The health of nations is more important than the wealth of nations.
-Will Durant
Chief Medical Officer of Barbados Dr. Kenneth George was quoted in the news recently his concern about the rise of Non Communicable Diseases (NCDs). He singled out hypertension commonly referred to as the silent killer.
His intervention on the vexing issue of the high incidence of NCDs should give the country pause. A scan of the 2019-2020 Draft Estimates (TABLE 5) confirms what we know, taxpayers for another year will be asked to finance a significant national health budget allocation. Several years on if an honest assessment were to be made the conclusion has to be, we MUST change our health policy. In other words, Prime Minister Mia Mottley and Minister Jeffery Bostic- the country has not only descended into the economic doldrums, please add the health of citizens.
Barbadians have enthusiastically ingested the fast food culture exported from the Great White North. There is a generation weaned on Chefette and KFC menus. A typical pastime on social media is to be on the lookout for the ‘specials. The consumption behaviour of fast food will not change anytime soon. We should expect the ramification of the addiction to remove a large slice from national budget pie.
Under normal circumstances the adage that “the most important part of solving a problem is to know” will not apply. We have crossed the Rubicon. To impose a fat tax – call it what you want – will cause a sitting government to lose at the next general election. It is that serious.
Instead we prefer to glamorize obesity and blame a busy lifestyle which does not permit finding one hour to cook a meal.
Instead we prefer to glamorised oversized men and women to justify that to engage in an unhealthy lifestyle is acceptable because we are too busy doing some irrelevant activity.
Our health is not important enough to make time. Read the excuses now!
The blogmaster is not so naive to disregard the right of individuals to do as they please within the bounds of the law. However, if the errant behaviour will increase my tax contribution there is a good argument that those intent on feeding a negative lifestyle should pay a disproportionate the tax contribution.
HEALTH IS WEALTH…
http://corncorps.ilcorn.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/img_1938.jpg
YOU CANNOT KEEP TAXING OUR NATION INTO OBLIVION!!
https://www.brainyquote.com/photos_tr/en/c/calvincoolidge/108015/calvincoolidge1-2x.jpg
Apologies for double post
@ GP at 2:59 PM
Pellucidly clear. I gotcha!.
The Minister of Ed. was all over the news recently was children’s nutrition mentioned? Perhaps it only becomes a priority when some Health mandarin brings it up and it is never in the context of building from the ground up, it is always about removing fertilizer from mature trees.
@ David BU
The public is adequately informed. We need to give agriculture the support it needs.
We also need to lead by example. Are the messengers slim and trim?
Will digitization reduce the movements of homo sapiens as he goes about his daily chores?
I agree with GP . What is triggering the fat gene?
I hope you BU are not looking for another tax base to reduce the deficit. Do you remember what happened to the last Barbadian MoF that taxed lettuce leaves?
THIS IS FOR DONNA AND DAME PAT
I AM SURE THEY WILL USE THIS IN THEIR “WITNESS” AND SOCIAL ADVISING
About 8 years ago I was teaching a Biochem class on metabolism to medical students.
One of the students had been a nurse and she asked a question based on something she had observed when alcoholics were taken off alcohol suddenly, i.e that they would collapse.
Why was this she asked? I did not know for it was not in any of the standard Biochem texts.
i promised to research it and answer her on the following day. The powerpoint I made on alcohol and its metabolism has already been published right here on BU a few crop overs ago.
Essentially .IF YOU DRINK ALCOHOL IT WILL BE CONVERTED IN THE LIVER TO ACETYLCOa IN PART ONE OF ITS METABOLISM.
IN PART TWO &THREE OF ITS METABOLISM THE ACETYLCOa GOES THROUGH THE KREBS CYCLE & OXIDATIVE PHOSPHORYLATION TO MAKE ATP, I.E THE BODY’S ENERGY CURRENCY. ATP IS LIKE THE BODY’S DOLLAR BILLS
Alcoholics taken off alcohol suddenly ARE SUDDENLY DEPRIVED OF THEIR ENERGY SOURCE. they can not produce any ATP THEIR BODY’S DOLLAR BILLS
IN THE POWER POINT I UPLOADED HERE YEARS AGO I FURTHER SHOWED HOW EXCESS ACETYLCOa DERIVED FROM ALCOHOL CAN “ADD UP” TO FORM FAT AND CAUSE A FATTY LIVER WHICH LEADS EVENTUALLY TO CIRRHOSIS OF THE LIVER
IT EXPLAINS ALSO THE AETIOLOGY OR BALL BY BALL DESCRIPTION OF HOW HEAVY DRINKERS GET WHAT IS CALLED A “BEER BELLY” AND HOW THEY GET CIRHOSIS OF THE LIVER AND DIE
SHOULD WE PUT A FAT TAX ON ALCOHOL TO START?
DONNA AND VINCENT
STEPS 1 & 2 ARE SUMMARIZED IN A PPT IN MEDICAL CORNER AS DAME PAT SAID, EVEN THOUGH NOT THE DETAILS ON ACETYL CO A METABOLISM
WHEN YA WANT TO READ YA HAVE TO KNOW A B C
WHEN YA WANT TO COUNT YA HAVE TO KNOW 1 2 3
WHEN YA WANT TO SING YA HAVE TO KNOW DOH RAY ME
WHEN YA WANT TO DISCUSS METABOLISM YA HAVE TO KNOW ABOUT ACETYLCOA!
UH LIE?
WHEN YOU SEE THE DUMMIES TEACH THEM THIS
IM A SECOND BUT A DAMN GOOD TEACHER WHEN I READY. MURDAH
ITS BOUT TIME THEY NAME A CLINIC AFTER ME TOO MURDAH!
I LOVE TO MOCK IN THE RUM SHOP
Where does alcoholic cardiomyopathy play in your analysis?
Do you agree a comprehensive education program is required?
The personal view is that we are a people addicted to an irrelevant lifestyle?
There is the political component which says the establishment contributes to political parties therefore where is the motive to change the damn system?
It does not look good.
VINCENT
MY CONCERNS ABOUT THE USE OF METABOLITES USED IN THE KREBS CYCLE AS PRESERVATIVES IS THAT IN THE KREBS CYCLE, THESE METABOLITES ARE EITHER VERY QUICKLY CONVERTED TO THE NEXT METABOLITE IN THE CYCLE, OR ARE SYPHONED OF FROM THE CYCLE AS A STARTING METABOLITE FOR ANOTHER PATHWAY OR IMPORTANT BODY CHEMICAL
COULD IT BE POSSIBLE THAT THE CONCENTRATION OF KREBS CYCLE INTERMEDIATES USED AS PRESERVATIVES IS MUCH TOO HIGH IN THE BODY?
COULD IT BE POSSIBLE THAT THE CONCENTRATION OF KREBS CYCLE INTERMEDIATES USED AS PRESERVATIVES ARE BEING USED AS A STARTING METABOLITE FOR ANOTHER PATHWAY OR IMPORTANT BODY CHEMICAL, BUT ARE DOING SO AND THEREBY CAUSING TOXIC LEVELS LEADING TO DISEASES?
I DONT KNOW……BUT I THINK ABOUT IT A LOT
Q Where does alcoholic cardiomyopathy play in your analysis?
A IN YOUR BALLS…….IF YOU HAVE ANY…..YA IRRITANT.
WHAT IS THE DIRECTION TO GET TO THE MOON. HOW MANY RIGHT TURNS TO YOU HAVE TO MAKE TO GET THERE?
I AM GLAD THAT I HAVE NEVER HAD TO DEAL WITH A MED STUDENT AS STUPID AND IGNORANT AS YOU
Vincent Codrington March 12, 2019 3:33 PM
“@ David BU
The public is adequately informed. We need to give agriculture the support it needs.”
WITH ALL THE TALK BY GOVERNMENT ABOUT THE IMPORTANCE OF THE AGRICULTURE SECTOR; ARE YOU AWARE THAT A WHOPPING 1% OF THE BUDGET IS ALLOCATED TO AGRICULTURE… MAYBE WE WILL HEAR ABOUT IT IN THE BUDGET NEXT WEDNESDAY OR MAYBE NOT!!
WHEN WILL WE LEARN???
https://i.pinimg.com/originals/ff/60/8e/ff608e4e223b071e58e4e04b87d5a131.jpg
Are there numbers for NCD occurrence globally?
despite all the talk, fast foods and their contents plus lack of exercise have contributed to the growth of a society of fat people in Bim. china before KFC was a relatively slim pop now the chinese around KFCs and their environ are huge and ginormous like mid western americans. unnuh know what i mean. dem big fat whoopsy American yuh doz see in the malls wid the buckets of fast food around duh necks.
unnuh could argue all type of crap but the fast foods have a lot to do with it. when i was growing up there was the odd big boned person but now almost all of bim fat or near pleasingly plump getting to stout before becoming big berthas.
a sunday i was in oistins wondering why on a weekend around 1pm traffic was backed up. the cause- people ordering at the KFC and Cheffette drive thru. on a bloody sunday after church or wherever. man if i had a woman or wife who on a sunday in Bim could served me anything from those places i would be divorced as fast as you could say MAM swoopsy.
Talking about MAM. how could any self respecting govt talk about the big boned crisis in Bim wid MAM as a leader. wait ..bee christ duh in got nuh shame
wuh look at Sinckler… before he introduced the sugar tax he dropped about 70 lbs
Q Do you agree a comprehensive education program is required?
A YES…I CAN JUST IMAGINE HASSELL DOING IT, BUT HE DONT HAVE NO CLINICS NAMED AFTER HIM, AND HE HAS NEVER WORKED IN THE USA AS FAR AS I KNOW. AND HE WAS NOT A FIRST EITHER LOL MURDAH
OK I KNOW GET MIA AND THE MINISTER TO DO IT
IN 1994 I SUGGESTED TO THE MORON FIRST APPOINTED AS MINISTER OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT HOW HE SHOULD SET ABOUT RELATING ALL OF THE OTHER MINISTRIES
TO RURAL DEVELOPMENT. NOW WE NEED a comprehensive education program?
I WENT SO FAR AS TO HOOK HIM UP TO DR COLIN HUDSON, WHO HE PUT ON THE BOARD…………COLIN SOON QUIT
DAVID GET THIS GREENE FELLA TO DO THE TEACHING——ANOTHER KNOW IT ALL.
I KNOW MANY FOLK THAT EAT VERY LITTLE THAT ARE GAINING WEIGHT
I KNOW MANY FOLK THAT HAVE BEEN EATING LESS AND LESS AND ARE STILL THAT ARE GAINING WEIGHT
I THINK THEY MAY HAVE PRIDER-WILLI OR ALCOHOLIC CARDIOMYOPATHY
GP you are too easily distracted by outlier comments. Some here are willing to be educated, others will go with the anecdotal. Such is life!
Greene
But don’t you think that people are less active today than they were 40 years ago? And have you factor in the invention Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter etc, as contributory to this epidemic of obesity?
so GP, would you recommend lot of fast foods to that person who is gaining weight whilst eating little?
cos it stands to reason if they are gaining from eating little they could lose weight by eating more and the more of the worst foods(fast) the better ent?
uh mean after all guns dont kill people do
“I know many folks that eat very little that are gaining weight”
I am sure you do … if their parents were both 400 lb they ought to gain weight just by look at food… doesn’t gaining weight easily has a genetic component if both parents are/ or were overweight?..
And have you studied the Pica Disorder or haven’t you heard of it?
GP you are too easily distracted by outlier comments. NOT DISTRACTED AT ALL I JUST LIKE TO DEAL WITH DUMMIES ACCORDINGLY
Some here are willing to be educated, I WONDER SOME TIMES DAVID
I TEND NOT TO SUFFER FOOLS GLADLY
PEOPLE WHO ARE WILLING TO LEARN ASK SENSIBLE QUESTIONS OR THEY SHUT UP AND LISTEN
BUT I GUESS I HAVE SPENT MOST OF MY LIFE AROUND SMART PEOPLE
Such is life!
I AM TRYING TO GET TO WHERE THE RUBBER MEETS THE ROAD FOR THOSE WHO ARE REALLY willing to be educated,
GREENE & FENTY
WHEN AN ASS BREEDS AN ASS THE OFFSPRING IS NOT A THOROUBRED BUT AN ——————-RIGHT?
Have heard of the Ockham’s Razor Principle? You must try it in your approach to educate the uneducated…
@Lexicon
One more time, share your comment and forget GP. Is your head so hard that he does not want to interact with you?
Dr GP
All jokes aside and in all seriousness, would you, as a bim scholar and one of the more renown physicians and knowledgeable persons in the world and mars, recommend foods we term as fast to any of your patients assuming that you see patients?
@ my fellow myope Dr GP
Several years ago I had to do a presentation and I previously used to use PowerPoint
I then was exposed to Emaze and well barring more sophisticated tools for other assignments, de ole man does not use PowerPoint or Keynote any longer
My suggestion to you is this.
The content of your PowerPoint is good BUT I HUMBLY SUGGEST THAT YOU DO A LIKKLE SUMTING with the icing on the cake.
Hire an upwork specialist to nice up your work and submit the items again
I personally love animations because they convey the message more profoundly. Animation and voice.
The right presentation can work wonders.
As we are on the topic of hypertension … if hypertension does not have a genetic component you can control it with diet, exercise and stress control …
I have met many people here who have done it and are now in their 70s and 80s … and these people believe it or not were once on medication therapy for their high blood pressure … Remember … a doctor has to pin a diagnosis on you or how else he or she is going to make money to pay for his or her extravagant lifestyle?
PIECE
THANKS FOR YOUR SUGGESTION BUT I DONT HAVE MONEY TO HIRE A SOUL
PIECE
DO YOU KNOW HOW TO SET UP MOODLE?
THIS EMAZE THING LOOKS AMAZING BUT I DONT MAKE MONEY ON MY PRESENTATIONS TO EMPLOY IT
I WANTED TO UPLOAD ALL MY PPTS ON ALL THE SUBJECTS IN THE PRECLINICAL MEDICAL COURSE AND SET UP A PRECLINICAL SCHOOL BUT I HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO FIND SOME ONE WITH MOODLE TO SET UP THINGS FOR ME
Sarge if they ban your list all the truck vendors will be outa business as you well now bajans like weight as well as taste….you may not live longer if you stop those meals but it will seem longer. But I can see the ministries point a buddy of mine was having some problems in the bedroom his wife told him to get some viagra but he got her a treadmill instead.
@FC
“Every six months the ministry of health will come out with new crises to justify their existence and say we are to blame. ”
In the interest of full disclosure, you should let us know if you have interest in a fast food/burger/roti shop.
Q Is it the food preservatives, lack of exercise, pollution all of the above?
A MAYBE all of the above!
I HAVE NOTICED THAT FOLK WHO EXERCISE COCK UP AND DEAD TOO—–AND SOME OF THESE EXERCISERS DEAD YOUNG TOO!
Lawson – the Lexicon of jokes
Q IS IT POSSIBLE THAT THE BARBADOS GOVERNMENT IS TRYING TO FOLLOW SOME OF THE BULL SHIT BEING ESPOUSED BY IDIOTS IN THE USA LIKE AOC?
WILL WE SOON BE BANNING FARTING COWS AND PIGS?
NO MORE BEEF STEW OR PORK CHOPS?
We are well aware of the dangers of cigarettes smoking, but because of the economics attached to cigarettes …we pretend that the dangers do not exist …
And what is so troubling to me is the fact that second hand smoke can impact your health … so I don’t even want to envision what cigarettes smokers have waiting for them later …
Despite the dangers associated with cigarettes smoking in America…heart disease is still the leading cause of death in America…
Why GP … because of the high fat western diet … and why do you think that China and Japan have very little cardiovascular disease? Since you think that the government of Barbados is following the bullshit of America…
Have ever watch an Asians eating? … whenever an Asian eat don’t matter what it is … he or she does so with a fruit or a vegetable …
https://www.facebook.com/barbadosheartandstroke/videos/2174471995916678/
GO TO https://barbadosunderground.net/2010/07/23/a-drug-humankind-has-been-socialized-to-imbibe/comment-page-1/ FOR MY PPT ON ALCOHOL METABOLISM FROM 2010
We have to be concerned about the amount of fat we consume in our diet even though some fat is necessary for optimal health, however, about a decade again my father was diagnosed with prostate cancer and this set me on a course to find out all I can about disease. And I must say without much ambiguity that during my many hours at the library reseaching everything there was to know about this disease … My research led me to a high fat diet as one of the primary causes of prostate cancer.
Isn’t it remarkable that very few people of color apply for licenses to sell legal marijuana.
“Gentrification” of your drug pushers????
And if you had a record for sale/possession of marijuana, you cannot apply for a license.
THAT WAS A GREAT DISCUSSION BACK THEN IN 2010 ON ALCOHOL
DID NOT REALIZE IT WAS SO LONG AGO
NO JACK ASSES IN DE ROOM THEN IT SEEMS
In the vedio the young lady stressed the importance of make the young of Barbados aware of good dietary choices, but what I did not hear in the vedio was the importance of diet and exercise the both of them goes hand in glove.
If you eat right and fail to exercise what good that does for the heart which is muscle … which needs to be strengthen during exercise …?
AOC has come under the microscope of GP.It means she is shaking up those thar white crakkas in Congress and those thar red States along with the Orange Turd under whose watch morality is on the decline,the trade deficit has increased,the trade balance with China and the rest of the World has ballooned and not decreased as lied by the Turd and the National Debt has ballooned.The increases in tax breaks given to the top 1% by the Turd has blown up in his face.AOC,Omar and the young congresswomen is opening a new chapter in Governance USA.The man called the head of Apple, Tim Scott,Tim Apple and then denied he did so.When confronted both he and the Not-so-pleasant-to- look- at Sarah Huckabee denied he said Tim Apple.GP is no better than Sean Hannity and Tucker Carlson when it comes to politics USA.
RE AOC has come under the microscope of GP.It means she is shaking up those thar white crakkas in Congress and those thar red States along with the Orange Turd unde
THIS IS A CLEAR NON SECQUITUR
AOC IS AN ASS PURE AND SIMPLE
BUT THE TOPIC IS FAT TAXES GABRIEL FAT TAX FAT TAX FAT TAX GOT IT YET GABRIEL
FAT TAX
Fat Tax with Ms Mottley as spokesperson.
Huh?
Ok
Fake news..
DID WE USE PRESERVED FOOD IN THE PAST?
DID WE HAVE A HIGH PERCENTAGE OF OBESE FOLK THEN?
MAYBE WE SHOULD TAX PRESERVED FOODS?
The art of good PR is often “deflection” or “distraction”. If the real culprit are these “bad boys” it will be expected to point the finger at other things. If you really think of it the use of many of these chemicals were much lower in the foods we ate as children as these foods were often very close to the source with little refinement taking place before we ate them.
As a child in primary school i ate the occasional pack of salted nuts or corn curls. These items where seen as treats that your parents allowed you to have. On my limited budget i consumed as much free treats as possible. Thus ackee, mangoes; plums coocounts, and any fruits that was available were my on my list. These fruits where eaten straight from the source bird picked and bruised in all.
Today many children ate eating foods and snacks that are refined and probably containing those bad boys.
Thank you GP, i have learn something that i probably should have been told years ago by those that cared about my health.
A tax on the wrong things will not solve the health ailment but may surely solve a financial/revenue ailment that the GOB has right now.
The inability of the medical community to find a cure for cancer is intentional
… because with a ballooning world population, and in a world of limited resources … cancer is one methods employed to keep the world’s population in check..
Another legal method employed to keep the American population is check is through legalize kills through Hospice Care in hospitals, nursing homes and living facilities …. doctors in America do not think twice about prescribing hospice medication for the elderly in care facilities….
@March 11, 2019 11:23 PM “DOES THE KNOW IT ALL JACKASS KNOW THAT Prader-Willi Syndrome. IS AN INBORN ERROR OF METABOLISM AND THAT THE OBESITY CAUSED THEREIN IS ASSOCIATED WITH weak muscles, poor feeding, Beginning in childhood, the person becomes constantly hungry, which often leads to obesity.”
Yes the jackass knew all this BEFORE you entered university.
@ Lexicon,
What is dyslexia?
Hal Austin
Dyslexia…? I am not quite sure, but I read somewhere Albert Einstein the world’s greatest intellect suffered with dyslexia, and perhaps that probably is what made him the world’s greatest intellect Hal?
I work with a white fella who has dyslexia and he reads backwards so I am not doing to back Hal….
Hal Austin
I have a question for you brother: what has dyslexia to do with Fermat’s Last Theorem?
the o yeah they dont apply for legal distribution because they dont want to take a drop in pay.
Sorry about your dyslexia lexicon…. but at least now you have a chance at spelling some big words right
@Lexicon
“We have to be concerned about the amount of fat we consume”
This is misleading. The traditional Eskimo diet is high in saturated fat and they had lower rates of heart disease and other NCDs (until they started adopting the western diet)
The type of fats matter. Also the ratio of essential fatty acids. The western diet features an omega 6 to omega 3 ratio of 15:1 or higher (omega 6 is heavily featured in processed foods). Guess what is the best source of omega 3…. the kind of fish the Eskimos eat. Our grandparents where right to force us to take shark oil and cod liver oil.
There is a positive correlation between omega 3 and LDL particle size. Large LDL particles do not clog arteries, it is the small dense ones.
You suggested that LDL is bad, it is not. The LDL measurement in blood tests only gives the amount in the blood, it does not say whether the LDL is small dense particles or large fluffy ones. See the article below for more information
https://www.bmj.com/content/347/bmj.f6340/rr/669222
GP,
Thanks! Suffering from brain fatigue at present. Will save the link for a better time. All I’m good for right now is the daily drivel.
How about rice. flour . butter ..pork. Pigtail nuff fat there for sure.. Dumpling. Oh lord the list and my favourite bakes
@ Lexicon,,
You still have not said (defined) what is dyslexia.
Your overlord the donald for the first time since entering the WH made a decision that every household will approve.After all nations of the world made a decision to ban the Boeing Max from their skies the donald issued an executive order banning the aircraft type from the US skies as well.
” The Barbados Water Authority (BWA) is experiencing problems at its Carlton Pumping Station which have resulted in this facility currently being offline.”
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/238862/bwa-carlton-pumping-station-offline
RE
Your overlord the donald for the first time since entering the WH made a decision that every household will approve
THAT IS VERY VERY GOOD GABRIEL
NOW WHEN WILL MIA MAO MUGABE MUTTLEY THE PRIMEWICKER AND DICTATOR DO THE SAME?
@ Gabriel March 13, 2019 4:04 PM
Did you see who got a grounding first? Exactly, the Chinese Empire.
It shows the new world order. I only hope that our Preminier Minister has the foresight to court China. We don’t need Chinese workers in Barbados, we need billionaires who buy Sir Charles’ huts in Port Saint Charles and on the monkey hill at inflated prices.
We have to do everything humanly possible to look good with the Chinese. We can expect nothing more from the Americans, at most a sentence against this former minister …
Cant wait till Mia introduce tbis Fat Tax and on the face of it tells bajans that she is skinny
But truth be told many would belive her
Yesterday for the first time i thought that “The Donald” was listening to America’s civil servants; specifically those at the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), and the NTSB (National Transportation Safety Board) The American civil service includes many smart, thoughtful, hard working, well educated people.
The politicians, including he President should listen to, and act on the advice of these servants of the people.
Donald was late to the game, after all most of the world had banned the 737’s the US was left to internal flights or destinations that couldn’t say no (Are you listening Barbados?). Donald was also facing a mutiny by Airline pilots who were furious that when the plane was launched Boeing didn’t update them about the new software that was installed (According to Boeing it didn’t want to intimidate them with information) as well as Washington politicians who fly home every weekend and were asking their staff to ensure that they weren’t booked on the 737.
For Donald it is better late than never, BTW these decisions are always FAA but “Big Brain” Donald pontificating as if he knows anything about airline safety, for Donald it is always about him.
DONALD KNOWS NOTHING ABOUT AIRPLANES OR AIR SAFETY
SARGEANT AND GABRIEL AND OTHERS DO
BUT
DONALD OWNS AN AIRPLANE
AH LIE?
DONALD IS A MORON HE IS AN IDIOT HE KNOWS NOTHING ABOUT ANYTHING
BUT
DONALD IS POTUS AND SAID TO BE THE MOST POWERFUL MAN IN THE WORLD
WHO EXACTLY ARE SARGEANT AND GABRIEL AND THE OTHERS WHO HATE AND SCOFF AT DONALD?
DONALD IS A MORON HE IS AN IDIOT HE KNOWS NOTHING ABOUT ANYTHING
BUT
DONALD AS POTUS JUST GAVE AN ORDER AND WIPED OUT SOME REBELS SOMEWHERE
SARGEANT AND GABRIEL AND OTHERS OF THEIR ILK CAN DO WHAT NOW? ANYTHING? ANYWHERE?
tron do you not think it was all business for comac to be the first to stick the knife into its main competitor boeing. china has already bought you no courting necessary.
Agree that Donald knows much about Airlines and that is why Trump Shuttle Inc. is such a magnificent success, agree that Donald knows so much about Airline safety and that is why he wanted to nominate his personal pilot to head the FAA, agree Donald knows so much about airlines and that is why he sent this tweet:
“Airplanes are becoming far too complex to fly. Pilots are no longer needed, but rather computer scientists from MIT. I see it all the time in many products. Always seeking to go one unnecessary step further, when often old and simpler is far better. Split second decisions are needed, and the complexity creates danger. All of this for great cost yet very little gain. I don’t know about you, but I don’t want Albert Einstein to be my pilot. I want great flying professionals that are allowed to easily and quickly take control of a plane!”
Ah mean with that logic most people would reject a 2019 Lexus in favour of a 2005 model, makes sense to Donald
SARGEANT SIR
KEEP MOCKING
BUT DONALD IS IMPORTANT
AND WHAT HE SAYS AND DOES IS IMPORTANT ON THE WORLD SCENE, AND IT WILL BE SO UNTIL GOD REMOVES HIM
YOU ARE NOT
YOU CAN ONLY MOCK SO KEEP MOCKING
Sarge you are totally wrong ,you do know that with the flip of a switch the planes can fly,land, and take off by themselves so to be fair to trump he isnt off the mark when lets say one of the hollywood stars pays money to get there kids to the head of the some air academy, dumb as a stump but knows how to flip the switch for there latte machine, . If you think self driving cars are going to totally take over I am not so sure.
look around the island a lot of people running things not because they know how but because of influence
Children as young as eight years old are experiencing kidney failure. In addition, diabetes and hypertension are causing end stage renal disease in those 20 to 30 years old.
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/238891/children-suffering-kidney-failure
Kidney disease on the increase between 30 and 40 years old. Everything on the increase Hants!
The most influential man of the 20th century was ADOLF HITLER! Donald Trump is shaping up to be the most influential man of the 21st century.
I would not wish to be either of them. Plain old Donna is quite good enough for me.
The evil ones do prosper for a time. And then……….
The chief at Boeiing asked Donald Trump not to ground the planes. The man that Trump was cozying up to just months ago bragging about the jobs at the company. True to form he gave in to the rich guy. It was sustained pressure that made him change his mind.
VoB has a good program on air at the moment dealing with this topic. Dr.St. John has been impressive so far.
The most influential man of the 20th century was ADOLF HITLER! (Quote)
??????????????
Dr.St. John has been impressive so far because UNLIKE THE MORONS ON THE BLOG, SHE KNOWS WHAT SHE IS TALKING ABOUT…..AFTER SEEING IT ALL IN BIM FOR OVER 40 YEARS.
Wuhloss !
After spending months before and after the 2018 General Elections LYING & FOOLING the residents of the City – MP Jeffrey Loss – tic…..cussed the City residents profusely this past weekend !
Loss – tic claim is that noboby in the City helping he !
What the HELL tbe people in the City is to HELP the J/A for ?
When he joined wid he BLP moojins to :
Retrench most of them ?
Impose Fuel Tax on them ?
Impose Garbage & Sewage tax on them ?
Freeze their pension payments from RESLIFE ?
Freeze their payments from Treasury Bonds ?
And a whole myriad of other wicked actions inflicted…..on those poor residents !
But Loss – tic now realise RETRIBUTION …..is a BITCH !
Tek dat !!!!
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/238938/bostic-knocks-unwilling-hands
For those of you who wwant to legalize this and decriminalize that, read this
https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2019/02/190228134227.htm
“Junk food purchases increase after recreational marijuana legalization”
🙂 Fat tax isn’t going top worjk 🙂
A study released this month from a UConn economist, however, did find a link between state recreational marijuana legalization and increased consumption of certain high-calorie foods, suggesting there may be something more substantial to the urban myth of “the munchies.”
If it does not help to change behaviorist at least the tax helps to foot the NCD bill.
Another prominent doctor has come to share findings of a study done in the schools that separate the behaviour of boys and girls up to about 13 years old. Boys are more active than girls, factors driving the behaviour are many. Clearly 11 Plus exam in but one.
i am always talking about acetyl Co A on BU
here is a well written article by one of my Biochem students on the subject
enjoy
List the ketone bodies
The ketone bodies are acetone, acetoacetate, and beta-hydroxybutyrate (also called 3-hydroxybutyrate)
Explain how they are formed.
The synthesis of ketone bodies occurs through the process of ketogenesis, which takes place mainly in the liver and mitochondrion. During ketogenesis, acetyl CoA is converted to ketone bodies. Ketone bodies are formed by two molecules of acetyl CoA combining to form acetoacetyl CoA by reversal of the thiolase reaction. After the formation of acetoacetyl CoA, an additional acetyl CoA reacts with acetoacetyl AcoA to produce HMG-CoA, which is then converted to acetyl and acetoacetate by HMG-CoA lyase. After acetoacetate forms, it produces beta-hydroxybutyrate and acetone. Acetone is formed when acetoacetate undergoes decarboxylation and loses CO2. Ketone bodies function as additional fuel for cells and are transported from the liver mitochondria into the blood and peripheral tissues where they are converted back into acetyl CoA and oxidized by the citric acid cycle.
State the tissues in which they are formed.
Ketone bodies are produced mainly in the liver, and are then transported to cells in the heart, brain, and skeletal muscle. They diffuse from the liver into the mitochondria into the blood, and are transported into tissues in the body where they are converted back to acetyl CoA.
Discuss the conditions under which they are formed.
Ketone bodies are formed when fatty acids breakdown. Low carbohydrate utilization or deficiencies (either due to fasting, diabetes, or starvation) cause the levels of oxaloacetate to drop. This results in a reduced flux of the TCA cycle. When this occurs, less acetyl CoA from the beta-oxidation pathway is available to enter the citric acid cycle. In these circumstances, oxaloacetate is diverted to gluconeogenesis and acetyl CoA is diverted to from the ketone bodies. These ketone bodies are released by the liver for use as fuel by other tissues.
What are the fate and the functions of the ketone bodies once they are formed?
Acetoacetate and beta-hyroxybutyrate are important metabolic fuels for the heart and for skeletal muscle. Acetone is a waste product that is excreted as urine or exhaled. Heart muscle and the renal cortex use acetoacetate in preference to glucose. Cardiac muscle also commonly uses ketones as fuel. During periods of starvation, the brain adapts to the utilization of acetoacetate.
In which tissues are ketone bodies used?
Ketone bodies are used by tissues that utilize fatty acids, with the exception of the brain and liver. Ketone bodies are used as fuel for the kidneys, heart, muscle, and brain (under periods of starvation or diabetes).
In which tissues are ketone bodies NOT used. Why is this so?
The two tissues that do not use ketone bodies as fuel are the liver and red blood cells. The liver does not use ketone bodies as fuel because it does not have thiotransferase, the enzyme that is necessary for the conversion of acetoacetate back into acetyl CoA. Instead, the liver serves as the powerhouse for ketone synthesis. Red blood cells do not use ketone bodies as a source of fuel because they do not have mitochondria, which is necessary for the activation of acetoacetate. The brain prefers glucose over ketones for fuel, but will resort to ketones as fuel source if it needs to. The brain undergoes metabolic changes to adapt to the decreased availability of glucose. Starvation signals the brain and other tissues to increase the synthesis of the enzyme b-ketoacyl-CoA transferase which causes the body to be deficient in oxaloacetate. Acetyl CoA cannot enter the citric acid cycle and is then diverted to form ketone bodies. Ketone bodies then provide energy to the brain in conditions of limited glucose availability.
Discuss ketone bodies in relation to diabetes mellitus in detail, ensuring that you describe why ketoacidosis occurs, and why it is dangerous.
Diabetes mellitus is a disease in which insulin is either not secreted in sufficient amounts or does not stimulate target cells efficiently. As a result of insulin not functioning properly, glucose cannot be utilized or stored as glycogen. Insufficient amounts of glucose are available in the muscle, liver and adipose tissue. To compensate this, the liver synthesizes glucose from noncarbohydrate sources via gluconeogenesis and breaks down fat, via lipogenolysis, which elevates the acetyl CoA level. Excess acetyl CoA undergoes ketogenesis and ketone bodies accumulate in the blood. Patients with uncontrolled diabetes have high concentrations of blood glucose that exceed the ability of the kidneys to reabsorb glucose. At this point, glucose appears in the urine. High levels of glucose in the blood creates osmotic pressure, which leads to frequent urination and excessive thirst. Treatment for diabetes includes limiting carbohydrate intake and daily injections of insulin medication.
Ketones may be elevated in diabetes mellitus. With diabetes, glucose does not enter the cells and cannot be efficiently utilized. Triglycerides then break down to provide the fatty acids and acetyl CoA to be used as fuel. The increased production of acetyl-CoA leads to ketone body production that exceeds the ability of peripheral tissues to oxidize them. Since ketone bodies are relatively strong acids, their pH can lower the blood when they are not completely metabolized by the body. If the blood becomes acidic, the condition can be life-threatening because it impairs the ability of hemoglobin to bind to oxygen. Without enough oxygen in the blood, breathing can become difficult. Ketoacidosis occurs when blood pH becomes lower than 7.4. The condition can often be detected by the odor of acetone on a patient’s breath.
Boys are more active than girls, factors driving the behaviour are many. Clearly 11 Plus exam in but one.
+++++++++++++++
News flash!!! “Boys are more active than girls”, clearly a lot of brain power was expended on that research
Nice Thought! I really appreciate it.