Barbados is currently being affected by significant ash fall from the La Soufriere volcano in St. Vincent. Dust in the air, dust everywhere. There is the consolation view Barbadians should be thankful because we do not have it as bad as Vincentians on the ground- many who have seen priceless possessions destroyed or damaged. Thousands have had to be evacuated to shelters in the South or neighbouring islands to stay with relatives and friends.
We have had reports of damage to properties in Barbados- water damage from blocked drainpipes, guttering ripped from houses due to the weight of the ash, clogged guttering but nothing to compare with the depressing pictures coming out of St. Vincent. There is the saying he who feels it knows it.
It still has been a lousy last 15 years for Barbadians. Some hate the term the lost decade but we have to admit the island has been in a spiral since the global recession of 2007. The Thompson/Stuart period of government tried to right the economy and failed spectacularly. The electorate voted for a change in government in 2018 and created history by returning the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) to office with a 30-0 victory. Some will argue we are not falling as fast but …
Immediately on taking the reins of government a premeditated decision was taken by the Mottley led government with her battery of financial advisors to aggressively restructure domestic and foreign debt. The result is that a generation of middleclass Barbadians having prepared well for retirement have suffered a significant dent in financial fortune. The social and economic effect is still to be measured because of the decision. Some will argue it had to be done to slow the descent into the economic pit we find ourselves, others will ask- who brought us here, why are we here after the experiences of the 70s and early 90s. What cannot be refuted is that for the first time since 1966 Barbadians have been suffering from economic fatigue of the unprecedented kind. Not to forget the pandemic Covid 19. Not to forget the 2021 hurricane season is rapidly approaching.
What is the point of cobbling these thoughts?
If Barbados were a human being urgent counselling and phycological care would be urgently recommended.
Unlike some here the blogmaster does not have the answers to our problems nicely gift wrapped. Solutions no doubt are to be found in adopting the best leadership approaches that will influence all facets how we prefer to live our life. As a people we tend to look to politicians to provide answers to our problems often times forgetting they are mere mortals who sat next to us in school and come from among us. This type of laissez-faire thinking must be ignored and significantly more Barbadians must become more strident advocates to support the cause for advancement of the country. The whole of Barbados is the sum of all of us. Thought leadership must come to the fore before it is too late.
Truth be told we will continue to box these issues into the political and therefore have to live with the results. Should the blogmaster go with the flow and ask with 2023 approaching what are the options? Is the DLP ready? Unfortunately we see no other options available for the electorate. We will always get the government we deserve.
Mercy me!
🎵Mixed up moods and attitudes🎶
Who would believe that human beings have the capacity to do great things if they read some contributions to BU?
There is no reasoning with some people!
We have no problem with having the highest of standards born of radical transformations.
However, we have to meet people where they are and try to improve as best we can avoiding a zero sum scenario.
Transforming cultures of inefficiencies don’t happen by hoping or praying or pleading or having the attitude that every body else is to change, but us.
Quantum leaps are of these not made.
@Pacha
Unfortunately you are correct. In the last decade we have had so many opportunities to break the model, instead we continue to twiddle while Bridgetown burns.
Fake news as seen other social media platforms
Imagine mia coming on tv,talking about the hotel workers will get paid/ not a damn cent, mia that is fake news, imagine mia said file early in 2019/ not a damn cent, that is fake news, imagine mia taxing every BAJANS for sewage/ water, and nothing has been done, hotels going up in ch ch, being attached to the same fked up sewage plant that over loaded, that is fake news, ect, imagine knowing the word of BWA, and the ppl of the north/ doing nothing but talking, that is fake news, it seems the fakest person is the one calling reality fake news,
Copied
LOL,
Could someone sit the Minister of Tourism down in a darken room and politely inform her that our tourist industry is now DEAD.
It was sabotaged by Covid-19 and put to rest by the volcanic ash emanating from our “friendly” neighbour Saint Vincent.
Even Lawson and his entourage from Canada will not be visiting the island – again!
If this does not convince her then point her in the direction of the nearest mental institution!
https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/news/covid-protocols-still-place-visitors
@David,
Just like Adrian Green; I was young – once!
https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/columns/guys-view-compulsive-talking-versus-effectiveness
@TLSN
You pick negative from a political talking head, the blogmaster prefers positive from a creative.
JetBlue, American Airlines and British Airways all returned to Barbados on Saturday.
Nation news
Is this fake news
Govt propaganda or a media not doing their job of fact finding
Jet blue flight schedule for Barbados is Mondays and Fridays
So how is it Nation news states that Jet blue returned to Barbados on Saturday
Boy uh tell yuh and Mia got the gumption to speak about fake news
International graduates and healthcare workers,
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/04/18/regional-canada-offers-permanent-residency-for-cbean-temporary-workers-graduates/
https://www.nationnews.com/2021/04/17/business-usual-airport-reopens/
@TLSN April 18, 2021 8:13 AM “Even Lawson and his entourage from Canada will not be visiting the island – again!”
Lawson said that he and his family MAY not come THIS YEAR. He never said anything about NOT visiting the island again.
If you need to lie to advance your argument, it is a sure sign that something wrong.
My crop over crew dun book for the summer, crop over or no, we will have fun. Dun had my first vaccine, looking forward to getting the second before the end of the month.
Mari
Go listen to r music
U never get it right. U are so stupid and ignorant.
The airport was closed for a week
Flight don’t have to start back their normal schedule from the next scheduled day
Het blue can come earlier especially if they are bringing cargo that was delayed from the one week closure
And the may have departing passengers that was waiting over a week
@ John2
Don’t forget it was an unwise decision to reopen the airport because “Some ash is being airborne from vehicle movement as well as day to day clean up from various surroundings.”
https://media.tenor.com/images/b056d7d835ff43ee381a6efbbf1f14db/tenor.gif
@ David April 18, 2021 8:03 AM
Reach roots
This is who we are. We have adapted, shifted, accommodated, bent even.
But we are still who we are.
Even those who will not admit it, who will call their own name in vain and curse it. Even when we bleach and process and distress our surface to make it suitable and
presentable for work on the plantation, we do not reach the roots. These attempts are better called temps than perms.
Do not attend to them for a while and see what happens. Leaves of who we really are will start to sprout from beneath the ashes of self-denial. Vines will kink and curl and cover straightened fences. (Unquote).
The Bajan bard called Adrian has used the analogy of the erupting La Soufrière to produce a ‘poetic’ masterpiece in this article.
His use of imagery is unsurpassed in the depiction of the ‘past’ physical enslavement and ‘ongoing’ cultural brainwashing which have afflicted black people in the Diaspora.
There can be hope for a pot of golden emancipation at the end of the rainbow ‘currently’ overshadowing the ‘whitewashed’ wishing well of cultural hopelessness; but only if black people look up (instead of down) to the source of their skin coloration and spiritual salvation.
And to use Adrian’s very words:
“This too shall pass. And when it does, a light will come from behind the cloud shining so that you can see that we are still here.”
https://www.nationnews.com/2021/04/18/st-joseph-folk-protest-lack-water/
ArtaxApril 18, 2021 2:51 PM
@ John2
Don’t forget it was an unwise decision to reopen the airport because “Some ash is being airborne from vehicle movement as well as day to day clean up from various surroundings.”
Xxxccccc
Fool this is serious two planes were grounded
British Airways pilot said he would not do it again
However idiot that u have become takes the situation as a joke
Seems as though BU has an obsessed, perverted stalker….. and cyber-bully.
@Hants April 18, 2021 10:25 AM “International graduates and healthcare workers.”
Maybe you economy is beginning to recover. A youngster in the family, a fairly recent graduate got 2 job offers last week. Could only take one. Youngster loves Canada. Very smart, hard working, good values. Will likely apply for permanent residence through this program. Our loss, your gain.
https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1205792556518102&id=100012621074104&sfnsn=mo
MAri
I thought het blue coming in on Saturday was fake news ?
I take it the British airways pilot got some connect to that person that posted on Facebook. He called back after he got England?
Mannnn. That BA surely kicked up a lot of dus.
U can’t even tell fake new from humor.
Poor you
Go listen to ur music you is on blasted idiot
Mari
Before you come back with you stupidness
The BA got two engines not four
What a mess created by Barbados govt
https://www.facebook.com/100001703645748/posts/3942487125818037/
4:20 It is Time for a Number
Tomorrow is 420 but don’t blame me blame Guardian for the misinformation https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2021/apr/19/my-life-in-weed-cannabis-oregon-culture
I do not like the term, turd world country, used by some BU commentators. However, the article below is an accurate description of where Barbados sits on the human development scale.
https://www.nationnews.com/2021/04/19/dry-redmans-bagatelle/
The buses are running empty and the taps are dry
Some say that is a great investment
Fuh who I ask
This govt has build up a portfolio of debt that would beyond any one comprehension to pay back
However Mia is doing a good job
Fuh who I ask
Taps dry
The South West sewer system stays at rock bottom
The dump site cells are overflowing at a time when careful attention must be given to the environment
But who is checking
Yet that cunt in Georgia likened me to you.🤣🤣
The BU tribe have ordained that water is an issue that needs to be prioritised
without getting all shrill and playing the political blame game ad nauseam as per usual
quick wins and long term goals should be established
as problems seems to be regional on poor side of town
then water trucks and storage tanks could be used
with redevelopment of ghettos in long term planning
this problem is common in Africa and is what is it
angela cox April 19, 2021 12:56 PM #: “The buses are running empty…..”
It is obvious you purposely ignored the fact that the electric buses, which were ORDERED before the COVID-19 pandemic, arrived in Barbados in July 2020, shortly after the curfew was lifted. And, bus passenger capacity would have been significantly reduced due to social distancing protocols, which stipulated a 60% capacity limit for government and privately owned PSVs.
Additionally, the closure of several businesses during the ‘lockdown,’ resulted in an increase in unemployment and a decrease in customers……. ultimately leading to less passengers.
In March 2021, spokesperson for the group Roy Raphael, Chairman of the Alliance Owners of Public Transport (AOPT), complained to the media that PSV operators were “awaiting the announcement from Government to see if we will be allowed to go back to 100 per cent. Like our colleagues, we cannot continue to operate on a 60 per cent basis.”
I don’t have any problem with you spewing your DLP political yard-fowl rhetorical diatribe. However, you should do so without misrepresenting the truth.
Your squibble with me is that my presenting an opposing view borne on a simple truth is what annoys u
I said the buses were low on capacity load and that is a truth
Furthermore the buses took first preference over the water system
You all but confirm that much when u state the buses were ordered in 2020
Yet up to now u cannot give a good defense as to why the buses were priortize over the repair of a decaying water system
Mari
Again u showing how stupid you are
Money is allocated to each ministry
The ministry responsible for transport bought the buses because the dlp left just a few running and the commuters use to be stranded and complains
The ministry responsible for water first prioritized the south coast dlp mess before the start to tackle the water problem through the vineyard project
Government did not prioritized no buses over the water. Two different ministries work on what was most import to their ministry and continue to so
I notice u didn’t include or say anything about the sanitation trucks dat couldn’t even pick up a toffee paper
So since u at it Why did the DLP prioritized the building of a new BWA headquarters and a new sanitation HQ which after so many years still remain empty and more useless than the buses , instead of fixing the water problem ?
What a waste of time discussing what should be the priority-buses or running water.
“Your squibble with me is that my presenting an opposing view borne on a simple truth is what annoys u”
Far from it, my friend.
What ANNOYS you is the fact I’ve always been successful in EXPOSING your yard-fowl ignorance and the fact you “present an opposing view borne on” ‘opposing just for the sake of opposing,’ which is often facilitated by meaningless, incoherent, generalized statements and misrepresenting the truth.
Everyone on BU, including those who deceitfully support you as a means of ‘getting their messages across,’ knows similarly to a puppet, you are easily manipulated and your ‘morning and evening words’ seldom agree.
Interestingly, I read an article written by a political scientist in which he mentioned having encountered the Barbadian variety of ‘political yard-fowls.’ He recognized their two predictable characteristics are “the absence of “weight” in their arguments and an equally obvious unwillingness to see that which is obvious to everyone else.”
A description, in Bajan vernacular, that ‘fits you to a tee.’
However, I already mentioned in previous contributions that the water problem SEEMED not to be a PRIORITY for SUCCESSIVE BLP and DLP administrations…… and the NEGLECT CONTINUES to this day.
And, I’m happy the people of St. Joseph became so fed-up that they took to the streets in protest of the on-going situation.
You couldn’t want a more clearer statement on the issue than that.
But yuh still not explain why govt first priority did not placed focus on the water system
All the long talk has been your intent to discredit my comments and to interject your interpretation of what u believe I said
Most of time you are soo wrong
I will bet that when you reply to this comment you will once again explore any avenue to discredit rather than answer the question of govt priorities
angela cox April 20, 2021 5:24 AM
How ‘on earth’ do you expect me to “explain why govt first priority did not placed focus on the water system,” or “answer the question of govt priorities,” when I’m not the minister responsible for the BWA or a member of Cabinet?
If you could, then please share your answers with BU.
Unlike you, I’m NOT going to BLAME ONLY the BLP………….
……………. but SUCCESSIVE BLP and DLP administrations for misplaced priorities in not providing the affected parishes with a consistent water supply.
“But yuh still not explain why govt first priority did not placed focus on the water system”
what are your estimates for costs required for new fleet of buses Vs building water system
Uuh see U
What i take away from your comments a play card of spinning the wheel backwards hence you interject the place blame card on past govts which takes the reader into a mindset of not blaming present govt
In my mind the issues is being placed on what is presently happening with a decaying water system and its impact on the country
Hence I stay focused on the how why and now and its impact presenty rather than be taken down the path which u cut out …one which would have all and sundry pointing fingers in the opposition direction of past years
You are right about past govts failures
However your resistance to placed blame on present govt failure to prioritize is noted
angela cox April 20, 2021 7:31 AM
‘Successive administrations’ is a common collocation meaning “governments from different political parties following one another in power over a period of many years.”
Therefore, ‘successive BLP and DLP administrations’ would OBVIOUSLY include administrations from 1966 to the current 2018 Mia Mottley led BLP administration.
If you interpret my comments to mean I’m NOT blaming the current BLP administration as well, then, ‘thine appalling ignorance knoweth no bounds.’ It is another example of a wasted education.
My friend, you’ve demonstrated to BU, according to the political scientist, the two predictable characteristics of political yard-fowls…….. “the absence of “weight” in your arguments and an equally obvious unwillingness to see that which is obvious to everyone else.”
Here endeth the lesson.
If you interpret my comments to mean I’m NOT blaming the current BLP administration as well, then, ‘thine appalling ignorance knoweth no bounds.’ It is another example of a wasted
Listen your message had an intent to have the reader focus on the past govts neglect
I got that
However having a blatant refusal of placing the ongoing situation at the feet of a govt whose object was more in line with having a political objective
Instead of reparing broken pipes
@ angela cox
It’s clear you are an idiot.
Artax
SPOT ON. 🤣
Barbados is not a turd world nation.
I repeat, Barbados is not a third world nation.
https://youtu.be/6sk2DhiJib0?t=18
Where in the world is this?🤔
[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A-SfTdE9DPY&w=560&h=315%5D
ArtaxApril 20, 2021 1:29 PM
@ angela cox
It’s clear you are an idiot
Xxxxxxxccccccccc
Nice way to end a conservation idiot
Waaaait I thought it was said the government is ignoring the issue of water?
[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v9s9-7tk6dY&w=560&h=315%5D
Some of us seem unaware.
Wuh Biden now got to do nuff nuff remedial waterworks in Amurka! Nuff nuff lead pipes!
Texas got nuff electrical problems. Cyan stand lil snow! California got nuff electrical problems! Always got to ration when under stress!
Nuff nuff places in rural America ain’t got nuh wifii to do online school!
Nuff nuff lead paint on apartment walls poisoning the poor people!
Wait…. Flint Michigan still bading outta bottles?
Fifty-six bridges unsafe!
Amurka is not a turd worl country!
Steupse!
US authorities will this week update travel advisories recommending Americans not to travel to Barbados and three other Caribbean countries – St Vincent and the Grenadines, Antigua and Barbuda, and St Lucia.
See wuh I tell yuh?
Dem so igrunt that instead of remaining silent, they ‘must have the last word’ and remove all doubt.
Now tell me, wuh more proof wunnuh pun BU want?
Artax,
Um en she alone dat igrunt!
Totally unbalanced is BU’s way in most cases.
Every day is steupse day!
Brasstacks,
Just heard a lady complain that she has not had water in St.Joseph for 16 DAYS.
Time for Dale Marshall to beg the PM for help.
As an aside, the government has an opportunity to beg the rich countries for humanitarian aid.
Did you read what Dale Marshall said. Help in on the way but she is running late.
Did the lady mean running water or water from the tank or tankers?
@ Donna,
call Dr Kristina Hinds vob929 Brasstacks and ask she wha de woman say. lol
Beg and you could get
https://www.nationnews.com/2021/04/22/un-assist-barbados-ash-clean/
YESSSSSSSSS
” We insisted the BWA increase the delivery of water
And more tanks are put into the field so communities without water would be immediately serviced.
The BWA purchased a number of trucks and asked them to increase the number.
Mottley asked the BWA to increase communication to affected communities
We are purchasing water from Dominica
We are in the process of purchasing 2 to two and a half million gallons of water a week”