The Yankee Stadium submitted by Yardbroom

Barbadosforum.com
Aquatic Club/Source:Barbadosforum.com

It was a balmy evening, the night sky was lit by stars, seemingly suspended to sprinkle stardust. Cars highly polished, were parked in the streets surrounding the Stadium. Ladies resplendent in stoles covering arms earlier exposed to the sun, were held close by husbands and partners suitably attired. There was a whiff of expensive perfume in the air, as chauffeurs stood beside their automobiles, prepared for a long wait.

The ladies glided into their seats at ringside, shephered by their male companions who acknowledged business colleagues and friends at ringside. Some couples brought cushions to protect expensive attire from the early evening dew. This Yankee Stadium was in of all places Brittons Hill St Michael. The great and the good of Barbados sporting society were prepared for for a night of boxing.

Enterprising women whose land surrounded the stadium, charged small boys and young men a few cents for a perch in the high trees on their property, which gave a view of the ring. One is reminded of the phrase often used at the turn of the century in New York to describe Barbadians: “As soon as these West Indians have two more cents than a beggar they want to start a business.”

Outside the stadium the ubiquitous sweet sellers were hard at work, downwind of them the rich aroma of freshly roasted corn wafted the night air as corn lay atop coals whose embers were red aglow. Small boys scampered about as they often do when excited. No doubt an exciting evening of pugilistic endeavor was expected.

Brittons Hill? I hear you ask, I doubt anyone under fifty years living there would have seen the Stadium.

In this most unlikely of settings, a purpose built boxing stadium was erected and a successful one at that…thanks to Belfield Alleyne . For those with no knowledge of this Stadium, at Brittons Cross Road, travel towards the Villa Road, after about thirty metres you will come to Cummings Road. Turn right, the site of the former Public Bath will be on your left, about twenty metres along the road, is the site of the Stadium. Almost opposite the site where Mr Chase had his Blacksmith shop…many an old donkey cart owner would know of him…a nice man.

I wonder if Jack Dick and his fellow pugilists could return what they would think of the place now? Alast Brittons Hill is not the place it used to be… a glimpse of old Barbados.

Missing the last bus submitted by ganong

Boys will be boys they say. That includes liking girls. That also includes visiting them at their homes if you are allowed to do more than stand on the premises. Some fellas assist the girls with their homework, and others get to cuddle and do diverse and sundry deeds. All this was all well and good, once you left in time to catch the last bus home. If you left your girl and all was well, and the rain didn’t fall, well you counted that as experience. But often if she was quarreling cause you were “horning she” you got no good night kiss and you left disappointed. It was usually on such nights that the windows of heaven would open and the rains would descend in torrents. There is perhaps no experience as bad as the triology of leaving your lass in a huff, missing the last bus and then being drenched by a tropical downpour. That is what you call missing the last bus in beautiful, beautiful Barbados.

For those from other shores, and those of recent vintage we must clarify a few things. Depending on where you live in Barbados the public transportation system the last bus leaves Bridgetown, the connecting hub and capital at a particular time for each destination. In the sixties it was 6 pm for some destinations, 8 pm for others and 11 pm for others- like mine. It was incumbent therefore to know this important information when engaging in the science of chick checking (courting.) Very few youngsters were then given their father’s car to engage in this lofty pastime, and fathers were not given to rise from their warm beds to rescue silly sons who did not know how to be punctual. Missing the last bus therefore meant that you had to “slam tar”- a most inelegant euphemism for walking home sleepy and tired in the dark!

Usually when you were at the young ladies home, as the clock hands turned towards 11 p.m the young lass would put her hair in curlers or she would otherwise “set” her hair. As soon as you left she was in her warm bed. By the time you reached the bus stop she was far, far away in slumberland. And we the love-infected fellas were on the road struggling to get home. But as they say, boys will be boys; and that includes checking chicks in the approved Bajan fashion. Any girl worth her salt-or sugar- could easily induce the most quiet and conservative boy to miss the last bus. Any normal red blooded chap who sought after the mystical “sugar and spice” of which girls are alleged to be made, readily risked missing the last bus- and getting laughed at. After all, boys must be boys!

One Thursday in July 1972 I left home in St James to seek a job at the JuC Factory in Bay Street. I was unsuccessful and so I went up to Wanderers Cricket Club in Dayrell’s Road to watch an under nineteen cricket game between Barbados and Trinidad.(Craig, Ashby of Cawmere played in that game. As well as Nigel Johnson and Joel Garner.) Cricket finished at 5:30, and I ought to have set off for home at that time. But the lure of seeing my darling, who lived opposite the cricket ground was too great. Next thing you know it was 10:30. Since we had heard no bus pass on the way up to the top of the route, wisdom dictated that I should run to town if I was to catch the last bus to my home in St James.

In those days I was at my peak in the science of running for the last bus. I could run the two miles or so to town in less than 20 minutes if missing the last bus was to be averted. I was not of course an athlete, but until then I had never missed the last bus. True to form I hit Fairchild Street at 10:50 after running through the rain for over a mile. To my dismay the 11 o clock last bus to Holder’s Green was gone! Gone before the time!

I boarded a Paynes Bay Bus and descended therefrom at the bottom of the University Drive on Highway one, to walk the two miles or so to Redman’s Village area. Would you believe it? Half way on this trek the rains descended in a manner that would have caused Noah to fear. I was soaked for the second time that night as I walked wet and wearily homewards. No one could personally have cursed me as I cursed and chided myself that night.

The following night I walked my sweet heart home from the Youth Service, and left in time to run to town to catch the last bus. What do you suppose happened? The bus again left before the scheduled time, and again I got soaked. What angered me most was that I was there on time! It was not my fault that I had missed the last bus! That really hurt! I retired from this pastime at the tender age of 22 when I departed to Jamaica to study. By the time I returned to Barbados I was married and owned a car.

Some years ago my wife and I were entertaining the sweet heart of one my fellow medical students at our home. One rainy night my colleague came to visit, and as expected, lost track of time and missed the last bus. The bus had taken an alternative route to the end of its route near to my home. As a result we did not hear when it arrived. We heard when it left, however. My friend had missed the last bus! He had arrived! He could be certified as a real chick checking man!

I announced to my colleague “Eustace boy, you miss the last bus and we are too tired to drive you home tonight. You will have to walk home. After all you are not a real man till you miss the last bus, and walk home through the rain.”

To my amazement his girlfriend responded “Come Eustace, I will go with you.” They were both Dominicans, and certainly did not know the way from Rendezvous to the Medical Students lodgings in Jemmott’s Lane, just outside Bridgetown. However, because she was the first girl I had met who was willing to accompany her boyfriend home after missing the last bus, I relented and we drove him home. This, after I had rolled up all over the floor having a good Bajan belly laugh at his plight.

Today, few young men know what it feels like to miss the last bus, because they tend to go courting with their parents expensive cars. But I believe with all my heart that a man has not truly courted properly the Bajan way unless he has at least once, on a rainy night, missed the last bus.

Come on fellas . Let’s have some good last bus stories.

314 responses to “Life In Past Barbados”

1. Hardly any murders, rapes suicides etc.just living!

for instance, I have this male friend who has recently retired! I love him dearly; He has told me similar stories to stories that you all have mentioned but scout and GP wanna lie man bout that cess pool! And BT you ain easy hide and hoop LOL lol LOL wanna bad!

Recently I had to ask lots of persons about ole time utensils and it my UWI project i got an A I love just hearing and knowing about those wonderful days!

I got the impression that not an integrity bill was needed coz ya knew what was INTEGRITY!

2. Hardly any murders, rapes suicides etc.just living!

for instance, I have this male friend who has recently retired! I love him dearly; He has told me similar stories to stories that you all have mentioned; but scout and GP wanna lie man bout that cess pool! And BT you ain easy ‘hide and hoop’ LOL lol LOL wanna bad!

Recently I had to ask lots of persons about ole time utensils on an UWI project i got an A I love just hearing and knowing about those wonderful days!

I got the impression that not an integrity bill was needed coz people knew what was INTEGRITY!

3. Chee thanks chuckles lol I hope they are some eligible bachelors! lol

4. I cannot imagine there being hardly any murders, rapes suicides etc.just good living!

I have this male friend who has recently retired! I love him dearly; He has told me similar stories to stories that you all have mentioned;

But scout and GP wanna lie man bout that cess pool! And BT you ain easy ‘hide and hoop’ LOL lol LOL wanna bad!

Recently I had to ask lots of persons about ole time utensils on an UWI project i got an A I love just hearing and knowing about those wonderful days!

I got the impression that not an integrity bill was needed coz people knew what was INTEGRITY!

5. JC

Ganong and company were decent youngsters. In my pre-teen and teenage days we played ‘ Hide and Seek”. There were lots of giggles when we sought where the object was hidden. Sometimes one got a slap in the face when the wrong object was found but who cared? At least it taught us not to get involved in same sex relationships .lol

6. Bush tea // August 16, 2008 at 11:08 pm

…and The Scout,

It was ‘Khus Khus’ grass and ‘crocus’ bags… and Bush tea was at the scout jamboree at Oxnards too, although not a scout.
    Since you were there you figure it out….
    ———————————
    Bush tea // August 16, 2008 at 11:08 pm

…and The Scout,

It was ‘Khus Khus’ grass and ‘crocus’ bags… and Bush tea was at the scout jamboree at Oxnards too, although not a scout.
    —————————————–
    Bush tea // August 16, 2008 at 5:26 pm

Well!! Well!! Ganong, a real real Bajan in truth!!

You sound like you writing my bio…
    …I still trying to figure out how Bagatelle fit in the scheme of things…. and why you would get off the bus at the bottom of university Hill instead of Paynes Bay and walk up…. You did frighten for the ‘Hights’ boys or wah? LOL
    ==============================

Man Bush Tea wuh you know bout Bagatelle? Who you is boah? Dah and Redmonds Village was my growing up area. I too was wondering bout Ganong Bus route. Uh glad you correct Scout bout de khus khus grass. In addition to sleeping pun a mattress filled with it, my mother use to dig up de root to put amongst de cloths tuh mek dem smell sweet. I was a cub scout at de time of the Jamboree and would visit de camp site on evenings . Love de stories all of which i can personally identify with.

7. Dear Scout:

The flour bag beds were not stuffed with crocus bags. They were stuffed with dried khus-khus grass or sometimes dried sour-grass.

New grass beds were always made at Christmas time. When the children were on vacaton their job was to turn the green grass many times a day for a week or more until it was nice and dry.

Nothing smells as sweet as a newly stuffed khus khus grass bed.

Khus khus roots is also used even now to make perfumes.

The bad old days were not all bad.

8. Bush tea // August 16, 2008 at 11:08 pm

…and The Scout,

———————————
    Bush tea // August 16, 2008 at 11:08 pm

…and The Scout,

—————————————–
    Bush tea // August 16, 2008 at 5:26 pm

Well!! Well!! Ganong, a real real Bajan in truth!!

You sound like you writing my bio…
    …I still trying to figure out how Bagatelle fit in the scheme of things…. and why you would get off the bus at the bottom of university Hill instead of Paynes Bay and walk up…. You did frighten for the ‘Hights’ boys or wah? LOL
    ==============================

Man Bush Tea wuh you know bout Bagatelle? Who you is boah? Dah and Redmonds Village was my growing up area. I too was wondering bout Ganong Bus route. Uh glad you correct Scout bout de khus khus grass. In addition to sleeping pun a mattress filled with it, my mother use to dig up de root to put amongst de cloths tuh mek dem smell sweet. I was a cub scout at de time of the Jamboree and would visit de camp site on evenings . Love de stories all of which i can personally identify with.

9. BT

I enjoyed your variation on the use of the bandits. You were more creative and inventive than we were where I came from.

I am sure that boys in different parts of the island and from different households have several variations on how things were done. The hope in this thread is to extract all those variants peculiar to different households and villages.

10. There is no itch worse than khuss khuss grass mixed with water. Fighting with the boys in the gap in the khus khus then going home for a shower you scratched all night. The cuts from khus khus were mean as well.

11. JC

I see that GP tell you how he taught his boys to sweet talk the girls. But he aint tell you that he used to write love letters to the girls too. He used to come to school with these letters stuck between his excercise books that used to make them smell real sweet from some girl perfume.

He used to try to write poetry to them too.

Let him tell you how the Spanish teacher in 4th form at Kolij read out the poem that he wrote in the back of his excercise book to the class. Dont let he get way girl. Mek him talk.

12. Georgie P & Anon.
    Ya right, I really getting old Khus Khus was the grass, crocus was the bag, sometimes the crocus bag used to be used as a rain coat.
    Jc.
    You too young but everything I posted is true. Both the Cess pool and slug experience happened in our backyard. the golden apple tree was right by the pig pens and as you know the wood is very brittle so with the sudden movement the small limb snapped and the rest was history. We had some GOOD days. I can’t tell you about the rude things we did you too young

13. Ganong
    I went to school in the 60’s, we had to purchase our text books. there were parents in the village whose children were in a form below me who would encourage me to do well because they wanted to purchase my books for their children. My books were all covered and well kept. When the cover came off the new ones at Cloister didn’t like any better than mine

14. As a young boy, I was thrifty. My father taught me to keep animals, Sheep (62 at one stage) pigs, yard fowls, rabbits, a cow and a goat at one stage. Even though I came from a poor family,I could have looked after myself while at scool by selling a sheep or two and killing a pig or too when things got tight. When I left school and started to work I was able to put electricity and water in my parents’ house within the first month of working. As a young man in 1967 out of school I had a savings account of just over $3000.00. I bought my first car, a Austin 1300 GT second hand for $900.00 cash.

15. I enjoyed reading the comments from all of you bloggers on this subject.I do not want to be negative,however I cannot really consider the the days in an old Barbados as good old days for black people.
    What is good about not having adequate nutrition.Many of us grew up practically starving and malnourished.Many days our parents could only afford to give us green tea & two biscuits for breakfast,nothing for lunch and later in the evening a little white rice,cou cou,or mashed potato and maybe a little salt fish or red herring.They could not afford vegetables,fruits and the other stuff that will constitute a balance daily meal.
    In those days certain communities in Barbados were out of bounds,Strathclyde,Hastings,Golf Club Road,The Navy Gardens,Rockley & Marine Gardens to name a few.I remembered me & my friends being questioned,warned and sometimes threatened by persons in those communities and even the Police.
    Extremely poor housing was the norm in those days.One & two bedrooms houses,Khus Khus grass beds,chinks & other vermin as your companion,outdoor pit toilets & dirt flooring. Many of the families were large and I remembered me and three of my sisters & brothers sharing one bed.I remembered the bed being wet from pee from the 4 of us every day and my mother fretting.
    In those days discrimination was rampant against black people especially those that had no backing whatsoever.I was a victim of it.The time I sat the 11 plus examination I did extremely well and my mother put down The Lodge School as the first choice school for me.I was informed that some exams papers were lost and unfortunately my exam paper was in that batch.The end result, I had to stay at the primary school until a newer secondary school was built and students from my school made up the first batch of students attending that secondary school.I am sure my case was not the only one of that nature.My family was poor and it had no one to represent its interest.
    Although I had innocent fun growing in up in an old Barbados I will never be that naive and stupid and try to give the impression that it was all roses for black people.It was not and I would not want to see my children grow up in any society that I grew up in an old Barbados.
    Those days were not good old days for black Barbadians.We must stop fooling ourselves.

16. JC…It is amazing how in awe you are at the stories of old.
    These older guys really made me stop my morning cleaning to read every post.
    This must be the best blog for the weekend.
    For me (37 years old), some my age would not remember but coming up in Enterprise and Parish Land with an ‘old school mother’ …all of the above are true. Manners were compulsory, had nothing to do with class.
    Let me share one of my lessons in manners with you. (Remember…I am still young).

It was Friday evening and I was sitting on the sidewalk, patiently waiting for my mother to get home from work.
    A mother who worked on the plantation always brought home some treat or the other for her only son and as it was crop time, I my mouth was watering for that long joint juicy cane (not the bamboo variety being passed off as cane nowadays).
    My mum always sang as she walked (which acted as a warning bell when I was up to mischief).This evening though,there was no such singing as she turned the corner, just loud voices and some cussing. As I watched, my mother and my neighbor were going at it in the worst way next to blows. This argument went on for some 45 minutes or more and I forgot about treats, cane …everything as I began to take an interest in this cuss out.
    When the two ‘ladies’ got close to me, the stopped and my mother sent me inside so as not to hear any further argument (talking about respect in the heat of battle ).
    As I had to go inside the rest was lost to me and soon after mummy came in and peeled my cane and slitted it up in 4’s for me.
    The next day being Saturday, was one any youngster looked forward to. It was time for Bridgetown. After doing the usual chores (sheep, cows, chicken, pigs, gutter and burning down the pit toilet etc), we went to the bus stop.
    As we approached the stop, who should be there standing, but the same lady who had the cuss out with my mummy. Well, my mum didn’t speak to her, therefore I sure as hell refused to speak to the woman who cussed my mum.
    Let me tell you….the slap I got in my back made me belch harder than the bush tea I had for breakfast earlier. I turned to look at my mum in pure shock to see what I had done to deserve that kind of punishment.
    This is what she said to me, ‘Didn’t you see someone at the stop?’
    To which I replied, ‘yeah but you didn’t speak either and she cussed you out yesterday’.
    Well mummy went on to explain to me, never get involved in big people do. Never come into a room or approach people without saying good morning because, as she said,’you and them aint company or pitch marbles together.’
    To this day. I speak when ever I come into a room. I never call grown ups by their first name and I refrain from taking sides in an argument.
    These are the kind of lessons you carry through life.

17. Agreed Negroman…but look at what some of those kids turned out to be.
    We are not fooling ourselves….just remembering a time when being poor was not the end of the world.

18. Negroman
    Yes those days were hard days for black people but out of it came a discipline, a determination to rise beyond the adversaties of life. I’ve been able to enjoy a standard of life that my parents could not. That’s why I’m Worried of the backward step I see this country is taking. Yes, I can sit back and talk about those days and the clean fun we had but I don’t want my offspring to have to deal with that situation. Those “good days” we had MUST never return to haunt us NEVER.

19. Negroman there was a lot of good in the old days which we can do well to borrow today. Do you remember when somebody had to move a house how the men in the district would get together and help to ‘take down’ the house and load it on the truck? They would spend all day putting the sides back together and all it usually cost the owner was some Alleyne Arthur, corn beef and biscuit and some cod water.

20. It is said ” to know where you are going, you should know where you came from”. Some people who came out of this era, now tries to blank it out of their minds. I told my children about my times as a young boy, the hardships yet the fun we had. We didn’t know the word “bored”, there was always something to
    do. Neighbourhood Watch was always a part of village life and everyone shared with each other. I remember hurricane Janet almost half the village sheltered in our house and whatever they had was shared by everyone present. It is that part of the old time days that I would like to see return.

21. Just let me add that in my community where I now live, all of us , with one exception, still practises the joy of sharing and if we as a family is going out of the island on holiday our neighbours look after the property until we return. This goes for all of us in the group. When the children in the group were young, they would play at anyone’s house and which ever house they fall asleep in they would remain until morning.

22. David Yes I remembered those times.I remembered my mother’s house had to be removed from the bottom of the gap to the top of the gap on my uncle’s property All the fellas in district came and helped in the process and as you said,only rum,corn beef & biscuit & cigarettes were the payment.I have cherished childhood memories.
    However,I will not allow some sweet memories of my childhood days to cloud my interpretation & judgement of those bygone days.
    I greed that the discipline our parents instilled in us is needed in many of the children today.My mother taught me many invaluable lessons that hold me in good stead today.
    All that I am trying to say those “good old day” were not that good after all when taking into context the deprivation many blacks endured in those days.As Scout says we should never allow those days to be revisited on us again.
    NEVER NEVER AGAIN.

23. Nice to see that contributors to the blog can take time out to share some of their personal stories and take some of us down memory lane. It’s refreshing.

24. Technician I am twenty eleven and i got some of those hard tail lashes in my back and face let me tell you boy! I raise my children the same way probably not as much lists but nuff talking and explaining why; My children HAVE TO SPEAK to perosns whom I dont associate with i dont care what the hell they said about me!

Respect is due! That is why I am mad is hell I wasnt born in their era man and I aint care how much they suffered those people had guts, PRINCIPLES and determination all i can say is:

THANK YOU!

25. Here is another glimpse of life in the past, I attended many funerals of people whom I did not know, the reason why? In those days many people did not have cars so when a friend or relative of a neighbour died they had to hire a car to take them to the funeral and in the communal spirit the other neighbours joined in share the costs and pay for a “seat”. Since my family someone was always called to share, many times I was the designated representative of my family and took the “seat” to the funeral.

Other things I recall living in the country was “mashing trash” looking for canes after the field was emptied of canes; “digging sprouts” i.e. digging for potatoes in a field after a potato crop had been harvested. I’m sure folks also remember playing cricket with a homemade ball which was covered with rubber strips from bicycle inner tubes. Did any one ever hear the term “storm carpenter”? I heard a woman criticising the construction of a house and said the builder was a “storm carpenter”. I was told that after Hurricane Janet many people with no carpentry skills claimed to be carpenters in order to cash in on the rebuilding boom with resulting disasters and the term “storm carpenter”.

I remember sneaking off to Graeme Hall swamp one night with some older boys (It was off limits to me) and failing to notice a dark cloud in the sky. Needless to say the rain poured and the only place we could shelter was under a tree and as a result I returned home soaked to the bone unable to provide satisfactory answers as to where I had been.

GP mentioned the separation of Foundation School, the talk was that Mr. Skeete and Mrs. Lynch Headmaster and Headmistress respectively of the schools hated each other and as a result Mrs. Lynch didn’t want her girls to associate with the boys and as a result she had them start earlier so they could finish school and be off to their homes before the boys were let out. Guess she didn’t know that many a romance sprouted in the Oistins library after school.

26. Friends I see that my good old friend GP refuses tell you bout his poetry prowess, and that particular poetry event in class; so I will tell you.

When we got to 4th form we had a teacher from Scotland called Forbes who had played football and hockey for Scotland. He liked to throw objects at fellows during class for inattention.

GP was a man that like to talk all the time. One day GP was talking and Forbes fire a piece of chalk at GP head. GP was at the time a good table tennis player who liked to flick, so he easily flicked the chalk with his text book (WWTimms) through the door. It was the perfect cricket shot through backward of square when you consider the angle the chalk was thrown from, and the point where the chalk went.

I feel Forbes hold it against GP, cause the next time we hand in our Spanish exercise book for marking, the man find a poem that GP had written to a sweet redskin chick from Foundation, that had GP head knot up. In stead of putting GP in the detention for defacing the pages of his exercise book, Forbes announced to the class that he had a poem to read by GP called ODE TO ANGELA. Truth is GP had not named the poem, but Forbes had to take the mickey out of GP.

It went something like this. I remember it well cause I copy it and tried to use it my self.

Angela darling.
    There’s not a girl
    As half as sweet as you.
    If I should search the whole wide world
    I”d never find another like you!

Tell the trute GP! Ah lie?

27. Sargeant I can see that you are a Christ Church man and a Foundarion man too.

Playing in Graeme Hall swamp was certainly off limits to many who lived in Worthing View and St Lawrence. You had to be careful playing in the swamp though because sometimes some firm looking grassy areas would give way, and you would really have a lot of explaining to do, cause that muddy stuff didn’t come off so easily.

It is indeed true that many a romance sprouted in the Oistins library after school, for that was a place you were allowed to go.

The funny thing about that Harford Skeete/Enid Lynch thing is that soon after the schools were amalgamated, a young girl (who had grown up in England) murdered another girl at Foundation over a boy! Imagine dat! Enid Lynch was a senator at the time! She had one of the most unbeautiful daughters that ever attended mass at Christ Church Parish Church in my time! They used to sit right in the front seat,

I regret taking and keeping photos of the old Oistins, with the Salvation Army Hall next to the Old Police Station. Also there were the nets that the fishermen tied in the causuarina trees long side de road. There was a man up there called Alleyne that baked some of the sweetest turn overs I have ever had. We choirboys used to buy from him when we get paid.

Oistins library was the place where you could read the most recent issue of the Cricketer and other Cricket magazines.

28. @ Ganong & Sargeant….

Were either of you at the Grand reunion recently?
    I remember, when signing the information book, seeing some people who graduated in the 60’s.
    Obviously they were there because they would have signed the book.
    There was a group of elderly men in a corner by the old canteen, dressed rather dapper, looking like true ‘players’ from back in the day…….just wondering.

29. Singing in the choir is another of my memories, and the title of one of the stories I wrote in 2002 for that website.

From as long as I can remember I wanted to be a choirboy. My paternal granny took me to the patronal festival at St Paul’s on Bay Street, Barbados one year when I was six years old. I was fascinated by the processions with the banners, the candles, the vestments and the smell of sweet incense swung by an acolyte with a shinning bald head, that had obviously been polished with Silvo or Windex or similar product.

On reflection, I guess that the vicar never gave any sermons which included hair raising stories. Either that or the head acolyte was a very frustrated man. After all every one knows that the most frustrating thing that one can ever do to another is to tell a hair raising story to a bald headed man.

Anyway the most exciting thing about my excursions to church with my granny was to see the boys with their blue robes and Elizabethan collars, singing “We sing the glorious conquest before Damascus gate, when Paul the church’s spoiler came breathing threats and hate.” Such scenes are etched indelibly in my memory. I decided then that I must be a choirboy!

I had to wait two years to become a treble boy- I was already a trouble boy- at St Lawrence Church, when our family moved to that area. I remember well the night I robed for the first time, and my arthritic granny somehow made the two mile trek to the church to see her favorite and first grandson in his robes. I had successfully passed a period of probation and was now a full fledged choirboy!

One of my brothers and a cousin, who my mother would send to accompany me to practices, also became choristers soon after. We generally had a lovely time laughing and practicing puerile pranks on the way to, and from weekly Friday night practices with a number of boys and one lass from our area who shared our love for the choir.

The organist was often late, and we would spend the time waiting for his arrival by throwing stones at little crustacea who hastened over craggy rocks below the coral outcrop by the sea where the church looks out over the quiet calm Carribbean sea. I remember too the times when the electricity went out, and we scurried out of the church leaving the usually drunk choirmaster shouting “Sing up boys. Sing up!” That was certainly a “Nunc Dimittis!”* as we definitely departed from the dark cloisters of the chancel.

I remember when we got paid! We received the princely sum of twenty five cents monthly and the same stipend was awarded for singing at the occasional wedding or funeral. That was a fortune for an eight to ten year old. We lavished it on candy or ice cream or saved it to buy toys and presents for Christmas. That’s how we purchased our revolving four barreled cork guns for $ 1.90 at Ward’s store.

After two years of this seaside church choral involvement, my father retired from the merchant navy and decided that we should all join the Christ Church Parish Church Choir, where his boyhood choirmaster at St Paul’s was now the organist. We again had to serve a three month period of probation, and were finally “robed” on Christmas day.

Christ Church Parish Church Choir was in those days renowned for its concerts at Christmas, Easter, Harvest time and mid year. Every Communion Service was a virtual concert it seemed as we sung one of at least twenty five different musical renderings of the Liturgy for the Lord’s Supper. We sung all types of oratorios and cantatas including Handel’s Messiah, Stainer’s Crucifixion, Maunder’s Olivet to Calvary, Brahm’s Requiem, Mendelsohn’s St Paul and Praise our God. I was never more proud to be a chorister. The training I received in the six years in this choir enabled me to eventually lead church choirs in Barbados, St Lucia, Dominica, Jamaica and recently in St Kitts.

Special memories of the time I spent in Christ Church Parish Church Choir include the times when I would take my surplice and collar home and my mother would wash, bleach and starch them until they were stiff and lily white. I never usually fought, but it was unwise to attempt to wear my surplice after my mom had worked on it for me!

One Lenten Season after being paid for singing at a funeral, we squandered our forty cents fortune by purchasing hot turn overs in Oistins after Sunday School on Sunday Evenings.

I remember distinctly that one of our peers was turn-over-less because he had failed to get the bus from town in time to get to the funeral. He therefore had no money to acquire this precious commodity. Being denied a share in our spoils he lamented by quoting correctly from the Gospel for that Sunday that “Man does not live by bread alone.” Our response to his lack of processed coconut and flour was “Drink water then!” Whereas we did not give a verbatim response from Holy Writ as he had done (the ipsimae verbae) we certainly captured the essence or ipsima vox of the clear injunction of the Apostle Paul in 2 Thessalonians 3:10b “that if any would not work, neither shall he eat.”

There was a Harvest time once when the choirboys were each awarded a single slice of a coconut bread that had adorned the altar. I must tell you though that the length of that slice was about a foot, or two, and the width comparable to that of a standard “sweet bread”.

Both my father and I were soloists. I was recently reminded of my solo at Christmas 1967 in the first verse of “Once in Royal David’s city” which summoned the start of the Nine Lessons and Carols for Christmas. This service was recorded and broadcast on Barbados Rediffusion. On that occasion no sound came from my voice until the word “Royal,” but the radio operator was kind enough to hide this secret as that is where he begun the transmission of his recording. The reason for this failure on my part can easily be deduced by the reader as one continues reading.

Often when the rector ascended into the pulpit to deliver his sermon on Sunday Nights the bass men would file out the chancel through a side door for a spell where they would attend to their vocal cords and larynxes by passing a dose of Mount Gay Rum in their vicinity. This is as true as John 3:16, as my dad would say.

There is a story of the rector, who was unmarried and elderly, being attacked one morning after the 6 o’ clock Matins by a naked mad lady who lived nearby. The rector despite his avoir du pois hit Escape and Exit, not Enter. He then shifted hastily and tried unsuccessfully to start his car without entering the password –the key.

All choir boys had to be confirmed, so my brother, cousin and I and many of our peers became confirmed sinners on Advent Sunday 1962. We had to go to confessions and be quizzed about our personal adventures in preparation for this event. The rector asked me if I had thrown stones at frogs and birds. That I could understand as that was a common pastime of little boys. However, I could not at age ten comprehend why he should want to ascertain if the older boys had ever tasted off “the fleshy part.” I still don’t know what he meant. Can you enlighten me please?

We never thought to ask our female friends what the rector wanted to know about their sins. I guessed girls didn’t sin much then-only naughty boys. Girls we were taught were made of sugar and spice and everything nice- a fact that some of us have lived to prove, and others to disprove!

I must point out that there were no girls in Christ Church Choir at that time, probably because the organist was said to be “amphibious” or “ambivalent” or “ambiguous.” As nice, proper and well brought up boys we would never of course call him a buller (the contemporary term is “gay,” so we resorted to these euphemisms.

I will now give you the secret of my ability and brilliance in singing as a more senior treble boy in the choir-especially at the night service called Evensong. Before taking my place at the top of the line for the procession into the sanctuary, I would put on my robes and meet a special girl, three years my senior, by the standpipe in the graveyard for a session of serious kissing. This certainly cleared my voice and I was able to sing like a nightengale (or a knight in jail, which ever.)

As any good Anglican knows, often Evensong services end with Hymn 477 “The Day thou givest Lord is ended,” to the tune St Clement; but the day was definitely not yet ended for me. As we filled down in the recession I would unbutton my cassock, so that after the closing prayer I could storm up the stairs and hastily put my robes on the peg. As I reached the bottom of the stairs on my way out, I would usually pass my dad who would be at the end of the line on his way up to the robbing room. I would then hasten to that precious pipe in the graveyard for my replenishment kissing session with that lovely girl. By the time my dad got to the car after the men chatted in the robbing room for a moment or two, I was there by the car like the proverbial fowl who had eaten and wiped his mouth in the grass. Alas she migrated to Brooklyn in March 1966, and my prowess as a treble boy declined rapidly.

She wrote me frequently at first. Once my father intercepted one of these epistles and sounded out the following gospel to me. He said “ Boy DO RIGHT and fear no MAN; DON’T WRITE and fear no WOMAN!” How profound! I must confess that I have been more successful at doing right, because I have often written, with only very moderate success.

My final teenage chorister experience that I will relate has to do with an occasion with another sweet heart whom I always walked home after church and choir practices. We would often get frisky and stand in the shadows of some pea trees (Cajanus cajan) near her home to kiss. We had to do this as I was unable to enter her mother’s home. I could only stand on the premises but I could not enter. One night we were spotted by the other lads in the choir. As they passed near where we were standing, they sang in unison clearly and accurately to the tune of Standing on the Promises “ Standing on the PREMISES!”’

Although the young boys of our times don’t seem to love singing in the choir, when I was a boy, it was an honor to sing in the local Church choir. In fact boys who were thrown out of the choir often stopped coming to church. It was if they had spent a spell in Glendairy prison! Some thirty years later we old choir boys lament the fact that when we visit the Anglican churches throughout Barbados at a funeral or other special event, that they are no boys singing in the choir. With all the distractions rampant these days, these lads wist not what they miss. I, however, would not trade for anything in the world all the things I learned while singing in the choir, especially how to keep one’s vocal cords in trim- Mount Gay for the basses and kisses for troublesome trebles. Currently I use none of these methods because I am now a tenor.

When ever I take visitors to Barbados to see the Chase’s Vault and the beautiful stained glass windows of the Ascension above the altar at Christ Church Parish Church, I always spend a moment or two in silence by the stand pipe in the graveyard wondering how great and renowned a singer I might have been if the source of my success had never departed to the Big Apple so many years ago…….

Before I end this piece about my experiences in “Singing in the choir”, I must not neglect to tell you a significant incident. This is a true story which those who were there, still tell some 40 years afterwards. For a particular concert we were practicing a song in which the chorus goes something like this… “There angels sing in jubilant ring with dulcimers and lutes, with harps and cymbals, trumpets pipes and gentle soothing flutes, with harps and cymbals, trumpets pipes and gentle fluuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuutes.” Got the idea right? “So what?” you ask.

Well first the chorus was sung pretty quickly. And second, there was a tongue tied tenor in the choir, who so instead of singing about gentle soothing flutes he was singing about gentle soothing fooooooooooooooo. Oops! Yes he was singing unwittingly about the distinctive Bajan word for the sex act. Fellas the girls tell me that there is nothing in life like a gentle soothing fooooooooooooooo. Oops! I did that tongue tied thing again. Next my readers will be complaining to David for me for being a tied tongue tenor, and for making a flooops on BU.

I became a choir director at the tender age of 16. When you come to join my choir, I ask you to say “Shiboleth.” If you say “Siboleth” instead, you gone. You cant sing in my choir at all. Cause I am a stickler for proper diction and proper pronunciation of words. When it says fluuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuutes, I want fluuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuutes. Not fooooooooooooooo. Oops! There must definitely be proper standards in a church choir, right? I don’t want none of wunnah tied tongue Bajans in my choir, at all, at all, at all. I going to practice that song again and get my diction correct cause I like I getting tied tongue these days, and that aint good for a choral director.
    ===================================
    * Nunc Dimittis is the Latin title for the passage from Luke 2: 29-32 which is sung at Evensong.- Lord now lettest thy servant depart in peace!

30. Technician
    I have never been to a Foundation reunion because they probably wont count me. You see I only spent one year at Foundation. I transferred to Kolij at the first “screening test” and common entrance exam. But being a Parish Church choirboy I was in to girls from Ch CH High School & Girls Foundation.

Also I can no longer be considered a player now. I am mostly a talker. As my mother would tell you boy you HAD some……but it all gone now. I aint handsomeno more she says.

31. Ganong ya to sweeet like a fooooooooooo. Oops! lol lolo lololololol!

I was talking with a group of work colleagues and this gentleman told me he wanted to get this real sexy thing, however no matter how he tried her parents (especially grandmother) refused to let him come close to their premises.

My friend told me he was 19 years old at the time and his sweetheart’s grandmother had some canes to be cut, my boy told me that he cut allllll the canes over the weekend!

The next night which would be monday he went to the door and sat down on his usual bench in the verandah and he hear her grandmother say ‘wha jocelyn wha lord wha he work so hard ya can expek he to sit down outside leh he come inside na.’ Mr. Ganong I laughed until I cried!

Love wannah bad you all were not easy!

That is how you fight for a woman and proof your worth!

32. @ Ganong & Technician

Heard about the murder but didn’t know the circumstances. When we were at school we hoped that the school would be coed like the Alleyne but that was a different time and different agendas were at work.

I was not at the recent reunion but I heard that there will be a massive bicentennial celebration in 2009, may make plans to attend.

33. I like that one bout de guy that cut de canes to get the chick JC. After all if you read your Bible good you will see that the Lord gice Adam work before he gave him a woman.

Betcha ya nevuh noticed dat neh?

But all fellows aint like your friend.

I know a lad that loved a lass, but her mother wont let him on the premises.

One time she asked one the men in the church to come and pave her backyard. Usually on such occasions all the young fellows in the church would go help.

But the rejected fellow argued

” NO DAUGHTA
    NO MORTA!”

I remember dat incident as it was yesterday.

That was the Saturday that Charlie Davis runout Sobers in a test match in England in 1969. Davis went on to get a century.

34. I was at school that sad day. It was at the start of my art class. They were a lot of rumors and untruths said about the incident but I can tell you one thing…we carried that stigma for years. The girl who died, June Haynes, was the most beautiful girl at the school then. She was also the most liked.
    The reunions are always fun and this year was no exception. The Chinese made a mess of the hall. The roof fell in during full assembly. So much for their wonderful work huh?
    Didn’t know they had organizations in England, Canada and the USA. well…200years and counting…hope you will be there at the celebrations.

35. Richard ‘Dick’ Hoad

I know you reading this and you bussing yuh belly wid laughter.

Come on Hoadie man, don’t wait til Friday to put down your stories unchallenged,come and share some licks in Ganong and Sargeant behinds.

Man they pompasetting too much,show dem who is the man bout here Hoadie.

Be careful doh hear,Ganong and Georgie Porgie are ole time Harrison college buddies,although Georgie is now saved and cannot reflect too much on his young ,’wicked’ days.

I listening out for you hear Hoadie?

36. @ Sargeant
    Were you at Foundation in the sixties when they were teachers like the legendary “Kingo”, “Jungle Rat” or “Spuds” or “Moby Dick”.

Do you remember any of the tales told by Kingo about the non-existent “Swambogyland” where the mangoes are so large that one single mango can feed a whole village for a week before the natives use the seed to make a canoe?

37. No one has spoken about the Jones brothers – lewin and Gilpin and rosalind the sister-in law who was the school secretary.

Is Mrs Enid Lynch still alive anyone?

38. I have been trying to keep quiet, but it is now time to put some licks in Ganong. I have to confess to writing the Ode to Angela and the incident that Ganong posted.

But I notice he has written bout missing the last bus, singing in the choir and every thing else under the sun.

I want to ask Ganong now as man if he has a story too about the time that sweet high brown Foundation lass from St Mathias send he under the cellar to hide from her grandmother, and he encountered some very very angry ducks. Ganong you like you forget bout do fuh do!

Ganong do you remember the females teacher from the UK? I think she was Wardrop or something so.

This was a plump buxom sexy looking expatriate, who apparently did not know that the word “wood” is used to describe the male abdominal appendage. In those days we had changed from using as English texts those by S H Burton and Ridout to a series by Messrs Black and Wood. She entered the class one day and to shrieks of much jocularity and mirth enjoined the class to ”Take out your Woods.” Needless to say, some lads had to be constrained by their fellows from complying.

39. Ganong don’t run now. I want you to tell the forum the truth! You want people to think you is all this star boy with the girls because now you is a big able doctor. Tell them how you started off in life as a quack!

Be honest and tell them when that young juicy thing from St Matthias send you to hide under the cellar, and all the ducks came round you singing and you was so afraid that you thought you was going to end up in life as a quack!”

40. the photo in your story Life in Barbados is not the yankee stadium of boxing fame but the Aquatic club (grand barbados hotel) famous for water polo tournaments from 1940 to 1980 approx

41. OK GP OK!

I innocently put a few stories on this web page to make you people laugh. You think it is fair for people like GP to write and talk out my busyness? Eh?

Is why some people mout so big? And why they don’t mind their busyness though? I does mine my busyness. Why people cant mind theirs? The truth is though, that I met this juicy red skin thing in late 67. She was a Foundation girl. I had a thing for red skin things and Foundation lasses.

She had a lovely back-teria # for one so young, and her thoracic appendages were bordering on elephantous proportions (not yet elephantic)** This girl had me going so crazy that she even get me to go to the Vista+ with she. I was late and had to sit right down in the front row in the pit! Now every body know that to sit in the pit in them days you wasn’t nobody! I end up with a stiff neck that evening looking up at the big screen watching Sydney Potier in “TO SIR WITH LOVE.” Anything to be with that juicy thing from St Matthias. I was willing to go even to the pit! Even to the pits!

Anyway early in the new year before school start back, the girl invite me down by she house. I can remember it like if it was yesterday. Early that morning the boys were playing cricket on the pasture opposite my best friend’s house. I get tief out, lick down the sticks and went home, and dress and went down by this lass. Man I was real vex hear?

The bowler put down the ball right pun a bump in the pitch just out side the leg stump, and the ball kick up some dust and fine grits, and swing way past my forward defensive prod all cross to first slip, and I was theifingly adjudged ought caught. My bat never got near the ball, and I got a duck.@

I really needed some love and solace and consolation that could only be got from a woman- a young virgin if you please! So I went down in St Matthias just like how that malicious fella tell wunnah. Unfortunately, my bat never get near the ball down there neither, and this time I had to go to the ducks!

Never tell nobody your secrets yuh hear? And be careful with that verse in James that talks about confessing your sins one to another. That verse was not meant for Bajans. We does yap too much just like the “Shak Shak” trees (also called Woman’s tongue) when the wind passing by.

I spent most of the time listening to cricket, while she was finishing up her chores. Shining brass and silver, and sweeping and dusting etc and so forth and so fifth. I didn’t mind cause Garry and Seymour was putting some licks pun the Englishmen at Sabina Park on a real bad wicket. Most of you fellas will remember that game.

Anyway bout half past 12 or so, the girl done she work and went and bathe. No sooner she come out the room and we were about to get down to brass tacks, her friend who was there all morning keeping her company (as if that was needed) and had just left to go home tacked back hollering “Heather#, Heather, yuh grandmother coming!”

“Quick Ganong , quick, hide under the cellar!” Heather ordered. (Heather is of course not the right name)

Thus I was saved from sin and fornication- this time! But the truth is it wasn’t easy under that cellar with all them ducks squirting and quacking all round me. I am a person with little patience, so at the earliest convenient time I escaped through the open back gate with the ducks squirting and quacking behind me.

I overheard the girl’s grandmother asking “What you was doing in here that Joan rush back in here when she see me coming up the gap?”

Wunnah could laugh as much as wunnah like but my tracks were well covered by them squirting ducks. Think I watch all them westerns at “Sunday school” at the Olympic for nothing?

From reading this account and “We are Bored” on this thread, you can see that I had at least two girlfriends in early 1968 who thought I was Houdini. They both asked me to do some disappearing act. Wow!

You know what was the most painful part of this exercise, and the motto of this story? It is that patience is a virtue—and all good things come to those who wait. All I had to do is put up with them ducks for a few more minutes. As soon as I left, Heather’s grandmother left for town.

She used to work at the Marine Hotel nearby (now demolished), and had only come home to get her bags. Have you ever heard them say in primary school that “An opportunity loss can never be recalled,” or to “Strike while the iron is hot? Or “Make hay while the sun shines.” Well it is true. I never got another chance in St Mathias again! Ah lie. Not with Heather that is!

But……..that is another story! You aint going to hear it cause blabber mout don’t know it. Good!

While we on this subject, let me give you this anecdote related to me by a much older man from the Bay Street/Beckles Road area. You have to understand this tale in the context of the apartheid that was rampant in the Barbados of his day. We are talking about the time when blacks dared not be seen on Pine Road or George Street or Strathclyde or Burke’s Beach after 6 pm.

He relates that he was “tickling” a girl under a moses^ that was propped up near a pailing on Burke’s beach one night. In his ministrations he dislodged the pole that was propping up the boat (like a fly stick) and the boat hit on upon the white people pailing brugadung! Balang!

My white haired friend states that he went down the beach running as furiously as Jehu drove his chariot, and never stopped until he got down by the old Harbor Police Station.

When he recovered, he retraced his steps, and finally restored some dignity to the young lady whom he helped to escape from her prison beneath the moses. That friends is what you call adventure!

GP I hope you satisfize now!

=================================
    ** Elephantous and elephantic are breast valencies just like how you have ferrous and ferric in Chemistry.
    # A bacK-teria is a big broad backside- a big botsy then. definitely not the same size as a baCteria

42. ha ha ha ha ha ha ah ahha i love it ha ha ha aha haha ahahahah

wannah aint easy atall!

RESPECT!
    ha ha ha ha ha ahaha a a ah

43. @ Ganong

For a Kolij boy you sure know a lot about Foundation, that Kingo story has now taken on legendary status and anytime old boys from my era get together no matter which country we are in that tale is bound to come up. Now that you have put it on the net it will last forever (I was just listening to a radio program about the impact of technology on society). Incidentally one of the teachers you mentioned in your post is still around and I was told by an old friend who sees him out and about, that he has changed (not pompous anymore). I guess we are all older and wiser and they were some great characters.

My wife wants to know why I am sitting at the computer and smiling, I told her I am just reminiscing about “old times”.

44. I keep reading about these guys and the last bus.
    Now I am younger and parents a little bit more liberal but my experiences differ slightly from these older guys.
    When I went by my special girl and we were enjoying the time, her grand mother would always let you know when it was time to leave.
    She would break into a selection of hymns and start softly and slowly. As your time expired, the singing would get progressively louder as the minutes passed.
    When she realised that you were not moving, then the slamming of the doors and windows came into effect.
    Trust me, after a while , you got the picture and got up to leave.
    Failure to understand this procedure was detrimental to your relationship, as you found yourself not particularly welcomed on your next visit.
    That was the discipline in those days.

45. Sargeant you write

Ganong– For a Kolij boy you sure know a lot about Foundation

Well apart from the year I had at Foundation, there were many Foundation boys in my village and I met some both at Sunday school and in the choir at Ch Ch Parish Church.

46. @Sargeant

When we went to school in the 60’s there was at each school a set of legends who remained at the school for a relatively long period- sometimes throughout thier careers. This lent much continuity to the goals and aspirations of the schools and gave them thier particular savor.

For instance the Jones went to school at Foundation and served thier whole careers there. There were some like that at Kolij too. Men who taught boys and were still there when these boys sons came to that school.

I am glad I went to secondary school in the 60’s.

47. GP

Just a thought, does the society (or even you) hold teachers in high regard today? Do we see teachers as those “who couldn’t, so they taught”!
    Few men are in teaching today.

48. Adrian Hinds,

You forget that we already had the Holders Polo grounds in common… My territory ranged from Redmans Village to Paynes Bay beach.. but was centered on Thorpes pasture…

Negro man….
    You have a good point about the difficulties of our era, however you will only realize this when you pass a certain age…. the real value of life has more to do with ‘the process’ of living than the rewards of financial success.
    In terms of building national CHARACTER, the period of the 60s and 70s in Barbados is without equal.

As we have achieved resulting financial (and environmental) success, there has been a dilution of Bajanness, of national pride and of personal satisfaction…

maybe we can’t have it both ways…

49. Anonymous

I hope Hoadie declines the offer to put licks in anyone on this particular subject. Hoadie knows nothing about a last bus. He is a good guy but his experience in old Barbados was on a plantation. He was dropped off by the Sandbox Tree at H.C (the square which was sacred ground i.e no bicycles ridden across it) by the driver of the plantation jeep and was picked up there
    just before the school-gate was closed. Ganong is telling it like it was in Barbados. He is writing first hand from the heart and soul whereas Hoadie is a lot of hear-say.