Submitted by Dr. Georgie Porgie
BARBADOS OFFSHORE MEDICAL SCHOOLS, DO WE REALLY NEED THEM?

Elombe Mottley – The Next FIFTY YEARS of PRIDE and INDUSTRY! – may be a progressive thinker to many in Barbados, but in my mind he demonstrates his ignorance as a supreme illiterate in matters of medicine, and medical schools when he suggests that there should be medical schools here…there and everywhere in Barbados.

1. During the years I hung around offshore Medical schools, there are at least two things that I learned.

These schools find it difficult to bring in teachers from overseas because of the COST OF PAYING FOR WORK PERMITS FOR TEACHERS FROM OVERSEAS.

2. Producing the most excellent website, whereupon thy can spew lie upon lie to lure unwary would be students and wannabe doctors to train at these schools.

I would enjoin commenters here to go to the websites of both AUB, and WUB and notice that not only are the websites very poor (suggesting that we are dealing with very poor con artists) but that there are no medical teachers at any of the schools who are Barbadians, and ask why? This at a time where several other offshore schools are now forced to employ locals to teach.

Why is it that WUB (see faculty and staff webpage) have few well qualified teachers listed on their site but yet they list 7 chefs and 7 security guards.

Who is collecting all the money for the WORK PERMITS for these staff members, I wonder?

I would invite you to go to this webpage on the valueMD site and follow the discussion on the thread

new medical school in Barbados in trouble already.

Notice that the valueMD moderator has tried to shut up the poster. Then try to use ctrl and C to try to download anything from this website and note that they have disabled ctrl and C

Then let us start a blog entitled BARBADOS AND OFFSHORE MEDICAL SCHOOLS DO W REALLY NEED THEM? Then let us try to understand and thrash out whether our Government has really sold out our medical education for thirty pieces of silver.

Please also read this thread on valueMD.

WUB website is http://www.wubmed.org/

AUB website is http://www.aubmed.org/

315 responses to “Barbados Medical Schools”

1. As a consequence of the Moyne Commission in 1948, what eventually became the UWI was born. One of the first schools of the UWI at Mona was the Medical School, which has served the 14 contributing countries of the then British West Indies in producing well trained doctors for all these islands. In addition, many of our graduates can be found in the UK, the USA and Canada and are highly respected. Our Medical School is now almost 70 years old.

In 1967 the UWI embarked on a program in which the final year of training could be done in Barbados at the QEH, and also in Trinidad. Ten years later the final two years year of training could be done in Barbados at the QEH, and also in Trinidad.

Some time in the 80’s the UWI Medical school expanded when the Mount Hope Complex came into being in Trinidad. In 2008, the UWI Medical school expanded to Barbados, so that the UWI Medical school is essentially three full medical schools.

This being the case, there is no need for Barbadians or students from the contributing countries to attend offshore medical schools. IN FACT IT IS A DISTINCT DISADVANTAGE TO THEM.

It is noteworthy that students of the three full UWI medical schools do not have to run hither, thither and yon seeking places for their clinical training, as everything as been thought out and provided for them. FOR MOST OF THE OFFSHORE CARRIBEAN SCHOOLS THIS IS A MAJOR PROBLEM TODAY.

Months ago, it was reported in Barbados Today that Dr Raymond Massay had correctly accused Gov’t of selling out the medical profession for ‘30 pieces of silver’, and criticized the increase in the number of offshore medical schools in Barbados, suggesting it was a betrayal of the medical profession here by the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) administration.

Speaking at the oath taking ceremony for the University of the West Indies (UWI) graduating medical class of 2017, he correctly asserted that foreign schools had been welcomed here (at the cost of the) the proverbial “30 pieces of silver”, when

Parliament last year approved the Education in Medicine and other Health Professions Bill, paving the way for more offshore medical schools to join the one already established here.

He correctly blamed the ruling DLP for creating a view of offshore medical schools as an “economic panacea” and for facilitating what he deemed to be a backward medical shift.
    What is very clear is that our great University of the West Indies Medical school and the standards that have been set and received, and which have been tailored to the needs of our Caribbean people, are under constant threat by a new society.

As we go on I will tell you about the inner workings, and deficiencies to be seen in offshore Carribean schools, including the histories and demise of some and the fact that these schools do not care about their students or their host countries.

We will try to show why we dont really need offshore schools in Barbados and point out how these schools have little to offer our country and warn of the obvious corruption that they seek or are already accomplishing in Barbados

2. BU understands the the Barbados government has taken the questionable decision to allow locals to attend the offshore medical schools.

3. @David September 19, 2017 at 12:19 AM “BU understands the the Barbados government has taken the questionable decision to allow locals to attend the offshore medical schools.”

Question: Are any of the children of government ministers, parliamentarians, permanent secretaries, or other senior government officials attending these schools?

If not.

Why not?

4. Free medical attention? So ordinary Barbadians are now guinea pigs under the guise of benevolence. Does this include surgery? What happens when there is medical negligence? Regulation, regulation, regulation.

5. Steupsss…
    Serious as it is, this is the least of our problems. This DLP government (and by not taking strong public stands against these examples of idiocy, the BLP) are systematically destroying this country even more surely that a hurricane could.

What we REALLY need is to have intelligent, forthright, confident assertive people like Dr GP playing a MAJOR role in public life here.

We CANNOT get blood from stone.
    Trying to talk sense into the DLP is like asking a jackass to pass the 11+.
    These are second rate ignoramuses who are there because our brightest and best are not.

6. It is absolutely stupid for any Bajan to attend an offshore school, because on completion of the two years of basic sciences required, such students must first get a visa to allow them to travel to the USA to take Step 1 of the USMLE exam so that they can proceed to the two years of clinical training in the USA.

Whereas a very few of these bogus schools say that they have spots for their clinical training in the UK and India, many of their must find, and set up their own clinical rotations in order to complete their clinical training.

Those of us who have diligently read valuMD over the years have seen the report of several students, who, after doing a 3 month rotation in one US city, must then remove them selves to a another city acros the country for their next rotation. Sometimes it takes several months to acquire the next rotation, and then the next

Why would a Bajan who can get into any of the three UWI schools, where clinical rotations are readily available go to a school where often times, the student must set up their own clinical rotations, and experience so much emotional and other trauma in doing so?

Since St Georges bought all the clinical spots in NY a few years ago, offshore medical schools and their student have been catching hell to find clinical spots known a “green book “rotations, or proper places to train in decent hospitals. Many students must satisfy them selves with “blue book” rotations, which are essentially following doctor around in their private offices.

At the end of their training, these new doctors must then do a residency of 3- 4 years before they can practice medicine fully…………………that is if they can get a residency. DO YOU KNOW HOW MANY OFFSHORE STUDENTS FAIL TO GET A RESIDENCY EVERY YEAR? FEWER AND FEWER.

Why is this? Americans trained at American schools have first pick. Then Americans trained at non American schools have second pick. Then any number can play.

To make matters worse American medical schools are increasing their enrollment of students

Students who attend bogus offshore medical schools{ who mainly come from Africa and INdia these days} really seek to study and work in the USA.

When they learn of all the vagaries pointed out above, it is too late…..much too late.

7. Didn’t know that the Gov’t had given the green light for locals to attend these offshore (shouldn’t that be inshore) schools. What an idiotic decision these schools were established to serve the needs of students in the USA and Canada who couldn’t get into their home Universities. Barbados has a surplus of young doctors scrambling for jobs at QEH or trying to set up a local practice, to put more doctors with dubious training on the streets is political malpractice.

8. When you read of AUB buying the BET complex to set up a hospital, and when you read of AUB promising free medical attention and distributing free medicine you must understand that AUB IS SEEKING TO SET UP CLINICAL ROTATIONS FOR THEIR STUDENTS.

THEY ARE THINKING BIG AND OBVIOUSLY HAVE ACCESS TO BIG MONEY.
    THEY HAVE OBVIOUSLY BROUGHT THIS BIG MONEY TALK TO THE PRIME JACKASSES OF OUR GOVERNMENT, AND THEY HAVE FALLEN FOR IT, HOOK, LINE AND SINKER.

For them to create clinical spots they need a big teaching hospital, where ideally students can easily rotate from one discipline to the next in the same hospital. So they bought or paid down on the BET complex.

Where will they get nurses from? Will they buy out our dwindling supply of this scarce commodity? Will the wild boys in the Fumble Stuart government allow this?

Or will thy import nurses from ????God know where. WOW. WHO WILL BE POCKETING FEES FOR ALL THOSE WORK PERMITS? THE TREASURY? OR BOYCE AND JONES et al?

These are questions that must be asked and answered. The three news papers will not, or unable to bring these issues to the public. The current opposition seems incapable and incompetent. ARE WE REALLY SELLING OUT OUR STANDARD OF MEDICAL EDUCATION FOR 30 PIECES OF SILVER OR A MESS OF POTTAGE?

9. @Sargeant

Yes!

This was expressly stated by Jones as the condition for approval by the prime minister i.e. locals must be allowed to attend if they want to. It makes a mockery of the money being dumped in our medical faculties at Mona and Cave Hill even before we visit the quality of the delivery being prosecuted by GP.

10. @Bush Tea

Do not agree with you. Sometimes to arrive at and be able to address the proximate cause of anything investigating the outcome is important or last mile part of the process.

11. Sargeant raises two significant points here.

He asserts correctly that Barbados has a surplus of young doctors scrambling for jobs at QEH

This is indeed so.

With three UWI schools now, we produce more doctors, but we have no money to even employ them all to allow them to do the required internships to allow them to be allowed to practice in our country.

Sarge need not worry about doctors with dubious training on the streets because I doubt that the Medical council will register them unless they return as Board Certified……………..unless the political directorate can pass laws to over rule the Medical council or make it obsolete and of no effect. God forbid.

12. @ David
    When the FUNDAMENTAL problem is that a monkey has full access to your bank account…. how useful is it to waste the time of a top financial analysis to review why that monkey is spending all your money on bananas?

What GP is saying is obvious and unquestionable.

Why should we be wasting such talent as his analysing the obvious, when GP and people like him should be the ones spending the money in the first place?

13. GP

Good to have you back from your self imposed exile

Re your comments about the “Political Directorate”: Never say never

14. @Bush Tea

The challenge is and always be to get sufficient number of the population onboard to force the directorate to change whether incrementally or in the form of a revolution.

15. What I like to call “The offshore Carribean Medical School Industry” has evolved over the 39 years of its existence in number, quality and design.

In 1978 there were 3 schools, now there are over 10 times that amount.

First there was the University of Dominica started by Robert Ross to accommodate the child of his servant who could not get into a US school. Ross was rich, he didnt seek wealth in starting the school with his name. He turned the running of it to professionals and they made the school a success.

The chap at St Georges is/was a serious competent educator. He has produced a great school.

There was/is UHSA in Antigua started by a Nigerian of allegedly dubious character who sought to invest in hotel in Antigua. It is said that Vere Bird gave the charter he had promised to the chap who made St Georges a success to the “black man.” That Bird made a big mistake is evident. Relatively few have heard of UHSA, which continues to struggle, specially since the hurricane of 1995.

Out of these schools a few teachers came who set up fairly successful schools around the turn of this century. After this the INDIANS HAVE TAKEN OVER AND IT HAS BECOME A NEW BALL GAME.

One Indian owner would take th money from whomsover would who came and declare WE WILL WEED THEM OUT AT STEP 1 EXAM {i.e after he had collected their tuition fees for 6 semesters.

Another Indian owner told me that the USMLE objectives were not suitable a a syllabus for his school. This i despite the fact that his students were preparing for the USMLE exams.

As we approach the 2018 elections THE QUESTION OF TH EXISTENCE OF AUB AND WUB IN BARBADOS MUST BE AIRED PUBLICLY

AUB HA BEEN AROUND INC JANUARY 2012
    HOW MANY STUDENTS HAVE GRADUATED?
    WHAT IS THE STEP 1 AND STEP 2 PASS RATE?
    HOW MANY BAJAN DOCTORS TEACH AT AUB?
    HOW MANY OF THEIR GRADUATING STUDENT HAVE PASSED THE QUALIFYING EXAMS IN THE COUNTRIES THEY ORIGINATED FROM?

16. Where is the regulation? In fact, there should be Caricom-wide regulation.

17. Sargeant September 19, 2017 at 8:36 AM
    RE Re your comments about the “Political Directorate”: Never say never

Your comment is note worthy, because the issue of offshore medical schools is yet another insidious thing that is creeping into our society to dilute and destroy the gains of the last 50 years.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/06/12/its-a-betrayal/

When the article above appeared in the local press, our semi-illiterate people attacked the messenger with out seeking to grasp the message- all except one person. BU READERS SHOULD READ THE ARTICLE AND THE SUBSEQUENT ARGUMENT

We have every reason to be justly proud of our Medical School, and its standards!

I have never seen an EXTERNAL EXAMINER AT ANY EXAM IN ANY OFFSHORE SCHOOL AT WHICH I TAUGHT.

At UWI, however, we were questioned one time in Surgery by no less than, the emminent English surgeon Sir Harold Ellis, who wrote two texts that we read over and over as students. –Clinical Anatomy and Lecture Notes in Surgery. There were other experts with whom we had to do.

We have the tendency to spurn our institutions. WE MUST NOT LET THE WILD BOYS AND IDIOTS LIKE JONES AND BOYCE WHO HAVE BEEN FAILURES THROUGHOUT THEIR LIVES DESTROY OR MDICAL EDUCATION SYSTEM AND OUR HEALTH CARE

18. @ David
    The challenge is and always be to get sufficient number of the population onboard…
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Good luck with that…!!
    …and here Bushie was thinking that you were coming to grips with the true nature of brass bowlery.

Skippa, unless you will be bringing ‘Spragga Benz’, ‘Vybes cartel’, and ‘Merciless’ to champion this cause, …or you plan to have a wuk-up parade with almost naked, half-drunk women wining down the public roads …PLEASE tell Bushie how you plan to influence ‘sufficient number’ of brass bowls…

Our best bet now is for a few capable, intelligent people to step up, step forward, and drive change from the front….

19. r e Where is the regulation? In fact, there should be Caricom-wide regulation.
    The real question is does Caricom really work?

In the matter of the offshore medical school industry, it is certainly a matter of “every chicken fuh he craw!”

In Dominica, after the Guees boats stopped coming for the bananas for sale in the UK, it is said that the offshoot from Ross shored up the Dominican economy. It probably doe the same now in St Kitts, St Lucia and Georgetown. These are the countries where these schools are the most prevalent.

How will you regulate these schools when there is so much graft and greed, and political control or collusion in these schools once the money is passed to the right people.

I remember turning up in Antigua and being admitted on a one way e-airline ticket. When I set down my luggage on the table for examination, a red cap removed it and told me to come with him. I later learned that at night he drove the owner of the school, at which I went to teach (called the Chairman) on his nightly escapades. What was clear is that the immigration and customs officers and the red cap man were all in the employ of the Chairman.

20. In January of this year a news paper reporter in Guyana wrote articles about students from Texila Medical school in Guyana, who on completion of their studies there could not pas the required exams in India or Nigeria or the UAE,from whence they came and wher they sought to practice.

Apparently the students involved were the offspring of high ranking officials in these countries. In order to hush up the scandal the articles were deleted from the online paper as this caused a hoo ha in Georgetown as Government officials apparently govern the Georgetown medical schools.

The question worth consideration is HOW MUCH DOES LOCAL GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS GOVERN AUB and WUB? Will it be any different under a contemporary BLP government?

Makes me wonder now why in January 2002 the entire cabinet of the St Kitts Government sat around a dinner table at Ocean Terrace Inner with the Directors of IUHS and its meagre teaching staff.

21. Where is the regulation?

The article that Hants indicates that the Canadians have strict regulations.Perhaps too strict. They dont allow any and every foreign medical graduate to practice in their country, although they do accept graduates from the UWI medical school.

The Americans are less strict. Once you can pass the USMLE exams and get into and get through a residency program, they will accept you.

However,as they increase enrollment in their schools and residencies for foreign medical graduates become more difficult to come by MANY OF THOSE COMING FROM INDIA AND AFRICA etc wILL SUFFER MUCH LOSS.

ARE WE AIDING AND ABETTING SUCH A SCAM IN BARBADOS?

22. RE This DLP government (and by not taking strong public stands against these examples of idiocy, the BLP) are systematically destroying this country even more surely that a hurricane could.

Many times throughout my life time I have feared that a hurricane would wipe the Barbados I grew up in all away. It would have been better if we had such a hurricane, as we would have no doubt be able to recover and rebuild.

BUT ALAS, MY FEAR IS THAT WE WILL NOT RECOVER FROM THE DESTRUCTION CAUSED BY OUR INEFFECTIVE LEADERS.

23. Copied this from https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/08/26/offshore-medical-school-accused-of-poaching-students/

lswiltshireAugust 26, 2017 at 4:41 pm

why does ryan gilkes not research questions such as
    AUB STARTED IN 2012
    1 how many AUB students have passed USMLE STEP ONE OR STEP TWO EXAMS? WHAT IS THE PERCENTAGE PASS RATES?
    2 HOW MANY STUDENTS ARE IN RESIDENCIES IN US AUB STARTED IN 2012
    3 HOW MANY BARBADIAN DRS ARE TEACHING AT AUB? AFTER ALL AUB DOES NOT HAVE TO SECURE WORK PERMITS FOR BARBADIAN DRS TO WORK IN BARBADOS
    4 IF THEY ARE NOT EMPLOYING BARBADIAN DRS TO TEACH AT AUB WHY IS THIS?
    5 HOW MANY BARBADIAN DRS HAVE APPLIED TO TEACH AT AUB?
    THE SAME QUESTIONS CAN BE ASKED FOR THE OTHER BOGUS SCHOOL

Ian HaynesAugust 27, 2017 at 8:56 am
    The questions asked are very relevant. In addition, AUB should say whether or not they sent individuals to Trinidad and Tobago and other Caribbean Medical schools to porch students.
    AUB is profit driven, Gary makes no bones about that. Yes he is prepared to grease palms to get what he wants, and he makes says it openly. Let him say which law firm does his paper work and who are the attorneys!
    Let him say what is the vast difference in salaries paid to Indian and non-Indian lecturers. Tell him to explain and justify giving $200.00 increases to non-Indians and giving an Indian without medical credentials $1000.00 increase in the same week.
    One must remember that AUB just invested mega bucks to purchase the new facility in Wildey, so they want to recoup even faster than possible.

24. @Bush Tea September 19, 2017 at 7:37 AM “These are second rate ignoramuses.”

Second rate?

Lolll!!!

Some people (not me) might say third rate.

25. Why would UWI trained surgeon, Mr C Warner, of Bayview Hospital, allow his son to enroll at the American University of Barbados? This was reported in the press.

26. Maybe lack of suitable entry qualifications. If he had he would have been sent to Harvard or Oxford or some world-class medical school.

27. SINCE DAVID HAS GRANTED THE SPACE FOR DISCUSSION ON THIS IMPORTANT TOPIC THAT SHOULD BE OF GREAT IMPORTANCE TO OUR SOCIETY, I WILL TRY TO PUT ON THIS PAGE ALL OF THE WILLY NILLY SLAP DASH REPORTS IN THE POOR LOCAL PRESS AND THE WORTHWHILE COMMENT THEREON.

BU MEMBER SHOULD MAKE THE CONDENSED INFO ON THIS PAGE WHO NED IT TO MAKE DECISION ESPECIALLY WITH ELECTION APPROACHING

on June 19, 2016 THE ARTICLE BELOW APPEARED IN BARBADOS TODAY UNDER THE HEADING . Offshore solution for medical internship

Government may be turning to offshore medical schools on the island to remedy the problem of providing internships for the large number of medical students graduating from the University of the West Indies (UWI).

Minister of Health John Boyce has disclosed that talks would be held tomorrow with the Barbados Medical Council and other key organizations on the possible training of interns at medical schools.

Addressing a function hosted by the Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners and the UWI to welcome the 2016 batch of graduating doctors at the Concorde Experience last night, Boyce admitted, “One of the challenges recently confronting the Ministry of Health is an increasing demand that outstrips the placements for new interns.

“We’ve had unfortunately to leave interns out over the last couple of years out of the persons who have graduated with their MBBS [Bachelors in medicine or surgery], and this is an unfortunate circumstance, which I know as a Government and I believe as a Minister we must correct.

“It is our aim to work with these stakeholders, come Monday morning, and try to correct this situation.

Boyce noted with concern that some UWI 2014 graduates had threatened to take legal action last year to secure internships at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital.

However, he was hopeful that a solution was in sight, revealing that Barbados had been approached by at least five offshore medical schools seeking to locate and develop training for undergraduates in the field of medicine over the last five years.

Boyce assured that any action taken would be in the best interest of the students and the country.
    “Any system developed must be based on collaboration with the Ministry of Education, respect for our national laws and allow both nationals and non- nationals alike the opportunity to fulfill their internships”.

I have known John Boyce since 1963. My opinion of him as a top drawer jackass has not diminished over this period of time. He continues to demonstrate that he is one of the biggest idiots that went through HC,

Why would Government consider turning to offshore medical schools on the island to remedy the problem of providing internships for the large number of medical students graduating from the University of the West Indies (UWI)?
    How can offshore medical schools on the island solve this problem by bringing more medical students to be trained in our small facility? How?

Why would the Barbados Medical Council and other key organizations like BAMP even waste good time to meet with John Boyce about offshore schools assisting in the training of interns at QEH, WHEN THIS HAS SUCESSFULLY BEEN DONE AT QEH SINCE 1967

When Boyce posit that ” at least five offshore medical schools seeking to locate and develop training for undergraduates in the field of medicine over the last five years” does he not sound like a top of the line fool? DOE NOT THE FOOL SEE THAT THE FIVE MEDICAL SCHOOLS ARE SEEKING POT FOR CLINICAL ROTATION FOR THEIR STUDENTS?

WHY DOE HE NOT ASK HIS BROTHER, JAMES TO EXPLAIN THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN TRAINING UNDERGRADUATE MED STUDENT AND TRAINING INTERNS?

here is the feedback to Boyce”s bovine excrement from the pages of Barbados Today

lswiltshireJune 19, 2016 at 3:30 pm
    WILL THE OFFSHORE SCHOOLS PAY THE SALARIES OF THE INTERNS WHO CAN NOT GET A JOB, BECAUSE OUR INCOMPETENT GOVERNMENT IS INVOLVED IN TRAINING MORE MEDICAL STUDENTS THAN THERE ARE PLACES FOR THEM TO DO THEIR INTERNSHIP ON GRADUATION.?

MOST BOGUS OFFSHORE SCHOOLS CAN NOT NOW FIND PLACES FOR THEIR STUDENTS TO EVEN DO THEIR CLINICAL ROTATIONS, AND THEY WILL FIND INTERNSHIPS “for the large number of medical students graduating from the University of the West Indies (UWI)?. REALLY?

lswiltshireJune 19, 2016 at 3:32 pm
    ARE THE OFFSHORE SCHOOLS PAYING BARBADOSTODAY TO PRINT THIS NONSENSE NOT KNOWING THAT THERE IS AT LEAST ONE PERSON IN BARBADOS WILLING TO TELL THE PEOPLE THE TRUTH THAT OFFSHORE SCHOOLS ARE JUST PARASITES?

lswiltshireJune 19, 2016 at 4:52 pm
    THOSE WHO WANT TO READ A PROPER RESPONSE TO THIS NONSENCE BY JOHN BOYCE SHOULD GO TO
    https://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/medical-corner/comment-page-3/#comment-688399
    AND READ WHAT GEORGIE PORGIE SAYS

lswiltshireJune 20, 2016 at 11:57 am
    IF GOVERNMENT ALLOWS THE UWI TO ADMIT 40 BAJANS THEY OUGHT TO BE ABLE TO OFFER AN INTERN SPOT FOR EACH OF THE GRADUATES
    WHAT EVER GOVERNMENT DOES IN THIS REGARD IS A MATTER FOR EDUCATION AND HEALTH DEPARTMENTS. IT IS NOT THE BUSINESS OF BOGUS OFFSHORE MEDICAL SCHOOLS

WE HAVE OUR SYSTEM OF TRAINING OUR PEOPLE UP TO MBBS AND PROVIDING INTERNSHIPS FOR THEM. THIS HAS WORKED REASONABLY WELL UNTIL RECENT TIMES WHEN WE TRAIN AN EXCESS OF STUDENTS

THE BOGUS MEDICAL SCHOOLS IN THE ISLANDS BRING STUDENTS TO THE ISLANDS FOR TWO YEARS TO DO THE BASIC SCIENCE PHASE OF THEIR TRAINING

THESE STUDENTS THEN RETURN TO THE USA TO DO THe USMLE STEP 1 EXAM.
    IF THEY PASS THIS EXAM THE STUDENTS ARE ALLOWED TO DO THEIR CLINICAL ROTATIONS IN THE USA IF THEY CAN FIND HOSPITALS THAT WILL ACCEPT THEIR STUDENTS

THE PROBLEM——-WHICH IS ESCALATING- IS THAT THESE BOGUS OFFSHORE MEDICAL SCHOOLS ARE FINDING IT MORE AND MORE DIFFICULT TO FIND CLINICAL SPOTS FOR THEIR STUDENTS. THIS INCLUDES THE BOGUS SCHOOL IN SILVER SANDS

THIS MEAN THAT IT IS MORE DIFFICULT FOR THEIR STUDENTS TO GET THEIR CLINICAL TRAINING AND BECOME DOCTORS.

THIS DOES NOT EVEN TAKE INTO CONSIDERATION THAT THEY ARE UNABLE TO GET A RESIDENCY– THE FINAL STAGE IN THEIR TRAINING

HOW ON EARTH CAN BOGUS OFFSHORE SCHOOLS TRAIN OUR STUDENTS TO BE INTERNS?WHERE WILL THEY DO THIS? BOGUS OFFSHORE SCHOOLS DO NOT OWN HOSPITALS ANY WHERE?

SINCE WE DONT HAVE ROOM FOR OUR INTERNS HOW WILL THEY TRAIN OUR STUDENTS IN OUR HOSPITAL?
    THE BEST THEY CAN DO IS PAY THE SALARIES OF OUR INTERNS SO THAT QEH CAN CREATE MORE SPOTS FOR OUR INTERNS.

BUT WE CANT LET THEM GET INVOLVED OR COMPROMISE OUR TRAINING PROGRAMS BECAUSE OUR SYSTEM IS DIFFERENT

28. @Georgie Porgie September 19, 2017 at 10:36 AM “I have feared that a hurricane would wipe the Barbados I grew up in all away. It would have been better if we had such a hurricane.”

Such a hurricane can still happen. in fact statistically such a hurricane will likely happen in your lifetime.

But if such a hurricane had happened or if it happens next week or next month, or next year it will NOT be better. People such as yourself with an excellent education and decades of professional experience can escape to the great white north and rebuild there.

But what about those 60,000 thousand Bajans who are aged between 0 and 17? What about the elders? What about the poor? What about the sick? What about those who are poor and old and sick but whose labour and whose taxes helped to pay for your education? What harm has those elders who sweated in the canefields and the construction sites ever done and what about your elders those who MADE the Barbados you grew up in? What harm have these PEOPLE ever done to you?

Understandably you like many others are angry about the failings of various political parties.

But why wish hell on tens of thousands of innocent people, for example what harm has the 30% of the population aged between 0 and 17 every done? What harm have they ever done to you?

As a Christian man and as scholar surely you know better.

29. @Hal Austin September 19, 2017 at 1:45 PM “Maybe lack of suitable entry qualifications. If he had he would have been sent to Harvard or Oxford or some world-class medical school.

Oh please hal.

99.999% of the doctors in the world are NOT trained at Harvard or Oxford. Have you yourself ever received any medical attention from a Harvard or Oxford MD?

30. Why would UWI trained surgeon, Mr C Warner, of Bayview Hospital, allow his son to enroll at the American University of Barbados? This was reported in the press.

Hal Austin September 19, 2017 at 1:45 PM “MAYBE lack of suitable entry qualifications. If he had he would have been sent to Harvard or Oxford or some world-class medical school.

31. Get thee behind me SATAN.

It is for this reason that I have refused to post on BU for almost a year.

To do SO is to have to constantly deal with moronic mouthings from folk such as you.

I understand that you have nothing sensible to say about the topic under discussion. Why not keep quiet then?

Any ii plus student can correctly interpret what I was saying.

I will say it again- perhaps a little more clearer. AND I WILL NOT RECANT FROM MY POSITION.

THE DESTRUCTION CAUSED BY THE DLP IN THE LAST 10 YEARS IS IN MY OPINION FAR WORSE THAN ANY HURRICANE.

THE DEVASTATION CAUSED BY A HURRICANE IS SUDDEN AND QUICK………..BUT ONE CAN RECOVER THEREFROM, AS WE ARE CURRENTLY DOING HERE IN FLORIDA POST IRMA.

BUT IT IS DOUBTFUL THAT BARBADOS CAN RECOVER FROM THE MORASS CAUSED BY THE DLP OVER TH LAST TEN YEAR WHICH HAS BEEN
    SLOW……. DELIBERATE….DEVIOUS…..

32. Information circulating is that all students at Ross Medical School in Dominica are accounted for based on last roll call.

33. Just as i expected one of the bogus offshore schools from hurricane ravaged St Marten has relocated to Barbados.

The stupid idiots in our cash trapped government is now listening to their shit talk about providing Room for interns, and our ignorant local journalists lap up the shit a reportd in todays NATION THUS …………..

A solution to the shortage of space for interns at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) has been handed to the Barbados Government.

It was given by Milo Pinckney, managing director of the American University Integrated Sciences (AUIS) School of Medicine, which recently relocated its facility for Basic Sciences from St Maarten to 5th Avenue, Belleville, St Michael. He was speaking at a ribbon-cutting and white coat ceremony on Saturday evening.

Details of the offer were still being worked out, but Pinckney disclosed that 30 doctors from any local medical facility would be offered internship placements in the AUIS network of facilities.

“Students at any one of the medical schools, after they complete their basic science programme, go into two years of clinical rotations. And these are hands-on observerships, where they are in teaching hospitals throughout the United States and they study the various disciplines. Six cores and then they do a series of weeks of electives, in total 80 weeks of clinical rotations.

THIS IS CONCENTRATED BULL SHIT AS THIS HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH OUR SYSTEM OF MEDICAL EDUCATION

THE PERSONS WHO THE BARBADOS GOVERNMENT CAN NOT AFFORD TO EMPLOY ARE DOCTORS! THEY HAVE DONE THE BASIC SCIENCES AND COMPLETED ALL OF THEIR CLINICAL ROTATIONS.

THE PERSONS WHO THE BARBADOS GOVERNMENT CAN NOT AFFORD TO EMPLOY ARE NOT SEEKING TO go ” into two years of clinical rotations. ….WITH hands-on observerships, where they are in teaching hospitals throughout the United States”

THE PERSONS WHO THE BARBADOS GOVERNMENT CAN NOT AFFORD TO EMPLOY HAVE DONE ALL THIS

WHY DOES NOT THE CASH STRAPPED BARBADOS GOVERNMENT ASK BOGUS MEDICAL SCHOOLS SEEKING TO PRACTICE THEIR PARASITISM IN BARBADOS TO PAY THE SALARIES OF THE UWI TRAINED DOCTORS SEEKING TO DO THEIR COMPULSORY INTERNSHIP?

WHY DOES NOT THE CASH STRAPPED BARBADOS GOVERNMENT ASK BOGUS MEDICAL SCHOOLS SEEKING TO PRACTICE THEIR PARASITISM IN BARBADOS TO EMPLOY BARBADIANS TO TEACH IN THEIR BASIC SCIENCE PROGRAMS?

CAN SOME ONE SCAN AND POST the full story in today’s Daily Nation?

IT IS AMAZING TO READ THAT THE MORONS IN THE BARBADOS GOVERNMENT DO NOT KNOW OR CAN NOT UNDERSTAND THAT THE US SYSTEM AND THE SYSTEM EMPLOYED BY BOGUS OFFHORE MEDICAL SCHOOLS DIFFER FROM THE SYSTEM INHERITED FROM THE BRITS THAT UWI HAS USED SUCCESFULLY FOR OVER 70 YEARS TO TRAIN OUR DOCTORS

IT IS AMAZING TO READ THAT THE MORONS IN THE BARBADOS GOVERNMENT DO NOT KNOW OR CAN NOT UNDERSTAND THAT he American University Integrated Sciences (AUIS) School of Medicine IS LESS THAN TWO YEARS OLD

34. YOU JUST CANT GO AND DO AN INTERNSHIP IN THE USA SO

YOU NEED TO GET A VISA
    YOU NEED TO DO THE USMLE STEP EXAMS AND BE ACCEPTED INTO A RESIDENCY PROGRAM

HOW DOES THE MORONS IN THE BARBADOS GOVERNMENT KNOW THAT THESE PARASITIC SNAKES WILL OR CAN KEEP THEIR PROMISES?

HAS EVERYONE IN THE BARBADOS GOVERNMENT LOST THEIR MARBLES AND SNS OF PROPORTION?

IS GRABBING FOR MONEY THE ZENITH OF THEIR ASPIRATIONS?

HAS BARBADOS TOTALLY GONE TO THE DOGS?

IS BAMP THE MEDICAL COUNCIL OF BARBADOS AND THE UWI MEDICAL SCHOOL FOLK INVOLVED IN ANY OF THEE FALSE PROMISES?

35. Are US medical qualifications recognised in Barbados? Are Cuban, traditional Chinese and EU medical qualifications recognised in Barbados?

36. WHAT DOES THAT HAVE TO DO WITH THE PRICE OF CHEESE?
    YOU ARE OFF TOPIC

THE ISSUE HERE IS ABOUT THE CONTINUAL CONSISTENT ENCROACHMENT OF PARASITIC BUSYNESS MEN INTO THE WELL ESTABLISHED MEDICAL INSTITUTIONS IN BARBADOS

THEY ARE SEEKING TO DICTATE TO THE MORON IN GOVERNMENT, WHO JUST GRAB FOR MONEY BUT ARE UNABLE TO MAKE A DEAL TO FULFILL OUR NEEDS

THE AMERICANS CAN NOT RUN THEIR OWN HEALTH SYSTEM
    HOW ON EARTH WILL THEY RUN OURS?

37. reposted from valuemd

Q. What is Required to Open a new Medical School
    Any one have any insight on the guidelines for opening up an off shore medical school and what country would be most hospitable for doing so (i.e., least beurocratic impediments? What is required to gain WHO acreddidation?

Any ideas where to find some written information on this? Any info is helpful.

A. 1 find an island where the government is cash strapped and is looking for long term “tourists”
    2 set up a good website and offer great education—even if you know you never plan to deliver or dont know how to do so
    3 pass the required money under the table to get the islands charter to operate
    4 rent the cheapest building you can find that is barely suitable to start your enterprise
    5 advertise on valuemd or wherever you can

6 hope and pray[/QUOTE]
    7 just go to Barbados……ask for the Minister of Heath and Edi-kay-shun and pitch any piece of ——————– and they will accept it……..once you can do number 3 above very well

38. Will have to check who is the shadow, minister of health to exert tension on this issue.

39. If most of the medical schools in Barbados are preparing students for foreign (ie non Barbadian) medical qualifications, it is important to know if when they have qualified they can practice in Barbados. Therefore the question.
    Most of these schools presumably are preparing for US medical exams, but other medical schools are also in the market and may choose Barbados as a location. The question is relevant.

40. Please do David
    It is extremely embarrasing to read the bull shit reported in the local report.

You mean that after thy get the dribbling given at these function on which they report, that NONE of them ever seek to go ask the folk who developed our institutions over time relevant questions, and then report to the Nation what is going on?

You mean that all the political parties are on board with this nonsense?
    Why is BAMP UWI HENRY FRASER and people who should know say anything?

41. re Most of these schools presumably are preparing for US medical exams, TRUE
    but other medical schools are also in the market and may choose Barbados as a location JUST AS THE THREE PARASITIC INSTITUTION THAT ARE NOW ENTRENCHED.

HOW DOES THAT SOLVE ANY OF THE MEDICAL PROBLEMS IN BARBADOS?
    WILL THEY PAY TO EMPLOY OUR TRAINED INTERNS

TRADITIONALLY FOLK GRADUATING FROM THESE PROGRAMS HAVE NOT BEEN ALLOWED TO WORK IN BARBADOS? WHY SHOULD THEY? THEY CANT WORK IN THE US EITHER UNTIL THEY DO RESIDENCIES OF 3-4 YEARS

42. TRADITIONALLY FOLK GRADUATING FROM THESE PROGRAMS HAVE NOT BEEN ALLOWED TO WORK IN BARBADOS? WHY SHOULD THEY? THEY CANT WORK IN THE US EITHER UNTIL THEY DO RESIDENCIES OF 3-4 YEARS

Why are they not allowed to work in Barbados, apart from immigration obstacles? Is the qualification they receive acceptable in Barbados or do they have to undergo further training or pass specific exams?
    What do we mean by “medical problems”? Are we talking about public health issues or jobs for qualified people?
    Whether they can work in the US is a matter for the US authorities.

43. Note that there is NO shortage of SPACE for our recent interns
    THERE IS SHORTAGE OF PAY

As far back as 2012 I met a young Dr at the Glebe Polyclinic, who told me that the young doctors were not paid for Public Holidays, Sundays or Saturdays, and were not paid sometimes until after three months.

I urged her to apply to the newly formed AUB. They didnt even give her an interview

44. Why are they not allowed to work in Barbados, apart from immigration obstacles? THEY ARE NOT QUALIFIED TO DO SO
    Is the qualification they receive acceptable in Barbados NO

or do they have to undergo further training or pass specific exams? YES HAVENT I SAID THIS ALREADY SEVERAL TIMES IN CLEAR ENGLISH? THE SAME ENGLISH USED IN THE UK?

What do we mean by “medical problems”? Are we talking about public health issues or jobs for qualified people? JOBS FOR OUR QUALIFIED DR DUMMY HAVENT I SAID THIS ALREADY SEVERAL TIMES IN CLEAR ENGLISH? THE SAME ENGLISH USED IN THE UK?

Whether they can work in the US is a matter for the US authorities.SO THEN YOU CANT PROMISE OUR FOLK JOBS IN THE USA WHEN YOUR SCHOOL IS NOT THE US AUTHORITIES……..IN ALL ITS SILLY COMPLEXITIES

DO YOU UNDERSTAND WHAT I AM SAYING NOW DUMMY?

45. Why are they not allowed to work in Barbados, apart from immigration obstacles? THEY ARE NOT QUALIFIED TO DO SO
    Is the qualification they receive acceptable in Barbados NO
    or do they have to undergo further training or pass specific exams? YES HAVENT I SAID THIS ALREADY SEVERAL TIMES IN CLEAR ENGLISH? THE SAME ENGLISH USED IN THE UK?
    What do we mean by “medical problems”? Are we talking about public health issues or jobs for qualified people? JOBS FOR OUR QUALIFIED DR DUMMY HAVENT I SAID THIS ALREADY SEVERAL TIMES IN CLEAR ENGLISH? THE SAME ENGLISH USED IN THE UK?

Must be a disease. The graduates of these offshore medical colleges, do they have to undertake further training or just pass local medical exams before they are allowed to practice in Barbados? Simply saying yes does not answer the question. It can be either or both.
    Then there is the question of regulation. Are we allowing medical schools to be set up which do not meet the qualification requirements of the local medical authorities? Should this not be the first barrier they should be compelled to clear before opening for business in a properly regulated environment?

46. The graduates of these offshore medical colleges, do they have to undertake further training or just pass local medical exams before they are allowed to practice in Barbados?

NO THEY ARE NOT ALLOWED TO PRACTICE IN BARBADOS. PERIOD!
    GRADUATES OF offshore medical colleges, ARE TRAINED FOR THE US SLAVE MARKET CALLED RESIDENCY
    AFRICANS AND INDIANS WHO DONT ENTER THE US SLAVE MARKET CALLED RESIDENCY CAN GO BACK TO THEIR COUNTRIES AND TAKE TH QUALIFYING EXAMS THERE

Then there is the question of regulation. THERE ARE NO REGULATIONS THE CASH STRAPPED HOST COUNTRIES WANT LONG TERM TOURISTS. THEY ALSO COLLECT OTHER FEE UNDER THE TABLE

Are we allowing medical schools to be set up which do not meet the qualification requirements of the local medical authorities? YES GUVMENT ONLY WANT LONG TERM TOURISTS AND CHARTER AND OTHER FEES. IN RETURN THE PARASITES CAN DO AS THEY WISH

Should this not be the first barrier they should be compelled to clear before opening for business in a properly regulated environment? WHY? WE HAVE ENOUGH DRS WHO ARE TRAINED PROPERLY LOCALLY. WE DONT WANT OR NEED THEM. WE DONT EVEN WANT THEM TO LOOK AT OUR BLACK BELLY SHEEP!

NOR DO THE STUDENTS WANT TO WORK IN THE ISLANDS
    OFFSHORE SCHOOLS ARE SEEN AS A STEPPING STONE TO RETURN TO , OR GO TO THE SO CALLED GREATEST COUNTRY IN THE WORLD EVER

47. So is this not a perverse manipulation of normative assumptions about professional training.
    I am not an expert, but presumably to open a medical school in Barbados the sponsors would have to enter discussions with the ministries of health, education, the inland revenue and the accreditation council.
    Also, presumably, they would have to enter discussions with the profession’s representative bodies, if only to allow local doctors to be lecturers or tutors.
    What are the professional obligations that must be met before a new offshore medical school can be opened in Barbados? Must the managers and senior lecturers meet certain educational and experience levels? Is there not a reputational danger for the nation if these schools prove to be cowboy operations?
    Would a school of dentistry also be obliged to meet such a low barrier of entry?
    Long-term tourism certainly cannot be one such obligation?

48. RE I am not an expert, OBVIOUSLY……..BUT I AM OK

RE but presumably to open a medical school in Barbados the sponsors would have to enter discussions with the ministries of health, education, the inland revenue and the accreditation council.

WHAT DISCUSSIONS? WHICH OF THESE AGENCIES KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT MEDICAL EDUCATION? did the guvment call in Sir Henry Fraser or Sir Mickey Walrond to listen to any of the silly ideas spouted in newspaper reports? OBVIOUSLY NOT?

Also, presumably, they would have to enter discussions with the profession’s representative bodies, if only to allow local doctors to be lecturers or tutors. REALLY? IT DOES NOT WORK LIKE THIS. OK?

What are the professional obligations that must be met before a new offshore medical school can be opened in Barbados? MONEY. MONEY. YOU HAVE TO PASS MONEY……USUALLY UNDER THE TABLE! ah lie?

Must the managers and senior lecturers meet certain educational and experience levels? WHO KNOW? SEE IF YOU CAN WORK OUT THE ACADEMIC QUALIFICATION OF THE WUB TEACHING STAFF.

HOW DID THE STAFF OF THE SCHOOL TRANSFERRED FROM ST MARTEN GET WORK PERMITS TO WORK SO QUICKLY ………OR HA THIS REQUIREMENT BEEN WAIVED?

Is there not a reputational danger for the nation if these schools prove to be cowboy operations? WHO CARES? WHO REGULATES THESE SCHOOLS. YOU THINK THEY TAKE CAM-C SERIOUSLY?

Long-term tourism certainly cannot be one such obligation? YOU WANNA BET?