Submitted by Timothy

The Role of Soldiers in Civil Society: Powers of Arrest and Personality Dynamics in Joint Patrols

Examining the Boundaries and Behaviors of Military Personnel in Law Enforcement Contexts

In times of crisis, natural disaster, or civil unrest, soldiers may be deployed alongside police officers in joint patrols or public safety operations. This collaboration often raises complex questions about the appropriate role for military personnel in civilian environments, particularly regarding the powers of arrest and the psychological dynamics that emerge when soldiers and police work together. This document explores the reasons why soldiers should not be granted powers of arrest and examines why soldiers often display stronger personalities in joint patrol scenarios.

Why Soldiers Should Never Be Given the Powers of Arrest

The Distinct Missions of Military and Police
Military forces and police agencies exist for fundamentally different purposes. Soldiers are trained to defend against external threats, engage in combat, and maintain national security. Police, by contrast, are entrusted with upholding civil law, protecting citizens’ rights, and maintaining order within communities. The power of arrest is a civilian legal function, grounded in due process and civil liberties, and is best exercised by those specifically trained for this delicate responsibility.

Training and Approach: Combat vs. Community 

Soldiers are trained for confrontation, survival, and quick decision-making in high-risk scenarios. Their mindset and skillset are shaped by the need to neutralize threats, often with decisive force. Arresting a civilian, however, requires a nuanced understanding of legal rights, evidence collection, and proportionality. Police officers receive extensive education in conflict de-escalation, investigative procedures, and the legal frameworks governing detention and arrest. Soldiers lack this specialized training, which increases the risk of excessive force or procedural errors if given arrest powers.

Threat to Civil Liberties and Rule of Law

Granting soldiers the power of arrest blurs the line between military and civilian authority. This erosion of boundaries can undermine democratic institutions and civil liberties. History offers cautionary tales: in societies where the military is empowered to arrest civilians, there is often a corresponding rise in abuses of power, arbitrary detention, and the suppression of dissent. Safeguarding individual rights requires a clear separation between military and police roles.

Public Trust and Perception

The relationship between police and the community is built on trust. Police officers are expected to act not only as enforcers of the law, but also as mediators, peacekeepers, and sources of help. Soldiers, on the other hand, may be perceived as occupying forces, especially in sensitive or tense environments. If soldiers are seen arresting civilians, it can foster fear, resentment, or suspicion among the public, damaging the legitimacy of both the military and law enforcement.

Legal and Ethical Challenges

The use of soldiers in law enforcement raises serious legal and ethical questions. Military personnel are governed by different codes of conduct, rules of engagement, and disciplinary structures than police. If soldiers are given powers of arrest, who holds them accountable for misuse or abuse? Which legal standards apply? Ambiguous authority and accountability can lead to confusion, injustice, and even international condemnation.

Why Soldiers Are Often Stronger Personalities in Joint Patrols Selection and Training Processes

The military attracts individuals who thrive in structured, high-stakes environments. Soldiers undergo rigorous physical and psychological screening, ensuring they possess resilience, discipline, and assertiveness. Their training emphasizes leadership, teamwork, and decisiveness under pressure. These qualities naturally contribute to strong personalities, especially in situations requiring quick thinking and collective action.

Exposure to Extreme Situations

Soldiers are routinely exposed to life-threatening scenarios. Whether deployed in combat zones or disaster relief missions, military personnel learn to manage fear, stress, and uncertainty. This experience fosters a sense of confidence and self-assurance that may exceed that of their civilian counterparts. When working in joint patrols, soldiers may project a more commanding presence, influencing the group dynamic.

Chain of Command and Leadership Culture

Military culture prioritizes hierarchy, discipline, and obedience. Soldiers are trained to follow orders and, when necessary, take charge. This mindset is reinforced by clear chains of command and leadership structures. In joint patrols, soldiers may assert themselves in decision-making, especially in situations where swift action is required. Police officers, while also operating within hierarchies, often rely more on negotiation and collaboration, which may appear less forceful.

Adaptability and Problem-Solving

Military personnel are taught to adapt rapidly to changing circumstances. The ability to improvise and overcome obstacles is central to military training. This fosters a proactive and solution-oriented attitude, which can dominate joint patrols when facing unpredictable challenges. Soldiers’ confidence in their judgment and skills may lead them to take initiative, further reinforcing their strong personalities in the group.

Group Cohesion and Camaraderie

Soldiers often exhibit strong loyalty to their unit and teammates. This sense of solidarity can manifest as assertiveness and protectiveness, especially in environments perceived as dangerous or hostile. When paired with police officers, soldiers may seek to influence the patrol’s actions to ensure the safety and success of the group, sometimes taking on informal leadership roles.

Balancing Military and Civilian Roles

The integration of soldiers into joint patrols must be carefully managed to preserve civil authority, public safety, and the integrity of both institutions. While soldiers bring valuable skills and attributes to emergency situations, their involvement in law enforcement should remain strictly limited and clearly defined. Granting powers of arrest to military personnel risks undermining the principles of justice and democracy. Recognizing and respecting the strengths and differences of soldiers and police is essential for effective cooperation without compromising fundamental rights.

Conclusion

The distinction between military and police roles is not merely technical; it is foundational to the protection of civil liberties and public trust. Soldiers, with their robust personalities and decisive training, can contribute positively to joint efforts, provided their involvement is grounded in clear boundaries and mutual respect. The powers of arrest should remain the exclusive domain of law enforcement professionals, ensuring justice, accountability, and the continued health of a free society.

32 responses to “Role of Soldiers in Civil Society”

1. Successive Trinidad & Tobago governments have also explored the idea of giving T&T soldiers powers of arrest as well.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Jyoti Communication
    Friday, March 1, 2013
    Government moves to give soldiers powers of arrest

Cabinet on Thursday approved and confirmed a Note by Attorney General Anand Ramlogan to give legal authority to specially selected members of the Defence Force to function and perform the duties of police officers.

They would assist the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service (TTPS) in operations for maintaining and securing public safety and public order.

Members of the Trinidad and Tobago Defence Force (TTDF) do not have powers of arrest, which puts these protective forces personnel at a disadvantage in trying to maintain law and order.

The proposed bill would give legal protection to Defence Force personnel when they accompany police officers to assist in the detection, investigation and prosecution of criminal offences. They would enjoy the same rights, privileges and immunities as police officers and have the same powers as police officers, including power to arrest, search, seize and to carry arms.

The use of the Army in the fight against crime is not new as soldiers have been accompanying police officers on raid and joint patrols during the last decade.

Under the previous Administration, soldiers were also drafted into SAUTT to assist the police in the detection and investigation of serious crimes.

This legislative measure would augment and increase the capacity of the Police Service and give the service proper legislative footing. The move would give an immediate boost to the TTPS.

It would also provide comfort and relief to members of the TTDF who have been involved in the fight against crime by ensuring that they are adequately protected in the performance of their duties.

The Government has pledged to ensure that Defence Force personnel are trained in areas such as police practice and procedure, investigations, law and court process to ensure that they are properly equipped to undertake their duties along side police officers.

However, TTDF personnel won’t be permitted to embark on policing exercises on their own. The draft legislation would be laid in Parliament on Friday.

2. Desperate times suggest desperate measures.

3. A simple solution would’ve been to ‘swear in’ those soldiers who are conducting joint patrols with police officers, as ‘special constables,’ and provide them with the necessary training.

By doing so would ‘automatically’ give them similar powers as the police.

Ironically, the Police Service is currently advertising vacancies for Special Constables, who must between the ages of 19-40 years.

However, I believe ‘Timothy,’ should’ve done a bit more research to determine the conditions under which powers of arrest would be granted to soldiers, before writing the article.

4. The article in the above the line thread suggests why soldiers should not be used
    The below the line comments seem to lean towards their use

The correct solution is to establish separate agencies for drug and/or gang enforcement with staff trained from military police and detective backgrounds to serve the required intelligence and task forces as needed. Procedural rules will have to be set within law to protect rights of civilians and even criminals. Crime cannot be fought with more crime or extra legal activity without accountability.
    Killing should be excluded the Law Way.

5. @ David

The mention of ‘evidence collection, detectives, investigative procedures’ is perhaps indicative of the fact that there is a clear misunderstanding of the proposed amendment to the Police Act.

I believe such has led to some persons MISTAKENLY ASSUMING that powers of arrest will be granted to ALL MEMBERS of the BDF……

…… when the Bill proposes to give similar powers of arrest, privileges, and immunities as police officers on duty, SPECIFICALLY to those soldiers who are DEPLOYED to conduct JOINT PATROLS with the police.

The Police (Amendment) Act, 2025 – Insertion of new section 79A
    The principal Act is amended by inserting immediately after section 79 the following:
    “Assistance from the Barbados Defence Force:
    A member of the Defence Force who is DEPLOYED to the Police Service pursuant to the directions given under section 9(2) of the Defence Act, Cap. 159, for the purposes of MAINTAINING and SECURING PUBLIC ORDER and PUBLIC SAFETY, shall be granted the powers, authorities, privileges, responsibilities and immunities of a member of the Police Service under section 19, and shall perform the duties thereof for the PERIOD SPECIFIED in the directions.”

Based on the above information, it’s obvious soldiers will NOT have ‘power’ to trek around the island and arrest Barbadians ‘willy nilly,’ as is being suggested by some individuals.

On another note. The Police Service has ALREADY “established separate agencies for drug and/or gang enforcement,” comprised of TRAINED DETECTIVES, namely the Narcotics, and Anti-Gun and Gangs Units.
    There are also the Serious Organised Crime, Major Crime, and Financial Crimes Units, as well as the Criminal Investigations Department (CID).

6. Agree Artax. It is a controlled collaboration given the untenable circumstances currently being experienced.

7. The Barbados prison website get hacked go and see for yourself.

8. Steupsss @ Timothy.

A national army is a resource that provides a level of INSURANCE when crises arises.
    A good military is adaptable enough to address many of the multiple threats that can face a country.
    Providing tactical and administrative support to Law enforcement is not even high on the challenging list.
    In any case, sections of the BDF (Coast guard) already possess powers of arrest and have used it for years without any major issues.

This is a storm in a teacup, and is really a no-brainer – given the lotta shiite happening daily in this country.

What we probably SHOULD consider …is having the damn army take over the shiite government – like Ibrahim Traoré did….

Now THAT could see some positive improvements….

What a place!

9. David et al,

I used to be in agreement with the BDF assisting the police service in patrols etc.

Certainly, in some circumstances such as prison breaks, it is necessary.

However, recently we have come to see a hard lesson on the importance of the separation of powers and duties of institutions of state, by the recklessness being exhibited in the USA.

We must be careful in assessing when this cooperation of military and police is needed and it should be in very exceptional circumstances.

What we must ask, is if the police are having difficulty in handling daily crime, whether the resourcing is adequate for the purpose.

It would seem to be to not be the case. While some may balk at more resources being used for law enforcement, the answer is that this has been made necessary by the destructive forces in the society.

10. @Horsement

Barbados has reached a dangerous place. It will call for extraordinary leadership by civil society to negotiate the pitfalls in order to navigate to a pathway of hope and prosperity.

11. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

#GoodMorningDavid

After my “PREP” to get ready for the weeks ahead – I thought I would make one last dash before departure, to posit my thoughts on the fomenting debacle on that precious island – “NOW FIRMLY” in the hands of “DEMONS”, “WICKED, EVIL SPIRITS IN HIGH & LOW PLACES”; “STINKING, FALLEN ANGELS” & “THE COTERIE CAPTURE OF CAPITALIST COLLUSION CEMENTING CASH AS COGNITIVE COLONIZATION” – moves away from the primordial shackles of ropes & chains to a “HIVE INFESTION OF SLITHERING SERPENTS & PARASITES LIVING AS A HOST COLONY IN THE MINDZ & SOULZ OF BLACK FOLKS”!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Although I have long been beating this saucepan for the #MOTTLEY_CREW_GOV 2 enforce a #FormOfMartialLaw in BIMSHIRE* – I was also cognizant of the “REPURCUSSIONS” to the “DAMNABLE TOURIST TRADE” – given what the #EckyBeckyBajanPaleskinnedBajans would have to say about the whole matter – as they “CONTROL EVERYTHING” & have the power to “HIRE & FIRE” at will, whatever GOV* they choose, on the day!!!

For as long as “BLACK FOLKS KEEP KILLING BLACK FOLKS” – they will continue to raise a glass of whatever toxic soup they ingest – as long as it does not affect none of their “ILK” – or see them slaughtered on the streets, on the 10 PM news – whether it be in the (“TOURIST HOTSPOTS”) or elsewhere, in the (“HEIGHTS” & LUSH SUBURBS”), or in the (“ROYAL COVENS”) where the “FILTHY RICH” & “INFAMOUS” live!!!

Mark these words with care this morning: “LET A SINGLE ALBINO* BE TAKEN DOWN ANYWHERE ON THAT ISLAND BY ANY OF THE MAFIA* STYLED GANGBANGERS – NOT ONLY WILL THE “BDF” BE ON THE STREETS BUT YOU WILL SEE INTERNATIONAL UNDERCOVER COVERT OPERATIVES WORKING INCOGNITO IN PLAIN SITE EVERYDAY & EVERYWHERE – FOR BIMSHIRE WILL ONCE AGAIN SEE 1937 ALL OVER AGAIN!!!

Lawlessness is a “SYMPTOM” of “LATE-PLANET-EARTH” – a world on the brink, plunging headlong into that “BIBLICAL APOCALYPSUS” so long prophesied by all the “ANCIENT PROPHETS” – as well as those “VOICES WHO CONTINUE TO CRY FROM THE BACK-END OF THE WILDERNESS”!!!

I relish being right 90+% of the time – for my “FUTUROLOGY” is entirely based on “BIBLIO-CENTRICITY” & I dare any “FOOL” with half-a-brain to “CONTEST or CONTEND” for anything other than the “FAITH OF JESUS CHRIST” which is the “SPIRIT OF PROPHECY” – for the “SURE WORD OF PROPHECY CANNOT*** LIE”!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

AGAIN, let me applaud the PREZ OF EL SALVADOR – #NayibBukele for having the BALLZ” of a “ELEPHANT” to tackle the scourge of “CRIME-BASED MURDER” in his country & after almost 5 years have turned around a nation that had the highest death rate from “GANGLAND VIOLENCE” anywhere on planet earth!!!

Modern, so-called leaders, should take a “PAGE” or 2 out of his playbook!!!

And like BUBBA*, “that all I gotta say bout’ that…”

I continue to “PRAY” for my country – not for what are conventional prayers, but for an “EARTHQUAKE” of apocalyptic proportions that will “UNSEAT” the “ACCURSED THING” in that land – as it was in the dayz of “GENERAL JOSHUA” ( #GodsServant)!!!

TILL THEN, LET GOD BE GOD & EVERY MAN A LIAR***

#ImDone

12. Ohio/Machine Gun
    Song by The Isley Brothers

Can’t you see the soldiers
    I’ve seen them marching
    Whole lotta soldiers
    I’ve seen them marching
    I’ve seen tin soldiers, I hear them coming
    We’re finally on our own
    This summer I hear the drummin’
    Four dead in Ohio

Soldiers, I hear them marching
    Soldiers, I see them come
    I’ve seen tin soldiers with guns, they are coming
    We’re finally on our own
    This summer I hear the drummin’
    Four dead in Ohio

Gotta get down to it
    Soldiers are cutting us down Lord
    Should have been done long ago
    What if you knew her
    And found her dead on the ground
    How could you run when you know?
    When you know, how could you run?
    Yah!

La la la la la la la la
    La la la la la la la

13. @TB

We are battling problems that are universal i.e. they are not unique to Barbados. After all in as much we believe Barbados to be a ‘paradise’ we cannot the real world vagaries of life.

14. David,

An extra say, one hundred and fifty police officers, at say a total monthly cost each of $5,000 (salary, NI, pension, medical) is nine million dollars annually. Plus raises for current active officers, add say six million dollars across the board.

That to me is fifteen million dollars well spent. And needed in this environment.

Because if there is no law, no discipline, there will be no country.

15. David,

And now is the time to bolster structure urgently, because the USA is swiftly moving into crisis because of lunacy.

That crisis is going to cause havoc with world economies and society, at least in the West and as we know, the USA sneezes and the Caribbean gets a fever.

It is at times like this that the truly important things get a country through turmoil.

Respect, discipline, law and order, being satisfied with the fundamentals, like shelter, food and clothing.

Barbados culture has moved too far away from the guidelines of our forebears.

16. @Horsemeat

It is a case of the hip bone is connected to the back bone … is t it. You upgrade and inject resources into the security forces and the unions representing teachers, nurses and all others will start to beat. One of the big warts to be found in the so-called democracy that we practice.

17. @Horsemeant

The US situation is one that is following cyclical trends in history.

18. You CANNOT be serious Boss…

The current USA situation is UNPRECEDENTED in the annals of ALL history.
    This is shiite of BIBLICAL proportions as we speak…

…and IF WE WERE WISE, we should KNOW that there WILL be consequences of biblical proportions.

Horsemeat is merely pointing out the DIFFERENCE between the five WISE virgins and the other five brass bowls….

19. Bush Tea,

Exactly.

At the rate of the reckless actions of the current USA Trump admin, it is going to be a a rollicking mess in short order. This is not some cyclical change, this is monumental. The beginnings of a dystopian nightmare.

I do not know how many have realised this, but people better understand quickly.

There is no doubt in my mind that free elections are finished in the USA. As for what type of autocratic regime is being entrenched may not yet be clear, but we have guidance, considering that that blight Stephen Miller is in charge of policy.

They have started on the homeless, who should be ‘unseen’ it seems. Is that what Jesus would do? Definitely not. Who will they come for next?

In a short while the USA will see problems that will take all focus away from anything else, so every other country is going to have to ‘brek fuh wunna self’.

I guess even more reason for strong diplomatic ties with countries such as China, European states, African states.

20. @ Horsemeat
    Long ago, Bushie admonished those diaspora BBs like Adrian Hinds, Hants, Dribbler and Northern Observer to make reserve plans to COME BACK HOME….
    This is because there was NEVER any doubt that SHTF was coming to albino-central.
    …cause Karma is a feminine canine!!

It was ALWAYS just a matter of HOW …and WHEN.
    Clearly the answer is TRUMP …and now.

Despite everything, at least here in BB-land you may find a breadfruit and a mango or golden apple… and you can sleep on the damn beach (what is left for the public)

To YOUR point..
    How have the retards in our parliament FACTORED in the increasingly possible situation of a MASS RETURN of Barbadians from albino-land – when Trump decides to tweet and expulsion order some Sunday night…?

If the idiot makes war with their CLOSE CANADIAN fella-albino-centrics, what would it take to diss Bajan BBs – with our Empress talking a lotta shiite on the world stage?

Oh Wait!!!
    They will wait until the place is stacked three persons high with returnees, …to rush yet another reactive shiite ‘Law’ through Cabinet.

What a place!!

21. @Bush Tea

An interesting perspective, one that we have discussed many times in this space- it makes the BU space unique.

It seems many of today’s manifestations were discussed here while gestating but we were brushed off as being alarmists by the conformists?

22. @Bushie
    I noticed you left me out, but I do not mind.
    I will be looking to hideout at Donna or cuhdear.

Why do I feel I will not be happy. I might have to wear a dress and a wig and bash all men to get in at cuhdear ..

23. comprised of TRAINED DETECTIVES, namely the Narcotics, and Anti-Gun and Gangs Units.
    There are also the Serious Organised Crime, Major Crime, and Financial Crimes Units, as well as the Criminal Investigations Department (CID).

xxxxxxxxxxxx

WHAT SOME OF YOU FAIL TO UNDERSTAND MANY OF THESE SAME TRUSTED POLICE FROM SENIOR RANK TO JUNIORS ARE WORKING IN HAND WITH THE HARDENED CRIMINALS RE GUNS/DRUGS AND BENEFIT FROM FINANCIAL GAINS WHILST PROTECTING.

ON THE LITTLE 2X3 ISLAND THE POLICE AS A WHOLE KNOWS WHO ARE THE CRIME LORDS. SO IT IS NOT ROCKET SCIENCE WHY THEY CONTINUE TO PROSPER AND BE FREE TO DO AS THEY LIKE.

GIVING THESE SAME POLICE EXTRA MONEY WILL SOLVE NOTHING. AS THE BENEFITS THEY RECEIVE FROM THEIR CRIME PARTNERS WILL FAR OUTWEIGH.

WAKE UP AND SMELL THE COFFEE

24. “WHAT SOME OF YOU FAIL TO UNDERSTAND MANY OF THESE SAME TRUSTED POLICE FROM SENIOR RANK TO JUNIORS ARE WORKING IN HAND WITH THE HARDENED CRIMINALS RE GUNS/DRUGS AND BENEFIT FROM FINANCIAL GAINS WHILST PROTECTING.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The above comment DOES NOT NEGATE the fact there are police units comprised of trained detectives, irrespective of whether or not some of them may be crocked

All the author has done is RAISE a TOPIC for DIFFERENT DISCUSSION.

He/she does not have any special information about police officers the average Barbadian isn’t aware of.

Over the years, we’ve had officers who were charged and dismissed for selling certificates of character, stealing from the police credit union, sexual or physical assault.
    Additionally, I know a policeman who was dismissed for associating with known criminals, and another one who was denied promotion for a similar observation.

If we accept there are some ‘bent police officers’ ALL OVER THE WORLD, then surely, we should likewise accept there are some corrupt police in Barbados who willfully abuse their authority for personal gain.
    That some of them accept bribes to protect the operations of the political mafia and their associates in this island.

There are reports of lawyers stealing money from their clients or, in addition to politicians, are ‘on the payroll’ of known ‘drug lords.’
    Immigration officers ‘selling’ work permits.
    Itinerant salesmen (Coolie Man) paying small fees to persons in the land tax office to obtain land by paying off land taxes.

These are just ‘minute examples’ of corruption in Barbados.

And, we have to “wake up and smell the coffee?”

🤣🤣

25. We have some whose only aim in life to to sell Barbados down the river, this is not to say we do not have our crap to clean out.

26. @ David

I agree with you 100%.

There are several issues in Barbados that need to be addressed seriously and urgently. This is where honest, innovative leadership comes to the fore.

The current leaders seem not to want to implement any changes that would be socially and economically beneficial to the society, perhaps because they’re benefiting from the status quo.

Both the BLP and DLP indicated in their election manifestos, the intension to implement transparency and accountability, which, based on their reluctancy to do, can only be categorised as ONLY an ELECTION PROMISE.

The problems with corruption, an increase in criminal activity, and gun and gang violence, etc., we’re experiencing ARE NOT UNIQUE to Barbados.

The same problems seen in the society are often reflected in our institutions. These societal problems would inevitably ‘creep’ into law enforcement agencies.

Unfortunately, rather than have RATIONAL discussions and conceptualise policies to adequately address those issues, there is a sustained tendency for some of us to denigrate the island.

27. @Hants

It is the time we live. Take all necessary precaution to protect property and limb.

28. @Artax

Barbados is following the global trend. There is little appetite to attempt to buck the trend. The end result is a politically polarized country riddle with a compromised value system and crime. We can point to positives but there is a science to explain why a rotten apple spoils the whole barrel.

29. In other words, Artax, as I continue to point out and continue to take bullshit barbs for it from the usual silly suspects –

This is not unique to Barbados. It happens all over the world. It happens where they live in the pretend superiority of Whitemanland.

The question is, or should be – is the entirety or the majority or even a significant minority of the police service corrupt, including the top brass? And further, is that corruption par for the course, expected, accepted?

There are few, if any places in the world where the people are entirely content or comfortable. We all have to fight to improve our lot, some of us more than others.

Correctly pointing out that Barbados is far from the worst does not stop us from trying to make Barbados the best.

Cue the bullshit!