Peter Thompson - Welcome Stamp
By Peter Thompson

Barbados stands at a decisive crossroads in its modern history—a juncture where the moral weight of centuries collides with the clarion call for a just future. Few sites more powerfully embody this intersection than Drax Hall Plantation. Having endured as a monument to one of humanity’s darkest chapters, Drax Hall was among the earliest sugar plantations established in the Caribbean and was central to the entrenched system of enslaving Africans for profit. Given Drax Hall’s pivotal role in Barbados’s history of enslavement, its expropriation emerges as a crucial step towards reparatory justice, bridging the gap between symbolic acknowledgments and tangible actions that address the ongoing impacts of slavery.

Historical Context and International Recognition of Wrongdoing

The transatlantic trafficking and enslavement of African people were, without equivocation, crimes against humanity. This is not a matter of debate or local opinion; it is enshrined in international law. Various United Nations resolutions, along with the 2001 Durban Declaration, unequivocally acknowledge the criminality of slavery and the moral and legal obligation to address its continuing impacts. Barbados, like many other Caribbean nations, finds itself at the nexus of this global acknowledgement and local imperative to rectify a deep historical injustice. Drax Hall Plantation is the proceeds of crime.

Drax Hall, established in the 17th century, became a blueprint for an economic model that relied on the forced labour of enslaved Africans. The plantation’s owners amassed great wealth on the backs of people who were not only uprooted from their homelands but also subjected to relentless brutality, forced to work in harsh, life-threatening conditions. The mortality rates on such plantations were staggering, a testament to the inhumane living and working conditions. These practices inflicted generational trauma that resonates in the lives of descendants today, manifesting in social inequities, economic disparities, and cultural loss.

Why Expropriation Is Warranted

Calls for reparations have always been grounded in the principle that beneficiaries of unjust enrichment have a duty to remedy the harm inflicted. In the case of Drax Hall, the lineage of ownership has remained within a family that profited from this system of exploitation. This continuity of ownership underscores a glaring injustice: while descendants of the enslaved continue to grapple with economic, social, and psychological repercussions of enslavement, the descendants of enslavers have retained control of an asset whose very foundation was constructed upon uncompensated labour and inhumane suffering.

Expropriation, when lawfully executed under the Barbadian statutes and in alignment with international legal norms, is neither an act of revenge nor a punitive measure aimed at a specific family. Rather, it is a corrective step, an instrument of restorative justice. The process should be undertaken transparently and fairly, with provision for dialogue and negotiation that reflects contemporary legal standards—though it must be recognized that no monetary transaction can fully balance the scales for centuries of injustice.

Legal Basis for Action

Under international law, particularly within the framework of reparatory justice advocated by institutions such as the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Reparations Commission, states can and should adopt measures that address the profound social and economic disparities borne from slavery. The expropriation of land used for the perpetuation of slavery falls squarely within the scope of reparations discourse. These measures are supported by precedents in other parts of the world where land has been reclaimed to rectify historical injustices.

Barbados, as a sovereign nation, retains the constitutional authority to acquire property in the public interest. The fundamental question is whether the expropriation of Drax Hall qualifies as being in the public interest. Given the documented atrocities that occurred there—atrocities that have shaped the fate of generations of Barbadians—the argument is unquestionably yes. By reclaiming this historical site, the state would be acting to remedy systemic inequities and foster social and economic progress for those who continue to bear the brunt of centuries-old oppression.

A Vision for the Future of Drax Hall

Central to the call for expropriation is the goal of repurposing the land to serve the collective good. One immediate priority would be the establishment of a world-class Museum and Research Centre on Slavery, Resistance, and African Diaspora Heritage—one that not only memorializes the atrocities but also celebrates the cultural resilience of African-descended peoples. Such a centre would invite global scholars, educators, and activists to engage with Barbadian communities, thereby creating new educational and economic opportunities on the island.

Further, any revenue generated from agricultural or heritage tourism initiatives at the former plantation could be funnelled into community development programs that directly assist the descendants of enslaved people. Imagine scholarships for young Barbadians in historically underserved neighborhoods, initiatives to promote entrepreneurship, and sustainable agricultural projects that both honor traditional knowledge and incorporate cutting-edge technologies. This is how the legacy of Drax Hall can be transformed from a site of generational trauma into a beacon of collective upliftment.

Addressing Criticisms

Critics may argue that expropriation sets a dangerous precedent or that contemporary generations cannot be held responsible for the sins of their forebears. These arguments overlook the undeniable fact that the advantages reaped by enslavers and their descendants did not vanish with abolition; they were perpetuated through inherited wealth, property, and societal privilege. Simultaneously, those disadvantages have borne down on the descendants of the enslaved in the form of limited access to land, capital, and developmental opportunities. If Barbados is to move forward in genuine unity and equity, we must confront, rather than sidestep, the root causes of our systemic inequalities.

Conclusion

The expropriation of Drax Hall Plantation would mark a watershed moment in Barbados’s ongoing journey toward healing and justice. It represents a tangible, legal, and moral action that aligns with international human rights standards and the pressing demands of reparatory justice. By taking this historic step, Barbados would not only honour the memory of those who suffered under the yoke of slavery but also foster a future rooted in equity, empowerment, and shared prosperity.

Now is the time for bold leadership. Now is the moment to match our words with actions that ring through the ages. If we are serious about building a Barbados that transcends its painful inheritance, if we truly seek to restore dignity and opportunity to those historically denied both, then we must harness the power of our sovereignty and the legitimacy of international law to expropriate Drax Hall. Our ancestors deserve no less, and our descendants demand no less. Let this be the catalyst for real reparatory change—a landmark decision that echoes across our nation and the world.

70 responses to “Expropriate Drax Hall”

1. Well, this writer unreservedly agrees with every point made!

But would like to note a few larger issues.

If we agree that chattel slavery was a global enterprise in which Barbados played a central role, like Beckles and other scholars have argued, we’ll need to have a model for addressing the ongoing crimes of chattel slavery at global scale, not only by deploying international law. For international might present some problems.

It maybe argued that international law has, of recent, devolved in ‘a rules-based order’ with the same enslavement countries making the rules and changing them as suits them.

Then there is the danger of following the holocaust industrial model for reparations as erected by world Jewry after WW2.

Under that model agencies like the UWI have been making side deals with Western institutions, under the rubric of reparations, and collecting money and things of value, for the university they say, while the living, breathing, descendants of slavery, and we’ll argue the direct inheritors of our foremothers back pay, are left as mere spectators as a new generation of slave masters act in our stead.

If there is to be anything still called international law, it should respect the personal rights of all descendants of slavery to make direct and unencumbered claims to all reparations proceeds.

It certainly does not help the descendants of chattel slavery in Barbados to have a long failed university system purporting to collect reparation in our stead and in exchange miseducating generations of Bajans to the extent where it promotes the continuation of news forms of slavery.

2. Back with this shite?

3. You are the White shit which keeps giving the stench of being on earth.

Certainly, justice requires a fundamental removal!

4. Not many will disagree with Peter’s piece, the question of f Barbados and Caricom if that group is prepared to stand together have the appetite for the blowback that would surely come from the hegemonists.

5. Excellent article by Peter.

I am against paying the Draxes any of our money, because they received hundreds of years of labor for which the did not pay.

John with his usual foolishness needs to sit down and shut up.

6. Peter L. Thompson Avatar
    Peter L. Thompson

@Cuhdear Bajan
    John just provides comic relief… his response simply validates my assertions by being totally empty of any counter arguments.

7. More racist and fascistic claptrap!!

We note with awe that no alternate use for the land has been proposed by the Barbados scholar!!

Typical.

8. What does proposed alternatives use of the land have to do with the central issue? All on this blog know how you identify. Good thing Wilberforce was not of your disposition.

One thing you cannot change is that we live in a majority Black country and the view expressed by Peter is a prevailing one. People of your ilk will never change it.

9. Peter L. Thompson Avatar
    Peter L. Thompson

Just to make sure that nobody is taken in by John’s lies… I am not now nor have I ever been a Barbados Scholar.

10. Peter he obviously used scholar in its generic meaning because of how you conduct yourself in public on the various issues of public concern.

11. Peter L. Thompson Avatar
    Peter L. Thompson

We note with awe that John hasn’t bothered to read the article and find the explicit proposals for alternate use for the land and property.

12. We note with awe, not only that DirtyJohnny did not see the suggestions, but also does not know the difference between “alternate” and alternative.

Peter has submitted a well-ariculated case for the seizure of Drax Hall.

Blowback be damned!

13. David Avatar
    January 24, 2025 at 9:26 am
    1 Vote

What does proposed alternatives use of the land have to do with the central issue?

Looks like David did not read it either!!!

Having established that GOB is cash strapped, how is it going to borrow the funds to buy it and how is it going to pay back?

14. Peter Thopson won a Barbados scholarship in 1975, the same year I won mine!!

I must dig out the front page story from the paper which I have somewhere!!

Could be was an Exhibitionist!!!!!

15. That comment has nothing to do with reading the article but your myopic perspective would let you know that. Confiscating Drax by government should not be contingent on alternative use of the land.

16. Peter L. Thompson Avatar
    Peter L. Thompson

@John, please dig into the official records of Barbados scholars and exhibitionists to correct your fantasy version of history.

17. … meanwhile, you can explain how an unconstitutional government could perform such an action!!

You can’t claim it is to “honour their memory” while at the same time desecrating their graves.

Barbados would be a laughing stock of the world!!

18. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar
    Cuhdear Bajan
    January 24, 2025 at 7:22 am
    1 Vote

Excellent article by Peter.

I am against paying the Draxes any of our money…….!!!

We don’t have any money, the GOB has spent it all.

The only money we have is borrowed from people of the Draxes ilk!!!

19. “Back with this shite?”

The first Drax article was notification to the BU public about what had got the Brit Slavers talking about. This article is a Barbados stew that has been slowly cooked and spiced for Bajan tastes.

Return of the shiteness
    There is just one 3-month old Trump Bu thread written post election, perhaps David could knock up another one along the lines of Constitutional reform pitfalls using USA as a working example where absolute and complete power given to one (wo)man can be abused. Those silly old yanks are now pushing for the 22nd Amendment two term limit to be rescinded.

20. Brilliant!
    Exceptional!
    Excellent!
    I believe that word fails to do justice to Peter’s article.

John needs to know when to keep his mouth shut. Sometimes, the great brain delivers shiite when it attempts to refute a sensible line of reasoning. If you are not up to the task, you gotta know when to walk away, keep your head low and your mouth shut.

21. That Drax Hall and other similar properties in Brassbados have NOT been appropriated by successive BLACK governments – given their history of EVIL against our ancestors – IS A GRAVE INDITEMENT on all of us… and on our DISDAIN for JUSTICE.

Our leareds have instead, chosen to NESTLE with these criminals, and in fact, to MIMIC their traditional approach to dealing with the black masses.

…effectively replacing the old MASSA with new wannabe, albino-centric, political goons.
    steupsss…
    If anything, Peter is being conservative and diplomatic….

22. @Bush Tea

If MAM2 wanted to construct a building a good case would have been made to acquire. Acquiring Drax plantation by a Mottley government does not align with her foreign policy mouthings.

23. Peter L. Thompson Avatar
    Peter L. Thompson

@Bush Tea
    I am indeed “being conservative and diplomatic” because my intent is to provoke action by the Mottley Government. I am not trying to critique their approach to this matter or paint them in a bad light at all.

Last year when Prime Minister Mottley paused payment to the Drax family for part of the estate, she made it clear in a YouTube broadcast that she was not happy with the pace at which discussions were proceeding. She said the government was examining its legal options “not only against the owners of Drax plantation, but also all others who have contributed to the conditions of this country being, regrettably, one of the worst examples of modern racism in the Americas”.

I am giving her encouragement to act decisively in pursuing legal options against Richard Grosvenor Plunkett-Ernle-Erle-Drax.

Ms. Mottley is a very talented politician and not immune from the temptation to leave a lasting legacy to the people of Barbados by having the courage to make this move. Her courage is enhanced when she feels that the common Black people of Barbados have her back. Let us make sure she knows that the people of Barbados will not only support her in expropriating Drax Hall, but that they will remember her courage for generations to come.

24. LOL
    Wunna fellas with bible names like ‘David’ and ‘Peter’ always seem to be conformists -who seek to bring about change from INSIDE the tent…

Bushmen, not so much…
    As one once said, “I come not to bring peace, but a sword…”

25. We live in a world of where ‘intense’ geopolitics is being played with dire consequences. We cannot ignore potential blowback Donna.

26. What good is it for a group to gaineth the home of their original master but to lose the beaches and the land that their ancestors would have both bathed in or toiled on.

I understand the symbolism of Drax’s Hall. However, let’s look at the bigger picture. Bajans are being marginalised both economically and socially. Within the next two generations, Afro Bajans will become an endangered species, out numbered and under the thumb of the majority populations.

We are sleep walking our way into extinction. Sadly, most of us fail to grasp this probability.

If I had not posted the Daily Mail Drax’s Hall link from the British media several years ago we would not be discussing this topic. I seem to recall that the very next day Barbados Today published the story and the rest was history.

All but a small and well informed group would have been aware that the Drax’s family were still haunting Barbados.

Mia has promoted Barbados as having an open economy and would never dream of confiscating Drax’s from his family property that brought nothing but humiliation, death, and misery to our ancestors.

Even the Mottley family mansion has been sacrificed in order to assist in a planned St James’s development which will be a private enclave reserved for the wealthy and the elite. The landscape and the built environment within the proposed development will both naturally and artificially be designed to exclude Bajans. No doubt backed up with security.

This is the sum when blacks mix with Albinos and their oppressors.

PLT please do not rally the sheep by using the word sovereignty. There is no sovereignty in the land of a dictator.

27. NorthernObserver Avatar

“my intent is to provoke action by the Mottley Government”
    That was indeed my takeaway.

Long time, but didn’t PLT win the Aubrey Collymore scholarship? I don’t recall its relation to the Bdos Schlorship or Exhibitions. Those particular years, by my recollection, had a large number of excellent A-level results.

28. David
    January 24, 2025 at 10:28 am

@Bush Tea

If MAM2 wanted to construct a building a good case would have been made to acquire. Acquiring Drax plantation by a Mottley government does not align with her foreign policy mouthings.

…………………. plus, where she going to get de money from? It all spen out.

She will have to beg Mr. Drax for a mortgage which Muhdear will have to provide her land as collateral because Barbados hasn’t got much of a rating.

BTW, what exactly is our rating with lending institutions these days?

Silence from the press indicates it ent much good.

… and Trump ended the Climate Change gravy train!!

29. John

Why don’t you tell the one truism. In this case it is that the USA is broke and going belly up.

However, Trump has not get the memo yet!

30. Allow me to reprise my previous submission on this topic
    ++++++
    Barbados must be the only country in the world where the direct descendants of the enslavers still own the plantation where the ancestors of the population toiled. That the descendants of those slaves who controls the country’s destiny would consider buying the plantation is obscene. Didn’t the Draxes profit enough from the blood,sweat and tears of the slaves? Didn’t the British government compensate the Draxes for the loss of their “assets” when slavery was abolished? The Draxes acquired generational wealth through slavery and they want to twist the knife in our backs by taking the tax dollars of Bajans to fatten their coffers.
    The Barbados government should introduce a singular bill to acquire the plantation sans funds. If Drax is dissatisfied let him petition the British government for redress. Sunak’s government has more than enough to assist a fellow Tory. If the Barbados government is worried about international opprobrium for seizing the estate the PM is very good at pointing out the hypocrisy that is present in those that would dare to criticize its actions.

31. @Peter

We applaud your effort and all of us-although skeptical- have a vested interest in your success.

32. @Bush Tea

There is a time when a scorch earth approach is preferred, are we there yet?

33. TLSN
    January 24, 2025 at 12:59 pm

Mia has promoted Barbados as having an open economy and would never dream of confiscating Drax’s from his family …………

I can’t understand how a reputed scholar can’t figure out the obvious and can create a bunch of donkeys braying in unison!!

It is only you sure you were not a Barbados Scholar?

34. @TLSN

THE Joe’s River matter is mired in our court system and Drax Plantation is on Mottley’s radar. What citizens need to do is have Commisiong earn his 17k salary.

35. @ John January 24, 2025 at 3:04 pm

…………………. plus, where she going to get de money from? It all spen out.

She will have to beg Mr. Drax for a mortgage which Muhdear will have to provide her land as collateral because Barbados hasn’t got much of a rating.
    (Unquote).

Why don’t you employ those ‘brilliant’ skills you possess in researching documents pertaining to the ‘good ole’ days of slavery and produce the records showing the TITLE DEEDS that the Drax Family hold to those lands making up that museum considered ‘ideal’ for the memory of chattel slavery?

Why not show us those title deeds stipulating how much ‘English’ money was paid to the indigenous people of Barbadoes aka Ichirouganaim?

Why should a modern-day Bajan government pay for land that was stolen in the first instance?

The costs of “improvements” to that property over the centuries were certainly recovered many times over in the huge profits earned through the blood, sweat and tears of the black slaves who were seen as mere chattels.

Any proposal to pay the Drax family for the land must take into consideration the ‘reparations’ due to the descendants those black slaves of Barbados equivalent to the amount paid to the same Drax family as compensation for the loss of their chattel property aka (nig**ers) in the 1830’s to 1840’s:

John’s latest descendant, Richard Erle Drax is now the Member of Parliament for South Dorset. He is also the biggest private landowner in Dorset, controlling more than 15,000 acres of the county.”

PS: Any coincidence that the recipient of such a large sum of “blood money” should share the same name as our modern-day racist Johnny on BU?

36. Peter L. Thompson Avatar
    Peter L. Thompson

January 24, 2025 at 4:20 pm
    @Peter
    We applaud your effort and all of us-although skeptical- have a vested interest in your success

It is my experience, David, that we as citizens have much more power than we give ourselves credit for. I understand that you doubt the prospect of victory in this fight

But courage is defined as the willingness to spare no effort towards victory even when, especially when, victory is uncertain.

We as Bajans need such courage. There is no downside to acting with determination and hope even while you may be skeptical. So gird your loins and use less of the discouraging language.

Victory is not certain if we act with determination and optimism, but defeat is inevitable if we succumb to self doubt and discouraging language.

We have a choice, and I choose the chance of victory. Join me.

37. @Peter

Of course we will join you.

38. What is the role of David Commisiong and Trevor Prescod is this matter?

39. NO

It is inconceivably strange that PYT could have won an Aubrey Collymore Scholarship, far less accepted it.

The Aubrey Collymore Scholarship was named after Captain Hubert Aubrey Collymore who went missing presumed killed in action at Kemmel on 17th April 1918. He was a former student at Harrison College where PYT and myself also received our education.

http://tonbridgeatwar.daisy.websds.net/Authenticated/ViewDets.aspx?RecID=81&TableName=ta_factfile

The Collymore family, spelt in early maps as Cullimore, were neighbours of Henry Drax. In 1696, a Collymore widow owned 190 acres almost next door to Henry Drax.

The Collymore family also appears in 1797 owning Haggatt Hall Plantation, 400 acres and 189 slaves.

The highest valued male slave was £100, female £80 and boy £75.

Drax

40. PLT 5:01

You remind us of a military general rallying the troops at battle centre, having cut the enemy off on the flanks.

“If the strong does not win, he is defeated. If the weak is not defeated, he wins!”

41. I have spent the whole day trying to rationalise PYT’s behaviour and the only words that came to mind are words my grandfather often spoke when confronted by such behaviour,…..

It is “scandalous …. ridicalous”.

42. David
    January 24, 2025 at 4:24 pm

@TLSN

THE Joe’s River matter is mired in our court system and Drax Plantation is on Mottley’s radar. What citizens need to do is have Commisiong earn his 17k salary.

Go check the Constant matter!!

Constant Sylvester was a quaker, like Drax in the 17th century.

I hear there is a decision … after 10 years.

43. You might find this interesting.

44. £4,293 in 1838 is worth £608,207.22 today or about $1,517,077.82 Barbados dollars.

And since the British government of the day did not have the cash in hand to pay out the slave masters they borrowed in from banks and did not finish the repayment until 2015,which means that many of our parents/siblings etc. who worked and paid taxes in the UK from the post Second European War period [about 1945] to 2015 were in effect taxed so that people like the Draxes could receive millions in cash.

45. Of course the British government was also “unfairing” ie. over taxing ordinary white working and middle class Britons who were saddled with this debt, but who largely did not profit from the slave trade as the profits stayed within the pockets of a small number of the super wealthy, a good number of whom were self interested members of the House of Lords passing laws to further enrich the super rich like themselves.

46. Cuhdear Bajan
    January 25, 2025 at 12:12 am

£4,293 in 1838 is worth £608,207.22 today or about $1,517,077.82 Barbados dollars.

You really don’t understand how compound interest works or your own history.

Quakers were investing in education for slaves in Barbados for several centuries.

You have used a relatively short time period but try adding another 150 years to the number of years you plugged into your compound interest calculator and see what happens!!

£20 from 1682 is worth £96,778,991.70 today at 8% interest!!

That’s 96 million pounds today, you can do whatever conversion you like.

That’s what the Quaker owners of Buckley Plantation gave to vestry in 1682, but not as a one time gift to compound for 384 years, but every year for 384 years.

Into your compound interest calculator, plug in a yearly contribution of £20 for each year!!

That is trillions of pounds today … in fact at 8% it is £1,982,075,096,301,204.50!!

It was to fund the Free School at Turnpike in St. George which was to educate the children of freed slaves.

Drax was another contributor to the school!!

Combermere claims its origins today from that school.

The Quakers were freeing slaves in Barbados from 1657!!

Try this compound interest calculator at monkeychimp.com!!

http://www.moneychimp.com/calculator/compound_interest_calculator.htm

47. How do supposedly intelligent people on this blog use a financial calculation to attempt to justify that slavery was morally justified? Money calculation CANNOT justify or compensate what is a historical wrong.

48. I am not justifying slavery assuming you are referring to me as an intelligent person.

Life is unfair but there is always a silver lining.

I can see that, many people can.

Ultimately, Armageddon will see the slaying of all unbelievers, slave and free.

Pretty horrible but true.

The silver lining will be that the believers who live in the hope of the resurrection will rise in Christ.

Without the Roman Empire and its roads, the Word of God, Christ, would not have spread throughout the old world.

Without the British Empire and its maritime power, the Word would not have reached all corners of the New World.

Forget slavery, capitalism and every distraction and you will see that it was always about the spreading of the Word of God.

The Roman Empire and the British Empire have both vaporised but all mankind has been exposed to the Word of God.

The stage is set and all will be revealed!!