This should be of national interest and focus solely on Barbadosโ€™ Independence.
Submitted by Heather Cole

I am not a big fan of Independence but that is my personal point of view. When I was old enough to understand the differences between the have and the have nots in Barbados, the glamour of independence faded. ย It had become a gem without lustre. ย Despite my opinion, neither I nor any Barbadian must never forget Errol Walton Barrowโ€™s unsurpassed contribution to the development of Barbados. ย None of the institutions he created have been rivalled by any subsequent political leader of this island. ย Even I am amongst the approximately 60% of Barbadians today that benefitted from โ€˜freeโ€™ secondary and tertiary education. ย ย Undeniably, I benefitted from his creating an independent Barbados.

Tudor Rose

I write because even I, who have never been a fan of independence, is offended by the display on the East Wing of the Parliament. ย ย I have ultimately reached the conclusion that those who were responsible grossly misunderstood the assignment or made an egregious decision to manipulate the people of Barbados. The official response did not cut it for me. ย In fact, it is unacceptable.

The topic was simple, celebrating 57 years of Barbadosโ€™ Independence.  What was delivered appears to be in celebration of the Parliament buildings as the symbolism used is in no way connected to the Independence of Barbados.  Not by any stretch of the imagination.  One would have understood if an anniversary of the Parliament building was being celebrated and the designer opted to put the Tudor rose which is featured in the architecture on the building in the national colours, everyone would have understood, there would have been no fall out or a rush to defend the indefensible.

Common sense dictates that the Tudor Rose engulfed in a masonic emblem has nothing to do with the celebrating of 57 years of Independence of Barbados.  The relic though on the Parliament building pertains to a history that is not our own.  

โ€œThese wars of roses were fought between supporters of two rival cadet branches of the royal House of PlantagenetLancaster and York. The wars extinguished the last male line of the House of Lancaster in 1471, leading to the Tudor family inheriting the Lancastrian claim to the throne. Following the war and the extinction of the last male line of the House of York in 1483, a politically arranged marriage united the Houses of Tudor and York, creating a new royal dynasty which inherited the Yorkist claim as well, thereby resolving the conflict.โ€ Henry VII then created the Tudor rose which was white and red as a symbol of uniting the two royal houses.

All this happened about 141 years before the English came to Barbados. ย It was never part of Barbadian history. ย It was never a part of our pre or post-Independence story. ย There is no connection or relevance to Barbados.

One wonders if the designer understood that this is a celebration of Barbadosโ€™ independence in 1966 and, that the Parliament buildings are not being celebrated or any stories from England during the Middle Ages?  Could no symbols of unity be found from the past or in present day Barbados?  Truth be told, the Broken Trident was the only symbol that was required as it is a symbol of our breaking away from colonialism.

Alas, one also wonders if this was a deliberate attempt not to use the symbols of Barbados.ย Will independence be watered down and diluted to lose its meaning to the point where one cannot see its relevance? ย Will there be another set of irrelevant nonsense next year and the year after that until the memory of Independence and Errol Walton Barrow has been eroded? ย Is this the plan? ย Are we also witnessing the eradication of the memory and achievements of Errol Walton Barrow by a slow death of the Barbados he created? ย 

It appears that this assignment was treated like a personal submission to NIFCA which would reflect the designerโ€™s personal interpretation. This should never have happened.  This should be of national interest and focus solely on Barbadosโ€™ Independence. That depiction is simply not within the mirror image of Barbados.

In addition, and more importantly, how could anyone have the audacity to overshadow the occasion of the independence anniversary by hijacking it with the history of another country?  I am baffled to the point where I wonder if on the Parliament building, there will be a rainbow next year.

129 responses to “Misunderstanding the assignment or an act of manipulation?”

1. NorthernObserver Avatar

” the Tudor Rose engulfed in a masonic emblem”
    I’m glad someone told me what it was. I thought it was the back of a sea turtle with a hole in it.

2. Agree with Heatherโ€™s point in the article that explaining the significance and relevance of the emblem should not have left to the designer. There should have been a clear plan to educate people before it was placed publicly.

3. So what are you suggesting Boss..?
    …that our leaders in Barbados have a clear idea of where they are taking us, a vision of a coherent future? ….and should therefore be required to share that vision with us …the brass bowls that elected (or at least failed to vote AGAINST) them???

Donโ€™t mek mock sport do!!
    These people donโ€™t have a clue of what they are doing….

โ€˜Visionโ€™, for them is leveraging deals for their family, friends and constituents (in that order) – and then spending good money on public relations to tell us brass bowls how things โ€˜could be even worseโ€™ if the the other shiite party was still in power.

That โ€˜designerโ€™ is sure to be somebodyโ€™s friend – who was offered a โ€˜pickโ€™ to hang some cloth on the Parliament Building fuh independence / Republic day…. and told to de-emphasize โ€˜independenceโ€™.

The poor chap probably only found out that it was a โ€˜Tudor Roseโ€™ after Ninja Man declined to take it down to use as a blanket…

What a damned place…
    What a curse!!

The people WILL perish where there is no vision….

4. @Bush Tea

You might have read Minister of Water Santia Bradshaw apologizing for the poor communication to do with the water outage which affected a wide area last weekend including the south coast. There is a common concern these these kinds of issues , incompetence.

5. I’m trying to understand how a TEMPORARY Independence symbol could interpreted as an attempt to ‘eradicate the memory and achievements of Errol Walton Barrow,” especially when consideration is given to the fact that, not only are his contributions to the development of Barbados taught in schools, but are documented and recorded forever in the annals of Barbadian history…… while national recognition thereof is given thrice annually on Errol Barrow Day, National Heroes Day and Independence Day. Surely his image on the Barbadian $50, statues, and parks, facilities etc to honour him, are constant reminders.

6. David, the amount of scraping you guys are doing, ‘just now wunnah gine need uh new barrel.’

7. @Artax

You agree with the poor communication around the two examples referenced?

8. The Illuminati Decoded Avatar
    The Illuminati Decoded

“Common sense dictates that the Tudor Rose engulfed in a masonic emblem has nothing to do with the celebrating of 57 years of Independence of Barbados.”

Freemasons designed Barbados’ best temples and buildings such as Parliament

9. A sure sign of a society in decline is when in that society , the measurement of progress , is determined by the degree of wrongs done; when there is little or nothing being done to measure in terms of what is right.
    A hundred years ago, one Errol Barrow said that if he cannot move Mottley (Ernest) from the city, he would move the city from Mottley.
    Perhaps the realization is that since Barrow cannot be moved from Independence; the time has come to move Independence from Barrow.

10. A short history course for Heather Avatar
    A short history course for Heather

My dear Heather,
    You have been away too long. It appears that you have forgotten how things are done here.

Please allow me to refresh your memory. Do you remember how we paid tons of money for a new and original slogan and got a used version instead? What did we do? We pulled together the best brains, formed a committee and came up with a new slogan that no one can remember. I am willing to bet that as I pen this to you, we are now forming a second committee to remedy this problem.

It pains me to see your ignorance of Barbados history. You talk of Independence day, EWB and 1966. Barbados history began in May 2018 and we have replaced Independence Day with Constitution Day. Do you recall there was a plaque/monument to Errol Barrow where Mia’s name on the plaque is four times as big as the person being honored? We no longer need a Father of the Nation as we no have a Mother of the Nation.

It may be difficult, but there are some parts of our history that you must forget. There is no need for you to remember anything prior to 2018. And whatever is done wrong can be remedied by creating a committee to fix it.

I hope this letter helps in some small way.

11. On another note, the construction is taking shape in Heroes Square opposite the Parliament building. Isnโ€™t it ironic we cannot protect our artifacts but support symbols being erected no doubt at soft to taxpayers. This is not an attack on the project but the hypocrisy.

https://youtu.be/C3woWT0-UkU?si=jugGd0kaGOC9dqho

12. Anything can mean anything.
    Once again, I am amazed at what passes for logic on that small island. Some fool with a compass, a ruler and a lot of time on his hand drew a number of circles and presto … we have an Independence Day symbol. Ask anyone to show you any real connection with Independence Day and they cannot give a single example.

Don’t let anyone tell you that a fist with only the middle finger pointing upwards is a broken trident with the two outers prongs missing.

13. Stuuupse. The usual scandal chasers. It is becoming pathetic.

Then again someone that could not set up a meeting turn will obviously struggle to think.

14. David, poor communication relative to the water issue…… yes, I agree. The symbol on Parliament, in my opinion, is a non-issue…… another ‘9 day wonder,’ which will be forgotten by December 1st. At which time the homeless still remains in Independence Square and around the environs of Bridgetown. And people have to trek a dangerous route late at night, from ‘Granville Williams Terminal, through a deserted Broad Street and a dark lonesome Cheapside on their way to ‘Princess Alice Terminal,’ to catch the late night or 12:05am buses. Non-nationals, especially Guyanese and Jamaicans, hawking and setting up shanties indiscriminately all over Bridgetown. Non-nationals believing CARICOM gives them an inherent or ‘God given right’ to squat illegally on people’s property, and demand assistance from government. That MAJORITY of the stall in the new Fairchild Street Market were ALLOCATED to NON-NATIONALS who were ILLEGALLY selling food & beverages on the old market’s environs. Reason why more stalls had to be built to accommodate Barbadians who are LEGALLY entitled to them. These are only a few of several issues of which I am concerned.

15. @Artax

With respect you are trivializing the concern about the Rose especially when contextualized in an environment where mediocrity is a constant. If it becomes a 9 day wonder does not shake the point, promoting the emblem should have been part of a structured plan by a government department to apprise the public of its significance.

16. @DAVID

Blessings Bruh…

Please have a look at the “FARCICAL” nature of GOVs (NONE ARE EXEMPT)!!!

Forgive the #OffTopicNature of this piece…

Trying to get home a devilish point of reference!!!

17. David, while I ACKNOWLEDGE, ACCEPT and RESPECT people have the right to express their opinions, concerns or disapproval relative to any issue, in MY opinion, the symbol is non-issue. What could be taken away from ‘Tudor’s Rose’ is it represents the combined attributes of a red rose, which symbolises ‘love, passion and courage,’ and a white rose, ‘purity, innocence and loyalty.’ Do those attributes form any symbolic significance to independent Barbadians? If so, we could argue that something of local origins could have been used to symbolise those or other attributes, and articulate the intended message.

18. @Artax

You are not connecting with the issue. It was posted and the public was not properly informed.

19. Misunderstanding?

Barbados Independence day parade will start up the hill by Usain Bolt and end down Black rock.

20. NorthernObserver Avatar

@enuff
    I “think” it was the end of August, in the PM’s address prior to going ‘pun weeks’ that she mentioned the NIS reporting was complete up to 2015.
    Yet I haven’t seen a single report issued. Have I missed them? Surely what is coming up to 3 months since, and they may have been completed prior to that, is an inordinately long time to share information which is ready?

21. She also stated that if her two senior managers didnโ€™t bring the Savvy matter to a conclusion she would intervene. How long ago was that promise made?

22. David + NO

Give up. Wunna caant win with me.

23. @enuff

Who wants to win anything with you? We want to disrupt animal farm behaviour and predictable outcomes. Carry on smartly though.

24. David
    Speaking of Animal Farm, why you don’t go after Artax who was even more vicious in his response? I will always be predictable when responding to foolishness.

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

Exactly. I am not a politician nor do I marry myself to any party. Nothing to win or lose.
    I was wondering aloud when reports that are ready, will be finally laid in the House?
    Admittedly, I have long ago predicted the new incarnation of the NIS will appear before any outstanding Annual Reports are made public. But I would be happy to be proven wrong.

26. With the failure of Republic Day, all other attempts will be made to de-emphasise any contribution of the DLP and by extension Barrow to Independence, education and national development. Simple. The symbolism of Independence is the broken trident. Full stop.

At least Owen Seymour understood that some things should be beyond partisan politics and did justice to Independence Square.

MaM is a political creature by default. The “legacy” of Barrow is the last leg the DLP is limping on. It is obvious therefore that no effort must be spared in kicking that leg so the patient can fall and hopefully never get back up. Barrow understood that too. So did Tom.

Clearly there is no need for communication or explanation when there is 30-0 and “perceived” mass popular support.

Artax was right, these things will be a 9 day wonder….even if they are “wrong”

Just observing

27. A reply was made to Artax. How is that a substantive point on your part? All of us have opinions on matters?

28. @Observing

Trying to dismantle Barrowโ€™s legacy will be resisted by a large segment of Barbadians.

29. @NO

Spot on!

NIS change from next month

THE NATIONAL INSURANCE DEPARTMENT will become a commercial state-owned enterprise on December 1 under the name, the National Insurance and Social Security Service.

Minister of Labour, Social Security and the Third Sector Colin Jordan made the announcement in the House of Assembly yesterday while leading off debate on the National Insurance and Social Security (Amendment) (No.2) Bill, 2023.

The amendment establishes a corporate body to administer the National Insurance Scheme (NIS). It also makes better provisions for self-employed people.

Jordan disclosed that 247, or just over 92 per cent, of the NISโ€™ 267 employees had agreed to transition to the new entity. Those who opted not to โ€œhave already met with the Ministry of the Public Service and details are being worked out as to how they will be absorbed in the wider public service systemโ€.

Provisions

He said it made โ€œbetter senseโ€ to have a bill that incorporated those components of governance of the NIS that were debated in the House at the end of July and in the Senate at the beginning of August this year, and to include โ€œthose additional things that were to be added to the governance side, as well as those provisions which related to the new self-employed regimeโ€.

As set out in the amendment, the functions of the Service are to manage and operate the system of national insurance established by the Act; advise the Government and other public authorities on matters relating to the Act and the regulations; and be responsible for the policy, organisation and administration of the system of national insurance.

It will also appoint staff of the Service; be responsible for the recruitment, discipline, promotion and termination of employees; and develop policies for the prudent and efficient management of the NIS Fund.

The social security service will be headed by a chief executive officer.

(GC)

30. Scheme urged to prosecute more cheats

THE NATIONAL INSURANCE SCHEME (NIS) is being urged to โ€œprosecute more peopleโ€ who are deducting employee contributions but not paying them into the NIS as the law requires.

Government back-bencher and attorney Edmund Hinkson is also advising self-employed Barbadians to fulfil their โ€œnational dutyโ€ by contributing to NIS rather than spending โ€œall the money that they are making now on things that quite honestly are not as important as NISโ€.

The St James North representative mentioned โ€œfancy hair, long nails, fancy clothes, and shoesโ€ as examples of comparatively less important expenditure, as he also urged lawyers, accountants and medical practitioners to pay their due to the countryโ€™s social security scheme.

The former minister was contributing to debate on the National Insurance and Social Security (Amendment) (No. 2) Bill, 2023 in the House of Assembly.

Hinkson said Government had to ensure that it was paying NIS contributions for its employees and also called on the private sector โ€œnot to take money out of your employeesโ€™ salary and not pay it inโ€.

He thinks the authorities should prosecute more employers for this practice.

โ€œI have had, throughout my years, businesses as clients, and being involved in businesses I know that money could be tight sometimes, that is the truth,โ€ he said.

No money there

โ€œBut you canโ€™t be taking the employeesโ€™ portion of NIS and not paying it into the NIS because you are keeping it to sustain your business and in a lot of cases the employees donโ€™t even know that the money [is] not being paid in. When they retire they go now to NIS to try to get something to hear no money [is] there for them.โ€

โ€œAnd really and truly I [am] calling here today on the NIS and the authorities to prosecute more people on this issue. It is alright to get the unpaid debt certificate and to register it, but enforce it as well,โ€ he advised.

โ€œI know this country and I know that this is a country where people feel that they could make a phone call and therefore then they get eased off, we have to stop that because it doesnโ€™t benefit the country as a whole, it doesnโ€™t add to our national development, and in fact I can argue that it is a corrupt practice too,โ€ Hinkson asserted.

His advice to NIS officials was: โ€œSo donโ€™t be afraid of anybody, enforce the unpaid debt certificates that you have against the private sector people who are guilty of these fraudulent kind of practices against poor people, the poor employees who get taken for a ride.โ€ (SC

31. New NIS move

Minister says self-employed now mandated to contribute

SELF-EMPLOYED PEOPLE will be mandated to contribute to the National Insurance and Social Security Scheme as Government has removed certain impediments.

This formed part of the National Insurance and Social Security (Amendment) (No 2) Bill, 2023, which was debated in the House of Assembly yesterday.

Minister of Labour, Social Security and the Third Sector Colin Jordan said one of the โ€œsignificant impediments to engagementโ€ in the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) for the self-employed was โ€œthe difficulty posed by the structureโ€.

He pointed out that many selfemployed people refused to join the Scheme because they did not enjoy certain benefits, or claimed it was unaffordable primarily because they were subjected to very rigid payment rules and arrangements which many could not meet.

However, Jordan said the amendments will not only ensure a pension for the self-employed based on their contributions, but also provide for an employment injury benefit, once certain conditions as set out in the legislation were met, as Government had a particular interest in securing the welfare of the self-employed.

โ€œIn July of this year when we laid the National Insurance Boardโ€™s principal recommendations for the revitalisation of the National Insurance Scheme, in the Ministerial Statement I made at that time I indicated that one of the significant outputs of these recommendations was a new regime for self-employed persons in the NIS. The object was to facilitate the easier participation of self-employed persons in the NIS,โ€ he told the House.

The current system provides for contributions every quarter, assuming that there is a consistency of earnings. In the new structure, self-employed people will be required to pay a minimum contribution of $1 200 annually, but will be allowed the flexibility of paying that sum at intervals and in amounts convenient to them.

โ€œIf a person has $2 000 and they want to pay that, it can cover the entire year. If they want to pay it piece by piece . . . that is how you can pay it,โ€ Jordan explained.

He also said provision had been made in the bill for the self-employed to contribute towards prior years, โ€œso that a self-employed person can pay for three years in the pastโ€ since contributory pensions need โ€œa certain amount of contributionsโ€. However, the minister advised there would be a surcharge of five per cent for this arrangement, in accordance with NIS regulations.

Pointing to the plight of the selfemployed during the COVID-19 pandemic, Jordan said: โ€œI appeal to self-employed persons to take advantage of the easing of the ability to participate in this our social security system.โ€ (GC)

32. David, self-employed persons are mandated to file income tax returns and pay income taxes, but several of them don’t. The new policy of mandatory NIS contributions by the self-employed leaves me to wonder what system has been introduced to ensure adherence thereto.

33. Give up. Wunna caant win with me.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Asking for a friend of a friend Enuff…
    What do you consider โ€˜a winโ€™?

Is it winning…
    1 – The argument -as determined by your assessment?
    2 – The argument – as determined by the Blogmaster / bloggers/ commenters?
    3 – The actual outcome of the discussion being in the national interest
    4 – The outcome being in the BLPโ€™s PR interest (or DLPโ€™s DIS-interest)?
    5 – Just opposing Bushie for the fun of it?
    6 – None of the above?
    7 – All of the above (except 6)

Bushie is inclined to think that your honest answer should be โ€˜4โ€™,
    Your politically correct answer will be โ€˜3โ€™
    …but the Bushmanโ€™s gut feeling is โ€˜5โ€™

What says Enuff???

34. A troll will never admit they lost an argument Avatar
    A troll will never admit they lost an argument

“What do you consider โ€˜a winโ€™?”

FYI, A troll will never admit they lost an argument

35. Come on, David. To be fair, the former DLP administration did everything they possibly could to highlight ‘Barrow’s legacy,’ other party members and promote the DLP, while purposely ignoring Sir Grantley Adams’ contribution to Barbados’ development. I’m sure you’ll recall every night, 75% of CBC TV8 news was dominated to DLP sponsored events and ‘every cock fight’ a minister attended. Immediately after the news came ‘News Extra,’ which was used to broadcast speeches made by ministers, Freundel Stuart’s speeches at DLP annual conferences and other associated events, DLP Friday lunch time lectures. There was also a programme named, ‘Say it again,’ during which lectures by Bobby Morris and party associates at the lunch time lectures were televised. There were repeats, ad nauseum, of interviews of Barrow, Masie Barker-Welch, ‘Sleepy’ Smith, ‘Goldie’ Taitt, ‘Cammie’ Tudor, ‘Bobby’ Morris, Phillip Greaves and other DEMS I cannot remember at this time. Government buildings and schools were renamed after DLP stalwarts. And, in addition to being the obvious highlight of Errol Barrow and Independence Days, Barrow was the ‘main attraction’ every Heroes Day.

36. Based on the above facts, David, any rationally, objectively thinking individual would reasonably assume such actions by the DEMS, was a similar ‘attempt to de-emphasise any contribution of the BLP and by extension Sir Grantley Adams, to education and national development’ as well. Yet, despite their exceptional party promotion skills and specific concentration thereon, in addition to poor governance and socio-economic policies saw the DLP being defeated 30-0 twice. Mottley and the BEES should bear in mind, according to Wilson, ‘high and haughty features might betray.’ A similar fate awaits them, for such display of arrogance. My humble ‘observation,’ the gist of which will be missing from the next list of ‘warmed over soup’ observings.

37. Not Wilson…… Thomas Campbell’s ‘The Gertrude of Wyoming.’ ‘And though amidst the thought of calm entire, some high and haughty features might betray…’

38. @Artax

If you are โ€˜wonderingโ€™ the blogmaster is wondering squared.

39. @Artax

Monkey see monkey do?

#animalfarm

40. @Artax
    Warmed over soup has much filled many a belly. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I can completely concur re. a similar fate however.

@Bushie
    I think #8 is the bet choice

Time will tell if the resistance succeeds.

Just observing

41. Reading ‘between the lines’ from comments by MP Hinkson, and another MP earlier, apart from the issues with self employed persons contributing, it seems enuff businesses followed the GoB lead and took monies on “trust” from the NIS.
    As the entities transition, transferring assets/liabilities maybe an issue?
    Given the continued lack of accountability by the NIS, any self employed person should continue to not participate.
    Charity begins at home.
    Business or entities who deduct from employees but fail to remit cannot be condoned. But this is no different than businesses who collect VAT and similarly keep those taxes in trust ๐Ÿ˜†
    Like in politics, the unwritten rule is if you can get away with something, why not?
    If the keepers of the fund are not going to abide by the rules, why should you?

42. Obviously you would ‘concur re a similar fate,’ while conveniently ignoring the other ‘observations re your political party.’ You should be ashamed to even make any referene to Enuff, especially knowing both you and him use different strategies to achieve similar objectives. While he uses a direct approach, yours is subtlety under the guise of ‘just observing.’ He is attacked, while you’re given a ‘free pass.’ Even Ray, Stevie and Julio can see on which side of the fence you sit.

43. @ Northern

I would also add that anyone contemplating paying the NIS as a new self employed person, needs to ask themselves in light of how the government has kicked the retirement can to 67, what guarantee do they have that it will not get kicked to 70 over the next decade?

If the same young business person took at a plan with a respected private institution, their pension age would be defined in the plan and form part of the contract on the day of signing, that along with their monthly contribution. Can the NIS make the same claim? Nope.

44. @John A

What benefits are you thinking? What about unemployment benefits?

45. David, eligible self-employed persons are entitled to invalidity, maternity and sickness benefits, and their spouses, survivors benefits and funeral grants.

46. @Artax

Exactly.

47. NorthernObserver Avatar

@JohnA
    Their is that….reduced benefits (but we are good cause somebody will compare it to another locale?).
    The bigger truth, is the larger employers, who HAVE paid the requisite premiums, refuse to hold the ๐Ÿ”ฅ to the NIS and put premiums into escrow UNTIL the NIS begins to follow the rules. It is very simple.
    Or as the PM phrased it, put the contributions in trust.
    Those are the only ones with a big enough stick to drive change.
    Because what will happen is a whole lot of fanfare, and the lack of governance will continue. Why change?
    Many of those involved with the NIS over the past 15 years have been rewarded and honoured.

48. @ David

The main benefit I refer to is pension. Health and other needs can be covered through private insurers, as well as unemployment benefits under their extended plan. As for the death benefit well you have to decide how bad you need the $1000.

I have paid NIS for 40 years and do not regret it. However the recent debt restructuring has cat spraddled the fund. Also kicking the can on the pension age down the road has left many doubting the ability of the fund to honour its obligations long term. You got to remember younger people are well read and are not the sheep of yesterday. The fund in my view has lost the faith of many. Both the Bs and Ds are responsible for this as well. One printed the money and the other wrote it off.

49. @NO
    “Many of those involved with the NIS over the past 15 years have been rewarded and honoured.”

As is always the case in a country with little accountability and much “patronage”

agreed that the fund has lost the faith of many, but, the preverbial question is always who is or should bell the cat?

@Artax
    If I had made a reference to Enuff I might be inclined to be slightly ashamed but since I didn’t I am not. And yes, the view from BOTH sides of the fence is lovely.

Just observing

50. The problem with many and what always stands in the way of true change it seems is politics. That is why I don’t do the party thing. Both parties have done good and both have done bad for this rock. The question for me is not who done what or when, but who will fix it regardless of party affiliation. I still feel we have it within us to fix the NIS. Question is who will see the process through and will the politicians support the changes on both sides of the fence?