David Estwick (l) Mark Maloney (c) Indar Weir (r)

A story carried by Starcom Network in yesterday’s news coming out of the performance in the Well of parliament during the 2024-2025 Estimates piqued the blogmaster’s curiosity.

The previous government we should recall conceived a plan to replace Portvale sugar factory with the now derelict Andrews Sugar factory. The project was an abysmal failure and reported yesterday, resulted in taxpayers holding the bag for about 200 million dollars. An expenditure which had to be factored into the recent restructure of the sugar industry. We cannot make this stuff up.

Of interest was mention of molasses tanks constructed at the Port Authority under a build and maintain arrangement that costed the government about 100 million dollars. These tanks were built by you guessed it, Mark Maloney, Preconco – read this 2012 report for the avoidance of doubt.

Failed Sugar Project Costs Bdos $200M

Government has taken an approximately 200 million dollar hit from an ill-fated sugar project it says was undertaken under the previous administration and which had to be factored into the debt restructuring.

This has been disclosed by Agriculture Minister, Indar Weir, responding to a question about why a plan to transition sugar production from Portvale to Andrews Factory was abandoned.

Mr. Weir says the outstanding loans for the failed project had to be repaid by the current administration and he contrasted that project with the approach to the ongoing sugar sector restructuring.

Minister of Agriculture, Indar Weir.

Source: StarcomNetwork

52 responses to “Both governments gave Mark Maloney our money”

1. @ David,
    Good morning, from the mother country.

There’s an interesting link below from BT.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2023/12/14/pm-to-business-invest-in-your-country/

2. @TLSN

It will be important for individuals and businesses to understand nest in Barbados if we are to achieve growth targets espoused by government. To be fair there has been confidence post 2018 restructure but we are a long way from what is required.

3. ✔️ this two pronged attack against both parties is the way to go for both impartiality and partiality, way to go Bu

👍 Gun Salute for David Kingly Character
    Boom Shot in the dance, Rebel lyrics,
    Dancehall nice again go tell your friend…

Dance hall style 🎶?
    Give them in a soundman stylee
    If you love this a riddim say forward,
    if you love this music say forward
    if you love rub–a-dub say forward
    special request to dance hall fans

4. @ David,
    Good morning, from the mother country.

Xxxxxxxxxxx

CORRECTION YOU MEANT TO SAY:

GOOD MORNING FROM THE WHITE MAN COUNTRY

5. “Bribe-taking Judases, who are available to the highest albino-centric bidder… DESPITE their prior protestations…”

This characterizes our typical political gurus.
    Many of them did/do not even try to hide the shame…

What self-worth do these politicians possess…?

OPENLY selling ZR licenses and other ‘business arrangements’.

Accepting ‘gifts’ from businessmen.. even petty cheques! – can you imagine how they could resist $million BRIBES?

The Andrews fiasco, Clear water, Four Seasons, White Oak, CAHILL….ALL demonstrate our national LACK OF MORALITY and justice … and NOT A FELLA has EVER been charged…. in Brassbados…
    What does THAT say about us…?
    Ever the Albino-Centrics pretend to enforce their laws and to appear to be pursuing justice.

Is there a LIMIT to Bajan’s GULLIBILITY?

Minister Weir comes across as a BREATH OF FRESH AIR from his representation in the House yesterday…

The pity is that he has to be ‘loyal’ to a shiite party in order to be in position….

6. Stale piss for politicians Avatar
    Stale piss for politicians

@David, Underwear needs to tell the country that $3M could buy hospital supplies and $200M could refurbish the QEH and do many other needed things for the citizens. These politicians need to know that they RH dishonesty is going to push bajans to the edge all them doing as the like with taxpayers money.

7. 7️⃣ times Rise 7️⃣ times Fall
    Though a righteous man falls seven times, he will get up, but the wicked will stumble into ruin.

Why do politicos take bribes from big business shadows you may ask
    You scratch my back and I’ll scratch yours’ to mean that one person helps another on condition that the second person helps them in return.

Bribes = The Bajan Way “D Inniss”
    Minister of Industry, International Business, Commerce and Small Business Development, Donville Inniss strongly believes that Barbados’ sustainable development must be private sector led.

“The creativity, nimbleness, aggressiveness and determination of private enterprise is key for the resuscitation and growth of Barbados’ economy,” he pointed out.

“We need much more of this entrepreneurial and business-like approach to the administration of national and enterprise affairs,” he stressed.

Kingdom Rise Kingdom Dub
    Kingdom rise and kingdom fall
    Babylon back is against the wall
    Babylon trying to find a solution

8. The issues mentioned here cannot be attached to one person. We have a culture of mediocrity that pollutes how we do business. See auditor general’s reports.

9. Why only 200MM?

Why not 200BB?

Why limit the useless money and other resources to sugar to this particular period?

And what of consequential loses?

Why just causal of post independence duopoly?

Sugar cane has always been an addictive drug which was commercialized to suit the taste of White people.

As was cocoa, maybe cocaine tooooo!

And like the Opium Wars conducted by the British in China over centuries of humiliation, the addicts in Barbados are not limited to those who were, are, and will be in government, but the entire brain of the country remains addicted, even today.

Addicts can only do one thing – getting their drug of choice. And nothing else matters more to them.

10. Sound frequency 🎼
    Everything is energy which is basically waves of vibration in other words sound
    so to move your energy use sound vibrations

We can hear the spirit world more clearly when we open our spiritual chakras to become clairaudient clairsentient and clairvoyant..

The meaning of CLAIRAUDIENCE is the power or faculty of hearing something not present to the ear but regarded as having objective reality.

Clairsentience comes from the French words “clair” and “sentience,” which together translate to “clear feeling.” The psychic ability for a person to acquire knowledge by means of feeling., a clairsentient person is able to tap into the emotional energy of others and receive a clear psychic message.

Meaning of clairvoyance is the power to see the future or to see things that other people cannot see. Pertaining to the ability of clear-sightedness, clairvoyance refers to the paranormal ability to see persons and events that are distant in time or space, connected with the power that some people are believed to have to be able to see future events or to communicate with people who are dead or far away.

11. Only our naive sheep believe in emancipation. The fact is that the rule of the white shadows is stronger today than it was in the 18th century.

In the past, the white shadows at least had to provide food, clothing and shelter for their slaves on the plantation. Today, the black masses even have to pay a contribution in money to be allowed to live on the plantation called Barbados.

Tron, just fair and balanced

12. Repeating: at the core of everything is a con, rip-off, scam …

Don’t discuss a scam as if it was a realbusiness venture.

If something works to benefit the nation then thank God, but scams usually benefit only the scammers.

13. The blogmaster could at least lists where the current government gave wey money to Maloney though.

14. @Enuff

The blogmaster has been around the place long and contrary to belief by some of you is not stupid.

15. HOUTHIS KILL INNOCENT CIVILIANS WITH MISSILE ATTACK IN THE READ SEA ON A BARBADOS FLAGGED CARRIER…

At approximately 11:30 a.m. (Sanaa time) Mar. 6, an anti-ship ballistic missile (ASBM) was launched from Iranian-backed Houthi terrorist-controlled areas of Yemen toward M/V True Confidence, a “BARBADOS-FLAGGED, LIBERIAN OWN BULK CARRIER”, while transiting the Gulf of Aden. The missile struck the vessel, and the multinational crew reports three fatalities, at least four injuries, of which three are in critical condition, and significant damage to the ship…

The crew abandoned the ship and coalition warships responded and are assessing the situation…

This is the fifth ASBM fired by Houthis in the last two days. Two of these ASBMs impacted two shipping vessels – M/V MSC Sky II and M/V True Confidence – and one ASBM was shot down by USS Carney (DDG 64)…

These reckless attacks by the Houthis have disrupted global trade and taken the lives of international seafarers according to U.S. Central Command @CENTCOM!!!

16. David

Stupse! Tell the blog where the government has given away money to Maloney since 2018.

17. Enuff try not to think linear. Think ‘eminent domain’ as one example.

18. WHO PROFITTED FROM THE COVID-19 PLANDEMIC IN BARBADOS???

WHO MADE THE MULLTIMILLIONS OFF THE “ignorance” OF THE “BAJAN PUBLIC”???

DOES ANYONE HAVE THE “TESTICULAR FORTITUDE” TO CHALLENGE THE “MOTTLEY-CREW-GOV” ON THIS GIVEN THAT THE UNDERBELLY OF CORRUPTION THAT STINKS ALL ACROSS THE DISTANT SEAS TO THE HIGH HEAVENS???

There are “MANY” who hold their noses as the “STINKING ODOUR” of “CORRUPTION” and other noxious forms of #PoLIEtical_METHANE” are allowed to aerosolized across the tradewinds of this “ONCE GREAT COUNTRY” – (admidst the historical miasmic stench of the Atlantic Slave Trade – indemnified by the sepsis of #Colonization) – yet somehow, my great-great grandparents et al were able to foster, chart & navigate a course that bought about a semblance of honesty & stability amongst our people!!!

Today, the anthropogenic nature of #MoralClimateChange “STINKS” worst than “HYDROGEN SULPHIDE” (H₂S) – given that this is a “ROTTING CORPSE” decomposing at the heart of our sociopoLIEtical & #eCONomicSystem, and folks in positions of authority, “MASK THEIR FACES” in the hope of keeping out the odoriferous stench while carrying on (“BUSINESS AS USUAL”)!!!

HOW LONG BEFORE THE WHEEL COME OFF THE BUS, FOLKS???

DO THESE DIRTY BASTERDS THINK THAT KARMA WILL NOT ONE DAY CATCH UP WITH ‘EM???

#TimeLongerThanTwine

#HoldOn

19. WHERE ARE THE YOUNG CHARISMATIC LEADERS IN BARBADOS???

CAN AT LEAST “one” STAND UP & BE COUNTED WORTHY OF BEING JUST, HONEST & RIGHTEOUS???

20. WHEN WILL THE “populace” IN BARBADOS AWAKE FROM THEIR LETHARGIC COMPLIANCE & THEIR BLIND DEVOTION TO EVIL???

AWAKE, YOU FOOLISH GALATIANS – FOR WHO HAS FOOLED YOU???

AWAKE YOU SLEEPING VIRGIN – WHY BE EVENTUALLLY SHUT OUT INTO DENSE DARKNESS???

If ever there was a time that “I FEAR” for this nation – that time is “NOW”!!!

PRIME MINISTER AFTER PRIME MINISTER HAVE CONTINUED DEGREE BY DEGREE TO SELL YOU DOWN THE RIVER!!! THEY HAVE ALREADY SOLD YOUR CROWN JEWELS & ALL THAT’S LEFT IS THE FINAL COLUMN: #WageSlaves!!!

WHAT GLORIOUS INSANITY!!!

21. Well on both side we blew money. Greenland was the Bs donation. Well the Ds list long, so i will just touch on the sugar factory and the $200m there and wunna could add the rest, clearwater etc etc .

Now when it come to giving way we assets both do foolishness. From Sinkyuh and his sales to maloney wirh the hotel by accra and we blasted car park etc etc. Plus dont forget Kinch and he $37 a square foot acquisition of beach front land pun Bay Street. Den the Bs come long and sell the airport and the rights to Kensington.

Now who do the most foolishness with the NIS money is a draw. You see Sinkyuh make the NIS swallow nuff paper and Mia come long and right off 1 billiion of we the tax payers contributions!

So who do the most damage is a matter of political following, but i say both parties got nuff to beg forgiveness for!

22. There is no unit of exchange best described as ‘our money’.

Indeed, this popular refrain is imbued with a sense of a nationalist meaning.

The Americans are maybe the first to have such a misplaced refrain be given currency, pun intended, of course.

The truth is that what they so call is nothing but a unit of measurement created out of thin air by commercial banks, primarily, the Fed etc.

And what Bajans call ‘our money’ is fundamentally a function of the USD – a bastard child if you will!

If then, the USD, especially in an age of financialisation, when it’s clear that the Americans lend money to Barbados, through the IMF, WB and so on, entirely based on the requirement to keep a Ponzi scheme of international cyclical flows going, to keep the corporate elites in play, in the game.

Enter, Mark Maloney as unwitting agent of the financial empire.

The truth is that the duopoly system can do nothing else but serve its masters both in Washington and Bridgetown. Even in America the game is no different.

The money really and rightly belongs to Mark Maloney et al, not the fake nationalists walking around pretending that this lie is true.

Uh lie!

It never fails to amaze how people are so intent to, from birth to death, keep believing foolishness.

23. Since this is ‘our money’, why is it that every time Pacha prints a few billion here, and few billion there, central banks take objection.

Yuh can’t ever literally burn or otherwise deface ‘our money’ in most places.

24. Why is it that people like Mark Maloney will never face an American court regardless of the level of bribing in Bridgetown and Miami.

Because it’s his money😁

25. PACHAMAMA SOUNDSYSTEM

A Luta Continua
    A Portuguese phrase meaning ‘The struggle continues’

26. David
    Eminent domain? Do explain the giving wey of money.

27. https://youtu.be/zT1bfFiF2uc?si=fR3OmwoqM5Z9_-lP

No amount of “our money” can get Jullian Assange out of jail for telling us the truth.

Not when places like the NYTimes, Der Speigel, La Mode, The Guardian, The WP et al used Wikileaks to profit off, as they themselves were long useless as media houses, we must know cultural death cometh.

That all of these sites, and more, could allow him to rot in Bellmarsh Prison, a maximum security outfit, even as we now know with certainty that Donald Trump and Mike Pompeo, eavesdroped on his lawyers’ conversations, tried to kill him in the Ecuadorian Embassy and more as conditions precedent to having him extradited to the USA, a place where he committed no crime, to serve up to 200 years in jail.

When Assange dies in their dungeons, and he shall, the last blow to freedom of speech, freedom of the press, socalled, the role of journalism, even what they call law, will die with him. How else can these heinous crimes against him be properly digested?

28. What Was COVID Really About? Triggering A Multi-Trillion Dollar Global Debt Crisis. “Ramping up an Imperialist Strategy”?

By Colin Todhunter
    Global Research, February 15, 2024

Excerpt:
    In 2021, an Oxfam review of IMF COVID-19 loans showed that 33 African countries were encouraged to pursue austerity policies. The world’s poorest countries are due to pay $43 billion in debt repayments in 2022, which could otherwise cover the costs of their food imports.

Oxfam and Development Finance International (DFI) have also revealed that 43 out of 55 African Union member states face public expenditure cuts totalling $183 billion over the next five years.

According to Prof Michel Chossudovsky of the Centre for Research on Globalization, the closure of the world economy (March 11, 2020 Lockdown imposed on more than 190 countries) has triggered an unprecedented process of global indebtedness. Governments are now under the control of global creditors in the post-COVID era.

What we are seeing is a de facto privatisation of the state as governments capitulate to the needs of Western financial institutions.

Moreover, these debts are largely dollar-denominated, helping to strengthen the US dollar and US leverage over countries.

It raises the question: what was COVID really about?

Millions have been asking that question since lockdowns and restrictions began in early 2020. If it was indeed about public health, why close down the bulk of health services and the global economy knowing full well what the massive health, economic and debt implications would be?

Why mount a military-style propaganda campaign to censor world-renowned scientists and terrorise entire populations and use the full force and brutality of the police to ensure compliance?

These actions were wholly disproportionate to any risk posed to public health, especially when considering the way ‘COVID death’ definitions and data were often massaged and how PCR tests were misused to scare populations into submission.

Prof Fabio Vighi of Cardiff University implies we should have been suspicious from the start when the usually “unscrupulous ruling elites” froze the global economy in the face of a pathogen that targets almost exclusively the unproductive (the over 80s).

More at: https://www.globalresearch.ca/covid-capitalism-friedrich-boris/5785964

29. @ Enuff March 7, 2024 at 5:04 pm
    Eminent domain? Do explain the giving wey of money.
    (Unquote).

Given your so-called insider knowledge can you tell the BU audience who owns the land previously occupied by the Rams?

Don’t you think it is high time this controversy be properly Liquidated?

If Malmoney is not the proper owner or lessee who has granted him (or his agent) the right to erect any barricade turning the place into a very ugly site?

Aren’t you guys in any way concerned about this massive insult to the eyes of both locals and visitors?

As a make-believe town planner can you appreciate the implications such a massive manmade monstrosity can have for Bridgetown’s status as a UNESCO-designated World Heritage site?

How can you guys get on the World Stage and preach about protecting the environment while promoting the uglification of your very small Capital City?

30. @ Pacha

I refer to our money as money that we the taxpayers and contributors have put there. So whether it be Clico or Government, any funds placed on account by the general public I deem OUR money. So NIS contributions, deposits on financial institutions all seen by me as our money. As it is also us the Bajan public who own the public purse. Whether we contribute to it directly by taxation or otherwise, the funds belong to us as do the loans, in that each of us has a 1/275000 interest in how its spent. When it is wasted we the sharholders have to pay more tax to replace it. If the government borrows money it also is us who repays it.

It is a simplistic way of looking at the state coffers but in reality it is what it is.

31. @ John A
    you are deluded as you have no representation in Government,
    you are a slave to the Government working 45-100 days a year
    (@ tax rates 12.5%-28.5%)

32. @John A

Why bother, the government is not leading by example. Granted this is a duty free job but the optics!

https://barbadosunderground.net/wp-content/uploads/2024/03/IMG_5534-769×1024.jpeg

#champagnetastemaubypockets

33. Guys I agree this government and the last have fallen short of the mark. Who made the biggest blunder with the NIS is debatable. What I will say is that the Bs in my view in writing off $1billion of OUR money, without proposing a replenishment of the fund over say 10 years, has decimated the fund.

34. All electric. will save money.

https://www.carwow.co.uk/bmw/ix#gref

35. NorthernObserver Avatar

JohnA
    Fool be you?
    When in the financial restructuring, the NIS was asked to write off Bond holdings (I think it was in excess of $1B) how could it NOT impact the NIS financial condition?
    But, what it did was give many a reason to “understand” why the NIS was later required to cut benefits. All of this WITHOUT submitting any of the numerous missing financial reports. You, nor I, have not a clue exactly what went down at the NIS?
    And our leaders want it that way.
    A silent burial with the coming of the NISSS.
    There wasn’t even a requirement to list the exact asset and liabilities which were transferred?
    The $1B you wish “restored” is easy. Just like the $400M withheld by redirecting public employee contributions. Issue a Bond? Create a new Series, as the J Group is getting rather full. It’s all magic. You got back your $1B, you happy now?
    None of it is liquid. Like concessionary loans, make the new Bonds service free for 10 years. Better still, give the instrument a new name, so it doesn’t classify as debt until the service requirements begin. That keeps your debt to GDP unchanged. I’m sure architect Avi can create a new class.
    Meanwhile few have a clue what actually went down at the NIS. We like it so.

36. @NO

You must take comfort in the fact former NIS Board directors who must have had sight of management reports to support their decisions. They had a fiduciary responsibility to do right?

37. “The Paraná delta has been called ‘Earth’s fourth lung’. But local people say they and the area’s diverse flora and fauna are being pushed aside in favour of private beaches, spas and helipads”

by Harriet Barber in the Paraná delta, Argentina

I have just read the above report on the attempts being made to carve up Argentina’s wetlands in order to turn them into the new Miami.

Closer to home, I have enquired about Barbados own strategic wetlands: the Graeme Hall sanctuary which has been used as an open sewer over the years. Do your research on the importance of wetlands and why they exist. Take an aerial view of this site and you will see surrounding its perimeter that the philistines have encroached into these sacred spaces to build houses.

Our wetland is a gift from God for Bajans. How many Barbadians over these past decades have had the opportunity to visit Barbados only true natural asset which should be teeming with nature and wildlife. I should not forget to mention our gullies which are being used as a resting home for garbage.

Can you imagine we have this asset which can restore happiness and a sense of mental balance to Bajans. How is it possible for black taxpayers money to be squandered on a white business man for his personal enrichment when we have a jewel which could bring joy and happiness to the many.

This current government is merely the latest to confirm its hatred and loathing for its own black people. Is there a “Barbecue” in the house?

https://www.graemehall.com/video/barbados-national-treasure-ghns

38. @ David,

What a tragedy.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=cuuqfQFeamQ

39. @ Northern

We want the money restored in hard negotiable cash! No slide of hand paper that Massy dont take!

What politicians dont realise is Bonds are only a paper shuffle that provides a book entry. They do NOTHING to correct the cashflow of an entity. All they do is allow those chasing the vote to stand up and say LOOK WE PAY WUNNA BACK. No you have not, all you have done is substituted one piece of worthless paper for another one.

The NIS needs roughly $80 million in cash injected into it every year for the next 10 years, while banning any party from dipping in it again for foolishness. Of course this will not happen, but it is what is needed to replace the madness done by both B and D. Of course in the absence of years of audited returns one can only guess at how bad off the fund really is in terms of servicing future payables to us its shareholders.

40. John A, ‘you now see why’ those guys will never implement ITAL, FOIA, address breaches of financial regulations highlighted in the AudGen annual reports, or convene PAC meetings? Assume the DLP had won a few seats in the 2018, thereby becoming the official Opposition. That would’ve create a situation whereby the PAC would have to investigate issues that occurred under the previous administration (January 2008 – May 2018), of which the Opposition Leader/PAC Chairman was a member.

41. People have been visiting NIS since December 2023, to enquire about their eligibility for ‘early pension,’ only to be told, “yuh got to come back because the system down.” Calling reception or customer care is a waste of time. No one answers the phone.

42. They say politicians are people who were too ugly to go into show business.
    Spunking public funds is as bad as stealing from the elderly or children.

43. @ Artax

I really find it difficult to understand what the plan is for the NIS. The PM said that you can contribute by lump sums, no more quarterly returns with yellow paper and blue paper. So that would Imply to me the NIS wants money however it comes. If that be the case then there will be questions asked to the NIS about several issues by its customers. Its like a company trying to sell cars with no sales people ever available to answer questions or offer a test drive.

44. An ex-President of another nation was found guilty of financial fraud a couple of weeks ago in his real estate business empire along with his sons and fined tree hundred and fiffy fo million george washingtons… that didn’t stop him from being nominated to run again for office

45. John A 8:25

There is no doubt that your rendering falls well inside the dominant narratives.

Yours are clearly majoritarian views, we humbly concede.

However, we are postulating, that those dominant narratives are wrong, were always wrong, shall be always wrong.

Unfortunately, those within your majority will not see the train coming to crush them until it’s toooo late.

While this centre fails more and more to hold, Pacha and like minds are heading for Kasan, Russia at the unveiling of the new financial winds which will cast dominant but dated thinking asunder.

46. Kazan

47. When you breathe in
    God is moving towards you

When you breathe out
    That’s you moving towards God

So when we have the conscious act of breathing
    when we fully participate
    we are expanding and polishing our inherent life force

When we exhale and hold
    That’s us surrendering all to God

When we inhale and hold
    God remains within us

So when we start to appreciate this beautiful exchange of prana from our Mother Earth with our internal breath which we both share we breathe one another

Here is a Power Up Session sequence to practice

Breath of Life 🌬️
    Calm your mind in just 5 minutes by counting your breath
    concentrating only on your breath

Breath in Count 1
    Breath out Count 1

Breath in Count 2
    Breath out Count 2

Continue Breathing and increasing the Count
    If your mind wanders start the counting again
    See what number you can reach in 5 minutes

48. Miller

Insider information? Please stop telling lies on me. It may be that I understand the development process better than the BU intelligentsia. Up to now the blogmaster can’t present an example of giving away money. Btw I thought tourism was dead?