Submitted by Yardbroom

byer-suckooThe significance of the important address given by Minister Esther Byer-Suckoo at the National Ecumenical Church Service for children – Nation News 5-8-08 to the young people of Barbados, should not be allowed to fade into oblivion and not given the attention which such an address deserves. With an insight worthy of a Minister holding such an important position, Minister Byer-Suckoo was able to highlight issues which have contributed to a performance far below what we are capable of in Barbados.

If we are to change elements of moral decay, that are insidiously seeping through the fabric of our country, we must start with young people…I salute her in this regard. In order for this objective to succeed, it is necessary to show role models from our society, who have been successful, through hard work, and honest endeavour.

The statement by Minister Byer-Suckoo carries not only the weight of her office, but a personal successful outcome, underpinned by academic results, success in her professional field and selection by ordinary citizens through a popular democratic mandate. If those of us who genuinely have the interest of Barbados at heart – and there are many of us -support Ministers when they say or do something which could really make a difference, we have taken a step in the right direction.

It is not enough to say or highlight things which are wrong, we must show due vigilance and be prepared to offer the necessary support to Government Officials and Ministers of Government when they make important statements, as to the direction in which our country should go, and how our “young people” could assist in that important goal.

9 responses to “Minister Esther Byer-Suckoo's Positive Call To Our Young People”

1. She seems sincere but she is always in the news! Is she the only Minister working?

2. She needs to take a break from the press, definitely suffering from over exposure, seems to have taken over from Lynette Eastmond.
    Time for the government to get down to some serious work and their PR is sadly lacking…

3. Straight talk Avatar
    Straight talk

With the hundred day target fast approaching, I am only too glad that at least one minister is taking her portfolio seriously enough to both institute action and communicate with her electorate.

Sad to say the optimistic, and unfulfilled, promises of her colleagues may leave a hard working and well meaning minister’s actions appear frothy window dressing for the failure of the big idea for which we all voted.

4. What we need to see from Doctor Suckoo is a overall plan for sport. This is an important vehicle to involve the youth and attack some of the social problems of the country. At the moment she seems to be just zooming all over the place. We agree that she is saying the right things but she must be part of a bigger plan if the country is to respond.

5. Attractive, Educated, Witty, Sharp, Brilliant and we wonder why she is always sought out by the media, she has what it takes to succeed.

David more is coming from her very shortly, you will like it trust me.

6. I envy her husband.

7. All ministries are important but she is on the news all the time because of the type of Ministry she has – Ministry of Family, Sports and the Environment which impacts on all uh we. When she begin to roll out she programme fuh B’dos, all uh wanna detractors en gine bother to turn on wunna TV. Esther we too luv yuh, you cud come on my TV whenever yuh like, yuh pretty,
    as the old people would say- yuh got a good head pun yuh shoulder and yuh ain’t afraid. Furthermore yuh young and I pray that God will continue to bless you and your family. On another note, wuh 100 days promises wunnah harping bout all the time. You want to tell me that all the bajans that vote fuh de new govment do so because a de magical 100 day promises. Wunna more politically illiterate than I thought, faif.

8. this lady Dr Suckoo is going to be one of the best and sincere contributors to our country that we will witness. She is a hard worker and quite frankly, I want to see her become the first female Prime Minister of Barbados after David repairs the damage the BLP left and puts us back on track to a lasting prosperity. God bless them and God bless Barbados.

9. why do people put such a heave burden on people so early on. Give a chance to do something, ANYTHING before we start thinking that she is primeministership material.