Submitted by TK Butler-Intimate Partner Violence Survivor 
Human Rights Advocate 
Author & Activist @ Focus Barbados| Protect the Children

JUSTICE DELAYED is justice denied. Barbados is becoming notorious for pushing matters under the rug for years, backlogged court cases, people remanded to jail and cases that don’t get called before the court until several years later, witnesses to cases being asked to remember evidence from 10 years ago, and people walking around the same streets as perpetrators while awaiting their day in court.

In my case, Barbados failed to respond to a petition I submitted in June 2015 to the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights by the deadline. This failure triggered  the advancement of my petition to a formal case as stated in a letter mailed from the Commission to Jerome Walcott and myself on November 23, 2020: 

The State in question did not submit a response to the petition during the admissibility phase. Therefore, the Commission has decided to open the case…

The details of my case against the government of Barbados as well as the specific abuses I’ve suffered are shared within my blog posts on WordPress @ Focus Barbados (est. 2015) and Instagram @quarantineipv (est. March 2020). I used Facebook as a platform for raising awareness back in 2012-2014. I was also interviewed by Naked Departure on her blog talk radio in 2014. I have been more than vocal.

I lived in the communities of Barbados as a tourist. My abusive relationship with Barbados began in 2012, lasted for 3 years which has lapsed into a total of 7 years and counting. After leaving Barbados in 2015, I began researching and educated myself about the plight of Bajan women and children in Barbados. It is through understanding their struggle that I became aware of the connection we all have to trauma, crime, justice and the delayed responses by relevant authorities in each of those areas. We are all survivors of systemic governmental neglect and abuse. These abusive relationships formed the basis of my view that there is a lack of empathy in Barbados that is cultural. The people hold dear their customary “respect and manners” but because of deep seated anger issues, this hospitality and politeness does not ease the rage of Bajan hostility. Through my conversations with Bajans, experiences of culture and observations of governmental leadership, I am as clear as ever that Sir Hilary Beckles assessments of Barbados as the First Black Slave Society, including all the barbaric and traumatic implications, is one of many contributing factors that plays a significant role in my struggle for freedom from gender based violence in Barbados.

I’ve learned that when I was being strangled and my abuser asked me: “ARE YOU GONNA SHUT UP? YES OR NO?”, he was echoing the sentiments and voices of a majority of the population. I, THE TOURIST, although supposedly “superior” in status due to my relationship to the tourism industry/economy, ended up being treated as many local women are treated every day. I was not given the world renowned  “ROYAL TREATMENT” as a tourist. Instead, I experienced a major contributor to the normalization of abuse for Bajan women and children: THE CULTURE OF SILENCE. My research provided further evidence that emotional and verbal abuse in Barbados is rationalized as commonplace. The same hurt people who hurt people are working as teachers, lawyers, police, judges, and government officials.

According to Cynthia Forde:

There is no community that is not a part of the nonsense that has been going on.  And the molesters are not just the ordinary men in the village, but we have police officers taking advantage, and according to what we know, there are teachers, priests, counsellors and caregivers who are taking advantage of young childrenโ€ฆall people who know better, and because they have not been caught, they get away with it.

Loop News Barbados

How can the cycle of abuse be broken when those who are supposed to help victims are also people who can’t be trusted? Who was gonna raise awareness if it’s normal to have your voice choked out of you? Who was gonna be an example that speaking out can bring healing where there’s no justice or closure? Who was gonna expose the wounds in order to justify the need for healing? Who was gonna ask someone out there somewhere if they dared care to listen to our screams for help? I asked others if they were willing. Everyone feared retaliation by employers and government. The rumours that Bajans are docile and content with suffering in silence became all the more real. No more delays. No more denials.

My case with the Commission is strong and justice will prevail. I would like acknowledgment from the government that my and OUR suffering is not in vain. The government must pledge itself to fix the broken systems, including those within the Child Care Board and Juvenile Justice circles, that enable the cycles of generational abuse and trauma that create abusive men and women. This must be done for the sake and well being of children. Every living adult in Barbados is called to task.

In this year’s throne speech, Dame Sandra Mason stated: “Barbados is now increasingly finding itself on international lists, including within the multilateral system, which identify us as having a poor human rights record.”

Need I say more?

In conclusion the lyrics of an old gospel spiritual by Mahalia Jackson will suffice:

If I can help somebody, as I travel along
If I can help somebody, with a word or song
If I can help somebody, from doing wrong
No, my living shall not be in vain No, my living shall not be in vain
No, my living shall not be in vain
If I can help somebody, as I’m singing the song
You know, my living shall not be in vain.

168 responses to “Echoes of Delayed Responses: A Case for Human Rights in Barbados”

1. “The rumours that Bajans are docile and content with suffering in silence became all the more real. No more delays. No more denials.

My case with the Commission is strong and justice will prevail. I would like acknowledgement from the government that my and OUR suffering is not in vain. The government must pledge itself to fix the broken systems, including those within the Child Care Board and Juvenile Justice circles, that enable the cycles of generational abuse and trauma that create abusive men and women. This must be done for the sake and well being of children. Every living adult in Barbados is called to task.”

You have my support for emotionally abused children are ignored in Barbados. Who do you think are the majority abusers? Not the absent delinquent fathers. The abusive adults were once children and the broken system contributes to the dysfunctional and abusive adults. Let me say also many men are also abused emotionally as boys but remain silent and it’s overlooked for men need to be tough. Unfortunately, many men abuse women because of socialization and stereotyping a man’s role. I will add my voice to your call for the indifference of GOB to be stopped for I am all for fairness, justice, equality and respect for your fellow man

2. If any government deserves to be hauled up before international human rights commissions it’s Barbados’ governments, they’ve played these dangerous and destructive to black lives games for far too long, remain silent and refuse to respond when accused, they are so arrogant they refuse to answer any agency that questions them on their ugly human rights track record and just say nothing, while waiting for it to blow over and people forget. Keep them in the international spotlight, they are not to get away with brutal abuse in their corrupt judiciary, and violating black human rights across the island, Black people cannot even get their severance because these black face clowns want to keep a wicked slave society intact.

3. Plenty more to get there ahead of Barbados. We don’t have many Roman Catholics in out midst. Perhaps we can start there. Child abuse goes unpunished all over the world. As for abuse of women and elders, that is worldwide also. And the foster care system in the US of A is terrible. Child protective services underfunded.

Recently watched a documentary on domestic abuse in Canada. Could not believe what was said about the attitude of the police who responded to the calls made by women (same attitude often encountered here) and the decisions that were handed down by the courts.

As for the elders- how have their lives been valued during the pandemic?

Also saw a documentary on senior care facilities in Canada. They were allowed to get away with abuse up until recently.

So… as usual, Barbados is part of a worldwide problem. If our history of violence is the problem who caused the history of violence. Who were the perpetrators? Have the so-called civilized people of the so-called civilized world evolved from their savage past? Are they being held accountable by the judicial system?

George Floyd and Breonna Taylor would say not – if they were alive!

In the developed world, the judicial system – the laws, the law enforcement officers, the prosecutors, the judges all are the perpetrators of abuse against certain people whom they consider to be lesser.
    It would be better to state the problem encountered and what needs to be fixed without behaving as though Barbados is a land of peculiar savages doing acts unheard of wherever the writer comes from and getting away with it, also unheard of in yonder parts.

Racism, sexism, ageism and the consequences of such did not start in Barbados. And they have not ended in the rest of the world.

(Insert usual cussing here.)

4. Deflecting to other countries, wuh dem have it too…. over and over will NOT FIX BARBADOS’ PROBLEMS….other countries are working on theirs, they have tens of millions of people and access to human rights bodies who are making their voices heard they’ve ACKNOWLEDGED that they have human rights issues, i know personally how they operate within popoulations numbering multimillions, the island still has less than 300K people and the traitors in the parliament, have not even started yet to acknowledge or address the any of the issues…..and that’s the difference.

5. Donna..you always fall into that trap, it’s the bajan condition, having been around much longer than you, i’ve been hearing it many years before and for much longer , tell any bajan about their human rights being violated by black sellouts and they could list every other country that has human rights violations, what those violations are…..BECAUSE IT’S PUBLIC KNOWLEDGE WORLDWIDE, but can’t address Barbados’ hatred of Black people or the violations perpetrated…BECAUSE IT’S COVERED UP…. can’t list not one to inform the public for their own safety, most times pretending not to know, but can detail every human rights abuse in other countries…

it’s a mental weakness that needs to be removed from the damaged psyche, part of the healing process when confronting reality..

6. One thing, Kammie. The absent delinquent fathers are also abusive in their absence and delinquency.

In fact, their absence and deliquency puts pressure on the present mothers. The stress is also the cause of much of the abuse by the mothers. These mothers who feel unloved and neglected are asked to provide infinite care and love for a child regardless of their own issues. Sometimes they resent it.

And before somebody jumps in to say they should have kept their legs closed, let me remind that often these young women were also fatherless and seeking love which many cannot differentiate from sex.

Truth is that we have many walking wounded among us, in need of love and healing. It is a human condition.

I support you in your fight against unreasonable and vindictive women but I must ask that you do not become as biased against women as you accuse others of being against men.

7. Now to the writer of the piece,

I am very sorry for your terrible experience here. I support you in your fight for justice. I hope that you will be able to heal and enjoy the rest of your life.

We will continue the struggle to heal our damaged psyches to minimise such abuse and to equip our systems to respond appropriately when all else fails.

8. I advise people to read and understand when it has gotten so bad that the international body can no longer ignore Black human rights abuses in Barbados and that is only one case, they have violated so many Black people that they can be brought up before other bodies, especially in such cases as elder abuse, thefts of estates, thefts from beneficiaries, refusal to adhere to human rights charters that protects the elderly from a corrupt, abusive, delaying judiciary….they won’t hear, so they must be made very famous.

“In my case, Barbados failed to respond to a petition I submitted in June 2015 to the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights by the deadline. This failure triggered the advancement of my petition to a formal case as stated in a letter mailed from the Commission to Jerome Walcott and myself on November 23, 2020:

The State in question did not submit a response to the petition during the admissibility phase. Therefore, the Commission has decided to open the case”โ€ฆ

9. I rather my condition than yours, my dear. And who says we are not working on it? Who says the powers that be have not acknowledged it?

Not true at all!

10. Life is a struggle for many. For some of us the struggle may take a different form. We have to continue to be advocates for the change we want. It will never end.

11. To be clear, when I say acknowledged it, I mean the general problem- not the particular writer’s case.

12. David,

Precisely! It will never end. It has not ended elsewhere. It will not end here. From birth to death – the struggle continues.

13. @Kammie

Agree with you, we need to do better. The blogmaster is aware of many stories like yours where court orders are ignored by women because they prefer to project the issues of the estranged partners to the children. The consequence is that children are denied access to the love from both parents. This is not the subject matter the Joe is interested but it is important we keep it on the front burner. Our job as parents is to protect the children.

14. You have my support for woman who are abused and remained silent
    This abuse goes on for years and when justice is prevailed by the victim
    Their is a sounding board of resistance which dominates a culture with a preference of calling the victim a liar

15. Just recently my dear WURA, my brother reminded me that not everybody is as strong as I am. I face facts and deal with them. I fight my fights often with no help and many detractors. I have not emerged unscathed but yet I rise.

Fact- Barbados has problems.
    Fact- most other countries have similar problems.
    Fact- in order for problems to be solved they must be seen as they are. Problems must first be defined.

Fact- these problems are human problems not peculiar to Barbadians. Understanding that something is a human problem will help to better frame the solutions.

Fact- self-flagellation is counterproductive. It does nothing to motivate. I find it demoralises.

16. That was me.

17. You can try to explain away why the focus must not be on Barbados all you want, you refuse to deal with the fact that the slave codes and much that has destroyed African lives EVERYWHERE post 1600s were all hatched in Barbados, the island is always used as a staging site for crimes against Black humanity, the testing ground for black atrocities, while pretending otherwise, so you can continue playing the demoralized card, other people got real work to do to reverse these human rights crimes, those who have eyes to see will, those who have the power to make a difference, even if it’s to save 2 people, will. Everyone can’t be saved, we got that, most are self-sacrificing, but regardless who says what, this matter will be dealt with thoroughly in the international arena….people have been working on this for YEARS, it’s time to proceed to the next level…..no one is being deterred.

18. “Who says the powers that be have not acknowledged it?

Not true at all!”

show the PROOF…where it’s been acknowledged.

and i will show you PROOF where is HASN’T..

19. The apologists can take several seats, yall already said black human rights abuses against Africans in a BLACK MAJORITY COUNTRY will never end……so the focus now is making sure THAT IT DOES END….that is why international human rights bodies EXIST….don’t want to end it, then someone(s) WILL PAY….for the pleasure of violating black human rights.

20. yall already said black human rights abuses against Africans PERPETRATED BY BLACK FACE TRAITORS in a BLACK MAJORITY COUNTRY will never end……..remember those words.

keep telling yall to stop comparing white dominant racist countries where Africans and others are the minorities…. to BLACK MAJORITY BARBADOS or any other black majority country in the region…stop and think before posting with such emotion and ya will see that there’s a stark difference between the two in the west.

black on black human rights violations must be punished severely…..a clear, concise message must be sent to offending black governments, black lawyers, black judges, minority trash, all the parasites feeding off the people.

21. Theo..this is a clear manifestation of the problems facing Africans on the island…..and the extended problem on BU.

ya get the apologists who should know better…

ya get the cover up artists who don’t want to face reality……who work overtime to confuse the whole issue by interjecting what goes on in WHITE MAJORITY COUNTRIES…..still acting and obviously believing that Barbados is a white country, as they were socialized over the last 60 years that’s now stuck permanently in their heads and can’t see themselves and what they project.

Ya got those who will forever tell ya without deviation WHAT CAN’T HAPPEN as opposed to WHAT CAN….negative mentalities stuck on YOU CAN’T, I CAN’T, WE CANT….and on and on and around and around without end.

While they waste endless time and energy on this go nowhere strategy, others are forced to TAKE ACTION…because the time for the long talk and empty useless comments passed away over the last 8 years…i don’t and am sure many others have no intention of repeating the next 8 years on the blog, time to drag yaselves into the 21st century…

22. Steupse!

What I said or at least what I meant was human struggles will never end, not white supremacy in Barbados.

23. But carry on Wonder Woman! Take centre stage! I have no more time to waste with YOU!

I am tired of you lot and your nonsense!

My okras make more sense.

24. Black enablers have ALWAYS been the greatest and major obstacles preventing black lives from achieving civil and social justice……history is replete with examples of such black obstructionism, that’s why they have been labeled their OWN WORST ENEMIES for centuries..

25. Donna…i told you months ago that you had MAXED OUT your intellectual capacity a while back, everyone, including myself has a limit…you just didn’t listen and when you can’t understand what is happening, claim that the person makes no sense, it’s easier to learn new things, and top up the intellect with new age information than to just give up.

26. White supremacy is the engine driving black injustice and human rights violation in Barbados, the drivers of this engine have black faces, were elected by the Black population and gave themselves divine rigths to continue the destruction of Black lives..

27. @ Mariposa December 21, 2020 6:26 AM
    โ€œYou have my support for woman who are abused and remained silent
    This abuse goes on for years and when justice is prevailed by the victim
    Their is a sounding board of resistance which dominates a culture with a preference of calling the victim a liar.โ€
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So when are you, Ms โ€˜Many Poserโ€™, going to stop the constant verbally abusive attacks aimed solely at Ms Mottley?

Don’t you think it’s time you give her your support as one wo(e)man to another?

Aren’t nearly all the prominent positions regarding governance in Barbadoes in the hands of females who are the shapers of its matrifocal society?

Isn’t the current educational system- the most effective institution in shaping the countryโ€™s culture- dominated and controlled by females from nursery to tertiary?

28. I maxed out my intelligence and you maxed out your sanity.

29. @WURA, Listen, you have to give up and walk away, there are so many Bajans like Dona existing on this 2×2 who will drive you to tears, even make you feel as if you’re losing your mind. I’m all to familiar with that Bajan disease of referencing situations occurring in the developed countries when discussing matters pertaining to Barbados. It seems as if all Bajans think it’s alright with the shit here as long as America, Britain and Canada have a worst case situation. @Dona, you and your Ilk can hide and deny all you want, but until you women close your legs to fools and idiots; stop making yourselves victims after the fact, then you’ll be no wiser. Do you women think that us men who have done something with our lives, looked after our children are no flabbergasted at the punks and idiots you fools will breed for? Continue crying victim and see if it will help with this epidemic of fatherless children.

30. This is not the point and the blogmaster is making. Social injustice is everywhere, Barbados included. Framing arguments that seek to position the island as the last bastion of all things bad is counterproductive. You

31. @ Whitehill

Back in the 1970s there was a big thing in Barbados about successful men marrying Jamaican women. Is that still the case?

32. Miller never knew Muttley to be a victim of domestic abuse
    Only Thought her to a butcher of good governance

33. Here we go.

34. Vincent Codrington Avatar

A problem, unclearly defined, never gets a solution. What is the real problem? How come the solution must come from outside of the victim?

35. Vincent Codrington Avatar

And here comes the diverter in search of a conversation. Lol !!

36. @Mr Austin, I don’t hear much of it these days, although I have met a few successful Bajan men recently who are married to Jamaican women after the period mentioned.Listen Sir, the misconception is that successful men go after Jamaican women, not so. What I gathered is that these men who were or are successful met these women while at college when they were as poor as a church mouse. I had my experiences back in the 80s while attending an institution of higher learning in NY, I discovered why the so called successful Bajan men opted for Jamaican.women.

37. @ Whitehill

A good question for Bajan women. Why do a large number of Bajan professional men fall in love with Jamaican women?

38. @WURA, Listen, you have to give up and walk away, there are so many Bajans like Dona existing on this 2ร—2 who will drive you to tears, even make you feel as if youโ€™re losing your mind.”

lol…Donna does not have what’s required to drive me to distraction, she’s a lightweight…and i have met many like her over the decades, some right here on BU…they can only go just there and no further…..it’s equivalent to the chant and mantra i have spoken about several times over the years on BU that they can’t seem to help but default to and it goes like this…”it does happen everywhere, and i does read my bibile”…hearing that over and over FOR DECADES while they must ALWAYS DEFAULT to OPPOSE any positive suggestions to end it, and that’s why they keep going around and around in circles…

while i was exposing a few things here, i got an email asking me to consider representing re certain world issues…something i will really have to give some thought, as long as i don’t need to expend too much energy…so the only crazy in the room is who is diagnosing people without a license.

people on the island have been mentally lost for decades, just as their foreparents were, but these have no excuse, it’s all self-inflicted because our foreparents did not have the level of information these have and they STILL SCREW IT UP, can get nothing right, not even in their minds…our foreparents were muzzled, these new age jokers try to muzzle anyone with the ability to end the human rights violations, thefts of estates from the elderly and their beneficiaries, refusal to expedite matter for the elderly…and on and on…i believe they just want it to continue no matter how much more destructive to Black people it’s going to get, as long as they have something to complain about incessantly. …human rights violations without end and that makes them fell good about their dumbass selves.

39. @ Austin, Maybe you can try asking them, but be prepared for a litany of rubbish. Just like I’ve tried asking these present day so called educated successful women, some old enough to be the boys’ mothers why they go after these punk ass young men.

40. Whitehill……this black lives don’t matter to black face traitors in the parliament will end, and when it does the black enablers and obstructionists won’t even know it, someone will have to point it out to them..

was in this discussion recently where info was shared about how Du Bois had obstructed Marcus Garvey when he was trying to bring Africans around the world closer together and even closer to the continent, he made it his personal business to screw Garvey over and obviously couldn’t even enjoy his victory because he ended up going to live in Africa, where he is now buried. Black obstructionists are very dangerous, they are now being properly identified so they can be monitored, some are more dangerous than others, but all have to be watched very closely, they have done tons of damage to black lives over the centuries…they mold themselves into a bridge of black destruction.

41. @ WURA
    Donโ€™t ever feel you are alone. Within twenty years or less, the majority of opinions you now present on BU, would be proven right.
    As a very young man , I followed a political party made up of some of our most articulate progressives. To shut them
    down, Errol Barrow brought the 1974 .Public Order Act.
    Almost fifty years later, everything they said has come to past. Back then we were told : we wanted something for nothing; we should go to Cuba: the white man ainโ€™t do wunnuh nutten and we should go back to Africa.
    These current discussions on BU, make me realise how fortunate I was to have been exposed to thinkers, who spoke the truth and paid the price.
    You are not alone. Yuh are speaking the truth and in the end thatโ€™s really all that really matters.
    I look in the newspapers and see our people begging for their right NIS benefits and Severance pay . People not having water for weeks at a time and other basic things being left undone . That is the truth.
    Almost fifty years ago, I was exposed to the real socio economic problems and inequalities in the country.
    Yes , there has been some progress but the basic power structure remains and thatโ€™s also the truth.
    Youโ€™re not alone. Millions of people throughout the world speak against exploitation in all forms. Some may be broken during the struggle but never all.
    The real struggle continues

42. @ William

This is our national hero, the man who gave us ‘free’ education, the father of independence. What gets me is that John Connell gave a very good interview to the Nation years ago and those Barrow fanatics should go and read it. It says everything Barrow really thought about poor men and women trying to make it in Barbados.
    @William, I remember when the US embassy was in Broad Street the PPM tried picketing it over some event in the US and Barrow went crazy.

43. Whitehill,

What in heaven’s name are you talking about???? Sorry for me? For what? I was speaking generally. But somebody seems to have ripped you up, doah! That much is clear because this topic is an obsession with you. You are very bitter towards women. My comment, however, was balanced. It acknowledged that both men and women are abusers of children. Both men and women need to sort themselves out.

Look, you looneys need help!

And now we are on to why so many Bajan men marry Jamaicans.

I guess it is because Jamaican women are far superior to Bajan women. Hal Austin is now getting gender specific. We Bajan women are not worth marrying.

However, Donna was married once and had two proposals since.

Here’s a question from me – why are so many Jamaican women picking fares in Barbados? My hairdresser cousin used to supply nuff of them and the strippers with bashment styles. Last time I checked they were asking our government for help during the pandemic.

Something is dreadfully wrong with you people. Must be the Overseas Bajan Condition. Why don’t you leave us undeserving savages and creatures of low intelligence to our “misery”. We obviously aren’t worth your heroic attempts to save us! Have you guys nothing better to do?????

But….since we are on the subject of marriage – why do so many self-proclaimed black power people marry white people? Surely now it is relevent to the discussion???

๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

P.S. My best friend of many years is a Bajan woman married to a Jamaican man. I know many others. But who cares about numbers. The object was to belittle Bajan women. That is Hal Austin’s daily gig. As I said earlier, Hal Austin has nothing good to say about ninety per cent of Barbadians.

I lie?

44. Wait, I would drive people to tears?

Steupse! Never heard that before. Anybody else want a piece?

Murdaaah! The looneys are on the attack!

Donna is happy in Barbados. She has a good life. So sorry if that offends you. I will try to be more miserable just for you.

Not!

45. @ Hal
    Errol Barrow once said that there are no poor people in Barbados. Reading BU, I sometimes almost believe it until I look in the papers.
    He also said that one of these mornings we would wake up and discover that we no longer have a country. He may be proven to be right.
    Then he asked us what kind of mirror image we have of ourselves. On BU it becomes quite obvious. We donโ€™t really look in the mirror, we just sweep truth under the carpet.
    And years ago, Barrow and Castro asked for debt relief for the Caribbean. We are now begging again.Mottley leading the charge this time. Real progress.
    The real struggle continues right before our very eyes. Big people begging for Christmas money . And itโ€™s their own money. Shameful .
    Have one on me – itโ€™s Christmas.

46. @ William

Let us take the begging, or so-called debt relief, which the president thinks is a big platform. If creditors are going to give debt relief, they are going to demand something in return. If we want bilateral, or multi-lateral, agreements, there must be give and take. That basic lesson in international relations seems to be missing (and I am an illiterate). There is no free meal in this town.
    @ William, if you want to get the real measure of Barbados, just look at the neighbouring islands. Just do a comparative study. Now that is one for BU.

47. Oh, I look in the mirror. Not so much as twenty years ago though. I was much better looking then. ๐Ÿ˜

Now again you are being absurd! Of course there are poor people in Barbados! If not I want back my money from the Salvation Army and the rest.

And we do know that there are problems, all of which you and I and many others have outlined on numerous occasions

I really do not know what the argument is about.

I do not know of anyone on BU who has disputed the main problems you have highlighted.

The disagreement is about the way forward. You think we should be further along and I agree but I do believe we have made some progress since the abolition of slavery and the 1937 uprising. After Independence, we thought we had arrived and that things would proceed apace. Now we know that it takes a deliberate and sustained effort. But we have what it takes. We must mobilise!

Very few of us are satisfied with the leadership of our politicians. Indeed, if the NDP could raise the dead and run that same slate of candidates now, I would vote for them. There were some good prospects there.

But when I look in the mirror, I still see something pleasing, despite the smaller looking eyes, fatter cheeks and “moustache” (that is for Lawson) and heaven knows what else has gone wrong since last I looked. I still ain’t ugly yet!

Barbados is not heaven but it sure ain’t hell! I see no point in saying that it is.

48. @ Donna
    My main thesis remains. For donkey years , we were one of the better the managed countries in the region despite limited resources. Somewhere along the line we dropped the ball. We encourage corporate parasites and have always put the heaviest burden on those who can least carry it. That is a fact.
    My position is simple: we are afraid to take on the big issues and that is holding us back. This is about having confidence in the country to do better .
    We have to address : land reform; reform the educational system; revitalize and modernize agriculture; completely remodel our tourism industry; stop paying lip service to culture and make it a real money earner. We have to rapidly move the business culture into the current reality, especially now with COVID and after COVID. We need to develop at least a thousand small businesses in order to create three thousand jobs .
    I know that these realities are not lost on you. Until we address these and other issues, which others on BU and elsewhere have identified, we are going nowhere.
    All of the issues mentioned above have been in the public domain for too many years to remember.
    The real struggle continues.
    Peace

49. William Skinner,

Again, I totally agree. I have been saying much the same for years. I have been trying to tell you for weeks that we more or less on the same page.

I am happy you now understand that.

50. “To shut them
    down, Errol Barrow brought the 1974 .Public Order Act.”

Barrow was a regular old anti-black negro bastard, he was colonial trained, not his own person, belonged to the cabal, you need look no further than at the remnants of the political party to see how that ended in disaster, with all his big talk about “being satellite of none, friends of all” or some such shit….he would never have created the public order act to stop panafricanism and black consciousness if he cared anything about black people, even if the pressure they got from colonists in that era was high, he could’ve done much better, he was just another sellout and black obstructionist trying to save his own ass, aiming to please those who look nothing like him, he picked up Black people’s money of 1 million dollars and gave one to buy a fishing trawler, when so many young black people were hungry and looking for opportunities, trapped and having to find a way out…

“the white man ainโ€™t do wunnuh nutten and we should go back to Africa.”

William, their RE-BRAINWASH is always on display, i remember hearing about that too, while they tried to stop Kwame Ture and any black consciousness from entering the island, they had the people hating all things black and African in Barbados…and all ya can hear is ya can’t say nothing, do nothing, the sellout negros are protecting white thieves and criminals AND STILL ARE……that’s why we have the likes of Donna etc who don’t understand shit and are the perfect poster children for reenslavement.,with their minds so corroded and sluggish, the brainwash worked to perfection and passed from one generation to the other, a well oiled machine..

William, you are of the age group that give my age group a lot of that information, we would know nothing otherwise, we then put it all together, some of us have different levels of education, so it’s easy to fit the pieces together by complimenting each other’s skillsets……that’s what the new age savvy are into now.

“And years ago, Barrow and Castro asked for debt relief for the Caribbean. ”

Barrow died 33 YEARS AGO…i imagine he asked for debt relief long before that….yall will ALWAYS BE BEGGING FOR DEBT RELIEF…..as long as you continue to accept the current construct, for as long as we’re around, let’s see how many generations will tolerate that and for how long….and that’s all i am willing to say about that, there comes a time when ya realize that it’s best to be a spectator for certain things, the entertainment is free and priceless.

“These current discussions on BU, make me realise how fortunate I was to have been exposed to thinkers, who spoke the truth and paid the price.”

i also remember those who paid a steep price for speaking truth in the 60s, 70s and part of the 80s, after that, people stopped trying to make a difference or issue in any changes because of the threats and bullying by parliament nigas, intent on keeping the racist, slavery status quo in their people’s lives, until the advent of the blogs, then all their dirty shit came apart and because there’s decades of it, the stench is still palatable..

..,, the faces have changed but the determination greater, the truth seekers are now more fearless than those who believe they can muzzle truths and cover up white, indian, syrian, lawyer, judges and ministers’ crimes against the Black population as they’ve always done…and we all know the limited in intellect never want to hear about the exploitation and human rights violations of black people, as long as they feel happy, don’t tell them about the 120,000 black bajans who are unhappy and starving, they don’t want to hear it, small, self-absorbed minds think like that. We have no intentions after working this hard for this many years to get it all exposed to the world that’s now watching , to allow some bird brain twat to put a timeline on when international agencies are to be notified and have Barbados finally face the music for violating black people’s rights for the last 60 YEARS….there are many people still alive who can attest to what’s been always happening, they can’t kill everybody nor set up everyone before their asses have to answer questions.

Whitehill……these are obsessed with who is married to white people, they can’t sleep at night they’re so worried about who is enjoying life across bloodlines and cultures, too love pimping into each other’s bedrooms, and they can’t help showing that’s as far as they cant think intellectually, and are morally stunted. Told ya these are the ones who will not even know when the wretched ass black leaders are FORCED to stop violating black human rights, but knowing the frauds, they’ll probably try to take the credit and type another roll of shite to inveigle themselves…that’s why ya have to be careful what ya post and copyright the ones you don’t want reused.