We are in the post 2025 ‘budget’ period and the usual pundits have been flooding the media space with economic analysis. As usual most of the debate can be sorted by who are pro B or D. An unfortunate state of affairs given the country’s heavy investment in education. To be honest it seems all very ‘déjàvuish’.

During the COVID 19 pandemic the BU intelligentsia expressed hope that by refusing to let a good crisis go to waste, a level of innovation and creativity would emerge to disrupt traditional thinking at every level in society. Four years later the Barbados economy is chugging along, business as usual with increased addiction to consumption behaviour. Tourism is booming and there is great joy in the land.

Cursory research highlights that while increased consumption can drive economic growth there are more sustainable pathways Barbados must pursue. Being a net importer translates to a trade deficit and therefore a demand for foreign exchange that we earn mainly from the fickle tourism sector.

In recent months Prime Minister Mottley, Governor of the Central Bank Kevin Greenidge and newly appointed President of the Caribbean Development Bank have requested individuals and private sector to invest in the country. Since the selected default in 2018, a conservative and risk averse Barbados has reacted unenthusiastically to he call.

We have been beerish to the call to invest in the country, what are we doing therefore to generate exports in order to earn to pay for our addiction to consumption behaviour? It is no secret tourism characterises our one leg economy. There was an attempt to expand agriculture production with crops that were quick to harvest, it seems several reasons have caused the project to fail. In fact Dr. Clyde Mascoll confirmed recently the challenge to sustain agriculture production is hampered by comparative high production cost.

To be expected it has been left to government to spend on road repair, building houses and other infrastructure jobs to generate economic activity. Our inability to drive efficiency through the use of technology for example has been a blocker to achieving material improvement..

The blogmaster is fearful that over reliance on consumption will lead us up a creek eventually. This path will continue to fuel our debt problem and other economic ills will plague the country. We have to find away to discover other growth measures to support consumption. Other sectors must emerge to compete with the retail and distributive sectors. There is a cost to sitting on foreign reserves as Anthony Wood has explained. Especially if a significant percentage is borrowed.

Underlying all that is required to build a sustainable and resilient economy is the behavioural change that is required from residents of Barbados. It cannot be right to aspire to drive a 140k SUV or twin cab on a 21×14 island. The fact that we are said to have over 130k vehicles in Barbados, resulting in hours spent daily by inching our way on potholed roads, translates to serious infrastructure and planning issues. How can we develop Barbados with obvious transportation inefficiencies and infrastructural decay?

80 responses to “Small island, BIG struggle”

1. The ministry of housing was handed to an inexperienced person in Sutherland. Given his association with MAM2 as an employee it always was a questionable choice. Duguid must be a relieved man to have shed that ministry and in the process gotten a promotion in the Cabinet.

2. @ David

I surprised you ain’t open a topic on the blog with this HOPE thing. This is a way bigger cause of blatant mismanagement than first thought!

Now you see why the Auditor General Report was not released before the budget.

3. @John A

The blogmaster will post the AG’s report when it is updated to parliament website.

4. Another Duguid is Minister of Environment and Climate Change.

5. My comment is a simple one…
    I do not read half this shit.

After you strip off the fancy word and promises, everything that goes on in Barbados is a scam, con, trick three-card-monte, fraud, a big lie and corrupt.

6. This HOPE issue has so many points of concern I don’t know where to start. What is most worrying is the point that it seems like we gave contractors work to do and told them, OK WUNNA GO AHEAD AND BUILD SOME HOUSES LET ME SEE WHAT WUNNA CAN DO. This approach then resulted in several houses having to be demolished. So skipper what happen with the ones that was left then? Was there not an independent Engineer hired by HOPE on the site to ensure this did not happen before we reached the point of no return? What about a QS, was no such person hired by HOPE on the Lancaster site either during the period of the construction? What sort of sh*** is this i hearing?

Then it says the precast houses were FOUND TO BE MORE EXPENSIVE than traditional block house. This means that no research was done comparing the precast product to block work BEFORE the project was started then?

Listen wunna dont need no report to tell wunna what went on there. EVERYBODY involved there want firing.

7. @John A

Your concerns and questions is the reason an inquiry was launched?

8. @ David

The inquiry may take years and probably will never be published in its entirety for all to read. I have been passing that road for years and also took a look at what was going on there. It is not today that I mentioned concerns based on what could be seen. My point is there was no safety net on this project. It was a COWBOY site. Without a QS and Engineer on this site daily anything could of happened. I can say there had to be no Engineer there daily because was one there, the work could never have proceeded to the point where entire houses had to be bulldozed!

The state needs to STAND FAR from ventures like these. If you want 50 houses built, then have them built by contract. Do not enter into this type of nonesence agreement again and kindly do not proceed with HOPE any further either, as it has been shown to be what it is. Wunna can figure out what that is as well!

9. @John A

It is taxpayers money.

10. @John A…
    EVERYBODY involved there want firing.
    ~~~~~~~~
    Firing shiite!!
    You must mean LOCKING UP!!

After such a heist, they are LOOKING FORWARD to being fired…. perhaps even promoted to Senior…

11. @ Bush Tea

You can’t lock up the faithfuls how that would look?

Thing is not even a small man building his own chattel house way back, would of used this approach. He would of check prices of wood at every hardware before he spend a cent!

David’s point that it is tax payers money seems to come with a different approach though.

12. Certain stories keep cropping up. Mia and other Bajan politicians have locked themselves into a group who would like Barbados to become a theme park for the super wealthy. They have form.

https://www.thetimes.com/travel/destinations/caribbean-travel/british-duo-build-new-millionaires-playground-7fhp9zlqcxv

13. NorthernObserver Avatar

Quid Pro Quo?
    Your journalists don’t ask inappropriate questions, you will get an exclusive periodically.
    I thought camouflage was banned? Because it is coming outta the woodwork in droves.
    Too sweet.
    Just remember don’t get lost in this SPECIAL report on HOPE #wewilldobetter.
    Do not buy a Bond or TBill until the many outstanding Reports are issued.

14. Amazing isn’t it? The Nation published a whole article about the boondoggle that was the Hope project and didn’t include any names of the dopes responsible for this abject failure. People are left to speculate as to where the buck stops. Well the PM should wear this as we have been told that all big works must pass through her. Separately we have been advised that there was no corruption (sez who?) , if there was no corruption that means that they have reached the summit of incompetence.

15. The buck stops with our Prime Minister. The country has reached a rubicon. This over travelled and overworked Prime Minister is suffering from exhaustion and should recognise this as facts.

The country needs a new dynamic and a more youthful leader who aspire to bring hope to their offspring and the next generation. This current administration can barely look beyond its own navel.

16. Thorne awaiting HOPE report

OPPOSITION LEADER RALPH THORNE, who has been on the back of Government about the Home Ownership Providing Energy (HOPE) Inc. housing projects, says as chairman of Parliament’s Public Accounts Committee (PAC), he is awaiting a requested report from the Auditor General on the matter.

He was responding to yesterday’s SUNDAY SUN Page 1 story on a draft special audit report by the Auditor General’s Office.

While wrapping-up debate on the 2024 Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals in the House of Assembly in March last year, Prime Minister and Minister of Finance Mia Amor Mottley announced that she had ordered a “full investigation” into “every aspect” of the housing programme being executed by HOPE Inc., and that if any corruption was found there, it would be dealt with.

Shortage of staff

This was after Thorne, in his Budget Reply then, had raised several issues related to Government’s management of the economy and its spending, especially on the HOPE housing projects.

In a statement yesterday, the Opposition Leader said: “I cannot say whether the Prime Minister ordered a special audit. As chairman of the PAC, I requested a report in writing as to the HOPE matter and I had discussions with the Auditor General at a meeting of the PAC as to when the audit would become available. I am aware that the department suffers from a shortage of staff.”

Resolution

He added that by law, a special audit can be requested by a resolution of Parliament, a request from the PAC or by the Minister of Finance.

“I am not aware that Parliament passed any such resolution ….Irequesteda report and the timing of the investigation into the matter of HOPE was discussed at a meeting of the PAC and voted upon,” Thorne said.

“As to general reporting on Government’s spending, the Auditor General has a mandate to produce reports without being ‘ordered’ to produce those reports. The Auditor General is an independent body charged with the responsibility to produce reports on Government spending. I am awaiting the report on the HOPE matter as requested.”

In that March 2024 debate, Mottley said she would not prejudice the issue “because I have asked for a full investigation into every aspect of it”.

“There is no evidence of corruption before me at all today, but if the investigation I have asked for shows it, then we will deal with that too,” she added.(MB)

17. Sagicor’s caution to shareholders

SAGICOR is cautioning its shareholders in Barbados and elsewhere about a mini-tender offer New York Stock and Bond LLC has made to buy up to 100 000 of the group’s common shares for about US$430 000.

“Sagicor is in no way associated with New York Stock and Bond and does not recommend or endorse acceptance of this unsolicited offer,” Sagicor Financial Company Limited advised in a release last week.

The group, which has its beginnings in Barbados and whose stock is now listed exclusively on the Toronto Stock Exchange (TSX) in Canada, said it was notified of an unsolicited mini-tender offer made by New York Stock and Bond “to purchase up to 100 000 Sagicor common shares, or less than 0.075 per cent of the common shares outstanding, at a price of US$4.30 per common share”.

“The unsolicited offer represents a discount of approximately 23.98 per cent below the closing price of Sagicor’s common shares on the TSX on February 13, 2025, the last trading day before the mini-tender offer was commenced, and a discount of approximately 14.17 per cent to the closing price of Sagicor’s common shares on the TSX on March 7, 2025,” Sagicor said.

Serious concerns

“The common shares do not trade on a recognised stock exchange in the United States (US).”

The group told shareholders that mini-tender offers “are designed to seek less than five per cent of a company’s outstanding shares, avoiding disclosure and procedural requirements applicable to most bids under Canadian and US securities regulations”.

It reminded that securities regulators “have expressed serious concerns about mini-tender offers”.

Sagicor advised shareholders to “carefully review the New York Stock and Bond offer documents and current market price for Sagicor common shares and consult their investment advisors regarding any offer they may receive and review with their advisors all options for their investment in Sagicor common shares”.

The group added: “According to New York Stock and Bond’s offer documents, Sagicor shareholders who have already tendered their common shares can withdraw their shares no more than 14 days after the date of delivery of their tender form to the depositary by following the procedure described in the offer documents.” (SC)

18. UWI extends lower tuition rates to African students
    KEY INTERNATIONAL MARKET BEING TARGETED

Stories by Shanna Moore
    The University of the West Indies at Cave Hill Campus is facing a steady decline in Barbadian student enrollment, forcing the university to rethink its strategy to remain viable in an increasingly competitive global education market.
    During a report presentation on Friday, UWI Cave Hill Principal, Professor Clive Landis, revealed that while overall student registration remains stable, the number of Barbadian students enrolling at UWI is gradually decreasing.
    He suggested that this shift reflects broader demographic patterns, including an ageing population and declining birth rates.
    In contrast, enrolment from the UWI’s 14 other Caribbean contributing countries—such as Trinidad and Jamaica—has reached its highest level in five years, representing some five per cent of the student population.
    Non-contributing Caribbean students and international students are also enrolling in increasing numbers, prompting UWI to accelerate its international recruitment efforts.
    Speaking to reporters after presenting his report, Professor Landis acknowledged that UWI is maximising global student mobility, particularly as some students reconsider studying in the United States.
    “We are very aware that some students will not be comfortable going to the US. I remember in the first Trump presidency, we had students who were in their second year at a US university, and they came back here saying: ‘We no longer feel comfortable. We want to continue our studies here,’” he recalled.
    Professor Landis noted that this presents an opportunity for UWI to attract a new wave of international students.
    “We don’t bemoan the world we live in. We adapt to the playing field that exists, and we think it actually tilts in some ways in our favour,” he said.
    As part of its strategy to counter declining local enrolment, UWI has turned its attention to attracting more students from Africa, extending its lower Caribbean tuition rates to students from the continent.
    “With great commendation, we have witnessed the momentum for closer collaboration between the African continent and the Caribbean,” Professor Landis said.
    “So we, as a university, have deliberately targeted African students as our lead international student market.”
    The initiative, which has been in place since last year, allows African students to pay the same lower tuition rates as those from UWI’s 15 contributing Caribbean nations.
    When asked if this policy was exclusive to Ghanaian students, Professor Landis clarified that while there is a separate price structure for a joint medical programme with Ghana, the reduced tuition fees apply to students across the African continent.
    “The Ghanaian programme, because it’s a medical degree programme, has a completely separate price structure. But the general prices—the lower fees equivalent for Caribbean students—are what we’re offering across Africa,” he said.
    UWI, like many universities worldwide, operates on a tiered tuition structure, with contributing Caribbean students paying lower fees than their international counterparts.
    “Most universities around the world have different rates— one for local students and another for international students.
    For example, at Ohio State University, there’s an in-state rate, a higher rate for out-of-state students, and an even higher rate for international students. UWI follows a similar model,” Professor. Landis said.
    shannamoore@barbadostoday.bb

Source: BT

19. The blogmaster is big enough to apologize to the PM. The report published yesterday is reported to be a draft copy of the HOPE Housing special audit report. The blogmaster accused the PM of being less than ‘transparent’ about not addressing the matter last week during the budget.

20. William Skinner Avatar

We note in Harry Russell’s column today he speaks of becoming enslaved again. Even suggests we may be already.

21. @William

No turning back now

THERE IS NO turning back now for Barbados on the road which we chose in 2018.

At that time we were staring disaster in the face as we had little foreign exchange and the world was breathing down our necks for debts that we owed.

Could the National Democratic Party have won the Government at that time? Even so, we elected the Barbados Labour Party that has been in command since then. It has now come to a defining moment. It is now not a matter of winning an election but rather of survival in the world.

How should we survive? The Budget has a new deliverer. Bits and pieces are on offer now, even to help with rain water.

There is a good chance that we may be enslaved again, not by Sir Francis Drakes or our peers in England, and our definition of freedom emasculated.

Did not our leader once say that we were “friends of all, satellites of none”? But if the United States is not in bed with Cuba, we are not to even secure the services of their nurses or doctors.

The threats hanging over our heads are numerous. We are not even sure if this threat of return slavery will last only four years; that if we do not buckle under, it will pass. It may be that the United States is reverting to the past habits against which black people have fought for centuries, or was the threat ever set aside?

Remember Rome

There is no sense in calling on us in the Caribbean to unite, as the bully has even threatened big countries. The United States will have to fall on its own weight. Remember Rome.

My take is to do nothing and just stay focused. This I suggest because we are already cuddled up in bed with China. One false step and they may not rebuild the stadium, although we are not sure at what point our little island will be irretrievably lost.

I must say that the Minister in the Ministry of Finance Ryan Straughn is fighting with the numbers that have been made available to him, even if time is not on his side; but he has given something. But to be projecting to 2036 is in reality guessing, as the present dipsy-doodling shows in the decisions of the world superpower.

Indeed, we might be better off keeping out of the limelight while the superpower rants and rages. This would mean that our leaders should keep out of saying things about taking a stand on issues on the world stage at this time and see how the cookie crumbles. Make local changes as you wish, but put other future plans on hold.

In the meantime, we have local decisions to make. We had a stadium but it deteriorated over time. We are told we are getting a new stadium that will be financed by a grant from the Chinese. Will they want something strategic in exchange?

I mean more strategic than they already have and the living conditions that they now enjoy. Perhaps they will build a road surrounding Barbados or a super highway through the middle of Barbados going over Collymore Rock.

Bite the bullet

I do not believe that in 2018 we could have done like Jamaica and bite the bullet. There would have been a revolution in Barbados. What about the ordinary person, and food, medicine and just survival? So we borrowed and now live on hope and whatever consequences are implied.

It has been hard for the opposition that led us down that ruinous path to show its face again, but so far no prospective candidates have emerged. Furthermore, people like the Wild Coot can only rue the position [and hope] that the shame of serfdom will not embrace us again.

While we dance and parade about the billions of dollars we have in foreign exchange – the greatest majority of which we borrow – all of us in the Caribbean are in the same boat and unable to help one another, especially in the matter of providing hospital assistance if we send back the Cuban nurses and doctors, especially Jamaica.

Maybe we feel that building more hotels will bring us prosperity, but in a previous article I pointed out that bringing in more tourists is causing a strain on what little real foreign exchange we have and questions the concessions offered.

Harry Russell is a banker. Email quijote70@gmail.com

22. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

OUTSIDE OF THE SATANIC WAR ECONOMY – THERE IS THE CRIMINALIZED CARTEL OF THE FOOD WE EAT WHICH FEW EVEN LOOK AT – INCLUDING OUR GOVs WHO ARE LICENSED TO OVERSEE THAT THE MASSES ARE NOT BEING SLOWLY POISONED BY FAKE FOODS & PAYING OVER THE ODDS FOR WHAT IS CRAP* – PUSHING UP HEALTHCARE COST & OTHE SOCIETAL VARIABLES

The mere mention of “FOOD CARTELS” & “CRIMINALITY” refers to organized groups illegally manipulating our food supply – pushing all kinds of “TOXIC” sludge while “SUGAR-COATING” it to look like food

These criminal activities related to our food systems is typically driven by VAST PROFITS” 2 be made; with a power vacuum, & the exploitation of systemic vulnerabilities & much of it occurring in developing countries hampered by the high demands from “IMPORT MARKETS”!!!

Here are some of the key reasons & mechanisms behind these despicable activities:

(1). Profit Maximization Through Illicit Practices

Adulteration & Fraud uncovers dilution and/or substituting high-value products (e.g., olive oil, honey, spices) with cheaper ingredients to cut costs while selling at premium prices. HAS ANYONE NOTICED THAT YOUR CURRY, TUMERIC, CAYENNE PEPPER et al DOES NOT HAVE THE ZING* THAT IT SHOULD??? It’s because the “STUFF” has been bastardized

The counterfeit goods market producing fake versions of branded items (e.g., baby formula, alcohol) to profit from consumer trust in established brands is at an all time high – where the integration is such that you would have 2 work 4 the Secret Service to tell what is counterfeit & what’s NOT*

Then there is the issue of #PriceFixing where collusion amongst principals to inflate prices of essential goods (e.g., grains, dairy) manipulates supply and/or distribution levels – cornering the market with higher prices

(2). Exploitation of Weak Regulations

Lax “GOV” enforcement in regions like the Caribbean with underfunded regulatory frameworks & understaffed agencies and/or corrupt officials who take “BRIBES”, allow the cartels 2 bypass safety & quality standards – with “WHISTLEBLOWING” being almost non-existent

Although in an AI age, the global supply chain of complexity is a long, fragmented linkages of many producers, middlemen & suppliers, (e.g., seafood, cocoa, coffee) that makes it easier to hide illegal practices like forced child labor and/or illegal fishing practices, etc

(3). Monopolization & Market Control

Extortion & Intimidation: Cartels may strong-arm farmers, distributors, or retailers to control supply routes or territories (e.g., Mexico’s avocado trade, Italy’s agricultural sector)

Hoarding & Speculation

Artificially creating scarcity of staples (e.g., grains during crises) to drive up prices

(4). Diversification of Organized Crime

Drug Cartels Expanding into Food

Groups traditionally involved in narcotics may branch into food smuggling or agriculture to launder money or exploit new markets (e.g., Mexican cartels in limes, avocados)

Human Trafficking & Labor Abuse

Using forced or undocumented labor in farming, fishing, or processing to reduce costs

(5). High Demand 4 Cheap Food

Consumer demand for low-cost products incentivizes unethical practices, such as using illegally sourced ingredients or exploiting workers to keep prices down

(6). Corruption & PoLIEtical Influence

Collusion with officials to bypass inspections, obtain permits, or avoid penalties. In some cases, cartels infiltrate government bodies to protect their operations

Real-World Examples

Italian Mafia

Infiltration of agriculture, “OLIVE OIL FRAUD”, & toxic waste dumping on farmland

#MelamineBabyMilkScandal (China, 2008)

Adulteration of infant formula to falsely boost protein content, leading to fatalities

#AvocadoCartels (Mexico)

Drug cartels extorting farmers & controlling exports to lucrative markets like the U.S.

Consequences

Public Health Risks

Contaminated or adulterated food causes illness or death

Economic Harm

Legitimate businesses struggle 2 compete, & consumers pay inflated prices

Environmental Damage

Illegal practices like deforestation or overfishing degrade ecosystems

Addressing the Issue

Strengthening regulatory oversight & penalties 4 fraud

Increasing transparency via “BLOCKCHAIN” or traceability AI systems

Supporting ethical sourcing & consumer awareness campaigns

Food-related criminal activities thrive where greed intersects with weak governance, regulatory gaps, & consumer demand 4 affordability

Combating these issues requires coordinated global efforts 2 enforce standards, prosecute corruption, & promote ethical practices

#YouAreWhatYouEat

#LockUpTheCriminalBasterds

23. NorthernObserver Avatar

Memory is Bajans call the HOPE Report a Dah fuh lick yuh.
    Here we have an administration that has systematically ceased issuing Reports, even where the law requires them, and now is up in the air, because somebody broke the law by releasing a Report that was not yet approved to be released.
    Are Barbadians to have any confidence this Report was going to be publicised?
    Like the NIS Reports which the same PM told the Nation on August 25, 2023 ‘had been completed’, but still not available. Or any Report from the QEH in the past 10 years? Or any single report from CBL, prior to writing off $124M in taxpayers money?
    This is your own medicine coming back to bite you.
    While I do not widely support law breaking, enough is enough. My sincerest thanks to whomever leaked this Report on HOPE. We need more of this, as the GoB will not comply.

24. While I do not widely support law breaking, enough is enough
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    @NO
    You just parted ways with Bushie boss…

How can it be law breaking when the Law REQUIRES the reports be published?
    Is the ‘law breaking’ not on the part of those sitting on the info – and seeking tp ‘protect us from ourselves’ – as a certain “Patchy” blogger (who will remain nameless) contends..?

Bushie is calling on more of our scarce LAW ABIDING CITIZENS to do what is LAWFUL and righteous… and PUBLISHIT…. to BU, the Mock News, AND the WWW.

You can BET that the LAWFUL & official versions will start coming REAL fast then…

25. Out of order!

Thorne questions Mottley’s call to Auditor General

OPPOSITION LEADER RALPH THORNE has accused Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley of breaching constitutional protocols after she admitted to telephoning the Auditor General regarding his draft report on the Home Ownership Providing Energy (HOPE) Inc. project.

Speaking at a press conference at the Opposition Leader’s Office yesterday, he said it was a “dangerous state of affairs” that could undermine the independence of constitutional offices.

His criticism stems from revelations that Mottley contacted the Auditor General on Sunday following the publication of an article in the last SUNDAY SUN highlighting findings from a draft special audit report by the Auditor General.

That report stated HOPE Inc. had failed to meet its target of constructing 2 000 homes by 2024, built houses on land it did not own, and signed a $64 million contract for precast housing units despite lacking the financial resources to fulfill it. It added that HOPE Inc. now faced litigation for halting deliveries due to financial and land ownership disputes.

However, during a Barbados Labour Party St Michael South branch meeting Sunday night, Mottley dismissed these claims, saying that not only was there no lawsuit, but there was also no pre-action protocol letter – a prerequisite for civil litigation.

In recounting a telephone conversation with the Auditor General on the subject, Mottley said: “I asked the Auditor General today, did you submit a report to Parliament? Is the report complete? The Auditor General told me, ‘Prime Minister, I am still working on the report because I am awaiting the comments of HOPE to put in the report’.

Cover of report

“I said, ‘Auditor General, I hear you, but there is a cover of a report saying the 12th of February’. He said, ‘Prime Minister, I am awaiting the report from HOPE because what I have in that document may not even be the final document depending on what HOPE submits’. We are in a very dangerous place.”

According to Thorne, the Auditor General, like the Chief Justice, Director of Public Prosecutions and the Commissioner of Police, operates independently and should not be subject to “political interference”. He stressed that the Prime Minister has no legal authority to engage the Auditor General outside of formally requesting a special audit, a power also afforded to the Leader of the Opposition and Parliament via special resolution.

“It is out of place and a dangerous state of affairs when a Prime Minister admits that she telephoned the Auditor General to ask him about the state of his investigation. That is wrong. That is very, very wrong,” Thorne said.

In taking another swipe at the Government’s handling of the HOPE housing project, he alleged financial mismanagement and a lack of transparency. He claimed that Government funds were used to “enfranchise private persons” under the guise of a public-private partnership, with exorbitant salaries paid to officials overseeing the initiative.

“The Government was paying the chairman of HOPE $20 000 per month. And when, for one reason or another, that chairman left, they employed the present chairman, who is not Barbadian, and paid him $30 000. Barbadians must not accept that Government has used public monies to enrich private persons while the people continue to suffer.”

He criticised Minister of Housing and Lands Dwight Sutherland for admitting that houses were constructed on lands without clear title.

However, Thorne dismissed the notion of seeking individual dismissals, arguing that the entire administration was responsible for governance failures.

“I am not asking for any minister to be fired. The Government needs to be fired,” he declared. “And we in the Democratic Labour Party, we will be a patient party. We will await the time when the election is called. We shall be ready.” (CLM)

26. Love him or hate him; Thorne has a point, the PM shouldn’t have made that call but this is Bahbadus the land of inappropriate phone calls.

27. Nothing in Barbados happens unless Mottley is in the loop. She is a hands on kind of leader with an intimidating personality to boot.

28. Somebody at the Nation will feel the wrath of Mia.
    If Ezra Alleyne was alive the article would never have been published, some cracks are appearing in the wall.

29. Auditor General Clarifies Hope Inc. Draft Report

BY JULIE CARRINGTON | MAR 18, 2025 | TOP STORIES

(Stock Image)

Auditor General Leigh Trotman is seeking to clarify the reference made to a special investigation into the building programmes of Home Ownership Providing Energy Inc. (HOPE Inc.), published in the Sunday Sun on March 16,2025.

The Auditor General pointed out that the excerpts published in a news article were based on a Draft Report, which has not been finalised or officially issued.

Mr. Trotman also added that the Auditor General’s Office is in the process of finalising the audit and is currently awaiting a response to the Draft Report.  This response is due by March 21, 2025, and the final Report will be issued shortly after.