Barbadians living abroad can use this space to share experiences, search for news about what is happening on the Rock.

The blogmaster welcomes you!

2,189 responses to “Diaspora Corner”

1. niceness

2. Research.

3. This could be good for Tourism.

4. de good ole days for me.

5. NorthernObserver Avatar

oh Métis?

6. ” Ms. Wills is Red River Métis. She holds a Master of Science in Sustainable Development from the University of Sussex, and a Bachelor of Commerce “

7. Female bass player crushing it.

8. NorthernObserver Avatar

Good.
    One of the challenges Canada has always had, is immigration is Federal, but once on Canadian soil, the new immigrant is free to move around
    Then it becomes a provincial challenge.
    And immigrants tend to go to areas where there are others like themselves, where there are communities that speak their language etc.
    The good side of the massive numbers Canada admitted in ’21 & ’22, is it forced immigrants to look beyond the normal comfort zones, which were generally the big cities.
    Northern NB as an example was white and indigenous incl Metis. Recently, and it’s easy to SEE, a large black population is emerging, a combo of Haitians and French speaking Africans. They speak their language, and the cost of living is waaay lower than the big cities. The schools are French.
    Other than skin tone, they are also recognizable because they don’t yet speak English. 95% of that area is bilingual.
    The downside of recent immigration, is the services, many of which are provincial, like health and education, did not expand to meet these additional persons. And some of the major cities received an influx they couldn’t handle.
    A slowdown would seem appropriate until services can catch up. The medical school changes you highlighted elsewhere, are EIGHT years away from results? A parallel program to get foreign doctors certified here, is faster and cheaper than alternatives. Pay for their certification and in return tell them where they must work for 4 years.

9. @NO

With the explosion of the Conservative movement in N.America, it is obvious there is an anti immigrant sentiment on the rise.

10. NorthernObserver Avatar

Kindly don’t confuse ‘Trump’ with North America.

11. what the

12. Rip Q,

bought the “Back on the block album” and played it in my car.

13. crushing again.

14. back in my zone.

15. Still my number one.

16. Celebrate.

17. We Gatherin’ momentum

In 2020, COVID-19 cut the Government’s We Gatherin’ celebrations short, but from tomorrow, it will roll out the year-long campaign to convince more Barbadians to return home, again.

Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office with responsibility for Culture, Senator Dr Shantal Munro-Knight, made that revelation during a press conference yesterday to outline Independence celebration activities, at the Ministry of Home Affairs, Wildey, St Michael.

“I am happy to officially announce the start of our We Gatherin’ celebrations from January 2025 for the entire year. We will be standing up the Secretariat for We Gatherin’ on Monday.”

It will be held under the theme: Come ‘Long Home.

“It is really about inviting Barbadians from throughout the diaspora to come ‘long home to celebrate culture, but it’s celebrating all of the significant things that Barbados has been able to achieve.

“As we’ve come out of COVID, we want to be able to give the opportunity for the diaspora and the entire nation to be able to engage in that celebration. I think it’s perhaps fitting that we launch it in November as we are celebrating Independence,” Munro-Knight said.

Senator John King will lead the Secretariat, in collaboration with Senior Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs Kerrie Symmonds, Minister of Tourism Ian Gooding-Edghill, the Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc and the Prime Minister’s Office.

Next year, each parish will be assigned a theme and colour as follows:

• January – St Lucy – Faith (with the colour jade)

• February – St James – Nature (electric blue)

• March – St Peter – Heritage (lime green)

• April – Christ Church – The Sea (orange)

• May – St Andrew – The Arts (forest green)

• June – St Thomas – The Land (cardinal)

• July – St George – Sugar (red)

• August – St John – Community (gold)

• September – St Philip – Cricket (purple)

• October – St Joseph – Adventure (teal)

• November – St Michael – Feteing and Food (white)

• From November 30 to December 31, the celebration will be island-wide under the theme of “Family And Friends” and people are encouraged to wear deep blue.

Although a major part of We Gatherin’ is celebratory, Munro-Knight said they are urging people to give back.

“We’re also encouraging parishes and communities to do philanthropic projects. We want people to get together to repair schools to look at areas within their communities that they can work together on to uplift the communities.

“We want to get back to that Barbadian spirit that was about helping one another and that is essentially a part of what we want to do for We Gatherin’ 2025,” she said.

The minister said elements of the Food and Rum Festival will be carried out throughout the year and they will also be rewarding Barbadians for their efforts through the Star Bajan competition.

“The Star Bajan competition is essentially about finding out who does service best. We know that Barbadians, as much sometimes as we complain, we know that there are Barbadians out there working across multiple areas who do service well and who are excellent at it. We want to be able to showcase and highlight those Barbadians,” she added. (TG)

18. gathering.

19. birthday present ?

20. @Hants

You will be ‘gatherin’?

21. @ David,

I will NOT be “gatherin” because of health problems.

22. Sorry to learn Hants. On behalf of the BU household here is wishing you the very best.

23. Thanks.

24. Guh long home and report to BU when yuh get back.

https://barbados.loopnews.com/content/we-gatherin-2025

25. oh Canada!

26. Funky as funk.

27. Taking a break.

28. Barbados.

29. 81 years old and still sweet.

30. Guyana wants to turn Jonestown into a tourist attraction

GEORGETOWN, Guyana (AP) — Guyana is revisiting a dark history nearly half a century after U.S. Rev. Jim Jones and more than 900 of his followers died in the rural interior of the South American country.

It was the largest suicide-murder in recent history, and a government-backed tour operator wants to open the former commune now shrouded by lush vegetation to visitors, a proposal that is reopening old wounds, with critics saying it would disrespect victims and dig up a sordid past

https://apnews.com/article/guyana-jonestown-tourism-suicide-murder-999815cf150f8a0b04f32b009c6f5641

31. @Sargeant

By any means necessary. If there is an economic opportunity to exploit, why not?

We have heritage sights around the world with a bloodied history?

32. Some of my favourite musicians.

33. Her mostest bestest speaks.

34. Very important information for some.

35. 71 years old and still sweet.

36. 77 years old.