from Sen.Maclean , David Ellis and top moderator Tony Marshall from VOB. Have not heard from my namesake about the airport but I’m sure that he has everything up the road and in the air locked down. Lord , look down on your people !! Save them from harm and danger.

24. “Preventative Maintenance” is not a phrase that exists in the Barbadian vernacular. Incidentally there are about twenty lawyers sitting in Parliament today; surely the largest number in the history of this country. A couple more are doctors. These f**ks make a living when things go wrong. It’s not in their nature to change anything (too much) because they have all done very well for themselves leaving things the way they are. PM’s should be island wide Government policy.

25. The lights went out, putting the lives of hundreds at the QEH at risk and not a word from the Union; the Church and all others who bellyached about far less serious things, when the BLP was in office.

Talk about double-standards and lowering the bar.

Thank God for BU and it being as constant and the northern star.

No more fires in the laundry because the DLP arsonist, Brenea is dead.

No more having intercourse with dead bodies or sabotage to equipment. The DLP Cell at the QEH have gone to sleep.

The lights went out, the generator did not work and the Church, and Walter Maloney – who otherwise would have had had a lot to say, are silent.

Talk about credibility, and lowing the bar!!!!!

Good work BU!!

26. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Chris

Technical issues noted, and yes interconnections are complex. We have some major management issues to address with BL&P. Yesterday, there was a ‘scheduled’ outage in St. Andrew (from mid-morning to 4pm): residents “should have been informed” was the comment on Brass Tacks from a company represenative. I often take issue with the gap between ‘should’ (intent) and ‘do’ (action). Clearly, residents did not know that they would be without power for over 7 hours. That’s smacks of bad management and disregard.

The fact that isolated and unrelated failures in the system take down the whole grid is a MAJOR problem.

Other, associated problems, such as at QEH point to some lax maintenance and perhaps even negligence, given the importance of power to a hospital.

Mr. Worme’s explanations have not explained anything, but described what has happened. He still needs to explain why the grid keeps falling over. He did say last time that the rate of failures had lessened!

27. Wrigt B .Astard Avatar
    Wrigt B .Astard

Some bloggers see it fit to defend the BL&P while asking for heads to roll at QEH. But thats not surprising. The engineer in charge of QEH is a stickler for Preventive Maintenance,and some other failure would have to be the cause. We are well aware that a piece of electronic equipment may function well today,and tomorrow fail.

28. Wrigt B .Astard Avatar
    Wrigt B .Astard

Is there strike action in progress at the BL&P ,Garrison.

29. @Wrigt B .Astard: “Some bloggers see it fit to defend the BL&P while asking for heads to roll at QEH.

Actually, that’s not quite true…

What I’m trying to point out is that everyone is screaming about BL&P, while glossing over the issues at QEH and the Airport.

And may I please point out that providing reliable backup power to a single facility is *much* simpler than providing power to an entire region.

And, to go further, I’d be interested in knowing if critical areas of the hospital have immediate backup power facilities.

And, lastly, for the record… I personally was responsible for two large-scale (Telecoms) installations here in Barbados where if main-line power failed, the equipment downstream didn’t experience even a single missed sine wave. And, if the backup generators failed to start, 18 hours of back-up power was still available from batteries….

30. Mr Worme is just a slick talker who does damage control without much detail about any problems . Perhaps seeing his face and hearing his voice one feels assured that BL&P problems are being seriously fixed. You can liken this unto an old ” Bajan saying ;
    The sight of the master fattens the beast. “Smartly translated could be when you see the master you are so happy that you forget your problems and they go away.

Can it be a justification for more of something ?

By the way some other top brass folk are practising this marketing technique i.e nuff long talk,little action and nuff reaction.

Who is to blame?

Surely miss Wendell Maclean.

31. Wrigt B .Astard Avatar
    Wrigt B .Astard

@BAFBAP
    Very few Bajans have the backbone to maintain a Preventive Maintenance System. They start well, but soon revert to their old habits,as is evident at the Ambulance Service, Transport Board,All Government buildings and the Sanitation Service to name a few

32. Wrigt B .Astard Avatar
    Wrigt B .Astard

@Poor Boyce
    What I would like to see, or hear, is one of the other untraditional Managers. Perhaps we will have to wait until Mr Worme is on vacation, or away, and there is a blackout.

33. Chris Halsall // April 1, 2009 at 11:06 am

What I’m trying to point out is that everyone is screaming about BL&P, while glossing over the issues at QEH and the Airport.

And may I please point out that providing reliable backup power to a single facility is *much* simpler than providing power to an entire region
    …………………………………….
    Where is the higher standard of accountability the DLP promised?

The DLP endangered the lives of hundreds of sick patients at the QEH by not having the appropriate back-up power.

Certainly, this is not the “change” Barbadians voted for and expect. The bar has been lowered!!!!

Who is going to resign or be fired?

This the casual way the DLP treats human life.

That at the UDC, “somebody” took up an uninsured car, drove it without insurance; hit it, then set fire to it in the garage to hide the facts.

That fire burnt the uninsured car but killed a man and destroyed a house.

Two days after, somebody at UDC wrote a cheque to ICB to pay the insurance.

Similarly, there was no power at the QEH for two hours and it is business as usual.

Not a word on the call-in-programme!!!

And, the NUPY and the Church are as quiet as a mouse.

34. @Dark Knight…

I *do* engineering…

I *don’t* do politics…

Bovine excrement is bovine excrement. I don’t care who’s on watch. Bovine excrement is simply not acceptable….

35. @BU Family… Just for fun…

@Dark Knight: “Where is the higher standard of accountability the DLP promised?

@BU Family… Please note that the type of installation I’ve described above involves over 4000 kilograms (four tonnes) of batteries… (We had to reinforce the floors at both installations.)

@DK… Before you claim incompetence of the DLP, could you please explain to us all why a similar installation was not in place at the QEH at the time of the “power” transfer???

@BU Family: Please forgive me for my immediate above. But… I simply *hate* opportunistic bovine excrement…

36. Chris Halsall // April 1, 2009 at 2:46 pm

@DK… Before you claim incompetence of the DLP, could you please explain to us all why a similar installation was not in place at the QEH at the time of the “power” transfer???
    ………………………………..

You sound like a smart man. Surely you know that the government “change.”

The policy “change” but the problems remain.

Why????

Could it be, the staff remain and that the hospital is old?

Could it be that that explains why the BLP wants to build a new state of the art general hospital?

Still, you would only have a case if you can point to a recommendation from the engineering department for the equipment you said would have made a difference – that was not considered.

See my point!!

37. @Dark Knight…

LOL. A quick reply. You must have a Blackberry… Just like me, and many…

@DK: “Could it be that that explains why the BLP wants to build a new state of the art general hospital?

So the BLP want to throw away what is there. And spend how many hundreds of millions???

@DK: “Still, you would only have a case if you can point to a recommendation from the engineering department for the equipment you said would have made a difference – that was not considered.

And yet, as I’ve pointed out, this COTS equipment (Commercial Off The Shelf) was *not* put into place at QEH at any time in the past, even though it was widely deployed by Telephony providers here in Barbados.

And why, exactly, are you dependent on the recommendations of the engineering department?

Are those ultimately responsible not able to think for themselves, or to retain outside counsel???

@DK: “See my point!!!

Yeah. I understand what you’re saying.

And reject it as bull shit.

If I May…

This is where find ourselves.

So, what can *we* do to optimize ourselves, spending the least possible while gaining the most?

Hmmm….

38. @chris halsall

Excuse me for coming in on this point of privilege. I.E. being alive to hear and see.
    Ooooooops! you got me dey, got to ask Dr Estwick what happened cause he had de whole hospital staff and management onboard and they even had a party for him. Seemed that tings were in order if not he would have huffed and puffed and blown de hospital down . He is a good cleaner.

Leaves me to ask ,What has changed so drastically after the improvement of staff morale, changing de board and getting rid of some of the professionals who ran ‘de obstacle race.’ Do not say anything to get Dr.E vexed cause he don’t mek sport and he cuts like a “walking razor”. Jus imagine dat gosh!

As de old Bajans say”Do so don’t like so’

Fair is not unfair. Who is to blame?

39. The DLP just does not get it.

If you increase domestic assets faster than the money base in the economy there will be a net decline in your foreign exchange reserves, as has happened because the DLP does not know what it is doing.

With the DLP ruling this country, exports continue to decline.

Do you remember that the DLP said it did not want foreign investment?

Well, as a result of that “loose” talk, foreign direct investments continue to decline.

While all of this is happening, there has been an increase in domestic credit of phenomenon proportions, which has already caused a massive reduction in the $2.7 billion in foreign reserves left by the BLP.

The DLP has also been licking out the foreign reserves by flying all over the place first class, while eating the best food and staying at the most expensive hotels.

Last year the credit creation at the Central Bank, up to December rise by $225 million while credit creation by the private sector increased by $503 million making a total of $723 million, which led to a corresponding decline in the reserves.

Barbadians therefore need to be very afraid because in the last financial year, in terms of domestic financing of the deficit of $643 million, only $225 million of that is yet to be shown in the decline of the reserves.

Image how bad things are and there is no money coming in.

This means that the foreign reserves will continue to fall.

That is why Thompson was blue vexed that Mia and Arthur tried to explain it to Barbadians in the Estimates.

People, the DLP is now running a deficit of $745 million but the banking system in Barbados is in no position to accommodate $745 million in credit creation?

That amount could only be accommodated if there was a significant growth in deposits of the local banking system.

But with the DLP tightening all of the screws causing you to pay more in road tax, for food and every thing under the sun, you do not have money to buy food, furthermore have money to bank.

That is why deposits at the commercial banks are down.

When things get tight with you it also gets tight with the banks.

The Dems doing so much “blasted foolishness” that even the Commercial Banks have been forced to take off the money they have saved at the Central Bank.

For example, last year there were $916 million at April, by that amount slumped to $540 million dollars by January!

So what do you have?

You have a situation where the deposits in the banking system are not growing and are falling and deposits held by the banks in Barbados at the Central Bank have fallen from $900 million to $540 million.

Remember, the DLP wants $745 million because it is spending more than it has.

So you see, there is simply no way that you can go to a local banking system where deposits are not growing and where they are drawing down deposits from the Central Bank and ask them to carry new credit creation of $743 million.

The DLP will have to either print money or pile on even more pressure on you when Thompson brings his budget.

Look friend, a famine is coming.

Store up as much as you can. Thompson will have to change the law to allow him to borrow even more, thereby creating more debt.

He ain’t building anything, just licking it out on trips overseas and buying news cars for him and his Ministers.

That will result in you having to pay more taxes.

Look, I am warning you, keep what little money you have. T

hings will get tighter. The DLP is telling you lies!!! Things are really bad but guess what!

The DLP has access to the fatted calf. It already hand picked 450 people all across Barbados through Constituency Councils whose job is to make sure that the Dems are fed while everyone else starves.

You cannot say that you have not been warned.

Ask hartley henry.

40. @Dark Knight 2009.04.01.1548…

683 words. 3795 characters…

Now I have no idea who I’m talking to…

Although I’m quite sure they’re not worth my time…

@BU Family…

Is it too much to ask that our discussions be serious????

Or are we simply comfortable pretending to be entertained while trying to breath bullshit???

41. @Dark Night: “The DLP is telling you lies!!!

And what, exactly, are you telling us?

And iff (if and only if) you are telling us the truth, then why aren’t you prepared to put your name behind what you claim?

Or is that simply too much to ask of an obvious representative of a major party here in Barbados?

(Just putting that out there, for consideration….)

42. @BU Family…

Is it just me, or has anyone else noticed that when things get a little too close to the “bone” (read: the truth), that suddenly “JEEEE-SUS” appears. Or, at least, “JEEEE-SUS”, suddenly needs to be defended…

Be it Margaret trying to stir the excrement, or AFRIKAN ROYALTY doing the same…

Hmmmm….

43. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Dark Knight
    You put together some interesting arguments about the impact of a change of government much of which seems to suggest that on the hand over the world started from zero. So the problems at QEH reflect the total dismantling of a good system and its replacement by something that is really substandard. Just from memory I recall QEH’s problems being aired widely from the time I arrived in Bim in 2007, during a previous administration, who were in power for a good decade plus.

Your economic assessment is also elegant and I wont take issue with the figures, which are broadly what I recall (but I am not in front of them now). But, you see only one way for economic behaviour to occur, something that is rarely the case.

But let me just pose a question. If the banking system cannot create the credit you argue is needed then another alternative is to shrink the economy and reduce the demand for credit. If the level or growth of foreign reserves is imposed as a binding constraint, then the other two parts (money and domestic assets) will have to adjust to live within that limit. That shrinking economy will have as a real effect higher unemployment.

Hyperbole apart, I do not know or sense that in its first year or so, the DLP government has travelled and junketed more than its predecessors. However, if you have the information, rather than the high blown accusation, please share with us.

44. @ livinginbarbados,

Hi friend, it is really very scary!!!

As regards your post above, Mr. Thompson will bring a budget soon.

Having triggered a: “manufactured meltdown of the Barbados economy,” as a result of his governance by delay; bad decisions and poor judgment, here are his options:

1. As was the case with the Welfare Department, where the vote was cut by $7 million, he will have to cut social services, further;

2. Raise taxes further thereby causing the economy to contract more (see the period 1991-1994)

3. Print money

4. Change the law again (loan limits) so that he can borrow more

5. Cut public service salaries

6. Send home people from the public service

7. Force Barbadians to pay arrears eventhough he wrote-off those same arrears for brandname people like the Turf Club, while giving his friends at Clico $10 million.

8. Do nothing but blame the BLP and the global financial crisis, as he has been doing all along?

9. Reshuffle the Cabinet again, as a further distration tactic;

10. Call elections and hope to loose.

I will revisit this soon!!!

45. @dark knight(Apr-1 2009)
    Everybody talking about Blackouts and the consequences.. you bringing facts of a different kind. I nearly misinterpret the second line of your infomercial. Boy don’t do that I thought that I was seeing increase in the cost of electricity. Dat send my heart racing. You can cause people with bad hearts problems. We can’t even get the latest on the mishaps and you want to cause more people to get heart attacks. Do stick to the subject. More information and assurances are required about these mishaps.

46. constantly i used to read smaller content that as well clear
    their motive, and that is also happening with this paragraph which
    I am reading here.