grenville-phillips
Submitted by Grenville Phillips II

Life is a wonderful gift.  Every day we get an opportunity to be better that we were yesterday.  Most mistakes that we made yesterday can be erased, and we can start over a clean slate.  If our mistakes carried consequences, then a new day is an opportunity to make wrong things right.

Once two or more people interact, someone will likely feel offended about something, whether it was intentional or not.  We normally have two responses to causing offense, and our selection of each depends on the type of outcome we want.

If it is an employer-employee type relationship, then the employer wants a productive and respectful employee, and the employee wants a competent and respectful employer.  If it is a family type relationship, then each member wants to be loved and respected.  Wherever possible, we should try to preserve our relationships following a dispute.

Disputes about facts may be resolved by simply verifying the facts.  However, disputes about personal opinions are emotional, and normally result in someone feeling offended.  People can feel actual hurt if their opinions are challenged.

On matters of personal opinions, we can either choose to be right and wrong, or wrong and right, but rarely can we achieve being right and right.

Insisting on being right on personal opinions can escalate an argument, and leave the relationship in a worse state.  Leaving the relationship in a worse state is wrong.  Therefore, we can be right and end wrong.  In such disputes, we should first define our goal before choosing our response.

If our aim is to be right, regardless of the damage to our relationships, then we may feel some temporary satisfaction of ‘winning’ an argument.  However, we may have lost a lot more than we think we gained.

If our aim is to preserve and enhance our relationships, then we must be willing to ‘lose’ inconsequential arguments and be wrong, so that we can end right.  Most arguments are inconsequential for one party.  If they would simply let it go, they would lose little but gain much.

Just before we decide to escalate an argument, or immediately after it has been escalated, we should ask ourselves if the issue is inconsequential to us.  If it will not negatively affect our health or our ability to earn, then perhaps it is inconsequential.  Consider letting it go, because it may affect the well-being of others.

If it is an inconsequential issue that we are emotionally invested in, then why not trust the Providence of life that important issues will work themselves out.  Consider that our role was simply to plant the seed, and not to get a convergence of opinion right away.

Perhaps the people will be convinced by reading similar information in a book, or listening to it on the radio, or reviewing it in their mind.  Perhaps they are to hear it in a conversation, without any further involvement from ourselves.

If we have harmed our relationships because of our insistence on being right, then during this Christmas season, may we commit to be better – by simply being wrong.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

51 responses to “Solutions Barbados Press Release – Be Wrong This Christmas”

1. An excellent contribution with a great message.
    The title will allow others to attack without looking at the message.

Perhaps “You don’t always have to win” would be a more “defensive” title.

And as they proclaim you dead and out of the race keep this phrase in mind “No One Ever Kicks a Dead Dog”.

Merry Christmas

2. THEO
    RE An excellent contribution with a great message.

WHAT IS THE MESSAGE SIR?

RE “No One Ever Kicks a Dead Dog”.
    NO ONE KICKS AT A REAL DOG EITHER

THEO HAVE YOU REALLY DISSECTED THE RUBBISH IN THIS ARTICLE?
    I WILL CERTAINLY DO SO LATER

BUT I WILL SAY FROM THE OUTSIDE THAT IT IS NEVER RIGHT TO BE WRONG

YOU CAN NOT BE RIGHT AND WRONG SIMULTANEOUSLY

I SAY ALSO THAT IF SOLUTIONS BARBADOS HAD ANY SOLUTIONS FOR BARBADOS, IT WOULD BE OBVIOUS BY NOW
    AM I WRONG TO BE RIGHT HARE?

3. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Grenville II

I do not agree. The recent findings in Neuroscience would indicate that “facts” may not be “facts” at all and many”facts” maybe just opinion… seeing something from a different perspectives or through different lenses.

I think you were on safer ground when you exhorted us to have peace and show goodwill to each other. To insist on being right is very childish. We can respect the others opinion without feeling that we have to surrender ours. The Judaeo-Christian God is a God of diversity. Why should we his creatures want things to be different?

4. RE The Judaeo-Christian God is a God of diversity.
    HOW SO? WHERE SO? WHY SO? WHEN SO?
    PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT REFERENCES IN YOUR ANSWER

5. @GP
    A bad title. But the message, I took away is to strive to maintain peace and don’t sweat the small stuff.

6. THEO
    WHEN I COME TO POWER I GIVING YOU A BIG JOB OF AMBASSADOR OF PEACE AT LARGE BUT IN THE INTERIM I WILL SAY THAT PHILIPS IS EFFLUXING BOVINE EXCREMENT AS HE CONTINUES TO DEMONSTRATE THAT SOLUTIONS BARBADOS HAS NO SOLUTIONS FOR BARBADOS

UNTIL HE PROVES ME WRONG, I WILL CONCLUDE THAT I AM RIGHT.LOL

7. Vincent Codrington Avatar

No one ,including Grenville II, need to prove you wrong. YOU are always right. Lol!!

8. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Vincent, re : “The recent findings in Neuroscience would indicate that “facts” may not be “facts” at all and many”facts” maybe just opinion… seeing something from a different perspectives or through different lenses.”

That’s interesting …I would like to read that study …or is that a POTUS themed alternate universe joke!

Fact is tho…that the reasoning has always been with us and is the basis of all of life’s angst… so all that I find interesting I that some supposedly deep research is being presented to “validate” this.

9. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ dpD at 10 :31 AM
    Please note that “facts” are enclosed in quotation marks. This suggest that even if the witness saw and felt the phenomenon; there are other people who experience the same “objective “event but differently. I would suggest you do some reading on this emerging science. It helped me to understand human nature better.

10. Talking about being WRONG, I see that yesterday Mia Magabe just signed on for a new CDB LOAN of $150M. Wily thinks Barbados is almost back to the loan levels they were at befire the BIG WRITEOFF. All the IMF BERT LOANS, CDB LOANS etc have now almost replace the writeoff numbers, so where has this got Barbados, SAME OLD SAME OLD, just new repayment dates but still in DEBT dodo.

11. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Wily Coyote at 10 : 57 AM

Obviously we (you and I) see finance through a different lens and from alternate perspectives to the framers of BERT.
    Time will tell. Wuh Loss !

12. It’s not always a matter of being right or wrong. For example, I’ve heard Barbadians and Jamaicans arguing about whether you should put sugar in dumplings. Each party has its own way of making dumplings – but there is no right or wrong way to make dumplings.

Also, what is right or wrong may prove to be subjective. For example, if a farmer “brek up” a thief for stealing a banana. Some people may say the farmer was wrong for “brekin up” the thief for just a banana. But other people may say the farmer was right – because the thief didn’t have any right in farmer’s ground.

Merry Xmas to the BU family.

13. @Wily

Shocking isn’t it? All we ever seem to be able to do is qualify for another loan of some sort.

Can never be a successful model. If we don’t recognize and change our all out focus to earning our way then we will fail no matter the name of the stabilization program

Sad state of affairs continues while the clock ticks

14. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Tony Trotman at 12:36 PM

Precisely my sentiments.
    I never liked Jamaican boiled dumplings but loved the fried dumplings in which the quantity of sugar was tripled. It is always a matter of acculturation. The Jamaican man refers to his sweetheart as his sugar dumpling and I used to be amused.

I am sure you have heard stories in which the thief brekkup the farmer whose banana he was stealing.

There is always an element of subjectivity about the concept of right and wrong….even in religious groups .

15. YOU CAN NOT BE RIGHT AND WRONG SIMULTANEOUSLY

WRONG Sir LOL. You can be both. Ever heard of Schrodinger’s cat. Ever read anything of Quantum mechanics or quantum computers.

16. there are four bridges in Bridgetown

17. Debt exchange is the new term for repayment of debt
    You go Mia yuh promised to hit the ground running
    Sure yuh did
    Even Bolt is impressed loan agreements at Sprinter style
    Let me go back to baking me black cake even the kitchen sink included

18. @ Vincent Codrington

When I complained about the lack of sugar in Jamaican dumplings – the Jamaican cook replied that she was not making sweet bread.

19. Vincent:

If a ‘fact’ cannot be verified, then it is not a fact. Measurements to specified tolerances are factual. If it cannot be measured, then you can enter the realm of speculation.

To insist on being right on inconsequential issues in a marital relationship, can result in a less peaceful household. Just today, I took my own advice and chose to be wrong – for the sake of peace.

20. TheO:

The titles are designed with the assumption that the articles will be read to the end.

21. I would say the only time one can be right and wrong at the same time is in cases where one can claim a decision is legally right but morally wrong.

One that comes to mind was the cutting of the disability pension a few months back only to then have to restore it.

Wait any of wunna know if it was ever finally restored though?

22. Vincent Codrington Avatar

John A at 2:22 PM

In life there are numerous situations like that you quoted..There is a legal perspective and a moral perspective. But in the cited case was not a legal loop hole exploited immorally.

In Economics we have a tool box of many models. We apply the one that is appropriate to each situation. Each situation may be different.

23. @Vincent

Agree with you on the fact we have many economic tools in our tool box, But we also must realise how good the tool is depends on who is judging it.

In other words we recently used some tools which pleased the IMF greatly, however the said tools have put us in recession and brought increased hardship on our people. As I said as right and wrong are questionable, so too is success and failure.

Do we have measures that are right for the IMF but wrong for the people? If so are these measures to be deemed as failures or successes?

Just wondering.

24. Piece the Legend Avatar

If you cannot dazzle them with brilliance baffle them with bullshit.

Here is part of the stupidity the author wrote

“…If a ‘fact’ cannot be verified, then it is not a fact. Measurements to specified tolerances are factual. If it cannot be measured, then you can enter the realm of speculation…”

A FACT IS THAT “THE BUMBLE BEE FLIES”

Yet, when scientific measurements be-lie the fact that a bumble bee flies, SINCE SUCH MEASUREMENTS SAY, “A BUMBLE BE SHOULD BE INCAPABLE OF FLIGHT”

So I guess that we can enter the realm of speculation CAN WE NOT?

Such patented stupidity really.

Then the No Solutions clown continues

“…To insist on being right on inconsequential issues in a marital relationship, can result in a less peaceful household…”

What if as opposed to what the dufus wrote the sentence read “…to insist on being right in highly consequential issues….” in any relationship can result in…”

The thing about abstract discussions AND CONDUCTING THEM, is that a wise man can play the part of a fool, BUT A FOOL, CANNOT PLAY THE PART OF A WISE MAN!!

This man is verily an idiot of humongous proportions and, no matter which way you cut this, he is a dufus.

He ends off by saying

“…Just today, I took my own advice and chose to be wrong – for the sake of peace…”

Or is that “for the sake of Piece?…”

25. PIECE

THE MAN IS SAYING IF YOU WANT PIECE AT NIGHT YOU GOTTA KEEP THE PEACE DURING THE DAY ( NPIE= DPEA)

BUT THE THING THAT HAS ME LAFFING ALL DAY IS THAT A WOULD BE LEADER OF BARBADOS IS ADVOCATING THAT IT IS RIGHT TO BE WRONG

IN A RAMBLING GARRULOUS PIECE OF WAFFLE HE STRUGGLES TO STATE THAT IT IS RIGHT TO BE WRONG

26. @nextparty246 December 24, 2019 2:06 PM “If a ‘fact’ cannot be verified, then it is not a fact.”

Fact is I love my children. I doubt that that fact can be measured or verified, yet it is in fact a fact.

How does one measure of verify life anyhow?

Merry Christmas everybody.

27. CORRECTION: How does one measure of verify LOVE anyhow?

28. Vincent Codrington Avatar

JOHN A at 4:24 PM

You have read me correctly.

29. Vincent Codrington Avatar

In my humble opinion,the welfare of all the citizens must be paramount . Meeting some targets are indicative but often are counter-cyclical to growth and employment.

30. @ nextparty246 December 24, 2019 2:06 PM
    “If a ‘fact’ cannot be verified, then it is not a fact. Measurements to specified tolerances are factual. If it cannot be measured, then you can enter the realm of speculation.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

How, then, can you claim as a “fact” that Jesus was or is the only begotten son of God?

Did you see when Yahweh impregnated the underage girl the Virgin Mary who gave birth to your god 2019 years ago?

31. @Mr Phillips: Thank you for this message. It resonates with me.

I had a bit of an unusual upbringing. From my earliest memories, I was always challenged — sometimes beyond what was comfortable at the time. (Boohoo for me…)

It takes a strong person to be willing to accept that one is incorrect.

But I argue that only those who are willing to be mistaken (and/or make mistakes) really makes many serious moves forward.

Personally, I enjoy it when someone corrects me on something. Or shows me a new point of view. Or teaches me how to do something. Or points to newly discovered evidence.

Because it means I’ve (possibly) learnt something I didn’t know before.

(Did you know there’s recent evidence that a new boson /might/ have been observed? At relatively low GeV. Cool; that would “break” the “Standard Model” of Physics. Geeks love that kind of stuff! Weird is where the interesting stuff happens.)

Sincerely, Merry Christmas BU Family, and extended friends and guests.

Namaste. 🙂

32. @ David and the BU Household

MERRY XMAS AND A HAPPY AND SUCCESSFUL 2020 TO ALL

33. Well following the SSA left – hand drive trucks saga ….

I believe the Minister of Finance / PM Mottley…..should be IMPEACHED for ABUSE of POWER .

34. Fractured is that why we still seeing garbage piled up and at a stand still
    Lol
    The duppy dust still in the air

35. This govt is amazing first they signed an agreement with a Jamaican company to buy fuel which turned out to be contaminated
    Now the garbage truck saga left hand drive
    I keep saying this is a govt of smoke and mirrors
    Keep hope aluve

36. RE Fractured BLPDecember 25, 2019 2:18 PM

Well following the SSA left – hand drive trucks saga ….I believe the Minister of Finance / PM Mottley…..should be IMPEACHED for ABUSE of POWER .

MAN YOU REAL UNREASONABLE MAN
    CANT YOU SEE THAT THAT WAS THE ONLY DEAL THEY COULD GET WHERE THEY COULD GET A GOOD KICKBACK

37. I guess this gaffe could not be hidden by the media
    Anyhow prescod said he was not Jesus so dont expect miracle
    Wuh loss muh belly

38. What the big fuss about left hand drive?
    When in Barbados I drive right handdrive and on the left side of the road. When I am it the states its the opposite. It will just take a little time to adjust to then it come automatic, just like learning to ride a bicycle.

39. Dear All:

Merry Christmas.

The aim of the article was that close relationships (especially marital ones) can be preserved by letting inconsequential issues go. Everything does not need an argumentative response.

You do not need to always respond for the sole purpose of showing that your opinion is as valid, or more valid than the one proposed. Sometimes rather than engaging to win, you can simply agree that the person’s opinion has merit and leave it there.

How do you know when to stand down on inconsequential issues? If the argument escalates, then you have a choice to make.

40. Hi Silly Woman:

Your love for your children can be measured by how you treat them.

41. Miller:

I do not claim it as a fact. Rather, I personally accept the Biblical evidence to be true.

The Bible contains many promises of blessings for obedience. Having experienced such blessings, I can either ascribe them as coincidences, or blessings. I exercise my opinion to call them blessings, and am happy to defend my opinion.

42. Chris:

We normally learn new things by ‘failure’. Therefore, this requires humility if proper learning is to happen.

43. Piece the Legend Avatar

I will not comment about this ignorance espoused by the idiot Bedroom Policeman

I will however ask him what is his opinion about the Robbery of Senator Caswell Franklyn

He, Bedroom Policeman ALWAYS GIT SOMETHING TO SAY BOUT BEING CHARITABLE AND ALL THAT JOBBY, so speak up, Snuffleupagus!

I doubt that you will Wuss

http://imgur.com/gallery/3l2pUJi

44. re You do not need to always respond for the sole purpose of showing that your opinion is as valid, or more valid than the one proposed. Sometimes rather than engaging to win, you can simply agree that the person’s opinion has merit and leave it there.
    WHY DOES DIOTROPHES NOT STICK TO HIS OWN OPINION ABOVE WHEN HIS ERRONEOUS OPINIONS ON BIBLE ARE SHOWN TO BE SPURIOUS?

45. Piece:

I am happy that Caswell was not harmed. I trust that the unfortunate incident does not stop him from continuing to speak publicly on behalf of Barbadians. I also trust that some good will come of this. He can certainly speak from personal experience of what some communities in Barbados fear daily.

46. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Grenville Phillips aka

I think I posted this last night but it was removed by…

“…Do you think that your friend, the Honourable Blogmaster is doing Barbados any service by REFUSING TO PUT ANY ARTICLE ABOUT THIS ROBBERY OF CASWELL FRANKLYN here on Barbados Underground BECAUSE HE HAS BEEN INSTRUCTED BY MUGABE MOTTLEY TO QUASH IT?

In your opinion should not the article be publicized?

In fact Grenville, IF YOU ARE A TRUE PATRIOT and Man of God, why dont you do an article here about Caswell’s robbery and the need that all Barbados knows about it?

Why not fight against BU s suppression of my Article about This Robbery?

47. Piece:

I have written several articles on child rape and pornography. In response, you opposed them and started your sick campaign that can only keep children as sex slaves.

Why would you do that Piece? That is a deep level of evil – yet you persist with your sick campaign.

You must be aware of Jesus’ statement: “Take heed that you do not despise one of these little ones, for I say to you that in heaven their angels always see the face of My Father who is in heaven.” (Matthew 18:10)

There will be a reckoning Piece. To use child porn is bad enough. But to promote it by opposing those trying to actively do something about it, is quite another. You must know that God Himself will avenge those little ones that you, by your irresponsible actions, have tried to keep in bondage.

If you have any decency left, you would stop your sick campaign. You cannot intimidate me – but you are harming the little ones. Caswell can take care of himself – child sex slaves cannot.

48. @Grenville

This the point, Senator Caswell has access to BU and other fora to ventilate the matter when he returns from his vacation. However, contrived opposition must be fed.

49. Piece the Legend Avatar

????

Bedroom Policeman

2 weeks ago you were here pun dis blog defending Reverend Joseph Atherley

Now, suddenly, when there is a real cause to defend YOU RUNNING LIKE THE PUSSY THAT YOU ARE!

Furthermore YOU ARE A FVUCKING LIAR

At no time in your ramblings here did you ever talk about or seek to represent child pornography

What your liéd ass did do some time back was to say that when you get in power YOU WERE GOING TO PRESCRIBE WHAT PEOPLE DID IN THE PRIVACY OF THEIR BEDROOMS.

This is why you Grenville Phillips earned the name of Bedroom Policeman

Heheheheh.

De ole man CANNOT BE BAITED!

Certainly not by scum like you of No Solutions Barbados.

For the 4 years that you have lurked in the gutters of politics YOU HAVE SOUGHT TO TIE YOUR BAND WAGON ONTO CREDIBLE PEOPLE!

But you have failed AND YOU HAVE ALSO BEEN EXPOSED TO BE A FRAUD AS FAR AS THINGS SPIRITUAL ARE CONCERNED!

Watch as what de ole man predicts will come to pass AND YOU WILL LOSE YOUR DEPOSIT IN 2021.

By then, ALL YOUR SO CALLED PARTY WILL HAVE DISBANDED as any sensible person should do!

Euphemism for “RUN LIKE SHY$E FROM THIS MEGALOMANIAC GRENVILLE”!!!

heheheheh

50. Piece the Legend Avatar

You are showing yourself to be the cur that you are as one of the BORG.

Look at this traitorous comment HE WHO PRETENDS TO BE THE 12 YEAR PERSONIFIED OF GEORGE LINNAEUS BANKS

You pretend you are so locked into doint the right thing and all that Rasshole but you are showing all the BU community what you are

Imagine a crime was perpetrated against A RASSHOLE SENATOR and listen to your lame ass reply

“…This the point, Senator Caswell has access to BU and other fora to ventilate the matter when he returns from his vacation…”

De man get rob at gunpoint!

You claim to be he RH friend and his medium of communication

Yet YOU ENT RH MENTION THIS INCIDENT ONCE PUN YOU RH BLOG!!

You could as well had rob he youself.

ALL WUNNA WANTED TO GET WAS HE SMARTPHONE TO SEE WHO HE COMMUNICATING WITH!

What if he had had a gun, like ***, what if he had responded?

Wunna would have killed him?

It is obvious to readers that wunna plan was to kill him

LIKE THE FAKE RH ROBBERY TO SECURE THE FILES FROM THE DEPUTY PUBLIC PROSECUTOR’s house.

But the Government of the United States of America IS WATCHING WUNNA ASSES.

And all wunna crooked moves are known!

Traitor!