Congratulations to the government of Tokyo and others for being able to execute one of the largest global events on the events calendar during a pandemic. It was an opportunity again for humankind to demonstrate what separates us from the rest.

Man is the only animal that strives to be more than he is…it is the indomitable spirit within that makes him human.

Steven Lang

Barbadians although happy to support the 8 member team selected to attend the 2020 Tokyo Olympics – special mention to Sada Williams who missed out on qualifying for the 400m final by the narrowest of margins – there was the disappointment of not being able to experience the euphoria of a podium finish. The every four year post evaluation will now take place with the usual mouthings from government and supporting bodies to suggest they will work to ensure local athletes are ready for the Paris Olympics in 2024. 

The obvious question Barbadians on the street always ask is why Jamaica, Trinidad, Bahamas, Grenada and a few other regional countries continue to produce podium ready athletes. A visit to those islands to see the stadia gives a first clue. In the same way a tradesman needs the right tools to satisfactorily complete the job, athletes need adequate facilities and ancillary support to be able to deliver and sustain top performances. The local national stadium is a sight for sore eyes and an embarrassment all Barbadians should share. When current and aspiring athletes have to attend or perform at the local stadium, it cannot be a positive physical or mental exercise. How many times have NAPSAC and BSSAC events had to be relocated to ‘cow pastures’ or cancelled in recent years because of the unavailability of the national stadium? What has been the long term effect of those decisions?

We wonder why there is growing cynicism and apathy shown by Barbadians? For as long as the blogmaster can recall both administrations – DLP and BLP – have given lip service to supporting sports in a meaningful way. The sports ministry is almost always attached to the most junior minister in the Cabinet. Case in point Minister Dwight Sutherland, before him John King. From time to time the BU family has joined others to inquire about the development and implementation of a relevant National Youth Development Strategic Plan

The other challenge worthy of mention is the ‘professional’ sports administrators- a small group of individuals who are recycled at the various sporting associations, Barbados Olympic Association, Barbados Football Association, Barbados Cricket Association, Amateur Athletic Association and others, engaging in questionable transactions and behaviour with zero accountability. In the same way members of the political class close ranks to protect their own, so too sports officials in Barbados. The blogmaster has unsuccessfully reached out to several of them to encourage a blowing of the whistle on unethical and possibly illegal behaviour. Our athletes struggle to deliver world class performances, no fault of theirs but the administrators continue to enjoy the travel per diem, accommodation at 4 and 5 star hotels and other perks attached to roles. Enough already with the retort that administrators are volunteers.

The government and NGO bodies responsible cannot be serious about developing the potential of our young people and continue to commit inadequate resources to a relevant sports program. The benefits of developing such a program operating under the umbrella of a National Youth Development Strategic Plan are well documented. If we do not create an outlet for our young people to channel talent, it will give rise to problematic behaviours. Although there is opportunity for some to gain from athletic scholarships overseas, the majority will benefit from positive lifestyle choices and interpersonal relationships. It is a win win for the quality of society.

Despite challenging economic times government should commit to proportionately carving 100k from respective budget heads in the next appropriation exercise. Leading sports associations should commit to zero travel and 50% reduction of per diem to be reallocated to DIRECTLY support to the athletes. This is a simple suggestion to ram home the point that we we are doing is not working.

Our young people are no different to those from other countries, what separates them is the lack of opportunities created for them by the establishment. We continue to fail them. We prefer to engage in petty, partisan, political behaviour while the leaders of tomorrow are not prioritized.

152 responses to “Tokyo Olympics – Petty, Partisan, Political Behaviour Stunting Youth Development”

1. Morning Blessings to de BU Community🙏

Man.

“Man is the only animal that strives to be more than he is…it is the indomitable spirit within that makes him human.”

Steven Lang

Man is de only Animal that eats almost everything on de planet 🌍

2. It is a disgrace how athletes are treated in Barbados! And to allow our stadium to fall to pieces sends a serious signal to our youth. We built the prison first!

Prevention is better AND ultimately cheaper than the cure.

Providing serious opportunities for young people of all talents to grow, develop and thrive would most likely keep many of them out of prison.

What backward thinking we often display in this country!

I think it is amazing what our athletes have done against all odds.

WE MUST invest in our talented youth or we will all live to regret it!

3. The views of Sports Journalists:

Kurtis Hinds

We need to stop talking the talk after each four-year cycle and put more systems in place to actually foster the development of our competitors.
    In terms of the eight Barbadian representatives at the just completed games, all are of the age and talent level where the next major World Championships
    in swimming and athletics should be their immediate targets.
    They will need enhanced financial support in the interim, because truly elite-level competitors never stop training and developing their skill sets.
    Another area of concern for me is how we plan to assist our competitors after they complete their stints at United States colleges, as this transition has long been the graveyard for much of our talent.
    In terms of the next generation of Olympic
    stars, I believe we do have the raw talent to shine on the world stage, but our development process needs an overhaul, since talent alone has never been enough to guarantee success, far less an Olympic
    medal.
    Additionally, while our best talent has traditionally been finetuned abroad, how can we seriously be planning for Paris 2024 and beyond, when the National Stadium
    is in it’s current state? The management, maintenance and development of our sporting facilities has been questionable for decades, long before the COVID-19 pandemic and a volcanic eruption combined to blow an Olympic-
    sized hole in our plans.
    Competing against the best talent in the world, we established two new national records at the Olympics
    and qualified for three semi-finals. If we truly want to make it to the next level, we need more coordinated action and less vague conversations.
    In light of the performances of the Barbadians at the Tokyo Olympic Games, what recommendations would you make?

4. Nick Maitland

Barbados’ eight competitors should hold their heads high following their latest exploits at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.
    The valour and vigour with which they represented this island was on display for all to see.
    We were fortunate to witness national records being broken, season’s bests established, and we even shared in their despair. Most meaningful for me is that this crop of athletes has united the island for the past few weeks amid whatever national crises and conflicts may have been brewing.
    My recommendation is we continue this feeling of togetherness by purposefully investing time and resources in our athletes – those on the cusp of competing on the world stage and those who possess the potential to be a future force in sport.
    Sports provide a platform for people to come together and support their country. It is a common thread that binds people together and any conversations we have regarding nation building must include or even begin with a national policy on the development of our sporting industry.
    The common lament of sporting bodies in Barbados is that there is not enough Government and private sector support, especially financially, to provide the necessary training resources to compete with the world’s best. For decades we have produced capable sports persons and not given them the support to reach their fullest potential.
    I suggest the establishment of a local sports academy which could provide full-time professional coaching for those serious about making an impact and a career in sports. This, along with vastly improved facilities and international exposure from a younger age, could be the first steps into an even brighter sporting future.

5. Ezra Stuart

Let’s start Project Paris 2024 with the appropriate personnel, headed by
    Olympic medallists Jim Wedderburn and Obadele Thompson to plan the programme properly and professionally.
    First, Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley must take up the baton for an ultra-modern double-decker National Stadium, adorned with a new athletics track to replace that dilapidated structure in her constituency.
    Corporate Barbados and social media bandwagonists must get on track and change compliments into currency to assist our athletes and swimmers with specialised pre- Olympic training, to ensure competition against the best at major global meets. Elite athletes graduating from the United States’ collegiate level should receive monetary grants to cover competition on the international circuit.
    Government must implement a national sports policy with COVID-19 monitoring exemptions and duty-free concessions for national representatives while awarding full annual sports scholarships to Olympic hopefuls. Coaches at schools, clubs and the National Sports Council should get advanced technological and technical education certification while visionary administrators should oversee national associations.
    The BDF Sports Programme needs to be remodelled while either the old Banks Breweries or Cable & Wireless facility in Wildey should be converted into a tertiary school for morning studies and specialised afternoon sports training.
    More emphasis must be placed on jumping and throwing events while gifted athletes from the Diaspora with Bajan roots should be recruited.
    New national 100 metres champion Kuron Griffith and other promising athletes should be selected to join Sada Williams in Jamaica to get expert coaching. Talented tennis players Tyrese Knight, Hannah Chambers and Kaipo Marshall, golfer Emily Odwin, gymnast Erin Pinder, boxer Kimberley Gittens and cyclists like Amber Joseph and Jamol Eastmond should receive capital for training and international competition.

6. Kenmore Bynoe

All potential Olympians need consistent high-level competition to fully develop their skills, while greater attention should be given to nurturing the seedlings for future crops of success.
    The Barbados Olympic Association presently assists top athletes with funding to secure coaching and to attend various meets. However, Government continues to fail upcoming athletes through a lack of facilities or run down venues which ironically deny ministers their valued Kodak moments. Ironically, the Athletics Association of Barbados (AAB) continues to pursue a programme which is mystifying, given that track and field seems Barbados’ greatest chance of winning another Olympic medal.
    All other local sports have national coaches who oversee continuous training programmes of potential national representatives. The AAB, however, allows a plethora of clubs to be run by individuals who are coaches of every facet in track and field and when some of those athletes make the required standard for a meet, one of the Jack-of-all-coaching is chosen to accompany the team as a “babysitter” for five days.
    The AAB needs to identify a national coach to run a programme for at least two years with a team of sub-coaches taking specialist responsibility for sprints, hurdles, jumps, throws and so on. The head coach would also monitor and report on the progress of overseas athletes.
    Government must also provide greater infrastructure for all sports, deal with
    the duty-free and other taxes issue of bona fide associations seeking to import equipment, and provide a special medical facility for all national representatives, staffed with sports doctors, physiotherapists, masseurs and sports psychologists.
    That would be a start towards Barbados making serious sports challenges on the world stage.

7. William Skinner Avatar

@ all
    One wonders who are the ones that have driven the petty politics. Who continue to prop up the status quo at every turn. Who continue to sell the masses one big lie after the other. Who are the real enablers that drive public discourse in all media.
    Sometimes the easiest solution to a problem is to look directly into the mirror . We will find most answers there.
    The disgraceful condition of the national stadium is a shame on all of us , as is the disgraceful condition of those who see shit but violently argue it’s really cake.
    It’s time for all of us to look in the mirror and accept what we see and then try to change it for the common good.
    I see our athletes as heroes because we constantly send them into battle unarmed and they still lift the broken Trident with pride. They still fight and they climb the podium of our hearts .
    I’ll bet a million dollars that if we had won one medal, those who refuse to rebuild the national stadium would be at the airport taking all the credit. And I mean from both the Dees and the Bees.
    We should spare ourselves the crocodile tears. The masses are aware of and tired of them.

8. We show concern about sports every 4 years in the same way we show concern every year when the Auditor General’s report is released.

9. The mediocrity of a political landscape which only gives long talk to Barbados sporting community needs to be overhauled
    Nothing but the very best should be expected
    The athletes can only perform at its optimum best if the necessary resources are funneled in the correct way and manner
    The spoilers at the top like the tourism industry is never shy in their asking and demanding of govt with high expectations
    So should the sporting community in like manner take a page out of the tourism industry having similar expectations of govt which able them to compete at optimum levels like other countries

10. Folks, a bit harsh on our “Officials” ….. I am sure they don’t enjoy anything more than their counterparts in Jamaica, Trinidad, Grenada, etc…. and your claim that our “administrators continue to enjoy the travel per diem, accommodation at 4 and 5 star hotels and other perks attached to roles” is not quite true.

Maybe a better perspective is to look at the funding & facilities available for Sports, and our extremely small pool of athletes expected to produce Olympians.

An article on BBC website states that funding provided by UK Sports for the Toyko Olympics was BDS $625,244,663
    across 23 selected sports (see below). Factor in Facilities, Equipment, Coaches, Ancillary support staff (Physios, Masseurs, Sports Doctors, etc.,), etc., and you get an idea of what it takes to win a medal at the top level.

Small countries, like ours, will produce a world class athletes once every couple decades, or so, the important factor is to spot this talent early and nurture him/her properly. Expecting medals at every Olympics, or world class Games, is unrealistic.

Sport Funding (GBP) Medals Won
    Archery 1,122,879 0
    Athletics 23,007,531 6
    Badminton 946,779 0
    Boxing 12,084,436 6
    Canoeing 16,344,693 2
    Cycling 24,559,306 12
    Diving 7,223,280 3
    Equestrian 12,541,195 5
    Fencing 342,631 0
    Gymnastics 13,408,688 3
    Hockey 12,905,612 1
    Judo 6,564,334 1
    Modern Pentathlon 5,498,321 2
    Rowing 24,655,408 2
    Sailing 22,249,000 5
    Shooting 6,008,790 1
    Skateboarding 197,725 1
    Sport climbing 678,722 0
    Swimming 18,731,645 8
    Table tennis 325,100 0
    Taekwondo 8,223,805 3
    Triathlon 7,049,372 3
    Weightlifting 238,900 1

Total: GBP 224,908,152
    BDS$625,244,663

11. @ks

Does your posit explain the current dilapidated state of the national stadium?

The inability of the association to avoid always being in a constant state of confusion?

Absence of a National Youth Development Plan?

Etc

12. Apart from his recommendation for positions for two Olympians, I am in full agreement with Ezra Stuart’s post.

He makes a great point when he states
    “More emphasis must be placed on jumping and throwing events while gifted athletes from the Diaspora with Bajan roots should be recruited.”

China’s success at the Olympic is that they also focused on some of the not glamorous sports. Sports like archery and racquetball are places where we might make headway with a few dedicated players and a small investment.

13. This is where I depart from others
    “The AAB needs to identify a national coach to run a programme for at least two years with a team of sub-coaches taking specialist responsibility for sprints, hurdles, jumps, throws and so on.”

Sounds good, but when we begin to have more staff than athletes then I start to worry. Some coaches can handle several different types of events.

14. IS THERE A FANCY STADIUM IN KENYA OR ETHIOPIA ?
    WHAT FACILITIES ARE TO BE FOUND IN THE VERY POOR COUNTRIES WHO HAVE PRODUCED WINNERS AT THE OLYMPICS?
    WHAT FACILTIES OR TRAINING EXISTED WHEN BARBADOS EXCELLED IN CRICKET IN THE 40’S,50’S 60’S 70’S 80’S ? WHAT FINANCIAL PROVISION OR RENUMERATION WAS GIVEN THEN?
    WHAT REALLY IS/ARE THE INGREDIENTS THAT PRODUCE OLYMPIC MEDAL WINNERS?

15. Echo:

“It is a disgrace how athletes are treated in Barbados! And to allow our stadium to fall to pieces sends a serious signal to our youth. We built the prison first!”

Very evident..

16. DonnaAugust 8, 2021 7:23 AM

It is a disgrace how athletes are treated in Barbados! And to allow our stadium to fall to pieces sends a serious signal to our youth. We built the prison first!

Chefette and KFC need to be off limits and simple basic life skills need to be learnt in youth.

17. Stadium to be rebuilt by China

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/07/14/china-to-focus-on-loan-to-rebuild-stadium/

We also got a whole brand new gymnasium from China, how many gymnasts have we produced?

18. Get back to the basics of life and sport will follow as one of the celebrations of life.

19. @David
    All your questions are very valid and fulfilling their answers are required to support my posit. I fully support your questions.
    The problem however, can we afford the level of funds that will be required especially in these bleak economic times?

We need to suck up a bit of ‘pride’ and engage more ‘free aid’” that bigger countries would provide, working together with our local knowledgeable coaches, etc.

Overseas exposure & competitions for our talented youngsters are paramount. No sense being satisfied with becoming the “top fish in our small pond” and the media hyping them ‘stars’. Lesser level “Games” eg: CAC Games, should be used as the incubator for our youngsters, at both the Junior & Open versions.

As hinted in his post, TheOGazerts is correct, if a medal is the objective. Selective targeting in individual sports is an option. The relative return on costs far outweigh trying to develop a team sport that requires a squad of 15, or so, for a single medal….. and what are the odds of our small base of athletes producing 15 team members in a specific sport (except maybe Cricket) at a top level, within the same period?

20. how many gymnasts have we produced?
    gymnists?
    man we cant even produce good thinking cricketers

21. The blog mentions an inadequate governance structure i.e. no national strategic development youth plan. Inadequate stadium, incompetent sports administrators and associations. Some of you flock to poor stadium like flies on crap.

One issue the blogmaster did not include in the blog is a lack of a sports culture fueled by local role models. CHAPS in Jamaica is an example how a NAPSAC that we ignore in BArbados can be very important to fueling the dreams of future athletes. There is no one size fit approach to achieving success, what worked yesterday does not mean it will work today or tomorrow. What we know is that to compete today on the global stage calls for a well designed framework to oversee the process.

22. @ks

Agree the high competition in the global space means economics play a part what we can do, however, we have seen smaller islands like St. Kitts, Grenada as two example create Olympic world standard athletes. The blogmaster disagrees we should frame a program to target what we see as low hanging podium opportunities. What we need is to create a sports program that allow our young people to excel and let the chips fall where they may.

23. @ GP August 8, 2021 10:14AM

Yes, we dominated cricket for many years in the past. Did we experienced a culture change after that period?

No, we don’t run 20 miles to and from school, because of vast township communities.

In addition, whereas Western nations have surpassed other countries in certain sports due to their technological superiority, poor, low tech East Africans have bridged the gap by dominating in this most accessible sport that requires legs and a place to run.

24. @rum&coke

The Africans have developed endurance, stamina paralleling the indomitable desire to coopt sport as an avenue to economic prosperity for self and family. Do we have the desire?

25. @David
    “we have seen smaller islands like St. Kitts, Grenada as two example create Olympic world standard athletes.”……. we did also, Obadele Thompson!!!

My case in point::
    Grenada – Kirani James = Olympics= 1 Gold, 1 Silver, 1 Bronze (one athlete)
    St. Kitts – Kim Collins = Olympics = no medals (one athlete)
    Barbados – Obadele Thompson = Olympics= 1 Bronze (one athlete)

Maybe another 20 years before Grenada produce another Kirani James.

26. The article supports your point but doesn’t negate the substantive issue raised in the blog. We can do better. Our youth and sports program is non existent to mediocre.

https://www.caribbeanandco.com/caribbean-olympic-athletes/

27. RE poor, low tech East Africans have bridged the gap by dominating in this most accessible sport that requires legs and a place to run.

APPARENTLY NO ONE IN BARBADOS HAS LEGS AND THERE IS NO PLACE TO RUN IN BARBADOS, RIGHT?
    THERE IS A LOT OF WATER AROUND US, BUT NO ONE FROM BARBADOS SWAM IN THE OPEN WATER RACE……AND WE HAVE NO SWIMMERS LIKE THE GIBBS OR BURKES ETC OF THE 60’S
    IF THERE WAS A BOVINE EXCREMENT OLYMPICS, BU COULD SEND A TEAM WHO ARE EXPERTS IN “PROFANE AND VAIN JANGLINGS AND BABLINGS”

RE we don’t run 20 miles to and from school, because of vast township communities.
    NOR DO THE AMERICANS OR EUROPEANS WHO RUN LONG DISTANCE RACES SUCESSFULLY

28. This lack of sporting prowess and success is a Barbadian problem. Members of the Barbados diaspora have achieved reasonable levels of success in the sporting world. Kyle Sinckler, the rugby union player, played for the British Lions in yesterday’s decider against South Africa. We have also produced sporting legends such as Nigel Benn, the boxer.

Barbadians are generally an easy going people who love eating and liming. They are not hungry enough to become elite sportsmen and women as can be seen with our cricketers.

A couple of years ago, I was in Barbados when the Windies surprisingly beat the mother country. In one of the warm-up games against a team of young West Indians, our boys were were routed. After the match, some of the English boys trained and exercised whereas our boys sauntered off the pitch and huddled outside by the entrance and started to talk amongst themselves. There was no reflection on their pitiful performance. They appeared lethargic and disinterested.

Would Rihanna have acquired her wealth, if she had rested in Barbados? Our problem as always remains structural.

GP and John understand where the problems lie.

29. RE Our youth and sports program is non existent to mediocre.

WHAT YOUTH AND SPORTS PROGRAM PRODUCED SOBERS OR WEEKES OR WORRELL OR NURSE OR GRIFFITH OR KIETH BOYCE ETC ETC ETC

30. @TLSN

Has anyone say Barbadians do not have talent? We are saying our governance framework and lack of resources and mismanagement at the level of the associations mean local talent is unable to reach full potential.

31. @ David,
    The great GP has answered your question. Take a look at the country with its dilapidated houses and unkempt gardens. The lack of interest in growing food, etc. Where is the pride? Where is the work ethic? Why do we expect our young to participate in sport when they have no appetite to apply themselves to work hard.

32. @TLSN

Prefer to stay on topic.

33. Support lacking.

Athletic sponsorship in Barbados is almost non existent..A motivational void. Trinidad & Jamaica don’t have those issues.

The word (Training Camp) is not in our vocabulary..

Out team left self-esteem, assurance, confidence, drive and a sense of direction back in Barbados.

34. RE @TLSN Prefer to stay on topic.
    YES TLSN STAY ON TOPIC
    YOU CAN COME PUN BU AND SAY THINGS LIKE “GP and John understand where the problems lie.” LOL
    YOU CANT COME PUN BU AND SAY THINGS LIKE The great GP has answered your question. LOL

GP and John ARE ANATHEMA AND LOATHSOME ON BU LOL DONT YOU KNOW DAT?

BUT WHAT YOU SAY IS 100% ACCURATE

Where is the work ethic? Why do we expect our young to participate in sport when they have no appetite to apply themselves to work hard.

ALL THE SUCESSFUL OLYMPIANS IRREGARDLESS TO WHAT COUNTRY THEY HAVE COME FROM, HAVE EXHIBITED THE PROPENSITY AND PROCLIVITY TO WORK HARD AT THEIR DISCIPLINES

TO BE SUCCESSFULL AT ANYTHING ONE MUST HAVE, AND EXIBIT
    DESIRE
    DISCIPLINE
    DEDICATION
    DETERMINATION
    AND be DUTIFUL & DILIGENT

ABILITY OR TALENT IS NOT ENOUGH

35. @rum&coke

You may recall Oba was fortunate to have a family to support him financially and otherwise. Ryan Brathwaite after winning worlds (albeit with the stars absent) was heaped with many gifts after the fact. The sponsorship is there, we have to find a way to incentivize the process to trigger sooner rather than later.

36. I dunno much about what ails Barbados when it comes to Sports but maybe with a population of under 300 thousand we are stretched too thin. When cricket was the one significant sport, we produced world class cricketers now we are into football, basketball ball etc. perhaps the aspiring basketball player is a sprinter in the making a la DeGrasse but are we good at talent spotting? Absent from the debate is the drubbing the National football team took at the hands of Bermuda, in some countries the Heads of the Federation would resign or be turfed out but not in Bim they are like asbestos i.e. fireproof.

37. You guys are wrong about our track and field athletes. You do not get to the semi-finals at the Olympics by being lazy and lacking in discipline. You do not even QUALIFY for the Olympics by being lazy and lacking in discipline.

I do not expect us to get a medal every Olympics but we can do better. I know Jamaica has a much larger population size than we do but look how much smaller the same population size is when compared to the USA. And the Jamaicans annoy the Americans to no end in the most prized events, year in, year out.

Sprinters need a proper track. Long distance runners do not. No sense comparing the Kenyan long distance runners to sprinters. Also, altitude and terrain play a great part in developing endurance.

Our cricketers may have lost their way. Our performance in track suggests this is not the case with our athletes.

These athletes need better facilities and a proper programme and financial support.

As for the gymnastics – any jackass should know that one needs a first rate coach not just a damn gymnasium. And tremendous medical care and nutrition. And girls needs to start at a very early age to be ready before they develop breasts and a big butt. Is gymnastics offered in our primary schools? Can poor people afford private coaching for their five year olds? Not many Super Simones out there at age 24. Our boys prefer football. Not much interest in gymnastics.

Typical old fools blaming the young people again! How many of them do you even know? I know plenty. Even athletes on scholarship in America like my own niece. One look at her new body and you know she trains hard! I hardly recognised her picture in the paper. Studies hard too. And my best friend’s daughter also on scholarship in the US, fighting through pain and injury. Making good grades too.

Ask them what help they got before they left Barbados on scholarship!

Better yet, ask Oba what help he got and what help he thought he needed to push for gold. He should have written a book by now.

I know many many young people who are determined and disciplined. All they need is our support.

P.S. You should check out the reports of our young footballers who are getting opportunities overseas. Read the stories of how they claw their way back from injury.

And shut wunnuh stupid old ass pieholes!

38. @ David

Barbados merchants need to step to the track tangibly. We call it community give back. It’s a token by comparison.

39. @Sargeant

On the ground people are calling for Lattapys’s head. Under Ronald Jones as president and minister of education there was a precipitous decline in performance and world ranking.

40. And Sarge is right about being spread thin. Cricket has competition from other sports that it did not have before. The boys prefer football.

41. Cricket came out of sugar.

Each factory had a team and competed to see who was best.

Cricket season and crop season matched.

Typically in Barbadian factories, pan boilers and engineers from Guyana would arrive at the start of crop and stay in what were known as “Engineers Quarters” which existed in each factory yard.

Because of its size, Guyana was the main sugar producing territory in the West Indies.

Competition among the factory teams peopled by the best and the brightest in the region is what drove cricket throughout the Caribbean.

People in surrounding districts in individual territories watched the matches and not to be outdone produced teams to compete as well.

It was a matter of pride.

Same thing happened in Jamaica, Trinidad and Guyana and gave rise to intense inter colonial rivalry.

The “small islands” were left out because they were small and did not have the work ethic demanded from the production of sugar in a factory setting.

There is no driving force for cricket or serious competition in the Caribbean today.

Barbados is no exception.

The individual sports like athletics will still produce the occasional stars but it depends on the individual, his/her drive and his/her support mechanism.

Things need to get real bad here before individuals decide to exert themselves and claw their way out of the morass to provide for their families.

Lara was never a team man, he was an individual driven to excel and benefit personally from his excellence.

42. Football and hockey were very popular sports years ago.

Their season was at a different time from cricket.

At HC I seem to remember there was a term for football.

No cricket was played.

Cricket was never the only sport in Barbados at least not in the generation before mine.

Tank used to be a fast bowler of some repute in his day but his claim to fame was on the wing in football outflanking the defenses of opposing teams, like the Tanks in WWII when he would have played sports.

In this role he was unstoppable and earned the nickname.

43. BARBADIANS are not the problem..
    BARBADOS is the problem…

We have examples across many areas that confirm we have failed as a nation to put a structure in place to manage, harness and development our local talent in most spheres. Our politicians who have their hand at the development wheel have failed us. Both parties in their fancy suits and talk but produce nothing.

The solution…scout young talent and get them OUT of Barbados as fast and early as possible where the can be trained and best developed. They can then hopefully choose to represent Barbados when they are ready for the world stage. Rihanna and Italy’s 100m gold medal winner shows that is a viable model.

There is NO homegrown system that will take an athlete all the way to the podium. We don’t have the experience, track record and confidence now. Our system can’t even be trusted to boil an egg…the eggs would be bought at $100 a piece and end up in the Auditor General’s report…will be no water to put in the pot thanks to BWA and could cost $50 dollars to deliver at these gas prices…our model is seriously broken but we just don’t want to admit we are a failure right now….truth hurts but it’s the truth. Have to acknowledge the real problem before it can be fixed.

Get talented Bajans into areas and countries that can nurture and progress them…it’s the only reason our recent billionaire made it

44. I believe that we are going down the wrong track. The US with its athletics program and facilities watched its dominance in men track events disappear. Jamaica, without Usain Bolt, made a ghostly appearance on track events done by male. It is only in female track events that the US and Jamaica showed some of their former dominance.

Once a goal of beating the US or Jamaica on the track was enough. Now the aim must be to beat the whole world. As we do not have the money, we should find sports that are cheap to develop and focus the nation on them. The talented sprinter should still be supported, bur resting our hope on his/her shoulder is too much stress. We must ask acknowledge that the Obadele Thompsons, Kirwani Jameses and Usain Bolts are outliers or rare events.

45. Drive around Barbados on a Saturday afternoon and count the number of cricket matches being played.

Ditto football.

46. All of our problems are structural. Has anybody seen the trajectory in the financial growth and the marketing of Mount Gay rum since the French took possession of it?

We have to admit that we are utterly hopeless and incompetent at doing the basics in our country.

47. @ Dr. GP

You made some very interesting points.

Although I agree successive BLP and DLP administrations ‘have given lip service to supporting sports in a meaningful way,” I’m not going to ‘jump on the band-wagon’ to say the dismal state of local sports is solely the fault of politicians, especially taking into consideration each sport is represented by a governing body or organisation.

The Athletes must share some of the blame as well.

Even before the National Stadium was allowed to fall in a state of disrepair, some of our athletes were under performing.
    The ones that ‘shine’ at the regional games are often rewarded with scholarships to attend overseas universities, where there are exposed to coaching and ‘state of the art’ training facilities. Unfortunately, some of them return home after short stints (e.g. Jade Bailey).

‘The Stadium’ was officially opened in 1970 and condemned to be unfit for use in 2006. Bear in mind, nine (9) Summer Olympics were held during that 31 year period.
    What were the significant achievements of Bajans at the games, other than Obadele Thompson winning the bronze medal for placing third in the 100 metres at the 2000 Sydney Olympics?

Also, over the years, several footballers, cricketers, cyclists, basket-ballers, net-ballers, lawn tennis players, etc, were given scholarships to attend overseas universities or play with county and semi-professional clubs.

Take a look at the standard of football in Barbados. Although many footballers have been given the opportunity to play with overseas clubs, the game has been in a state of decline since the early 2000s. I recall a few years ago, a footballer abandoned his scholarship and returned to Barbados because, according to him, ‘he missed home and liming.’

We have President of the BFA and Caribbean Football Union (CFU), Randy Harris, has been involved in local football from the 1970s. And, retired Trinidadian footballer, Russell Latapy, is the ‘highly paid’ head coach.

On July 2, the national team with 2 or 3 overseas based players, was defeated 8 – 1 by Bermuda, in the 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup qualifying match.

48. IN MY TRAVELS THROUGHOUT THE ISLANDS I HAVE SEEN NO BOYS PLAYING EVEN BAT AND BALL. NONE. I DONT EXPECT THEREFORE TO SEE MANY GOOD CRICKET PLAYERS IN THE WEST INDIES AS EXISTED IN DAYS OF YORE.

MAN WE PLAYED MARBLE CRICKET IN THE LIVING ROOM IN THE GALLERY IN THE GARAGE
    MY PARTNER IN SUCH GAMES WENT ON TO MAKE 3 CENTURIES IN THE 69 FIRST DIVISION SEASON FOR CAWMERE, AND EVENTUALLY TO BE PRESIDENT OF THE USA CRICKET ASSOCIATION.

I AM TOLD THAT WHEN THE ANTIGUANS PRODUCED THE FLURRY OF MEMBERS TO THE WINDIES TEAM THERE WERE SEVERAL CRICKET COMPETITIONS PLAYED ON MORE THAN ONE DAY DURING THE WEEK

BEFORE I LEFT THE ISLAND THE LATE RAWLE BRANCKER CAME TO PLAY SOME “GERIATRIC ” TAPE BALL WITH A GROUP OF STUPID typical old fools and our sons and their friends. He told us that in his day fellas batted there in Fontabelle for a month…..so when you got a hand …..you batted.
    The late GLS Symonds told me that Tony King batted for a term..
    Darnley Boxhill,our wicket keeper in 69, spent hours alone throwing balls at a wall and diving on the sand, on Worthing beach when he could not guys to throw balls at him.

the tales of the exploits of Kieth boyce at Castle in St Peter, and at CP are legendary.
    mOST OF THE INDIAN CRICKET TEAM HAVE SIMILAR TALES TO TELL
    MANY OF THEM TRAVELLED ALONE AS YOUNG TEENS TO PRACTICE OR EVEN GET A CHANCE TO PLAY

IN NEW ZEALAND, THE POOL OF CRICKETERS FROM WHICH THEY CAN SELECT TEAM IS VERY SMALL, BUT TODAY THEY HAVE A SUPERB TEAM

I REPEAT WITHOUT FEAR OF CONTRADICTION THAT ALL THE SUCESSFUL OLYMPIANS IRREGARDLESS TO WHAT COUNTRY THEY HAVE COME FROM, HAVE EXHIBITED THE PROPENSITY AND PROCLIVITY TO WORK HARD AT THEIR DISCIPLINES

I REPEAT WITHOUT FEAR OF CONTRADICTION THAT TO BE SUCCESSFULL AT ANYTHING ONE MUST HAVE, AND EXIBIT
    DESIRE
    DISCIPLINE
    DEDICATION
    DETERMINATION
    AND be DUTIFUL & DILIGENT

IT HAS ALWAYS BEEN SO AND WILL ALWAYS BE SO.

ABILITY OR TALENT IS NOT ENOUGH, ASK FINGALL. HE GAVE AN EXCELLENT TALK ABOUT THIS A WHILE AGO

RE Cricket has competition from other sports that it did not have before. The boys prefer football.
    IT IS ALSO SO IN NEW ZEALAND WHERE RUGBY FOOTBALL ETC IS KING BUT BOTH THEIR MEN AND WOMEN CRICKETERS ARE EXCELLENT

IN DAYS OF YORE SCHOOLBOYS PLAYED BOTH CRICKET AND FOOTBLL AND DID ATHLETICS TOO

E.G DARNLEY BOXHILL, COLIN BLADES AND OTHERS DID ALL THREE
    ALSO ANTON NORRIS AND EUGENE PILGRIM OUR HIGH JUMPERS
    IN THOSE DAYS BOYS PLAYED GAMES AND SOUGHT TO EXCELL…..AND THEN DID THE SAME IN THIER ACADEMICS

RE These athletes need better facilities and a proper programme and financial support.
    HOW MANY ATHLETES WITH better facilities and a proper programme and financial support. FAIL?
    HOW MANY ATHLETES WITH NO facilities and NO proper programme and NO financial support. SUCCEED ? HOW DO THEY DO IT?

RE You do not even QUALIFY for the Olympics by being lazy and lacking in discipline. ONCE YOU DO THE QUALIFYING TIMES OR DISTANCES YOU CAN GO. MANY DO THAT ON TALENT AND ABILITY ALONE. MANY OF OUR FOLK DID THAT IN THE PAST.

MOST OF OUR FOLK JUST DONT HAVE WHAT IT TAKES.

ONE OF THE MAJOR ISSUES IS THAT MOST OF OUR BEST WOULD BE SPORTSMEN ARE REMOVED FROM THE SPHERE OF COMPETITION , BECAUSE OF THE EMPHASIS ON ACADEMICS. THE MANTRA IS GO SCHOOL AND LEARN WELL OR ELSE LATER ON IN LIFE YOU WILL CATCH REAL HELL.

THIS IS OF COURSE A MYTH

VERY FEW OF OUR BOYS WHO EXCEL IN THE ANNUAL UNDER 11 CRICKET COMPETITIONS CONTINUE TO PLAY THROUGHOUT THEIR SECONDARY SCHOOL DAYS, FAR LESS AFTER THEIR SCHOOL DAYS.

49. When Artax throws in the towel then things must be rock bottom. Let’s end on a positive note? The Maloney boy seems to be doing very well in his sport with daddy’s money.