Submitted by a concerned party

Just over, two weeks ago LIAT came to its staff seeking a 10% wage reduction to bridge a gap in funding left by Barbados not meeting its funding obligation to the restructuring program.

The unions and staff present laid out several cost cutting and revenue generating programs that the company could use to fill the gap. Many of these recommendations were not new and in fact had been laid out in a CDB report handed to the company since February 2018. To date despite being in a self declared state of emergency the company has implemented none of these measures.

The position of the staff expressed at that meeting and reiterated since is that they do not have any confidence in the present management to manage any recovery and any sacrifices made would be squandered by the same people that put the company in this position in the first place.

The staff collectively made their position known that if there was a replacement of the management team, they would be willing to entertain giving concessions.

This sentiment has been echoed not just by the staff but by the several governments who have indicated publicly and behind the scenes that they would be willing to contribute to the airline if the current management were replaced.

Thus far, the politicians of Antigua and St. Vincent specifically seem inclined to protect the political hacks that they put in place that cow tow to their every demand and that ran the airline into the ground instead of saving what is arguably the only tangible provider of regional connectivity.

Yesterday, after having consulted with its members the Pilots union sent the attached correspondence to the CEO and to the head of the LIAT shareholder governments the Hon. Dr. Ralph Gonsalves.

The Caribbean Development Bank was, in its report of 2018, pellucidly clear as to the devastating effect that a LIAT shutdown would have not just on the tax income of the region and its airports but its wider economies. In the case of Barbados for example, airport user fees on LIAT tickets account for 15% of the airports TOTAL revenue and the situation is worse in many other islands.

Aside from the measurable economic impact, such a shut down would precipitate an unprecedented technical brain drain across the entire region. Pilots, highly trained engineers & mechanics will all scatter and likely not return.

Given that the Eastern Caribbean Civil Aviation Authority and to some extend the Barbados Department of Civil Aviation has always been staffed traditionally by ex LIAT employees (be it pilot or engineer) and its ability to show it is performing compliance inspections and audits is almost entirely tied to its oversight of LIAT, even the future ability of the governments to regulate Aviation in the region is at stake. At a minimum, the OECS’s CAT1 status would be at risk going forward.

The fate of regional air travel is now in the hands of the shareholder governments and they have a choice to make. Should they choose to protect a failed management and demand that staff subsidize incompetence then this will undoubtedly trigger a shut down. Should that occur, they will be forever known as the ones that finally killed LIAT, marring their own legacies as LIAT’s tombstone will forever read;

Here lies LIAT
Facilitator of regional travel
Transporter of generations of West Indians
First on Island in time of natural disaster
Safety Record envied by all
Founded by one man with a vision
Killed by Mia, Ralph and Gaston

98 responses to “LIAT Staff Expresses Lack of Confidence in Executive Management”

1. When I travel say I go to Guyana the price was once $89.00uds then $149 .00usd then now $243 .00 usd ONEWAY , then they tell you must have a return ticket? and we to be CC? If you dont have a stamp in your passport ever for overstaying what is the Problem? You have 6 months? Yet the government of Barbados want all your money to hold so you can change a ticket to $take 50 usd, for a ticket that was 259usd one way!

Use to go to SVG for 80bds one way then went to 80 uds now you looking at 162 to 180 usd , and the Crime Minister say sometimes they take off with one or two people? i already cut my flying down to 1 time a years and not 4 times, Cheaper to fly to the USA and fly right to Guyana and Bypass Barbados for in and out you get hit, cheaper flying from Guyana to Barbados .

2. How did Mia Mottley came to be included with those that killed LIAT?

3. LIAT is essential for travel across the eastern caribbean but is clearly not manged properly. Fares are exorbitant and a change is needed. There is no point throwing good money after bad. Caribbean governments need to take the taxes off LIAT so fares can come down significantly and also phase out subsidising the airline. Let LIAT operate as a low cost airline which has to finance itself. Too mant LIAT flights are half empty or worse. Lowering fares will increase passenger numbers and empty seats can be sold on a first come, first served basis. Every LIAT flight should aim to be full. We need LIAT in the eastern Caribbean but it needs to be reorganised.

4. Why do we make simple things seem so complex. If LIAT is unprofitable, sell it. In any case the IMF should insist on Barbados selling its 49 per cent share holding. Invite international bidders.

5. When it is cheaper to fly 3+ hours to MIA or FLL than to an island half 30-45 minutes away – and ostensibly part of the same geo-political entity – you know that there must something absolutely awry.

6. Waste a time talking about Liat.
    Notice that the same shareholders cant even manage their countries but thought it best to get involved in Aviation
    Now that is a belly laugh

7. @Dullard

The airports have to be funded I.e. generate revenue and or be subsidized.

At the heart of this problem is bad management.

8. @ Blogmaster
    I agree with you.

Now since the mgmt is so poor, why not just bring in some from overseas? We do it with everything else.

I am no aviation expert but surely given its market dominance, LIAT should be able to at least break even??

9. We have to overcome the politics and the Antigua albatross.

10. The airport has yo generate income

Taking that to mean that no matter how many times Liat is mismanaged
    Liat has a right to fleece the customers and taxpayers as well
    That in my mind is highway robbery
    A company that cannot and for the lo many years that have undergo many administrative changes and still cannot get out of the red should file bankruptcy
    Liat is not doing the public or tax payers any favour .
    Never have and never will.

11. LIAT problem is complex. You should try to understand the issues before jumping to a simplistic conclusion. First, regional governments accept that a regional airline is important to ensure travel between the islands. It means therefore all the members of Caricom should be made to contribute, especially those islands no capable of generating the traffic to support profit. Second, LIAT has a large debt burden that has increased over the years. Who will buy LIAT and assume that debt? Nobody!

A few years ago Barbados was exploring starting a new Arline, the issue for Barbados is that we are not a CAT 1 jurisdiction. This is an issue the technocrats need to make their voices heard.

12. David

LIAT is a prime example of an organization which must be owned by a workers’ cooperative, not unlike Mondragon.

13. A few islands contribute to the expense of LIAT. There needs to be a surtax imposed on ticketed passengers disembarking and boarding into and out of islands that have chosen not to carry some of the load but are enjoying the privilege of LIAT service.

Based on how Barbadians, from as far north as St Lucy, are called upon to contribute to a Sewage Tax enjoyed by only those in the south, maybe our tax bandits can think of a suitably named tax to impose on us under the pretext of a LIAT levy as they will show that all Barbadians benefit from LIAT. Isn’t that the way it is done?

14. LIAT should only fly to the islands that pay for it.

We don’t care about the miserable rest. Let them rot and be eaten by cockroaches.

15. @Tron

Is it that simple? Suppose those island stop buying goods and services from Barbados in a retaliatory move? The EC is reported to be our third largest trade partner.

16. Look everything about Liat organisation and adminstration has been going down hill for years
    One would belived that if a company is not making a substantial profit to be capable of self support after many years
    Then the best way forward would be to file bankruptcy
    Many airlines over the years has used such an alternative and reorganized and began with a new page
    It is not fair for govts to be expecting tax payers moneies ( in a time of economic duress) to be paying to prop up an unprofitable airline
    Liat would not be the first or last airline to go under

17. @ David March 22, 2019 9:53 AM

We’re at the long end of the lever. The islands will rot once they have been cut off from the outside world for a month. Then they will come to us on their knees and beg for mercy at the court of our distinguished Prime Minister.

I fully appreciate our Prime Minister’s reluctance to continue subsidising LIAT under these circumstances.

Barbados First!

18. How would LIAT go about filing for bankruptcy given the ramifications of the decision added to the commitment of key members of CARICOM to the airline that it is an important cog in the regional integration wheel?

19. Caricom laws does not supersedes democractic rights
    A company can file bankruptcy if it no longer have the abilty to support itself financially or profitable enough to fulfill its financial obligations

20. LIAT the company is owned by who?

21. Vincent Codrington Avatar

LIAT ,like the Transport Board, has considerations other than economic. Obviously those responsible consider interegional travel more important than the economic cost of subsidization. The only meaningful question is subsidization by how much and by whom. There must be equity in allocating each nation’s contribution. Owning and managing an airline is neither easy or cheap.

22. “Bad management” may be PART of the problem, but I don’t believe it’s the “heart” of the problem.
    Surely you can’t blame “bad management” for high airfares.

Let me give BU an example. The cheapest airfare available travelling to St. Lucia on Saturday, April 6 and returning Friday, April 12, 2019, is BD$661.78.

The following is a breakdown of the airfare:

Airfare to SLU = $120.00
    Taxes & fees = $215.64

Airfare to BGI = $120.00
    Taxes & fees = $206.14

Notice the actual airfare is $240.00 and taxes & fees = $421.78.

And against the background of St. Lucia charging LIAT taxes of US$103.07, PM Chastenet recently repeated his decision that he does not have any immediate intention of St. Lucia investing in LIAT.

I agree LIAT’s operations and its management should be restructured. But the airline is obviously not in a financial position to undertake such a venture. Hence, restructuring would have to be financed off the backs of the shareholder islands’ taxpayers, while the economies of the non-contributing islands will continue to benefit in the process.

Yes, I agree that it’s much cheaper to travel to MIA or FLL than it is to travel inter-regionally. But let’s examine the situation rationally. What variables we’re not considering or are unaware of that makes such travel cheaper? American Eagle, for example, services a diverse market. That airline operates 3,400 flights daily to 240 destinations in the U.S., Canada, the Caribbean and Mexico. When combined with the daily flights offered by parent company AA and other subsidiaries, they offer approximately 14,250 flights per day, to 1,000 destinations in 150 countries. LIAT, on the other hand, services 16 destinations, some of which are unprofitable……. and coupled with the burden of high operating expenses and taxes.

I heard people talk about opening the market to allow other airlines to compete with LIAT. Allan Chastenet has also been making this suggestion, even before he became PM of St. Lucia. Both the former and present St. Lucian administrations expressed they did not have any immediate intention of investing in LIAT.

How many in this forum remember CARIB EXPRESS? This regional airline was conceptualized by a group of former LIAT employees and subsequently established in 1995 to operate a regional service from Barbados. 70% of the shareholdings were held by local investors trading as Trident Holdings; BA 20% and five Caribbean islands held 10%.
    I also recall when CE first experienced financial difficulties, then PM Arthur offered them assistance. He was admonished by regional leaders, who said Barbados was not interested in regional integration, because those funds should have been invested in LIAT. Continuing financial difficulties saw the demise of CE.

Then how about REDjet? This airline began its operations by offering “dirt cheap” airfares, albeit difficulties in obtaining licenses from certain regional governments. REDjet was a brilliant idea, but when one considers high taxes and operating expenses, offering fares at US$50 was unsustainable.

Caribbean Star and Caribbean Sun, which were owned by Allen Stanford, gave LIAT “stiff” competition in their “early stages” of operations. I remember Caribbean Star offering low airfares, causing LIAT to reduce their fares. Eventually, Stanford “sold” both airlines to LIAT.

Supposed LIAT is sold. What would prevent its new owners from allowing the market to determine airfares, unless regional governments are prepared to reduce taxes and offer subsidies?

23. How about bad management by shareholders to make it clearer. The word management is used with the generic meaning.

24. Mariposa

It is obvious your comments about LIAT are not based on any formal knowledge or understanding of the topic….. but because you think you should comment on everything.

Your comment re: “Caricom laws does not supersedes democractic rights. A company can file bankruptcy if it no longer have the abilty to support itself financially or profitable enough to fulfill its financial obligations,”………

…….. proves you are “punching above your weight.”

Sometimes TheOGazerts “says” some topics are above his knowledge (which I don’t believe) and he would decide not offer any comments.

I believe you should take example from him and “sit this one out.”

25. Yes, “bad management by shareholders makes your opinion much clearer. Add insularity of Antiguan governments who seem to believe LIAT should benefit Antigua ALONE.

…………majority employees should be Antiguans…….

…………LIAT’s headquarters should be based in Antigua……

…………..and Gaston Browne, whose first priority on being elected PM of Antigua, was to promising he will make sure Antigua becomes the controlling shareholder in the airline.

26. Employee having no confidence
    Flying public having no confidence
    Cant get other Caricom members to become shareholders
    That is enough to tell that Shareholders govts are dabbling in shite which has grown to fowl shite leaving a stinking odor all over the places and a mess which should be cleaned up and got rid of.
    Steupse

27. “That is enough to tell that Shareholders govts are dabbling in shite which has grown to fowl shite leaving a stinking odor all over the places and a mess which should be cleaned up and got rid of.”

Hmmmmm……….

Interesting comment….. and I agree.

But….. I know how you duz operate…….. yuh know yuh can’t absolve Freundel and Richard Sealy of any blame.

28. If LIAT were a private enterprise it would have been sold or wound up long ago…. And its planes scrapped for parts…
    Could probably extract more value that way.

My thing is this. If the purpose of LIAT is more than to make money – and it clearly is – then stop moaning about the financial demands on the shareholders and pay up. Otherwise do what needs to be done to make it work.

LIAT is just another dysfunctional Caribbean project where insularity and incompetence complicate an otherwise straightforward endeavor.

See recent West Indies Cricket team, any number of regional trade bodies, etc.

The only pan-regional organisation that seems to work as it should is UWI. But even that is more like 3 separate universities which share a common name and some other admin, strategic and governance functions.

29. @Dullard

See Vincent’s comment which sums up the predicament shareholders find themselves.

30. Look Liat was a good initiative which has gone wrong
    Nothing wrong with shareholder govts saying they gave their best shot but nothing seems to be working
    Maybe shareholder govts can hire financial advisors that handle investments who can show them the way forward in capatalising on Liat through outsider investors/ sharholders internationally or locally
    It is not fair that shareholder givts are relying on taxpayers money to help bail out Liat evertime they have an economic problem

31. Vincent Codrington Avatar

It simply is not a management problem. Management is doing the best it can with the financial resources at its disposal. Perhaps management need to share with the pilots and staff the difficulties they experience on a daily basis. The fact that LIAT is still flying to me is a miracle. Just take a look around the world at the rate of closures in the airline industry.
    I have no inside information. My views are based on the size of the inter -regional travel market and the cost structures of small plane operations.

32. @Vincent The use of the word management was explained. LIAT is flying because it has been able to make a call on shareholders in times of serious financial need. We can discuss the selection of the ATRs on another occasion.

33. Mr. Codrington

LIAT’s problems go beyond management.

One contributor suggested “LIAT should be operated as a low coat carrier, which has to finance itself,” while “every LIAT flight should aim to be full.”

Let’s be rational and realistic. As David BU correctly mentioned, LIAT’s problems are complex. The airline is not a mini bus or ZR that leaves the terminal when there’re full. If a passenger decides to get out of a ZR to board another one or for any other reason, another passenger takes his place.

When a passenger books a flight and he/she miss the flight due to illness, lateness or for some other unforeseen circumstance, there isn’t anyone “fielding in slips” to take that passenger(s) place. So, the aircraft leaves without them. Then we must consider flights servicing four destinations. For example, a flight from Barbados to Antigua, via Dominica and Guadeloupe. There may be a situation where that flight leaves BGI to pick up passengers in DOM and PTP who are going to ANU. Or set down and pick up a specific amount of passengers in each island….. and that flight, although leaving BGI “half empty,” may arrive in ANU “full.”

There are reasons why flights are “combined.” Insufficient aircrafts and the number of passenger bookings are two reasons I could think of at this time.

Each time a LIAT flight delays, especially at night, the airline has to “foot” the overtime bill for Immigration, Customs, aircraft and luggage handlers etc. So, obviously, if there is a delay in a flight from SLU to SVG, on its way to BGI, then LIAT has to pay overtime in SVG and BGI.

34. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Artax at 2 :15 PM

@ David BU at 1 :32 PM

I think we are all three on all fours with this one. At least ,I think so. I am quite aware of the logistics of trying to reduce the costs of operations while aiming to keep on schedule. That is why I noted the difficulties of management.

35. The connection made by the author between the fortune of LIAT and the CAT1 OECS designation is interesting.

36. Georgie Porgie Avatar

In 1974 during my first Christmas holidays as a student in Jamaica, I spent a few weeks in the home of a Canadian who was a member of the church I attended. He had been seconded to Air Jamaica by Air Canada to look into the affairs of Air Jamaica.

Because Air Jamaica at the time had shares in Liat, he was sent down to the Carribean to investigate Liat, which was even at the time having financial problems secondary to the oil crisis of 1973, inter alia.

He told me that the main problem with Liat was that because an aeroplane uses much of its fuel in taking off, he didnt think that Liat would be viable, because of its frequency of taking off in its island hoping.

Perhaps that is what caused Air Jamaica to give up its interest in Liat at that time. I dont know.
    Perhaps Liat is punching above the weight for which it was initially designed- i.e for travel in the Leeward Islands.

37. Vincent Codrington Avatar

GP at 5:26 PM

I concur.. There are economies of scale for long haul large airplanes that are not available to short haul Island hopping small planes.

38. @ Tee White

“…Let LIAT operate as a low cost airline which has to finance itself.

Too many LIAT flights are half empty or worse.

Lowering fares will increase passenger numbers and empty seats can be sold on a first come, first served basis…”

You must be banned from Barbados Underground FOREVER!!

Such intelligent conversation in fact, having simplified it so that the People and the Sheeple reading it can understand this IS PLAIN OUT TREASON!!

To think that you would recomment a self sustaining business!!

To think then that you would suggest that planes should not transport “ghost riders” ESPECIALLY CONSIDERING THAT WE ARE KILLING BAJANS EVERY DAY TO FILL THOSE PLANES!!

To even suggest that the costs of the tickets are too high and that the damn airline should think volume as opposed to big price to pay de Software company running de sales in Australia IS PLAIN SEDITION

You have to be related to Sydney Burnett Alleyne as evidenced by these gun unning ideas about self sufficiency

Your citizenship has been immediately revoked and you are to submit your passport to the nearest Police Station preferably the same one where Charles Herbert is supposed to be reporting every Wednesday

If you are unsue of that station please check with our British Colleague Mr Hal Austin

39. @ Dullard

You also need to be banned as is Hal

Imagine saying “…Now since the mgmt is so poor, why not just bring in some from overseas? We do it with everything else….”

You would be well advised to check with LIAT management about such an attempt.

The one that I knew about went decidedly south and at one point the imported manager had to flee for his life.

40. As a regular user of LIAT who has seen an improvement in punctuality over the last 18 months or so, I am absolutely convinced that we need an airline for travel in the eastern Caribbean.

However, given the real complexities of making such an airline effective, which have been so clearly outlined by Artax in particular, we are still left with the challenge of what to do. I think that those who think that some private operator is the answer may be grasping at straws. Private operators will not run routes that they don’t see as profitable, regardless of how socially necessary they might be. That is why, there are so many buses on the Bridgetown-Speightstown route but you will struggle to get transport outside of peak hours if you live in a more remote area. And on top of that, if the region wants private operators to run such routes because they are socially needed, the private operators will demand that the governments subsidise them just like the big international airlines currently do under the minimum revenue guarantee schemes that are running throughout the Caribbean. By the way, it seems impossible to find out from any governmemt which airlines are being given taxpayers’ money under these schemes and how much they are receiving each year.

I still don’t see the logic in taxing LIAT so heavily, then to turn round and give the money back to the airline in subsidies. Maybe, we need to hear from workers within LIAT, administrators, technical staff, pilots, cabin crew and all the others so that we can better get our heads around this problem.

41. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

LIAT? we know about its troubles and what it doesn’t do and what it does do. I want to look at transportation within the Caricom or Eastern Caribbean area as a whole in the region.

If we have an effective sea service between some of these island will that make LIAT aircraft services less essential.

I know not everyone likes the sea. I was in Martinique a few years back and was told i can visit St. Lucia or Guadeloupe quite easily and the least expensive way to get there was via the ferry. The fast ferry service was available and allowed for larger luggage etc.

Right now its almost most impossible to travel from islands to island quickly via the sea. Thus LIAT is about the only way to get to these islands in a quickish manner. Let us separate the travelling public into the necessary categories. The business traveller, the vacation traveller; etc. Now we can see if the correct balance between the air and sea travel can be arranged. If this works well the size of LIATs air(fleet) for regional transport scheme should be smaller and more likely to be less costily or even profitable.

I am suggesting that the transport solution for travellers in the EC regional should be a combination of aircraft and sea craft. The optimal number of each craft will work itself out as the travellers movement profiles settle down and the air and sea fleet and their respective schedules are arrived at.

Just suggesting

42. The ferry idea is an excellent idea

As long as you can determine (i) immigration protocols (ii) the type of vessel to be used, where it can land i.e. the points of egress and embarcation (iii) Customs and Immigration regulations and (iv) if it will permit vehicle transportation (insurance and licensing issues) that idea would facilitate major intra island activity

It may even create the catalyst for a really functioning CARICOM

I going ask the New Honourable Blogmaster to Ban You because you are submitting good ideas, even though purported to be a DLP?, and such undermines the smooth running of the Barbados Underground Website

And if you submit any followup commentary that is equally useful you shall receive the parting words of Foopabasti You-um Causum you-um too Brightum

43. i dont see why the gov of barbados has to own any of liat to subsidize it. get out of ownership. decide how much we are willing to pay towards any passenger flying into barbados. ownership has an unlimited downside, subsidy is limited and easily adjusted, maybe by the time of day, or day of the week etc. in business the fewer partners generally the better, any partnership with a govt generally ends badly, a partnership with several governments is destined to fail.

44. Barbados may have been driven to take up the greatest equity stake in the past because of the value of LIAT to intransit service to EC sites. This was before many of those islands upgraded their airports.

45. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

The single government with the largest ferry and the largest economy IS CHINA

Undertake a harmonization of seaport embarcations and disembarcations AND rationalize cross border insurance and driver licenses in the designated ports AND DEAL WITH THE DRUGLORD TRANSHIPPING OF DRUGS IN VEHICLES and this LIAT PROBLEM IS SOLVED

46. Let’s backup a few years and re-visit when LIAT was purchasing a new fleet of aircraft. I recall numerous comments, mine included, that were of the opinion that the purchase of the present fleet was not appropriate for LIATS operations, frequency, passenger loads, distances etc. Comments by Piece and others noting LIAT flying between destination half empty, well if you fly an Airbus A380 between two closely located airports and the total population at said airports is less than the A380 seats available this is forecast loads. I remember the days when LIAT flew Twin Otters and passenger loads were always 80% per flight.

Upper LIAT MANAGEMENT SHAREHOLDERS wanted a brand new prestigious aircraft for bragging rights, well if you buy gold someone has got to pay. Willy however is not prepared to help pay for local political gloating.

Let the F___’n airline collapse, private enterprise will step in with an appropriate service if there is money to be made. If money cannot be made then the viability of such a service must be questioned.

47. Look govt can put their shares on the open stock market for sale. They are private investors who would bite
    Liat managment problems would not go away until politics is removed

48. Do you understand or even try how LIAT the company is setup?

49. The problem with u is that u havent got the abilty to think outside the box and go to the heart of reality
    Your mind is stuck in a sandbox of antiquated impossibilities triggered by politics of an era gone by beliving you are so f..king smart
    Are u trying to imply that govt hands are tied to using tax payers money to a problem that is costing tax payers million of dollars with no end in sight
    Is that what u are implying

50. @David

“Do you understand or even try how LIAT the company is setup?”

This is an excellent question, you might want to ask yourself this question and fully evaluate. This is the fundamental issue, how and why. Please report when you’ve fully evaluated and PLEASE CUT OUT ALL THE SOCIAL RETORIC issues as this only clouds the BLACK BEGGER problem.

The majority of the supposed independent states need to understand that thier SOCIAL experiments of governance are non-functional, PETER IS FEED UP FEEDING PAUL.