When reading comics as a young boy, the lure of monsters and bogeymen proved irresistible. There was the mummy, still wrapped in his now tattered burial shroud; the obligatory skeleton that somehow or other drove fear in the hearts of men of flesh and blood; and the zombie with his mottled bleeding flesh evoking repulsion in the pursued, lest he should grab you and do to you whatever it is that zombies do. In those days, with the emphasis on the shock value of the dead coming back to life, the monster that intrigued me most was one, seemingly caught forever in the penumbra between the dead and the undead; the forgotten prisoner of Castle Mare.

Back then; I had no idea of the genesis of this creature. I have since learnt that the image of the forgotten prisoner preceded the fictional account of his existence. From one internet source, “According to Greenberg’s Guide to Aurora Models, Aurora’s Bill Silverstein made a deal with Warren Publishing to create and promote new monster related kits, and in 1966 the Forgotten Prisoner was introduced. Later, in 1970, issue 34 of Creepy Magazine features a comic story of the Prisoner. Shane Johnson described it this way on the Aurora mail list:

The story is something of a retelling of Poe’s ‘The Cask of Amontillado,’ and tells of a Baron Sorgi and his archrival, Lord Basti, who were vying to tax the same small populace. One gets the other drunk, chains him to the wall of a hidden wine cellar, and then is killed himself as he tries to leave the room. Both men are forgotten, and never seen again. 

I was reminded of the forgotten prisoner of Castle Mare during the last week when a story, only slightly less wretched, appeared in another section of the press. It related that a local man, Mr. Winston Agard, having been charged with theft, and perfunctorily placed on remand to await trial, spent the period of a decade in custody before being eventually afforded his day in court last week.

That there could have been such an occurrence in 21st century Barbados that boasts ever so often of punching above its weight globally beggars belief; that no heads have rolled in a system that claims adherence to the Westminster system of governance is even more astonishing; that is, at least until one recalls that ours is a mere export-model of Westminster and that the virtue of voluntary resignation is not one ordinarily to be found or practiced among the members our public service.

The Attorney General is right. The entire affair is “totally inexcusable”. And it is owed to a failure or a congeries of failures of the entire system. Of those who would have diarized the date for the resumption of his matter after the initial period of remand and then made no further inquiry as to his non-appearance on that date; by those who would have been responsible for his physical reappearance after remand; and by those in whom no suspicion would have even been aroused by an individual on remand for such an extended period, the observant prison officer who reported the anomaly excepted of course.

It seems stranger than fiction too that Mr Agard himself never raised any query as to his situation during all this time, although I do concede that I am ignorant of whether any facility existed for him to do so.

That he may be legally entitled at least to monetary compensation from the state for the great tort that has been done to him seems beyond dispute; I can think of no fewer than four of his guaranteed fundamental rights that were arguably and unjustifiably infringed in this episode: his right to personal liberty (s.13); his right to freedom of movement(s. 22); that to secure protection of the law (s. 18) and. finally, probably the right to protection from inhuman treatment (s.15).

All that remains for final determination is whether Mr Agard should be compelled to seek redress ex propio motu [of his own accord] or whether the State, despite its relative penury, should charitably make an offer of compensation to him as an admission of its vicarious snafu.

The latter seems only right.

101 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – The Forgotten Prisoner of Dodd’s”

1. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

GP……we have been saying this on here for years..and all we have met in trying to dismantle the wickedness coming from the judiciary and parliament…is resistance..but now it is coming apart at the seams and showing THE WORLD…what we were trying to expose.

2. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Cuz at 12:07 PM

Did I not in a very early submission list the persons and departments of the Judicial System that failed Mr Agard. David Bu zeroed in on one and you on another. I believe you both did your investigations.

3. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

this is what you do with lowlifes who can’t keep their evil fantasies in check..in Barbados they would promote this piece of shit..

https://www.nydailynews.com/news/crime/ny-louisiana-deputy-forced-mother-perform-oral-sex-infant-son-20190608-3cuvo33yvngejertfb246f63ia-story.html#nt=tertiary

Let’s see if uppity Nurse is fired for this clear human rights violation on a prisoner, he runs the prison he is supposed to KNOW…who should attend court and who is languishing for decades without a trial……or we will see if he is promoted as is the norm.

4. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

Jeff…please do not be deluded by these demons..they knew that man was in there, they knew his rights were being violated, and as he said, there are others being violated in uppity Nurse’s prison…so don’t let these criminals who are pretending to be leaders fool you..they know exactly whose rights to violate because they have been getting away with it for decades…

what happened, they needed a distraction…so why not let out who they have wrongfully imprisoned to create that distraction since the prison officer was fed up of watching the violation……am sure that is not the first time that prison officer showed concern, let’s hope he is not victimized as is the norm…as a result of his caring nature..because that is what these demons do, victimize you for doing the right thing.

….problem with their grand plan …IT BACKFIRED…and even more shit came out that they were hoping never would…cause i will make sure their every wicked acts against the people who pay their salaries and that of their useless multimillion dollar consultants…are exposed.

always look out for the distractions, there will be more to come.

5. @ WURA-WAR-on-U June 9, 2019 1:51 PM
    “what happened, they needed a distraction…so why not let out who they have wrongfully imprisoned to create that distraction since the prison officer was fed up of watching the violation……am sure that is not the first time that prison officer showed concern, let’s hope he is not victimized as is the norm…as a result of his caring nature..because that is what these demons do, victimize you for doing the right thing.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Quite!

Shouldn’t the “P O” be recognized for his duty to good Constitutional governance and commitment to natural justice by being a decent ‘ordinary citizen?

Shouldn’t he be given some national award as the politicians do for top bureaucratic lackeys aka civil servants who serve their political masters with aplomb?

Why should Stephanie “Lil Caesar” Lashley get a gold crown of merit for celebrating with the devil Barbados 50th year of pseudo-independence while this poor lowly prison officer becomes an enemy of the State in the eyes of his big bosses at Dodds?

6. Georgie Porgie
    June 9, 2019 12:10 PM

john
    it seems dat barbados is not only a failed state……..but dat it in a state!

Jeff Cumberbatch
    June 9, 2019 10:52 AM

Am I a member of the State?
    Are they members of the State?
    There is the collective state of Barbados that includes everyone and then there are those responsible for the administration of the state. It is to these latter that the constitutional injunctions are directed.

Barbados is a collective state!!

We are thus one more failed collective … and in a state.

All collectives seem destined for failure!

7. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

If they victimize him they will see, if they think that is all i know about them, let me hear they victimize this man.. the prison officer should be given an award.

8. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

Miller…who would have thunk it, but we knew all along…have you ever met such downright stupid people as black bajan leaders, sometimes i have to wonder, but then again i know, they are delusional, why they cannot get anything right…look how after victimizing and criminalizing their own people since the 70s…look how stupid they now look, but when ya start as stupid, that is exactly how ya end,,,…STUPID…lol

In the meantime, the VERY BACKWARD Barbados government, is still locking up people, though they themselves should be in a prison cell in some part of the earth….far, far away from Black Bajans..

The World Health Organization’s data clerks are about to put in some overtime.
    The World Health Organization is looking to make up for lost time, as far as Mary Jane is concerned. And while that majority of buddha-lovers are probably in unison when they “WHO CARES!,” the organization “re-organization” is still a pretty big W for the weed advocates who fought long and hard for decades on end.

Adriel Bettelheim

@abettel
    World Health Organization committee calls for marijuana to be removed from the most restrictive international drug category, to drive more medical use and research. https://subscriber.politicopro.com/canada/whiteboard/2019/02/who-experts-recommend-rescheduling-marijuana-2613867 … @owermohle

4:02 PM – Feb 1, 2019

22 people are talking about this
    What this all means on a more profound level is this: the WHO will change all the official writing or regulations regarding Marijuana – that includes the removal of whole-plant marijuana and cannabis resins from the “extremely restrictive” list of substances logged under the heading Schedule IV in their official database. All THC-contaminated substances or isomers as they’re called in the scientific community will also switch over to a less restrictive category – to match the U.S. Government’s Schedule I categorization.

9. When Deputy CTO at MTW&M Mr. Philip Tudor can openly send an email to a victim, of his inexcusable incompetence of duty, and boldly copied that email to the Hon PM Mia Mottley, and MP for St. James Central Hon Kerrie Symmonds, in which he was untruthful, pertaining to his prolonged inactions to the remedying a blocked watercourse in Clarke’s Road, St. James, from 2004. this state not only failed, also corrupted from the top.

10. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

We told you they will not serve you any justice without further very wicked victimization…and even then, you will get no justice, because your SKIN COLOR is the same as theirs…

in reality and considering it, that is the true definition of reverse racism…racism against ya own skin color.

….you saw what they did with a black female who called the police because a white pervert tourist assaulted her, she did the right thing and what did this corrupt government do, they immediately intervened in a court case and had all their white imps, pimps and racists deem her a liar and they all claimed she set him up…all LIES…but the government would prefer it like that, than to see a black female get justice..

we told you that you are on your own…ya just won’t hear.

Something must be done about these useless black governments…that is the only way to bring about meaningful change.

11. Georgie Porgie Avatar

For several years acting for the late Dr Bannister I used to go to HMP Glendairy to look after the prisoners. When you sat in the office you would be given a book in which were inserted the names of the new inmates to the prison that week along with their charge or sentence etc.The same information was entered at the top of the 3X5 cards on which the inmates medical notes were written.

I dont know where else this information was logged, but I cant really understand the nonsense I am hearing about this mess up with this man

12. Some years ago, when Arthur was ruling the roost, the government was in discussion with a Bajan principal prison officer in the UK to return home to Glendairy. What happened to that discussion? The UK prison service is full of Bajans.

13. I hope I am wrong but I am going to suggest that all of the individuals who failed have a university degree!!

… and its going to be from one university!!

Maybe we only need to fix one place!!

14. … actually three!!

15. We are teaching people how to drive but they are road hogs!!

University, School and Home.

It is no point overhauling a system which is all about people and then putting people who don’t care about other people to run it!!

The system isn’t broke, the people are!!

16. Georgie Porgie Avatar

JOHN & VINCENT
    YOU WILL BOTH APPRECIATE IT WHEN I TELL YOU THAT I OFTEN USE THE EXPERIENCE THAT I DESCRIBED ABOVE AS A PERTINENT ILLUSTRATION WHEN TEACHING COLLOSSIANS 2:14 WHICH STATES

14 Blotting out the handwriting of ordinances that was against us, which was contrary to us, and took it out of the way, nailing it to his cross;

I FORGOT TO MENTION THAT ON THE DOOR OF EVERY PRISON CELL, THIS INFORMATION WAS ALSO APPENDED
    NAME OF PRISONER
    CRIME OR OFFENCE OF THE PRISONER
    SENTENCE OF THE PRISONER

This information is “the handwriting of ordinances that was against” the prisoner

IT SEEMS THAT THIS WAS A ROMAN CUSTOM THAT PAUL ENCOUNTERED THAT WE HAVE INHERITED VIA THE BRITS
    iN THE PAULINE EPISTLES WE OFTEN SEE PAUL ILLUSTRATING HIS THOUGHTS BY THE THINGS HE HAD HIMSELF WITNESSED OR EXPERIENCED

HERE IN COLLOSSIANS 2:14 HE TEELS US THAT AS SINNERS THERE WAS ALSO A handwriting of ordinances that was against, BUT THAT BY DYING ON THE CROSS FOR US, THE LORD JESUS CHRIST EFFECTIVELY REMOVED THE WRITING THAT WAS NAILED ON OUR PRISON DOOR AND NAILED IT TO HIS CROSS

COLLOSSIANS 2:14 THUS CORROBOATES WHAT HE TAUGHT IN 2 CORINTHIANS 5:21 WHICH READS
    “For he hath made him to be sin for us, who knew no sin; that we might be made the righteousness of God in him.”

IT ALSO CORROBORATES 1 PETER 3:18 WHICH ALSO TEACHES THAT THE LORD’S DEATH WAS SUBSTITUTIONARY
    than for evil doing.

For Christ also hath once suffered for sins, the just for the unjust, that he might bring us to God, being put to death in the flesh, but quickened by the Spirit:

17. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

Don’t look like this vicious conniving, lying, corrupt government will get away with TIEFING money and properties from Black Bajans in UK to give their tiefing, parasitic, racist masters in Barbados, it will not be as easy as they thought…that’s for sure..

… the world will know about the human rights abuses against the elderly, the children and women, human rights abuses against the majority black population, perpetrated by evil, corrupt black governments..

wuhloss!!

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/1046907238852148/?t=0

18. @John

The UWI half-baked some people who don’t have common sense. but are the ones that governed. They only care about themselves, if they did care about their children, Barbados would be a lot better in every which way

19. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

If I may @John, play ur game for a moment!

Is this not a conundrum, re “The system isn’t broke, the people are!!”.

1.The people make the system thus there are at one with it… when it’s broken so are they and when it works then so are they working…

2.But yet the system and the people are separate… just as the state as statehood is separate from the state of citizens… ergo: if the people determine that it is systematically correct to say The system isn’t BROKEN.. but many prefer a process which accepts The system isn’t broke…, then is that not a NEW working system rather than a broken old one! 🤣😎

The people are the system, the system is the people!

The two are linked like a symbiotic twin … interdependent completely yet bluntly independent!

Here ends today’s philosophical BS!

20. Let the corrupt governments continue to chase after money to TIEF, the population just has to be vigilant at all times and watch them..let’s see them carry stolen money with them when the sea rises.

And no one is going to allow them to tief climate change money either..lol

“Villagers on the island of Abaiang had to relocate their village, Tebunginako, because of rising seas and erosion. (Justin Mcmanus/The AGE/Fairfax Media via Getty Images)

Tong served as president of Kiribati, a country made up of 32 atolls, from 2003 to 2016. Over that time, he watched as erosion damaged food crops, seawater flooded freshwater ponds and residents were forced to retreat.

He has become outspoken in describing the “existential threat from climate change” his country faces.

“In the near future, communities may have to relocate,” he said. “When it hits you directly, it’s very difficult for you to deny it.”

Tong has good reason to be worried. As human activities continue to alter the environment, islands are increasingly vulnerable to the impacts of the planet’s changing climate.

A family wades through their flooded village, floating an old fridge, collecting sea-bed stones to build a flood wall in Eita, Tarawa, Kiribati. (Jonas Gratzer/LightRocket via Getty Images)

In October 2018, Hurricane Walaka washed away a remote, 11-acre Hawaiian island as the storm barreled through the Pacific Ocean. Several months before that, Russian scientists reported that a small Arctic island had disappeared, saying that only vast, open water remained at the site. And near the end of 2018, a local newspaper reported that an uninhabited islet off the coast of Japan could no longer be found, presumably because it had sunk beneath the water’s surface.

In these recent examples, the islands were small and uninhabited, but scientists say the fate of these tiny pieces of land could be a harbinger of what’s to come.

“With some of these small islands, maybe it’s no big deal to the average person because they’re uninhabited, but you’re going to see these same processes happen on larger islands and populated ones,” said Curt Storlazzi, a geologist at the U.S. Geological Survey’s Pacific Coastal and Marine Science Center in Santa Cruz, California.

Storlazzi has conducted research on coastal erosion in the tropics. He says that one way rising sea levels can redesign coastlines is by generating bigger waves, adding layers of sediment in some places while causing erosion and flooding in other areas.

“If sea levels continue to rise as projected,” Storlazzi said, “there’s going to be even greater change.”

21. The people will never get their system to work because God made us individually!!

The collective never works … proven over and over again!!

.. and most times with disastrous consequences!!

22. Piece the Legend Avatar

De ole man is a simple man!

I ent bright to understand the nuances of state, statehood, statements, being in a state nor all dem convolutions of high science reasoning.

Whu I understand is dis.

3 days after Mugabe get in powah SHE RAPIDLY SIGN A $27 MILLION US CONTRACT WID PEOPLE FROM ENGLAND

3 months after Mugabe get in SHE FADDAH IS A KNIGHT!

A few munts after she get in Darnley Dottin is a CUNTSULTANT!

A few munts after she get in Contracts for Medicsl Marijuana get mek up wid people in Canada!

Wunna unnerstsnding de ole man?

Everyting dat focused pun making Mottley money and consolidating she power do ovahnight!

But around she, none of she ministers dojng dem job!

Every body showing how RH incompetent dem is AND DIS IS JES ANNUDER CASE of this incompetence by Teets AGAINST DE SMALL PO’ BAJAN MAN SND WOMAN!

What is so hard for wunna to comprehend?

Wunna tek de time go watch de Video dat Pachamama posted here about Chris Hedges?

All 1.46 minutes of it?

I doubt it cause wunna sheeple ent into self edification.

15 second attention spans!!!

These are concerted acts of sustained violence against Voiceless Poor People AND WE THE RH SHEEPLE DONT GIVE OND RH as long as it does not affect the rice grain count on our table pun a Sunday, we dont give a fvuck.

And this is why Mugabe and Fumbles could continue to do this shy$e!!

This article will run for 2.5 days AND THEN, DEPENDING ON HIS INSTRUCTIONS FROM MUGABE MOTTLEY, the Blogmaster going retire in in the most frequently read list.

AND THE OTHER PEOPLE LIKE MR AGARD going be up in prison pun remand until a next Prison Officer PUT HE JOB PUN DE LINE like this officer has!!

Cause Nurse and all de rest of dem effers up dere VEX AS CUNT WID DAT MAN.

But wunna here talking bout “systemic shy$e” and all uh dat BUT BY WEDNESDAY ALL UH WUNNA GOING FORGET BOUT DIS DATABASE SCVUNT!

STEUPSEEE.

Maybe I really needs to keep cussing and getting on like a rabid dog doah

23. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster (the infantile 1/3 on duty)

Grateful if you would retrieve my comment here.

I know it has a remark about you that got you vex but it is the truth is it not?

24. “In his first speech as Chancellor, Hitler emphasized the core value of National Socialism: the individual is nothing outside the State.”

So, DPD, how is your philosophy different from that of Adolph Hitler?

Adolph Hitler clung to National Socialism.

We used to claim our “system” was Democratic Socialism.

Both have one thing in common …… they disregard the individual!!

Luckily we haven’t had a lunatic like Hitler to carry our system to its logical end!!

25. @ John June 10, 2019 10:33 AM
    “The people will never get their system to work because God made us individually!!
    . and most times with disastrous consequences!!”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So why do you always refer to the collective “Quaker”?

Why do you contend here on BU, ad nauseam, that the Quakers were the force behind the abolition of chattel slavery of Africans as opposed to those heathens called Muslim?

Why do Jews ‘collectively’ see themselves as your God’s chosen people even though they were ‘collectively’ responsible for the crucifixion of your god’s only son?

26. John the liar is a clown who thinks he can convince intelligent people that is dumbness makes sense…he better stick to only convincing GP and Ha, Ha, those are the only 2 who thinks his nonsense makes perfect sense.

27. Miller
    June 10, 2019 11:02 AM

@ John June 10, 2019 10:33 AM
    “The people will never get their system to work because God made us individually!!
    . and most times with disastrous consequences!!”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So why do you always refer to the collective “Quaker”?

I don’t.

… but then you could have googled and got your answer!!

You don’t have to depend on me for everything!!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inward_light

“Quakers take this idea of walking in the Light of Christ to refer to God’s presence within a person, and to a direct and personal experience of God, although this varies to some extent between Quakers in different yearly meetings. Quakers believe not only that individuals can be guided by this light, but that Friends might meet together and receive collective guidance from God by sharing the concerns and leadings that he gives to individuals.”

28. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

Well…ah guess the Bajan UK people are not going to give up their hardearned money so the corrupt government can steal and give tiefing racist Cow and Bizzy et all…wuhloss..everything exposed…

1200 lawyers on the island and they have a shortage of legal drafts people..what a waste of taxpayers money educating these misfits…

https://www.facebook.com/BarbadosLabourParty/videos/472725753271107/?t=3418

29. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

Wuh if Mia can’t see that these people ARE NOT STUPID…and she IS NOT GETTING A CENT, A DIME, A NICKLE OF THEIR MONEY…wuh we cahn help she..lol, lol, murdahhhhh!!!!

30. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

lol…wuh even the blind in that room can see that the corrupt government is corralling the black citizens and using them only for service in tourism or partying or beach work…..or ….but nothing that brings REAL DEVELOPMENT, REAL WEALTH TO THE MAJORITY BLACK POPULATION …all in order to maintain the post slavery… slave society…to indulge the EVIL RACISTS whom this same wicked government helps to rob black bajans…and she thinks the people in UK can’t see and don’t ALREADY KNOW.

pack the poor and vulnerable in badly built ugly piled up housing projects built by the thieves Maloney, Cow, Tempro and Bjerkham where they can never get out and keep them under the poverty line and disenfranchised…while the thieves of parliament and their racist masters siphon off and funnel the overrun costs of these inferior quality buildings….TO THEMSELVES..

Mia better keep the hell away from my family in the Diaspora…they do not play those stinking games and if i am anything to go by, not people to fcuk with..

31. There are tax implications for UK Bajans thinking of investing in Barbados. Talk to your lawyer or IFA. Further, they should look at return on investments. Are the returns greater than what they will get in the UK? ISAs are very good UK investments, and they are tax free. Or you can out nationalism before common sense.
    If government wants people to invest in Barbados, they must incentivise them.

32. @ John June 10, 2019 1:40 PM

Sir John the Quaker, why don’t you stop trying to ‘mis-enlighten’ the blog?

Isn’t that the basic characteristic or desired state of nirvana of all followers of Christianity?
    You can bet that Mormons share such a belief.

Guidance by the Light is nothing unique to Christians far less Quakers.

This is simply second nature to Zoroastrianism (a religion practised a few thousand years before Quaker Fox came along and took out his copy book) and is the recurring principle in nearly all religions especially Buddhism and Jainism.

But you might just be onto something enlighteningly larger.
    You will note that the Light is always around; whether in the East; South, North or West of the world of religions.

33. Guantanamo
    Think one guy has been there for over 17 years without a trial. We aren’t that bad ….

34. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

But that is under the Patriot Act..if i remember correctly…made up as they went along, but an Act nonetheless.

35. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

This is called a PROGRESSIVE SOCIETY…we have seen how dumb ompetitive learning has made most people..

this nuisance government not more than 48 hours ago was channeling Singapore up in UK…let’s see if hey want to copy the positives of Singapore or just continue to use it as a PROP…frauds.

“Singapore abolishes school exam rankings, says learning is not competition
    Posted by Jonas Nyabor Date: Oct 2, 2018 7:18am
    Singapore abolishes school exam rankings, says learning is not competition

Shares
    Share Tweet Pin Email
    Whether a child finishes first or last will no longer be indicated in primary and secondary school report books from next year in Singapore, – a move which Education Minister Ong Ye Kung hopes will show students that “learning is not a competition”.

Report books will not just stop showing a student’s position in relation to class or cohort. The information to be dropped includes:

Class and level mean
    Minimum and maximum marks
    Underlining and/or colouring of failing marks
    Pass/fail for end-of-year result
    Mean subject grades
    Overall total marks
    L1R5 (English plus five relevant subjects), L1R4 , EMB3 (English, maths, best three subjects) and EMB1 for lower secondary levels
    The Ministry of Education (MOE) said on Friday (Sept 28) that the change is to allow each student to focus on his or her learning progress and discourage them from being overly concerned about comparisons.

From next year all examinations for Primary 1 and 2 pupils will also be removed, and whatever forms of assessment they have will not count towards an overall grade.

The MOE said that teachers will continue to gather information about pupils’ learning through discussions, homework and quizzes. Schools will use other ways like “qualitative descriptors”, in place of marks and grades, to evaluate pupils’ progress at these two levels.

For older students in primary schools and secondary schools, marks for each subject will be rounded off and presented as a whole number, without decimal points – to reduce the focus on academic scores. Parents will continue to receive information about their child’s progress in school during parent-teacher meetings.

In an address to some 1,700 school leaders earlier this week, Mr Ong said: “I know that ‘coming in first or second’, in class or level, has traditionally been a proud recognition of a student’s achievement. But removing these indicators is for a good reason, so that the child understands from young that learning is not a competition, but a self-discipline they need to master for life.

“Notwithstanding, the report book should still contain some form of yardstick and information to allow students to judge their relative performance, and evaluate their strengths and weaknesses.”

36. David

We hear that in the US news today the presstitutes of all stripes are busily talking about Trump’s ‘freeing’ of 1000 people who, 92% of whom are Black, who in some cases, spent decades in jail/prison, in a crass political maneuver to chip away about 10 percent of the African-American vote.

The bigger picture that those in media will never approach is the underlying history of genocidal treatment of the Afrikan-American people by all stripes of the political system, regardless of persuasion or identity, as they see it.

The so-called ‘progressives’ have had no interest in the iniquitous actions of Bill & Hillary Clinton who continued to pass laws to incarcerate Black people in droves, as recently as the 19990’s.

Nor bulling Barak Obama who pretended to care but did nothing about the inordinate numbers of Black people in America’s dungeons. Maybe he presumed that everybody was like him and that Black people in jail were glad to be digging up in shite, like he is known to.

Now we have this Jared Kushner being deified with a hagiography which only media whores on Fox News, CNN and MSNBC are capable of.

Rooted in our history with this brutal and ruthless empire, which has done the opposite of what its faux history is suppose to be about. How else can such a history produce a Donald Trump or Kushner. Gerald Horne, the preeminent American scholar has told us that the whole historical narrative has to be re-written, to account for the production of a Trump. And he’s quite right!

The big picture is that all the currents within the American establishment, in every environment, continue to use a defenseless Black population to serve their interests.

Black people represent up to 70% of people in prison, largely because of unjust laws targeting them by a White occupation police force. So instead of dealing with the racist causation, trinkets of ‘just us’ can be dispense from this racist Trump administration.

We will expect the Trumpeteers here to see something good about their patron-saint’s actions.

37. @Pacha

You could have easily added Joe Biden’s volt face in the abortion issue. What is a politician except an opportunist always willing to prostitute themselves on the altar for votes.

38. it is difficult to understand why Agard allowed his predicament to go on for ten years.Another failure of our education boast.

39. @Gabriel

Note when he was given his freedom by Worrell there was no one to hug him.

40. Note when he was given his freedom by Worrell there was no one to hug him.(Quote)

What does this mean?

41. The Intercept has reported that Lula, the former Brazilian president, now illegally in prison, was railroaded by the judge and prosecutors to allow Balsinaro, the neo-fascist, to became president.

The Intercept has only released 1% of the document trove. But they already clearly show that Lula was set up. They show clear evidence that the judge, Sergio Moro,now the attorney general in Brazil, as appointed by Balsinaro, apparently as quid pro quo, and the prosecutors conspired against Lula with ‘trumped-up’, pun intended, charges, in order jail Lula, thus making him ineligible to run.

https://theintercept.com/2019/06/09/brazil-lula-operation-car-wash-sergio-moro/

42. David

Biden is a highly flawed candidate, though the idiots in the media and the the party apparatchiks seem to want his ‘nurse-maided’ through the primaries, but he, like Hilary Clinton, will fail.

Both in the primaries, and if he does not, certainly against Trump.

43. David
    June 11, 2019 2:48 PM

@Pacha
    You could have easily added Joe Biden’s volt face in the abortion issue. What is a politician except an opportunist always willing to prostitute themselves on the altar for votes.

Unbelievable that he thinks he can get away with doing that within 48 hours without a reasonable explanation. Saw his senior advisor trying to get away with NOT answering how he came to flip flop and it was obvious he had no explanation other than that he was under political pressure. It would have been better to say that he was going to re-examine his position in light of strong representation from women and come to a conclusion by the end of the campaign. How could he be offering himself as an alternative to the liar Trump and show himself up in that manner? Where are his principles?

SMH.

44. David
    June 11, 2019 2:48 PM

@Pacha
    You could have easily added Joe Biden’s volt face in the abortion issue. What is a politician except an opportunist always willing to prostitute themselves on the altar

++++++++++++++++++++++

The Dems are about power at all costs!!

It is a leftist thing!!

That’s why in all likelihood, Trump will waltz back in.

They have not learnt that Americans want the swamp drained.

They don’t realise that Crazy Bernie has more in common with Trump than they might like to admit.

Both are outsiders but Crazy Bernie can’t get anything done, Trump can and has!!

They have spent all their time trying to take down Trump without trying to understand why he won and how they can!!

45. Vincent Codrington Avatar

“Vultu facie” ? This algorithm knows no Latin at all! at all! at all!.

46. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE “Vultu facie” ? This algorithm knows no Latin at all! at all! at all!.

VINCENT
    ARE YOU SAYING THAT ALL WHO MESS WITH THE LINGUA LATINA SHOULD BE BEATEN WITH MANY STRIPES AND HAVE THEIR NAMES REMOVED FROM THE BOOK OF LIFE FOR LIFE?

47. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal at 4:11

It may mean that he has become alienated from family.

48. A man is left to languish in jail because of systemic problems with the courts, justice system and prison.

He deserves to be compensated in a substantial way so that he has a chance to recover from the damage done to him.

If you want to know if he has family watch what happens if he is awarded a few hundred thousand dollars for wrongful extended incarceration.

49. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/06/12/bajan-bitcoin-bites-the-dust/

can’t believe the Cartel actually had this bittcon scam up and running in Barbados though and with he blessings of both corrupt governments…well bajans can see mMoney is just another government sanctioned Cartel scam…and avoid it like the PLAGUE.

just await the NEXT CARTEL SCAM… you will recognize it when it comes along, it’s always government sanctioned.

50. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

While the embedded CROOKS IN THE JUDICIARY…are now PRETENDING to work.

someone should ask this one about all THE DECISIONS HE HAS OUTSTANDING from decades ago.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/06/12/back-dated/