June 26, 2023 will be remembered by fans of cricket and in particular those who support the West Indies team as another dark day. It was a day orange was the new maroon. It was a day an Associate Member team humiliated a West Indies team by scoring 374 runs to tie a 50 over game in an ongoing competition and finally won it in a super over. A super over which saw Jason Holder struck for 30 runs.

On July 13, 2009 a blog titled The Darkest Day In West Indies Cricket was posted by Barbados Underground. Not many West Indian cricket fans would have envisaged the precipitous decline in our cricket thirteen years later. Baby boomers in the BU household who were fortunate to witness triumphant West Indies cricket teams of the 70s and 80s have had to stop being fans of regional cricket, including the blogmaster.

To be honest the blogmaster feels unqualified to unpack the may problems obviously affecting West Indies cricket. What cannot be refuted is that the passion with which former players from the golden era played the game has long faded. The game has been commodified and our top players from all reports are paid very well, BUT, the passion that is a prerequisite to give of ones best is gone.

To excel as a prominent figure in any field necessitates adopting the most effective management methodologies along with their comprehensive implications. Regrettably, the composition of the Board of Management (WIBC), responsible for the supervision of West Indies cricket, does not adhere to the principles that parallel the operational prowess of prosperous institutions. Astonishingly, the selection process for Directors within the WIBC revolves solely around membership in exclusive circles, driven by capricious desires and aspirations of individuals yearning for recognition and wealth.

BU Blog 2009

Like sugar the blogmaster believes cricket is dead. Many of our regional institutions have started to struggle to deliver on mandates. Whether it is CARICOM, UWI, LIAT, CXC, CDB to name those top of mind. Some may insist that mismanagement of regional economies by governments have created a difficult environment in which to excel. The demise of West Indies cricket should therefore not be critiqued in a vacuum. How have our leaders in the political and NGO spheres brought us here? Has the lack of advocacy by the citizenry helped to hasten the rot in regional institutions?

A reminder what is the Mission of Cricket West Indies (CWI) – To lead, inspire and unite cricket in the West Indies from thriving grassroots to exciting West Indies teams, ensuring sustainable success.

The global media has been reveling at the indifferent performers being trotted out by the once mighty West Indies team with mocking headlines. At least one Prime Minister in the region – Rowley from Trinidad – has been quoted as saying, โ€œToday I saw THE WORST CRICKET MATCH ever played by a West Indies teamโ€. Should Rowley have recalled instead the question posed by late Prime Minister Sir Lloyd Sandiford when he asked – how did we get here? Everything is out of controlโ€, โ€œit did not happen yesterdayโ€.

Orange is the new maroon.

315 responses to “West Indies Cricket – regional institutions in decline”

1. “By the time they get to be eligible for national selection they have thousands of hours invested and have seen every quirk of bat and ball.”

This is an excellent point and may be applicable to both cricket and the classroom.

The brilliance of some students on exams is that by the time they enter the testing centers they have seen thousands of questions in many variations. Familiarity with the questions and materials increases their knowledge of the material and speed of response.

It is quite possible that there is also a ( not mentioned) decline in the quality of our students.

๐Ÿ˜ƒGet you off sugar, water, Quakers, and slavery and you make good sense.๐Ÿ˜ƒ

2. One should point out that we are now seeing all forms of sports being invaded by high level performers from all ethnic groups.

Some have abandon the notion that ‘we don’t do sports, we aren’t good at it’ and are reaping success by applying themselves to the task at hand. The mental chains have been broken.

The problem with the West Indies is the reverse. We see ourselves as sharks, king of the mountain top of the heap … and others as ‘minnows’. This may be the hardest chain to break … arrogance, a false sense of superiority, a lack of skills …..

Even when I am most optimistic, I cannot see any recovery. The only way we can avoid defeat by minnows is to abandon the team or the game.

3. Isnโ€™t one of the big problems a waning interest in cricket from an already small pool of people compared to other countries? We need to lift the discussion from being nostalgic to current realities.

4. TheOGazerts on July 5, 2023 at 12:47 PM said:

The problem with the West Indies is the reverse. We see ourselves as sharks, king of the mountain top of the heap โ€ฆ and others as โ€˜minnowsโ€™. This may be the hardest chain to break โ€ฆ arrogance, a false sense of superiority, a lack of skills โ€ฆ..

All you have to do is listen to the politicians talk. Miss Mockley is “convinced” we can punch above our weight by looking at the achievements of a few in the past.

PM’s in other island also convey their supreme arrogance and entitlement every time they get a microphone in their hand.

All miss the point that the relatively few who did punch above their weight did so by sacrifice, commitment, dedication and application.

There is no reason why a few cannot achieve great heights, once they are prepared to work hard.

That is what is missing from our leaders, LEADERSHIP BY EXAMPLE!!

Was Usain Bolt born running fast?

What about Alberto Juantoreno or Don Quarrie or Hasely Crawford or Teophilo Stephenson or any number of great Jamaican athletes.

Each of them had a skill they personally decided to develop as far as they could and put in the time.

There are just no exemplars to follow any more!!.

5. Suppose a group of West Indians (a few good men and women) decided to change things and set up camps in various territories which promoted discipline and training.

Suppose they started with a clean slate and selected the best young cricketers, brought in teams from over and away and promoted the basic principles on which cricket and sport in general are based.

Suppose in addition they were engaged in businesses which offered future employment to the best of the best.

Suppose they even arranged games between the WI team as constituted and their team.

What would happen?

I think their team would burst the asses of the WI team as is currently set up.

I think the various Governments would go crazy and feel threatened by what they would imagine as a threat to their control.

What happened to Kerry Packer in Australia?

It could well be that the Governments, with their penchant for control, are responsible not only for the decline in the WI team but also the decline in WI families and societies.

6. CWI is a private entity. Regional governments cannot be directly involved in its operations. Remember the ICC’s response, when Gonsalves, Mitchell, et al ‘by passed’ then CWI president Cameron in their attempt to schedule a meeting with the Council. However, if you are implying that, according to you, since “governments are responsible for the decline in WI families and societies,” the attitudes and behaviours developed therefrom as a result, are manifested in the cricketers’ approach to the game, there is some merit to your argument. If not, then you may want to explain how goverments control cricket.

7. The important points we seem to be ignoring are, the current state of WI cricket is perhaps responsible for the waning interest in the game. And, while WI cricket has been on the decline for the past 20+ years, during the same time, the other countries, including the ‘minnows,’ cricket has been improving.

8. @Artax

Is popularity for what is a national sport contingent on winning or losing? We have many example citizens supporting their national teams even if they have losing records. It brings into question again loyalty to west indies cricket by a group of sovereign nations.

9. Artax on July 6, 2023 at 7:52 AM said:

CWI is a private entity. Regional governments cannot be directly involved in its operations. Remember the ICCโ€™s response, when Gonsalves, Mitchell, et al โ€˜by passedโ€™ then CWI president Cameron in their attempt to schedule a meeting with the Council. However, if you are implying that, according to you, since โ€œgovernments are responsible for the decline in WI families and societies,โ€ the attitudes and behaviours developed therefrom as a result, are manifested in the cricketersโ€™ approach to the game, there is some merit to your argument. If not, then you may want to explain how goverments control cricket.

The Governments of the territories took a left turn and have become psuedo fascist where they seek to control private companies and individuals.

Look at Public Transportation in the 60’s and its nationalisation by the Government. It became a mess.

Today we get more private cars on the road than ever, traffic jams out the wazoo and a completely inefficient transportation system.

The government collects millions in road tax and can’t keep the roads in order and always borrowing millions to upgrade its fleet of busses.

At the household level, look at the vaccine mandates and compulsory shut downs and shut ins.

The various governments are all into control and are not measured on merit.

Unlike our cricketers who exert themselves physically and are always at risk of serious physical injury sometimes for 10 to 15 years our politicians chill out, steal and destroy. After 8 years they collect a pension and are set for life.

That’s why so many leave these shores.

Where do you live Atrax?

We know Hants and Grasshopper are long gone.

Where did Joffra Archer come from? Archer sounds like an old Bajan name.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jofra_Archer

10. David, please note I was careful to ‘say,’ “the current STATE of WI cricket,” which, in all fairness, cannot be reasonably defined to the WI team and how many games they win or lose.

11. @Artax

Your reminder is noted but the substantive point is on the table. To what extent is waning interested in cricket related to superficial loyalty to a west indies flag.

12. All what you have outlined above DOES NOT EXPLAIN how ‘governments control cricket,’ especially the reference the referrence to Joffra Archer.

13. @ David, is that a question directed to me, because I cannot remember raising any issue pertaining to loyalty and the WI as it relates to the waning interest in cricket.

14. @Artax

There is a good case to be made that government given its overarching influence in our small societies have say covertly? Bare in mind cricket programs are managed in the school system and there is the issue of funding and related issues with physical resources.

15. A next slap up alongside the head Avatar
    A next slap up alongside the head

Superficial loyalty?

The fact that some are here still pining for the WI of old tells me that for them the love is more than superficial.

It boggles my mind that a few are still here full with wishful thinking and hoping for better.

“Hey you! Yes, you! We have not reached the stage where medals are given for team participation. You are supporting a bunch of proven losers. Give it up.

You may have the patience of Job, but you are lacking the the wisdom of a Solomon. Give it up.”

16. today's mantra affirmation Avatar
    today’s mantra affirmation

It is a given that WI cricket is in decline
    but has it bottomed out yet

sometimes when you fall in a ditch
    it is more comfortable to just lay there without getting up again

today’s mantra affirmation to repeat 3 times mentally is
    “When I root myself into the earth,
    the earth rises up to support me”

17. An example of why Barbados is not a place for Barbadians!!

18. Barbadians cannot build anything anymore, far less a proper cricket team.

19. Barbados is for barbarians.

Which of this group of young men is a future George Headley or Sir Learie Constantine or Sir Garfield Sobers?

Which one has the commitment, discipline or intellect to construct a Test Match innings?

Who would even employ any?

They are unemployable as they exist.

20. Like if any country in the whole world doed not have hooligans.

21. The cricketing bus has left West Indies behind!
    By Adina Trim
    With every failure of the West Indies team the same conversations arise. X player shouldnโ€™t have been picked, Y shouldnโ€™t be coach, the players donโ€™t have passion etc. So why is it that after two plus decades of these criticisms the performances of the regional outfit have continued to decline? Have we somehow managed to select incompetent captains and managers over the past 20 years? Have we appointed misguided selection panels for two decades? Have the multitude of players who have donned the maroon and failed to live up to expectations all lacked the pride needed to fulfil their talent? The definition of insanity is repeatedly doing the same thing and expecting a different result. The fact that we continue to raise these same tired issues as the reasons the Windies continue to decline can be safely considered insane and a misdiagnosis of the real issues.
    Letโ€™s face it, the cricketing bus has gone ahead without the West Indies! New passengers have positioned themselves at the correct bus stop and have hopped aboard. The West Indies are at the wrong bus stop and no one has realised that as yet. They are still waiting hoping the bus will turn up at some time! West Indies cricket is built on clay โ€“ no proper foundation. It has been so for over two decades and we continue to hope for the best, but in our heart, we expect the worse.
    I am no cricketer and donโ€™t have intimate knowledge of the game, but I have been around cricket for more than 15 years because of sons who are keen on cricket. What is clear to me, those overseeing the administration and development of cricket domestically and regionally are out of their depth. One just has to look at the so-called program me for the development of grassroot cricket sponsored by a leading financial institution.
    This was a big farce! Similarly, the Herman Griffith Primary School tournament โ€“ poorly organised, poorly run. It was the norm to turn up to find unprepared grounds and no one to officiate these games.
    The coaching in schools, except in a few cases, is abysmal. It is not much better at the club level, so what do we expect? The administration and management of cricket, like football and to some extent athletics, have been held by individuals who lack the strategic vision and know-how to evolve the sport to the next stage like other countries.
    โ€œIt is time to dispense with the divisive conversation about the state of West Indies cricket that is spearheaded by โ€œleadingโ€ commentators in our media. Once we move past this, perhaps we can finally start to address the concerns raised in the many reports on West Indies cricket, in particular the role of the territorial boards vis a vis the regional governing body, now Cricket West Indies, in the development of the sport and our cricketers.โ€œ
    It is time to dispense with the divisive conversation about the state of West Indies cricket that is spearheaded by โ€œleadingโ€ commentators in our media. Once we move past this, perhaps we can finally start to address the concerns raised in the many reports on West Indies cricket, in particular the role of the territorial boards vis a vis the regional governing body, now Cricket West Indies, in the development of the sport and our cricketers.
    The territorial boards simply do not do enough to ensure the development of the regionโ€™s cricketers to a level comparable with other cricketing nations, and they must put regional biases aside and collaborate for the good of West Indies cricket.
    Cricket West Indies can only work with the talent that is nurtured at the national level. Cricket West Indies also has a central role in working with the regional boards to chart and support the strategic direction of the regionโ€™s cricket.
    Sadly, the state of West Indies cricket is a reflection of the malady that affects most of our national and regional institutions. While they may have served us well in the past, they have failed to evolve to be successful and/or competitive in the new environment. A close and dispassionate examination will find most of them dysfunctional and unfit for purpose.
    This column was offered as a Letter to the Editor.

22. GUILTY!
    Six convicted of shooting at police
    by Fernella Wedderburn
    Five men were remanded and a warrant was issued for another to be locked up on arrest after a jury convicted them of several gun-related offences related to a shootout with police five years ago.
    After two-and-a-half days of summation by Justice Carlisle Greaves, the nine-member jury took less than three hours to reach unanimous guilty verdicts on the ten-count indictment in which Adigun Rabbi Hinds, of 5A Maddison Terrace, Deacons; Malik Derick Fenty, of 2nd Avenue Redman Road, Deacons; Richad Barry Boyce, of 2nd Avenue Kellman Land, Black Rock; Richard Shamario Worrell, of Derriston Road, Grazettes; Ranako Kadeaine Brathwaite, of Fairfield Cross Road; and Rashad Justin Bowen, of Gilkes Land, Fairfield, Black Rock faced joint and individual charges.
    Hinds, Fenty, Boyce, Worrell and Bowen were found guilty of recklessly discharging a firearm along Kew Road, Bank Hall, St Michael, a public place, which placed Acting Assistant Superintendent of Police Dale Crichlow, and officers Jamal Williams, Ryan Eversley and Markinson Chandler in danger of death or serious bodily harm.
    The five were also convicted of using a firearm while committing the offence of endangering life.
    All six were convicted of having four firearms in their possession, namely two 9 mm semi-automatic pistols and two .40 mm semi-automatic pistols, without a valid licence to do so, as well as 44 rounds of ammunition without the necessary permit.
    Brathwaite, meanwhile, was found guilty of recklessly discharging a firearm along Kew Road, Bank Hall, St Michael, a public place, which placed officers Kevin Boyce and Jason Allman in danger of death or serious bodily harm, and using a firearm while committing the offence of endangering life.
    Following the verdicts, Senior State Counsel Neville Watson who was the prosecutor in the case asked that the convicted men be remanded to Dodds pending sentence.
    Justice Greaves ordered that Worrell, Hinds, Fenty, Boyce and Bowen be remanded, and he issued a warrant of arrest for Brathwaite who has missed several court dates.
    The judge, who presides over the No. 3 Supreme Court, said Brathwaite โ€œis to be remanded in custody if and when apprehended pending sentenceโ€.
    Pre-sentencing reports have been ordered for all six convicts, which should be submitted to the court by September 15.
    Justice Greaves explained that while he understood that Brathwaite had been absent, it was his view that probation officers could still interview his family and any other pertinent persons recommended by his attorney Simon Clarke.
    During Wednesdayโ€™s proceedings, it was also disclosed by Detective Constable Damian Beckles that only three of the six men were previously known to the court. He said Hinds had three previous convictions for theft and robbery; Worrell had five convictions, among them possession of ammunition and cannabis; and Bowen has a conviction for cannabis possession.
    Martie Garnes, who, in association with Latisha Springer represented Fenty, signalled that he intended to challenge the case at the Court of Appeal.
    Worrell was represented by attorney-at-law Michael Lashley KC; Hinds had Angella Mitchell-Gittens and Kristen Vanderpool as his attorneys; Boyceโ€™s lawyer is Kyle Walkes; and Bowen had Justin Leacock as his defence counsel.
    The men will reappear before the court on September 29 for sentencing.

23. David, Adina Trim accurately describes the state of WI cricket. And notice, there wasn’t any definitive reference to how many games the team win or loses.

24. @Artax

It is an article that resonates.

25. Wondering how the ‘A guy’ is feeling.

Does it hurt? I think I detect some pain in his contributions. It was hurting me until I stopped caring. Now, I am willing to discard the team, completely.

Is it frustrating? I get the feeling he still cares, but doesn’t know what to do.

Is he crying?
    https://youtu.be/tNdBLBleO90

26. The administration and management of cricket, like football and to some extent athletics, have been held by individuals who lack the strategic vision and know-how to evolve the sport to the next stage like other countries.

True also at the level of Parliament, when we actually get one that is constitutional.

Why would cricket, football or anything else be different?

Yet we recycle the failed individuals and policies over and over again.

27. If you love the game, there is so much more to follow these days.

The Ashes right now is intriguing.

So, no need to cry, sit back relax and enjoy.

28. Today there was raw pace and unrestrained hitting on disply.

Simply wonderful.

29. “Like if any country in the whole world does not have hooligans.”

Yes, you are correct.

I’m sure you’ve seen and read how the hooligans in the UK and other European countries behave after the football teams they support either win or lose a game.
    Or the white hooligans hurling racial slurs at Black players.
    And, we could similarly provide the forum with YouTube videos of white people ‘stowing away’ at fetes, participating in the riots in France, or perpetrating mass shootings in the US.
    But, perhaps it is being implied
    their form of ‘hooliganism’ is a bit more sophisticated and tolerable than what is exhibited in the Caribbean.

However, if you ‘read between the lines’ of contributions by certain BU contributors, you’ll realise the existence of underlying racial undertones therein.
    Reminds me of Richard ‘Lowdown’ Hoad’s columns.

Recently, one of them, who refers to Barbados as a ‘turd world country,’ and often makes snide remarks implying Black Barbadians are incapable of managing anything, made a pejorative comment about an APE.
    It is clear that guy is a RACIST.

Interestingly, John began his comments to this thread with a reference to working on the plantation and playing cricket.
    Now, he seems to be implying that since Black Barbadians moved away from the plantation way of life, they have become indiscipline, which has extended to cricket.

30. “Does it hurt? I think I detect some pain in his contributions. It was hurting me until I stopped caring. Now, I am willing to discard the team, completely.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

WI cricket has been on the decline for the past 20+ plus years, and as such, the team not qualifying for the 2023 World Cup did not surprise me.

Recall the 2019 WC qualifier match between WI and Scotland in March 2018, when WI was bowled out for 198.
    In reply, after 35.2 overs, Scotland was 125 for 5, before the rain came and the Duckworth-Lewis-Stern system calculation declared WI the winners by 5 runs.
    Unfortunately, Richie Berrington was wrongly adjudged lbw on 33 to Ashley Nurse in the 32nd over, a decision that couldn’t have been reviewed because there wasn’t a review system in place.

WI was also eventually eliminated in the Super 12 stage of the 2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.
    And, that team included the so called ‘big guns’ and T20 stars.
    POLLARD (c), NICHOLAS POORAN (vc), DWAYNE BRAVO, Lendl Simmons, Ravi Rampaul, Evin Lewis, Akeal Hosein (7 Trinidadians); CHRIS GAYLE, Fabian Allen, ANDRE RUSSELL, SHIMRON HETMYER, Andre Fletcher, Oshane Thomas. Obed McCoy, Hayden Walsh, Jason Holder and Royston Chase.

Additionally, the WI T20 team also failed to qualify for the Super 12 stage of the ICC T20 World Cup 2022, after losing to Ireland in their final first-round qualifier.
    Scotland also defeated them by 42 runs and they lost to Zimbabwe as well.

I could go on and on.

31. Cricket Australia have a ritual.

They visit the beaches of Gallipoli regularly with their teams.

The idea is for the players to understand a bit of their history and appreciate the sacrifice their ancestors made when the ANZACS went ashore in WWI.

I was thinking of how our lot might be motivated to understand where WI cricket originated.

Perhaps they could be taken to the grounds around the sugar factories and other enterprises where it all begun and shown the humble origins of WI cricket.

A day or two working in Portvale and appreciating the skills of the technical folks could also be worthwhile.

32. How about some white Bajans showing an interest in playing cricket like they did in the old days and comeback to play with the negroes.

33. I googled Barbados Cricket League and could not even find it.

I seem to remember the Sunday papers with pages of scorecards for the myriad teams in the BCA and BCL.

History gone.

34. The concept of “race” was always a competition

About my Father
    Do Jah Works

35. Remember, David, the BCA remained predominantly white until sometime during 1966. However, white people slowly withdrew from playing cricket, after ‘exclucively white’ clubs, such as Pickwick, Wanderers, Windward…… and even YMPC, which comprised of working class whites, opened membership to Black people. But, yuh done know how we does operate, especially when we got a few dollars. A guy would ‘gloat with pride’ to tell his friends that his son plays cricket for Wanderers, while ‘pouring scorn’ on Empire.

36. It is obvious early cricketers would be working class because cricket sprung out of the competition among factories.

The prized statistic the workers in each factory worked towards was the conversion rate, tons of sugar per ton of cane.

So, if you were to look at the Big Six you would find the owners of the factories figuring prominently in early teams, eg George Challenor, Harold Austin etc.

They happened to be white but it was more to do with their involvement in business that they figured prominently in cricket.

You will find also the technical jobs in the factory done by whites and mixed race individuals.

So naturally they will largely make up the early cricketers.

As the game gained popularity among more and more Bajans, more and more Black Barbadians came to the fore.

However, one set of Bajans were playing for the love of the game and another only saw colour.

This is the legacy of Bajan Cricket until today so it will not realise success at Cricket depends on love of the game and honing your skills.

A case of missing the forest for the trees.

The more Atrax writes the more he/she confirms what I am saying.

If a person plays cricket for the love of the game and to get as good as he can there will come a time when the enjoyment of the game departs if most are seeing only colour.

37. I only realised this truth in the early 1990’s when WI were at the top of their game.

My barber, a Pickwick man at the time, supported any team but the West Indies.

I could never understand why at the time and thought he was being disloyal until I thought about it and realised what he was saying.

He called it right because soon after that WI entered a downward spiral, too opiniated to practice skills, and always a feeling of superiority and entitlement.

I still want the WI to win every time they play but at the same time as the 90’s progressed I withdrew whatever emotional investment I had in the team.

I have no unfulfilled expectations and it doesn’t matter to me much how low WI sink.

The team is fulfilling its destiny but it isn’t going to pull me down with it!!!

38. My friend, I have not ‘confirmed anything you said.’

39. Examine the DNA; it is damaged. Avatar
    Examine the DNA; it is damaged.

What if I could pinpoint to the very day when WI cricket begin to die?
    What if I identify the vent that drove the first nail into the coffin of WI cricket.
    What if I could you that talk of cricketing culture is utter nonsense?

The day the first WI cricketer agreed to be called an honorary white in South Africa was when the first nail was driven into the coffin. We gained a few bucks and lost a generation.

A perfect demonstration of a lack of self respect and a refusal to accept that we are our brother’s keeper. What message did this end to our youths? Put aside ideals, forget about dignity and just go after hard cold cash.

If the role models are highly flawed, then their successors/trainees will also be flawed.

No recovery; damage DNA

40. Examine the DNA; it is damaged. on July 7, 2023 at 11:52 AM said:

The day the first WI cricketer agreed to be called an honorary white in South Africa was when the first nail was driven into the coffin. We gained a few bucks and lost a generation.

Would that be The Right Excellent The Honourable Sir Garfield St. Aubyn Sobers in 1970 or are you splitting hairs over Rhodesia not being South Africa?

And after 1970, WI cricket blossomed.

The problem was WI stopped playing cricket for the pure enjoyment and love and started to see all shades of colour.

This was a purposely divisive tool used by our illustrious leaders to divide us.

Also used it to destroy the economy, in particular the Sugar Industry.

I see we lost another match, this time against Sri Lanka and by 8 wickets.

What is the point of spending money on this?

41. What man in world cricket is spoken of in such terms as these by his contemporaries?

What respect he was given.

Lara broke his records but who remembers Lara today like this?

Sobers played cricket for the sake of cricket.

He never got caught up with colour or politics,

42. Are you referring to the WI to the 1982-83 and 1983-84 ‘rebel cricket tours’ to South Africa? Remember, South Africa was banned from playing international cricket because of their apartheid system of government {colour prejudice segregation}.

43. … and that is the difference between good and great!!

44. With a short memory, anyone can become a hero if enuff time passes. Avatar
    With a short memory, anyone can become a hero if enuff time passes.

I see that both you and “the A guy” realized that my history of WI cricket was deficient.
    —–x—-

I will tread softly here for in a land devoid of true heroes and in love with girunts, a harsh statement could drive the inhabitants to madness.

Indeed, I did not remember the inglorious Rhodesian adventures of “Sir” Gary Sobers who felt that as a “professional cricketer and a sportsman, not a politician” he had done nothing wrong.”

It is somewhat amusing that Sobers took this stance ,years after the great Muhammad Ali took a completely different stance. Today, we see Colin Kaepernick and others continue to take a stance based on political beliefs. I tried to see how Nelson Mandela felt about Garfield Sobers but was unable to get a good read. However, Mandela’s professed love of Don Bradman tell me he was not too impressed with the local great.

I wish to state that without intimate contact with the USA, our politicians and sportsmen are neutered figures mouthing pathetic excuses for their actions.

With a short memory, anyone can become a hero if enuff time passes.

45. Once upon a time ….