On the 54th anniversary of our Independence as it is referred to signify the slashing of our navel string from former empire, several issues floated around the fertile mind of a lowly blogmaster about what to blog.

We will read, listen view the usual scripting by program directors at the media houses. Barbadians everywhere will share on social media platforms things barbadianna. This is a good thing. The BU household is proud of what our tiny 21×14 little rock has been able to achieve with negligible natural resources. Like many countries across the globe, we are experiencing challenges that come with having to survive in a competitive space.

Some of us reflect on where we have come and try to visualize the road ahead still to be travelled. It is to be regretted that the some who are moved to engage in such reflections do not represent the majority. A reasonable observation is that the vast majority of the population is easily influenced by messaging from the establishment. Should this be the case given the billions of dollars allocated to education since 1966? A definition of the purpose of formal education “is to provide a knowledge source to enhance students’ skills, methods to capitalize and motivate their curiosity (BU emphasis) to improve their wellness and understand how their environment works...”. Hold this thought!

Barbados Underground (BU) was born after Adrian Loveridge had to sit in a separate VOB studio because it was the condition imposed by then minister of tourism Noel “Barney” Lynch. Several Loveridge columns were severely edited by the Nation newspaper were posted unedited to BU. The same courtesy was extended to Peter Wickham when the Nation declined to publish articles they considered to be defamatory. BU posted the articles unedited. Last and not least the same courtesy was extended to Senator Caswell Franklyn. The blogmaster is happy that today the individuals mentioned appear to have overcome whatever challenges existed with Starcom Network and Nation Publishing which denied them access.

To use another definition- a well functioning mass media should “inform, persuade, entertain and transmit culture“. Can we honestly opine that local media if evaluated on these four measures pass the test?

@ David I read some of the press comments you posted and will say just this. Anytime someone says the NIS Fund is sound cause it has 4 or 5 billion dollars in assets stop reading the article. It equated to me saying I have a $50,000 car cause that is what I paid for it, don’t mind it’s ten years old and has a market value of $5000.

John A

The quote inspired this blog for what it indirectly condemns as an irresponsible media, dishonest heads institutions and prominent others whose agenda is to protect the establishment at all cost. Why are we not having constructive engagement from the thousands of Barbadians educated at Cave Hill and elsewhere? Why has there been no commitment to remove the fog that has enveloped the National Insurance Fund? Why has traditional media given token coverage to this matter?

The topic of the NIS has to be the most posted topic on BU. Despite assurances by successive governments, it has become crystal clear to this blogmaster the time has come for all issues good and bad affecting the NIS fund to be laid bare and as a people agree to a palatable way forward.

On this 54th birthday of our Independence this is the matter top of the mind of a lowly blogmaster. The ask therefore is that 54 not out is a good time to mark fresh guard.

@John A sadly Covid 19 is a respiratory thing, and hastily removed all the breathing space they thought they had gained. And then exposed that, with a prior serious underlying condition.

Northern Observer

92 responses to “54 Not Out”

1. Smallness can be a good thing BBD has a lower population that Brent or Barnet (which are in UK)

2. RE a well functioning mass media should “inform, persuade, entertain and transmit culture
    IT CAN NOT BE DENIED THAT BU IS A GOOD SOURCE OF ENTERTAINMENT
    IT IS CERTAINLY SO FOR ME

3. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu

An anniversary is usually a time for celebrating a country’s achievements. In the previous year the perceived ills of the NIS were analysed in several postings of Bu . In todays issue of the Sunday Sun an article by the Employers Confederation summarizes quite adequately where we are on the viability of the fund. Those remarks were made at sundry times in BU. So you have done a good job.
    Even the reason for failure to produce published accounts for over 10 years was put forward in this forum.

4. 54 years not out

Tough times ahead in tourism
    Article by
    sherrylynclarke@nationnews.com
    Tough times ahead in tourismPrime Minister Mia Mottley and hotelier Gordon Seale. (Picture by Sandy Pitt)
    A veteran hotelier says COVID-19 could be the worst crisis to have ever hit the tourism sector in Barbados and it will be rough going for the next six to eight months.

Gordon Seale, the owner of Sugar Bay Barbados Resort was speaking at a press conference on Saturday to address issues within the tourism sector, including the industrial relations climate.

Prime Minister Mia Mottley hosted the more than hour-long session which included representatives from the Barbados Workers’ Union, the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association, the Ministry of Tourism and the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre.

Seale said he was optimistic the industry could rebound on the hopes of vaccines in the works, but was expecting more shocks in the interim.

“I don’t think we are seeing the end of the spikes in this COVID pandemic. I am certainly under the impression that what they have done in England and other parts of the UK is intended to ease the pressure on the hospitals rather than to actually deal a knockout blow to COVID, and if that’s the case, then basically we may see additional lockdowns in the future,” he said.

As a result, he sees the tourism industry as being very fluid, so he was pleased they could tweak the stimulus package, known as the Barbados Employment and Sustainable Transformation (BEST) Plan. About 40 properties have signed on.

5. 555dubstreet

Generator English Pop 12” V

You’re of a (HigherEchelon) ?

I tried fruitlessly at times to comprehend. Maybe it’s the height (weed) @ 80…

Peace ☮️

6. @Vincent

A one article will not cut to achieve the awareness required by the masses.

7. “Seale said he was optimistic the industry could rebound on the hopes of vaccines in the works, but was expecting more shocks in the interim”.

Are we optimistic?

UK ‘at risk’ of third wave that could force another national lockdown.

Lucy Middleton Sunday 29 Nov 2020 11:33 am The UK could face a third wave of the pandemic if it fails to get the balance of restrictions ‘right’ over Christmas, the Foreign Secretary has warned. Appearing on the BBC’s Andrew Marr Show today, Dominic Raab refused to rule out a third national lockdown in the New Year. When asked about another peak of the virus, he said: ‘There’s a risk of that if we don’t get the balance right. But so far the R level is coming down, that’s really important.’ He went on to add that the government’s new tier system, which is more restrictive than the first time it was introduced, will allow rules to ‘ease up’ when there is confidence the virus risk is decreasing.

Andrew Marr then interjected, asking if there could be another lockdown in 2021 if the government does not get the ‘behaviour’ it would like from the public over Christmas. It was announced this week that families would be allowed to form bubbles with two other households between December 23 and 27. Visit our live blog for the latest updates Coronavirus news live Raab said the government are doing ‘everything we can’ to avoid the heaviest restrictions returning in January, but refused to say whether he would back the measures if necessary. The current nationwide lockdown in England is due to end on December 2, with areas across the country then plunged back into a tier system. The tiers will be reviewed in two weeks.

But earlier this week Boris Johnson wrote to Conservative MPs offering them another chance to vote on the restrictions next year, saying the tier system will have a ‘sunset of February 3, 2021..

Tourism & Reality..

8. Big brother is coming..💉

Are you ready?

What about your kids?

Most people around the world 🌍 said they probably will take the vaccine when it becomes available. When asked if they will allow their kids to take it. No responses were given. We are very protected of our kids. Well, alike most vaccines for kids are associated with immunisation prior to school.

Our adopted parents :

Moderna – USA 🇺🇸

Canzoni Biologies – China 🇨🇳

Inovio – USA 🇺🇸

BioNTech – Germany 🇩🇪

Pfizer. – USA 🇺🇸

Univ of Oxford
    AstraZeneca – England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿
    Italy 🇮🇹

Novavax – Canada 🇨🇦 & GlaxoSmithKline England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿

Gamaleya Research – England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿

CureVac. – Germany 🇩🇪

Clover Biopharmaceuticals
    China 🇨🇳

Sanofi – France 🇫🇷

Merck – USA 🇺🇸

Johnson & Johnson – USA 🇺🇸

Sputnik V – Russia 🇷🇺

Good luck peoples….

Cost per units are approximately 32. 6 EUR – 5. 8 EUR..

9. 2020 Independence Day Honours List 

Sandy DeaneArticle by
    Sandy DeanePublished on 
    November 30, 2020 

A veteran trade unionist is the lone recipient of Barbados’ highest national honour, the Order of Freedom of Barbados, in this year’s Independence Day Honours List.

Patrick Frost, a former general secretary of the Barbados Secondary Teachers’ Union and first general secretary of the Congress of Trade Unions and Staff Associations of Barbados (CTUSAB) has been conferred with the honour for his dedicated service as an educator and sterling contribution to the trade union movement.

Two outstanding Barbadians will receive the Knight of St Andrew for extraordinary and outstanding achievement in service of Barbados and to humanity at large.

Newly appointed Chief Justice Patterson Cheltenham QC will receive the award for his stellar career in the legal profession and achieving the deserving accolade of judicial luminary while Brigadier General Rudyard Eggleton Carrington Lewis is being honoured for his extraordinary achievement and meritorious service to the military in Barbados.

Other honourees:

Companion of Honour (For distinguished national achievement and merit.)

Dr. Jerry Bruce Emtage: For his contribution to the medical profession and particularly in the field of urology.

Tony Gibbs: For his sterling contribution in the field of Engineering in Barbados and the Caribbean.

O’Brien Trotman: For his service in politics and contribution to the trade union movement.

Gold Crown of Merit (For highly meritorious service or achievement in science, the arts, literature, sports, civic duties or any other endeavour worthy of national recognition)

Alister Andrew AlexanderFor his contribution to vending in Barbados and in particular the development of the Barbados Association of Retailers, Vendors and Entrepreneurs (BARVEN).

Randolph Ashton HarrisFor his contribution as a Sports Administrator in football both locally and regionally.

Professor Patsy Rose Prussia: For her outstanding contribution to Cancer Research and Continuing Medical Education.

Condé Andrew Riley, OBEFor his contribution as a Sports Administrator in the field of cricket.

Barbados Star of Gallantry: For acts of conspicuous courage in circumstances of extreme peril.

Manoharsingh Athishaya Rajamanickam: In recognition of his courage and selfless effort to restrict the entry of the COVID-19 virus into the island during the initial stage of the global pandemic.

Captain Donville Adderson DashFor his courage and commitment in difficult and dangerous conditions during the initial stage of Barbados’ response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Lieutenant (Coast Guard) Anderson GoodridgeFor his courage and commitment in difficult and dangerous conditions during the initial stage of Barbados’ response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Lieutenant Rudolf Oscar Morris: A Registered Nurse, is being recognised for his courage and selfless effort to restrict the entry of the COVID-19 virus into the island during the initial stage of the global pandemic.

Silver Crown of Merit : For meritorious service or achievement in science, the arts, literature, sports, civic duties or any other endeavour worthy of national recognition.

Margot Anastasia Aquan: For her outstanding contribution to the teaching profession and service to the community.

Reynold De Lisle Grant : For his contribution as a community activist and worker.

Emerson Millard Howard: For his contribution to nursing in Barbados.

Rev. Dr. Joseph Onesimus Tudor, J.P: For his service to the Barbados Council for the Disabled and support of persons with disabilities.

Barbados Service Star: For meritorious work in the civil, fire, military, police, prison or other protective services or any other similar field of endeavour.

Arthur Henderson Collymore: For his contribution as an environmentalist and his continuing efforts to preserve the natural beauty of the island.

Diston Anthony DaCosta Howell: For his community service.

Movelle Jordan: For contribution to the catering services in Barbados and her work in the community.

Henderson Theophilus Roach: For his contribution to the postal service and his work in the community after retirement.

Clarence Henderson ShepherdFor his contribution to Environmental Health in Barbados.

Barbados Service Medal: For meritorious work in the civil, fire, military, police, prison or other protective services or any other similar field of endeavour.

Gervis Isabelle Forde-ParrisFor her social and economic contribution as a hawker in Barbados for many years and her community spirit.

Richard Chesterfield HarperFor his sterling community service in particular assistance to the elderly.

Tyronne Leroy Scantlebury, JPFor his community service and, in particular, his work with the elderly and the youth.

Irvine StreeteFor his contribution to the sport of bodybuilding and community service.

Winfield Carlisle Trotman: For his contribution to the tourism industry and service to the community.

Barbados Bravery Medal: (For acts of bravery in hazardous circumstances.)

Glenroy HackettFor his efforts in saving the life of a young St. Lucian University of the West Indies (UWI) female student who got into difficulty while swimming.

10. NorthernObserver Avatar

A happy Independence day to all. May you have a safe and happy day.

11. This is a disappointing list.Once more our most outstanding living historian, Professor Keith A.P. Sandiford, has been overlooked. There is a routine tendency to overlook overseas Barbadians, and in particular those who have done outstanding work in the communities they live in and in their occupations/professions.
    How can Hillary Beckles get a knighthood and not Kamau Brathwaite or KAP Sandiford? Ridiculous.

12. First of all did you submit a nomination form?

Was a nomination form submitted?

We’re they nominated and declined to accept the recognition?

Facts please!

13. My Top Honours goes to the people

There are times when differences can and should be put aside and look at the bigger picture
    What i see is a people who have been resilient against all odds through thick and thin
    Families shaken but not broken time and time again fighting long and hard to make things work even when stumbling blocks are put in the way
    I also see a country even at times when divided people rely on prays to be answered by God to lift there spirits and help them through the tough times
    I also see a wounded and hurt people yet willing to forgive and forget
    Wrapped in every disappointment i see a country never willing to give up
    A brave. A strong and determined people
    You have earned your wings to soar like eagles
    Happy Independence Day Barbados

14. Happy Independence Day Barbados.

Happy Independence Day Barbados

15. Great post, Mariposa.
    Beginning to wonder if you have plans for 2023.
    Great post.

16. David

What is this order of freedom. What freedom have these people extended? Have there been any wars at home or abroad which have escaped our notice? What are the measurements of levels of this socalled freedom? Why distribute honours on an entirely fictitious basis in the service of a petite nationalism? Is it so impossible to find other means of rewarding elite blp yardies?

17. @ Mariposa
    Well said and exactly what needs to be said. Errol Barrow once said: “The only resource we have is our people.”
    Regardless of circumstance they always show deep love for our country.
    Happy IndependenceDay , Mariposa.

18. Indeed, what is this independence. Where is this independence? Would it not be less timid to suggest that this independence socalled was more akin to delivering the keys but changing the lock? Has the repatriation of the constitution from Washington as Barrow demanded been won? How are the Bajans of 2020 fundamentally different to those of 1966?
    Like the great Afrikan-American, Frederick Douglas, this is your indendence not ours. As a result we are bound to demure from engagement in your trifling assertions.

19. @Pacha

A system of reward and recognition is one that is useful to encourage participants. The challenge like most things is its abuse.

20. @ David November 30, 2020 12:41 AM

Is the country Barbados going to continue with the Knighthood lark into the new Republic where every man can be a ‘Sir’ of distinction and woman a ‘Lady’ of merit?

When are some good hardworking Barbadians from the coalface of charity going to be awarded the ‘Order of the Flying Fish (and Cou-cou)’?

How about the Order of the Sugar & Rum to memorialize RPB’s Ode “Sugar Made Us Free?

How about the ‘Medal of the Pelican’ just like the T&T Republic has the Medal of the Hummingbird with no knights (or dames) from St. Andrew to shoot at it?

You should soon see if the current administration is really serious about the Republic thingy for 2021.

Are you awaiting the announcement of another round of distribution of ‘Muttley’ medals in the form of ‘Queen’ counsels (QCs),as opposed to SC’s, to make the judicial system look more like it is being ‘manipulated’ by an incompetent troupe of circus-performing monkeys under the tutelage of Hal Austin?

21. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

22. No Sir David!

It is a system which consolidates the status quo. A system which elevates elitism in ways which sideline the collective imagination of all Bajans at home and abraod. These metrics make our society as colonial at its core, still.

23. @Miller

There was a time Barbados was regarded as a model Black country. Until we rediscover our gumption and mojo to walk an unchartered path to give rise to new possibilities it means we have to follow the old scripts.

24. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Congratulations to all the honorees and also to those not so honoured but undoubtedly who did tremendous service to protect their fellow Bajans over the particularly difficult early days of cov19.

A grand happy independence to all … wherever we roam, wherever we lay our heads Barbados remains unquestionably our HOME at heart!

25. @Pacha

There nothing wrong with a system that promotes reward and recognition. In the existing arrangement there is the opportunity to tweak to make it relevant. Encourage behaviour by participants to push more aggressively to achieving national objectives.

26. Yours cannot be the outer limits of what independence, development, as a nation project should mean.
    David.

27. @Pacha @Miller

Of course not, the comment was confined to the importance of having a reward and recognition system that is ‘fit for purpose’.

https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

28. Happy Independence Day to all lets forget the politics this one day, a deserving round of applause to all the honorees.

29. Happy Independence Day

30. Happy 54th Barbados

31. David

Yours we recognize will regretably be the dominant position, argument, popularly accepted.

A position unassailable however dead ended it has always been and will forever be.

32. @Pacha

A recognition well deserved?

Sir Wes in bronze
    by ANMAR GOODRIDGEBOYCE
    anmargoodridge-boyce@nationnews.com
    LEGENDARY WEST INDIES fast bowler Sir Wesley Winfield Hall has joined Sir Garfield Sobers once again at Kensington Oval.
    On the eve of Barbados’ 54th anniversary of Independence, an eight-foot statue of Sir Wes, one of the greatest cricketers the world has ever seen, was unveiled at the region’s mecca by Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley last night.
    At 7:23 p.m., Mottley assisted Sir Wes in cutting the ribbon to display the bronze idol sculpted by Jason Hope outside of the venue where he enjoyed some of his best bowling performances, next to that of Sir Garry’s statue, during a glittering two-hour televised ceremony.
    Video tributes
    There were several video tributes by West Indies icons Clive Lloyd and Michael Holding, along with Joel “Big Bird” Garner, Desmond Haynes, Sir Charles Griffith and West Indies Test captain Jason Holder, before The Most Honourable Anthony Gabby Carter performed a rendition of Hit It.
    A who’s who of Barbados and West Indies cricket attended, including former pacers Ian Bradshaw, Vasbert Drakes and former captain Floyd Reifer.
    The top brass of the Barbados Cricket Association also came out in their numbers as president Conde Riley, vice-president Calvin Hope and long-standing board members Winston Stafford and Roland Butcher were all present.
    In front of an audience of about 200, including Cabinet ministers, dignitaries, family and friends, the 83-year-old Sir Wes, dressed in a grey suit and black shoes, reminisced on a glorious sporting career.
    He thanked member of the organising committee, Chris deCaires, for his hard work on the statue project.
    Humbled
    “I really appreciate those Barbadians who [came] on board and made sure that this statue [is] here for all Barbadians to see, and we did not have to go to India, Australia or England to get funds.
    “I [want] you to recognise these Barbadians have come to the party and this is the reason why we have this statue and I am very happy. I am very humbled,” said Sir Wes, who was joined by daughter Dr Kerry Hall and sons Sean and Remi Hall during a near half-hour speech.
    Dream big
    “I do not really know very much about statues. People like me . . . we learn to dream big, yes, and to achieve some accolades and trophies, but we do not dream about statues. These things were out of our reach,” he said.
    “When ordinary people do extraordinary things that are worthy of emulation and are received by the people of their country, then they will have material for young men and women to know that they too can write their names on history’s page.”
    Prime Minister Mottley described the man of the moment as an influential political figure and an iconic sportsman.
    “I want on the behalf of the Government and people of Barbados . . . to salute you and to say to all of the others who helped to create that moment, that we will do all in our power as a Government to continue to ensure that you will not only be honoured, but that the legends of Barbados will not just remain as a cricketing legacy. We must merge the legacy of the legends with the current requirement of what we must do to earn,” she said. Sir Wes played 48 Tests for the West Indies between 1958 and 1969, snaring 192 wickets at an average of 26.38. He took a total of 546 wickets in 170 firstclass matches.
    New ball
    After his cricketing career, Sir Wes picked up a new ball as an administrator, selector and team manager for the West Indies. He also served as president of the then West Indies Cricket Board, now Cricket West Indies, from 2001 to 2003.
    The ordained minister in the Pentecostal church, who was knighted in 2012 for services to sport and the community, is also a former minister of tourism and sport under the Democratic Labour Party.

33. Theo
    Thank u
    William
    Thank u
    Wrapped in all our political differences and criticisms we all have one thing in common that is our love of Barbados
    The noise makers and haters would say different
    But we known different
    Love yuh Barbados
    Peace and love

34. Sir Wes was brought up by his grand mother, Beryl, in Sister Waithe’s church in Mayer’s land, My Lord’s Hill. He has gone back to his childhood religion.
    His grand mother, Don Blackman’s mother, and my grand mother used to walk to church religiously together. They are all now in Heaven looking down.

35. ALWAYS NICE TO HEAR THE POLICE BAND PLAY NO MATTER WHAT GENRE OF MUSIC
    WE ARE STILL SINGING THE NATIONAL ANTHEM INCORRECTLY AND SING A DOTTED NOTE IN THE CHORUS THAT IS NOT WRITTEN IN THE SCORE

WE TOO LIKE A CHURCH SERVICE IN BARBADOS
    MAKES US FEEL GOOD, NUH…………THEN THE PARTICIPANTS GO OUT AND FORNICATE AND COMMIT ADULTERY AND ROBBERY AND RAPE, AND ALL MANNER OF LAWNESS NESS IN CLUDING CURSING LIKE PIRATES, AS IS THE NORM HERE ON BU
    DO WE REALLY STAND ON THE PROMISES? WE DONT

BUT WE CERTAINLY HAVE A FORM OF GODLINESS THOUGH DENYING THE POWER THEREOF AS TAUGHT IN 2 TIM :5 AND AS HAS BEEN WITNESSED AND ALLOWED ON SSS SINCE OCTOBER 23RD 2019

36. @ Hal Austin November 30, 2020 10:45 AM

You were once following in Sir Wesley’s footstep rather well.

From walking through the alleys of the Ivy and its environs to St. Giles and naturally on to Combermere under the strict tutelage of Major Noot; and then what, Hal?

To Tudor’s Funeral Home with Bottleneck as your chauffeur on your last journey to your final resting place in the St. Barnabas garden of tranquillity with your epitaph:
    ‘If only I had become a Bajan politician instead of a ‘Limey’ journalist I would have been a ‘white’ King instead of ‘black’ Knight!’

PS:
    Don’t worry too much about ‘regrets’. You were born and raised in a ‘district’ which produced the likes of Sir Grantley Adams, Florence Springer, Joe Tudor, and even your hero of Bajan economics, Dr. Delisle.

37. What is a curse word really? Just a colourful insult. No different is a “jackass” from a “moron”.

Or a rasshole asshole from a brimler or illiterate etc. etc. etc.

All with the same sentiment or purpose.

Does the Bible decry the use of these particular words or the sentiments that lead to their use, and the purpose for using them?

Big long Bajan steuuuuupse!

38. Spot on!

39. @ Hal
    On occasion my cricket club , has invited Sir. Wesley as our guest of honor , at our annual awards dinner. There are few that can match him in speaking at such functions. He has so many stories to tell. One of his famous jokes is on Brian Lara:
    Apparently , Lara told Wes, that he named his daughter Sydney after some great innings in Australia. Wes said to Lara: It’s a good thing you didn’t make that innings in Lahore India.
    Peace 🇧🇧

40. @ William

As a speaker he took after old Beryl. She had a deep and powerful voice and was very articulate. She was a character in the church and I remember it well.
    The Ivy has produced, and continues to, some of the most outstanding young sports men and women. I remember Sir Wes as a wicketkeeper.

41. give some more big long Bajan steuuuuupses

BUT I SAY AGAIN AND IT CAN NOT BE REFUTED

1-WE TOO LIKE A CHURCH SERVICE IN BARBADOS
    2- MAKES US FEEL GOOD, NUH…………
    3- THEN THE PARTICIPANTS GO OUT AND FORNICATE AND COMMIT ADULTERY AND ROBBERY AND RAPE, AND ALL MANNER OF LAWNESS NESS IN CLUDING CURSING LIKE PIRATES, AS IS THE NORM HERE ON BU
    NOTE THAT WE DONT ONLY CURSE AND SWEAR

4 WE REALLY DONT STAND ON THE PROMISES BUT HATE AND MOCK THOSE WHO EVEN MENTION THEM
    5 WE CERTAINLY HAVE A FORM OF GODLINESS THOUGH DENYING THE POWER THEREOF AS TAUGHT IN 2 TIM :5 AND AS HAS BEEN WITNESSED AND ALLOWED ON SSS SINCE OCTOBER 23RD 2019

give some more big long Bajan steuuuuupses NOW

42. True, it cannot be refuted ….. as long as the “we” was a real real “we”!

Unfortunately, you often seek to seperate yourself from the “we” by extolling your “profanity” free vocabulary. So I doubt it.

And so it falls to me to put you in your place wid de res’ uh “we”.

Welcome to the club!

43. Tee hee!

44. Begging yuh pardon!

Correction – a big Bajan belly laugh.

Wuhlaus, muh belly!

Murdaaaaaaah!

45. “I want on the behalf of the Government and people of Barbados . . . to salute you and to say to all of the others who helped to create that moment, that we will do all in our power as a Government to continue to ensure that you will not only be honoured, but that the legends of Barbados will not just remain as a cricketing legacy. We must merge the legacy of the legends with the current requirement of what we must do to earn,” she said
    (~_~)

I guess that finally puts to rest the “any idiot could play cricket” notion. No?

46. @Skinner

You messed up the punch line 😊

Lahore is in Pakistan