The William McIntosh Vs Peter Odle (second defendant) – Foreign Investor Unable to Have Case Heard Against Hotelier Peter Odle – raises the question who should be considered fit and proper to carry out duties of state. Peter Odle is a veteran hotelier who was recently appointed to the post of Chairman of the Barbados Port Authority to replace Senator Lisa Cummins. In light of the court matter lodged against him the question taxpayers must ask – is it unreasonable to ask Peter Odle to stand down as Chairman of BPI until the matter is resolved?

The blogmaster is of the view if good governance is to be seen to be practised by the government and other actors in civil society the answer is a resounding YES.

The BU blogmaster has been around long enough to understand how influence is exerted on the system by the prominent and powerful in Barbados. There is the old Bajan saying who the cow likes he licks, who he does not, he kicks. A big part of the reason Barbados and other countries are witnessing significant citizen apathy in the double standards as it pertains to how the directorate is seen to do business in the country. A robust democracy requires its citizenry to be vigilant. It is not nebulous, it required discrete behaviour from citizens.

The first blog referenced above poked at what Barbadians know, the local court system is groaning under its own weight. This is a paraphrase view shared in public by the incumbent Attorney General Dale Marshall. The McIntosh Vs Peter Odle also exposes other actors complicit in a weak governance model being practised in Barbados. Based on the documents related to the contentious matter under review this blogmaster, it is important we discover ways to examined these matters that have traditionally been swept under the carpet.

A few questions for the BU intelligentsia to discuss for 100 marks.

1. Was Dan Rossen appointed director in Sandy Bay Holdings (2014) Inc without his knowledge? How is this possible under the Companies Act of Barbados?
  2. Did the Attorney General (AG) of Barbados reply to an email from a concerned member of the public on the 10 February 2020 citing Mr. Peter Odle allegedly making claims that the AG was advising him personally on a incident that occurred at The Sands Hotel on Saturday 8th February 2020? The incident is reported to have occurred in the presence of police officers.

The concerns and questions posed suggest our governance model is compromised. It means not only our court officers and political class are engaged in supine behaviour, it extends to other state actors. It is time the citizenry awake and accept its role of holding elected AND paid officials accountable.

The democracy we practice is described as fragile, a key check and balance must come from the citizenry cognizant of its civic responsibilities. A well worn quote from Abraham Lincoln “that government of the people, by the people, for the people, shall not perish from the earth”  was to recognized soldiers who sacrificed lives to give truth to the statement. In Barbados citizens are not required to fight wars to defend the cause of democracy – is it asking too much for Barbadians to adopt other forms of sacrifice for the greater good?

Food for thought.

364 responses to “The Peter Principle – The Peter Odle Imbroglio”

1. What is Peter Odle’s family background?

2. Good question. is his sister or cousin not Jessica Odle, former counsel general to the NYC area..political connections, so check who they are related to and any nepotism etc and other society crushing destructiveness involved….that’s all they do on the island, destroy the social fabric..with their small-minded pettiness.

3. CORRECTION:

That would be former Barbados consular general for the NYC area located on 2nd and Lexingtion …not to be confused with anything else.

4. i believe he is from the Odle family of Walkers / Thorpe’s Cottage / Taitt Hill St George which includes Jessica Odle and former BLP St George North MPJack Odle. it is a light skinned, straight to curly hair, black family and they seem to make special effort to keep looking that way

5. @Greene

It is on the tip of your tongue so we will say it for you, the family members in the majority are diehard BLPites.

6. It has been noticed that they are very scornful of black-skinned people, with their black asses, they actually turn up their noses and if they see someone with locks they actually give you nasty looks…slaves wanting to be white….shitehound negros….

7. David

Very well, but a more crucial question should be why would the regime in Bridgetown make this appointment, in the first place, when this matter was subjudicae.

Surely, the answer cannot be that this information was unknown or unknowable.

So even your tame interogation must lead the casual observer to the unavoidable conclusion that there exist in this Mugabe administration a reserve propensity to tolerate levels of corruption with a business as usual disposition.

Say it aint so!

8. Well…it’s time for this dirtiness to be exposed, people are actively compiling info on them, ah hope they enjoyed their BIG party in the Swiss Alps…yeah in Switzerland….hope it was not at taxpayers’ expense.

9. thanks David, lol
    it would appear that you dont like Peter? am i reading that right?

10. @Greene

The blogmaster does not like impropriety in any form.

@Pacha

Keep pushing Suki, the sky is the limit.

11. David

You ask citizens, continuously, to participate in governance despite centuries of being shut out of any such popular and continuous involvement, on a day to day basis.

Surely, the conclusion cannot be avoided that most governing systems are not based on participatory democratic forms.

Therein lies the answer. The people play their part once every five years. And the elected dictators and their oligarchs play their part every day for five years.

Is this not want the system has always been. Why pretend that it is a real and participatory democracy when elected dictatorship is and has always been the order of the day. In these circumstances, official corruption by the regime is governance sincerely expressed.

12. @Pacha

Stated in the blogmasters inimitable style is that Peter Odle based on the exposures does not meet the fit and proper conduct code to be on the BOD of BPI.

13. @Pacha

We have to find a way to disrupt the establishment. Every election there is a campaign platform of change and corruption, we observe it across the globe too, as soon as the dust settles, it is business as usual. Some of us live in hope the tipping point is here or near.

Will the leaders everywhere please stand to Rh up!

14. David

We see someone questioning you about personal likes and dislikes, for Odle.

These matters should be way above that.

We have always held the view that you approached these issues with clean hands and with the national interests as your only motivation.

15. The following appears in today’s Nation newspaper.

Irish investor blasts judicial system

By Maria Bradshaw mariabradshaw@nationnews.com

An Irish investor has written a strongly worded letter to Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley, denouncing the slow pace of the judicial system and stating that this does not augur well for investing in Barbados.

In the letter, a copy of which was sent to this newspaper, businessman Alan McIntosh said he would advise people interested in investing in Barbados: “Do not do it.”

He told the Prime Minister: “I read with interest the article in The Irish Business Post ( Barbados Seeks Closer Economic Ties With Ireland) that Barbados is seeking closer relationships with investors, in this case Irish investors, and your recent interview on Sky Newspromoting a ‘work remotely from Barbados’ scheme.

“I am an Irish investor who invested in Barbados and I wish I’d never done so. Unless changes are made to the legal system in Barbados, I would urge no one to invest in Barbados, either commercially or to buy a condo, holiday home or even take a holiday there. Why? The legal system is not fit for foreign investment or even to settle minor disputes in a timely manner.”

McIntosh filed a lawsuit against Sandy Bay Holdings (2014) Inc., the first defendant, and hotelier Peter Odle as the second defendant, to recover US$550 000, the outstanding balance of a loan.

McIntosh, who is part of the Irish company Emerald Investment Partners, explained to the Prime Minister that his company invested in Barbados three years ago but a dispute arose between him and Odle, who was recently appointed chairman of Barbados Port Inc.

He noted that he brought action against that Odle in Ireland and the matter was settled in five months, but this was now three years a case had been filed in Barbados without even being assigned to a judge as yet.

“I invested in Barbados three years ago. It was a substantial investment of US$2.5 million in total and was to complete a project which had stagnated as the existing investors had run out of capital. It was meant to be the first of many investments in Barbados by Emerald.

“A dispute arose between me and one of the shareholders of the project, Peter Odle. Emerald commenced an action in the Barbados courts and filed our case in April 2018. Having waited almost three years for the matter to be heard, we are currently awaiting the appointment of a new judge which was to be done on an urgent basis, but almost two months later, no judge has been appointed. So after almost three years after filing an action in the Barbados courts, we are still waiting for even a judge to be appointed, let alone for a trial of the matter to occur.”

‘Too long to resolve’

He queried: “How can Barbados ask investors, in thiscase Irish investors, to commit hard-earned capital in Barbados when its court system does not allow the timely resolution of disputes? I would tell all potential investors – whether buying a second

home, a condo or making an investment – not to invest in Barbados. Any dispute with the builder, the landowner, or the financier will take many years and huge amounts of emotional and actual capital to resolve . . . .”

He added: “Barbados’ court system does not allow disputes to be resolved in a timely and efficient manner. An investor requires a legal system which permits the resolution of dispute in a timely manner whilst following due process . . . .”

McIntosh said he had previously written to the Prime Minister and then Minister of Tourism and International Transport, Kerrie Symmonds, back in November 2019 “and offered to discuss and illustrate how the court system is not functioning in a manner suitable for inward investment”.

However, McIntosh said he has not received a response to that letter.

“Again, I wrote to the Minister of Tourism and International Transport in January 2020 and I am yet to receive a reply to any of my attempts to offer help. Clearly, I would not write to you seeking any influence over any ongoing matter before the High Court of Barbados. I am merely seeking my right to a fair trial in a timely manner and this is currently being denied. My advice to anyone contemplating investing in Barbados is: ‘Do not do it’,” he wrote to Mottley.

The Sunday Sun was informed by a member of McIntosh’s team that a court date has been appointed for January, 2021.

When contacted about this letter, Mottley said she would get back to the newspaper with a response.

Source: Nation Newspaper

16. @Pacha

It is good we have members of the BU family with a discerning eye.

17. David

BTW, it is on mornings like these when the wise counsel of Jeff Cumberbatch is sorely missed.

18. David,

Fit and proper? nice phrase. do we actually practice such in Bim. in UK company law there is such an animal but i am not sure the same goes for Bim. director disqualification is another.

i like your stance here. also see the Irish man warning investors about Bim and the unwarranted delays in court judgments.

we need a judicial overhaul in Bim. long over due BTW.

another thing is land. we need a registered land law in Bim. we are really behind times. it gets me v despondent if not angry.

i am tired of the constant long talk and no action

19. David

The letter you posted immediately above implicates the prime minister of Barbados herself.

This letter evidences that Mugabe knew or ought to have known that Odle was short of the standards required for the chairmanship.

Corruption as usual in Barbados.

20. @Greene

Fit and proper requirements extends to Barbados as well, does it apply to the BPI, an SOE?

@Pacha

The letter was addressed to the PM, did she receive it? Is she saying to give her time to come back to media with a good reply?

21. @ Greene

You are too young, but he is also related to Harold ‘Zeek’ Tudor, Tudor’s Funeral Home, Johnny Tudor, and that ilk and, I believe, the Island Inn. Sometimes we have to connect the dots, but that is not BU style.
    Some time ago @Quaker John was talking about ‘coloured’ people who owned slaves and the removal of the Nelson statue. Connect the dots. I asked if we were going to demand reparations from ‘coloured’ slave owners too. So far no comment.
    I have said before, follow the names and the marriages. Barbados is a little place and the five or six top families know who they are. The ignorance is on the part of ordinary people.

22. Waru

Wha sweeten goat mout, does bun he tail.

Bajans for decades were suffering from the inefficiencies and criminality of these court systems

No GoB cared about fixing them for us, and now the very lifeline of the country could be compromised because our governments never were concerned about our sacred right to justice, undelayed.

For McIntosh it is just 3 years he’s been waiting. Some Bajans have been waiting for up to 30 years. Others up to 300 years, for justice.

That is we culture!

23. David

Dont be naive. You really think Mugabe has any ability to give McIntosh substantive satisfaction, beyond firing Odle?

And even if she did, is that type of dictatorial impulse not what should be resisted.

24. @Pacha

She can use her considerable influence to ask Odle to stand down as a board member for a start.

25. @David

” a key check and balance must come from the citizenry ”

You’ve it the Barbados problem nail on the head, unfortunately this group is BRAIN DEAD or at least the majority are BLP/DIP BRAIN DEAD.

Wily is in total agreement with you that Barbados needs fundamental ethical government changes for the country to survive democratically. It’s unfortunate that the citizenry are in such a mentally deprived STATE that they are not willing to hold the political government class to an acceptable democratic standards.

Time is quickly running out for the island to make positive changes towards recovery, ANARCHY is looming ever closer.

26. David

What Mugabe needs to do, if she serious, is to make the endemic, systemic, culture of injustice impossible. This, we judge, is beyond her pay grade, implicates her own personal interests.

Just trying to appease McIntosh will not stop this shiiite from happening.

27. Can any one explain what or who are the: College of Negotiators” mention by the Head of the Transport Board as outside interest who negotiated in the planning purchase of the buses
    Also how did govt proposed these people would be paid

28. Let me add my 10 cents and say based on all that “lingers” around this gentleman I believe he should not serve the state as outlined in the press. If not let we bring back Donville and put him on Sinkyuh economic committee.

Wunna see why i dont get into discussing politics now? Regardless of party the party faithfuls always have to be given a feed at the trough.

29. David,
    who cares whether they are fit and proper once they are friends and family. more to come

30. ” Make no mistake about it, Barbados’ judiciary is the laughing stock of criminal elements in this country. But every time criminals laugh, law-abiding citizens wail. The appeal court has already been soundly criticized by the Caribbean Court of Justice for its sloth. From the days of criticism emanating from Winton Campbell versus the Attorney General 2009, it seems the highest court in our land has given face to the old adage that justice delayed is justice denied.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/09/03/bteditorial-laughing-at-in-and-out-of-the-law-courts/

HOPEFULLY BAJANS WILL BENEFIT FROM THE FOCUS BROUGHT TO THE JUDICIAL SYSTEM BY THE IRISHMAN.

THOSE BLACK BAJANS LINGERING IN JAIL COULD HAVE THEIR CASES HEARD SOONER.

31. She is smart, ambitious and has the country in her palm… for now.
    Why is the PM protecting Odle?

I hope it’s not in preparation for a knighthood or UK High Commissioner posting….

32. “For McIntosh it is just 3 years he’s been waiting. Some Bajans have been waiting for up to 30 years.”

Great comment.

It is good to see some has put aside the microscope and are looking through telescopic lens. McIntosh is just another symptom of a failed system. We can agitate and perhaps fix it for him, but we should think of the greater fix.

We must abandon the selective patching of a flawed inner tube; patching one hole and leaving others will not make the tube functional.

33. David

We are talking about a woman who built an expensive prison, who has often expressed vengeance against working class offenders, but when it comes to critical interventions into bedrock structures supporting the status quo, Mugabe has talked some shiite while never taking any actions to transform.

34. @Pacha

We have discussed many times in this space that requirement for members of the political class is not to be D or B.

35. You got to love small island politics. Where else a man with such a case pending over so serious a charge would be given such a position to represent a state entity?

Then again when Pablo Escobar was shipping cocaine by the ton he was serving as a senator in the columbian senate so i guess anything is possible. Lol

36. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster I must imagine you are having a moment the Dean would call ‘risible’ when you said : “She can use her considerable influence to ask Odle to stand down as a board member for a start.”

That’s quite hilarious.

I equate that to the recent equally LOLROF announcement made in the US that the POTUS would ensure that a century old military publication previously to be defunded by his admin would NOT now be defunded within weeks as had previously been decided…

… SIMPLY TO GET SOME GOOD PUBLICITY.

David, brother why would this Trumpian autocratic, micro-managing PM ALLOW the appointment in the FIRST PLACE (when she was in FULL knowledge of Odle’s antecedents) and NOW seek a dismissal … if not for PUBLICITY STYLE points.

@Austin said above “The ignorance is on the part of ordinary people” and you clearly appear dear sir to be giving credence to that (or otherwise being quite disingenuous) … but both of you are absolutely wrong…

There is NO ignorance… simply grand
    apathy … which is worst!

And I do hope you are just being devil’s advocate this morn; otherwise what tortured reasoning!

37. @Dee Word

You should research some of the underlying reasons that may cause citizen apathy.

38. @Hants,
    I could not get past this paragraph
    “Michael Blackett of Flat Rock, St George – charged for the murder of Charles Ellis on May 5, 2015; charged for the murder of Kemal Leacock on August 12, 2015; charged for the murder of Ashem Telemaque on August 4, 2015; charged for shooting two other men [who did not die] on January 22 and August 4 the same year. Then in August 2020, Michael Blackett of Flat Rock, St George charged for violent disorder, endangering life [during a shooting] and arson. ”

I was horrified and then I laughed.

Reminds of the toy train in the basement. All the bells and whistles of a real train.

39. Bravo, it is high time Peter Odle was exposed. I hope we hear from the other foreign investors at The Sands. The sums owed to them dwarf the debt to Mr McIntosh.

40. @ TheOGazerts,

It is disturbing that none of the ” Leaders ” in Barbados seem to care as they cruise around in their air conditioned and chauffeur driven luxury vehicles.

41. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Actually @David my intent is not to “… research some of the underlying reasons that may cause citizen apathy” rather to EXPOSE it.

True, often we do not get to our various life goals but let’s see what unfolds.

Our island is a cesspool…

42. The injustice system in Barbados is full of self-important people whose sole purpose is to lord it over the “ordinary people”.

It is indeed instructive how many of them receive national honours for being a part of this disfunctional or functional system depending upon your vantage point.

I sat in a court case once and it was a joke. I was not at all impressed with any of them but they sure were impressed with themselves.

Garvey Husbands was the judge and he did handle the case well and the judgement was quickly handed down. It was ignored by the offending business with strong DLP connections for more than ten years. The woman had to fight fiercely to get the sum awarded.

Oh, and that was after it took ten years to even get it into court in the first place.

What I never forgot about being in that courtroom was the attitude of the marshall or whoever it is that is charged with keeping order. Apart from the fact that I had to remove my shades from atop my head and sit like I was in a straight jacket, I was not allowed to even chuckle softly at jokes the lawyers and judge made and heartily laughed at themselves.

By that time I was fed up and told the marshall to leave me alone as he was being unreasonable.

These courts are definitely not seen as the “ordinary people’s” courts. We are seen as outsiders and treated as such.

No surprise then that the only people who benefit from the existence of the courts are their officers.

And their connections, of course!

43. Louder Pacha…but i want them to know that this is just the tip of the ICEBERG…

“No GoB cared about fixing them for us, and now the very lifeline of the country could be compromised because our governments never were concerned about our sacred right to justice, undelayed.”

44. @ Pacha
    “For McIntosh it is just 3 years he’s been waiting. Some Bajans have been waiting for up to 30 years. Others up to 300 years, for justice.”

We just had a speaker who withheld a client’s money as his attorney; we have a sitting PM who admitted on the floor of the house she owes back taxes; we have gone into polling stations and elected lawyers who are getting away with all kinds of con artistry and now we talking about Peter Odle because he get a pick on a Board and he embroiled in some legal wrangle with an Irishman.
    We are the most pathetic group of hypocrites on this one. Just because a white Irishman pissed off , we even want to resurrect Judge Cumberbatch to BU.
    Everyday poor Black people getting robbed by people we elect in the BLPDLP and not a word ,with the exception of WURA , but touch a hair on some white foreigner and all hell brek loose.
    We are a bundle of hypocrites on this Odle Irishman issue. Pathetic.
    And BTW go into St. George and ask those whom Jack Odle represented how they still view him up to this day. There was a reason he clobberEd Richie Haynes- he was a man of the people.
    I don’t think the Odle family has this negative profile some here on BU are talking about. Jessie Odle was perhaps the best consular General we’ve had in New York and before that was quite a popular hair designer with a clientele that served across all social and economic groups.

45. We need more people like Jeff. He is humble.

46. By the way, I too had a case filed in 2012. Nothing happened for seven years.

I would call our court system Comedy Central – Tragicomedy Central to be precise.

47. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ William Skinner at 10:10 AM

I agree.
    We all tend to be selective in shaping our narratives. Selecting the ,perspectives,selecting the yardsticks, shifting the national goal posts/objectives and so on.
    But we are just having a conversation/ ST.

48. A couple commenters made a snide remarks about the Odles and you could not wait to jump on the soap box. How many blogs have BU posted about our dysfunctional court system? Has the blogmaster prevented you or anyone from submitting articles to expose any wrongdoings?

Steuspe

49. These stories do not provide us with new information; the problems are well known and some fixes are also known.

A next known constant is our lack of will to address these problems.

How do we move from stage 1?
    How do we move from arrests and court dates to trials in criminal matters, even those that are murder cases?
    How do we move from filing lawsuits to getting a court date?
    The system that we ridicule for being slow, is fast, decisive and punitive in petty matters (a loaf of bread). But I waste my time an your time… this is already known.

50. “Oh, and that was after it took ten years to even get it into court in the first place.”

yeah and they sit and wait patiently for you to die and if they get the opportunity, speed it along too, ask any honest person in that court system and they will warn you to be careful with any case you have at the Supreme Court, but 2 can play that same game.