It was recently announced, by the Government Information Service, that the Protective Service Commission has approved the appointment of Mr. Oral Williams on promotion to the post of Deputy Commissioner of Police in the Royal Barbados Police Force, with effect from May 1, 2020.

I really don’t know if I should congratulate or offer commiserations to Mr. Williams. This has nothing to do with his fitness for the post. I do not know of his work or performance as a senior police officer and cannot speak to his fitness. My concern is that he has been appointed to a non-existent post, since someone is already substantively appointed Deputy Commissioner.

The Police Act, Chapter 167 of the Laws of Barbados, states at section 6:

The Force shall consist of a Commissioner, a Deputy Commissioner and such number of Assistant Commissioners, Superintendents, Inspectors, subordinate police officers and constables respectively as does not exceed the number provided by any order made under section 2 of the Civil Establishments Act: but the members of the Force at 16th October 1961, shall continue to be members of the Force and shall be subject to this Act.

The number of persons appointed to the post of Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner is subject to primary legislation, in this case the Police Act, and can only be changed by an amendment to that Act done in Parliament. On the other hand, the Police Act goes on to give the Minister responsible for Civil Establishments the power, by subsidiary legislation, to determine the number of Assistant Commissioners, Superintendents, Inspectors, subordinate police officers and constables.

For completeness, the Civil Establishments Act was repealed and replaced by the Public Service Act on December 31, 2007. The power to determine the number of posts in the Public Service is now found at section 13.(1) of the Public Service Act.

The power to make appointments to public offices and to remove and to exercise disciplinary control over persons holding or acting in the Public Service is vested in the Governor-General, acting in accordance with the advice of service commissions, in this case the Protective Service Commission. That service commission, like all others in Barbados, can only recommend the appointment of persons to post that are available. There is only one post of Deputy Commissioner available and that is already filled.

Who is responsible for this cock-up? Is this yet another example of this Government not getting anything right the first?

1,036 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Mock Police”

1. Here is another gem from WARU I came across:

WARU
    October 26, 2018 1:20 PM

Those Coverley kennels were assembled in Miami and shipped to Barbados..the usual scam where Bjerkham went looking for some investor mutt with more money than sense…they were getting a lot of such fools at the time, but the dude died…they continued the scam with Maloney as front man and ended up ripping off the taxpayers, the pensioners AND the homeowners who were not informed enough….to know not to buy those kennels..

2. Sharing this comment as a FYI to the BU family.

#sick

3. This latest attempt to draw the SLCT into political controversy is not only supremely transparent but it is also repulsively vile, deplorable, contemptible, odious, abhorrent and despicable.

We are clearly a nation of busybodies and wastrels when we have people walking about with nothing else better do but attack a charity. A charity which has done invaluable work in education, in ensuring that children, poor children, could seek the medical attention needed for their life-threatening illnesses. Who have partnered with others to do phenomenal work, the thelma vaughn home, Because of Jenna Trust etc. What is the relevance of who their lawyer or PR person is? It’s a good thing that these charities help actual people who are very grateful, otherwise i would tell them to take their money where they can actually help appreciative people.

Good thing that wretched lowlifes who think it fit to attack charities are in the minority.

There are real issues to engage with, then there are non-issues and then finally there are things which no decent human being would want to exploit for their own gain. It is that last category of issues which allows the public to see for themselves the lengths that the depraved will go to further their own agendas. The more some talk, the more they reveal that they really ought not to.

4. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Charities LAUNDER MONEY…….many people have no scruples and charities are ALWAYS UNDER SCRUTINY…

5. Well you’re a bright one aren’t you WARU. Once again with another piece of breaking news.

I don’t recall the present SLCT issue having anything to do with ML but with their COVID donations. Maybe you could apply your keen journalistic skills to correcting me on that score lolol.

6. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Those Coverley kennels were assembled in Miami and shipped to Barbados..the usual scam where Bjerkham went looking for some investor mutt with more money than sense…they were getting a lot of such fools at the time, but the dude died…they continued the scam with Maloney as front man and ended up ripping off the taxpayers, the pensioners AND the homeowners who were not informed enough….to know not to buy those kennels..

ALL TRUE….the article was found where the big slabs were shipped in from Miami, the billionaire dude who himself was under federal investigation in US for something or the other, something to also do with transering multimillions to Barbados…up and died..

wuh that ain’t even a secret;…

post the ones with all the CORRUPTION complements of both DBLP that are well outlined…i dare you…

7. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Well people were laundering money in Barbados DECADES before you were born…so exactly what do you EXPECT TO KNOW…

8. Piece the Prophet Avatar
    Piece the Prophet

It is fortunate that there is a huge digital library that can be found under barbadosunderground.com or barbadosunderground.net which is a permanent

Or one can use a search like Alvin Cummins (of the Golden Palms are Dying fame) with the words barbadosunderground.com added and you will find some of Alvin’s most notorious quotes

For at least 3 years leading up to the 2018 General Election there was a concerted battle fought here on BU as such related to voting out the Democratic Labour Party

An examination of those blogs will reveal some very derogatory language including the use of the term “speckled fowl” and your responses David King

The problem with you lot is that you are hypocrites and can dish out insults BUT CANT TAKE ANY so when your golden boys getting hit and being discredited WUNNA DOES CALL FOWL and debar dissident voices.

While lauding and praising the borderline homosexual behaviour and salutations

Tell de 16 year old whose face is known, you dont address a man as darling, IN THE SAME WAY YOU PONTIFICATING bout me calling your friend, an anonymous blogger an acquitted rapist.

But you cant do that can you cause you people in power now!

9. There have been liars abounding on this planet for as long as there have been humans, so just a little longer than I’ve been here lol. Yet even in spite of that fact, I have in two weeks still uncovered you soooo…….

10. Post the article. Causen MAM#2 owns a factory that builds slabs and yet would import? Post the article that you found and shut me up….on this one. The blog still awaits your pictures of the houses you had before they were even built.

11. Piece the Prophet Avatar
    Piece the Prophet

@ the one with the Honourable Blogmaster who still is principled

Your assistance please

12. @enuff

You know better, you can help to raise the standard of discussion.

Charities have bank accounts and have to satisfy their bankers the source of the funds. There is no evidence the Charity is engaged in ML. Hopefully this will stop this ‘talk’ right here and the blogmaster will not have to take action.

13. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Post the article. Causen MAM#2 owns a factory that builds slabs and yet would import? ”

yeah Fowl Enuff…raise the discussion to the part where alyuh started that PARTICULAR CORRUPTION with Maloney et al and DLP CONTINUED IT..then i 2018 yall PICKED UP WHERE ALYUH LEFT OFF…just like ya never left, the only part that was a little twisted was MIA saying Maloney want locking up for corruption…then she forgot what she said to the people…..so ….take it to the level where it’s supposed to go as PARTNERS IN CRIMES against the Black majority….

still waiting for the corruption comments…am sure you will find a good 7 YEARS WORTH OF THOSE I MADE..

want you to shut up…nah, perish the thought…ah want you to keep going ah have a LOT TO SAY…

little fowl, stay in ya corner let ya felow larger sized fowls keep going, ya too far behind…

14. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Don’t worry, i get it, no one wants to talk about those SECRET BDF FILES on Bajans, but we will have that discussion one way or the other, cause alyuh done know that ya are on shaky ground….and i so love to shake ground…

yal never wanted to talk about Maloney before, i certainly don’t want ya to shut up about him now…uhh,,uhh…everything else can wait, not going anywhere…no suh!!!

15. Piece the Prophet Avatar
    Piece the Prophet

@ Senator Caswell Franklyn

De ole man is a slow man, left school at 11 and as an octogenarian am bereft of the verbal shill sets of these people here assembled

So bear with me

“…For completeness, the Civil Establishments Act was repealed and replaced by the Public Service Act on December 31, 2007.

The power to determine the number of posts in the Public Service is now found at section 13.(1) of the Public Service Act…”

Note is made of the fact that when you opened this review of the illegal actions of this Mugabe administration, you first gave commendations to Oral Williams

We note that in the rambling responses of the BLP responders (aka poochlickers) a few of them sought to make it seem like a personal issue AND FAILED!

And suddenly all bajans became aware that you are not trying to take away the man’s just desserts, all you are saying is that MUGABE BREKKING de law AS PER HER USUAL practices!

Like if a body bite out a woman clitoris and when queried about that despicable acid, dismissively says to all the world that is watching, “I DO THAT, I BITE UM OUT, SO BITE MUH!!! I AM THE LAW”

But you, as a lone voice out there, have said “no, biting out clits is illegal”

Keep up the good work Senator

16. David
    Sometimes yuh have to mix it up, but I’ll take your advice and stop searching the archives. If Miller et al want to call me a liar, let them prove it. I would however advise them not to bother.🤣

17. @ WARU

You did gymnastics at school? You’re always a hop, skip and a jump away.

Last night, the awful, despotic government was leaving poor students stranded in Jamaica and not even looking back on them and within two hours that story didn’t even exist.

This morning, the SLCT is guilty of money laundering and within 28 minutes that line of argument is ceased too to revert to generalised broadsides and accusations of corruption with, wait for it, wait for it, zero proof ever (or should I say original proof lol).

Don’t you get tired of repeating the same script over and over and over: shoot off a dishonest comment, get rebuffed and then move on like it didn’t happen.

Again, if you can’t even fool me how do you expect to fool intelligent adults?

18. The blogmaster does not play ignorance. He is one of the most ignorant people on BU. It is an incredible semi-literate who cannot tolerate criticism. Where is @Mariposa.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

@ Hal

GOOD TO SEE YOU ARE BACK.

I TRIED TO POST A COMMENT I BELIEVE 2 DAYS AGO SAYING THAT YOU WERE A GOOD MAN MUCH BETTER THAN MANY OF THE IDIOTS HERE WHO CRITICIZE AND WANT TO SILENCE YOU.

IT WENT INTO MODERATION AND THEN NEVER APPEARED ON BU.

BARBADOS UNDERGROUND NEEDS TO BE RENAMED AS THE BARBADOS BLP UNDERGROUND BLOG.

THEY ARE LEARNING WELL FROM THEIR POLITICAL MASTER OF THE DISAPPEARED RED BAG OF Deception HOW TO SILENCE OTHERS WHO DON’T SING FROM THEIR CHOIR.

THIS PANDEMIC WILL REALLY BRING THEM INTO REALITY.

19. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Yeah…well since yall love to dwell on and waddle in utter small time petty shit, part of the bajan culture like being embarrassed by the frivolous but never embarrassed by REAL CRIMES committed against people and country……….i say what i have to say and move on…there is ALWAYS SOMETHING EVEN BETTER TO EXPOSE…so much happened before you were born, no one has the time to sit holding your little hands playing CATCH UP…

you want to play, find someone your own age.

20. @ Enuff May 18, 2020 12:07 PM

We shall view your constant denial as an apt opportunity to invite Mr. Spot On in London to return to the blog as a ‘star’ witness for the BU Crown.

All we can say to you at this stage is:
    ‘If you tell the Truth you do not have to remember what you said’.

Be careful, Enuff, you don’t choke on your own words of denial.

For you are simply digging your own grave of intellectual dishonesty to ‘lie’ in.

21. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Piece…fyah in ya wyah…

22. @ Baje

I am not back. The chairman is playing games, but two can play silly games. He is very selective in what he allows through. But I do not work and have all day to play with him. I will not be back until @Mariposa is also back.

23. Alas the delusional cabal continues.

24. Piece the Prophet Avatar
    Piece the Prophet

Yes wunna cabal do continue Man-Chile

Why you dont stop and save on your data plan?

25. @ K K

Alas the delusional cabal continues.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

NOT ATTACKING YOU HOWEVER:

VERY INTERESTED IN KNOWING YOUR QUALIFICATIONS AND ACHIEVEMENTS IN LIFE TO SEE WHAT CREDIBILITY YOU BRING TO THE BARBADOS UNDERGROUND.

26. @ ALL CAPS

At 16 years old, I have not a single qualification or achievement of note to take or bring anywhere. I repeat, not a shred of anything. You would know that of course as you see my name and face and a simple Google search would reveal that. I have little need to assert my credibility here or elsewhere. However if you reside in Barbados, and you see me in the supermarket, petrol station, store or anywhere at all, you can stop me to chat with me, cuss me or anything else that you like. I don’t have that luxury with regard to many on here. As I said, I’m comfortable enough with my views to throw the full weight of my personhood behind them.

Moreover, presuming that you and others are grown, I have no way of knowing of your qualifications or achievements to assess your credibility.

You are hilarious.

27. Interesting to note a commenter or citizen needs to acquire a paper trophy in the eye of some to offer public comment.

#hilarious

28. Piece the Prophet Avatar
    Piece the Prophet

Both you and the Man-Chile blow hot and cold selectively

For example you said and I quote

“… David May 18, 2020 2:33 PM

Interesting to note a commenter or citizen needs to acquire a paper trophy in the eye of some to offer public comment.

#hilarious…

And he, not even 24 hours ago, spoke to the credentials of the debarred Ezra Alleyne as being of such import and impact!

Neither you not this young dissembler are honest nor capable of holding a line!

#dishonest_man_chile

29. Somebody just called me to say that the Trinidadian Lady suggests that I should debate the Deputy Commissioner of Police issue. Me?
    While I have the greatest respect for Senator Franklyn’s ability, (and he is also an old Combermerian too) I would rather be engaged in publicly discussing other issues such as :
    (1) The International Business Sector and the threatened blacklisting of our country and the manner in which we should be developing and planning for the sector given the changing dynamics of International Tax Law.
    (1a) The specific need to argue for the modification in International Tax Law of the philosophy and application of anti double tax regimes to our country tax system. That after all is the basis upon which we have established our offshore sector, and that is the basis upon which we WILL grow that sector. as the recent Glenhurion Bank tax case from Canada shows.
    (2) The possible restructuring of the Corporate Taxation of Barbados and the need to calibrate the linkages between the company as a taxable entity and its shareholders given the need for convergence as a condition for the survival of our offfshore sector.
    I could go on, with other issues but…… I merely wish to emphasize that while Constitutional law is my passion…….
    I need to make it clear that issues which relate to the hard aspects of the economy ALSO have a place at the table of discussion because ALL the issues are like the juggler’s balls which are thrown in the air…… All are important and EQUALLY so.
    Back to the “constitutional” issue. “It deep” to use a Bajanism. I gone.
    7 comments

30. @ Khaleel Kothdiwala who wrote ” you see my name and face and a simple Google search would reveal ”

Did you speak to your parents about exposing them to googlers ?

31. BrassTacks callers need to listen to what public officials say BEFORE trying to criticise them. People are not looking at what was said and when AND WHAT was said.
    Senator Caswell raised an issue…AN IMPORTANT ISSUE
    What was it that the Senator said? What was it that Learned Attorney General said?
    FINALLY What was it that the Prime Minister said? THESE MATTERS HAVE TO BE RATIONALLY DISCUSSED SO THAT THE SOCIETY BENEFITS. The Senator was right to raise the issue and had a public responsibility to do so……..if he saw it as an issue affecting Parliament. FULL STOP There can be no argument about that.
    Any commentator MUST pay attention to what he said if that person wishes to comment on it.
    What was the Senator’s point. The Learned Attorney General had a duty to respond FULL STOP. The Honourable Prime Minister was asked a question about the issue and she did not duck the question, which she could have done. The Prime Minister spoke TO THE ISSUE as raised by the Senator.
    So there is no need to curse or attack Senator Franklyn or challenge the views of the Learned Attorney General OR the Honourable Prime Minister without analytically looking at and considering the issue, its development and who said what and when, and who did what when.
    This issue seems to have a long history and it having been raised we need to discuss it PROPERLY and dun wid it so as not to lose focus on the big economy issue which demands the exercise of much brain power in order toget this society which was being repaired, out of ICU and back on the road to recovery.

32. Steuspe

33. Ezra Alleyne continues to demonstrate his pre-eminence not only in constitutional law, but in simple common sense.

34. “VERY INTERESTED IN KNOWING YOUR QUALIFICATIONS AND ACHIEVEMENTS IN LIFE TO SEE WHAT CREDIBILITY YOU BRING TO THE BARBADOS UNDERGROUND.”

What do you and your cheerleaders bring? 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

35. Seems to me, the way things are going, that the blog may be left with just the died-in-the wool BLPers.

36. Piece the Prophet Avatar
    Piece the Prophet

But look how the Blogmaster Steupsee at what Ezra say though!

Sequence Ezra Alleyne post is 2.46 and your response at 2.51 is a steupsee heheheheh

Doan change um cause de ol man dun tex a picture of it

37. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Poor free range fowls, always KEPT OUT of the loop, never brought into the innercircle..

lonely existence.

38. Dames who stopping Dems like you , Sarge,Hants and Greene among others from commenting?The problem for you Dems and the political nightwatchman is the ttaction Mr Franklyn and you all were hoping for get blown out of the water by the PM and Mr Alleyne.On top of this the policemen are backing Mr Williams appointment which should havr happenef long ago.Perhaps Mr Mayerd as PSC chairman csn answer that situation hence no support for you all from the force. This issue in my view is dead.Dames you disappeared after i refreshed you Dem memory of previos liies told by the Dems why was that could not handle the truth Dem?

39. I was just watching this historical video “Owen on Mia Mottley”. Arthur is spreading a lot of nonsense about Mottley, for example that she blew the 2013 election. The fact is that OSA himself had lost the election because, in the week before election day, he announced to the naive masses an IMF programme and the restructuring of state enterprises. What a serious error!

Our “Piece, the Prophet” seems to be a kind of Mouth of Sauron, parroting all the words of his master Arthur. Maybe “Piece, the Prophet” thinks himself to be Arthur, in a kind of insane hallucination.

40. Piece

Both you and the Man-Chile blow hot and cold selectively

For example you said and I quote

“… David May 18, 2020 2:33 PM

Interesting to note a commenter or citizen needs to acquire a paper trophy in the eye of some to offer public comment.

#hilarious…

And he, not even 24 hours ago, spoke to the credentials of the debarred Ezra Alleyne as being of such import and impact!

Neither you not this young dissembler are honest nor capable of holding a line!

#dishonest_man_chile

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

@ ALL CAPS

At 16 years old, I have not a single qualification or achievement of note to take or bring anywhere. I repeat, not a shred of anything.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I DON’T GO AROUND GOOGLING PEOPLES NAMES HOWEVER FROM MANY IMMATURE COMMENTS I BECAME CURIOUS ABOUT K K BACKGROUND.

THIS LITTLE IMMATURE BOY WOULD COME ON HERE TO CHALLENGE AND INSULT SEVERAL LOCALLY AND ABROAD BLOGGERS WHO HAVE ACCOMPLISHED THINGS IN THEIR LIFE AND SEEK TO DISPARAGE THEM WHILST NOT EVEN OLD ENOUGH TO BE LIVING ON HIS OWN OR MANAGING SOMETHING SIMPLE AS A HOUSEHOLD.

THEN THE DELUSIONAL BU BLOGMASTER WOULD DEFEND A 16 YEAR OLD WHO WANTS HIS ASS CUTTING LITERALLY AND FIGURATIVELY.

@ Hal / @ Mariposa YOU AIN’T MISSING NOTHING BUT THE CONTINUAL HIGHLIGHTING OF HOW MUCH THE ISLAND IF AS REFLECTED ON BARBADOS UNDERGROUND HAS DEGRADED ITSELF TO DEFEND THE INDEFENSIBLE.

MY MY MY.

41. Piece the Prophet Avatar
    Piece the Prophet

Tron ye olde Sexton

I saw how you referred to Puff the Magic Dragon as “the short rumplestiltskin”

You got to stop this though!

You is talking too much ingrunce heah pun Barbados Underground.

You see how de 15 Mugabe imps get HA and Legion ban, and dem agitating to get de ole man ban for speaking the truth bout Mugabe, I feel you need to get ban too.

No one body can talk such ingrunce

Heheheheheheheheheheheheh

42. Wait this jackass Austin ain’t understsnd this is npt his blog yet? IMAGINE HE COME BACK DISRESPECTING THE BLOG MASTER AGAIN AND TALKING SHITE ABOUT HE AIN’T BACK UNLESS MARIPOSA BACK..YOU COULD UNDERSTAND THIS JACKASS?AUSTIN YOU SIN”T GET THE MEMO YET? THIS IS NOT YOUR SO AND SO BLOG. YOU DON” T DEMAND NOTHING YOU ARE GRANTED A PRIVILEDGE.TAE IT FROM ME NEITHER OF YOU ARE MISSED EXCEPT BY A FEW SO TAKE A HIKE FOR GOOD. DAVID BU KEEP THE HAMMER ON BOTH OF THEM ALONG WITH THE FRANKLYN POOCHLICKER PIECE IF HE DISRESPECTS YOU.

43. Miller
    I know very well what I said. If I were you, I would leff this alone. Yuh ain’t see I tell Mr. 3 Degree on another blog I have 4 meetings next month? You better ask the blogmaster bout me yuh!!

44. Silversleeves Avatar

De Good Book says a little child shall lead them. I didnt know that a little child would also be able to savage dem and got dem running fun de hills. Yuh know he got dem in a corner when Dey call out a man dat education only teach he bout capital letters wan come and talk bout qualifications. Humble silversleeves wan know bout he qualifications.or he too frighten to tell we wuh we already know. A man who cuh only type in capitals ain’t know nuttin bout english nor bout social graces. You answer de blogmaster yet bout wuh qualifications gots to do aid anything. Well den you got de rest just running bout. Poor waru get wash off, i almost feel sorry fuh she if she didn’t such a wicked liar. de man woman Miller talking bout pederasty. Now I din guy school fuh long but at Modern Dey did teach yu bout de dictionary. And I look in Dey and you go look fuh yuhseld wuh de old nasty man wan do wid de boy. And dat supposed to be piece fren de same one dat always want talk bout Morris. Wuh look at dat doah nuh. So we got a liar, a ingrunt big letters man, a pedophile and a half crack piece of a brain piece pun de blogmaster blog.

Now Silversleeves ain’t spend yuh much time in school so tell he one ting. Wuh de little fella, our de blogmaster or Enuff gots to do wid anything? Wunna just like to attack people when yu realize yu can’t get ovuh dem. But wunna gine meet reckoning one o dese fine days.

Devpolice matter gine get fix if it ain’t legal already and de country and de police gine get a much needed position. And de sandy lame people gine keep donating to people out o de kindness o dem hearts, because dem don’t give to satisfy wunna clowns. So wunna can’t win on any front. Now rader Dan continuing wunna painful experience wunna cuh just decide to dun dis. But I doan min at all. Silversleeves in he ole age getting good entertainment from seeing a little fella destroy big hard back people. Wunna real real pitiful doah nuh.

45. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Piece…wuhloss…Miller…looka look…fowls are so clueless, they don’t even know that when they have been told to PULL BACK…that they should…….the blowback will be the stuff of legends…lol

i can actually boast of a very fruitful day, clueless fowls will never know, but will see the outcome…ha…

never be a fowl, it is too degrading and dehumanizing…

46. @Hal,
    It is good to see you back.

Perhaps you should self-censor and remove the word David from your vocabulary (regardless of what happens to Mariposa).

I like your many contributions and believe you are punching well above your BMI.

Keep on posting, my friend.

47. Hang in there Wura.

I see that the MDF (Mugabe Defense Force) has been fully deployed.

This brought a smile to my face
    “And has anyone noticed that all the seasoned and marinated fowls ran away…”

48. I seem to recall that some sort of comment was made when replying to “Miss EU”..

Perhaps the ‘archiver’ can help.

49. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“I see that the MDF (Mugabe Defense Force) has been fully deployed.”

too bad for the fowls, who is sending them is well aware, particularly TODAY…that i am FULLY ARMED and WEAPONIZED…while they have nothing to work with except the usual fowl shit and they nekkid too, fowls without feathers, it will be a massacre…….lol

50. Theo
    Go dig up the archives. I never said I work in project management or project planning or chaired meetings in NY. Yes SSS/Ms EU MM was involved. Remember she laughed at me and said she was going to call some of her friends to see if them know bout me? Funny how you encouraging WARU…de real real liar.🤣🤣