The blogmaster read the following article a couple days ago and thoughts of how we can hold elected and public officials more accountable immediately came to mind. It is amazing to believe local officials do not engage in illegal and corrupt behaviour.

There are several instances mentioned in Auditor General reports and ‘leaks’ to suggest public funds have been used for ‘manufactured’ work. If we can get citizens as concerned about these kinds of matters to compare with the removal of tint or the increase in the price of eggs, we would be in good shape.

Until we get to a point where the public see action from central government and agents that appear to be transparent, the public’s trust in government will continue to decline. After decades of promises by BOTH Barbados Labour Party (BLP) and Democratic Labour Party (DLP) there has been no serious effort to implement a suite of comprehensive transparency laws in the country. A court system groaning under the weight of its case load does not help!

Vietnamese tycoon loses death row appeal over world’s biggest bank fraud

Jonathan Head

Getty Images Truong My Lan in a dark blue shirt in court, sitting next to a security officer wearing a mask.
Truong My Lan, pictured in court on Tuesday, could still avoid execution

Vietnamese property tycoon Truong My Lan has lost her appeal against her death sentence for masterminding the world’s biggest bank fraud.

The 68-year-old is now in a race for her life because the law in Vietnam states that if she can pay back 75% of what she took, her sentence will be commuted to life imprisonment.

In April the trial court found that Truong My Lan had secretly controlled Saigon Commercial Bank, the country’s fifth biggest lender, and taken out loans and cash over more than 10 years through a web of shell companies, amounting to a total of $44bn (£34.5bn).

Of that prosecutors say $27bn was misappropriated, and $12bn was judged to have been embezzled, the most serious financial crime for which she was sentenced to death.

It was a rare and shocking verdict – she is one of very few women in Vietnam to be sentenced to death for a white collar crime.

On Tuesday, the court said there was no basis to reduce Truong My Lan’s death sentence. However, she could still avoid execution if she returns $9bn, three-quarters of the $12bn she embezzled. It’s not her final appeal and she can still petition the president for amnesty.

During her trial Truong My Lan was sometimes defiant, but in the recent hearings for her appeal against the sentence she was more contrite.

She said she was embarrassed to have been such a drain on the state, and that her only thought was to pay back what she had taken.

Getty Images Truong My Lan, second left, in a white shirt arrives in court in March 2024.
Truong My Lan was sentenced to death earlier this year

Born into a Sino-Vietnamese family in Ho Chi Minh City, Truong My Lan started as a market stall vendor, selling cosmetics with her mother. She began buying land and property after the Communist Party introduced economic reform in 1986. By the 1990s, she owned a large portfolio of hotels and restaurants.

When she was convicted and sentenced in April, she was the chairwoman of a prominent real estate firm, Van Thinh Phat Group. It was a dramatic moment in the “Blazing Furnaces” anti-corruption campaign led by then-Communist Party Secretary-General, Nguyen Phu Trong.

All of the remaining 85 defendants were convicted. Four were sentenced to life in jail, while the rest -including Truong My Lan’s husband and niece – were given prison terms ranging from 20 years to three years suspended.

The State Bank of Vietnam is believed to have spent many billions of dollars recapitalising Saigon Commercial Bank to prevent a wider banking panic. The prosecutors argued that her crimes were “huge and without precedent” and did not justify leniency.

Truong My Lan’s lawyers said she was working as fast as she could to find the $9bn needed. But cashing in her assets has proven difficult.

Some are luxury properties in Ho Chi Minh City which could, in theory, be sold quite quickly. Others are in the form of shares or stakes in other businesses or property projects.

In all the state has identified more than a thousand different assets linked to the fraud. These have been frozen by the authorities for now. The BBC understands the tycoon has also reached out to friends to raise loans for her to help reach the target.

Getty Images Motorbikes speed past a branch of Saigon Commercial Bank (SCB) in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, on Wednesday, April 17, 2024.
Truong My Lan defrauded Saigon Commercial Bank, one of Vietnam’s biggest lenders

Her lawyers have argued for leniency from the judges on financial grounds. They said that while she is under sentence of death it would be hard for her to negotiate the best price for selling her assets and investments, and so harder for her to raise $9bn.

She could do much better if under a life sentence instead, they say.

“The total value of her holdings actually exceeds the required compensation amount,” lawyer Nguyen Huy Thiep told the BBC before her appeal was rejected.

“However, these require time and effort to sell, as many of the assets are real estate and take time to liquidate. Truong My Lan hopes the court can create the most favourable conditions for her to continue making compensation.”

Few had expected the judges to be moved by these arguments. She is now, in effect, in a race with the executioner to raise the funds she needs.

Vietnam treats the death penalty as a state secret. The government does not publish how many people are on death row, though human rights groups say there are more than 1,000 and that Vietnam is one of the world’s biggest executioners.

Typically there are long delays, often many years before sentences are carried out, although prisoners are given very little notice.

If Truong My Lan can recover the $9bn before that happens, her life will most likely be spared.

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cd753r47815o

139 responses to “Time to call out corruption”

1. It’s been five months since Donald Trump made a surprising promise.

The candidate known for touting immigration crackdowns told a group of tech investors that he wanted to help foreign students stay in the US.

“What I want to do, and what I will do, is — you graduate from a college, I think you should get automatically, as part of your diploma, a green card to be able to stay in this country,” Trump said during a June interview with “The All-In Podcast.”
    More here: https://edition.cnn.com/2024/12/06/politics/green-cards-college-graduates-trump-cec/index.html

2. The Canadians have been doing it for a long, long time. Graduate from a Canadian university and apply for a post graduation work permit. Go to work. Do NOT go on welfare, do NOT commit any crimes. Then apply for your PR=permanent residence card, then later your citizenship. It has been easy so in Canada for a long time. I am surprised that it has taken the Americans so long to play catch-up to their northern neighbor

3. Political Watcher Avatar
    Political Watcher

How much the Chinese gave the BLP?

France’s Mr Africa spills the beans on secret cash.
    It was January 1988 and Robert Bourgi was waiting to see the Gabonese president Omar Bongo, in an antechamber at his seaside palace in Libreville.

He was there to collect funds for the approaching French presidential election on behalf of the centre-right Gaullist candidate Jacques Chirac, who was mayor of Paris at the time.

Who should then be ushered into the same antechamber but Roland Dumas, former French foreign minister and right-hand man of ruling Socialist President François Mitterrand, Chirac’s arch-rival.

“Good day, Bourgi,” said Dumas. “I believe we are here for the same purpose.”

Claiming seniority, Dumas went into Bongo’s office first. Emerging a short time later, he said to Bourgi: “Don’t worry, there’s still a bit left!”

“The procedure was simple. When there was an election approaching, Chirac made it clear that I should deliver a message in various African capitals,” he said in an interview in Le Figaro newspaper this week.

“The [African] heads of state then sent an emissary to my office in Paris with a large sum. Several million in francs or dollars.”

In each of the 1995 and 2002 presidential elections – both won by Chirac – he says around $10m (£7.5m) was given by African leaders.

The 2002 race provided Bourgi with another colourful story, when a representative of Burkinabè leader Blaise Compaoré arrived in Paris with a large sum of money concealed in djembe drums.

According to Bourgi, he accompanied the envoy to the Elysée Palace, where they were greeted by Chirac. They opened the sealed drums using a pair of scissors, upon which a rain of banknotes fell out.

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/czrm8r1k8nzo

4. de Japanese gine help.

5. Cuhdear Bajan,

Yes, but did he hit anybody with the whip?

6. Some here are forever trying to tell others what matters we should “dissect”.

The celebration by Americans of the murder of a health insurance CEO is probably an indication of the state of affairs and the rage being felt in this runaway capitalist system, not only in the USA, but worldwide.

If I wish to dissect it, in the context of corruption, I shall so as long as David allows. It is not as if there is no connection between the two.

With respect to Trump’s plan to deport undocumented immigrants to our region, I have not heard Barbados being mentioned as a possible destination. Until such time, I see no urgency to dissect it. The Bahamas is reported to have rejected the plan, and Grenada will do as it pleases.

Obviously, the plan is disgusting and illegal. That’s Trump and his minions, no? What’s new?

7. Where have we heard of a Gov’t’s plan to deport people to a country other than the one where they hold citizenship? It was the former Tory Gov’t in Britain that planned to send people to Rwanda. Of course, Rwanda was supposed to get payment for accepting the refugees that Britain was trying to send to its shores. The President of that country was wined and dined by the Gov’t of Barbados after the deal was struck.

Fortunately for the people (and Rwanda) who were about to be deported the plan ran into legal hurdles and never materialized.

Speculation is rampart that the US will use its economic might to bludgeon Gov’ts of some countries named to accept the cast offs.

Never say never.

8. Cuba, Mexico and the Bahamas has gone on record against hosting Trump deportees.

We know of the vaccine scam because it made a foreign paper first.

We recently learnt of the death of a English woman in June because it made a foreign paper first.

It appears that the crooked Bahamas government knew more of the Bahamas airline deals than ours cared to share.

All that to say, our government will take the money for Trump deportees and we will hear of it after deportees hit our shores.

9. Wow! What a leap! I hope you didn’t hurt yourself!

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

10. Texas getting the $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

Ultimately, the illegal aliens will be sent back to their own countries.

If some countries decide to refuse, TARRIFS in their asses and GRANTS done with.

Ms. Mockley could get the 80K she wants if she plays her cards right.

11. Now I’m awake, feeling lazy and so I’ve got a little time for dissection.

First, we were worried that the government was seeking high net worth white people, Middle Eastern people or others who would buy out Barbados, replace us in the demographics, displace us from our property, and return us to true slave status in this country.

Obviously, these are not the people that Trump is looking to deport. Green trumps any colour on his spectrum.

So, now we are worried that Trump is going to bully or bribe us into accepting his poor ass, non-white deportees. Who would these people be? Caribbean nations already take back their citizens. Most nations do. Who exactly is refusing to take back theirs? That is the question! Which country can’t he bully or bribe into taking back its citizens?

We know that he cares nothing for international law. He’d land all the Haitians asylum seekers back in Haiti whether safe or not. Too besides, his Supreme Court won’t block him like the British court blocked Sunak’s Rwanda is Safe law.

So, whose rejects are we looking at? Anybody got a sharp dissection kit? 😂

12. Some Knoxious person does not have a clue what’s going outside of Trump world. The poor Magat sees the world through such a simple Trumpian lens.

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

I recommend Richard D. Wolff for his educational advancement.

What I find interesting is that he, not being a citizen of the United States, has such an emotional investment in the “success” of the mass deportation of desperate non-white people. What is it to him that asylum seekers and undocumented immigrants seek ‘a better life” in the USA? Why such glee at the thought of their deprivation? I swear the thought of tariffs, sanctions and the withdrawal of “aid” brings him to orgasm! Ah, the joys of empire! The heavenly Christian doctrine of righteous domination and subjugation of certain categories of human beings by others……apparently.

Me? I am much more interested in freeing the rest of us from imperialist/ neo-colonialist domination of all sorts. Why isn’t he?

That being said, the mass deportation would only hasten the fall of the American Empire. Therefore, I could be persuaded that its success would be a very good thing…..ultimately.

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

13. A worthwhile opinion.

Consciousness, culture vital for democracy

At the time of writing this, reports out of South Korea suggest that country’s president, Yoon Suk Yeol, will survive an attempt to impeach him.

There are lessons we can learn from this story, especially considering trends in politics and governance globally. If one group of people take heed, please let it be Barbadians.

On December 3, President Yoon made an unscheduled appearance on Korean television. He claimed that the opposition party had come under the influence of the hated, rival government of North Korea and announced that he was imposing martial law. Who tell he do dat? In a matter of hours, South Koreans citizens took to the streets and the opposition-controlled parliament gathered, voting to strike down the president’s declaration of martial law. A motion was made to impeach the president for his actions. As I write, it is being reported that South Koreans are still on the streets demanding the president’s impeachment.

However, it seems that, for now, the president has survived because the impeachment has not received the required number of votes in order to pass. Yoon’s ruling party members walked out before voting started, making it impossible to reach a two-thirds majority.

On the outside of the chamber, these ruling party members were heckled, called cowards and pressured to go back inside. Only one ruling party member stayed to vote. He voted against impeachment, telling journalists that while he does not support the president, he believes that Korea’s conservatism protects its stability. He wants the party to handle the issue. What can we here learn from all of this?

Firstly, the only real protection we have is the consciousness of the people. The South Korean people had the consciousness and the culture to say, “No!” Laws, policies, legislations, armed forces and so on may all be important, but ultimately they will only work well if the consciousness and the culture of the people are solid.

I said this on radio a while back and an aspiring politician publicly criticised the statement. This is scary. Because it is the politicians who do not understand this that will easily seek to override the will of the people. And, on the other hand, a people who do not have the required level of education, consciousness and culture to sustain a democracy will give it up too easily.

Secondly, politicians often resort to scare tactics, boogey-men and demonising their opponents in order to get the support of the people. Yoon rationalised taking away the freedoms of the Korean people by accusing the opposition of being connected to the North Korean government. For the Nazi party, it was the Jews. For the state of Israel, it is Hamas. For American conservatives, it is liberals and vice-versa.

Thirdly, there seems to be a trend internationally of attempts at authoritarianism. The irony of the events in South Korea is that Yoon sought to institute authoritarianism in order to protect South Korea from the influence of authoritarian North Korea. This after he has become unpopular due to accusations of corruption.

Further irony is that globally, citizens seem dissatisfied with the results of more liberal political regimes and are more willing to turn to a strongman or woman leader to save them. Perceptions of corruption and more subtle abuses of power seem to have dulled people’s faith in democratic governance worldwide. In the United States, there are supporters of President-elect Trump who openly declare that they want an end to democracy.

What concerns me at this volatile point in history is that in Barbados, opponents of the Government seem to feel comfortable making the wildest, incendiary accusations against the Government to whip up a frenzy among an already pressurised populace.

The Government and some of its supporters have fed negative perceptions with some questionable moves and rhetoric. And, the citizens of Barbados have long lacked the education necessary to develop and sustain the protective consciousness and culture required to keep a democratic country stable. Unlike the South Korean people, we may not have in our consciousness a sense of how fragile peace and freedom are.

Adrian Green is a communications specialist. Email Adriangreen14@gmail.com

14. It is this writer’s sense that the deportation agenda of Trump is merely an external marketing ploy to cover the fascistic and hidden assault on Afrikan- Americans as seen in the “Agenda 2025” which during the election Trump was outwardly pretending not to be connected with. However, everything he’s done so far points in that general direction.

This is the living, breathing, manifestation of the truly racist, always anti-revolutionary, White supremacist nature of the beast.

Afrikan-Americans could for example find further hardships in relationship to social services, the privatization of government run contributory pensions – social security. They will find access to education more limited. That pressures will be increased on institutions of higher learning to disban faculties dealing with Afrikan-American history and the like. And more!

For balance, there are White groups, a few Blacks ones too, one known to this writer and acting to shape such Immigration policies on the transition team, which continue to labour under the assumption that these assaults on non-White peoples could make America great again. How misguided!

The misguided Afrikan-American groups involved are largely informed by a history of America using Caribbeans and others as a anvil on which to hammer Afrikan-Americans economically. Socially, the system sought to project narrative that new immigrants were better workers, for example, that Afrikan-Americans whose ancestors were slaves there.

The great Gerald Horne writes about these matters with deep insights.

No such aggressions are pointed towards the fascist, White, Ukranians or other illegal European types. This is the nature of Whiteness, as a political construct, as the quintessential American social creation.

On the other hand, immigrants themselves, driven by desperation, should have long come to know that America is now the last place they should seek to go at this time when societal collapse there becomes more and more irreversible.

To presume that a “shithole” country like Barbados would be the repository for such, in spite of historial reverse population movements as started during slavery, even to fill the much vaunted population deficit locally, appear to be fanciful.

15. “And, the citizens of Barbados have long lacked the education necessary to develop and sustain the protective consciousness and culture required to keep a democratic country stable.”

Lol…clearly he isn’t a Bajan.

16. @John December 8, 2024 at 5:14 am “Ultimately, the illegal aliens will be sent back to their own countries.”
    I ask, how?

“GRANTS done with.”
    I ask, what grants?

17. @Donna December 8, 2024 at 5:38 am “Who exactly is refusing to take back theirs? That is the question! Which country can’t he bully or bribe into taking back its citizens?”

It is being reported elsewhere:
    China. The USA cannot successfully bully China, although it can waste time and money trying.
    Cuba. The USA has been bullying Cuba for 65 years. Cuba is still there. Trump will be dead and gone from old age of course and Cuba will still be there. But the USA can waste time and money bullying Cuba as it has done since most of us were unborn or still in diapers.

18. But Barbados must be careful since our citizenship laws are very generous. For example I have more than a dozen nieces and nephews and great nieces. and one great great niece and nephews who were NOT born in Barbados but who can if they wish claim Barbados citizenship. They are all of course, like me well educated, well behaved hard working residents [but not necessarily citizens] of the countries in which they live, including 5 in the USA. But what if any of them had committed an offense and were deport-able?

For example what if one born in the UK or Canada, or anywhere else, had illegally moved to the USA and committed an offense there. What if the UK or Canada or any country larger and stronger than Barbados used their power and refused to take back their born citizen? I hope that we understand that the USA would then likely put pressure on Barbados to “take back” this person who was not born in Barbados and who may never have spent a day in Barbados. I put it to you that it may well have happened before, and will likely happen again.

The big powerful countries will not roll over and play dead when the USA tries to send back their bad behaved citizens who may have lived in the USA from infancy or early childhood.

19. Make that 7 in the USA. So may good people I am beginning to lose count.

20. I know of a case, a cousin of a cousin who was deported from the USA where he had lived from his teen years to his 50’s. Several of his siblings served honorably in the USA military. He was convicted of a drug offense and was deported. My cousin foolishly agreed to host him. Before long one of her children was drug addicted. All down hill form there. Thankfully he is dead now.

We have to be very, very careful. We can’t afford to play nice, when other people are playing “hard ball”

21. Once upon a time , England offered to finance the building of jails in Jamaica , to be housed by Jamaicans living in England, that the British wanted out.
    ” There are three types of people in this world: those who make things happen, those who watch things happen, and those who wonder what happened .”
    All like now, we are wondering what is happening to our country and indeed our entire region . For example : some people make it virtually impossible for us to go on some beaches ; some people are watching this happen , and others are wondering ‘ wuh really happened doh.

22. Cuhdear,

I knew about China. I was waiting for somebody to regale me with tales of a Chinese takeover of Barbados.

I find this Henny Penny, sky is falling act to be hilarious!

23. @Cuhdear
    My fear is that one day our cap in hand PM announces a generous gift or soft loan from the US (Trump) and the next day 80,000 people land on our heads. What hurts me is that some of us will be unable to figure out “1 and 1′

24. The resistance forces have suffered a monumental strategic defeat over the last ten days with the demise of the Syrian Arab Republic.

And it went thusly.

The government of Turkeye acting as the instrument for the Western NATO alliance which includes the terrorists then ensconced in Idlib, Syria and funded, armed, by western intelligences agencies, just 25,000 of the, overran Syria.

For this has monumental geopolitical, geo-strategic, consequences.

Firstly, the Zionist state, which has always been in an alliance with the HTS terrorists, is currently invading from the Golan Heights, as well.

Secondly, the Palestinian cause is dead forever.

Thirdly, Hezbollah’s recent ceasefire arrangement will now be meaningless.

Fourthly, and given the Eurasian makeup of the HTS terrorists the strategic advances by China, Iran and Russia has been weakened.

Fifthly, Russia has withdrawn its military bases, land and sea, from Syria.

Sixthly, former President Assad has fled to Moscow.

And on and on. However, there is no doubt that the Zionist state and its allies have landed a grave defeat to the entire Axis of Resistance.

Syria pummeled by western sanctions, unable to pay their army. And even when they were paid, the equivalent of USD40 to a general per month pales in comparison to to USD2000.00 a month to a common terrorist.

More interesting, that Syria’s allies – Iran, Russia and China – allowed this status quo to erode the Assad government from the interior was surprising. For it was Russia which in an attempt to reach an agreement with the president of Turkeye, Urdagon , under the Astana Process, convinced Syria and Iran, the other members, to all the Turkeye backed terrorist from a total defeat in Idlib.

From Idlib the western backed terrorists overran the entire country in just ten days as ordered by Netanyahu and the West.

All told, all the resistance groups in all of West Asia, the Middle East, have in one stroke been cut off from re-supply over land routes. A death sentence!

In short, the gravamen of these events are huge. On the one hand they are likely to hasten the deepening of WW111 scenarios. Netanyahu and the West will now see a greater likelihood of a war on Iran and other regional states aimed at Zionist expansion.

And on and on ……..

25. Cuhdear Bajan
    December 8, 2024 at 10:23 am

@John December 8, 2024 at 5:14 am “Ultimately, the illegal aliens will be sent back to their own countries.”
    I ask, how?

“GRANTS done with.”
    I ask, what grants?

Trump will have an easy path if the Syrian refugees in the US return home!!!

Not a lot of them but hey, maybe the answer is to invest in the overthrow of the communist, fascist, socialist governments in the various countries!!

People like their own countries once obscene governments are not in charge.

Let nature take its course.

The Israelites all returned to their promised land in the Exodus and even today, they are returning as prophesied.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/world/britain-s-syrian-refugees-vow-to-return-home-after-fall-of-regime/ar-AA1vuiXS?ocid=msedgntp&pc=W069&cvid=1966599132a640bb9b100654ef9c464a&ei=10

26. 12/8/2025 9:18 a.m.
    “The misguided Afrikan-American groups involved are largely informed by a history of America using Caribbeans and others as a anvil on which to hammer Afrikan-Americans economically. Socially, the system sought to project narrative that new immigrants were better workers, for example, that Afrikan-Americans whose ancestors were slaves there.”

Quite good. I have to read it again to make certain I fully understand the post. But this paragraph approximates much of my unwritten thinking of immigrants from the Caribbean.

I just don’t understand how such a knowledgeable person talks of the use of a ‘mushroom deckie’

27. Sometimes we focus on the outliers. And the story of the outliers can be a beautiful and impressive one that is worth repeating.

This cause us to lose sight of the vast majority whose contribution can slow down years of progress.

28. They caught the guy who shot the Insurance executive in New York.

Ivy league and brainwashed … so what’s new?

29. Prep/private school.

Glad enough I sent my kids to public schools from nursery to post-graduate.

What kind of “revolutionary” eats at McD?

30. Why am I not surprised.

“Mr Mangione comes from a prominent family in the Baltimore area whose businesses include a country club and nursing homes, according to local media. Shortly after the suspect was charged, REPUBLICAN state lawmaker Nino Mangione – believed to be HIS COUSIN – released a statement saying the family is “shocked and devastated”. “We offer our prayers to the family of Brian Thompson and we ask people to pray for all involved”, the statement read, signing off as “The Mangione Family”.
    More here: https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cp9nxee2r0do

31. I am wondering did any of the Mangione’s not recognised him even with the hoodie and mask?

And if they did recognize him did any of them pick up the phone and say to the police “this is my son, brother, nephew, grandson, cousin etc.?”

And would not the police have been saved tons of money if they knew earlier exactly who they were looking for?

I know that if he had been my close relative I know that I would have immediately recognized him hoodie and mask or not.

So are we to believe that his close relatives did not recognize him, but an elderly stranger in McD’s did?

Strange.

Very, very strange.

Immediately after the photo was published I was saying to my family that even though the USA has a big population somebody has to be able to recognize that face as my son, brother, neighbor classmate etc?

We may be anonymous to strangers, but our own families, friends, classmates KNOW us.

I was at a funeral recently and saw a classmate whom I hadn’t seen since the 1960’s when we were both teens. We recognized each other.

32. It took the police less than 48 hours to identify Mangione and 5 days to find him in big old NY. Also his family had reported him as missing before the incident. How does the public know the extent family assisted. Stay focused.

33. @ David
    Agreed. We must stay focused. Who beat up Mr. John the vagrant ?

34. Back page of today’s Nation. The FBI is interested in foreign officials who solicit bribes from American businesses.

“FEPA’s definition of foreign official includes any official employee of a foreign
    government, or any department, agency or instrumentality thereof; any senior foreign political figure; any official or employee of a public international organisation; and any person acting in an official capacity for or on behalf of a
    government department, agency, instrumentality or public international
    organisation.”

If this is you and you have solicited a bribe you may get to spend 15 years in the USA, and you may not even have to stand in the visa line or pay your own airfare.

35. @William

Why is the COP mum on the officer who engaged in ‘extrajudicial’ behaviour?

What about the HOPE INQUIRY Madam Mia Amor Mottley promised to come clean to the public?

36. @David December 10, 2024 at 7:26 am “It took the police less than 48 hours to identify Mangione and 5 days to find him in big old NY. Also his family had reported him as missing before the incident. How does the public know the extent family assisted.”

I am simply asking questions David. Is it still ok to ask questions? As you know I am a well established simpleton and simpleton’s ask questions in the hope that wise ones, such as yourself will “lighten our darkness.”

37. @ David
    Perhaps we are too busy trying to solve crimes occurring elsewhere. Don’t worry , we promise to get back to the issues you raised. Hopefully.

38. Your questions are irrelevant if linked to timeline of how events unfolded in the matter. This is the point.

39. @William

We will, after the Christmas break. One successful activity that is growing exponentially is our ability to host fetes/shows. Next year will be the big one. Hopefully Bajans in the diaspora will add value to our space. The blogmaster suspects we will attract majority baby boomers and others in that cohort who will add value to our society.

#wegatherin

40. Cuhdear Bajan
    December 10, 2024 at 7:32 am

Back page of today’s Nation. The FBI is interested in foreign officials who solicit bribes from American businesses.

That is one way of getting rid of the blasted teefing politicians.

41. Initially Mangione was described in the media as “light skinned”

Why was he not described as white?

Is white a bad word/politically incorrect, derogatory, offensive when used to described a person suspected of murder and multiple other offenses??

Mangione is a YOUNG WHITE MAN.

David, please enlighten my darkness.

42. Mangione is Italian!!!

Italians are swarthy.

43. Cuhdear Bajan
    December 10, 2024 at 7:32 am

Back page of today’s Nation. The FBI is interested in foreign officials who solicit bribes from American businesses.

“FEPA’s definition of foreign official includes any official employee of a foreign
    government, or any department, agency or instrumentality thereof; any senior foreign political figure; any official or employee of a public international organisation; and any person acting in an official capacity for or on behalf of a
    government department, agency, instrumentality or public international
    organisation.”

If this is you and you have solicited a bribe you may get to spend 15 years in the USA, and you may not even have to stand in the visa line or pay your own airfare.

The FBI had Ms. Mockley ever since.

You don’t remember the FBI report that disappeared when O$A was PM and she was the AG I believe …. from right off her desk if memory serves me right.

44. The man was identified and captured.
    It is true the initial report of his color could be misleading but informative/indicative of how the news can be misleading, to now get caught up with his tint may be a bit much.
    Now, we see him, we know what he is.

45. @John
    Italians are swarthy
    ++++++
    What dogmatic statement!
    John the anthropologist!
    Look where Sicily is on the map of Italy! Check out the history of that region and let us know your findings.
    Then check out the Northern region of Italy e.g. where the tennis player Jannik Sinner was born.
    What is special about that area of Italy?

Don’t give up your day job!

46. I don’t believe that Italian Americans put “swarthy” as an identifier on their census forms, passports, driver’s licenses and other official documents. I would bet my first born son that they put white.