The following court report appeared in the Nation newspaper on Friday 14, 2025. Although the report did not provoke heavy commentary in the public space, it piqued the interest of the blogmaster for obvious reasons.

Gunman throws in the towel

A man caught with seven guns, including an AK-47, on three different occasions in a five-year span threw in the towel yesterday when he appeared in the No. 3A Supreme Court.

Edward DaCosta Gollop, of School Lane, Halls Road, St Michael, will be back in court in May when the facts will be read into evidence.

He pleaded guilty to having:

• a SAR-1 7.62-calibre rifle on October 9, 2017;

• an AK-47 7.62-calibre rifle on October 9, 2017;

• a Smith & Wesson .45 auto calibre pistol on October 9 2017;

• a Colt .45 auto calibre pistol on October 9, 2017;

• 100 rounds of 7.62 calibre ammunition on October 9, 2017;

• 97 rounds of .45 calibre ammunition on October 9, 2017;

• 20 rounds of .32 calibre ammunition on October 9, 2017;

• 1 300 grammes of cannabis on October 9, 2017;

•a traffickable quantity of cannabis;

•5.7 kilogrammes of cocaine on October 9, 2017;

• a traffickable quantity of cocaine on October 9,

2017;

•not being an authorised dealer and without the consent of the Exchange Control Authority, retained and failed to offer or cause to be offered for sale US$2 461 with the Exchange Control Authority not having been consented to his retention and use thereof, on October 9, 2017, and that he engaged in money laundering in that he received $74 690 being the proceeds of crime on October 9, 2017. Gollop also pleaded guilty to:

• possession of .40 semi-automatic pistol on August 27, 2015;

• possession of 33 rounds of ammunition on August 27, 2015;

• possession of 986.58 grammes of cannabis on August 7, 2015;

• having a traffickable quantity of cannabis on August 7, 2015;

• having 98.17 grammes of cocaine on August 7, 2015;

• possession of a traffickable quantity of cocaine on August 7, 2015;

• possession of an apparatus for the use of cannabis; and

•engaging in money laundering in that he had $2 028.10 and US$27 being the proceeds of crime, on that same date. He was further charged with:

• possession of a .223 semi-automatic rifle on August 14, 2020;

• possession of a .40 automatic pistol on August 14, 2020;

• possession of 35 rounds of ammunition on August 14, 2020;

• possession of 121.9 kilogrammes of cannabis on May 27, 2019;

• having a traffickable quantity of cannabis on May 27, 2019;

• importing 121.9 kilogrammes of cannabis on May 27, 2019, and

• damaging the house of Chelidonia Norville by fire on August 5, 2020.

He was represented by Senior Counsel Andrew Pilgrim who requested a pre-sentencing report.

Principal State Counsel Rudolph Burnett represented the prosecution.

Justice Anthony Blackman ordered the report and adjourned the matters until May 8.

Gollop remains on remand at Dodds Prison.

Congratulations to Amit for his initiative to track non fatal crime in Barbados by starting the website Barbados Crime blog.

41 responses to “Man caught with ‘7 guns’”

1. Tackling crime seriously

By John Beale

For many weeks, the response to our increase in crime, especially homicide, has been singularly one track: “Increase law enforcement and strength of the law, and let the criminals know they will be dealt with”. But as our grandmothers taught us: “Prevention is better and cheaper than cure”. And unless we work hard now at prevention, the crime wave will be with us for the next 20 years and will get worse. Surely, this should be obvious?

The causes of our increase in crime are many and there seems to be a reluctance to acknowledge the most obvious and most disturbing ones. By far the most important is the failure of our primary schools to produce more than 60 per cent of 11-yearolds who are literate and numerate, condemning the remaining 40 per cent to probable failure in secondary school, and unable to enter adulthood with either qualifications or a goal in life. This tragic situation is not being addressed by the Ministry of Education. Why not?

Cultural transition

The second major cause is the cultural transition in our society, with too many children raised by a single mother, with no father in the home and mother unable to play both roles effectively. Often, mother is consumed by her work and economic struggles, and there is no time or opportunity to raise a child to read, or to understand the importance of the most basic human values of honesty, kindness, sympathy and so on.

The third major cause is the many challenges faced by primary school teachers, especially, who feel unappreciated and underpaid. While many may be adequately skilled in the task of instruction and educational modalities, how many are skilled in mentoring and counselling?

Secular evolution

The fourth major cause is the secular evolution of a society which undervalues human values and indulges in entertainment of a violent, amoral and often abusive nature – on TV, radio, “concerts” with notorious singers, and ZR music.

The fifth major cause is the abandonment of religion and associated ethical values. The churches are attended largely by retirees and pensioners – there are few middle aged and younger people. Few children attend Sunday school. And to be honest, many people are disenchanted by church rituals (Anglican, Catholic and so on) and poor preachers and by the ones preaching “hell and damnation”.

And finally, the sixth major cause is disenchantment with politics and the impression given by powerful politicians enjoying the fruits of being in power. So what can be done?

First, for goodness sake, let’s deal with the primary school problems. Support the teachers. Improve the training and the salaries and facilities and reading materials. They don’t need hotelstandard buildings, but better basic facilities that are properly maintained. Likewise, teachers should be encouraged to improve their skills, especially in psychology and counselling. Books must be made available, including children’s fiction. Literacy in primary schools is the big, big, big issue! Veteran educator Marc Andre’s literacy initiative R.E.A.D., for Reclaim Excellent Academic Dominance, as described in the Weekend Nation of Friday, February 7, is a good move, and his efforts should be integrated with a comprehensive energised literacy programme both in schools and outside.

The prolix and circumstantial discussion of education reform is usually nothing more than buzz-words. Hopefully, the foolishness of “middle and senior schools of excellence” has been abandoned. By the same token, the talk of creating a huge number of brand new school buildings that we cannot afford is nonsense.

The old buildings of Harrison College, The Lodge or St Michael’s have never impeded learning. It is the teachers, the philosophy and the practice that produces good results. What is needed is to invest in the poorly equipped and poorly regarded newer secondary schools, giving them the best teachers and improving their facilities, so that all schools are similar and so that the 11-plus can eventually be sensibly and realistically abolished.

Secondly, let the social services expand to support the struggling mother’s efforts. Expand or replicate PAREDOS, to give parents inspiration, training, help and support. The ex-principal of the Government Industrial School, Erwin Leacock, has good ideas on supporting parents in the role of good parenting, and he too, should be involved in the national efforts at improving child development.

Omit violence

Thirdly, do not air or allow violent material on TV. Do not allow it on radio or ZR vans. Prosecute them and stop letting them off when they break the law. And do not import convicted felons to sing for our young people.

Fourthly, bring together church leaders for serious self-examination. Let priests make serious efforts, perhaps with continuing training to be better speakers. But let the churches wake up to the role they should play in reaching out both to those in need, whether neglected children or barely surviving families, or recalcitrant and deviant youth.

And finally, our leaders – politicians, priests, professionals, businessmen, sportsmen at every level must set examples to the youth – at work, at play, in school, in Parliament, in sports, on TV and in every encounter, if we are to create a safe, humane, civilised and successful society. It can be done – just look at the transformation that occurred in Medellín, Colombia, the deadliest city in the world in 1991 with a homicide rate of 400 per 100 000, improving to 11 in 2024.

The person recognised as the catalyst in the metamorphosis of Medellín was the nonconformist mathematician and mayor of the city who later became the governor and was a presidential candidate, Sergio Fajardo. He was convinced that “education is the engine for social transformation” and he used architecture to “give the best of society to the poorest people”. He succeeded in convincing the youth to give up guns for education. Maybe we should invite him to Barbados and hear about his experiences of transforming Medellín, a violent and impoverished city to a model of social and urban development.

It is now the hour for us to commit as a nation to resolve our crime challenge. Let’s start now, with prevention.

John Beale is a former diplomat and banker.

2. When culture evolves, crime dissolves

“When culture evolves, crime dissolves!”

I heard this phrase from the head of the National Peace Programme, Minister Corey Lane. I like it. It’s concise, it’s catchy and it contains a concept that must be made common. It must become a commonsense notion in Barbados that “culture” is a key element in the fight against crime and the climb towards peace, as well as many of our other issues. More and more people are realising this fact. But understanding the depth and nuances of this situation may take some more time.

By culture, I mean the common and taken-for-granted elements of the way a group of people live.

This includes attitudes, beliefs, values, thought patterns, as well as the more easily observed and quantified elements like behaviours and material goods, created or used.

Something is said to be cultural to the extent that it is deeply ingrained into a society and its people. In other words, culture is what commonly comes naturally to us, what we naturally do, the things we naturally produce and use, the way we naturally think and feel, how we naturally respond. Culture is who we naturally are.

Calling culture that which comes naturally can be misleading, though.

Because, what comes naturally now, might not have always been so. That which is cultural to a people now, which now comes naturally, has been nurtured over time. When you see a cultural trait ingrained in a people, it either took a long time to get to that stage or it was ingrained via a particularly intense event-period like a war or natural disaster. This is how cultures change.

Culture is always changing, always evolving. Always under the influence of something. And not only for the better.

When criminal behaviour becomes cultural, that means it has been naturalised, evolving into a “normal” element of the society.

Even if we don’t like a normalised cultural element, we may tolerate it because we believe that is who we are and this is what we do. When it gets to this point, crime, culture, can be hard to root out. It may require drastic measures. We don’t want to get to the point where violent crime is ingrained, cultural and natural. When it gets to this point, the rate of hangings will not outpace the birth rate of criminals.

Tough policing will inspire the now culturally supported criminal to get tougher too. What then should we do?

We should do what we have, up to this point, failed to do. That is, understand culture, take it seriously so we can find ways to influence its evolution. Up to now, we have erroneously equated culture with the arts. Even so, we have treated cultural arts as if they were simply economic commodities, focusing almost exclusively on their revenue generating potential and neglecting their social value or impact.

We have allowed the unchecked importation of cultures which overwhelm our own without tending our own cultural landscape. And, very importantly, we have ignored the faulty colonial foundations of our homegrown culture. When we understand this, we will start innovating more cultural solutions to dissolve crime. But it will take time. Evolution is a slow process.

Adrian Green is a communications specialist. Email Adriangreen14@gmail. com

3. NO GANGS!

Ex-NY cop: It’s lawless guys from some communities

By Sherrylyn A. Toppin

sherrylynclarke@nationnews.com

A former New York Police Department (NYPD) detective is of the view there are no gangs on Barbados, but rather people from different districts doing lawlessness and committing crime.

Victor Lashley, a Barbadian who spent a combined 28 and a half years in the NYPD and Corrections Department in New York, compared what was happening here to the operations of the Bloods, an infamous New York gang of black youths which spread from the Bronx and became an organisation.

“Barbados don’t have no gangs, I hate to say,” he told the Sunday Sun. “Barbados has some lawless guys from certain communities that stay together and may commit crime, but they’re not gangs.”

Lashley, who underwent gang training, said it was not easy to get into one and referred to initiation rituals. He said it was also not easy to get out of a gang.

“Barbados has not reached that level yet, so I don’t call them gangs. I call them lawless guys from a certain neighbourhood . . . because gangs have laws to follow. These guys in Barbados have no laws.

“The only way out is what? Death. Has Barbados reached that point? No. So, they’re not gangs yet. They’re just groups, lawless groups that are doing crazy stuff from one area – one area in Christ Church against St Philip, St Philip against St Michael.”

Although the peace treaty that was brokered between rival City groups remained intact and credited for a decrease in violent crimes in some areas, Lashley said he was against such measures.

“Anybody who’s involved in crime, do not negotiate with gang members . . . . Do not. Your job is to make sure these guys are in jail, make sure they’re prosecuted, make sure they’re arrested. That’s your job, not to negotiate with them, because what happens if you can’t meet what they request from you? That becomes an issue . . . .

“They can go to the news. They can talk. They can make you look bad. So you never negotiate with those guys.”

He said good old-fashioned policing, a strong system of trusted informants, surveillance and undercover work would do a lot to reduce crime in Barbados.

“It’s not going to be solved internally; it can’t be solved internally because first thing, you need the people of Barbados, citizens and right now, there’s no confidence between people and the police department. People don’t trust the police department anymore. Even I have experienced a lot of stuff here,” he said.

The former detective acknowledged there were good officers in the Barbados Police Service, but said there were others, who, for example, got drunk in the rum shop and talked about cases which should be confidential.

Lashley said he spent seven years undercover in New York where he was arrested, kicked in the testicles, punched in the face, had a gun put to his head and nearly shot in Staten Island, all to preserve the new identity he was given. He stressed that was critical to being successful.

However, recognising Barbados was a small country and most people tended to know those who graduated from the Regional Police Training Centre, he suggested collaboration with other CARICOM partners to provide undercover cops.

Lashley said 20 years ago he came with two NYPD detectives and presented a plan to solve crimes related to narcotics, guns, gangs, robberies and petty larceny. It was presented to then Deputy Commissioner Bertie Hinds, who accepted it, but pointed out it was later rejected. He charged that Barbados was reaping the fruit of failing to implement crime prevention strategies at that time.

4. 5 remanded to Dodds

Five men, including a Tobago national, appeared in Court yesterday charged in connection with the $4.5 million drug bust last Sunday at Welches Beach, Christ Church. (Picture by Reco Moore.)

Five of the six men – four Barbadians and a Tobagonian – held in connection with a Sunday night drug bust at Welches Beach, Christ Church, were remanded to Dodds Prison yesterday when they appeared in the District “A” Magistrates Court No. 1.

Roydell Skeete, 40, of Sandy Hill Trace, Tobago; Damario Dottin, 27, of Brereton; Jamar Kirton, 35, of Sunbury; John Edey, 42, of Evelyn Road and Wayne Chase, 53, of Edgecumbe Tenantry, all in St Philip, were not required to plead to possession, possession with intent to supply, trafficking and the importation of cannabis.

Police seized 566.9 kilogrammes of cannabis worth $4.5 million in the February 9 operation.

King’s Counsel Michael Lashley is representing Edey and Skeete, while the others are represented by attorneys Shadia Simpson and Simon Clarke.

“What we are asking, given the fact that it represents a nonnational, that the prosecution, that the investigators, that they have the files, that they have pre-trial disclosure as soon as possible because we do not want the non-national to be languishing in prison awaiting pre-trial documents,” Lashley told Starcom Network.

He said early pre-trial disclosure will also allow for them to prepare the defence, adding that there will be a full bail application for the Barbadians when they return to court.

Magistrate Kristie Cuffy-Sargeant ordered the accused to appear on Thursday at the Oistins Magistrates’ Court.

The sixth man is said to be hospitalised.

5. So in essence we have a country with no national culture a prevailing doninant sub culture, a proliferation of guns and drugs (and we ALL know those four fellas don’t have $4 million to “spare”), a failing education system, failed education reform, and a refusal,or unwillingness by the powers of the day to make bold decisive action on anything other than stocks, bonds, international loans and ambassadorial appointments.

Well there you have it. God Bless Bim.

Just observing

6. So we got the Mighty Gabby and his pistol put away.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9SMod9KETCo

Whatever happened with the House Speaker and his pistol?

7. This John Beale, we wonder if the banking system, which he is said to be a part of, was in anyway causal in the destruction of Black entrepreneurial aspirations thereby creating or maintaing a society where Black people are not and will never be masters of their own destinies.

In his mind, this banking system, which for decades considered it the holy grail in preventing business people from the majority population from making a numerical and commensurately significant contribution towards national value, might not be to blame.

As a diplomat, we wonder if nothing from this part of his professional life has taught him anything about the international or imperial forces forging the continuation of racism, exploitation, national indetedness, the ignoring of crimes against countries like Barbados as in accordance with the UN Chárter. Indeed, the very UN which has long described Barbados as a racist state still.

His now resort to merely sociological causes while ignoring the most fundament forces of history, slavery, imperialism, an unfair economic systems, racism, colonialism, as currently interpreted in Barbados in fueling the continuation of Whiteness as rightness is not central to causation.

8. On Adrian Green, this writer cannot still believe that his level of vacuousness could derive from that radical poetic mind of youth, well known then, but unrecognizable today.

When the fossil of the Bajan mind is unearthed the anthropologists too are likely to be at loss in deciphering the social, economic and political forces involved in arresting the human development in Barbados.

9. “Man caught with 7 guns”
    Wuhloss! I thought Sydney Burnett Alleyne had departed to be with the ancestors.

10. These men with all these guns must have been listening to the Merrymen, or their sons, if rightly recalled.

Weren’t it them who ‘plotted’ to bring out their ‘guns’ after ‘the men kill the men’, intimating that only woe-men will be left.

Or Pacha, talking ‘bout mushroom-headed thingamehees, as instruments for justice.

11. Terence Blackett Avatar

SEND THESE #FOOKERS 2 GUANTANAMO BAY & INSTEAD OF 3 MEALS A DAY @TAXPAYERS EXPENSE – SEND THE DIRTY, FILTHY BASTERDS TO YAHIB BUKELE’S EL SALVADOR’S MASS MAXIMUM HIGH SECURITY PRISON – WITH A PRISONER POPULATION OF SOME 100K MEN & LET US SEE CRIME VIRTUALLY DRY UP IN GOOD ‘OLE BIM

Pathetically, your “SO-CALLED LEADERS” have no “BALLS” whatsoever – other than to “STEAL”, “EMBEZZLE”, “MISAPPROPRIATE” & to talk a toilet bowl full of “SHYTE” all day long!!!

#PleaseDoNotExcuseMyGREEK!!!

Here are the “FACTS”:

As of the most recent 2025 data, the cost (CALCULATED) to house a prisoner in BULLBADOS* is approximately BB$35,000 – BB$40,000 per year, which is (around US$17,500 – US$20,000)!!!

MISCELLANEOUS COST HAVE NOT BEEN FACTORED IN EXCEPT WHERE………

These wretched figures may have some bearing on expenses related to security, food, healthcare, & other operational costs associated with running “WHAT IS A OXYMORONIC CONCEPT” of correctional facilities…

So let’s get down & “DUTTY”:

The current prisoner population in BIM* stands around 1,000 to 1,200 inmates!!!

Obviously, this figure fluctuates (UP, DOWN OR SIDEWAYS) as the crow flies, over time due to changes in “LEVELS OF CRIME”; how BPF interprets their #LawEnforcementPractices; (AS JUSTICE IS SOMETIMES METED OUT IN A HAIL OF GUNPOWDER); #DramatizationRequired, & of course, the “MALEVOLENT DYSFUNCTION” baked into the “JUDICIAL PROCESSES”!!!

D.O.D.D.S, ( #IAmYet2FindAFitAcronym), which is a so-called modern prison designed to hold both remand & sentenced prisoners has a capacity of around 1,000 inmates, but like #PrisonsEverywhere (ESPECIALLY IN THE DAMN DYING MOTHER CUNTRY) #OvercrowdingIsAnIssue!!!

WHEN YOU DO THE MATH ON A BAD DAY

The average cost to house, feed & maintain these “SLITHERING SERPENTS” stands at (A DESPICABLE SUM OF US$17.55 MILLION p/yr) to US$24 MILLION – “MONIES” that can be better “SPENT” & utilized for “ECONOMIC YOUTH DEVELOPMENT” – notwithstanding, infrastructural projects, including, Massive “AGRICULTURAL DEVELOPMENT” across town & hamlet!!!

SEND THESE FOOKERS TO BUKELE – HE WILL HOUSE THE BASTERDS FOR #OneThird THE COST & GUANTANAMO* WILL HAVE THEM FOR THE SAME PRICE

#IGottaSayIt

BAJANS ARE SPINELESS AMOEBAS where “GUN VIOLENCE” & “MURDER” does not make you a “GANGSTAZ” – #SpeakingTruth2Power; #StandingIntheGap & #BringingAboutBloodlessRevolution – “THESE ARE THE TRAITS OF TRUE GANGSTERS”!!!

ALL ELSE IS SATANIC INFILTRATION; HOLLWOODESQUE SUBLIMINAL INDOCTRINATION & THE ANCIENT HISTORICAL CHAINS OF TRANS-ATLANTIC SLAVERY PSYCHOTIC DISORDER – ALL FUSED IN A TICKING TIME-BOMB THAT UNLESS SERIOUSLY ADDRESSED WILL END IN MASS REVOLT, MASS DESTRUCTION & MASS DEATH – BRINGING UNITED STATES ARMED FORCES TO THE SHORES OF A CUNTRY NEAR YOU

#ImDone
    #WhatACuntry
    #WhatAShitHole
    #WhatBedevilment

WHAT’S TRULY EGREGIOUS IN ALL THIS IS THE FACT THAT BLACKFOLKS DO NOT KNOW WHO THEY REALLY ARE ( #SMDHID)

#ScrollDownTo – 32 mins 36 secs in the below VT for a brief educational perspective for those who are still in a quandary!!!

12. @Observing

The signs are there that represent the tip of an iceberg. Are the strategies being shared with the public enough to push back?

13. “By culture, I mean the common and taken-for-granted elements of the way a group of people live.

This includes attitudes, beliefs, values, thought patterns, as well as the more easily observed and quantified elements like behaviours and material goods, created or used.”

Trying to grasp the twist and turns of Adrian Green. I doubt if the average Barbadian have such high notions of culture. I will write at the level that I think the average Barbadian operates at …

I have been away a long time but when I see things/behaviors/actions that I do not recognize, I ask myself a number of question
    Where was this?
    Is it genuine?
    Is it marketed toward tourists?
    I do not know much about culture, but I know that culture may not be static and I know it is something that you cannot pull out of a can.

I think Pacha’s comment nailed both the Green and Beale articles.

14. Beale is a white man, suffering from whitemanitis. Can’t see himself in a mirror. Neither can vampires.

15. guns.

16. In London if we don’t like dem we just gun dem.

I sometimes laugh when I read stories of US shootings about stupidness.

An Jewish man in Miami hated Palestinians and wanted to kill an some Arabs but shot 2 Israeli tourists by mistake/

The victims posted death to Arabs on social media as they thought their attacker was Palestinian too and blamed it on antisemitism.

If this makes no sense you might be able to make sense out of the nonsense in the link below
    https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2025/feb/17/miami-shooting-israeli-men

Dreadlock Soldier, Nuclear Weapon

17. Police being trained for community deployment

POLICE OFFICERS have been trained and are being trained in how to deal with members of the public and communities as the Barbados Police Service looks to deploy more resources in districts.

That is according to Commissioner of Police Richard Boyce who was speaking in the Well of the House of Assembly yesterday as Parliament debated The Appropriation Bill, 2025. He said several steps were being taken to make Barbadians feel safe and secure.

“So whether it is in the business community, whether it is in the school environment, wherever these persons are, we train our officers and we train them also when it comes to interacting and engaging members of the public. [We] look at how our resources are deployed and whether or not each and every department is pulling the way we asked them to pull.

“One glaring example which we engage to deal with members of the public . . . is to relook the way we deploy members of the Barbados Police Service Band. So the band . . . is one of the areas which we employ to get members into the community, have that face-to-face contact, engagement, and bring that level of camaraderie to members of the public and reassurance where the service is delivered,” Boyce stated.

Police have been heavily engaging in the problem areas of Haynesville, St James; Silver Hill and Silver Sands in Christ Church; The Pine and Deacons in St Michael, the Commissioner said, adding there were other areas where the presence of the police need to be felt.

“It has been a whole roll-out of holding the hands of persons in these communities and reassuring them that we are their friends. There are times when we have to engage and probably arrest someone, but our approach . . . would be one of doing it in a humane manner so that members of the public would not be our enemies, but would be our brothers and sisters for one common purpose – that is having persons settled in their homes,” he said.

(AC)

18. AG: Still shortfall in cops despite upgrades

DESPITE SOME SUCCESS in recruiting more personnel, the Barbados Police Service (BPS) has still not been able to resolve what Attorney General Dale Marshall has called “the 290 deficit that we have”.

He noted that with more females than males applying to join the BPS in recent years, the authorities were building dormitories to accommodate their interest. Still, fewer people overall were choosing the profession.

However, Marshall said despite the fact that Barbados was no longer losing police officers to other jurisdictions, and Government was moving to improve remuneration and conditions of service for the police while also seeking to lower the retirement age, the BPS was still short of the numbers it required.

The Senior Minister gave the update yesterday as debate on the Appropriation Bill, 2025, began in the House of Assembly. The budget for the Attorney General’s Office, as outlined in the 2025-2026 Estimates, is $158.3 million, most of it for the BPS.

Responding to a question from St Thomas Member of Parliament Cynthia Forde, who asked about plans to recruit more police officers, he said that “policing, unfortunately, has not been as attractive for young people as before”.

“We have had numbers of individuals applying for the police service and I can give you some of those statistics. In 2020 we had 381 persons applying for the police service – 188 were male, 193 were female,” he reported.

“In 2021, we had 286 people applying for the police service. Of that 286, 133 were male, 153 were females. In 2022 we had 132 applying – 68 males, 64 females. In 2023 [there were] 197 applicants, 87 were male, 110 were female. In 2024 we had 163 applicants – 88 females and 75 males.”

Building dormitories

Marshall explained that while more females than males were applying, “unfortunately, the police training school, as it is physically made up, is made up to accommodate more male recruits than female recruits”.

“We are building dormitories to accommodate an additional 60 recruits, so that . . . we will now have space to accept more females . . . because if more females are applying, there is no basis for artificially reducing the numbers of females in favour of males.”

He recalled that around 2021 there was a passing out parade for only 18 people joining the service.

“Happily, as a result of . . . an aggressive recruitment drive, last year I think we had 57 officers passing out. The year before that . . . I think we had 60. So you’ve actually seen the numbers increasing. But bear in mind that while you are having an increase in recruitment, it is not a large enough increase to take care of the 290 deficit that we have.

“Moreover, we also have to factor in that individuals are also retiring; individuals, regrettably, are dying; individuals are changing careers; individuals are having to leave the service because of of medical challenges,” Marshall added. (SC)

19. 359 guns seized

. . . but Marshall unsure of how big a dent made

BETWEEN 2021 AND 2024, there were 359 guns taken off the streets by police but there is no way of knowing how many are being smuggled into Barbados, Attorney General Dale Marshall said yesterday.

He was speaking from the Well of the House of Assembly where debate on the Appropriation Bill, 2025, which covers part of the expenditure in the 2025-2026 Estimates, began with the Attorney General’s Office, which is being allocated $158 million, with $70 million going to the Barbados Police Service.

“Because the guns were coming in illegally through our ports of entry, we have no idea how big a dent that number, 359, represents and we know that guns don’t dry rot, they last long,” he said.

Marshall said he was not into the blame game but the crime situation did not arise overnight and just as it took decades to develop, it will take some time to resolve, though not decades.

“Our crime situation is a serious problem and it will take a serious effort, and it will take time. So for all of those who think that there’s a magic wand to be waved, please think again. What I do know, though, is that we, as a country, are up to the task. The situation isn’t dire, but it is serious.

“It is a problem that must be tackled at multiple levels. It must be tackled by multiple players at the same time. The gun-toting vagabonds did not all of a sudden start to exhibit this kind of villainy a day in November or a day in August,” the Attorney General stated.

There have been “undeniable progression” in the number of homicides over the years along with the progression of the use of firearms, he told fellow parliamentarians.

He pointed out that in 1987, there were 24 homicides – two from firearm use; in 1988 there were 21 – six by firearms; in 1990 there were 30 – five by firearms, and by 1999, there were 23 – nine as a result of firearms.

Marshall went on to list that in 2001, of the 25 murders, ten were by firearms and a year later 15 of the 25 homicides were gun-related. That trend continued upward, with last year’s 49 homicides, 34 of which were by the gun.

“The role of Government is severely circumscribed. We don’t reach into people’s homes. We will not shirk in passing any laws, we will not shirk in equipping the police and we’ve not, but we cannot legislate morality. We cannot legislate respect for life or property. We cannot legislate against callousness.

“We cannot legislate decency and kindness and respect and thoughtfulness into the bosoms of any Barbadian. These are not values that can be inculcated by governments. These are values that have to be inculcated in human beings through human interaction. The point is, Sir, that we all have a stake in this. We all have a role to play in making Barbados a safer place,” said the Member of Parliament for St Joseph.

He stressed that crime could not be viewed in isolation, as criminal networks were increasingly operating across the region.

In addressing concerns raised by Leader of the Opposition Ralph Thorne, Marshall pointed to intelligence showing clear links between gangs in Barbados, Jamaica, Trinidad and St Lucia. He warned that while the legal trade has long connected Caribbean nations, so too have criminal enterprises.

“Individuals move across the region, sometimes under the guise of music, sometimes under the guise of a holiday, but we always have to be on alert to track how the criminal elements are moving up and down,” he said.

Marshall also acknowledged a troubling rise in homicides across CARICOM states, underscoring the urgency of a coordinated regional response. He revealed that following a meeting in Guyana last November, leaders agreed to establish a task force led by a senior CARICOM jurist with each country contributing to legal draftsmen, criminologists and other experts to shape a unified crimefighting strategy.

“This task force will be the crucible in which the strategies the region adopts will be formulated,” he said.

(AC/AM)

20. Marshall now understands that there are no overnight solutions; he now understands that there is no political solution to crime ,and all the nonsense that he engaged in when he was in opposition is now being exposed . He has been given two tries at Attorney General and on both occasions there were more murders and eventually it reached record numbers. But, this is the nonsense that these two parties get away with and the people continue to embrace the brassbowlery.
    We suspect that Marshall could very well be considering relieving himself as a MP and may not contest the next general election. It would be a great relief to both him and the country. He’s been a complete failure .

21. Looks like you got a fresh supply of really bad weed. The standards of your posts are on the decline….
    I was determined to keep quiet, but I decided to speak out as bad weed can be harmful.
    Stay safe, my friend.

22. I hate talking to you but..
    The Bush has copied your mindlessness repetitive one-dimensional comments it is the part of the Bajan mindset that is 20 years behind

23. @William

The flipside is to be perplexed about DLP supporters pressuring Marshall at a time when holding government scanners were not operational for years. We cannot make this up can we?

24. Barbados toying with the idea of recruiting foreign for the Barbados Police Service.

25. How can CoP Richard Boyce promise robust community policing if the force is short man power like the Auditor General’s Office?

26. @ David
    Exactly !! Senseless politicking in all vital areas:
    Crime , Education, Health , Housing. How long can we put up with these two empty vessels keeping nothing but noise…

27. It is being reported that Minister in the Attorney General’s Office Corey Lane is being questioned by the police as the blogmaster types this comment. We wait.

https://www.instagram.com/p/DGObFclNh50/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link&igsh=MzRlODBiNWFlZA==

28. How can CoP Richard Boyce promise robust community policing if the force is short man power like the Auditor General’s Office?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    This is Brassbados Boss…!!
    ANY promise can fly… and be a comfort to brass… ESPECIALLY the Press…

But the CLASSIC from the COP was his response to Weir’s question about enforcing the new laws on praedial larceny…
    Essentially, it seems that this is a difficult task for the police – because these crimes tends to occur in the dark at night, and the areas are generally bushy (NOT ‘Bushie’ 🙂 )..

Now if the thieves would simply operate in broad daylight, and in more open areas, then the Service would be much better placed to deal with this matter..
    ha ha ha – oh shirt!!!
    Bushie almost dEd wid laff!!!

Look Boss..
    If Bushie was you, he would take down that BU request for the COP to respond to that matter 192 days ago….

Stop beating a dead police horse do!!…

29. @Bush Tea

The CoP has a boss?

Who holds him accountable?

What about his management team? Are they spineless?

30. @Bushie ”, and the areas are generally bushy”

One would think that said police never had to venture deep into bush.

Ah well, more is their loss.

31. Well we talk bout culture and make big statements about how important our culture is and the importance of things like The Holetown Festival recently, yet in the dark of night others plan to disrupt the Holetown Monument and historical sight. The island is for sale so brek fuh your self.

Now given this twin head approach how do you expect different from these guys? You running a money grab as a state and surprised these young fellows looking to money grab too? Look let me put it real simple by saying WE HAVE LOST CONTROL OF OUR ROADS AND OUR COUNTRY BY EXTENSION. Those responsible for acting to protect us are either unwilling or unable to act, as the answers to this problem seem insurmountable for our government.

Mr. AG SIR WHAT’S THE PLAN?

32. I see Muhdear prevailed upon the police to issue an apology to the Right Honourable Anthony “Gabby” Carter, Barbados’ own cultural ambassador.

They have apologised to the honourable 76 year old gentleman accused of rape, a crime in most jurisdictions.

https://www.facebook.com/TheChaseFilesBlog/videos/barbados-police-service-apologizes-to-the-right-hon-dr-anthony-mighty-gabby-cart/2072093629920726/

33. It is mind boggling that a man like John, who has spent a significant number of years in court litigating a family feud, cannot appreciate the legal doctrine that a person is presumed innocent until proven guilty. Also he is unable to understand the decision by the BPS to offer an apology because of a tasteless and unprofessional video released by them on Monday.

The blogmaster continues to be amazed at how our education system is failing us.

34. Touchy this morning, aren’t we!

35. Armed robbery in Six Roads, St. Philip earlier today. That’s at least 9 armed robberies (by my count) for the year so far (and 9 homicides too).

https://www.barbadoscrimeblog.com/category/armedrobbery/

36. Amit et al,

Because the powers that be have become soft on crime. Any gun crime should result in five to ten years of hard labour.

Any invasion of private property, mugging, burglary two to five years of hard labour.

With the issue of climate change, the shore needs a vast amount of gabions built and placed.

Use the prison labour..start at 4:00 am when it is cool and end at 12:00pm.

Eight hours a day of good labour.

I cannot understand how allegedly, perpetrators of a crime shot at police and then paraded outside the court as if they were celebrities.

Shooting at the police should have resulted in a barrage of returned fire.

Too darned soft on crime, allowing a lot of disreputable characters to frighten common citizens.

37. @ Horsemeat
    Skippa, how can someone be hard on crime when they KNOW that it can come back to haunt them?
    They may be brass bowls and incompetent, but their conscience still clicks…

It is very hard for a lazy boss to fire a lazy employee..
    ..for a big thief to reprimand a petty thief
    ..for a politician to be hard on crime…

We get the results that we choose via our leaders.
    When we get ourselves some leaders who are open themselves to integrity and transparency -BECAUSE THEY OPERATE ABOVE BOARD
    …ONLY THEN can we expect to see a hard line on criminals, and reduced crime.

38. Bush Tea
    February 21, 2025 at 7:31 am

Off to the pavilion I go, just got clean bowled.

Ah well.

39. Underlying this crime challenge is that we are comfortable operating in a business as usual mode.