Dr. De Lisle Worrell continues to be a controversial figure in Barbados. He suffered the embarrassment of being sacked by former Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler. The blogmaster will remember him for the fact he presided as Governor of the Central Bank during a period popularly labelled the Lost Decade. He continues to be controversial in his current role sitting on the other side of the negotiating table by epresenting some of the external creditors.

The following text is posted to caribbeansignal.com  and makes for interesting reading given his  (Worrell) role as lead negotiator for external creditors and the current state of the Barbados economy.

Discuss for 10 marks.

-David, Blogmaster

Reproduced with permission, the full text of Dr. Delisle Worrell – former Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados – June 2019 newsletter:

The Time Has Come to Permanently Retire All Our Caribbean Currencies Caribbean currencies served a crucial purpose when they were first introduced, but they have now become a nuisance in today’s digitised world.

The world of commerce and finance today bears no resemblance to the world for which Caribbean currencies were devised. Up until the 1960s in most Caribbean countries, all retail transactions and many wholesale transactions were settled with notes and coins. The means of payment were always scarce in those days, because our countries are so distant from the European capitals that issued the world’s major currencies.

In the first half of the 20th century it became commonplace in countries of the British Empire to issue local currency notes and coins, with values fixed to Sterling (for the most part; the Bahamas and Bermuda were exceptions). These currencies were issued by special Government departments, termed Currency Boards. The Currency Board held an amount of Sterling with the Bank of England or with the British Crown Agents, and issued an equivalent amount of local currency. In this way the amount of the local currency issue could be more easily tailored to local needs.

This system worked well, so long as currencies were anchored on a single universally used reference, the US dollar price of an ounce of gold. However, the whole system of currency values fell apart when the US effectively moved off the Gold Standard at the time of the Smithsonian Agreement in December 1971.

Nowadays, currency notes and coin, mostly of uncertain value in terms of purchasing power of the everyday goods and services we need to source abroad, are little used domestically. Mostly we use electronic transfers, cheques and credit cards. Since these are all computer records, it is immaterial how they are denominated, so long as both ends of every transaction match. There is no reason to link the denomination of the electronic transactions to the value of notes and coins.

Replacing the Barbados dollar with the US dollar for all transactions, domestic and foreign, enhances the range of choice open to the country and its residents, in all international commerce. International transactions are conducted in US dollars or in currencies that are convertible to US dollars. In contrast, with Barbados dollars you cannot buy or sell anything outside of Barbados, not even in nearby St Lucia, much less in the rest of the world. The GDP of Barbados in 2018 was about US$5 billion, but the country had access to less than US$3 billion of international goods and services, because that was the total availability of US dollars and other foreign exchange from exports, tourism and other services, and foreign financial inflows. Once the economy is fully converted to US dollars and the local currency fully retired, the entire US$5 billion may be used to obtain the best value for money, in transactions anywhere in the world.

This is an executive summary of my Working Paper of the same title, issued at DeLisleWorrell.com.

271 responses to “Dr. DeLisle Worrell Says Time to Jettison Caribbean Currencies”

1. Seems to us that Worrell is as fervent a neo-liberal as previously.

But he is right in a small way. But largely wrong!

However, what he is not saying is that the US dollar is far more precarious than he wants to admit.

And if that is the case, why would this goodly gentleman want to commit Barbados’ economy to a ‘burning house’

Worrell lacks a master narrative. For this he most follow the logical conclusion and discover how the financialization of economy bypasses his ‘logic’ of US dollar dominance.

This ‘analysis’ by Worrell continues to be disappointing, it doubles-down on prior irrational mouthings and like his fore bearer Arthur Lewis recklessly consigned Caribbean countries to the dead-end of instruments of Western imperialism.

Worrell must come to know that ALL fiat currencies will soon be useless.

2. I agree with Worrell Canadian tire money makes far more sense for barbados

3. We refuse to join with those who seem to believe that Delisle Worrell should not take a position which appears to be confrontational to the current GoB.

But that does not necessarily have to be the case. Creativity demands that Barbados should seek to bat at both ends simultaneously.

This man has a right to make a living. And under the American colonial system to which Barbados finds itself the revolving door is a central feature.

Maybe the next central bank govenor should be restricted from such involvements for a number of years after demitting office.

4. Dr Worrell is right and wrong. He is right that CARICOM must dig down and develop its political , monetary and fiscal union, including a custom union and a common currency and a single central bank.
    CARICOM must speak with a single voice, but this will not happen if petty politicians who are prime ministers of little islands still want to hold on to power.
    By the way, his economic vision (or lack of it) aside, Dr Worrell’s major career fault was to take instructions from Chris Sinckler. Once he did that, he had let himself down..

5. @Pacha

You are aware that senior people in private sector are often restricted from engaging in specific related jobs when they leave office for obvious reasons.

6. @Pacha

One has to like the approach by Simon Naitram, there is no right or wrong template, it is about tailoring an approach given Barbados’s circumstance.

7. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

The EMBEDDED CORRUPTION IN BARBADOS SPECIFICALLY and the Caribbean especially…must be DESTROYED RIGHT ALONG WITH EVERY ONE OF THE CORRUPT.
    https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/240097/commonwealth-anti-corruption-framework

8. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@lawson 6:35

lawson the liar. I hope that you haven’t been going around the world deceiving the ladies of the evening that Canadian Tyre money is real money, after they have provided you with a real valuable service.

9. @Simple Simon

Appreciate if we go easy with the nuisance comments on this blog.

10. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Pacha at 6:38 …this man has a right to make a living…”

I disagree vehemently with Pacha’s statement

This man is already provided a living by the Barbadian taxpayers like me who pay him a very nice pension. Additionally he has for many, many decades been provided with a very nice salary by taxpayers like me…and did he ever use any of that money to raise chick, child or dog flea, so that when sooner rather than later he departs this life [we are all in the departure lounge of life] he has left behind a few bright young people who can help us with the way forward?

When is the time that a no longer needs to earn a living?

If he stopped working now would he die because his generous tax funded pension is not enough to buy food?

I hear people all the time with this foolish talk about the elite needing to earn a living, yet the same policy makers have decided that $900 BDS a month is plenty for the most vulnerable Bajans to live on.

I am G\going to town to the Barbados Revenue Authority to pay my taxes so that the elite can continue to enjoy their generous tax payer funded pensions.

After all I would not want any of them to die of hunger.

11. it is instructive that Worrell could appear for the creditors but no bajan or caribbean person is good enuff to appear for the GOVT

12. What is the argument? Is it that Dr Worrell should no longer work, or that he should not work for agencies that oppose Barbados? If the latter, why not? On leaving office he would have been sent on gardening leave for a period (six months) long enough that he would not know the central bank’s/government’s internal policy decisions? After that he will be a free man.
    We are a nation of lawyers, get them to write proper settlement agreements. When I retired I got a multi-page settlement agreement that included every detail, down to my access to the FT Online. That was not unusual.
    Barbados is a failed state. Worse, political and business leaders like blaming others for their own failure.

13. William Skinner Avatar

People should not speak if they don’t know what they are talking about. Worrell has published several papers been a teacher and has been a mentor to many young minds in his field for decades. His contribution to scholarship goes way beyond his Governor of Central bank. He has been a leader and sought after throughout his distinguished career both regionally and internationally.
    Apparently many on BU only became familiar with Worrell recently.

14. Dr Worrell is not on my list of favourite people bases on his collusion with Sinkler to sink the island in worthless paper, but he has a point and the US dollar for us is a good suggestion.

If we do that no government will ever be able to print money again to support a top heavy civil service or keep inefficient entities going. Business would gain from not losing on each conversion in and out of the currency and the whole BS of the central bank and it’s res tape would disappear.

Of course it would mean the politicians would no longer have any real say in the control or manipulation of the availability of money in circulation as well. Based however on the last 10years and the abundance of worthless paper forced on the NIS, don’t you think that would be a good thing?

15. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal

You are absolutely correct. All of this posturing is basically ineffective without true Caribbean unity. We are wasting resources and in and out of debt traps because we don’t collective harvest our human and economic resources.
    None so blind as those who .,,,,,,,,,,

16. William Skinner Avatar

Central Bank Governors don’t set economic and political policy. They forecast and regulate. They are creatures of the minister of Finance. Worrell could only advise he could not dictate. Ask Haynes if he can tell Mottley what to do.

17. David

Yes and yes!

But that seems to have gone out of usage in recent times.

In spite of these, Worrell has a right to mek a living.

18. Dr Worrell is correct…….. the costs of printing & support our own currency is high…… add in the yearly fat salaries of all those in the CENTRAL Bank …. and the building itself….. man, we could save a ton of money!!!

19. @ William he may not of been able to dictate but only advise, he could of made his opposition stronger against sinklers print shop and he could also of resigned.

He could also of refused to put the economy in jeopardy, been fired and then taken the government to court for being fired in the process of doing his job.

Every man has options, it’s just some don’t have the backbone to stand by them.

Having said that he like every Barbadian has the right to his opening and to work as he sees fit.

20. William Skinner Avatar

Don’t you all realize that Worrell was fired because he no longer could follow the policies of Sinckler? Do you all think he was fired for following Sinckler’s policies ?

21. Meant opinion not opening. Sorry about that

22. Sir Simple

We understand your righteous indignation.

You have a strong case.

However, we tend not to support that dominant dictatorial streak, instinct, permeating our society, at every level.

23. Sir William Skinner

Even if Worrell when down Bridgetown and shot everybody, in broad daylight, you would find a support for him!

He’s really your friend in trute! LOL

24. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    I don’t always agree with Worrell but we have another academic who brought a no confidence motion against a government and then end up in the same government’s cabinet.
    At least Worrell is no political opportunist . Notice after being fired and the humiliation of going to court; he never failed to give his frank opinions and has been sought after for his wide knowledge of his area.
    You would also recognize that while you and I don’t always agree, I have never questioned your intellect.
    It’s painful to read or hear people trying to pull down Worrell while we are paying somebody $170 000 a month to tell us what Courtney Blackman ,Winston Cox ,Delisle Worrell and Marion Williams can tell us for free.

25. @William

You can support your man until the cows come home Worrell gave a lot away during the list decade by slavishly supporting Sinckler until Sinckler fired him. How ironic.

26. Let’s agree Worrell helped assist sinkler in the destruction of our economy. Having said that though the points on which this article is written are based on sound financial reasoning.

After all every broken clock still right at least twice a day.

27. Sir William Skinner

We respect your position. Thanks!

However, at its centre Worrell is talking about getting the rid of one fiat currency, the Barbados dollar, and replacing it with another fiat currency from a country even more indebted than Barbados.

In these circumstances, it therefore matters not how many integrationist suggestions are given. They cannot work based on a dying fiat currency system. This is a monumental, even historic error, by Worrell.

All this Sir William, at a time where countries that got sense are buying record levels of gold, other precious metals, while dumping USD holdings, treasuries, etc.

Go figure!

28. @John A

Some will say his fixation with the US dollar is old school. Pacha addressed the point in an earlier comment. The challenge we have is that given the politics Worrell’s credibility is being questioned.

Truth be told cannot wait for Simon and the BES to get this conversation on the road. Only then will it get traction it deserves. We hope!

29. William Skinner Avatar

Name any Governor of the Central Bank who has opposed a Minister of Finance and kept his job.
    If you think that a man of Worrell’s caliber was “ slavishly” following Sinckler you must have been privy to many confidential conversations.
    You obviously don’t understand the role of the Central Bank and how advicev is communicated to governments at such levels.
    It is obvious that Worrell was fired after he told Sinckler that he could no longer as Governor identify with its his/ government’s policy.

30. @William

We can only judge him by his public utterances. The YouTubes are there.

31. David all Pacha did was address his opinion. The truth is the USD for us is the best option. regardless of what others might think it is still the link used to tie all other currencies together.

I don’t know if you and Pacha know but the global economy still revolves around the USD.

What is the alternative Sterling? They don’t know if they are coming or going now with BREXIT. Maybe you think we should link to the EURO? Wait other members may well leave there so scratch that one.

I know let’s link to a basket of currencies! Wait hold on they fluctuate too and are at their core still linked for trade to the same USD.

So please tell me how else you and others could possibly consider going to the USD to be ” old thinking ”

Or is it a case that for you if Pacha say so it’s so. LOL

32. Also to qoute your financial adviser ” tying to a country with a massive debt is nonesence.”

What is nonesence is to look at a countries debt without equating it to the size of their economy. If you looking at debt to GDP as most non bias people do, we are in fact one of the highest indebted nations globally.

If you going to speak then do so after applying all the facts to the topic, don’t just cherry pick the ones that you feel can help you in your own agenda.

33. I don’t have much time for this guy because not only is he a neo-liberal but he’s also a hypocrite. Calling for 4000 public sector workers to be sacked and then fighting Chris Sinckler to get his job back. He desereve a job and an income but not the other workers.

Pacha has already dealt with the nonsensical idea of replaciing one fiat currency with another one that is on its way out as the whole Bretton Woods arrangements come to their end of life. Talk about hitching yourself to a car that’s heading over a cliff.

34. @ John A June 6, 2019 7:36 AM
    “Dr Worrell is not on my list of favourite people bases on his collusion with Sinkler to sink the island in worthless paper, but he has a point and the US dollar for us is a good suggestion.
    If we do that no government will ever be able to print money again to support a top heavy civil service or keep inefficient entities going. Business would gain from not losing on each conversion in and out of the currency and the whole BS of the central bank and it’s res tape would disappear.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

You got that one right! Right on the ‘Money”!

What Worrell is doing is finally admitting that the Bajan dollar is effectively a Mickey Mouse currency and will soon worth very little above its pending ‘monopoly money’ status.

Dr. Deliar has a vendetta going with the CBB and wants to see it eliminated from the coming financial system landscape. And it will happen very soon.

The Bds $64.00 to US$1.00 question is:
    How would the ordinary man in the street have access to the US$ -whether digital or archaic paper-based- unless the country (currently s beggar state) is able to earn more foreign money than it spends?

The good thing about such a move is that those who now live big on the imported conspicuous consumption hog, like driving around in Mercs on cart roads while drinking imported Johnny Walker and Absolut, must now earn foreign money before they can buy imported goods bought with foreign money.

Before we can take this fallen garden gnome (pretending to be an angel of monetary salvation) seriously he must give an account of that $300 million in foreign reserves which mysteriously disappeared just after the 2013 general elections.

The ‘doctored’ man is a ‘certified’ quack on a deadly mission. He had his time in the sun. It’s time to leave the stage (like his predecessors).

“Heavens to Murgatroyd! Exit stage Left!”

35. John A

You are wrong.

The debt to GDP for Barbados, all in, is about 170% and decreasing hopefully.

The debt to GDP for the USA, when measured as the accumulations of deficits since 1619, is about 100%. But that measure does not include a lot of things – unfunded liabilities, Medicare, social security, student debt, etc.

Both GDP and national debt are about 21 trillion when measured as accumulations of deficits.

The real debt of America when correctly assessed is then over 300 TRILLION dollars.
    By this metric the debt to GDP ratio is then 1400%

36. Tee that may be the case down the road but we have to work with what is there today.

I believe strongly after witnessing what happened in the last 7 years with the printing of money, this island should never be put in a position again where any MOF has control over the supply of money into the system. The only way I could see that not happening is if the suppply of money used can not be tampered with by any government either present or future.

For that to happen in the present we have no alternative but to tie to the most used and recognised currency traded. That whether we like it or not is the good old USD.

Miller’s point too about controlling consumption this will also address, as you can’t spend what you don’t have or what you can’t print. Lets put agendas, our dislike for Worrell and politics aside for a minute and answer one question honestly.

Do we ever want to create another disaster like what occurred over the past few years where we just printed money based on nothing but need?

If the answer is NO, then to do that we must assure that the currency used going forward is basically bullet proof to interference from government.

Is it the perfect solution, no it may not be but it has way more pluses than minuses. God knows the one we now uses has failed miserably. It’s a case of protecting us from ourselves sadly.

37. @John A

This blogmaster will wait for the more dispassionate and sobering analyzes of Simon et al.

38. Pachamama if we used that approach every country in the world would have debt way in excess of what is stated. We must therefore stick to established and accepted formulas used for this measurement.

Is the USA heavily indebted yes. But based on its economy it can support it right now. We on the other hand can’t and that’s for 2 reasons. We created more monopoly money than our reserves can service and secondly our currency has no real value anywhere else but here.

39. @ David

If You mean dispassionate and sobering as throwing stones at Worrell and throwing further soil on the grave of the last government, then carry on smartly.

As I said Worrell is not my favourite governor but when he has a valid point I can’t just dismiss it because of that.

To each their own however. I shall therefore sit back and listen to the harmonic tunes of those who sing in your choir.

40. Bo it cannot

Why then is Trump trying to realign everything, in trade, and defense, for example

41. NO it cannot

42. The US dollar is used as a reserve currency by most countries but this is changing especially with the moving away from the gold standard.

43. John A

What you maybe missing is that all the unfunded liabilities are guaranteed by the federal government but not brought to book. This is not so elsewhere.

In Barbados when OSA had all types of off-book guarantees issued by government David Thompson was forced to bring them to book.

This does not happen in the USA.

44. Pachama bringing to book is a useless exercise unless the liabilities can be confirmed. In a country where most of our government entities haven’t files audited financials for 6 years, where asserts have been built at over inflated cost and where even receivables and payables can’t be confirmed, what is the point of even trying to bring anything to book? All you are doing is picking up unsubstantiated figures and saying ” put dat there”

Sorry i understand your point but in real world application here on the rock just an exercise in futility until the above can be rectified. Then again if all this was done our debt to GDP might be 200% who knows. You better left that one out for now.

45. The US dollar is used as a reserve currency by most countries but this is changing especially with the moving away from the gold standard.(Quote)

What is this? Plse explain and stop speaking in code.

46. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal

Have you, like me, run out of patience? Your efforts at explaining fiat money and the printing of money have fallen on deaf ears.

47. My teachers used to say ” even the most hard ears child still can hear the school bell ring” lol

48. @ Vincent.

What you got to do is state your views based on facts and discuss it based on only that criteria, if it degenerates into party loyalty or character assassination just pack you bag and walk out. That way you keep your sanity for another day.

49. @ Vincent,

You got me in one. One person in particular gets me annoyed because of his appalling ignorance. Never thought I would spend my retirement discussing sub GCSE economics with a buffoon.
    My only reason for being on BU is that when future generations ask what we were doing when the country was going down the pan, some eagle-eyed researcher will come across these discussions on BU. Our lack of a written history is one of our big fault lines.
    I am here re-reading Bonham C. Richardson’s Panama Money in Barbados (nearly 50000 men and women, 25 per cent of the population, went off to Panama) and the UK’s parliamentary discussions on the Barbados Independence Bill.
    For the Barrow enthusiasts, it is interesting that the British government published a document in January 1960 on the attributes of independence – ie the bars colonies had to jump. Barrow became prime minister in 1961 (House of Commons Debates Vol 732). Some father of independence. We enjoy myths as much as we wallow in ignorance and pretend how clever we are. The Barrow myth is one of the most convincing.
    @ Vincent, I wrote a feature in Barbados Today on 25/2/14 about the IMF. Have a read.

50. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal

I have long maintained that Frank Walcott is the true father of independence !!!!