Houses tend to become dilapidated when the owners stop maintaining the properties or die. To prevent dilapidated abandoned houses from becoming unsanitary nuisances, the Environmental Protection Department (EPD) first warns homeowners, and if there is no improvement, takes the drastic step of demolishing the house.

Prior to November 2019, the EPD mainly demolished derelict timber-walled houses. After November 2019, approximately 88% of all derelict houses demolished by the EPD were stone masonry-walled houses.

DEMOLISHING STRUCTURALLY STABLE HOUSES.

While derelict timber-walled houses may be rotten to the point where it is more economical to rebuild than repair, derelict stone masonry-walled houses may be economically repaired. The new Retrofit Manual (2023) for houses in Barbados includes a section on strengthening stone masonry houses.

After inspecting a house with a demolition notice and finding the walls structurally stable, I wrote the EPD requesting a stay on the demolition of stone masonry houses until the repair costs may be determined. The EPD noted that only the affected property owners could apply for such stays and they did not have a mandate to repair. I have since inspected several derelict stone masonry houses that were economically repairable.

I support the demolition of derelict timber-walled houses and the clean-up of unsanitary debris within and around all derelict houses. However, the recent urgency to demolish structurally stable stone-masonry houses that may be easily repaired is concerning. Perhaps the following solution may be considered.

A SOLUTION.

Rather than demolish structurally stable stone-masonry houses, perhaps we can spend the demolition money paying unemployed persons to learn to rehabilitate the houses. The property owners may provide the building materials.

If a property owner is unwilling or unable to provide the building materials, then the Government may provide the homeowner with the following options. Either the house will be demolished, or the Government will provide the materials, and then rent out the rehabilitated house for as long as necessary to recover the rehabilitation costs.

This solution should benefit: the homeowner, the Government, unemployed persons and the national economy. It should especially help at-risk youth, including those who left secondary school with no academic qualifications and those recently released from prison with no job prospects. The Government may include this initiative in its Construction Gateway Training.

RESTORING A LOST ART.

We have generally lost the art of stone masonry construction in Barbados, which was common in the colonial era. When these buildings are demolished, they are no longer part of our built heritage. Since November 2019, the EPD published scheduled demolition notices for 915 stone masonry houses. At the EPD’s current demolition rate, stone masonry houses will soon be a rare sight in Barbados.

The available options appear to be to either stop demolishing structurally stable stone-masonry derelict houses and repair them to benefit everyone, or continue with the stated aim of removing all vestiges of colonialism from Barbados’ landscape – to please a few.

Grenville Phillips II is a Doctor of Engineering, a Chartered Structural Engineer. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

72 responses to “Removing Vestiges”

1. @Grenville “should benefit: the homeowner, the Government, unemployed persons and the national economy.”

In addition repairing instead of “licking down” would make more rental houses available, and perhaps keep the cost of rents at a modest level
    I often don’t agree with Grenville but I like these suggestions.

2. But I don’t see the old stone houses as vestiges of colonialism. Some of these buildings are only 50 to 100 years old, and built by craftsmen of my father’s generation.

Some years ago my old elementary school had fallen into serious disrepair. Then I was heartened to see that sensibly the Ministry repaired the building. put it back into use, and it remains a stabilizing force in a rural working class community, a place where children can still walk from home to school and back.

3. CB:

The colonial period ended in 1966, 59 years ago.

4. Wondering what “economically repairable” means.
    If the projected rent is say $3000/MTH, then over a 5yr payback, roughly a max budget of $180,000? Or is it done based on Value today, vs Value after repair.
    I’m suspecting to be habitable, several will require more than masonry repair?
    Is the owner bound beyond the payback period to rent?

5. https://youtu.be/paKKuKNgx4o?si=0Qq1bXwKTrX7qg2O

https://youtu.be/VQPsKSeLn7k?si=1i28j9AqBePa1tV8

These assholes you walk around with such jaded ideas are and purposely, maybe even religiously, or ignorantly misreading our fundamental and existential predicaments.

As armed with their contrived doctorates and presumed social pedigree, ill-gotten generational wealth, they feel, and what the great PLT astutely coined as a faux “respectability” they merely distinguish themselves by being asswipes for the devil itself!

Then, there are some who dislike Youtube videos but how else can these points be better demonstrated. Bajans are still best disposed to the foreigner!

For the former, these classist predeterminations always seem to rest on the axis of distributing blame for all the ills their percieved petite bourgoise social class itself has wrought, to the many.

But a raasssssoul revolution “cums”! And it will wipe the snead grins from their ugly faces!

6. @George

Can we start from the acceptance that something needs to be done and without a doubt is has to be government led?

7. It seems ‘silly’ we have too many derelict and abandon properties on a 166 square mile island AND government successive governments continue to consume open spaces to plant contract. The latest announcement by government 600 house targeting low income to be constructed at Seales.

HOUSING DEVELOPMENT
    GOVT TO BUILD 600 AFFORDABLE HOMES AT SEARLES
    The government on Friday unveiled plans to build 600 affordable and resilient homes on 18.3 acres of State land in Searles, Christ Church, repurposing land originally earmarked for a school in a bid to tackle the country’s housing shortage.
    Minister of Housing, Lands and Maintenance Dwight Sutherland outlined plans for the development in the House of Assembly which will also include community amenities.
    The houses are to be resistant to fire, termites, water and mould.
    “This draft of vested lands in the National Housing Corporation is in keeping with the focus of this government on building out the housing infrastructure—not only for housing but for affordable and resilient housing,” he said.
    Sutherland told the House that the land, originally acquired by the previous administration in 2016 for the construction of a secondary school, has been reassigned to meet the country’s urgent housing needs: “We have sought to build out the educational infrastructure with a view to allocating schools in various locations. Searles is not one of those locations. So, we have seen it fit to allocate this land for housing.”
    The development will feature a mix of single-family homes, duplexes, quadruplexes and six-plexes, with further plans to include a commercial centre and recreational green spaces.
    Voicing her support for the initiative, Minister of Education and area MP Kay McConney noted the project’s potential to address what she said were long-standing housing challenges in her constituency and across the island.
    “I am told that there will be about 134 lots as part of this housing solution, and the intention is for the homes to be cost-effective,” the St Philip West MP said. “We trust that it will be so for the majority of the people of Barbados and certainly those of St Philip West.”
    McConney commended the houses’ resilient features: “Far too many residents, particularly in my constituency, live in homes damaged by termites or other issues. Some are even afraid to walk in their own homes at night for fear the flooring might collapse under them.”
    She stressed that housing is not just about providing shelter but improving quality of life and family stability.
    “When people live in safe and adequate housing, it reduces overcrowding, improves health, and supports educational outcomes for children,” McConney said. “Studies show that children learn better and families thrive when their living conditions are secure and stable.”

Source: BT
    (SM)

8. Notwithstanding Pacha’s last irrational rant, This missive from Grenvile is an example of BASIC common sense, of the kind that seems to defy comprehension from brass bowls in Brassbados.
    One of the biggest problems that Government seeks to address is that of housing.
    In fact, they have come up with idiotic schemes to build 10,000 houses to satisfy the HUGE demand (which, by the way, is driven by government’s OWN ill-conceived aim to provide ‘cheap homes’ to people, in an envirinment where GOVERNMENT ITSELF has encouraged very high commercial cost for land and housing – WUH obviously every Tom, Dick and Harry will apply for a free house…)

So we have seen ‘STEAL house’ fiascos, HOPE fading, The DLP’s Grotto idiocy ….and yet we persists with these big projects – WHERE MONEY CAN EASILY BE MADE TO DISAPPEAR INTO BRASS BOWL HOLES.

Meanwhile, we have tens of thousands of UNUSED houses and lots, sitting IDLE and deteriorating for a variety of often petty reasons…
    -Owners died and children can’t agree..
    -Needed repairs too expensive for owners
    -Legal complications

How can it not be intuitive, instead of wasting HUNDREDS OF MILLIONS building those little modern slave huts- like Lancaster etc, to create a scheme where these valuable resources are rehabilitated and put onto the market for sale or rental?

It ALSO addresses the problem of unkempt lots in housing developments, creates employment, improves beautification and enhances health and cleanliness.

No wonder we have no interest is something like this…
    It would be MUCH harder to make $$$MILLIONS of taxpayers dollars disappear without any trace…

..and it makes too much BB sense.

What a place!!

9. Bridgetown Pierhead rendering of Condos?

10. @ David
    This picture feature sweet as shiite Boss…. 🙂
    A picture is worth 1000 words.

These are the kinds of things that we see before bankruptcy.
    Bushie would never forget the Six Roads project….. or the British American Insurance Building …. or….

11. @Bush Tea

The blogmaster is tired.

12. So wait why government don’t lead by example and do something with the old Hospital and not let the Parros burn down each building? Solid old soft stone structures there on a premium piece of real estate. Or is that ear marked for certain white shadow developers too? What happening with the Savvy saga or that talk dead now?

Who will benefit from moving the Holetown monument to free up space for another hotel? Who is the ” private investor” that we changing history for ?

David I with you.i tired

13. @John A

Unfortunately too many citizens have zoned out or on the verge of. Yes we must look at the positives but it cannot be smart to ignore the realities of the situation which threaten to derail our stable society. It is the one thing we had going for us and why Barbados was out on a pedestal as a model Black country.

14. I forget to ask what we doing with the old geriatric hospital buildings when the new one open? There was talk about moving the defence force and making way for development. That mean more hotels. Don’t mind the history and the historic buildings push them down. What wunna doing with the old prison?

Talk cheap but clearly these people who represent us got too much time on dem hands to talk ****.

15. @ David

I am feeling like we are fast becoming a state where anything and everything is for sale. We like a brek old man who would sell his shirt for $5. When you start tampering with historic buildings and monuments so as to get a few dollars, you got to know how cash strapped we must be! We have lost our pride as a country as we run behind every dollar we can find like the Parros in the city. Then we wonder how the young get so too.

I watching close what going happen at Graham Hall Sanctuary. I looking for Condos to fly up there and the wetland to have to brek for itself. Let we see what the TCP going let happen there.

16. A very good article by GP2.

“I watching close what going happen at Graham Hall Sanctuary. I looking for Condos to fly up there and the wetland to have to brek for itself. Let we see what the TCP going let happen there”

You forgot to add the neglected Chancery Lane swamp. But never mind. All is disposable at the right price

https://www.tlcbarbados.com/chancery-lane-wetland

17. @ Gp2,
    What are your thoughts on moving Oistins municipal buildings to a higher location? Mia believes that this location is best suited for tourism.

These are all land marked buildings and trace a significant period of our development.

With this logic one could argue that every old structure in Barbados is at risk of demolition if it’s perceived to stall our economic development. Several years ago, i used a word to describe this: Philistines. These corrupt philistines have all but destroyed Barbados.

Some of us fail to understand that our constitution does not protect what should be our inalienable right to conserve the rights of our people to conserve what is ours: land, sea, water, air, beach, gullies, wetlands and our built environment.

Constitutional or revolutionary change? It is for the domestic Bajan to decide which way to go.

18. @ TLSN

Sorry yes you are right I forgot the Chancery Lane wetland completely. That ain’t got the gravy in it though that Graham Hall got in it. I was told this week that a portion of what the “philanthropist” purchased at Graham Hall already has permission for development, although “not specified as of yet.”

That area should never of been sold to anyone. That should of been protected park land similar to Barclay’s Park in St Joseph but leased to an operator as is Harrisons Cave. The state had a right to acquire Graham Hall for generations to come, but instead dem studying “we gathering” while watching irreplaceable narional assets slip away, which we know will end up being more condos for sale to foreigners.

Lord when is enough ever enough dear leaders and what do wunna deam as worthy that should be protected for Bajans, today and in the future? No answer expected just wondering aloud.

19. @David
    http://epd.gov.bb.66-147-237-194.preview.visionnova.net/Downloads/Annual_Report.aspx
    We too love to point fingers at government. As representatives of tax payers, what needs resolving first is abandonment. To demolish a structure and then try to recoup demolition costs, plus a variety of other outstanding amounts, like taxes, services etc should be beyond the remit of EPD.
    Hence my query, is to avoid another situation, where taxpayers monies are spent with minimal hope of recovery.

20. @George

Seems to be another issue mired in a quagmire of bureaucracy.

21. NorthernObserver Avatar

I’d also note, here we a department, EPD, which even through the last admin provided Annual Reports. They even continued through ’18 & ’19, then ENDED after a combined ’20-21 report.
    How anybody can conclude it is NOT this administration of the GoB intent, to CEASE all reporting is beyond me. This report historically provided numerical information withOUT audits. No shortage of accounting talent, whether real or fictional, required.
    The right to RECALL is needed.

22. @NO

Is the right for citizens to recall a government in the recommendations of the CRC?

23. @ David

Recall and replace with who?

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

I haven’t a clue. Yet, when an elected body gets this far off course, to be forced to wait years for recourse is a flaw.
    Many Boards of public traded companies now have annual elections. No more 3 or 5yr terms. You can achieve 5 years, but it is reviewed and voted on annually.

25. I would just like them to listen to the people and thereby reflect on what THEY want as opposed to doing as they wish. This Holetown issue for example signals a dangerous turning point in our history of governance. It is boiling down to what is our past worth and will everything have a $ dollar sign on it going forward. Then these same people at Holetown Festival will be up front and center talking about ” protecting we culture.” Total hypocrisy!

26. NorthernObserver Avatar

This….you cannot govern without an extended term to “see results” is bullshit.
    It is for the protection of the elected, not the benefit of those electing them.
    And naturally, because of points made in election funding in the FPTP vs PR, you’ll hear it cannot be afforded. Voters don’t want it. Neither do voters want to be taken advantage of, and promised things which cannot be delivered.

27. @John A

The expectation is that an elected government knowing the people had the power to recall would be driven more to holding itself accountable.

28. @John A

What is happening at Holetown is no different to what has happened in the past.

29. @ David

Just remember to alter your toursit brochures and let the tour busses know you moved a historic site to facilitate one more hotel. But dont worry still beg the Europeans to come.

Try a stunt like that in Nelson Dockyard in Antigua and the Antiguans would march. Then again 2 different outlooks for sure between us and them.

Wait though who is the Developer bidding at the spot in Holetown I didn’t catch his name? So we moving Holetown Police station and the drive in public access to the south of it too along with the restaurant on the beach behind it also?

30. Duguiid is reported to have said” So, I don’t imagine that there could be any debate whatsoever about this.”

Is he really saying to Bajans to stfu?

31. @John A

You must have heard the Senior Minister of Projects William Duguid quoted in the media recently that there is at least one financier ready to build a 200 room hotel behind Limegrove and there are no available artisans to complete the project. This is where we are today.

32. ” Dr Duguid explained that Trents was previously zoned as a Zone 1 protected watershed, thus preventing development on the land, but was now classified as Zone B, after a rezoning exercise by the government.”

Another wtf moment but I doan live down dey.

33. @ Hants

Wait you didnt think it was only the monument that was moving ? No sir check and see what happening to the rest of buildings in that cluster back to the sea and south to the public access for boat launching. Tell Dugood come and share the proposed area as outlined so we can all see it.

What do in the dark does come to light!

34. @David January 18, 2025 at 4:25 pm “What is happening at Holetown is no different to what has happened in the past.”

Isn’t this the exact same thing that happened at Speightstown during the early years of the first Owen Arthur administration? I recall that the post office and the library were both shifted to the land side, and the library shifted to an upper floor when sensible people know that public service areas in libraries are ideally on the ground floor for ease of access to children, old people, disabled people, parents carrying children etc. I haven’t visited Speightstown for a few months but my recollection then is that those buildings are still boarded up nearly 20 years later. I guess the “developers” who coveted the beachside land lost interest, lost money in a recession or bad investments, or found better fish to fry in a better place.

Fortunately “Arlington House” the oldest building in Speightstown remains and is in use, the church where my mother was baptised in 1916 remains and is in regular use.

35. NorthernObserver Avatar

Work was actually done in that area. I have no measure of the success since, but know in years past it would flood quickly
    https://reliefweb.int/report/barbados/west-coast-project-brings-flood-relief

36. Kerrrie speaks.

“Part of the plans about which I have been assured is that there will be an enhancement of the beach access so that it would not only be by foot, but by large vehicles, so as to ensure that we can get the necessary heavy duty equipment down onto the beach so as to assist in hauling up boats when there is a need to do that, and to protect the beach when there is a need to do that,” he said.

37. However if our “private sector” was a real-real private sector, instead of being major suckers on the sore nipples of the taxpayers [thank you Bro. Freundel for that phrase] some group of real-real capitalists would find a way to buy, repair, and rent or sell the thousands of so called “derelict” buildings.

In my own family when elders have died we determined to repair and put the properties on the market within 6 months. It is foolish to keep buildings shut up when so many people need a decent, reasonable cost place to live.

But being a landlord/landlady int easy, lol! but it is doable.

38. @Hants January 18, 2025 at 4:50 pm “after a rezoning exercise by the government. Another wtf moment but I doan live down dey.”

Shhh!!! Don’t say that I tell you so but a l’il birdie told me years and years ago that the technical people had long completed the scientific exercises which govern rezoning, but that the political people [both parties] as usual take forever to do their part, where law and regulations are concerned.

So in this instance I don’t think the BLP is pulling a fast one. In fact they may be acting too slowly.

39. @Grenville January 18, 2025 at 12:09 am CB: The colonial period ended in 1966, 59 years ago.”

True. On paper.

But Barbados will still be a colonial place long after you and I are gone.

To say the colonial period ended is like saying every 18 year old is an adult. We know that int true. Lol!!!

Or like saying every 1 year old can at least toddle. Or every 10 year old can read and write competently. Not true either.

40. For Bush Tea

So in Christ Jesus you are all children of God through faith, for all of you who were baptized into Christ have clothed yourselves with Christ. There is neither Jew nor Gentile, neither slave nor free, nor is there MALE and FEMALE, for you are all one in Christ Jesus

41. I believe that we have all heard of Mia’s pet project called the National Botanical Gardens. It is an outliier, in that it highlights the nature of our leaders, their lack of transparency, and their gross negligence.

Listed below are several natural assets that have been around for a hell of a long time. Sadly they have become neglected and abused.

Why the hell would an indebted country want to create an artificial National Botanical Garden at the expense of not investing in its many existing historical natural environment spots.

Would it not have been more sensible to have restored Turners’ Hall Wood, Hackletons’ Cliff, Woodland, Long Pond, etc.

I hold our prime minister accountable for the gross mismanagement of our country’s limited funds.

https://barbados.org/barbados-botanical-gardens.htm

42. @Bush Tea at 7:39 AM “…for a variety of often petty reasons…Owners died and children can’t agree…”

You and David often accuse me of simplifying things. But minimizing sibling conflict is really simplifying matters. Conflict between siblings is not a petty matter. It is all too often intractable, especially so if the children were raised in different households.

They would all rather die, than come to a reasonable agreement.

43. @ Cuhdear Bajan
    “For Bush Tea… So in Christ Jesus you are all children of God through faith,…”
    ~~~~~
    Good try…
    However this is NOT applicable to brass bowls.

It is about:
    Those who are called..
    Those who are chosen..

…and those who are smart Enuff to “ASK”:
    – Ask, and it shall be given you;
    – Seek, and ye shall find;
    – Knock, and it shall be opened unto you:

Now if the conkie deal had gone through…. PERHAPS Bushie could have pulled a few strings in your favor…??!!
    …But your licorish grands cooked your goose…
    So, brek fuh yourself.

44. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

BREAKING NEWS

INCOMING PREZ TRUMP MADE $20 BILLION (TODAY) IN “one day” WITH THE LAUNCH OF HIS “MEME COIN” – $TRUMP WITH ONE NERDY* INVESTOR INVESTING $1,000,000 & TOOK OUT WITHIN HOURS $120,000,000 (120x) ON HIS INVESTMENT

See: https://www.cryptonews.net/news/finance/30389214/

#Welcome2TheGoldenAge of “QUANTUM INTRIGUE”!!!

CRYPTOS ARE SET 2 EXPLODE AS THE PREZ TAKE OFFICE

Brad Garlinghouse of “RIPPLE” donated $5,000,000 worth of XRP* to Trump during the cam[paign] and reports are coming thick & fast that XRP is set 2 rival “BITCOIN” which tonite stands at $103,000/per coin (with WIFEY* & I laughing that in 2013) after we had returned from laying our precious late daughter to rest @Coral Ridge – #Bitcoin was a few couple of dollars & “NOW” – ( #WhoWouldHaveThought )!!!

This (CRYPTO PREZ) HAS ALREADY MADE IT CLEAR THAT HE INTEND TO MAKE AMERICA THE LEADER IN CRYPTOCURRENCIES & THE GUY* IS NOT EVEN OUT OF THE GATE & (VOILA)!!!

Sadly, a lotta’ folks will see the world changing right before their very eyes but will be left behind as “THE GREAT WEALTH TRANSFER” occurs!!!

Your GOVs didn’t educate you – neither did your peers or anyone else for that matter – more than a “CONSPIRACY OF SILENCE” & “RANK ABNEGATION” occurred in broad daylight!!!

For the umpteenth time: “WHERE THERE IS NO VISION* THE PEOPLE PERISH” – REMAINING IN THEIR POVERTY & HAND 2 MOUTH CONDITION!!!

#WhatATime2BeAlive
    #WhatGloriousImpossibilities

#HeavenHelpUsAll

#Time4Bed after an “AWESOME SABBATH DAY” et al

45. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

THE FUTURE IS HERE

46. Rental prices ‘soaring’

By Colville Mounsey

colvillemounsey@nationnews.com

The local rental market has seen a surge in prices driven by the influx of expatriates on the Welcome Stamp visa and other non-nationals, according to industry professionals.

Long-term rental properties, particularly in parishes like Christ Church, St James and parts of St Michael, have seen significant price hikes as expatriates pay premiums far exceeding local market norms.

“Expatriates on the Welcome Stamp often pay premiums because they find Barbados’ rents comparatively affordable, even at higher price points,” explained Junior Sparks of Global Estate Agency Inc. “They’re used to paying significantly more in places like New York, South Africa or parts of Europe, making local rents an easy decision for them.”

Sparks noted that expatriates’ familiarity with paying higher housing costs abroad created a new dynamic in Barbados’ rental market. With these newcomers willing to pay higher rents, local residents might face challenges in securing affordable housing.

“This trend is particularly evident in parishes like Christ Church and St James, which are hot spots for premium properties,” Sparks added.

Art Ramsay of Ramsay Real Estate said the rental market was also influenced by expatriates using properties as part-time residences or investment opportunities, further reducing available housing stock.

“Many look to use properties for part of the year while renting them out through Airbnb or executive rental markets when they’re not on the island. This dual-purpose use has created additional demand for properties, particularly in central locations such as Warrens, St Michael and Christ Church,” he said.

Sparks explained that while rental properties were in high demand, the mid-range sale market – homes priced between $250 000 and $450 000 – also faced intense competition.

“This price range is popular among local buyers, but the inventory is limited, leaving many potential homeowners unable to find suitable options,” he said.

Ramsay added that the lack of stock was compounded by a growing preference for newer developments.

“People love the idea of moving into brand new homes that require little to no renovation,” he said, adding those developments were often snapped up quickly, leaving buyers to compete for limited options on the open market.

The conveyancing process was also identified as a bottleneck for buyers and developers. Ramsay explained that transactions often took six months to a year to complete due to legal and administrative delays.

“There’s strong interest in developments, but the timeline between offer, acceptance and receiving keys is stretching longer than most would like,” he said.

Sparks echoed this sentiment, emphasising the importance of having all documentation in place before listing properties to avoid delays.

Ramsay, past president of the Barbados Estate Agents and Valuers Association, elaborated on the geographical preferences of buyers and renters, noting that rural areas like St John, St Philip and St Lucy were less popular, often serving as a last resort for those seeking quieter, more rural settings or properties for agricultural use.

The inclusion of covenants in new developments also influenced buyer decisions. Both Sparks and Ramsay agreed that while covenants were generally seen as a positive feature, they could sometimes deter buyers with specific plans.

“Covenants typically cover general standards like maintaining a clean environment or adhering to certain building styles. For most buyers, they enhance the neighbourhood’s appeal, but they may limit options for those with unique requirements, like building timber homes in areas requiring concrete structures,” Sparks said.

“The demand is strong across all sectors of the market, from long-term rentals to investment properties and new developments,” he added.

Ramsay concurred: “Whether it’s for Airbnb rentals, executive properties, or permanent residences, Barbados continues to offer excellent opportunities for buyers and renters. The challenge is ensuring there’s enough inventory to meet this demand.”

47. Housing policy is probably the most glaring example of governmental incompetence in Barbados.
    Any idiot can sit back and let the preditory albino-centric forces of greed take their natural course – to the obvious exploitation of the masses.
    BUT it takes a special kind of brass bowl to actually create national policies that SUPPORT AND ENCOURAGE these predators.

How can any rational leader in a SMALL resort island, adopt a policy of real estate ‘fetching its highest market value’ – in an environment that is open to the WHOLE world? Should the ordinary folks then move back onto the slave huts on plantation tenantries?

How is a Welcome Stamp Program left to open market forces – where strangers can be allowed to compete directly with ordinary brass bowls for VERY LIMITED, but vital resources? – like housing, food, water, transport?

What are the overall strategic expectations? …and where are the supporting policies and targets?

Steupsss…

Perhaps our leaders are not even smart Enuff to realize how out of their depth they REALLY are…. and what an existential THREAT that ignorance poses to Brassbados.

What a place!
    What a spiritual CURSE!
    What a change from the 1970’s….