It was recently announced, by the Government Information Service, that the Protective Service Commission has approved the appointment of Mr. Oral Williams on promotion to the post of Deputy Commissioner of Police in the Royal Barbados Police Force, with effect from May 1, 2020.

I really don’t know if I should congratulate or offer commiserations to Mr. Williams. This has nothing to do with his fitness for the post. I do not know of his work or performance as a senior police officer and cannot speak to his fitness. My concern is that he has been appointed to a non-existent post, since someone is already substantively appointed Deputy Commissioner.

The Police Act, Chapter 167 of the Laws of Barbados, states at section 6:

The Force shall consist of a Commissioner, a Deputy Commissioner and such number of Assistant Commissioners, Superintendents, Inspectors, subordinate police officers and constables respectively as does not exceed the number provided by any order made under section 2 of the Civil Establishments Act: but the members of the Force at 16th October 1961, shall continue to be members of the Force and shall be subject to this Act.

The number of persons appointed to the post of Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner is subject to primary legislation, in this case the Police Act, and can only be changed by an amendment to that Act done in Parliament. On the other hand, the Police Act goes on to give the Minister responsible for Civil Establishments the power, by subsidiary legislation, to determine the number of Assistant Commissioners, Superintendents, Inspectors, subordinate police officers and constables.

For completeness, the Civil Establishments Act was repealed and replaced by the Public Service Act on December 31, 2007. The power to determine the number of posts in the Public Service is now found at section 13.(1) of the Public Service Act.

The power to make appointments to public offices and to remove and to exercise disciplinary control over persons holding or acting in the Public Service is vested in the Governor-General, acting in accordance with the advice of service commissions, in this case the Protective Service Commission. That service commission, like all others in Barbados, can only recommend the appointment of persons to post that are available. There is only one post of Deputy Commissioner available and that is already filled.

Who is responsible for this cock-up? Is this yet another example of this Government not getting anything right the first?

1,036 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Mock Police”

1. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“You decry successive governments for lack of compliance with these and now you say it’s insignificant what these charters say and that government ought just to ignore them?”

i said no such thing, in your efforts to confuse and conflate, you confused yourself..

here is what i said, it is well that known both governments..do not uphold anything they are signatory to as it relates to the BASIC HUMAN RIGHTS OF THE MAJORITY POPULATION…

they had to BE FORECED to amend the money laundering legislation…there is a pattern..

read again…this time more slowly;;

FYI, both corrupt governments absolutely REFUSED to acknowledge any such human rights charters or international laws that were meant to protect the people from their corrupt practices and in some cases blatantly REFUSED TO RATIFY some of them..

… and definitely REFUSED .to legislate ITAL or FOIA…so you are still on shaky ground and sinking slowly but surely

…just like with the laws that can be made retroactive to fight the CRIMES OF money laundering, bribeery and thefts from the vulnerable people on the island….where the international community had no choice to APPLY PRESSURE…to get them to even create the legislation to fight money laundering…they sat it down for decades and refused to even acknowledge it existed, just like with the medical marijuana legislation that both slimes kept secret from the people..

ANY LAW can be AMENDED to RETROACTIVE STATUS…it’s not happening in Barbados, because that is not what the corrupt governments want…..look less at what is happening in US and more at what is happening on the island where they claim to be the most educated in the Caribbean but DO NOT WANT TO SEE THEIR OWN PEOPLE WEALTHY NOR OBSERVE THEIR HUMAN RIGHTS…

2. Let me throw in a few words from the side:

“Where are the duplication in duties in having two DCPs with separate function? Or in appointing an officer who superintends the work of another, i.e. the relationship between new DCP and ACP responsible for HR? In the second instance is that duplication or vertical organisational strengthening of service delivery”
    ***** My friend, it may not have been your intention, but you have started the recipe for corruption, no shown jobs, cronyism and a vvariey of other ilnesses. Don’t be glib, be smart.

“Get real! One one blow does indeed kill an old cow, however this issue has entered the public consciousness at time when no one is paying the slightest attention.”
    *** It i8s true that we are in a period of crisis and our attention is elsewhere. But please do not believ that our short attention span will allow matter like these to fade into obscurity.or be forgotten.

“BTW, a good try by the Dems to jump on the bandwagon and Sen Franklyn is doing well to prolong the issue. But as I continue to point out, no one is listening.”
    *** It appears that the AG was listening, hence his subsequent statement. It seem to me as if you have little or no respect for the intelligence of the average Barbadian/. You suffer from the belief that we cannot deliberate on more than one idea at the same time.

Advice from an old man to a youngster.
    You had a few good days as you danced and shuflked your way across the floor. However, the longer you stay and the more you say we become informed of your opinion about us. Now might be a good time to ignore those who urges you on and absent yoourself for a while. I suspect you will hear this from your control.

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

@KK
    “no one is listening”
    you may do well to know, people listen. It is free. They may not speak, but they listen. And they watch. That too is free. A single event may appear insignificant, but added to two other seemingly insignificant, possibly unrelated events, may form a “pattern”. It is these patterns of behaviour which become better predictors in many situations, than the specifics of any issue.

4. @ Dear Millsy May 13, 2020 2:31 PM

There you go again. You delight in your naughtiness don’t you?

I don’t know if there will be public sector layoffs in the near future. For the sake of ordinary people in this country I sincerely hope not. The government, unlike some of its regional counterparts, has given no indication of such thus far, but we will have to wait and see. But I take reassurance from the fact that such a decision if ever contemplated will be weighted heavily and used a measure of last resort, after all else has been exhausted to prevent such. And if ever to be done, will be done with the heaviest of hearts and not the callousness of 2013.

While the GOB is hard at work to secure the lives and livelihoods of the people of this country, Millsy my friend, you are wishing COVID upon the Cabinet and hoping for layoffs of ordinary people so you can criticise the government. You talk a good game about patriotism and I have never denied Sen. Franklyn’s penchant for speaking his mind if he sees a problem though I often disagree. Anyhow Millsy time to practise some patriotism yourself and wish government well and do what you can to assist, as we all must at this time. It is rather a trite (and often unfortunately untrue) thing to say but when government does well, the country does well. You can reserve your lectures about corruption for another occasion. How about we try to make it work this time even though it may not. That in my view Millsy and WARU you stop many of the things you talk about ad nauseum. You can work with what you have best as you can and try to change things just a bit. You mightn’t be very successful, but it’s a lot more beneficial than shouting from the sidelines as you do.

5. Time will tell O Oracle!

6. Some free advice:

“Where are the duplication in duties in having two DCPs with separate function? Or in appointing an officer who superintends the work of another, i.e. the relationship between new DCP and ACP responsible for HR? In the second instance is that duplication or vertical organisational strengthening of service delivery”My friend, it may not have been your intention, but you have stated the recipe for corruption, no show jobs, cronyism and a variey of other ilnesses. Don’t be glib, be smart.

“Get real! One one blow does indeed kill an old cow, however this issue has entered the public consciousness at time when no one is paying the slightest attention.”It is true that we are in a period of crisis and our attention is elsewhere. But please do not believe that our short attention span will allow matters like this to fade into obscurity or be forgotten.

“BTW, a good try by the Dems to jump on the bandwagon and Sen Franklyn is doing well to prolong the issue. But as I continue to point out, no one is listening.”It appears that the AG was listening, hence his subsequent statement. It seem to me as if you have little or no respect for the intelligence of the average Barbadian. You suffer from the belief that we cannot deliberate on more than one idea at the same time.

/p>

Advice from an old man to a youngster.You had a few good days as you danced and shuflked your way across the floor. However, the longer you stay and the more you say, the more we become informed of your opinion about us. Now might be a good time to ignore those who urges you on and absent yourself for a while. I suspect you will hear this from your control

<

7. The man child is being deceitful especially when he says

“…The AG’s comments bode well for our democracy reassuring me that the rule of law is still very much alive and that the citizenry are still able to hold their leaders to account. The people are ultimately the ones in whom power is vested and events such as these serve as timely reminds to governments…”

And the Honourable Blogmaster will encourage him in this type of deceipt as is his wont

He has yet refused to address the point posited by the Sage Annunaki but then again he cannot because he is the child pretending to be the man

“…And who was mainly instrumental in bringing this breach of the “rule of law” to the same citizenry if not the same man you accused of interpreting the facts to suit his own political agenda…?”

That was the question from the Sage, answer it or go back to your craddle immediately

heheheheheheheheheheheheheheh

8. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Kahleel…it might be a good idea to look up the 30 Articles of Human Rights the UN ratified in 1948…that would give you a basic understanding of how government corruption is a catalyst for violating the basic human rights of a citizenry….what those human rights are ….and the domino effect that can be created by money laundering, thefts of taxpayers and pensioners money, theft of properties and bank accounts from the elderly and their beneficiaries…etc…

it’s very insightful and gives you an idea of how CORRUPTION causes poverty and oppression in populations….when practiced for decades by two uppity governments FILLED WITH LAWYERS who lack ethics and morals..and have no empathy for people who look just like them, elect them and pay their salaries.

9. Here goes

@ WARU

I have addressed why Government might be sheary to retroactively enact penalties, due to the fact that human rights bodies and treaties take a dim view of it. Talking about past wrongs solves little in the present. If in the past, they have done what you say, and I agree with you to an extent, why do you support them continuing to do so in the present? Also you speak extensively about corruption, but very little about specifics on human rights. Yes, corruption perpetuates intergenerational evils upon the populace without a doubt and ought to be eradicated (though that’s not possible). But you say nothing about specific breaches of human rights. If indeed you wish me to find it over 8 years of your commentary, how come you are willing to rehash corruption but not specific breaches of human rights?

@ Gazerts

It is curious that I might be accused of underestimating the intelligence of “average Barbadians” as you say. I have been the only person consistently defending that intelligence in a forum where you all regularly talk about “sheeple” and ignorant followers and political elite pulling the wool over the populace’s eyes. So somehow, the people of Barbados are unintelligent sheeple who allow their leadership to trample all over them but specific to the present, they are tuned in and will get rid of Mottley in 3 years as some suggest? Those two things don’t square. The more reasoned view is my one which submits that the people of this country, beneficiaries of a great patrimony of compulsory education, are remarkably intelligent individuals and that for most people they do not pay attention and they are not paying attention to this story. So from a strategic point of view it is a matter of little weight in the present.

@ GAzert and Northern Observer

You clearly didn’t read my commentary fully. The narrative that the government is a tired one prone to mistakes is one that is only effective after years of “one one blows”. So you can try to spin that untrue narrative in 10,15 years but it won’t be effective presently, as I pointed out based on historical precedent.

The fact is that the intelligent average person can see clearly that this is a non-issue. A guffaw certainly, but a non-issue in the grand scheme of life that is not being paid much attention to. I would know. Because these “average” people we talk about in the abstract sense, I am intimately acquainted with. Why is that? Because I am a so-called “average person” myself. I hold no university degree making me a member of the professional class. I own no business so I am neither wealthy capitalist not what Weber calls the “petty bourgeoisie”. I’m an ordinary person and I can clearly this as a non-issue. Tell me, if a 16 year-old child can efficiently cut through the rhetoric and see this for what it is, are you all so demeaning to “average Barbadians” that you don’t think adults will be able to do the same?

10. Miller

How does spending $102,000 to hire a second DCOP to improve efficiency at the RBPF equate with squandering or greedy Donville? We are talking the equivalent of 0.2% of the additional cost to government for the 5% increase given to workers. No wonder young Khaleel continues to mash yuh up.

Regarding lying, you mean the phantom lies you accused me of telling on the other blog? Ask the blogmaster to search for and repost my comment about giving advice. Boss I don’t need to lie about anything and I can provide proof to back up what I say on this blog. Can you?

11. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Theo…they threw him in the deep end of the pool, with no life jacket and only armed with his newly minted university acquired word play that impresses fowls only…lol..therefore he was given only two choices….sink or swim..

the fowls are on the sidelines looking on, if he sinks, they will run for the hills until next time.

12. @ WARU

Like you I am perturbed by corruption. But you cannot open the definition of human rights abuses to be so wide. It creates in essence law that is unwieldy, impossible to enforce and so all-encompassing that it can encompass the wrong thing. I am in full agreement WARU about the filth of corruption and equally regrettably about the fact that it has found its way into governance in this country, and all others, for as long as we have had government, and into all political parties. That is deeply regrettable and we ought to frontally face it. I wait and continue to wait for the passage of Integrity in Public Life out of committee and hope that it can enter the statute books soon, as well as movement on FOIA. On these issues we are at one WARU. But my contention remains principally an academic one, that there ought to be a distinction drawn between the two to allow each to receive their due weight, corruption and abuses of human rights. But as I’ve said, speaking substantively and outside of that academic point, I agree generally with you,

13. @enuff

You are intelligent to know the electorate is starved for good opposition politics. Although the BLP won with a clean sweep at the polls in 2018 it does not mean there isn’t smoldering concerns.

How the appointment was made.

The embarrassment of not ensuring it is a legal appointment.

The unacceptable manner AG Marshall offered an initial response. Many have taken note and will continue to watch so discern it trends.

14. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“I have addressed why Government might be sheary to retroactively enact penalties, due to the fact that human rights bodies and treaties take a dim view of it.”

they are lying to you, if laws are in place to FIGHT the corruption, money laundering, thefts of properties etc….there is not a human rights body in the world will stop the government from prosecuting…that is an outright LIE..

….so tell me again… which human rights body is taking a dim view of Donville being convicted for money laundering…name all of them…

human rights bodies only get involved WHEN ACTUAL HUMAN RIGHTS ARE BEING VIOLATED….and if they are not sabotaged and blocked as i understand both governments have a history of doing when they ask questions about human rights violations in Barbados…even transparency international, it was found, these demons sabotaged their inquiries and then used the name transparency international to set up offshore accounts for themselves, last i heard someone brought it to their attention what these corrupt riffraff and frauds did…..

15. @Piece the Legend May 12, 2020 1:54 PM

Piece, you legend!

You accuse me of no longer being “fair and balanced” but of wearing the mask of the red death.

Then let the following statement go through your brain twist. I quote myself (he he he he):

“You accuse our leader and prime minister, quite wrongly, of being dictatorial. Anyone who maintains a cabinet of 30 ministers and special ambassadors has to be a little tougher than someone who has only five ministers around, given the huge mass of people.”

If you think about it, these two sentences contain a very cynical, fundamental critique of the current state of affairs. Think about it, but not out loud. – You should also think about my historicizing choice of words … 😉 It is precisely the art of the jester to present the perfect ambiguity. Everyone reads in exactly what they like.

p.s. Give my regards to OSA. So when does he take office at LIAT, or is that water under the bridge again?

16. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“But my contention remains principally an academic one, that there ought to be a distinction drawn between the two to allow each to receive their due weight, corruption and abuses of human rights.”

As much as we may not want to admit or face the correlation….the one…CORRUPTION…feeds on the other….abuse and violation of human rights…

it’s been years we have brought it to everyone’s attention but both governments ABSOLUTELY REFUSE to address it, they continue to pretend and cover up, but one can only do that for so long and no longer…

17. As I said, I await with bated breath the passage of the relevant legislation with a view to improving governance in this country, FOIA, Integrity in Public Life etc. I also await the criminal prosecution of anyone, from any party who has perpetuated such iniquities as rob the people of this country of the idea of Barbados, through corruption. And I intend to hold Government’s feet to the fire until such is done in the first instance, and in the second the police and DPP need to work more expeditiously.

My point is that we have grave problems in this country with respect to governance and the erosion of public trust and faith in institutions, decay which has set in at least since the 1980s and likely before then. I wish to see the AG and government take positive steps to correct that. I doubt that all will be taken that are necessary, but I would be contented with a few steps in the right direction. As I say a few steps is more beneficial than none, even if that none is accompanied by sideline shouting. BU is an interesting crowd but i’m sure all can be united on that point.

We await to see if it will happen or like frequently nothing is done and the decay is allowed to fester. But I always remember the WaPo’s motto, “democracy dies in darkness”. As i’ve been at pains to point out, I disagree with Sen Franklyn 99% of the time but in this instance he has shone a light on something and forced those in charge to listen. That is valuable and worthwhile.

I use no pseudonym. Indeed, I use a photo of myself. As I said previously, it is a test for me that whatever I write I ought to be confident enough in it to forever associate myself with it in the eternal cyberspace. I am unafraid to criticise government when wrong, and commend when right. But I will not countenance people attacking without cause or praising without merit. I am indeed a mere child and unequipped with any experience of life, but I, like all persons, am equipped with a sense of the mores of society, what’s right and wrong, and what’s in the vast delta of grey in between. Naive often, perhaps; but never afraid. And much as you’d like me to go away, so long as I have the time I will continue to annoy with my contributions like an annoying little dog. But WARU my time here will not be defined by blind following. I have a great deal of things better to do in life than come on to a blog and give talking points. I write because I too believe that democracy dies in darkness and little can change that. So annoying Jack Russel reporting for duty and here to stay.

18. @ WARU May 13, 2020 3:17 PM

You are confusing two distinct issues. Inniss was convicted in the US for committing an offence in the US under an existing law. What you are proposing and what I’m attempting to explain is that it is considered to be an HR violation for governments to impose retroactive penalties for criminal offences. In our case in my view, the legislation would seek to rectify a situation and actually serve the ends of justice. However, the general principle in law is that such can be abused and they encourage it to be avoided. For example, an unscrupulous government can decide that say gambling in the form of the lottery ought to be prohibited and they decide to impose a retroactive penalty on persons who have bought lottery tickets over time. We can debate the merits and demerits of gambling, but it would be monumentally unjust to punish people who partook in something previously legal. That is an example of why generally it is frowned upon. In our case as I said it would actually serve the ends of true justice (a fascinating concept for another blog), but the point remains that HR bodies take a dim view of the practise in general. Hope this helps.

19. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Am not confusing anything…the corruption with Inniss, as he told the court that is how government does business in Barbados, started in Barbados and ended with the money laundering in US, their own antiquated laws in Barbados is what convicted Inniss in US..

.because they were being so slick and REFUSED to amend the money laundering legislation they were sitting on for decades because they figured if they never upgraded and amended, none of them would get convicted in Barbados of corruption or bribery or theft……

ironic right, convicted by the same antiquated law…..that Foolish Fruendel said is still valid, yeah, only if another country uses it to convict them..

you continue to talk about retroactive penalties….which is all legal if the laws and legislations are retroactive…

your example is saying that CORRUPTION, BRIBERY etc are all legal in Barbados, i assure you they are not, despite Inniss saying that is the way they do business, although the laws are antiquated if i remember from 1929 when Black people were not yet in control of the parliament, nevertheless, these are still crimes…

…….if they would upgrade the laws none of your concerns would have merit…but to date, they have refused to because they do not want to lock up each, they know each other’s crimes too well…and they can all point fingers at one another….that is the bottomline..

20. @ Khaleel Kothdiwala May 13, 2020 3:43 PM

My dear friend,

Some clarifications on the Donville case.

First: The U.S. federal court interviewed a Barbadian expert in criminal law who confirms that Donville has committed a serious crime under current Barbadian law. I’m not saying in public who did this. He he he.

Second: The prohibition of retroactive prosecution does not apply to rogue states. Read the ECHR: “This Article shall not prejudice the trial and punishment of any person for any act or omission which, at the time when it was committed, was criminal according to the general principles of law recognised by civilised nations.” Although the UDHR does not explicitly state this, this correction of the prohibition of retroactivity is now generally recognized. Whether Donville is covered is debatable.

Third: Our government is deliberately halting the reform of anti-corruption legislation at this time, because otherwise it could screw up the Donville case. Please don’t ask for the details. If our government pushes ahead now as many naive people have asked, Donville is in danger of going free. We don’t want that.

21. @ WARU

As is your wont, you have misinterpreted and misunderstood again. The example was to illustrate why the general principle exists. I made clear twice that that doesn’t apply to our case but that is the rationale for the general principle. So yes corruption is and has since 29 been a crime. But you cannot simply retroactively impose penalties for things that are crimes or not crimes. It is in violation of HR. As I said in this instance it serves “true justice” but it doesn’t matter. The international bodies still consider it to be an HR violation.

I am not a legal expert, not sure if you are as you haven’t said, but I would invite guidance on this. But the point is that retroactive penalties are frowned upon. You can discuss a number of issues surrounding this but that point stands WARU.

22. @ Enuff May 13, 2020 3:07 PM

Mr. Enuff, are you, with your boldface, denying that you previously claimed to be the top dog in a team of project managers of which you were the only black dog?

Even “Mr. Spot-on” from London your journalistic bête noire used to remind you on a number occasions of your scintillating stint as the poster boy of the token successful black among the cream of project planning &management; what ever that was.

You might be able to deny any intimate association or membership in the red sanctum sanctorum but to deny your co-workers in the specialist field of project management would only show you up to be what you really are.

Now deny that for the third time and see if Mr. Spot on doesn’t come and expose you for what you are!

You and your Robin sidekick, KK the Bajan Clitheroe Kid on the BU block would make great bedfellows to be locked away in that red valise your Majesty used to have as her portmanteau of evidence against the previous administration; an electoral trick copied from her dear departed friend David T.

Now whose name would be the first to be pulled from that red valise?

Lowedown the LEC racketeer?

23. @ Tron May 13, 2020 3:18 PM

You are simply the best (on BU) when it comes to satire and sarcasm in their purest forms.

Only a few can read between the lines of political mockery aimed at those in control of the fast ripening banana republic.

You would make an excellent participant in a Bajan ‘copied’ TV show called “Mock the Week”.

24. @ Tron

It is important to remember that while Inniss if found guilty would have committed a crime in law in Barbados at the time of commission, the UDHR and related international statutes point out that not only should persons be protected from prosecution for things that were not previously a crime but they are to be protected from incurring penalties which are heavier than what existed at the time of the commission of the crime, i.e. the inadequate provisions of the ’29 Act. That is obviously undesirable.

Should the Law Reform and Review Commissions be required to periodically (perhaps every 3 decades) to reassess the sentences for crimes in law, particularly fines (to either recommend significant alteration or simply an adjustment of fines based on the long-term rate of inflation? As I am at pains to point out, I’m not lettered in the law, so I say that subject to correction based on illegality. But a thought.

25. Khaleel why continue to debate this issue with the three stooges Larry Moe and curly?You have made your points quite clearly asmef each of tjem simple questions which they could not answer.why prolong their agony? The AG stated the matter will be fixed admitting an error was made kudos to Mr Franklyn . This is the making of a mountain out of a molehill by the usual suspects no need to prolong this as thos is what they want.

26. @ Lorenzo

I have come to the same conclusion.

27. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“It is in violation of HR. As I said in this instance it serves “true justice” but it doesn’t matter. The international bodies still consider it to be an HR violation.”

And i said that is only in your mind or in the minds of those misleading you, as they did on what Caswell said….they had you on the blog going off on disparaging Caswell , now the same little fowls who supported you being misled, are singing another completely different tune…

OK….let’s forget the retroactive part to make life easier…let’s just deal with the part where the 1929 antiquated laws, though successful in convicting Inniss in ANOTHER JURISDICTION…lol ……is totally useless in Barbados and needs to be upgraded to have Enuff TEETH to arrest and convict those who like Inniss believe that corruption and bribery is just the price of doing business as usual in Barbados…how bout that, does that sound better…

28. de ole man ketching up with the varied comments here and will take particular interest on those of the Wind Up Toy and Man-child Khaleel who will be sound up until he explodes “like a virgin” politician heheheheheheheheh

Speaking about virginity among Muslims

Why are women expected to be virgins when they get married and man-childs LIKE YOU, have no such requirement?

Is that not chauvinistic?

29. @ Teets Marshall Attorney General

When you said and i quote

“…“In a statement yesterday, Marshall said: “We take note that the Police Act only speaks to a single Deputy Commissioner of Police, and it is, therefore, to be regretted that the required amendment did not take place in advance of this confirmation….” that was not an apology

But then again you is not a man with any sort of manners is you!

This is why Mugabe Mottley is going to sacrifice your seat to the incoming People’s Democratic Party

Cause you are among the crew that secretly trying to overthrow you own leader cause she does mek you look like a likkle boy regularly

heheheheheheheheheheheheheheheh

30. Piece the Prophet Avatar
    Piece the Prophet

Your assistance please Honourable Ones

31. Miller
    I never once said I was or am a Project Manager or involved in project planning. Fact! All yuh like to come for me and always failing.🤣🤣🤣

32. @ Khaleel Kothdiwala May 13, 2020 4:51 PM

You make a good point here. The non-retroactivity rule prohibits not only new punishments, but also harsher ones.

However, my point goes in the opposite direction: Inniss would benefit conversely from the nNEW law if it contained any loopholes. This cannot be ruled out, since nobody is perfect. Then an appellate court in the USA would have to lift his sentence, because under intertemporal law the newer, milder law regularly applies.

It is therefore best for our Honourable Attorney General to wait until the judgment against Inniss has become final.

By the way, I really appreciate you countering our conspiracy theorists. They spent 10 years whining under Stuart about his lack of leadership, and now they complain about beloved Prime Minister´s “dictatorial” behaviour. It’s really, really contradictory.

33. Neither BLP or DLP have a track record of firing ministers for missteps.

34. @ David May 13, 2020 6:14 PM

Frankly, I am far more concerned about the conduct of our former Attorney General, Adriel Wrathbate. Isn’t this the man who accompanied Donville “T.” Inniss to New York as a quasi-defense lawyer, thereby openly flaunting his approval and the approval of the entire DLP on corruption, money laundering and other serious crimes?

The President of the DLP should please state openly whether she personally approves of corruption and money laundering. Who knows what other serious crimes DLP members may condone.

35. David
    At least the AG accepted there is an error and will make the necessary amendment like I said last week. Without any tit-4-tat. I repeat the post was established a year ago; somehow the amendment of the two lines in the Police Act was missed. It is highly unlikely that was intentional and does not equate to autocratic behaviour or corruption as is being portrayed. Fire for what? Verla and her party are struggling for relevance. She should first tell the public what she thought about the Executive Chairman post at BWA and if when Estwick announced 21 months later that the postholder was no longer there if the post was still non-existent? Then ask her fellow DLP executive members who sat in the Senate with the goodly senator just before he floated into the unlawful post at BWA, what they thought and said? Back then the Opposition spoke about and Caswell. No response, nada.🤣🤣

36. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“It is therefore best for our Honourable Attorney General to wait until the judgment against Inniss has become final.”

right, so they can put some loopholes the size of a train through new anti-corruption, anti-bribery laws so that Inniss can drive right out of them, you underestimate those who are quite capable of foreseeing those slimy tricks by those trying to escape accountability….

37. @ Enuff May 13, 2020 6:13 PM
    “I never once said I was or am a Project Manager or involved in project planning. Fact! All yuh like to come for me and always failing.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Then what did you actually say to make “Mr. Spot On” from London constantly take the mickey out of you?

That you were an unpaid adviser to the Hyatt erection project since June 2018?

Provided you let us know about your real work experience in the area of high-rise project planning and urban regeneration we will then reveal our recommendations on the need to appoint another DCoP instead of an HR specialist to handle the HR challenges facing the now politicised Force.

If you can’t accept that deal then you could as well return to the protection and safety of your Pandora’s box aka MAM red valise.

38. @Enuff

It is politics. Verla will try to milk mistakes made by government to grow stature in the eyes of the electorate. This is why a government that has burdened taxpayers with a 26 member Cabinet cannot make silly mistakes. AG Marshall childish respond has not helped.

#timewilltell

39. @ WURA-War-on-U May 13, 2020 6:46 PM

The Don of Pornville is now more damaged goods than the condemned chicken wings (for which a licence was granted under his ‘Indian’ watch) to come into the country to sell to greedy big guts Bajans.

Incarcerating him would simply allow his to escape from his closet.

Just deprive him, the sponsor of porn, of his ill-gotten gains of materialism which were highlighted by Princess Liz T way back.

It’s really a ploy of convenience when the likes of Lorenzo of Medici, Enuff from the land of forgetfulness and his new found political pederasty lover KK can forget so easily.

40. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Miller…it must be something in the water…not a fella got any long term memory, from the old to the young to the inbetween…no attention span worth bragging about either……like they are all brain damaged…

the borderline cognitive problems they have are unreal, then they look at you with a straight face and tell you that there is something wrong with you, ya are a Salemite…lol

41. Miller
    Hal the egomaniac attempts to take the mickey, no talker can run me.

You’re trying hard eh…so now I have pointed out that the “money” is 0.2% of the $60M salary increase, your issue is no longer the money but the person/post. Well in the Met Police (what we’re based on I assume), the person responsible for HR etc, though not a police, is deputy to the COP–the post is Chief of Corporate Services and on the same level as Deputy CoP on the organogram.

42. Piece the Prophet Avatar
    Piece the Prophet

The point that the Sage Annunaki has made stands.

Wunna always ready to create money and incomes for wunna croneys while starving the average bajans.

Look DE OLE MAN HOPES DAT Senator Caswell Franklyn sees with his political eyes what exposing the things he knows can do!

De ole man means these legal issues or what is publicly known.

And what is hidden from the public.

If they can be allowed to drop off a truck certain people would welcome dat information AND, while not saying it came from you, get de grandson to create messages that broadcast those indiscretions

Look how de Stoopid Cartoon campaign is now 225k strong!

All you gots to do is ask Senator Franklyn AND IT WILL BE DONE

heheheheh (Tron if you dont add on an “h” to de end heheh becomes hehe which is a female laughing)

43. Everybody makes mistakes. lol

” On 20 February 2006 Marshall was sworn in by His Excellency Sir Clifford Husbands at Government house, to the post of Attorney-General, a post which he held until the 20 December 2007 when Prime Minister Owen Arthur dissolved Parliament and called elections.

Following the Barbados Labour Party’s defeat at the polls 15 January 2008, Dale Marshall was appointed by the new Leader of the Party and Opposition Leader Ms.Mia Mottley, to the post of Deputy Leader of the Opposition.

He was once again appointed Attorney General when Mia Mottley took office as Prime Minister on 25 May 2018.”

44. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Watch the fowls mutate..lol

45. The terms VETERAN and SEASONED politicians and leaders applies to the AG and the PM.

They are not neofytes. He could “man up” and resign but power and perks sweet.

46. Piece the Prophet Avatar
    Piece the Prophet

@ the Sage Annunaki

Have you noticed how there are now 15 of them on this site combatting you?

Why dat?

De old man going tek de night shift and help present the arguments WHILE ALL OF DEM IS SLEEPING

heheheheheheheheheheheheh

Prophets are allowed to walk the streets of the city at night while it’s people and Patriots like you sleep and sheeple like the man Chile Khaleel baaaaaa

You have made the point quite emphatically that, whether acting or not, the appointment of Oral Williams of the Royal Baygon Police Force was both a non constitutional act as well as an ineffectual one.

De ole man would say that, were it not for Covid, his 50 murder oversight last year, would have been 75 this year.

In your numerous representations you showed with incontrovertible facts that the Attorney General had erred and that the man chile Khaleel had not apologized for his error

(you used the word pederastic earlier was that a description for the *** or for the 2nd of the Rented Jackasses Hee Haw?)

Now I will explain why 15 have been assigned to you oh Sage One.

Because you are defending Senator Caswell Franklyn!!!

Do you note that in the Gospel that, after Jesus raised Lazarus from the dead that the Pharisees sought Jesus to kill him, but they also sought Lazarus?

You and others might ask, what was Lazarus’ crime and de ole man says.

It was like your own sin here.

You are providing evidence of irrefutable facts regarding the act of corruption of Mugabe Mottley as facilitated by AG Teets Marshall

And for that, you are to be hunted down and “killed” here on the Barbados Underground blog.

You have shown how heartless Mugabe cam be to elevate this man Williams to Deputy CoP for his golfer retirement parachute while poor bajan pensioners suffering!!!

http://imgur.com/HhdiWlL

47. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

After all the hallaballoo the fowls made on here to protect the corruption instead of admitting that it was political interference caused the cockup…..condoning sucking the taxpayers dry for a post that does not exist….and went and sucked young Kahleel right into the middle of it, well we know fowls have no shame, but the young man was warned repeatedly about the little bottomfeeding fowls, now he knows..

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/05/14/franklin-deputy-chief-oral-williams-ought-not-be-paid/

“Opposition legislator Caswell Franklyn today declared that Barbadians are now being forced to pay the salary for a position in the Royal Barbados Police Force (RBPF) that does not exist in law.

Describing the decision to appoint a second Deputy Commissioner of Police without the backing of the Police Act as corruption, Franklyn is therefore urging the Prime Minister Mia Mottley to fire Attorney General Dale Marshall, who yesterday admitted that the post was confirmed in contravention of the Act.”

48. @ Enuff

Verla DePeiza should keep quiet. She and her lot, including Guyson Mayers and Adriel Brathwaite were at the helm of the increasing ‘politicization’ of the RBPF.

My problem with this issue, which contributors have conveniently or purposely overlooked, is the fact that the former DLP administration changed the qualifying requirement for the post of DCoP.

Erwin Boyce was subsequently sent to the UK to do the course and on his return he was interviewed by the Guyson Mayers led PSC and subsequently appointed to the post of Deputy Commissioner of Police, on May 1, 2018 (23 days before the general elections)…….. taking over from Oral Williams, who was acting in the position for about 2 years.

The disturbing thing was that, while acting as DCoP, Williams was the ONLY police officer that possessed the particular qualification.

But, this is not to agree with the process by which this BLP administration appointed Williams as the 2nd DCoP was correct.