Submitted by BWWR

I am loathed to write anything about Kingsland Estates to BU at this time, simply because there are so many other issues of far greater interest and importance to Bajans at the moment. However, I received today the Judgment of Howden J. of the Ontario courts and I am attaching it here for you.

To recap for your readers, BU published the Reasons of Justice Shaughnessy in which, among other issues, the surreptitiously taped conversation by Fishy Heaslet with Peter Simmons and any threat arising therefrom was addressed by Shaughnessy J. It was found that there was no threat. Madge Knox/Peter Allard aka Nelson Barbados, sought leave from Justice Shaughnessy to appeal his decision, and they were refused. Therefore, they applied for leave to appeal to a higher Ontario court and this court too refused, hence the decision of Howden J. that is posted here.

The issue of intemperate remarks made by Peter Simmons has caused Quel Truth to use its favourite series of words – again and again and again….and again. Outrageous, outrage, outraged. Quel Truth is, as we have all now seen, quite limited, particularly in its ability to answer any questions it doesn’t like. I have tried on several occasions to put Peter Simmon’s angry remarks into perspective. However, Howden J. does it indisputably and with an ease that makes me feel stupid. He says, at paragraph [28] of his excellent judgment:

“By their nature, Courts deal with many situations of animosity and even visceral hatred. The expression by one party of his interpretation of the anger of others towards the other party is neither unique nor unexpected. It should be noted that the alleged threatener in this case later indicated his total disapproval of any resort to violence. In this case, I see no error in the motion judge’s consideration of this issue”.

In other words, like anyone else, Peter got angry and the anger got the better of him for a short time during a conversation he was having with Fishy Heaslet, whom he reasonably considered to be, not only a colleague, but also a family friend whom Peter had invited to break bread with himself and his family at his home. Poor old Peter was guilty of bad judgment in his choice of friends and confidants, nothing more, when he vented his frustrations to Fishy. Anyway, that is quite obviously the view of the Ontario courts. I agree.

There have been other areas that Quel Truth, severally, has: (a) found outrageous; (b) been outraged by; (c) found to be an outrage. And I am not going to comment on them all. I will, however, confess to being amused by Mr. Alair Shepherd Q.C.’s letter to Mr. Clyde Turney Q.C, dated 8th July 2008 and posted by Quel Truth.

Blithely ignoring the fact that Madge Knox owes well over $10 million in court costs, with this amount escalating daily in post-judgment interest (about 8% p.a.), and has paid not one red cent of any of it, Mr. Shepherd protests vehemently to Mr. Turney that his client, Madge Knox, is not impecunious and that Mr. Turney has misled the Honourable Court (in the person of Madam Justice Kaye Goodridge – decision posted by BU previously) into thinking that his client is impecunious. Well, Quel Truth and Alair, if she is NOT impecunious, why she don’t pay her court-ordered debts?

Another issue rises out of Alair’s letter to Clyde. It confirms the view that Madge Knox owns the 28,570 shares in Kingsland claimed by Nelson Barbados to ground its action in the Canadian courts.

“Hmmmm”, as Quel Truth and BFP would say. Might this be the same Alair who represents Madge Knox (on record only as we all know) in the Canadian action? If so, why has Alair not assisted the Ontario courts by having his client (or maybe even the great Professor (retired) John Knox on behalf of his mother) swear and file an affidavit in the Ontario action stating that Nelson has no standing, as his client, Madge Knox, owns the shares in Kingsland and NOT, as it has claimed, Nelson? Simple answer. Madge Knox and Nelson are one in the same. It would appear that Mr. Shepherd has adopted, or maybe, as he is Queen’s Council, formulated and invented the Hal Gollup approach to the practice of law. I wonder if it will catch on.

I have always considered Alair to be a competent lightweight – sort of the type who follows ambulances. But I do think that even so, to ask Clyde Turney what he ought to advise Madge Knox puts Clyde in a dreadful position, as Clyde must have many suggestions for both Alair and Madge that it would not be becoming for a gentleman to utter.

Today, I have seen the latest from Quel Truth on the subject of Kingsland and this time roping in the late Muriel Deane. So, let us cut through the rhetoric to a few questions – and this time I DO have the answers. The questions are based on certain indisputable facts. These are: (a) In October 1998, Madge Knox sued her elder sister, Muriel Deane and prevented Muriel Deane from selling her shares in Kingsland in order to finance her support in her old age; (b) In 2001, Muriel won and Madge appealed and the injunction preventing Muriel from selling her shares to give herself some ease in her old age was continued until the appeal has been decided; (c) In 2003, Muriel (i) had to go into a home which was financed (and I wonder why) by the people suing her, namely Peter Allard and Jane Goddard, (ii) Muriel won the appeal and, (iii) Muriel also died.

So to my questions:

• Because of the completely altruistic and disinterested generosity of Jane Goddard and Peter Allard, did Muriel Deane make them executors of her Will?

Public records show that she did NOT. Muriel appointed her two nieces (one of them also being sued by Madge) namely Tess (the late Lee Deane’s daughter) and Rosemary (Keith Deane’s daughter) as her executors. Following Muriel’s death, Tess and Rosemary had to be substituted for Muriel in the case when it came to the Privy Council – so both of Muriel’s executors ended up being sued by Madge.

• Did Muriel leave ANYTHING to Madge Knox or her children or to Peter Allard?

She did NOT. The public records show that Muriel left her worldly belongings, including her Kingsland shares, to Lee Deane’s children, grandchildren and to Rosemary. Not a single mention of her “benefactors” Jane Goddard and Peter Allard.

It is typical of Quel Truth that, desperate as they now are to find something that someone, other than Barbados Free Press, will believe, they (and Barbados Free Press) have resorted, instead of dredging the gutters, to EXHUMATION. Using someone who is dead and cannot answer for herself.

BUT MURIEL DEANE’S LAST WILL AND TESTAMENT ANSWERS FOR HER!

Finally, I have it on excellent authority that the High Court in Barbados has set the date to hear the Writ of Summons for fraud against Madge Knox for late January 2009. Therefore, Madge is summonsed before the High Court of Barbados where we shall all have the chance to see this 85 year old divorcee examined and cross-examined.

Pat, chile, if you want some material for the TV series you writing on Kingsland and the Deanes, you got to go to that trial. See you there.

Related Links

33 responses to “The Other Side Of The Kingsland Estate Court Matter Part VI”

1. I will read the court judgment and want to remark how good it is that the public has access to original court documents to make their own decisions. This is unheard of before the blogs.

I do note that the author of this article has ignored another of the threats made by Peter Simmons. According to an article at Barbados Free Press Simmons threatened to fire UWI Professor John Knox because he was involved in the courts battle. Correct me if I am wrong, but I believe that Professor Knox was fired subsequent to the threat made by Peter Simmons.

The BFP article about the firing has the ring of truth to it unless BWWR can say otherwise.

You cannot beat the blogs though. Barbados blogs rule!

2. Georgie Porgie Avatar

John Knox is a very pleasant and humble person and another Barbados scholar denied work in his own country!

3. BU & BWWR,

This article is inaccurate. Correct it.

Kingsland was held in limbo from prior to 1992 (SBG) when the whole 1,000+ acres received permission for golf course development under the DLP administration and was then frozen in time, untouched, waiting for spring and a magic touch.

Some experts suggest that the value was also held in this time warp, perhaps even depreciating, unlike all other Barbados land which was appreciating.

As a matter of fact, you will find the multi-million dollar Government 1990 expropriation (without compensation) was one of the last of several transactions that wound up being placed on ice waiting for the new dawn.

Spring is in the air.

4. passin thru ,

If I recall correctly, Peter Simmons said that some members of the Deane family had expressed to him their concern that John Knox’s employment with Cave Hill might be adverely affected, or words to the effect. As it happens, I have the full transcripts of Peter’s taped conversations with Fishy Heaslet to hand and will find them and send them to David. The public can decide for itself. That way, no name and other scions of Quel Truth, there is no need for you to interpret what we can all read and interpret for ourselves.

Georgie Porgie ,

John Knox, who holds a degree (not a doctorate) in electrical engineering, was not “fired” from Cave Hill. Cave Hill did not renew his contract to teach there. There was no dismissal of this self-styled professor. I have asked on several occaions, and no reply has been give me, how many lecturers were also not renewed at the same time as John Knox. What John Knox, pleasant or not, tries to propose is that, because of his actions in the Ontario action, Cave Hill is obligated to extend his contract for life, irrepective of whether (a) it is financially viable; (b) John Knox is any good at his job; (c) there is anyone attending John Knox’s lectures. In other words, the fact that John Knox has acted against the sovereignty and rights of the people of Barbados ought to guarantee him life-time employment at Barbados’ university. You think?

5. the facts,

Chile, grow up. The article is replete with references to your websites, Keltruth and BFP. All and sundry can read your views (all of them ruled against by the courts) there. The article addresses certain articles of yours in which you have been far less than frank. In other words, by omission, you fibbed (see, I did not say that you lied).

6. We have updated a transcript of the much discussed taped conversation between Peter Simmons and Heaslet compliment of BWWR. We updated in the body of the blog but here is the link as well.

7. BWWR: Your venom towards the Knox family is very puzzling indeed. I find myself far more curious now about your over-involvement in this matter than the actual matter itself. Your involvement in this matter goes way beyond someone with just a passing interest and if you are to continually accuse Keltruth of being dishonest and disingenuous, then the time has come for you to declare your true position in this matter.
    I, for one, am growing weary of your condescending and superior tone with those who dare to disagree with you.

8. Anon 27, I respect your right to your views. I do not share them. Kindly accord me a similar courtesy. Maybe you would care to answer on behalf of Quel Truth some of the questions that I and others have put to them, revealing, as you clearly expect of others, your position and status to answer them. Take the lead Anon 27, show us how it is done and what you are made of.

9. BWWR says “John Knox, who holds a degree (not a doctorate) in electrical engineering, was not “fired” from Cave Hill. Cave Hill did not renew his contract to teach there.”

Gawd I hate the bullsh*t excuses for how things are done here. “contract wasn’t renewed” after the threat was made that he had better shut up as a witness and BWWR finds nothing wrong with that!

That is how it is done on this rock. Behave yourself don’t ask for justice, don’t see anything or you will be out of a job. Oh no, you won’t be “fired”. Your contract won’t be renewed.

How evil. How evil that this still goes on. Gawd how I hate this corruption that runs through everything. Knox was put out of a job like he was told. All perfectly legal and tidy and corrupt as hell.

10. Passin thru,

You asked for information and BWWR provided it and you appear not to have read it at all.

It seems to me that BWWR also asked a very pertinent question. How many Cave Hill lecturers other than John Knox did not, FOR WHATEVER REASON, have their contracts renewed for the 2007-2008 year?

I want to add to that. Was Mr. Knox replaced and if so was it by someone of equal or superior qualifications? It seems to me that the whole argument of the Knox’s leads one to believe that John Knox’s qualifications are greater than anyone else and therefore spite has to play a part in the fact that his contract was not renewed. There are a number of electrical engineers in Barbados who might be happy to dispute the superiority of the qualifications of John Knox over their own. I can think if five just off the top of my head.

And if Mr. Knox was not replaced, then it would seem to me that it is a question of economics.

In my day, a lecturer did not call himself a professor unless he/she had a doctorate.

Of course, the answers to these questions require some research, and that takes time and trouble. FAR easier to jump on the bandwagon of using the concern that Mr. Knox’s family, the Deanes (the only family that has ever supported him) expressed to Peter Simmons that Mr. Knox might lose his job and ASSUME that this is what happened.

Well, I intend now to research this question and if I find any evidence of bias against Mr. Knox, I will report it here without hesitation.

Until the advent of the blogs like Barbados Underground, we never had access to the documents and information we now get and this is the best thing that has ever happened to us. But it is a two-edged sword and imposes on us a responsibility to be as fair and open-minded as possible. It almost places us in a judicial position. It is a unique opportunity and one heretofore accorded to just a very few. Now, we all have it. Keltruth and BWWR, let us not abuse it.

11. We have tried not to make editorial comments on this matter. We read the transcript of the conversation between Simmons and Heaslet and our best sense suggests that Simmons cannot fairly be accused of threatening anyone in a direct way. He was asked a question and he answered given his judgement.

We have to assume that this is the full transcript of course.

12. Peter Simmons is an intelligent man who was a diplomat for Barbados to the court of St. James. He is a skilled communicator and like others who want to deliver a threat and not be arrested he was subtle and made sure his words did not pass a certain threshold.

In order to declare him innocent though one has to totally ignore the context in which he spoke, and it was the context that gave the added punch and made his words threatening.

Peter Simmons is the brother of Chief Justice Sir David Simmons, both of whom are deeply involved in the case as defendants.

Peter Simmons is talking with a third party, Heaslet, whom he knows will relay his messages to the other side.

That is Rule #1 when organized crime makes a threat: never deliver the threat directly to the victim. You might be tape-recorded and it raises the threatening value of the words spoken because of the context of speaking directly to the victim.

Better to relay a message through a third party and that is exactly what the Simmons brothers are doing. Peter Simmons even talks about Heaslet relaying the message.

Further to context we have the brother of the Chief Justice (whom I believe was nothing but an errand boy for CJ Sir David in this case) telling the lawyer for the other side (McKenzie) that he is hated in Barbados and if he comes for the court date he “better watch his back”.

In context that is most definitely a threat. Telling a lawyer representing the other side of a case you are involved in “your hated in Barbados – watch your back” is nothing but a threat, no matter what legal maneuvers and excuses followed.

Then we have the threat that John Knox will lose his job at UWI. The same threat that the Chief Justice himself spoke at another meeting that is documented in affidavits.

Of course that was a threat, a warning, and Heaslet is to deliver this warning too. John Knox and everyone in the case is also aware that another one of the defendants is on the board at UWI. So in context, this threat is valid.

More than valid, because John Knox was fired.

Saying he didn’t have his contract renewed is a pathetic excuse after the threats, isn’t it?

The Simmons brothers and their co-defendants would have been far more intelligent to keep John Knox employed. They never considered how that one fact will play out on the world stage.

But the Simmons brothers, especially Sir David, and many of their co-defendants are power-drunk thugs who regularly do business in this manner in Barbados. Their perspective is limited as to how the international community views this kind of abuse by the very people who are supposed to be upholding the law.

Context is everything when it comes to threats and extortion, and Peter Simmon’s statements in context well pass the threshold as threats.

His intent was to frighten off the other side’s lawyer and to deny them a witness by making the witness choose between his job and continuing to make his evidence available in court.

Again, Peter Simmons and his thug brother should go to the USA, Britain or Canada and deliver the same words in the same context and see how quickly they go to jail.

But this is Barbados and they own the courts, the police and the prosecutor so they don’t have to worry.

13. “Again, Peter Simmons and his thug brother should go to the USA, Britain or Canada and deliver the same words in the same context and see how quickly they go to jail.”

———————————-

You statement is laughable.

The judge in a CANADIAN court read the words in their entire context, in the entire context of the whole case and found no threat. In fact he found that Heaslet went on a “fishing expedition” to extract threats.

Why did he do this? to get the judge to force the defendants to come to Canada to testify. Heaslet and Mckensie deliberately trying to get a tape recorded threat to give maximum harassment.

Oh by the way, everyone seems to forget this case was lost in the British Privy Council but I suppose Simmons “owns” that court too.

Must they lose in a US court nextl?

14. Dear Knight:

Please explain your 2 statements quoted below.

“Peter Simmons is an intelligent man who was a diplomat for Barbados to the court of St. James. He is a skilled communicator ”

“Their perspective is limited as to how the international community views this kind of abuse by the very people who are supposed to be upholding the law”

15. It seems to BU that the protagonists in this case are saying that the Barbados Judiciary cannot be trusted. Would we be correct in making this assumption?

If so how can we reconcile that the case was turned down at the Privy Council level as well as in the Canadian Court system.

What are we missing?

16. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

David if you revisit my comments on this matter nearly a half year ago this was my opinion from as far back as then.

Time to move on with their lives now, what is done is done.

17. David,

You are missing nothing, you are spot on.

Allard is backing the action in Canada and is attacking a long long list of defendants simply to harass them. One strategy was to deem Barbados unsafe making every defendant have to travel to Canada. That was the key purpose of the “fishing expedition” by heaslet. Check how he keeps trying to suggest he or mckensie could be in danger.

BFP uses the “threat” to suggest the judiciary is corrupt and helped to rob an old woman. They conveniently never mention either the fact that the canadian court found no threat nor the fact the case was already lost in a British court.

The whole story is not a nice one and the ultimate buyers are not nice people but there is no case for allard/knox and they have lost in every court in Barbados and now seem set to do the same in Canada.

18. If I dare post any of this on BFP, it goes straight to moderation never to see the light of day

19. David,

According to the pleadings in the Ontario action, these are the full transcripts of the two recorded conversations with Peter Simmons. Neither side has disputed this and neither have the Ontario courts. So, we have to assume these are complete.

For years now, there has been a certain unfairness that has bothered me about the whole conduct of the cases in this Kingsland issue. For instance, leading up to and during the hearing of the Privy Council appeal, Patrick Hoyos filed some articles (for, I recall, either the Nation or the Advocate) from London where he attended the Privy Council hearing with the Knox family. Reading Mr Hoyos’ reports, one would have thought that the outcome of the appeal would have been that Mrs Knox would have prevailed….but she did not……and this subjective and biased reporting was published in one of our two national newspapers. Why then did the Privy Council go against the views of a great jurist like Pat Hoyos? I had to ask myself the unthinkable. Was it just possible that Mr. Hoyos was wrong? Or had Mr. Hoyos’ journalistic integrity been “acquired”? The reports were as biased as hell and that bothered me, particularly in light of the outcome.

Subsequently, it bothered me that the ONLY side of the whole issue I ever heard was that of the Knox family. Not a peep out of the other side. But it did not bother me enough to really look into it, until I was reading Keltruth and BFP and saw that the country and its PM and opposition leader and A-G and CJ had all been sued over the Kingsland issue. I am a Bajan and if you sue my country, you sue me – and if I am being sued, I want to know all about it and, if I am wrong, I want to admit it and settle it as soon as possible. If I am NOT wrong, then you settle, or I’ll see you in court.

But I found out that I was not wrong and I had done nothing wrong and that I was being used by an old, privileged Bajan divorcee masquerading as an indigent widow and her Canadian billionaire partner simply because I had insisted on the letter of the law and would not let them usurp my rights and sovereignty and now they were trying to bring me into international disrepute through misuse of the blogs. That made me as mad as hell.

Knight says, “The Simmons brothers and their co-defendants would have been far more intelligent to keep John Knox employed. They never considered how that one fact will play out on the world stage.” SURE, anyone who wants to protect their job in Barbados, under the Knight rules, merely has to sue Barbados in a foreign court. By the way, I was unaware that part of the job descriptions of Sir David Simmons and his brother was overseeing the human resources office of the UWI Cave Hill Campus. No way, Knight. Your idea plays squarely into the Knox/Allard hands and I, for one, reject it.

I am still awaiting the complete works – I mean affidavits – of John Knox and will send them on when they arrive. Maybe what Mr. Knox is missing will then be revealed.

20. The KEY is missing from everyones’ argument.

Look at the simple picture. If you do not get it, you will in time.

21. BWWR: Why would I be so presumptuous as to answer for Keltruth? I have no affiliation to Keltruth. I have simply observed and pointed out that you seem very over involved in this matter and I have suggested that perhaps there is a personal reason for your animus towards the Knox family. Somebody steal yuh man?

22. @Anon27

Is it unreasonable to say that while we review BWWR submissions we should do so in the context of relevance? Are the points put forward making sense by way of a plausible rebuttal?

23. David

Just my humble suggestion which you are free to disagree with:

Don’t you think it is time you close this thread?

This seems to be a private conversation between keltruth,bwwr and anon 27,anon3 anon 2 etc.

It is of no interest to the majority of readers and while I have some sympathy for the keltruth side of story I believe like evrything all good things must come to an end sometime.

What do you think?

24. @Anonymous

We don’t agree. In the same way BU is giving you a voice on the need for a managed migration policy. We have elected to give a voice to the Kingland matter for the key reason that the traditional press continues to give it the cold shoulder.

Can we suggest that you just put the Kingsland blogs on ignore if you have no interest? If we are to judge by the hits the Kingsland blogs get there is some interest 🙂

25. Fine with me David,fine with me.

You have said to me that the kingsland thread gets a lot of hits.

I obviously thought it was the opposite and I was basing that on the very few comments from readers on the matter.

Your position is fine with me – I already now skip past it – I just didn’t think that there was any great interest and therefore it was only taking up space.It had nothing to do with shutting out their voice since I too intially followed it and commented, and felt that there is some wrongdoing in there.

However, since their views are carried at BFP and Keltruth blog sites I felt that their positions will still be aired.

26. @Anonymous

We appreciate the feedback. We have taken a position in relation to BFP’s sympathetic position :-).

We have taken a decision in the interest of exposing all the information, and we have no brief on this matter. In fact the BU family has been forced to educate itself on this topic.

We will continue to use our best judgement based on feedback and otherwise to determine good content.

27. BU:

Well, well, well. I never thought I would see the day when a poster, who did not like comments, suggest that the thread be closed. It is just like Bimbro asking that people be banned who did not agree with him!

I am very appreviative of BU giving me the opportunity to blog here. I appreciate seeing the court documents and reading them for myself and making my own decisions based on my basic understand of the law and legal terminology. To deprive me and others of that, would be heinous, to satisfy one disgruntled Keltruth sympathiser.

BWWR:

You keep it coming baby! I will be in Jamaica over Christmas returning to Canada in early January. I may just book a flight to Bim for the case. I used to enjoy listening in during my sojourn there. I read the article at BFP and though that Muriel Deane had recently passed! I usually read the obits and did not r emember seeing her name and was about to go back and do another search after checking here. Good thing I did. I wonder why they are now “using her” with photo and all. The comments over there were not all sympathetic. I cant understand how she was robbed if she died leaving her shares to her neices after not being able to dispose of them because of Madge Knox. Strange carrying-ons.

28. We pointed out to Anonymous that the Kingsland blogs get their fair share of interest. A check of the sidebar under Most Popular will confirm the point.

29. Pat chile, my info is that the fraud case against Madge is to take place the end of January. 24th or 25th, I think.

30. By the way, Anonymous, Keltruth does not get many hits on the Kingsland story, but BFP used to. But if you write to BFP with anything that is contrary to Keltruth, you are “moderated” and what you have to say in opposition to Keltruth is never published – this includes one comment I made objecting to the threatening remarks made to Keltruth by one reader. So, they must have put ona filter against me personally, rather than the content of my comments. Initially, I responded to the BFP articles about Kingsland on BFP, simply because BU, which is my usual read, did not carry anything on the issue. However, when I posted the Reasons of Justice Shaughnessy to B FP and they were “moderated” and never un-“moderated”, I decided to see if BU might have an interest. I noted with some amusement that BFP then said that if I had sent them the reasons, they would have published them. This is a self-serving excuse and a fib.

31. “But if you write to BFP with anything that is contrary to Keltruth, you are “moderated” and what you have to say in opposition to Keltruth is never published ”

——————————-

I have the same experience

It applies actually to anytime you disagree with BFP and attempt to post evidence contrary to their claims – ‘they’ just moderate

32. If persons think that this is the only scandal that is worth talking about; I want the BU family to know that their is a ‘Family Business’ that is taking place amongst the HIV/AIDS Family that persons should be made aware of:

Here is a litle clue if anyone can answer this question I promise there will be no more clues just FACTS:

Which Barbadian family made over 1/2 million dollars out of this epidemic.

I’ll be generous and give the fellow bloggers a clue:

The Central Answer lies South of the Border!

33. […] and raises serious questions, the information for this column is pulled from our own files. (The Kingsland file is also […]