The Yankee Stadium submitted by Yardbroom

Barbadosforum.com
Aquatic Club/Source:Barbadosforum.com

It was a balmy evening, the night sky was lit by stars, seemingly suspended to sprinkle stardust. Cars highly polished, were parked in the streets surrounding the Stadium. Ladies resplendent in stoles covering arms earlier exposed to the sun, were held close by husbands and partners suitably attired. There was a whiff of expensive perfume in the air, as chauffeurs stood beside their automobiles, prepared for a long wait.

The ladies glided into their seats at ringside, shephered by their male companions who acknowledged business colleagues and friends at ringside. Some couples brought cushions to protect expensive attire from the early evening dew. This Yankee Stadium was in of all places Brittons Hill St Michael. The great and the good of Barbados sporting society were prepared for for a night of boxing.

Enterprising women whose land surrounded the stadium, charged small boys and young men a few cents for a perch in the high trees on their property, which gave a view of the ring. One is reminded of the phrase often used at the turn of the century in New York to describe Barbadians: “As soon as these West Indians have two more cents than a beggar they want to start a business.”

Outside the stadium the ubiquitous sweet sellers were hard at work, downwind of them the rich aroma of freshly roasted corn wafted the night air as corn lay atop coals whose embers were red aglow. Small boys scampered about as they often do when excited. No doubt an exciting evening of pugilistic endeavor was expected.

Brittons Hill? I hear you ask, I doubt anyone under fifty years living there would have seen the Stadium.

In this most unlikely of settings, a purpose built boxing stadium was erected and a successful one at that…thanks to Belfield Alleyne . For those with no knowledge of this Stadium, at Brittons Cross Road, travel towards the Villa Road, after about thirty metres you will come to Cummings Road. Turn right, the site of the former Public Bath will be on your left, about twenty metres along the road, is the site of the Stadium. Almost opposite the site where Mr Chase had his Blacksmith shop…many an old donkey cart owner would know of him…a nice man.

I wonder if Jack Dick and his fellow pugilists could return what they would think of the place now? Alast Brittons Hill is not the place it used to be… a glimpse of old Barbados.

Missing the last bus submitted by ganong

Boys will be boys they say. That includes liking girls. That also includes visiting them at their homes if you are allowed to do more than stand on the premises. Some fellas assist the girls with their homework, and others get to cuddle and do diverse and sundry deeds. All this was all well and good, once you left in time to catch the last bus home. If you left your girl and all was well, and the rain didn’t fall, well you counted that as experience. But often if she was quarreling cause you were “horning she” you got no good night kiss and you left disappointed. It was usually on such nights that the windows of heaven would open and the rains would descend in torrents. There is perhaps no experience as bad as the triology of leaving your lass in a huff, missing the last bus and then being drenched by a tropical downpour. That is what you call missing the last bus in beautiful, beautiful Barbados.

For those from other shores, and those of recent vintage we must clarify a few things. Depending on where you live in Barbados the public transportation system the last bus leaves Bridgetown, the connecting hub and capital at a particular time for each destination. In the sixties it was 6 pm for some destinations, 8 pm for others and 11 pm for others- like mine. It was incumbent therefore to know this important information when engaging in the science of chick checking (courting.) Very few youngsters were then given their father’s car to engage in this lofty pastime, and fathers were not given to rise from their warm beds to rescue silly sons who did not know how to be punctual. Missing the last bus therefore meant that you had to “slam tar”- a most inelegant euphemism for walking home sleepy and tired in the dark!

Usually when you were at the young ladies home, as the clock hands turned towards 11 p.m the young lass would put her hair in curlers or she would otherwise “set” her hair. As soon as you left she was in her warm bed. By the time you reached the bus stop she was far, far away in slumberland. And we the love-infected fellas were on the road struggling to get home. But as they say, boys will be boys; and that includes checking chicks in the approved Bajan fashion. Any girl worth her salt-or sugar- could easily induce the most quiet and conservative boy to miss the last bus. Any normal red blooded chap who sought after the mystical “sugar and spice” of which girls are alleged to be made, readily risked missing the last bus- and getting laughed at. After all, boys must be boys!

One Thursday in July 1972 I left home in St James to seek a job at the JuC Factory in Bay Street. I was unsuccessful and so I went up to Wanderers Cricket Club in Dayrell’s Road to watch an under nineteen cricket game between Barbados and Trinidad.(Craig, Ashby of Cawmere played in that game. As well as Nigel Johnson and Joel Garner.) Cricket finished at 5:30, and I ought to have set off for home at that time. But the lure of seeing my darling, who lived opposite the cricket ground was too great. Next thing you know it was 10:30. Since we had heard no bus pass on the way up to the top of the route, wisdom dictated that I should run to town if I was to catch the last bus to my home in St James.

In those days I was at my peak in the science of running for the last bus. I could run the two miles or so to town in less than 20 minutes if missing the last bus was to be averted. I was not of course an athlete, but until then I had never missed the last bus. True to form I hit Fairchild Street at 10:50 after running through the rain for over a mile. To my dismay the 11 o clock last bus to Holder’s Green was gone! Gone before the time!

I boarded a Paynes Bay Bus and descended therefrom at the bottom of the University Drive on Highway one, to walk the two miles or so to Redman’s Village area. Would you believe it? Half way on this trek the rains descended in a manner that would have caused Noah to fear. I was soaked for the second time that night as I walked wet and wearily homewards. No one could personally have cursed me as I cursed and chided myself that night.

The following night I walked my sweet heart home from the Youth Service, and left in time to run to town to catch the last bus. What do you suppose happened? The bus again left before the scheduled time, and again I got soaked. What angered me most was that I was there on time! It was not my fault that I had missed the last bus! That really hurt! I retired from this pastime at the tender age of 22 when I departed to Jamaica to study. By the time I returned to Barbados I was married and owned a car.

Some years ago my wife and I were entertaining the sweet heart of one my fellow medical students at our home. One rainy night my colleague came to visit, and as expected, lost track of time and missed the last bus. The bus had taken an alternative route to the end of its route near to my home. As a result we did not hear when it arrived. We heard when it left, however. My friend had missed the last bus! He had arrived! He could be certified as a real chick checking man!

I announced to my colleague “Eustace boy, you miss the last bus and we are too tired to drive you home tonight. You will have to walk home. After all you are not a real man till you miss the last bus, and walk home through the rain.”

To my amazement his girlfriend responded “Come Eustace, I will go with you.” They were both Dominicans, and certainly did not know the way from Rendezvous to the Medical Students lodgings in Jemmott’s Lane, just outside Bridgetown. However, because she was the first girl I had met who was willing to accompany her boyfriend home after missing the last bus, I relented and we drove him home. This, after I had rolled up all over the floor having a good Bajan belly laugh at his plight.

Today, few young men know what it feels like to miss the last bus, because they tend to go courting with their parents expensive cars. But I believe with all my heart that a man has not truly courted properly the Bajan way unless he has at least once, on a rainy night, missed the last bus.

Come on fellas . Let’s have some good last bus stories.

314 responses to “Life In Past Barbados”

1. I plan to run Q ragged by keeping this thread running

Do you remember when we used to try to use long words at school, and were in awe of the teacher who did it for bear sport. the indomitable Gobells or Ding Dong Bell?

Do You Recognize These Adages- Or rather verbosities? ENJOY!

1.All articles that coruscate with resplendence are not truly auriferous.

All that Glitters is not Gold
    2.Sorting on the part of mendicants must be interdicted.
    Beggars cannot be choosers

3. Male cadavers are incapable of rendering any testimony.
    Dead men tell no tales
    4. Neophite’s serendipity.
    Beginner’s luck

5. A revolving lithic conglomerate accumulates no congeries of small, green, biophytic plant.

A Rolling Stone gathers no Moss.

6. Members of an avian species of identical plumage tend to congregate.

Birds of a feather flock together
    7. Pulchritude possesses solely cutaneous profundity.
    Beauty is only skin-deep

8. Freedom from incrustations of crime is contiguous to rectitude.

Cleanliness is next to Godliness.

9.It is fruitless to become lachrymose of precipitately departed lacteal fluid.

Don’t cry over Spilt Milk

10.Eschew the implement of correction and vitiate the scion.

Spare the Rod and Spoil the Child.

11.The stylus is more potent than the rapier.

The Pen is Mightier than the Sword

12.It is fruitless to attempt to indoctrinate a superannuated canine with innovative maneuvers.

You cant teach an Old Dog new Tricks

13.Surveillance should precede salutation.

Look before you leap.

14.Scintillate, scintillate, asteroid minim, or Scintillate, scintillate O diminutive asteroid

Twinkle, twinkle little star

15.The person presenting the ultimate cachinnation possesses thereby the optimal cachinnation.

One who laughs the last, laughs the best.

16.Exclusive dedication to necessitous chores without interludes of hedonistic diversion renders John a hebetudinous fellow.

All work and No Play makes Jack a Dull boy.

17.Individuals who make their abodes in vitreous edifices would be advised to refrain from catapulting petrious projectiles.

Those who live in Glass Houses should cast no stones
    18.Where there are visible vapors having their provenance in ignited carbonaceous materials,
    there is conflagration.

Where there is smoke, there will be fire.

To these I add …The essence of citrus liquidity reposes on the abode. That is to say, “The lemonade is on the house”.

2. As you probably know both the Lodge School, and Society High School were both boarding schools. There used to be some legendary stories coming out of these St John institutions, about girls or boys escaping at night to pay visits to these contiguous colleges, for home work exercises?

These reports may well have been fiction, but the subliminal correspondence between father and son recorded below was fact. The lad wrote:

Dear Dad,
    $chool i$ really great. I am making lot$ of friend$ and $tudying very hard. With all my $tuff, I $imply can`t think of anything I need, $o if you would like, you can ju$t $end me a card, a$ I would love to hear from you.
    Love,
    Your $on

His dear old dad, being the block from which the lad was chipped replied:

Dear Son,
    kNOw that astroNOmy, ecoNOmics, and oceanography are eNOugh to keep even an hoNOr student busy. Do NOt forget that the pursuit of kNOwledge is a Noble task, and you can never study eNOugh.
    Love,
    Dad

I guess they both got the message.

3. I remember one time there was a teacher’s strike I guess over pay.

I think it was in 1968 or 1969.

That was the only time I can remember over my time at HC that there was a strike.

I think we had time off, perhaps a day or so. Perhaps there was a skeleton staff who supervised as I can’t imagine the school shutting.

In our naive and stupid way we did not realise what a serious step the teachers had taken.

We just liked the time off.

I remember Mr Boxhill, “Joshua” trying to explain to us what it was all about.

I think he got frustrated as we were just incapable of registering just how serious a matter it was.

Man, the nick names and the faces keep coming back … remember Rock Jaw, Mr. Ulric Crick?

4. Ganong wrote:

“Those were the days when the boys could play cricket like men- before female teachers messed up our schools cricket.”

Actually Ganong, a good friend of mine who shall remain nameless, because of his high-profile public position, attributes the decline of HC, C’mere, Lodge, CP, & Foundation cricket to the onset of co-educational education. Before co-ed, boys would play cricket anytime & anywhere, in the breaks, during lunch, after school: come back into class hot & sweaty, didn’t matter. Now, my friend says, they don’t want to appear to be “not cool,” so games have suffered. Not my theory but his, but it sounds reasonable to me.

I also believe that our teachers were real pedagogues, believing in an all-round education, including the sciences, the classics, and the liberal-arts. Nowadays, everyone is so programme-focused and oriented that they lose sight of Sam Headley’s dictum, “Mens sana in corpore sano.”

Mr. Crick! Now there was a true pedagogue who served the field of education throughout the West Indies.

5. @ John
    You are referring of course to the massive teacher’s strike at the beginning of the third term in 1969. It was over the fact that the teachers who had left the older secondary schools to teach at the new BCC were offered more money than those who remained at the older schools

The strike lasted about two weeks and I think that schools were actually closed. It was not only a HC thing. HC lost only A F E Barnett, but Combermere lost a lot of their teachers. The early BCC had a science campus (headed by Barnett) down in the Harbour next to where the shallow draft harbor is to day at the site of the 1962 Trade Fair and the original site of UWI in Barbados. The other campus was at Sherbourne for Arts.

The Harbour site had beautiful views out to Sea and towards Lands End ( no Spring Garden Highway yet). The SJP was begun down at that site too, before they went to Wildey

You are correct in saying “In our naive and stupid way we did not realise what a serious step the teachers had taken. We just liked the time off.” BUT that was the time of the beginning of one of our great tertiary institutions of which we can be very proud the BCC!

@ Iain Edghill :
    Re “Those were the days when the boys could play cricket like men- before female teachers messed up our schools cricket.”
    Actually Ganong, a good friend of mine who shall remain nameless, because of his high-profile public position, attributes the decline of HC, C’mere, Lodge, CP, & Foundation cricket to the onset of co-educational education. Before co-ed, boys would play cricket anytime & anywhere, in the breaks, during lunch, after school: come back into class hot & sweaty, didn’t matter. Now, my friend says, they don’t want to appear to be “not cool,” so games have suffered. Not my theory but his, but it sounds reasonable to me.

I think coed started after 81, but by 88 when my son entered HC, inter form cricket was non existent. Most classes were 50% girls. Most of the other 50% played Nintendo! In my day each class had two cricket teams, and fellas used to beg for a play- even though they were not necessarily the best players!

I do remember also Sam Headley’s dictum, “Mens sana in corpore sano.”

6. Ganong, that’s correct! House matches were serious things.Whites worn, no quarter asked, none given. Man, I remember one afternoon at College “A” in fading light, Collymore vs. Deighton, Peter Roberts, who had a frisky pace, turned it on against Michael King and me. Michael, who had a elegantly arrogant style of batting, just like Tony his older brother, had to ask Peter, after a short-pitched ball, “Man Robbie, wha’ ya t’ink dis is, a test match?” Mind you, the short-pitched bowling was justified because both MK and I were in the 80’s. Peter could bend a ball around pretty good, and was sneaky fast. He and Ricky “Clappo” Griffith were our opening bowlers in 1965 when I was on the 1st XI. Carl Stuart was our captain. The batting order looked like this:
    1. I. Edghill
    2. G. Bryan,
    3. C. Burnham
    4. M.I. King
    5. D. A. Deane
    6. G.A. Greenidge
    7. C.A. Stuart [Capt. and wkpr]
    8. Mr. C. Blackman or Mr. Martindale
    9. A.B. Howard
    10. E.R. Griffith
    11. P. Roberts

2 W.I. players and several who were invited to trials for Barbados. We had batting down to #9 because Tony [Ox] Howard said that he could bat at any position in the order, and he was right. He could also open the bowling.

And don’t forget that HC and Lodge and Combermere were also fielding 2nd XI and Intermediate teams.

How the mighty have fallen!

7. How the mighty have fallen indeed!
    That is a very good team from my recollection.

8. memries // August 22, 2008 at 8:13 pm

wha you say! ha ha ha ha ha
    ———————————————————–

I am one of those mothers who think that co education HAS MESSED up our children’s life! A boy can no longer be a boy!

If he goes and plays a game of cricket or football the girls love to say ‘he smell real musty’ Sickening!

The little girls in my son’s class terrorise my son, they call him sexy this and sexy that! At 9 years old! A day my mother called me to listen to a message left on the answering machine.

This 9 year ole child telling my son “my man i want to hear you, pick up the phone you know how much I am thinking about you and blah blah…… I was so pist off!

Co education is the WORST THING that has happened to the school system!

Girls develop faster than boys yet they can keep up with their school work! Now imagine my son having to keep up with school work, girls terrorising him bout how sweet he is plus he not wanting to run around at school cause people say you smell real musty stupes……..

9. JC

When the schools became co-ed, a lot of the good old time male teachers that had in thier years went home.

Can you imagine their whole life that the only young girls some of these “old fashioned” men as they would be called today, knew or better were acquainted with ewere their own daughters or daughters of thier friend who referred to them as “Uncle”, having to do with some of the raw risque rambo prccocious girls we have around?

Well these old boys opted to go home instead.
    There are some interesting tales recounted that that scared some of these seasoned teachers, which I cant tell in this forum.

10. Though education was “free” for the Government secondary schools in the 60’s, there were a number of Private High Schools dotted around the place mainly in town.

Few of them have survived.

In St Philip there was Industry High and Mapps College and St Anthony’s at one time I think after it removed from Country Rd.

In Ch Ch there was Ch Ch High School where the Old Boys Foundation was, and the Unique High School.

The Federal High School was where the Purity is now for most of its existence. Further down the Rd was the Arlington High.

There was Barbados Academy or Rudder, and the Washington High near Westbury I think.

The Modern High and Metropolitan HIgh were in Roebuck Street. Society HIgh in St John. The Wakefield HIgh was at the corner of Martindales Rd , Halls Rd and Constitution Rd. There was another one in Barbarees Hill, and “Green Lynch” in Spry Street.

Some of those that have survived are The Convent, St Winifreds and another one on Collymore Rock.

11. Any of you Foundation boys remember the Callendar brothers from St Lawrence that were nicknamed Bakie?

The older of the two on his first day at school took bake chicken to school for lunch. He was thus dubbed “Bake fowl”. This was later reduced to “Bakie” a name passed on to his younger brother when he appeared later on church hill.

12. Talking about nicknames, wasn’t Labbys the nickname of the Brown brothers now of CS Pharmacy. About coeducation, since corporal punishment ( this should be a topic on another forum) is still the norm in B’dos does the Headmaster administer corporal punishment to girls or do they get punished at all?

L Harford Skeete would dispense floggings with bamboos cut from a grove which was located in front of the school. When his supply ran low he would send “Brand” the school porter to cut more for him.

I also remember someone smoking in one of Ronnie Hughes’ history class, he was testing the theory that a smoker couldn’t smell cigarette smoke.

He was right

13. NUH LINGA-(The Jamaican Dance) Avatar
    NUH LINGA-(The Jamaican Dance)

she passed my way
    I glanced at her
    her frock was blowing in the wind
    her hair showed tell tale signs of rustle
    her hands were stretch to accomodation
    her mouth was open with exclamation
    I had somehow manage to capture the moment
    I had managed to record the event

14. I believe that these questions would reverberate well with some of you old time HC nerds. What you think?

If you mixed vodka with orange juice and milk of magnesia, would you get a Philip’s Screwdriver?

Why do we say something is out of whack? What is a whack?

Do infants enjoy infancy as much as adults enjoy adultery?

If a pig loses its voice, is it disgruntled?

Why do women wear evening gowns to nightclubs? Shouldn’t they be wearing night gowns?

If love is blind, why is lingerie so popular?

When someone asks you, “A penny for your thoughts,” and you put your two cents in, what happens to the other penny?

Why is the man who invests all your money called a broker?

Why do croutons come in airtight packages? It’s just stale bread tobegin with.

When cheese gets it’s picture taken, what does it say?

Why is a person who plays the piano called a pianist, but a person who drives a race car not called a racist?

Why are a wise man and a wise guy opposites?

Why do overlook and oversee mean opposite things?

If horrific means to make horrible, does terrific mean to make terrible?

Why isn’t 11 pronounced onety one?

“I am ” is reportedly the shortest sentence in the English language. Could it be that “I do ” is the longest sentence?

If lawyers are disbarred and clergymen defrocked, doesn’t it follow that electricians can be delighted, musicians denoted, cowboys deranged, models deposed, tree surgeons debarked and dry cleaners depressed?

Do Roman paramedics refer to IV’s as “4’s”?

Why is it that if someone tells you that there are 1 billion stars in the universe you will believe them, but if they tell you a wall has wet paint you will have to touch it to be sure?

If you take an Oriental person and spin him around several times, does he become disoriented?

If people from Poland are called “Poles,” why aren’t people from Holland called “Holes?”
    ____

15. We were not half as smart as the kids today. I once heard a teenaged girl in a church asking “How come sister Jones aint married and she got six children? How she can tell me anything about fornication. Aint that the pot calling the kettle black?

She couldn’t understand that Miss Jones didn’t want her to grow up into adultery.

16. memries // August 25, 2008 at 12:11 pm

I am convinced that besides the high standards set by HC in sports and learning that extremely high standards were set in mastering the art of BS talking.

I suspect that is why the more successful lawyers in Barbados can claim to have been educated at HC.

17. I agree, but John you should hear the HC doctors talk shit…….and during operaions too! LOL!

Now the whole of this forum will be scared now………or more scared to go to hospital. LOL

18. What started out as fund has come down to a HC blog. Who the hell HC think they are? We had GREAT fun at CP and passed on many of those you claim to be yours , who were just there for 2 miserly years just because CP didn’t have a 6th form. Three Prime Ministers, two Governors of the Central Bank, an Anglican Bishop, two Governor Generals and much much more

19. Scout.
    We have been waiting for the CP boys and the Lodge Boys and all the other boys from the very first post.

Ganong said come fellas give us your last bus stories, give us your singing in the choir stories etc

We still waiting. I from the south. And I honestly want to hear if the guys did things differently in the different areas of the country. NO one has said a word, and now you are complaining Sir? NOt fair!

We had a little Foundation and even Cawmere input. You posted too with out even telling us you are a CP man.

Those of us who went to school with Chetwyn have spoken highly of him here. Ian spoke highly of the CP back to back victories in the inter school sports. We forgot KD Boyce in our list of school boy players.

Tell us about CP fun. Dont blame us for telling our stories if you wont tell yours. Be fair!

And yes I interacted with Winston Cox, and the chap that is/was head of Water Authority (??Yearwood I think? when they were at HC and since. Both of these were and are still are
    very pleasant persons.

20. SCout

So that we can return to fun read this post

Here are the top nine comments made by NBC sports commentators during the Summer Olympics that they would like to take back:

1. Weightlifting commentator: ‘This is Gregoriava from Bulgaria. I saw her snatch this morning during her warm up and it was amazing.

2. Dressage commentator: ‘This is really a lovely horse and I speak from personal experience since I once mounted her mother.’

3. Paul Hamm, Gymnast: ‘I owe a lot to my parents, especially my mother and father.’

4. Boxing Analyst: ‘Sure there have been injuries, and even some deaths in boxing, but none of them really that serious.’

5. Softball announcer: ‘If history repeats itself, I should think we can expect the same thing again.’

6. Basketball analyst: ‘He dribbles a lot and the opposition doesn’t like it. In fact you can see it all over their faces.’

7. At the rowing medal ceremony: ‘Ah, isn’t that nice, the wife of the IOC president is hugging the cox of the British crew.’

8. Soccer commentator: ‘Julian Dicks is everywhere. It’s like they’ve got eleven Dicks on the field.’

9. Tennis commentator: ‘One of the reasons Andy is playing so well is that, before the final round, his wife takes out his balls and kisses them… Oh my God, what have I just said?’

We used to talk shite at HC but we never descended to the level of those guys on NBC.

21. ha ha ha ha ha dah one bad Mr. Ganong!

22. Those bloopers are like the one when Bill JOhnston of the BBC commentating on a test WI vs England said
    ” The bowler’s Holding, the batsman’s Willey.” Many English women promptly called the BBC to complain for Johnners.

23. LOL Ganong!!

RLMAO!!!

24. I have 2 sons…..both of them are boys.

I have been ALL over the world and other places…..Wonder who said these.

Smokey Burke always made me crack up with these jokes by a famous person.

25. Technician

Is that G StA Sobers- the best all round cricketer the world has ever seen from the Bay land?

26. Here are some other bloopers in the form of puns

In a Tokyo shop: Our nylons cost more than common but you’ll find they are best in the long run.

In an Acapulco hotel : The manager has personally passed all the water served here

In a Tokyo bar: Special cocktails for the ladies with nuts.

In a Roman doctor’s office: Specialist in women and other diseases.

In a Bucharest hotel lobby: The lift is being fixed for the next day. During that time we regret that you will be unbearable.

In a Paris hotel elevator: Please leave your values at the front desk.

In a hotel in Athens: Visitors are expected to complain at the office between the hours of 9 & 11 A.M.

On a plumbers truck: A flush is better than a full house.

In a Yugoslavian hotel: The flattening of underwear with pleasure is the job of the chambermaid.

In a Japanese hotel: You are invited to take advantage of the chambermaid.

On the menu of a Swiss restaurant :Our wines leave you nothing to hope for

Outside a Hong Kong tailor shop: Ladies may have a fit upstairs.

In a Rhodesian tailor shop: Order your summer’s suit. Because is big rush we will execute customers in strict rotation.

From a brochure of a car rental firm in Tokyo: When a passenger of foot heave in sight, tootle the horn. Trumpet him melodiously at first, but if he still obstacles your passage then tootle him with vigor

In the window of a Swedish furrier: Fur coats made for ladies from their own skin.

Advertisement for donkey rides in Thailand: Would you like to ride on your own ass?

In a laundry in Rome: Ladies leave your clothes here and spend the afternoon having a good time.

In a hotel in Zurich: Because of the impropriety entertaining guests of the opposite sex in the bedroom it is suggested that the lobby be used for this purpose.

From a Soviet weekly: There will be a Moscow Exhibition of Arts by several Soviet Republic painters and sculptors. These were executed over the past two years.

And Finnally,
    On the faucet of a Finnish washroom: To stop the drip, turn cock to the right

27. ha h ha ha ha ha ahahahahahahahaha

28. Ganong
    Dig this one
    Two elderly women were having breakfast in a resttaurant on morning. Liz saw something funny about Peggy’s ear and said “Peggy do you know you have a suppository in your left ear? Peggy answered ” I have a suppository in my ear? She pulled it out and stared at it Then she said ” Liz, I’m glad you saw this thing. Now I know where to find my hearing aid.

29. SCout
    You remind me of my former mother in law who couldnt find her glasses. She eventually found them in her Bible.

But guess what?
    She once alleged while staying at my home that she saw me in the dark without the same glasses on bring a young girl into the house.

Believe you me; I was 29 years old at the time and that was the first time I ever curse some body stink stink stink.

30. Ganong
    I heard of a case where a lady dead and after the service and they were taking out the casket, it sturck the side of the church. Some-one thought they heard a groan, when they opened the box, the lady was alive.Five years later the same lady died(again), as they were coming out of the same church, her husband asked the pallbearers to be careful not to hit the wall again

31. Ganong
    Check this one.
    Attorney questioning witness
    Attorney: Are you sexually active.
    Witness: No Sir, I just lie there.

32. Scout
    I was asked to behave, but you want to stat me up now back. NOw this really happen i Barbados for real!

Bajan Dr to young girl in office speaking decently and with decorum: Miss are you sexually active.

Girl: Huh? Whaaaaaat? (as though not understanding)

Bajan Dr to young girl in office speaking decently and with decorum: Have you ever engaded in sexual intercourse.y dear child?

Girl: Huh? Whaaaaaaaat? as though not understanding)

Bajan Dr to young girl in office: (now getting irritated) You f00000. Ping Girl?

Girl: Yes Dr, but not regular.

Bajan Dr to young girl in office: How often is regular?

Girl: Only twice a day Doc.

33. Dr from MBPC gone to a St Peter Village to make a house call, and inquires of an old fellow long side de road.

Skippa where does Mr JOhn Doe live round here?

Old fellow sings out. You didnt know that he move? Man he move from bout here a few months ago.

Dr to old man: So where he gone to Sir?

Old man: Man he move down to All Saints yard!

34. Scout talking bout lawyers

A certain lawyer from the north that likes to wear three piece suits asked a policeman in court if he didnt think rape was intimacy.

Policemen said Yes VIOLENT INTIMACY.

Man I nearly laugh out loud in de place!

35. ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!

36. Scout get back to me man. You like you lick up yeh!

Another true story.

Dr examining female recruit in defence force.

Doc checking for power in the arms. OK
    Doc checking for power in the lower limb.

Girl start to resist before asked to do so.

Doc says. No madam just let me do what I wanna do. Then realizing that he might be misinterpreted, he says “Sorry mam. I said that the wrong way, I should have said………..”

Girl responds: Its OK Doc. I was here waiting for some sorta thrill!

Doc left like if he get two bouncers followed by a yorker. He didnt know what to say.

True True

37. Ganong
    This one happened many years ago in Dist.E court
    Attorney(now deceased) ; Doctor, before
    you performed the autopsy, did you check
    for pluse?
    Doctor Gilmore: No
    Attorney;Did you check for blood pressure?
    Attorney: Did you check for breathing?
    Attorney: Then Doctor, it is possible the patient
    was alive when you started the
    autopsy?
    Attorney: How can you be so sure doc?
    Doctor Gilmore: Because his brain was sitting
    on my desk in a jar
    Attorney: I see, but could it be the patient
    was still alive nevertheless?
    Doctor Gilmore: Yes, it is possible he was
    alive and practicing LAW

38. Ganong
    Got this from a C.P man in USA.
    A bajan woman was on a elevator in Manhattan, when it got to the second floor two ladies got in and light up the elevator with their perfumes. One asked the other ” what’s that fragrant you’re wearing. the lady replied ‘ it’s the latest from Chanel; U.S 150.00 per ounce. WoW. and the one you’re wearing the other lady asked ” it’s a new French perfume sent to me on trial. It would sell at about US 275.00 per ounce. At that point the bajan lady was reaching her floor, as the elevator stopped and she exited, she eased out a true bajan poop, looked back at the ladies still in the elevator , who at this time was holding their noses ” that fragrant is called Breadfruit from Barbados; Bds $ 1.00 per pound.

39. Scout
    Thanks for keeping the CP flag flying on this thread.
    It is always good when we put those American asses in thier place!

40. GP
    This is my last. There was a new girl that moved into our village to live with her aunt because her mother migrated to Britain. her name was Virginia, we called her Virgie for short but not for long.

41. Scout

There was a girl called Virginia who went to a fete. On returning home she knocked at the door to be let in.

When her momma asked who was knocking, she said It is IA.

42. THIS IS THE OFFICIAL END OF THIS THREAD

I HAVE BROUGHT IT TO A CLIMAX
    ————————————————————–I believe that big hard back old men should find something better to do–
    —————–THE END——————-

43. A priest was being honored at his retirement dinner after 25 years in the parish. A leading local politician and member of the congregation was chosen to make the presentation and give a little speech at the dinner.

However, he was delayed, so the priest decided to say his own few words while they waited:
    ‘I got my first impression of the parish from the first confession I heard here. I thought I had been assigned to a terrible place. The very first person who entered my confessional told me he had stolen a television set and, when questioned by the police, was able to lie his way out of it. He had stolen money from his parents, embezzled from his employer, had an affair with his boss’s wife, taken illegal drugs, and gave VD to his sister. I was appalled.

But as the days went on I learned that my people were not all like that and I had, indeed, come to a fine parish full of good and loving people.’…

Just as the priest finished his talk, the politician arrived full of apologies at being late. He immediately began to make the presentation and gave his talk:

‘I’ll never forget the first day our parish priest arrived,’ said the politician. ‘In fact, I had the honor of being the first person to go to him for confession.’

Moral: Never, Never, Never Be Late

44. ha ha ha ah

45. I wanted to bring up the subject of corporal punishment as a relic of past Barbados under this thread but I notice it is still part of today’s environment. BFP had a post about this subject over a year ago and the responses were more of the “spare the rod spoil the child” category.

I was beaten once (notice I said beaten) in elementary school by a teacher and flogged once in high school by the Headmaster. The beating I received in elementary school came a week before the results the eleven plus were disclosed and this teacher beat me like a rented mule with a thick strap for the heinous crime of talking with a friend in class. I have never forgotten it and discovered later that he was a drunk who probably had a hard morning with his wife and took it out on a ten year old.

Now according to articles and letters some people still support this barbaric practice as a method of discipline and a letter writer goes so far to say that it promotes learning. If flogging children was an aid to learning Barbados should be overrun with Einsteins.

Since corporal punishment is such a deterrent I think that we should bring back “the cat” to fix crime.

But what do I know public lashings helped to keep slaves in line

46. My siblings and I chuckle among ourselves at the method our mother used.

She never flogged or beat us.

However, she kept a strap on top of a book case out of our reach. When we wore her patience thin, she said she was going for the strap.

We would come to see if she really meant it and once we saw her reach up for it, we ran and kept out of her way for a while. We became contrite.

She never struck us but boy did that strap work wonders.

Likewise I remember Heads Marshall dealing with a recalcitrant in 1.1.

First it was ejection from the form to sit on the seats around the sandbox tree, think over the transgression and wait for him to complete his teaching.

He would then walk the boy over to the retreat with his arm around him and talk to him. No flogging.

The whole school knew who was getting to the verge of being flogged by Heads.

The next time the boy was sent to stand under the frangipani tree, closer to the Retreat and wait for Heads. Same procedure, walk and talk, all in public.

If the boy got to number three it was go to the Retreat and wait for me.

I never witnessed what happened inside but I suspect it was no mercy.

We quickly learned how to behave and perform in class. I think we only had to witness the procedure twice and that was it.

Now, I figure Heads was also giving himself a cooling off period and a time to think through what he might have to do.

A threat of the flogging more than the actual flogging kept most of us in line. Most of us were never flogged. We twigged how the system worked early.

There were always one or two who just didn’t get it, …… and got it if you know what I mean. There are always one or two.

I’m for flogging, ….. but by humans who understand the power of choosing not to flog and who know how to communicate the mechanics of the choice clearly to the offenders …… and potential offenders, …..particularly the potential offenders.

Flogging works!!!

47. @John

Your mother was intelligent to realise that the threat was just as effective in getting results as the actual punishment. The other examples of “Heads Marshall” show some cooling off before administering any punishment which allowed him to reflect on the circumstances and decide whether flogging was the way to go. Too often anger was the only criteria applied before floggings were administered.

48. Heads Marshall once told me that I was sliding on a banana skin. That was his warning to me.

49. I remember one day at C.P our headteacher Mr. J.S ” Jagan” Yearwood flogged the whole 1–3 form. When the fellows started joshing for the back, the names were called in alphabetical order and all 39 boys received 3 lashes with a strap. The last man lashes was just as hot as the first man. I was NOT one of them. Never got flogged at school.

50. Scout

Did you check out any of Jagan’s daughters man?