Question Mark

The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) has labelled a new poll as irresponsible propaganda because it failed to print all of the data including an alleged significant swing in favour of the DLP. The Poll printed in another section of the printed media on Sunday reportedly originated in the Faculty of Social Sciences, Cave Hill Campus under the name of the Cave Hill Associates Polling Organisation. Professor Ian Boxill functioned as polling director, Dr. George Belle as an analyst, and Dion Greenidge as data manager and had a sample of 1 220 enumerated voters. General Secretary of the DLP, Chris Sinckler, held a press conference yesterday morning stating that we knew for some time that this poll was being conducted. What we find interesting is that the information that is being withheld is far more significant and damaging to the Barbados Labour Party

Source: Barbados Elections

The just released Cave Hill Associates Polling Organization (Chapo)/Boxill poll has generated a lot of debate in Barbados, especially amongst the political pundits. Although Peter Wickham has ‘reluctantly’ agreed that competition is good in an area which was his sole preserve until the Chapo/Boxill poll, the BU household has some concerns.

We believe that the dissemination of information which is expertly packaged can have the effect of influencing public opinion.The science of polling has been introduced by the late Pat Emmanuel and refined by his protégée Peter Wickham. Despite what Peter Wickham’s detractors are saying his success rate of forecasting the outcome of elections in Barbados and in the region is a matter of public record.

The timing of the Chapo/Boxill poll has raised a question mark in our minds. Although we welcome more pollsters to the market, we question why the owners of the Chapo/Boxill poll would have allowed the Nation newspaper in its edition of 23 December 2007 to print only a snapshot report of the results. Dr.George Bell in a radio call-in offered the poor excuse that the owners of the Chappo/Boxill poll wanted to beat the Nation deadline. The response obviously disregarded the effect that incomplete information dumped in the public domain could have with a general election on the horizon. We are not experts in the science of polling but would it not have made more sense to have formatted the Chappo/Boxill poll to make it easy for the public to make a comparison to the last Peter Wickham CADRES poll?

The other issue which we have is the disturbing report reaching BU which questions the data collection method used by the Chapo/Boxill outfit. There is strong indication that the criteria used to identify some of the subjects who participated in the poll was not a true representation of ‘Barbadians’. In one case that we know of the subject lives outside of Barbados. Could we ask Dr. George Bell to publish the methodology which was used to collect data for the poll? Was the data collected using door to door, telephone, Internet etc?

The PEOPLE want to know!

We wonder why the Chapo/Boxill poll would have been published by the Nation newspaper with such urgency against the background that Chapo/Boxill outfit has no track record in Barbados. Dr.George Bell has himself admitted that the University of the West Indies needs to build expertise in the science of polling.

109 responses to “Question Mark Looms Over Chapo/Boxill Poll~Revisited”

1. Health Inspector Avatar

Your blog is full of your past statements about what David Thompson should do “after he wins the next elections”. Some of them date back many months.

So it is understandable to “the people” why you are so unhappy about a poll which places the DLP in second place… (in other words, as losers!)

Do you realise that people have long seen through your shallow pretence of being free, fair and unbiased?

2. Such Stupid Comments Avatar
    Such Stupid Comments

David Please bring some facts on Peter Wickham’s track record ie prediction vs outcome so that we can JUDGE for ourselves. You might be surprise at the findings.

3. notesfromthemargin Avatar
    notesfromthemargin

an interesting article. As to why the Nation would publish it? SALES!

Any whiff of hard data in electioneering is worth newspaper sales. Not only for the edition that the poll appears in but also the edition with the parties reactions. (We won’t even get into the fodder it creates for the “talking heads”of the op/ed section”)

It would appear that UWI is trying to get inot the polling business. Does their methodology have to match CADRES? Not necessarily. The statisticians can argue for weeks on that.

Methodologies for all polls should be published to allow people to make an informed judgment as to the validity of the results. And I believe that all information should be published to reduce the vulnerability of the poll to charges such as the one levelled in this case.

I personally have questions on the nature of the “Swing” which has shown in all polls so far. There is a swing against the Government that is unquestionable. Is there a swing towards the opposition? I’m not sure. The analyses that I have read so far assume that disenchantment with the BLP is a vote FOR the DLP (they seem to ignore the possibility that the person may simply abstain) I would like to see more inquiry into this area.

The next election will turn on whether the Opposition can convince persons that they are a viable alternative. If those undecideds/disenchanteds stay home the BLP will win. If the DLP can get them into a polling booth, they will win.

I am not sure which of these scenarios will happen.

Marginal

4. In light of the assassination of the leader of the opposition in Pakistan–

I Still don’t know why Barbadians should vote for a Prime Minister, who makes sinister statements, like those made at Alexandria School.

One only has to read the comments coming from B.F.P.E, to see how persons, who are alleged to be followers of the BLP, are
    threatening to burn and murder citizens like Adrian Loveridge.

These people are desperate yuh.. they know that they are losing, and will do anything to stay in power.

5. The LAP DOGS at the NATION NEWS….have played their part again !

Carol Martindale , Roxanne Gibbs et al….have failed to release the additional data from the UWI / George Belle poll !

No data on the % SWING against the BLP gov’t !

No data on the % DESIRE FOR CHANGE from the BLP gov’t !

This information was promised to be released Thursday 27 th Dec 2007 !

6. God bless Owen Arthur!!!!

~b~f~p~e~

7. Yuh mean to say dat dese yardfowls still wont give up duh foolishness an’ stop cussin’ pun de blog?
    Desperate ppl fuh trute!!

8. A poll that can only release selected information is a disservice to the people of Barbados and the participants of the poll. A government that can only post an edited version of its Prime Minister’s speech on its BLPTV web site is a disservice to the people of Barbados. Yet another reason to change.

9. notesfromthemargin,
    from what I am seeing it clearly says to me that those swing voters are moving into the DLP camp just have a look at how the gap has closed and where it was before and where it is today, we also must remember that they are 9 seats that fall into that uncertain zone and will go to the DLP with any swingod 5.5 % away from the blp.

10. Wishing in Vain,

You couldn’t have picked a better name for yourself.

As for David Thompson and his promise of a “surprise” when the DLP launches their campaign next week Wednesday, he better be careful that the “surprise” turns out to be something he did not expect.

While such talk may draw crowds out of curiosity, people will ultimately want substance, not gimmicks. It would have been wiser of him to deliver his message in a different manner, because it seems he is not advertising the leadership capabilities of himself and his party, but rather more concerned and distracted by a one-off red herring.

What I really want to see are DEBATES between the two leaders. That is the real clincher.

11. a poll is just that a pool ………only a fraction of people registered to vote are asked questions i never go by a poll or allow a poll to influence my vote …….i agree that 3 terms for a goverement are eneough cause after that they tend to get stagnant but i still dont see an alternative to the BLP .. the DLP will only ruin our ecomony again like they did in the late 80s early 90s .we have no choice but to go bck with the BLP

12. I WOULD LOVE TO SEE DEBATES BETWEEN THE 2 LEADERS

13. Anonymous // December 28, 2007 at 12:54 pm

Wishing in Vain,

You couldn’t have picked a better name for yourself.

As for David Thompson and his promise of a “surprise” when the DLP launches their campaign next week Wednesday, he better be careful that the “surprise” turns out to be something he did not expect.

While such talk may draw crowds out of curiosity, people will ultimately want substance, not gimmicks. It would have been wiser of him to deliver his message in a different manner, because it seems he is not advertising the leadership capabilities of himself and his party, but rather more concerned and distracted by a one-off red herring.

What I really want to see are DEBATES between the two leaders. That is the real clincher.

Bring your……chair & keep focus on the BIG SCREEN !

You CHEQUE…..what I mean ?

$ 750,000.00 reasons not to miss this main….EVENT !

14. I don’t like the sound of this surprise thing of an announcement. It trivializes this campaign, however i have to believe that with his IMF secret deal claim of the past that he is mindfull not to make this same mistake again. Actually it would be a bombshell if part of the surprise is the proof of that IMF secrete deal of yore. Owen never disowned the possibility of a secret deal back then,….he challegned Thompson on the IMF secret deal charge by asking him where is the devaluation. Will have to wait and see.

15. This adminstration is devoid of any moral aspect at all it is the most callous , depraved and dishonest bunch ever gathered to form a gov’t.

16. One only has to read the comments coming from B.F.P.E, to see how persons, who are alleged to be followers of the BLP, are
    threatening to burn and murder citizens like Adrian Loveridge.
    ……………………………………………………………………..
    Where are the scientific evidents to link a particular party with these so-called threats.

We only hear one person say it is a BLP operative and everybody jump on the band wagon and the story becomes colourful.

No political party would allow their surporters to be violent when it will have serious long-term repercussion on the party.

17. No political party would allow their surporters to be violent when it will have serious long-term repercussion on the party.

FRANKOLOGY,

You got to be sleeping !

What happened in PAKISTAN yesterday ?

Didn’t the gov’t of PAKISTAN suspend the CONSTITUTION to outlaw the opposition ?

Didn’t Owen Arthur & the BLP tried to SUSPEND the Barbadian constitotion….against the wishes of the OPPOSITION ?

18. wiv if I didnt know better i would guess you are cyberspace Clyde Mascoll. Why you ask? Because the words you used to describe BLP were exactly same words Mascoll used to describe BLP..when he was leader of DLP.

19. Seems like Bell has to get back to the drawing board. The Nation should apologize to the nation for foisting a bogus poll on Barbadians.

20. George Belle is a BLP pimp who allowed the Nation news paper to use him !

Read page 4 of the Nation NEWS PAPER of 24 th December 2007.

Peter Wickham states that the question of LEADERSHIP between Owen Arthur & David Thompon…..it is only 1% that SEPARATES the two of them.

GEORGE BELLE…..AGREED by stating ” that leadership was not the only factor nor was OVERWHELMING in the upcoming poll ”

Yet that pimp allowed the Nation News to publish their POOP without asking for a RETRACTION !

21. Nation news paper to use him !

Read page 4 of the Nation NEWS PAPER of 24 th December 2007.

Peter Wickham states that the question of LEADERSHIP between Owen Arthur & David Thompon…..it is only 1% that SEPARATES the two of them.

GEORGE BELLE…..AGREED by stating ” that leadership was not the only factor nor was OVERWHELMING in the upcoming poll ”

Yet that pimp allowed the Nation News to publish their POOP without asking for a RETRACTION !

22. ” Georgie Porgie // December 28, 2007 at 2:26 pm

Infact WIV we seem to have in the BLP a satanic triumvirate that mimics that in Revelation in the form of THE BEAST THE ANTICHRIST & THE FALSE PROPHET”

You are quite a FOOL.

23. Didn’t Owen Arthur & the BLP tried to SUSPEND the Barbadian constitotion….against the wishes of the OPPOSITION ?
    …………………………………………………………………….
    I surely was sleeping, please enlighten the public of the period it was contemplated.

24. The BLP CROOKS fear that Peter Wickham’s Polls will show the true position of the the BLP and that will hurt them even further.

So they import this boxill jackass to tell them what want to hear. In colusion with BLP card carring member Dr. George Belle they hope to fool the Bajan public.

The DLP needs to come up with a strategy to counter this Propoganda.

Something Owen “fraud” Arthur said after making his deposit at the Treasury that caught my attention. He said that the BLP mechanisms in Barbados and the region were activated.

What mechanism in the region the BLP have activated?

Was he refering to boxill and others and what else?

25. Dion Greenidge is also a member of the BLP.

Does anyone have any more info on her?

26. DION GREENIDGE

dgreenidge@uwichill.edu.bb

27. It is interesting to note that Owen Arthur in the Nation newspaper sought to imply that David Thompson in his call for three public debates among the leaders was in fact also announcing no confidence in his colleagues since he did not seek to include then in any of the debates. This statement alone is proof why the voting public should be wary of what comes out of this man’s mouth. He in his nomination speech went to great effort to try to show how his parents raise him to be honest, however I dear say they failed. In the last two elections was not the campaign slogans for the BLP ” Owen now more the ever”, and ” We goin wid Owen”. Were these not no confidence in your colleagues. As a matter of fact when the date of January 15 was announced for election did the Nation Newspaper not carry an article showing Dugid’s constituency office being plaster with flyers the read “Owen now more than ever”. not even he had the courage to promote himself. THAT SIR IS NO CONFIDENCE.

28. Bajejun,

Get a brain and look for common sense.

29. DON’T LET ANYTHING spoil your Christmas!
    Think as a positive Barbadian and reach for the stars. Change is coming your way. That is our message to the people of Barbados this Christmas, even though thinking Barbadians would be extremely disturbed by the statements made by the Prime Minister last Sunday at his nomination, suggesting that it is his desire to remain in office for life.

While the rabid Barbados Labour Party (BLP) acolytes and How Great Thou Art singers may have lost their ability to reflect on the dangers of this statement, the rest of Barbados has to take the words Arthur used seriously. These statements portend badly for politics in Barbados.
    Arthur’s statement that he is motivated in a special way “never to see the DLP hold the reins of office in this country” has disturbed many Barbadians since the system we practise is a multi-party system. If the Democratic Labour Party or any other political institution is permanently kept from power, this means that Arthur and his outgoing Barbados Labour Party will permanently govern the affairs of this country. How would he and the BLP achieve this?

We have found that Arthur’s statements sound frighteningly similar to those uttered by Forbes Burhnam years ago. These statements are particularly distressing in the context of a government which only last month attempted to impose legislation that would have tinkered with the constitutional protection guaranteed to civil servants and, moreover, is committed to the pursuit of a republic here.

Arthur’s obvious obsession with the retention of power is in many ways what we have been talking about for some time now and is exacerbated by the fact that his stated reason for wanting to hold office is a desire to keep the DLP away from office. This is an admission that there is no good reason to re-elect him. Clearly, he recognises that his record is poor and does not warrant re-election, hence he now tries to scare the people of Barbados into believing that the DLP is the problem, in the hope that he will be given a fourth term.

These statements reveal much about Arthur’s strategy which, for the last 13 years, has distracted the population by focusing excessively on the DLP, while he and his BLP have been mismanaging this country with alarming consequences. [For example], $750 million in cost over-runs, the deterioration of our public services, the treatment of the poor, the failure to solve little problems while focusing on the needs of the BLP’s supporters.

The DLP has previously and successfully managed the affairs of this country and we are now once more ready to resume this role. Our leadership is clearly now more critical if we are to save Barbados from these BLP power-hungry fanatics who are concerned only with power and not with our national development.

As we offer ourselves, we do so with full regard and respect for the principles of democracy which inevitably will work both for and against political parties from time to time. The DLP has experienced the best of times as well as political adversity. However, we have always respected the wishes of the electorate and will never seek to impose ourselves on the people of Barbados for longer than the people of Barbados desire our leadership. The Prime Minister would do well to remember that he was elected by the people of Barbados and that Barbados does not belong to him or the Barbados Labour Party.

30. Jerome Hinds,

Desperation Lies and Propaganda.

If you want to help the DLP, you would make a good start by shutting up. Or better yet use your services for the BLP.

I would NEVER vote for any party which you support.

Do you thinks Bajans are idiots, you clown?

31. WHAT A CARING LEADER

Caring Leaders continuously talk with those who they lead. Caring leaders don’t forsake their people, throw them to the wolves and then come back to them almost a year later because they need these same people to help them with their political survival.

Where was Prime Minister Owen Arthur since his budget presentation of March 2007 ??? Where was his voice when we needed him most ?? When others were saying that something needed to and could be done about the high cost of living, where was he ???

Where was his voice regarding:

The calls for Transparency and Accountability
    The Government’s Provision and Ensuring of Affordable Land and Housing for Citizens
    The QEH MESS and General problems in provision of Health Care
    The Declining Behaviour and Attitudes in our School System
    The Decline in the achievement of CXC certification among boys
    The Expansion of the drug culture and the brazen public drug use seen among our youth
    The Road Horrors experienced by our motorists
    The Public Transport Problems and BAD ‘ON ROAD’ behaviour of Private PSV workers
    The Serious Problems with Poverty that Dame Olga Spoke about on 19th Dec 2007
    The Need for Vendors to be adequately accommodated and located
    The Demise of the Small Used Car Businesses
    The failings of CWC World Cup despite its’ high cost and many unfulfilled promises
    The Hardwood Issue
    The High Costs Overruns of Government
    The Allegations about Contract Builders like Veco (prison) and 3 S’s (ABC highway)

Suddenly as the election was drawing near, he tries to give a little ease here and there with some food items and the light bill costs, after saying that the DLP’s idea of selective price control could not work He now wants to talk with us at Town Hall Meetings.

MAYBE HE WAS TOO BUSY PUTTING TOGETHER HIS GRAND PLAN TO ENSURE HIS 16TH DEC 2007 PUBLICLY STATED DESIRE, “TO NEVER AGAIN SEE THE DLP HOLD THE REINS OF OFFICE IN THIS LAND”

WHAT A THREAT TO OUR DEMOCRACY !!! NO WONDER HE HARASSES AND CURSES THOSE WHO PUBLICLY OPPOSE HIM OR HIS GOVERNMENT.

ERIC GAIRY OR FORBES BURNHAM COULD NOT HAVE SAID IT ANY BETTER

32. Wishing in Vain,

Another desperate DLP loser.

33. Jones: PM and party desperate

The DLP Christ Church team – (from left) Ronald Jones (Christ Church East Central), Taan Abed (Christ Church West), Stephen Lashley (Christ Church West Central), Dennis Lowe (Christ Church East) and John Boyce (Christ Church South) heading into the Treasury Building to pay their mandatory $250 deposit.

THE POLITICS OF DESPERATION is the last resort of Prime Minister Owen Arthur and his party, says Democratic Labour Party (DLP) candidate for Christ Church East Central, Ronald Jones.

He made the comment yesterday on behalf of the DLP Christ Church team – Taan Abed (Christ Church West), Stephen Lashley (Christ Church West Central), John Boyce (Christ Church South) and Dennis Lowe (Christ Church East) – who all arrived an hour after party leader David Thompson to pay their $250 deposits at the Treasury Building, The City.

“One recognises the nature of propaganda, particularly negative propaganda that we are dealing with, but the Barbadian community is one that understands that the Prime Minister has to demonstrate that type of behaviour at this time. It is almost akin to the politics of desperation, and when you are desperate you say and you do anything,” he said.

He gave an assurance that the Christ Church team would “romp to victory” because the people of Barbados were demanding change.

Meanwhile, Lashley said this election was “crucial because we have for the first time in our history a prime minister who is willing to discard all opposition forces”.

“Anytime you have in a country a prime minister who is bold enough to say that he wants to have a sole-party-state, then every Barbadian must become concerned.

“And I have rededicated myself to this campaign even more since the Prime Minister was bold enough to reach out to Barbadians and make such an absurd statement,” he added.

Lowe said they were dedicated to fight for a Barbados that belonged to the people: “Whether it is a house, a piece of land, appropriate job opportunities, opportunities to raise their families in peaceful and safe communities, whatever the case might be, we as a team are committed to ensuring that the message [gets] to the people.”

34. Wishing in Vain & Bajejun

I notice that you advance reasonable and well articulated arguments indicating why you think the populace should demit the BLP from office.

I notice also that you have done so with decorum, decency and without denigrating anyone.

Perhaps you took the time, and made the effort to benefit from the free education.

One wonders why your BLP detractors with nothing to say in thier defense even bother to respond. Their insulting remarks are no rebuttal to your remarks at all. It seems that your opposers dropped out of school and ENGLISH CLASSES.

35. Bagejun wrote
    It is interesting to note that Owen Arthur in the Nation newspaper sought to imply that David Thompson in his call for three public debates among the leaders was in fact also announcing no confidence in his colleagues since he did not seek to include then in any of the debates. This statement alone is proof why the voting public should be wary of what comes out of this man’s mouth. He in his nomination speech went to great effort to try to show how his parents raise him to be honest, however I dear say they failed. In the last two elections was not the campaign slogans for the BLP ” Owen now more the ever”, and ” We goin wid Owen”. Were these not no confidence in your colleagues. As a matter of fact when the date of January 15 was announced for election did the Nation Newspaper not carry an article showing Dugid’s constituency office being plaster with flyers the read “Owen now more than ever”. not even he had the courage to promote himself. THAT SIR IS NO CONFIDENCE.

I noticed the same in his so called vision video, and thought that his response was an obvious nonsequitur.

It is noteworthy that Thompson sought debate on specified topics, upon which he clearly has something pertinent and powerful to propagate. The PM with a tired brain, is not quite up to the cut and thrust of debating Thompson on these matters. Consequently he must dismiss Thompson’s request and spout his own bovine excrement.

Since the BLP insists that the DLP has no leadership and that Thompson is a poor leader, Owen should have jumped at the opportunity to demolish Thompson once for all, and gather the spoils all for him self as he desires. By backing down and runny away like a dog wounded by a well placed stone, Arthur indicates that he is not as sure as he suggests. Or, maybe he is afraid that there is some damaging truth that Thompson might reveal in such a debate that might have him so much on the backfoot that he gets out hit wicket (or as we used to say as children “cut down.”

Surely it is true, as it is written THE GUILTY FLEE WHEN NO MAN PURSUETH.

36. There is a breaking development that will stun may of you.

The details will follow shortly, but it is not a healthy sign it is actually a very disturbing action.

More will follow later as soon as I have the documents in hand.

37. If there was any doubt about our freedom and our DEMOCRACY it is now a proven fact that it is under sever threat.

MORE TO FOLLOW BUT IT IS NOT GOOD NEWS!!!

38. Anonymous // December 29, 2007 at 9:17 am

Jerome Hinds,

Desperation Lies and Propaganda.

If you want to help the DLP, you would make a good start by shutting up. Or better yet use your services for the BLP.

I would NEVER vote for any party which you support.

Do you thinks Bajans are idiots, you clown?

You wait for the TREMOR on the 16th of Jan, 2008 !

39. WIV what are you talking about? who got arrested? or beat up or what ever it is you are hinting at? give us what you have and stop acting like the mainstream media.

40. WHAT A CARING LEADER // December 29, 2007 at 11:13 am

stun many of you

WHAT A SNARING LEADER…..in OWEN ARTHUR !

41. I will but I am awaiting the hard facts in black and white.
    It will explain how and why out DEMOCRATIC RIGHTS ARE UNDER ATTACK.

42. If something has occurred then it has become a fact. You can state that now, and when the facts of who “done it” are available you can come back and add the additional facts. Is this to do with the shooting death of Kenrick Hutson? I just heard Sleepy Smith talking about him, was he a known DLP supporter member?

43. DE BUMBLE BEE // December 29, 2007 at 4:53 pm

Barbadians are still waiting on our LEADER Owen Arthur to condemn the killing of the opposition leader in Pakistan !

Or it because that a COMMONWEALTH country should not have an opposition party….EVER AGAIN ?

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161256458

44. DE BUMBLE BEE // December 29, 2007 at 4:53 pm

Barbadians are still waiting on our LEADER Owen Arthur to condemn the killing of the opposition leader in Pakistan !

Or it because that a COMMONWEALTH country should not have an opposition party….EVER AGAIN ?

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161256458

45. No It has everything to do with the abuse of PRIME MINISTERIAL POWER and the reach this POWER has into the regular MEDIA.

I will deliver to you the facts pertaining to this event but I am awaiting the required documents.

It really is a very sad day in the live of Barbados when the abuse of POWER can and is taken to the extreme as it has been taken in this manipulation of the freedom of the press, freedom of speech, freedom of association.

We are dealing with a CABINET and in PARTICULAR A PRIME MINISTER who is bent on POWER to continue to carry out his illegal actions against honest BARBADIANS, bent on not having an OPPOSITION to OPPOSE his activity and his dishonest actions.

WE BETTER WAKE UP AND TAKE A STANCE BEFORE ALL IS LOST THIS IS A SERIOUS TIME IN THE LIFE OF THIS NATION, NEVER BEFORE HAS CORRUPTION BEEN SO EXPOSED, NEVER BEFORE HAVE WE EVER HAD A PRIME MINISTER SO INTENT ON ERADICATING THE LOYAL OPPOSITION FOR HIS DISHONEST MEANS.

46. Loyal opposition????? what is this? WIV i am not trying to be difficult, but at the sametime it is important to fully understand and appreciate your system of governance.

I have heard talk about “One party state” and while i share others concerns about the PM’s comment and i do so as far as elections and need for a vibrant multiparty system, as oppose to our two party system. The reality is that a One party state cannot occur in Barbados and be legally recognize as such. The constitution does not and cannot recognize such an occurance, even if in the minds of the populace such an event had occurred.

The Constitution recognize a Leader of the Opposition. It can’t both recognize the opposition’s leader and a one party state.

The Constitution DOES NOT recognize political parties neither does the parliament of Barbados.

What you can end up with, should one party win all contested seats is the nakedness, inefficient, and undemocratic mixed government system that pretends otherwise.
    Just as the mockery of a MP who is a Loyal member of the winning political party is suppose to put off his partisan nature on assuming the office of Speaker and presiding officer of the house,….you can end up with the constitutionally recognize office of the Leader of the opposition being giving to any member of parliament, in spite of his political party offiliations,….so that the charade of governance and accountability can continue.

The Leader of the opposition as does the Speaker of the house, and the Prime Minister are offices of the parliament first and foremost. So they cannot ever be a legally recognize One party state, and people should stop referring to the Prime Minister as the Leader of Barbados, We did not elect or in anyway choose such a person. Thats why i have in my mind invalidate all this talk about Who shall lead us, and who is the better leader etc. It is all nonsense.

47. WhoDecides?

If as Mia Mottley correctly states, that the parliamentary team of the ruling political party chooses the Prime Minister and Leader of the country, and that a single constituentcy must validate this choice by first nominating this person to be their representative to parliament, why are we being encouraged to view this election and to make a choice of whom to give our vote too on the opinion of who is best suited to lead the country? WE THE PEOPLE HAVE NO SAY IN THIS BY WAY OF OUR VOTE. WE CAN ONLY VOTE FOR A REPRESENTATIVE NOT A LEADER.

48. I notice that you advance reasonable and well articulated arguments indicating why you think the populace should demit the BLP from office.

I notice also that you have done so with decorum, decency and without denigrating anyone.
    ………………………………………………………………..
    Oh Georgie Porgie, please forget the dramatics. You are trying to make out a case for your mentioned writers who are strong supporters of the Dems. as you may realised, out of ten commenters, you will find 8 being Dems, and the comments are inter-related as though information is coming from the same room.

This public relation behaviour is wukkin’ with every press statement made by the Dems being published within the blogs, I must compliment each and everyone of you for your professional PR tactics. Probably, we will see the entire manifesto on this site.

I know that the ruling party have no intention in pursuing Integrity Legislation at this time, but we were informed by the Leader of the Opposition that prior to elections, he would ensure every candidate produce financial statements. We await confirmation on Nomination Day.

49. Frankology

I am not being dramatic at all.
    I am just accustomed to posting on a highly moderated forum for professionals, where bad language and insults are not permitted.

Your comments that 8/10 posters are strong DLP supporters is indicative perhaps of their persuasion that this is a crucial time- and one for change.

Your comment that these posters are so inter-related as to suggest that they are coming from the same room is a non sequitur, and false. As it is I am posting from the city in FL where they worship the Mouse.

I am not a member of the DLP, nor do I know their inner workings.

I do know, however, that I was personally mistreated by the BLP, and I will now use all my abilities with a view to dethroning these folk without abusing others on this forum.

Objections, and comments such as you have made, serve only to reinforce my commitment to this purpose.