Pandora Papers – Greed, a Deadly Sin

We have seen the transformation of the Barbados economy to service based in the 80’s and 90’s. We are now a small island developing state that depends on tourism, upwards to 60% direct and indirect to GDP and the offshore sector estimated to directly contribute about 10% to GDP. 

In 2016 the International Consortium of Investigative Journalists (ICIJ) posted to a public website 11.5 million leaked documents labelled The Panama Papers. Earlier this month an additional 11.9 million leaked documents were posted with the label The Pandora Papers. The leaked documents reminded the world the lengths rich and prominent individuals are prepared to go to open offshore accounts- in order to avoid paying taxes and or to secrete ill gotten gains. The Papers exposed the who’s who of the global community- former presidents, billionaires, celebrities, corporate players et al. 

One may reasonably conclude that many rich people across across geographies see benefits to taking advantage of opportunities tax havens and tax shelters offer. Not every offshore account is illegal, however, persons have been prosecuted as a result of the leaked documents. 

Why should Barbadians believe we do not have our share of tax dodgers and other shady characters operating questionable accounts in murky offshore jurisdictions across the globe? When BU leaked the Cahill documents there was evidence of accounts opened in Guernsey to support the transaction. 

The incarceration in the USA of former minister Donville Inniss for money laundering is believed to be the tip of the iceberg. There is enough fire and smoke to suggest that that local rich and prominent individuals are no less inclined to manipulate the system to siphon money to accounts ‘off grid’.

Here is a question churning in the mind of the blogmaster addressed to whom it may concern – for the avoidance of doubt – individuals like @markmaloney @kyffinsimpson @miamottley @peterodle @halgollop @paulaltman @etal – what is in your outside pocket?

Relevant Link to ICIJ Offshore Leaks Database

90 thoughts on “Pandora Papers – Greed, a Deadly Sin

1. @ David BU
    Why are you stirring the pot this bright and peaceful morning? Do you want some hot peppers to put in it? Did you see any Bajans in the Panama Papers? If not what do you want the commenters to say?

2. @David

All this will soon be irrelevant when the globally agreed minimum tax rate of 15% comes into place. Basically the plan is where ever you try to run to the rate will be a minimum of 15%, including good old Bim who were too glad to sign on as it would triple their current corporation tax rate.

3. David
    All of these socalled disclosures, except the ones by Edward Swonden and Julian Assange and the like, are intelligence agency projects. We mean the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)

Recall for example, how Russian President Vladimir Putin was featured on almost all media dealing with these papers for nearly a month now. And this is not the first time.

The irony is that Putin is not even featured in these stories. As they otherwise continue to claim that Putin is the richest man on earth. They said the same thing about Forbes Burnham. This writer just happen to know that at death Burnham was a man of limited material means. So too were many other politicians we have worngly come to know as thieves.

Ask yourself why Assange is rotting in the Tower of London, Bellmarsh Prison, and why Edward Swoden has to be in a self-imposed exile in Russia.

Why the United States under Obama, the great “democrat”, forced the presidential aircraft carrying the Bolivian president was forced to land because of the misconception that Swoden was onboard.

Ask yourself why very few Americans are mentioned in this Pandora’s Box. Why nobody is ever criminalized like Swoden, Assange and even Manning in none of these cases.

This is just a game deploying a socalled jounalistic consortium as the proper prostitutes.

Where are the arguments about stolen information, as an illegal act, which are mounted when we get to see what we really should not, according to them.

This project is just another one of many, many others with which our envirinment is polluted aimed at maintain a centre under collapse.

• @Pacha

Agree to your position the system is manipulated by power brokers located in the west. This has always been the case BUT does it make the actions of the greedy, some listed in the leaks any less wrong?

4. @ John A at 9 :21 AM

It should also remove the fictitious divide between “tax avoidance” and “tax evasion”, i believe?

5. David
    How best to distract and at the same time present yourself as a paragon of virtue than by pointing at what would be percieved as widespread corruption in the world when you, yourself, are the biggest criminal nation state on earth.

Present a world in which when only you are the policemen can order be. Anybody who has had intimate relationships with these people can easily read these tired games. Unfortunately, most see them the ways you do.

6. David

Permit us to stray from the topic just once.

We see a date certain has been set to make Sandra Mason the new president of Barbados.

Its now a fait accompli.

What political theatre!

• @Pacha

You are correct, the first phase to switch out the head of England is now complete. We must advocate to hold PM Mottley to her word to facilitate debate on phase 2 re: constitutional reform.

7. De Blog Master’s breakfast pot:
    black mamba, three steps Chinese krait, Sydney funnel and de Pandora papers.

It’s Halloween…

8. @VC 9.48am
    What it will not remove is the current reality some currencies are worthless beyond some geographically designated line.
    In fact, many places do not offer the option of storing external currencies within a local financial framework.

9. All of these ongoing (US led Global) income reporting international banking initiatives to fight against client confidentiality, offshore banking, money laundering, terrorism, crime started as USA wanted to be the biggest gangsters in the world.
    Policing is now primarily watching bank accounts for proceeds of crime.
    But, the international community who blindly trusted USA in their War shenanigans and Financial Investments market, especially their allies got shafted in the Global Financial Crises circa 2007/8 investing 100s of 100,000,000,000s in their debt instruments.

10. @ Vincent

Dead correct as there will be no where left to run for a lower rate. Last I heard over 160 countries have signed on. Plus they will be ways of penalising those that don’t, especially seeing the G7 have all agreed to it.

All we have to Hope is that 15% isn’t the start of increases to follow. I know some were arguing they would agree to the 15% if it was fixed for the first 5 years but not sure where that ended.

Countries that feed off the offshore sector will now have to offer more than a low tax rate to compete. We talking now ease of doing business, unnecessary red tape, delays and all such will have to be removed and improved on. So for us that at 100 and somebody on the ease of doing business chart, we better get we tail in gear fast!

11. Who was the head of the EBC and Former Prime Minister. Why would a Prime Minister on his salary need an offshore account? I will look at all AGs, Prime Ministers, Finance Ministers, Commerce, Transport and Tourism ministers and any others who would be involved in large capital works.

https://offshoreleaks.icij.org/nodes/110029381

12. Please be patient as I peruse these files as I have seen details within the past Paradise Papers of current members of the serving parliament names coming up as beneficial owners in nondescript sounding names. Our Financial Intelligence Unit is also headed by a whimp. @David can you help as working the beat for so many years has taken its toll.

13. Services sector vital in rebuilding Caribbean economies
    Article by

Barbados Today
    Published on
    October 20, 2021

The impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the blacklisting from the European Union, and the recent implementation of a 15 per cent corporate tax rate have signalled the need for a more diversified, resilient, and robust services sector if Caribbean economies are to build back and build back better.

Minister in the Ministry of Foreign Trade, Sandra Husbands, made this assertion during her address at the first virtual Services Go Global (SGG) certification ceremony, last evening.

“The services sector has become one of the most important economic activity drivers in our regional economy. The services sector in the Caribbean is crucial for providing strong economic growth and creating a source of jobs for Caribbean nationals. The statistics illustrate that the services sector contributes a range of 43 to 86 per cent of the gross domestic product (GDP) to the Caribbean economies. Our countries are therefore fully dependent on this service activity.

“As a result, our regional service strategy group comes to mind. I see this strategy asserting Barbados and the wider Caribbean region to diversify the services sector in the following areas: health and wellness services; professional services; renewable energy; ICT; education; culture and creative industries services and financial services,” Minister Husbands stated.

She stressed that regional governments and the private sector must work together to diversify the services sector, and before the implementation of the above services, the strategy group would examine the strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats to these services sectors.

Minister Husbands congratulated all the agencies involved in providing the SGG training programme, including the Trinidad and Tobago Coalition of Services Industries (TTCSI) and the Caribbean Export Development Agency (CEDA). This, she declared, was CSME in action.

President of TTCSI, Mark Edghill, speaking on the SGG programme, explained: “It was developed to optimise the CARIFORUM region’s export of services by building the capacity of service providers to capitalise on opportunities under the Economic Partnership Agreement, CARICOM Single Market, and other existing third party trade agreements; as well as to establish a cadre of certified trainers for the SGG platform geared to assist small and mid-size enterprises (SMEs) in the services sector.”

Mr. Edghill highlighted that as a result of the SGG training “we can now attest that the network of several Caribbean services coalition is truly a functioning network at this point and time”.

Speaking on the significance of the training, CEDA’s Executive Director, Deodat Maharaj, stated: “Activities like this takes on even more significance this year, since it provides priority of the highest order, as we at the Caribbean Export Development Agency seek to forge relationships that can help advance private sector development across our region, as we seek to create jobs and opportunity for our people and fast track post-COVID-19 recovery and build the resilient Caribbean.”

He expressed that CEDA was pleased to partner with the Caribbean network of services coalitions to host the inaugural SGG certification ceremony, which was made possible through the agency’s implementation of the 11th European Development Fund, a regional private sector development programme.

During the ceremony, the CEO of TTCSI, Vashti Guyadeen, provided a sneak peek at the region’s first electronic services catalog, which highlights certified service providers in nine sectors across the Caribbean region.

A total of 84 service providers and firms participated in the four-day export readiness training programme. (BGIS)

14. Well I glad to see she understands the effect the 15% global tax rate will have in us. Noticed she never touched on how poorly we are rated on the ease of doing business report. Wonder why? Lol

• @John A

Why have we been unable to improve on the business facilitation metric? Given how are competitors are improving in this area what does it say about us?

15. @David

It says we talk the talk but can’t walk the walk..

We all know where the stumbling blocks lie but again this is just another case of state inertia similar to the one with how to deal with vaccinations. Now though we have a quandary, because if we letting in fully vaxed without test at entry how you going have hotel workers unvaxxed dealing with them?

Thing is the ease of doing business issue we all know where the problems are. Many were identified in the report. Thing is who will bell the cat? This 15% tax is going to mean the end of low taxation locations offering poor service, however businesses putting up with it because of the tax saving. Business will now go where they can get things done quickly.

Not sure the leaders quite understand the juncture we are at. Maybe after the republic celebration they may focus on issues like that and the vaccine situation. One can only hope of course.

16. @JohnA
    This ‘tax agreement’ is a long way from implementation.
    For years USA, UK, EU etc multinationals have sold their offerings all over the globe, with no concern about where profits were earned, only that they paid tax to the mother nation.
    I have long proffered the day one of the FANGS buys an island or real estate to create their own Nation is not far away. Then they will pay tax to themselves.
    As ‘talks’ progress, the focus will change from a tax rate, to the deductions allowed to arrive at the sum to be taxed. The devil will be found in the details.

17. @ northern

You know the saying the difference between tax avoidance and tax evasion is a good accountant. Lol

Truth is even if a global 15% tax came and it was based on profit the guys would get around it. To tax sales would be a mistake as companies would simply divert sales to subsidiary companies

18. US$269M JUDGMENT Jury awards record sum in Kingsland Estate lawsuit

A United States jury has awarded a record US$269 million judgment in a conspiracy case which originated in Barbados and which has dogged the local judicial system for over 20 years.
    Kathleen I. Davis, daughter of Marjorie Knox, now deceased, of the infamous Kingsland Estate lawsuit, says they have finally been vindicated, in Miami, Florida, where she now lives, after bringing a case in 2014, claiming fraud and racketeering against a number of the people involved in the Kingsland Estate matter in Barbados.
    In a press release issued after the two-day trial, on June 28 and 29, was heard before Circuit Court Judge Mark Blumstein, it was noted that the jury awarded judgment in a conspiracy trial involving co-conspirators in the US, Barbados, Canada and the United Kingdom (UK).
    “A jury in Miami, Florida, found for the plaintiffs in a civil RICO [ Racketeer Influenced And Corrupt Organisations Act] lawsuit and awarded substantial damages, which were trebled under RICO to a final amount of US$269 706 228.74 – a record amount for this type of lawsuit.”
    Davis, who sued Iain Deane, now deceased, who lived in the UK, and other parties, produced substantial evidence – some obtained after police raided Deane’s home – as well as several articles which appeared in two blogs, Barbados Underground and Barbados Free Press.
    According to the release: “The jury considered and accepted evidence showing an international conspiracy and corrupt activities by persons in the United States, Barbados, Canada and the United Kingdom.
    “It was a coordinated and systemic racketeering scheme by Iain Deane and by various co-conspirators to intimidate, threaten, defame, defraud and extort (the elderly victim) Mrs Knox into a forcible sale of her shares in Kingsland Estates Limited for a price that was far below market value.”
    Of the case, the release noted: “When defendant Iain Deane (now deceased), his estate and coconspirators failed to respond to the case filed in Miami courts in 2014, Deane and his co-defendants defaulted and admitted
    the truth of the facts stated in the plaintiffs’ complaint.
    “By law, RICO cases require a high burden of proof upon the plaintiff that can only be met with accurate, credible evidence that firmly establishes the truth. Not only did the jury determine that this threshold was well met, but the trial judge also concurred.”
    Judge Blumstein determined the case was based upon “well-pled factual allegations . . . concerning a systemic racketeering scheme employed by Iain Deane and various co-conspirators”, as he authorised the recovery of the damages from various defendants and co-conspirators.
    Attorney Michael Dribin, a partner

in the Miami law firm of Harper Meyer, who represented the plaintiffs, said of the judgment: “It is good to know that at long last a jury of ordinary men and women was able to see the injustices that were imposed on the Knox family and were ready to say that these injustices needed to be recompensed in the only way possible – an award of significant damages.”
    The case ( Kathleen I. Davis et al vs Estate of Iain Deane, et al) concerns the plaintiff’s ownership of one-seventh of the shares in Kingsland Estates Ltd, a Barbados corporation with land and business holdings that at one time were valued at about US$1 billion.
    Witness testimony and documents considered by the jury included evidence showing threats, harassment and violence against Knox family members and their witnesses; fraud; fabrication of evidence; obstruction of justice; bribery of police; and other corrupt activities by businesses, lawyers, politicians, Government officials, police and others (including judicial officials) in four countries – with a purpose to steal, defraud and deny the plaintiffs the proper value of their shares.
    The jury also heard evidence that some of the stolen funds were transferred and money-laundered internationally between the UK, Barbados and other offshore havens. Some of the documentary evidence seized in a 2018
    search of a defendant’s home in the UK showed the participation of banking officials and lawyers in these illicit transfers.
    Knox, the original Kingsland shareholder, passed away in 2017 at 95 years old.
    In the release, Davis, the lead plaintiff, said of the jury verdict: “My mother was born in 1922 at Kingsland in Barbados, in the very parish where our ancestors had been slaves. She worked at Kingsland from age 17 and spent her whole life on her lands until 2008, when she was forced to flee Barbados at 86 years old due to threats and violence intended to force her to sell her shares in Kingsland Estates.
    “She never saw the results of her decades-long fight for justice, but this jury award has vindicated that my mother’s fight was righteous and justified.”
    The Sunday Sun was unable to reach Davis. (PR/MB)

Source; Nation

• @TLSN

Citizen journalism is under pressure everywhere. It does not mean we must be irresponsible. The blogmaster will be the first to say mistakes have been made over the years but it was never done out of malice.,

19. @ David,

FAMILY + MONEY euals ?

” We’ll spend every penny,’ Rogers sister warns amid family war ”

The battle that’s tearing apart Rogers Communications Inc. has escalated, with former chairman Edward Rogers claiming he has regained control of the board and his sister warning that family members will “spend every penny” to stop his power play.

20. ” Of the case, the release noted: “When defendant Iain Deane (now deceased), his estate and coconspirators failed to respond to the case filed in Miami courts in 2014, Deane and his co-defendants defaulted and admitted
    the truth of the facts stated in the plaintiffs’ complaint.”

In my non degreed personal opinion, a failure to respond to an accusation is not an admission that the accusation is true.

21. Anyhow if any of wunna offend me I placing charges in a miami court case I can’t risk it getting throw out here or wunna not getting charge.

You call my action a result of having the Donville scenario syndrome! Lol

22. ” after the UK government set up a commission of inquiry into mis-governance in the British overseas territory. ”

Too bad they are not a ” Republic “. lol

23. “Knox, the original Kingsland shareholder, passed away in 2017 at 95 years old.
    In the release, Davis, the lead plaintiff, said of the jury verdict: “My mother was born in 1922 at Kingsland in Barbados, in the very parish where our ancestors had been slaves.“”

I am wondering whether she is acknowledging the tiny percentage of African ancestry in the Knox clan, or if she is referring to the tired old racist lie that Irish people were enslaved in Barbados.

24. Every Sunday, I would spend hours at Maycocks Bay. My time was before the cement plant was built there. It was a popular Beach for the locals, but a little off the beaten tourist path.

At that time, I did not think of beauty but it must have been described as such by some for a few tourists always found themselves there.

25. “Allegations aired at the hearings range from unaudited spending on a $40m (£29m) Covid stimulus fund, the handing out of contracts worth close to £100,000 to politically connected people, a £10m land development deal, the selective granting of BVI citizenship or “belonger” status, handing out of Crown Property and drug running.”

Just be one independent and of those misdeeds disappear. And when the do… Republic status

26. TheOGazertsOctober 24, 2021 10:27 AM

Every Sunday, I would spend hours at Maycocks Bay. My time was before the cement plant was built there. It was a popular Beach for the locals, but a little off the beaten tourist path.

At that time, I did not think of beauty but it must have been described as such by some for a few tourists always found themselves there.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

You remember the fort and gun platform relics of defensive positions that appear on the 1722 Mayo map?

I think I heard a film star in the 50’s started to convert the old fort into a residence.

27. @David, WOW re that Kingsland judgement … that RICO statute has brought down lots of people (in often strange twists) and this is certainly one of them.

You have extensive files herein on this affair which in total paint a very distressing picture of our operational system (judicial and governance ) but still : WOW.

Mr John Knox must be a happy man.

But in all practical terms tho my queries would be.

1.How in hell did this matter get into a US JURISDICTION to be adjudicated in TWO DAYS. I presume some aspect of the money transfer (like Donville’s matter) passed in the US thus allowing the lady to seek legal shelter
    there.

2.This case is a prime example of the adage that ‘it takes money to make money’. If these folk did NOT have the funds to repeatedly appeal this matter it would have died on the vine years ago.

So kudos to their determination but ….

3.Pat Hoyos was an excellent journalist who wrote some of the most profound articles and offered some of the deepest analysis of Bajan issues I have read over the years.

The article posted above was such…. some of his words were almost prophetic.

“MARJORIE KNOX may have (so far) lost every case she took to court in Barbados over her rights as a shareholder of Kingsland Estates Ltd., but people who seek justice here already owe her a huge debt.”
    […] And her positive legacy in helping to reform a broken judicial system can surely not be in any doubt.[…] Of course, it only took the justice system another four years to get around to it”.

And now 2021 … just another several years later.

… But will any of the plaintiffs ever see a cent of that RICO fueled judgement!

What a remarkable tale … we does use to think we island was so sweet but reading the broadsides first from the CCJ and then from that US judge (and prior) we should realize that we island is a cesspool of greed and nastiness … what a ting, eh!

• @Dee Word

The BU Archive as you are aware contains a treasure trove of information about the dysfunctional court system. The blog recalls when a decision was taken to exposed some of the wrongs this blogmaster was condemned and being an alarmist. The chickens are coming home to roost. No disrespect to Justice Jeff Cumberbatch, a good man.

28. Davis, who sued Iain Deane, now deceased, who lived in the UK, and other parties, produced substantial evidence – some obtained after police raided Deane’s home – as well as several articles which appeared in two blogs, Barbados Underground and Barbados Free Press.
    +++++++++++++++

Wuhloss! Who penned those articles? Were they ever asked to confirm the veracity of the information in the articles? Is the Court’s/Jury’s reliance on articles on a blog precedent setting?

Anything is possible in a civil suit.

29. @John October 24, 2021 10:44 AM
    O sh!te, looka PLT crawl out from under a rock!!
    +++++++++++++++++++
    I’ve been busy trying to help fix the Barbadian economy 😉 …

30. Generally, describes the standard that a party seeking to prove a fact in court must satisfy to have that fact legally established. There are different standards in different circumstances. For example, in criminal cases, the burden of proving the defendant’s guilt is on the prosecution, and they must establish that fact beyond a reasonable doubt. In civil cases, the plaintiff has the burden of proving his case by a preponderance of the evidence. A “preponderance of the evidence” and “beyond a reasonable doubt” are different standards, requiring different amounts of proof.

31. @TheoG
    Every Sunday, I would spend hours at Maycocks Bay. My time was before the cement plant was built there. It was a popular Beach for the locals, but a little off the beaten tourist path
    +++++++++
    I remember as a young lad going to a church excursion with that venue as its destination. I was disappointed as River Bay was the preferred choice of many and I had never been to River Bay. All I remember of Maycocks Bay was hot sun and hardly any shade,. Suffice to say I never went back even as an adult but happy to learn that you spent countless happy days there.

32. @John October 24, 2021 10:45 AM
    Relax PLT, I am not an instant millionaire and worth your envy.
    I am genuinely happy for this ruling in your mother’s favour John. I celebrated it quietly some weeks ago because a relative of yours has been keeping me up to date for years because I am part of a group of Bajan activists who fight corruption in both the public and private sectors. The injustices visited upon your mother, you and your siblings are an interlocking web of private sector and public sector corruption, so I was emailed a copy of the Final Judgment on Damages dated August 11th., 2021 from the court in Miami.

I do genuinely hope that the executors of the relevant estate move expeditiously to pay the judgement to your mother’s estate.

33. @TheoG and Sargeant,

I went to Maycocks bay in the 70s to picnic with a young lady and found enough shade to do what I promised to do. lol

34. @GP October 24, 2021 11:24 AM
    DIAGNOSIS : DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR?
    +++++++++++++++
    Bedside manner: Superb
    Diagnosis: Insightful

Number of Welcome Stamp visas issued up to August 31 2021: 1,987
    Average annual spend in Barbados per Welcome Stamp household: $55,000 USD
    Therefore the value to the Barbados economy so far: $109,285,000 USD

It’s not much, but it’s a start. 😉

35. @Hants

Thanks for reminding me that although my picnic was forgettable, your pricknic was memorable, only one time? You letting down the side. 😊

36. TheOGazertsOctober 24, 2021 11:08 AM

@🐇/🐰
    Glad for you.
    Hopes this takes the water off your brain.

Thanks Grasshopper but the judgment is 4 months old and took 8 years to get!!

Water has been in my consciousness from the time I was a boy when I got slaps from my father for drinking from the tap and disobeying him.

It isn’t going to miraculously disappear.

37. JOHN, PETER, HANTS, THEO ETC

BEFORE I MIGRATED TO THE USA IN 2003, I WAS PLAYING SOME GERIATRIC TAPE BALL BAT AND BALL IN GLITTER BAY WITH SOME FELLAS OUR AGE GROUP ALONG WITH OUR SONS AND SOME OF THEIR FRIENDS WHO ENTERED ABOUT 25 YEARS AFTER US .

I ADDRESSED ONE OF THE LADS AS AN OLD HARRISSONIAN

HE RESPONDED “I DONT KNOW BOUT YOU , YOU MIGHT BE AN OLD HARRISONIAN , BUT I AM AN EX HARRISONIAN, BUT I AINT OLD” . HE WILL SOON GET THERE THOUGH LOL

38. @ GP,

WE ARE OLD HARRISONIANS. ” OLD ” IMPLIES INCLUSIVITY AND CONTINUITY.

” EX ” SHOULD BE RESERVED FOR WIVES. LOL

39. HANTS
    I CAN ONLY GIVE YOU HALF MARKS MAN, YOU AINT MEK NUH DISTINCTION BETWEEN THE WIVES EX WIVES HAS BEENS AND DEM DAT NEVER MADE IT
    IN FACT I THINK YOU DESERVE A WHITE CARD FOR YOUR OMISSION….MURDAAH

40. TheoGazerts;
    You said; Looks as if the quality of justice one receives is a function of where the case is tried. What about the “quantity” ? Perhaps the other MAM might be on the right track re. jurisdiction, to getting his covid millions

41. Witness testimony and documents considered by the jury included evidence showing threats, harassment and violence against Knox family members and their witnesses; fraud; fabrication of evidence; obstruction of justice; bribery of police; and other corrupt activities by businesses, lawyers, politicians, Government officials, police and others (including judicial officials) in four countries – with a purpose to steal, defraud and deny the plaintiffs the proper value of their shares.
    +++++++++++++++
    Fraud
    Fabrication of evidence
    Obstruction of justice
    Bribery of Police
    Corrupt activities by businesses, lawyers, politicians, Government officials, Police, judicial officials in four countries

That is a mouthful, a wide cast net and a lot of ground to cover, besides Deane who are the co-conspirators?

42. How many defrauded Barbadians will have the resources/stamina to fight for this long?

And if the scamssters are smart enough to contain their misdeed locally (one country) what quality of justice will the defrauded be able to obtain.

It seem as if the Knoxes lost in the local court of appeal; suffered a setback in front of the CCJ, but emerge victorious in a Miami court.

It must be painful to know that you are right and yet run into a dead end.

To a legal beagle and to aid the meat and potatoes guys…. please provide two article describing (1) why the US court arrive at a different conclusion than the two regional courts (2) describe in detail the role played by various persons (politician/lawyer/jurists) in Barbados.

Side note… I notice the future President was involved in this delay/denial of justice.

43. The time has arrived for our distinguished politicians (pass and present) and business men/women shred their passports. They risk being detained if they board an airplane.

44. The Arch Cot collapse happened during Arthur’s final term as PM, since then we have had Thompson/Stuart for two terms; an inquiry into the cause of the collapse and back to the remnants of the Arthur Gov’t with the current incumbent (Mottley) for approx 3 years; a third Chief Justice is now in Office. One thing remains constant the Codrington family is still awaiting settlement.

Justice delayed is justice denied

45. @Hants, I came upon Marcock’s Bay first on a hike/camping expedition eons ago and was totally blown away by the beautiful and somewhat isolated (I thought) bay (as we had approached it via a seemingly not oft used path).

I was later moved to return without my male compadres and explore the beauty in a similar manner as u described … these escapades were during the life of the cement plant but even then I thought the spot was amazingly gorgeous.

@Theo, re “why the US court arrive[d] at a different conclusion than the two regional courts”.

In simple review of the above it does appear as if the US Court was basically starting from a very different place than the other courts!

That is, the US situation was starting from the non-response to the action and too WITHOUT any of the biases of the local courts.

It is also noteworthy that the CCJ ruled against the local courts too … yes, on a precise question but their language also took the locals to task for overuse of ‘discretionary’ power … in short hand: the Knoxes got screwed royally by local power brokers.

A reading of the above is not an encouragement for success in local legal matters.

That said we should not believe that US courts do not ALSO discriminate against those unable to fund lengthy legal matters… it can be just as bad there in many instances.

46. WAS NOT ONE OF THE BACKGROUND ISSUES AT KINGSLAND THAT COME WANTED THESE LANDS FOR A GOLF COURSE? DID THIS NOT CAUSE A PM TO CALL A MAN WHO WROTE TO DECRY THIS FROM HAPPENING EARLY ONE SUNDAY MORNING RESULTING IN THIS GENTLEMAN SUCCUMBING TO A PERMANENT DEFECT OF HIS CARDIAC MUSCULATURE?

47. When the Kingsland as well as Nelson matters were first posted to BU many commenters criticized the blogmaster for highlighting a family feud, forgetting it was a good example of of an inefficient local court system. Now the same matter Now that the matter has reached the US courts there is interest.

#typical

48. David your wrong many have been speaking about corruption in babados for sooo long
    however because of the political divide amongst people interest has been slow and coming
    i remember the jackie stewart problem which in its initial stages made way to BU until names of politicians were mention and post referencing Stewart name was moderated or delete

49. @John A

BIBA is celebrating this week, heard a snippet from one of the leaders yesterday where he pointed out there is a threshold and only certain companies will be affected by the proposed rate change. They seemed confident not all companies determine the domicile they want to locate based on rate, other factors like quality of workforce, legal system and other infrastructure. This was informed by interviewing companies setup here.

50. Pingback: Pandora Papers – Greed, a Deadly Sin – Breaking News in Kenya

51. Offshore ‘mastermind’ ran $300M ‘shadow bank’ for clients’ tax-haven money, draft CRA report says

“You have been receiving wire transfers into your domestic bank accounts from various offshore entities located in BARBADOS, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Belize, the Bahamas, Samoa and the Marshall Islands. The reference field on some of the wire transfer documents indicate that these are consulting fees,” says a December 2017 letter to Richard Hethey from a CRA auditor, filed in the Federal Court of Canada. The letter also mentions wire transfers and cheques for tens of thousands of dollars from various Corporate House entities. The court filings note that Hethey’s explanation for the payments is that they are a line of credit with Fred Sharp, but the auditor rejects that, stating they are not a bona fide loan but rather “a method of repatriating offshore funds and the income you earned offshore.” All in all, the CRA claims that Richard Hethey did not report more than $2.8 million in income from offshore sources between 2007 and 2015.
    More here: https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/british-columbia/fred-sharp-corporate-house-cra-draft-report-1.6250306

The blogmaster dares you to join the discussion.