The Yankee Stadium submitted by Yardbroom

Barbadosforum.com
Aquatic Club/Source:Barbadosforum.com

It was a balmy evening, the night sky was lit by stars, seemingly suspended to sprinkle stardust. Cars highly polished, were parked in the streets surrounding the Stadium. Ladies resplendent in stoles covering arms earlier exposed to the sun, were held close by husbands and partners suitably attired. There was a whiff of expensive perfume in the air, as chauffeurs stood beside their automobiles, prepared for a long wait.

The ladies glided into their seats at ringside, shephered by their male companions who acknowledged business colleagues and friends at ringside. Some couples brought cushions to protect expensive attire from the early evening dew. This Yankee Stadium was in of all places Brittons Hill St Michael. The great and the good of Barbados sporting society were prepared for for a night of boxing.

Enterprising women whose land surrounded the stadium, charged small boys and young men a few cents for a perch in the high trees on their property, which gave a view of the ring. One is reminded of the phrase often used at the turn of the century in New York to describe Barbadians: “As soon as these West Indians have two more cents than a beggar they want to start a business.”

Outside the stadium the ubiquitous sweet sellers were hard at work, downwind of them the rich aroma of freshly roasted corn wafted the night air as corn lay atop coals whose embers were red aglow. Small boys scampered about as they often do when excited. No doubt an exciting evening of pugilistic endeavor was expected.

Brittons Hill? I hear you ask, I doubt anyone under fifty years living there would have seen the Stadium.

In this most unlikely of settings, a purpose built boxing stadium was erected and a successful one at that…thanks to Belfield Alleyne . For those with no knowledge of this Stadium, at Brittons Cross Road, travel towards the Villa Road, after about thirty metres you will come to Cummings Road. Turn right, the site of the former Public Bath will be on your left, about twenty metres along the road, is the site of the Stadium. Almost opposite the site where Mr Chase had his Blacksmith shop…many an old donkey cart owner would know of him…a nice man.

I wonder if Jack Dick and his fellow pugilists could return what they would think of the place now? Alast Brittons Hill is not the place it used to be… a glimpse of old Barbados.

Missing the last bus submitted by ganong

Boys will be boys they say. That includes liking girls. That also includes visiting them at their homes if you are allowed to do more than stand on the premises. Some fellas assist the girls with their homework, and others get to cuddle and do diverse and sundry deeds. All this was all well and good, once you left in time to catch the last bus home. If you left your girl and all was well, and the rain didn’t fall, well you counted that as experience. But often if she was quarreling cause you were “horning she” you got no good night kiss and you left disappointed. It was usually on such nights that the windows of heaven would open and the rains would descend in torrents. There is perhaps no experience as bad as the triology of leaving your lass in a huff, missing the last bus and then being drenched by a tropical downpour. That is what you call missing the last bus in beautiful, beautiful Barbados.

For those from other shores, and those of recent vintage we must clarify a few things. Depending on where you live in Barbados the public transportation system the last bus leaves Bridgetown, the connecting hub and capital at a particular time for each destination. In the sixties it was 6 pm for some destinations, 8 pm for others and 11 pm for others- like mine. It was incumbent therefore to know this important information when engaging in the science of chick checking (courting.) Very few youngsters were then given their father’s car to engage in this lofty pastime, and fathers were not given to rise from their warm beds to rescue silly sons who did not know how to be punctual. Missing the last bus therefore meant that you had to “slam tar”- a most inelegant euphemism for walking home sleepy and tired in the dark!

Usually when you were at the young ladies home, as the clock hands turned towards 11 p.m the young lass would put her hair in curlers or she would otherwise “set” her hair. As soon as you left she was in her warm bed. By the time you reached the bus stop she was far, far away in slumberland. And we the love-infected fellas were on the road struggling to get home. But as they say, boys will be boys; and that includes checking chicks in the approved Bajan fashion. Any girl worth her salt-or sugar- could easily induce the most quiet and conservative boy to miss the last bus. Any normal red blooded chap who sought after the mystical “sugar and spice” of which girls are alleged to be made, readily risked missing the last bus- and getting laughed at. After all, boys must be boys!

One Thursday in July 1972 I left home in St James to seek a job at the JuC Factory in Bay Street. I was unsuccessful and so I went up to Wanderers Cricket Club in Dayrell’s Road to watch an under nineteen cricket game between Barbados and Trinidad.(Craig, Ashby of Cawmere played in that game. As well as Nigel Johnson and Joel Garner.) Cricket finished at 5:30, and I ought to have set off for home at that time. But the lure of seeing my darling, who lived opposite the cricket ground was too great. Next thing you know it was 10:30. Since we had heard no bus pass on the way up to the top of the route, wisdom dictated that I should run to town if I was to catch the last bus to my home in St James.

In those days I was at my peak in the science of running for the last bus. I could run the two miles or so to town in less than 20 minutes if missing the last bus was to be averted. I was not of course an athlete, but until then I had never missed the last bus. True to form I hit Fairchild Street at 10:50 after running through the rain for over a mile. To my dismay the 11 o clock last bus to Holder’s Green was gone! Gone before the time!

I boarded a Paynes Bay Bus and descended therefrom at the bottom of the University Drive on Highway one, to walk the two miles or so to Redman’s Village area. Would you believe it? Half way on this trek the rains descended in a manner that would have caused Noah to fear. I was soaked for the second time that night as I walked wet and wearily homewards. No one could personally have cursed me as I cursed and chided myself that night.

The following night I walked my sweet heart home from the Youth Service, and left in time to run to town to catch the last bus. What do you suppose happened? The bus again left before the scheduled time, and again I got soaked. What angered me most was that I was there on time! It was not my fault that I had missed the last bus! That really hurt! I retired from this pastime at the tender age of 22 when I departed to Jamaica to study. By the time I returned to Barbados I was married and owned a car.

Some years ago my wife and I were entertaining the sweet heart of one my fellow medical students at our home. One rainy night my colleague came to visit, and as expected, lost track of time and missed the last bus. The bus had taken an alternative route to the end of its route near to my home. As a result we did not hear when it arrived. We heard when it left, however. My friend had missed the last bus! He had arrived! He could be certified as a real chick checking man!

I announced to my colleague “Eustace boy, you miss the last bus and we are too tired to drive you home tonight. You will have to walk home. After all you are not a real man till you miss the last bus, and walk home through the rain.”

To my amazement his girlfriend responded “Come Eustace, I will go with you.” They were both Dominicans, and certainly did not know the way from Rendezvous to the Medical Students lodgings in Jemmott’s Lane, just outside Bridgetown. However, because she was the first girl I had met who was willing to accompany her boyfriend home after missing the last bus, I relented and we drove him home. This, after I had rolled up all over the floor having a good Bajan belly laugh at his plight.

Today, few young men know what it feels like to miss the last bus, because they tend to go courting with their parents expensive cars. But I believe with all my heart that a man has not truly courted properly the Bajan way unless he has at least once, on a rainy night, missed the last bus.

Come on fellas . Let’s have some good last bus stories.

314 responses to “Life In Past Barbados”

1. You are right, Anon. He came over from CP to do sixth form. Like Owen Arthur…

2. GP would you believe that I was reading over some of the comments and have realised that you have written a HOT POEM!

you know how to make the girls love you dont you! How old you say you are again!

Are you still married? ha ha ha halol

I hope not!

3. Girl JC since I send you that poem and you aint respond I decide to check another chick on the forum, and I put some sweet talk at the Devils Advocate threatening to kiss her and give her diabetes. You can read about it on Submissions.

4. Can any of you fellows rememer the tales about that doh he had called Otto?

He claimed Otto used to have nightmares.

There was a time a fellow complained to Tank that the fellows stole his lunch. So Tank send him to Mrs Hinds the secretary for whipped cream and milk.

Next day another chap decided he would try his luck.

Tank declared ” Mrs HInds please give him a dose of salts please!”

5. JC
    You wanna kill GP now?

He aint able wid no young girl now.

He is what ya call a dead horse.

Ya dont know wuh ya does do wid dead horses?
    Ya does shout them.

Left GP lone a beg ya. He spirit willing, but he body weak. LOL

6. sorry dat should be SHOOT them

7. Q needs to chill man…every school has their memories.
    I am waiting to hear another Foundationer start with the cemetery stories, Chase vault included or the Panty Lane treks.
    The school is not important,it’s the momories shared. I had some fond times with the Christ Church High girls out in the cemetery.

8. Fellas there was the time when my good friend GP laugh in prayers, and get send down to the head master office.

There was to be some event at Combermere school at which a number of Kolij boys had booked to attend. But by the morning of the event, none of the lads had paid up thier entrance fee.

Now under normal circumstances when Tank would announce such in the hall, most of the school would laugh. But this particular morning GP was the solitary laugher, and so his gaffaw stuck out like a sore thumb!

9. Technician
    Now you wet we appetite you cant stop there man.

Come man dont wait on your felolows let us here those cemetery stories, Chase vault stories, Panty Lane

So you had some fond times in Christ Church cemetery too? Eh. If only that cemetry could talk!

10. I remember having to report to Tank before assembly one morning. On coming into the office, he said “Good Morning” loudly. Well as I was standing by the door, I replied “Good morning, sir”. Tank looks at me, frowns and says “Not you, I meant the dog!” as Otto waddled out from under the desk.

11. By the way JC, that poem was just a warm up in a series ! I wrote three more to put on this girl’s website about six years ago.

One day when BU runs a thread for poetry or creative writing, I will post them. LOL

12. Georgie, a postscript here. This afternoon I was driving up the Upton road towards Fort George Heights when a hot dog dude on a motor cycle went flying by my little Toyota and once he got on the straightaway he pulled a wheelie, overtook another car, and went on his crazy way. The second car he overtook caused an approaching car to pull over to the left a bit. I recognized the car immediately: a old gold Rover 90 driven by none other than, you guessed it, Tank. When he went passed me he was shaking his head as if he was saying, “These modern yutes!” In his 80’s now and still getting exasperated at the young generation!
    Sorry Q, more nostalgia!

13. Guess what Q

I just found the Lodge School Blog in which their past students are doing exactly what we are doing here.

http://lodgescholars.blogspot.com/

Guess what Q?
    I enjoyed thioer comments and I did not feel like puking.

I just wish they would come pun dis blog and let me have a good old time Kolij vs Lodge match up.

14. I notice that the Lodge boys have a similar blog going at
    http://lodgescholars.blogspot.com/

I challenge them to come on BU lets have an old time Kolig vs Lodge clash!

15. MG110 I think.

Gets his daily paper up in St. David’s.

He lives in the area.

Went to a great dinner held in his honour a couple of years ago.

The motor cycle man was lucky!!

Those old British cars are solid and would have obliterated him and the most he would have caused would have been a scratch.

16. … it would have been like colliding with a tank!!

17. ARCHIE BREK DEM UP Avatar
    ARCHIE BREK DEM UP

Get a life people

I am BORED !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

18. John, that’s quite a pun!

IE.

19. People of your ilk would surely be bored at these proceedings.

It is interesting to note that some of the folk who have written here did/do have a life, and have made meaningfull contributions to Bim.

One of the posters designed our National Health Care system from which you or your aquaintances have benefitted.

What have you contributed besides negativity?

20. Juris // August 20, 2008 at 6:29 pm

C’mon Q, let old fellows remember the good ole days. Did you not enjoy yours. John, that skinny fellow in glasses was a porter along with Yearwood who used to ring the bell for periods and end of school. We called him the “Deputy Headmaster”, he was so serious.

The name Wilkinson keeps coming back to my mind a day later.

Anybody remember if this was his name?

21. Think dats it John

22. GP I aint care what they say to you and Mr. Ganong I say thank you I aint bored for a second! I anxiously wait to hear another story from your era; and GP you aint tell me if you are still married! Just teasing I know you are but a girl can dream cant she ……….

Archie Brek them up whats your problem! dont you have memories that you would like to share or perhaps you wasnt like my future husband GP who could make the girls blush like he mae me when I read his poem! hmmmmmm

Come on ABTU liven up!

23. JC

You like you want to send me in the gym and pun my unused Bowflex yuh

You didnt see that Ganong beg yuh fuh me!
    You cant hear I is only bare talk now. LOL
    You like you calling my bluff girl. LOL

24. Seriously though JC, ask Bush Tea and them other old fellows. In our day, when you want to check a chick you had to write poems, beautiful letters, or really put down some good sweet talk.

There was room for bright boys and athletes and sportsmen.

So when you see us on this thread talking sweet talk man that is the norm.

When I started to work at QEH, my boss addressed the nurses and all females as “sweetheart.” So I copied that style.

There is no where I have been in the world in a shop or restaurant etc and adressed the ladies as sweetheart, and did not get a good response. It of course helps to be sincere.

One day I was harrassing a waitress at Epcot from Norway with sweet talk. And she said “I know what I will give you for dessert– She brought something called a veiled maiden!

I have seen the youngsters in action today. Man none of them could get a girl to talk to them in our day. They just dont have no respect for females.

25. You are not lying I love my children father but Lord he needs some manners in etiquettes.

I recently was talking to one of my senior officers and he told me that he was reading our comments and was wondering who Mr. Ganong was since he was VERY familiar with that area.

Anyhow, we got into this very same conversation and man you all men in those times could have wooed the pants off of anything!

I know he felt bad for me when I said that there was no more chivalry involved in getting anything the girl of your dreams! Men think that you make the sound to signal a dog and we are suppose to melt! Or who can wear their pants the lowest and hey presto I want you! ha ha! Now mind you I dont like the soft type I would surely kill the poor sod with my presumptiousness. But Lord man I love how my soon to be husband GP woos the girls! Ya all got me feel real depressed! LOL

I’ll share something with you readers; I took my children father to Brown sugar for lunch on Father’s day. When we were escorted to our tables THAT MAN sat down and left me standing like for almost 10 mins. Now I guess that you all have realised that I am from the old school if not in age in principles. GP I won’t sit down! Finally, he got my drift after some sharp words and I told him to never ever sit before assisting your lady in sitting! LOL!

awwwwwww GP i need a reincarnation of YOU AND GANONG AND CHUCKLES AND SO ON awwwwwwwwwwwwww

26. Any body remember Birch- the man that used to own the Progressive Bus Company that run on the Route 15 to Gospel Hall and Golf Club Rd?

For the youngsters, there were several bus companies until January 1 1969 when they were reduced to three. When you caught a Route 15 you had to be sure it was not the Gospel Hall bus, because you would be put off when it turned around in front of Dayrell’s Rd Gospel Hall there by Wanderers Cricket Club.

Birch always felt that the conductors used to steal his money so on race days when the Gospel Hall was a popular choice for getting to the races he would beg the conductors to “ GIVE ME THE UPS (i.e from Town) and YOU TAKE THE DOWNS”

The Golf Club Rd Bus turned at the top of Golf Club Rd. For quarter to and quarter afterwards it turned left and turned around at Fairways Gardens (now Rendezvous Gardens). The hour and half hour bus turned right and ended its run by Highway seven.

Prior to 1969, when the 15 bus broke down, the driver would try to get it working some how and he would ask us to get out and push. After January 1969, they would just say “Call the (Transport Board) yard”

Do any of you Foundation lads remember travelling to school and from school in M 813 or M803? These were blue Mercedes Benz transport buses that were often the school bus for Boys Foundation. It would proceed up Highway seven and turn above Top Rock and travel along Maxwell Rd (not the coast road). It was usually driven by a man with bushy side burns called affectionately by the nickname Dog Killer or simply Killer.

Do any of you Foundation lads remember M365 (the other of the three blue Mercedes) or M404 or M4012 (both Leylands) which were frequently used on the Gall Hill route?

Does anyone recall boys trying to sneak into the Kensington Stand at the Girls Interschool Sports?

Does anyone recall the walk from Kensington to the Bus stand after Interschool Sports?

27. Q

Where you went to school?

Looks like Foundation starting up now.

I am looking forward to the discourse.

You missing out some real sweet old talk.

28. Does any one remember buying 5 cents polars or 6 cents popsicles in the OLD bus stand after school?

Does any one remember the Kalyso Kat paper that came out on Fridays?. Think Jeanette Layne wrote for it while still at QC?.

Did any of you old fellas “lime” in the bus stand after school?.

Does any one remember any of these things from the early 60’s?

29. I thought Kalypso Kat was the name of the cartoon character in the newspaper, wasn’t that the Nation? I could be mistaken. One of the best local cartoons I ever saw was a (and I hope that I am giving the appropriate credit) Winston Jordan one in which the young Harbour policeman tells his boss “Skipper there is a vessel sinking in the Careenage”. When is boss looked out the window he saw a “topsy” half filled with water slowly going down. I guess you had to be there.

The walk from Kensington Oval to the bus stand after Inter School sports was the greatest especially if your school won which wasn’t the case with Foundation. The highlight was meeting the girls for hamburgers and Seven Up floats at Jeffs or Dougies?, both restaurants were located near Queen’s Park.

BTW Foundation had excellent swimmers and fared better at aquatic sports. I attended Inter school aquatic sports at the Aquatic Club and North Point resort.

30. What is Kalyso Kat paper?

31. I am mid sixties vintage but I remember the polars and popsicles at John’s Tuck Shop.

John was a tyrant and if you hesitated more than a millisecond in the line when your turn came all you heard was a bellow, …… “Neeeeeeeeext”.

He was just too busy to tolerate foolishness during peak demand at break or lunch time.

Once that word was uttered it was no use, …. all over, you moved on.

No amount of begging would affect the outcome. The best you could expect was another …… “Neeeeeext”.

If you really wanted someting you went to the back of the line and begun again, ….. if you weren’t too shame to stay in the area.

It was less stressful to avoid him at break and go towards the end of lunch when things had cooled down and the lesser staff were serving at the counter.

Someone told me that he died at his post of a heart attack but suspect it was made up although I admit I could believe it.

He was that kind of guy, ……. zero tolerance for nonsense.

32. Foundation Forever Avatar
    Foundation Forever

SARGEANT, are you an old scholar of Foundation School?

33. Sargeant
    North Point Surf Resort had a real Olympic size pool and aquatic sports there was of a high standard. Plus taking a walk through the windswept shrubs with a nice girl was the BOMB.
    Don’t for get when C.P won the athletic sports and then walked/ran from the Oval straight to C.P with the cup. Rivalry in the Kesington stand between Lodge, Kolig and Cawmer was feirce but funny. Those were the days. 100yds clash with Burnham and Catwell, Taylor and others. Pedro Hinds, Anthony Cadogan and Leroy Lynch. Friendly but feirce rivalry

34. Forgive me I didnt realise that some one had answered my question whilst I was writing the comment thanks!

I would have never stayed I would be too shame!

35. John, Georgie, wasn’t that long, tall, lanky porter Mr. Pilgrim, nick-named Quickstep?

Memries, the bus driver wid’ de bushy sideburns was named Carlton, AKA “Dog Killer.” He was one of the most handsome men I ever laid eyes on, killer good looking. When Carlton mounted the steps of the bus, de boys gone mad, yellin’ “CAARRLLTTONNN!” Then when he pulled on his driving gloves, more yellin’. He was our hero!

Scout, the Inter-School Sports that CP won, was the scene of one of the most exciting races I have ever seen, the mile. HC’s hero, Victor Blanchette, led for most of the race but by the middle of the 4th lap he was out of gas, and Pedro Hinds, who had been lurkin’ in 3rd or 4th turned on the jets coming by the George Challenor Stand. De whole Oval standin’ up, Pedro passed Victor like he was stationary. What an athlete! And don’t forget HC’s Roland Mandeville, greased lightning in the 440. Blew away the competition.

Ezra Burnham, CP’s other speed merchant, Chetwyn’s younger brother, went to the ’68 Olympics in Mexico City with my older brother Angus. Tragically, Ezra was later killed in an accident. What a terrible tragedy that was! CP was/is an amazing school.

Come to think of it, all of us, Harrisonians, Cawmerians, Lodge boys, Foundationers, CP’ers, were incredibly blessed. At HC and Cawmere, our cricket coaches were SIR Everton Weekes and Seymour Nurse. How many English schoolboys do you think had Peter May, Ted Dexter and Colin Cowdrey as their coaches? We were so incredibly privileged. I am so thankful for that.

Forgive the nostalgia Q!

IE.

36. John, John Gibbs was his name and he could pop the cap off an Orange Ju-C faster than anyone.He intimidated all of us, but he was one of HC 2nd XI’s most ardent supporters. Occasionally he would deign to go to College “A” and watch the 1st XI but College “B” was his bailliwick. If you were bowling and didn’t pitch the ball up “in de blockhole” John would let you know in no uncertain terms what to do.

37. The newspaper was called “Calypso”. It came out on Friday afternoons.

38. Iain Edghill // August 21, 2008 at 8:08 pm

John, Georgie, wasn’t that long, tall, lanky porter Mr. Pilgrim, nick-named Quickstep?

I don’t remember that nickname.

I do remember a Bridgetown character that I often saw called Easy Boy because he walked so slow!

I don’t know why I remember him because I don’t think he was associated with HC but yet he was often the topic of conversation at HC.

As well as I can remember the giants who taught there in my time I also remember the Porters/Assistants.

They were a part of the culture.

I think it was because everyone there enjoyed the cameraderie and took pride in each other’s achievements.

Just like John Gibbs supported “his” cricket team and had high expectations of each of its members, (then turned around and wrought havoc on innocents during break and lunch) so to did Messrs Inniss, Harewood, Wilkinson, Tank, Heads, Miss Alleyne, Flakes, Pepe, Fanny, Chilly etc. etc. have high expectations of each boy.

39. After reading all those stories I remember one of our teachers had a theory that if you were someone who was always in trouble with your parents, with school authorities and liked to raise hell, then when you became a parent you would be very strict. His reasoning was that you wouldn’t want your children to do the same things that you did.

Is there still a schoolboy’s stand at cricket? One year (1965 I think) the Australia cricket team toured the WI and a test was played in B’dos. We used to get half day to attend cricket, however by the time we left Foundation and got to Kensington we would be unable to get in because the stand would be full of Kolig and Cawmere students. On this particular day a group of us decided that instead of going to school we would go straight to Kensington to see the game. When we got to Kensington there was a line up of schoolboys and schoolgirls and this line was being scrutinized for impostors by Inspector Kenneth Murphy since it was alleged that many people who actually sat in the schoolboys stand were not students at any school. I remember Murphy asking an older schoolmate whose face was covered with acne and who although a senior was dressed in khakis like the lower forms “Boy wha form you in? “5S3 sir” came the response, Murphy replied “Yuh could be in 5kuh 3, you aint getting in here today”. The student had to watch cricket from the grounds that day.
    The Australians led by Bobby Simpson, Bill Lawrie and I think Ian Redpath batted the entire day so we in the stands had to amuse ourselves and if I remember correctly a tarpaulin covered the roof of this temporary stand and since as it had rained overnight water had settled in some pockets which were then prodded with sticks and directed to vents and if you were unlucky to be sitting under these openings you were soaked.
    The funny thing about the decision to attend cricket that day was that more than half the students were absent from school (ostensibly to attend cricket) and they took the names of the students who were present (not absent) . Next day all the absentees were summoned to Skeete’s office where the crowd overflowed into the corridor by the fish pond since there was so many of us. Skeete proceeded to preach his usual legal aphorisms ( his favourite was “Ignorance of the law is no excuse”) before sending us back to our forms.

40. @ Juris
    Thanks. The newspaper was indeed called “Calypso” and came out on Friday afternoons, just as you said. And yes Sargeant Kalypso Kat was the name of the cartoon character in the newspaper.
    @ Ian
    I didn’t know that Kolij boys had experiences with“Dog Killer” too.

He was definitely popular. As you said when he entered the bus, there was yellin, when he put on his driving gloves, there was more yellin, but when Killer back down through the gears, the whole bus load of school boys would bawl!

I bet the girls would have liked him too as he was indeed a handsome black man.

41. Sargeant
    I well remember the 1965 test against the Australians led by Bobby Simpson. He and Bill Lawrie put on over 300 for the first wicket backing back towards square leg and declared at 650. But Seymour got a double in that game, which ended in a draw.

There was indeed a schoolboys stand for that tour next to the scoreboard where the Haynes & Greenidge stand was in the now demolished oval.

So sorry about the mess up at Foundation, but at Kolij “Heads” Marshall was then the acting Headmaster, and an ardent cricket lover. He decreed that school start at 8:30 and that we have three periods, followed by break and then two more periods for the day.

And so for the entire two weeks of the Barbados leg of the 1965 Aussie tour we got off in time to walk down to Kensington and watch everyday after lunch if we wished. I guess this arrangement was more for the teachers- mainly male in those days. But it worked out fine.

42. @ John, Iain
    I don’t remember that nickname for Mr. Pilgrim. Harewood was of course the other porter.

John you probably associate the slow walking Bridgetown character called Easy Boy with HC, because he often took a short cut through the Kolig grounds to get to Roebuck Street. His walk was not only slow but unique and stylish too. He was indeed the subject of much discussion.

43. @ Iain Edghill & John

Thanks for the memories of John Gibbs.

He was indeed a no nonsense guy at break and lunch when opening sweet drinks. The thing is that very rarely would he break the top of the bottle.

He did a very good job of setting up a temporary spot under the mahogany trees by the tennis courts on sports days (which in those days were held at individual schools- the stadium only came along in 1970)

I heard many stories of how strict Sir Everton was especially with running between the wickets. Chaps that didn’t call properly when they set of for a run were sent back to take of their pads.

It is because we had coaches like Sir Everton and Seymour Nurse in the schools in the 60’s that we had the caliber of school boy cricketers we had, and why Barbados dominated regional cricket well into the 90’s.

Lodge School: Dr Richard Ishmael, Patrick Frost, also. Colin Blades and Stephen Farmer who both played for Barbados

Foundation Darnley Boxhill, & Boosa King (both Barbados Wicketkeepers) Sherwin Chase, CO Alleyne, and a chap called Twisted, Jamie Lasley Colin Burke and of course J Garner!

Kolij: Tony King, Geoff Greenidge who played for the West Indies after getting 217 and 7 wickets in a game against Jamaica in the Shell Shield.

Combermere: Anton Norris, Ricky Richards (Craigg), Winslow Ashby, Ishmael Roett

CP: Chetwyn Burnham
    There was also Arlington Hunte and Graydon Nesfield (Federal High School)

I remember the game when Stephen Farmer batted two Saturdays and a piece versus Spartan in the Park. Lodge school batted first and got skittled out. Spartan knocked of the runs and declared and Lodge school led by a double century by Farmer batted for the rest of the game!

Ricky Richards (Craigg) and Winslow Ashby put on over 300 for Combermere first IX vs Lodge school for the first wicket- still a record in BCA first IX cricket. Ashby went on to play for Bdos and got a half century vs the English side in 74. Those were the days when the boys could play cricket like men- before female teachers messed up our schools cricket.

Note that Darnley Boxhill has invented the most innovative score book for the game ever!

44. Sargeant

Whereas it is true that Foundation had excellent swimmers and fared better at aquatic sports at the Aquatic Club and North Point resort, Foundation won the Boys Interschol sports in 1961!

The team included the likes of Dr Victor Evelyn, Darnley Boxhill, George A P Lewis, James O J Nurse, Eugene Pilgrim and others.

The following year the boys raised money and designed a beautiful flag with the hope of a repeat, but it was not to be.

45. The highlight was meeting the girls for hamburgers and Seven Up floats at Jeffs or Dougies?, both restaurants were located near Queen’s Park.

Jeffs I think belonged to Brugadown Johnson and Dougies were both on St Michael’s Row. Dougies was next to a Raleigh bicycle shop.

There used to be a joke about a Kolij boy that took a girl to Dougies and called for a glass of water and a toffee. Obviously not true. LOL But it used to be said.

Interschool swimming sports were held at North Point Surf Resort in the late 60’s, but were not as well attended as when formerly held at the Acquatic Club.

Interschool swimming sports were usually a competition between Foundation & Kolij. The other schools came to watch.

Foundation had the Gibbs brothers, Chris, Peter, John, Andrew. Kolij had Tomlin, Talma David Burke, Farmer, the Knowles boys, the Edghill boys and a few others like Dr Louis Weatherhead..

46. I remember going to North Point to watch a House Sports in 66 or 67. The stars were David Farmer and Alan Banfield.

Remember Deighton (B) won. David Farmer was too good!!

Guess that stopped after North Point folded.

Passed through the hotel recently. It is a derelict but the pool is still there. The deep end was full of rain water.

It must have been filled with sea water in its day as I saw a rusted out pump either on the edge of the cliff or the beach.

A pity to see the property so derelict. The casuarina hedge is still there, strong as ever.

47. wunnah still on this CRAP !

48. The first year I was at Foundation Dr Robert Thomas graduated from UWI medical school. He was the first ( and I think the only Barbados scolar from Foundation during a brief period when the school had a 6th form)

Johny Cheltenham graduated from MOna too.

49. @ Sargeant, Scout, Iain Edghill

CP actually won the Inter-School Sports back to back in 65 & 66 I think. And as you said instead of marching to Bridgetown they marched up north! They were far superior as a team those two years. Ezra Burnham, and Pedro Hinds were certainly top class athletes.

And the race of which Iain Edghill speaks, is certainly of legendary proportions in the folk lore when old scholars of that vintage congregate.

Leroy Lynch ran the long distance races for HC, usually in a cap, which he thrust off at the top of the home stretch, with the Kolij boys shouting ARKIE! . ARKIE!

I don’t care if you like the nostalgia or not Q! So you can puke on til your oesophagus tears!

50. Ganong wrote, “I heard many stories of how strict Sir Everton was especially with running between the wickets. Chaps that didn’t call properly when they set of for a run were sent back to take of their pads.”

Ganong, that is exactly correct. With Sir Everton, the calls were, “Yes, No, or Wait.” In one practice match at HC my brother Angus, who fancied his chances as a batsmen but was a better bowler [modeled himself after Denis Atkinson], slapped a drive into the covers and called, “Come one!” Sir Everton who was umpiring, raises his index finger and says, “Edghill, you’re out.” Angus asks why, and Sir Everton replies, “You know the correct calls Edghill, and you’re still out.” That’s discipline!
    If you happened to cross-haul a shot, Sir Everton would say, “Edghill, put down the bat. Come back next week and bat without the cross-hauling.”
    BTW, don’t forget Cawmere’s Richard Lorde. What an elegant bat. Put us HC 2nd XI’ers to the sword one day at College “B”, made an exquisite ton.