The blogmaster can recall that in 2010 former Minister of Health Donville Inniss announced a plan to change the nursing program at the Barbados Community College (BCC).  The objective was to ensure that Barbados responded to a shortage of nurses.

Who remembers the public outcry when nurses from the Philippines and elsewhere were recruited at the QEH? The underlying reason for the shortage was that student nurses were failing the Regional Examination for Nurse Registration. Inniss indicated  that a committee would be setup to come up with recommendations to address the issue.

Some of the recommendations reported in the media:-

• Admission requirements and student intake – no more than 80 students should be admitted annually over the next three years. This would be reviewed at the end of the period.
  • Admission should be considered at three levels – academic requirements, entrance level/proficiency test, and aptitude assessment.
  • All tutors should participate in clinical activities, and a comprehensive examination should be reinstated.
  • The Nursing Council of Barbados has evaluated the General Nursing Programme and has submitted its report to stakeholders,” said Inniss as he listed the changes.

Source: Nation newspaper – Changes for nurse training

In February 2019 Minister of Health Jefferey Bostic was reported in the press that he will be asking for a meeting with the Minister of Health to review the course work at BCC because of a high fail rate by nurses completing the regional examination. The minister’s position is supported by the following news column with a call to recruit nurses from overseas.

The question to our planners is – with the heavy investment in education why do we have to recruit nurses from overseas? What is so difficult about ensuring the nursing syllabus at BCC is aligned with that of the Regional Examination for Nurse Registration?

QEH to look abroad for nurses

Henderson Pinder, Director of Nursing Services at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital.

(FP)

personnel are coming from that institution, Pinder said.

“The Barbados Community College and the Queen Elizabeth Hospital have a partnership in which Barbados Community College offers aspiring nurses with the educational framework to pursue a career in nursing, and the QEH provides BCC nursing students and graduates with internship and job opportunities.”

“However, although many nursing students go on to attain a Bachelor of Science degree in nursing from the Barbados Community College, many fail to pass Regional Examination for Nursing Registration (RENR). This is a matter which we need to urgently rectify to increase the number of registered nurses available on island.”

Chairman of the QEH’s Board of Management, Juliette Bynoe-Sutherland said: “We also recognize that we retain nurses who work at the QEH by making them feel more valued, recognizing their contribution and addressing matters such as salary, conditions of work, benefits and staff amenities. The Government has committed to providing for upward mobility of nurses as specialist nurses and the QEH will be working closely with the Barbados Nurses Association and Nursing Council to achieve this goal.”

Given the shortage of nurses, the Queen Elizabeth Hospital plans to look overseas.

Director of Nursing Services at QEH, Henderson Pinder, said it was necessary to ensure the continued, safe, patientcentred delivery of nursing services, especially in the Accident and Emergency (A& E) Department.

The need to look outside for nurses has been compounded by those interested in the profession but failed examinations at the regional level after successfully gaining their Bachelor of Science degrees in nursing from the Barbados Community College (BCC).

“Unfortunately, there are not enough critical care trained nurses in Barbados to meet the QEH’s staffing needs. As such, in an effort to fill the establishment, we’ve expanded the search for critical care trained nurses to other jurisdictions,” Pinder told the Sunday Sun.

Nurses are being recruited from St Vincent and the Grenadines, Grenada and the Philippines.

Improve quality

Pinder noted the QEH has been continuously trying to improve the quality of nurses, and recently 29 completed the highly-rated Canadian Triage Acuity Scale (CTAS) training programme. A second cohort of nurses is to benefit from similar training .

In spite of the shortage, the QEH continues to maintain standards which allows it to deal with the dozens of emergency cases which flow through the heavily trafficked A & E Department, Pinder said.

“The nurses of the Accident and Emergency Department are able to provide an excellent standard of care despite the large number of persons who present to the department,” Pinder noted. “In instances when the number of persons who require care overwhelms the A& E’s staff complement, additional staff is deployed to the department and various other surge staffing measures are employed. Even on these occasions, the care given to our patients meets and surpasses the standards of practice for patient care.”

The lack of nurses on an annual basis casts the spotlight on the facility’s ability to draw from the BCC special programme, as it is clear not enough Fail exam

By Barry Alleyne barryalleyne @nationnews.com @barry_nationbb

139 responses to “Nursing Program at BCC Falling Short”

1. David

The nurses were failing the regional examination

What does or how does that reflect upon the education system in Barbados?

It is the practice of many countries throughout the world to look elsewhere to fill the vacuum or shortage of nurses, so why is hiring nurses from the Philippines is an issue?

2. @David

How does the failure rate for Barbados compare to other regional countries?

BTW didn’t Guyana embark on a program to train a surplus of nurses with the possibility that they could be “exported” to other regions to service possible shortages?

3. Henderson Pinder

“Although many students go on the earned Bachelor of Science degree in nursing from the Community College”

I have never heard of a Community College offering bachelor’s degree… Community Colleges in America and throughout North America go no further than the Associate’s Degree level …

Now a Community College is supposed be a 2 year College … Bachelor’s degree requires 120 credit hours which equal four years … so how does a Community College provide for such? And if the Community College in Barbados offers bachelor’s degree… what is the use of going to the UWI?

4. @ Lexicon,

Your heart is in the right place, but you seem to measure everything against what takes place in the US. The US is not the world.
    But you are right about the nursing programme. Why are they failing? It is not beyond the wit of the college authorities to offer remedial programmes for those who are weak in certain areas. Why do we make simple things appear so mountainous?

5. Hal Austin

A Community College is supposed to be the pathway to a four years college … Am I not getting something right? It is in essence a Junior College
    ….

6. Hal Austin

Maybe we confounded the definition of a Community College in Barbados?

7. Hal Austin

So you are telling that Harrison and Queen’s College can offer bachelor’s degrees?

8. Should really be named Harrison’s Secondary School and Queen’s Secondary School…. and stop confusing people that they are “colleges” which can be degree granting institutions.

Think their Alumni would allow that to happen??? LOL!!!

9. Lexicon,

Forget what takes place in the US. Barbados is a sovereign state. Harrison College and Queen’s College are secondary schools. Degree-granting colleges are authorised to do so by law; in the UK an institution can only be called a university by Royal decree. In the US a community college may be a two-year college; in the UK they are what we call Sixth Form colleges, for those up to and under the age of 18.
    What is important is to work out why trainee nurses are failing their exams and providing the necessary training. In the UK all trainee nurses must have GCSE English and Maths among other things. If they do not they are sent on the necessary course.

10. Mr. Lexicon

BIMAP is not a university, but offers various undergraduate degree programs.

Could you please “tell” us why you believe BCC should not be offering a BSc in nursing?

Why do you believe a Community College is supposed to be the pathway to a four years college…… because that’s the purpose a CC serves in the USA?

Several nurses with nursing degrees from BCC left Barbados to pursue their careers in the UK, Cayman Islands and Bermuda…… and more so those individuals specializing in mental health nursing.

11. Artax

Explain the definition of a college and then tell me where Harrison and Queen’s College fix into this definition?

12. Could it be that the student nurses spend more time focusing on those subjects that teach them how to be rude and obnoxious to their fellow Bajans thus failing the core requirement. Anyone having experienced some medical treatment in so called first world countries would readily notice the difference in attitude.

13. Artax

The bottom-line is a Community College does not offer a four year degree … Barbados has it ass backwards …. then Secondary Schools can start offering students Associate Degrees?

14. David

What is meant by the Regional Examination? Do you mean the nursing Board for the license? Or do mean the prerequisites for getting into the nursing program?

15. Lexicon,

Can you answer a simple question for me?

What is the main idea of this article?

When you determine that then you can craft a response.

16. The nursing students are failing because our society is failing. Full stop.

17. Donna

The nursing students are failing because they are probably not studying as they ought to or aren’t being availed the necessary help needed… nevertheles, the nursing program here is very difficult to get into, as well as the board is also quite difficult along with cost associated with taking the board is very expensive..

18. @ Lexicon,

Forget the US and focus on the needs of Barbados. Something is wrong. In the 1950s/60 Barbados provided the UK’s NHS with trainee nurses. Surely the standard of education must have improved since then. Cut out the nonsense abut what is and is not a college and concentrate on the reasons why young Barbadians are failing basic exams..

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

An important question to ask the Nursing authorities at the policy-making level is why are the well-trained and fully-certified’ Bajan nurses going overseas to practise their vocation in greener financial pastures.

Are those who are being recruited from overseas to fill the existing gap in the nursing profession meeting the ‘qualification’ standards set by the Regional Examination for Nursing Registration (RENR) body or council?

Why should such well-trained high calibre ‘foreign’ nurses seek employment in low-paying Barbados with its high cost of living and scarce housing when they could offer their services to the same overseas employers who are enticing and taking off the cream from the limited Bajan pool?

20. The issue to restate it is why is the syllabus not aligned with that of the regional test. This is not a gap that is unknown to the decision makers.

21. Lexicon,

As I said, our society is failing. Didn’t you William Skinner’s list and my additions. We are failing in all facets of civil society. Why should nursing students be any different?

22. Mr. Lexicon

Sometimes you tend to “over think” simple, frivolous issues.

What the hell does the definition of a college has to do with Harrison’s College and Queen’s College, when everyone in Barbados, including the man on the “Cream of Wheat” box, KNOWS they are secondary schools?

Why not add Presentation College and Codrington College to your list?

“A Community College does not offer a four year degree” because YOU say so? Are you suggesting Barbados is violating an international law that prevents sovereign nations from defining or determining the purposes of their community colleges?

So……… “Barbados has its ass backwards” because BCC offers a four-year degree?”

If I were to follow your argument, since UWI Open Campus offers associate degrees in social work, business management and paralegal studies, then Barbados’ ass is even further backwards.

Mr. Lexicon, this is a silly argument. Like it, agree with it…… or not…..“the bottom line is” BCC offers degree programs

23. We have produced nurses who were welcome elsewhere and functioned effectively. Why are our nurses now ‘failing’?

Could it be possible that there is a simple answer to this problem?

There may be a need to align whatever is taught at BCC with the syllabus of the regional exam (RENR).
    Are those who are teaching qualified to teach at the level of the regional exam?
    Are they teaching to meet the requirements of this exam?
    Have they kept abreast of development in the nursing field or of this exam?

I doubt that the new set of nurses are ‘less intelligent”, instead we may need to look and see if there were external changes and BCC/QEH did not update their teaching plans. We may also look to see if we have square pegs in round holes.

24. ONCE UPON A TIME, A NOT SO LONG TIME, OUR VERY BEST GIRLS ON LEAVING SCHOOL BECAME NURSES OR SCHOOL TEACHERS AND WE HAD VERY GOOD FEMALE NURSES OR SCHOOL TEACHERS. WE EVEN HAD ENOUGH GIRLS WHO WENT TO TRAIN IN THE UK.

SO WHAT HAPPENED?
    FIRST MANY OF THE GIRLS WHO TRAINED IN THE 70’S AND 80’S HAVE NOW RETIRED OR WERE RECRUITED TO GREENER PASTURES.

SECONDLY OUR BRIGHTEST GIRLS NOW BECOME DOCTORS OR LAWYERS OR ENTER PROFESSIONS WHICH WERE ONCE ONLY THE PROVINCE OF MALES.

OUR BRIGHTEST GIRLS NO LONGER BECOME NURSES OR SCHOOL TEACHERS………..SO THE STANDARD OF OUR FEMALE NURSES OR SCHOOL TEACHERS HAVE BEEN IMPOVERISHED.

THIRDLY THE GOVERNMENT SOME TIME IN THE PAST, AS A COST CUTTING PLOY, MOVED THE TRAINING OF NURSES FROM UNDER THE NURSING SCHOOL IN THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH TO THE BCC UNDER THE AUSPICES OF THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION. FORMERLY STUDENT NURSES WERE PAID….NOT SO NOW.

IF WUNNA WOULD READ THE ARTICLES PROPERLY YOU WOULD GLEAN THAT THE NURSING HIERARCHY THINKS THAT THE MOVE TO “EDUCATE” THE NURSES AT BCC, RATHER THAN “TRAIN” THEM AS IN DAYS OF YORE HAS CONTRIBUTED TO PROBABLE DECLINE IN THE STANDARD OF “CLINICAL” TRAINING AND SKILLS.

iT IS NOTEWORTHY THAT THE NURSES WITH THEIR BSc”s IN NURSING FAIL THE REGIONAL EXAM. THIS IS MOST LIKELY NOT BECAUSE THEY DO NOT HAVE THE REQUIRED KNOWLEDGE, BUT MOST LIKELY BECAUSE THEY LACK THE REQUIRED CLINICAL SKILLS. THIS IS VERY LIKELY BECAUSE OF A LACK OF NURSING STAFF IN BOTH THE HOSPITAL AND IN THE POLYCLINICS.

CLEARLY THERE ARE A FEW FACTORS TO BE ADDRESSED

WITH RESPECT TO BCC. IT IS WRONG TO BASH THIS INSTITUTION.
    IT STARTED IN 1969 AS A SIXTH FORM SCHOOL TO ACCOMODATE THOSE WHO COULD NOT GET INTO THE FEW SIXTH FORM SCHOOLS EXISTING AT THE TIME.

IT HAS MORPHED INTO AN INSTITUTION FAR SUPERIOR TO ITS ORIGINAL DESIGN OFFERING COURSES AND TRAINING IN MANY DISCIPLINES, NOT AVAILABLE IN MY TIME AT SCHOOL IN THE LATE 60’S AND EARLY 70’S. MY SON FOR EXAMPLE, HAD EXCELLENT TRAINING IN THE ARTS ESPECIALLY IN PHOTOGRAPHY.

THERE ARE EXCELLENT PROGRAMMES IN MUSIC AND PHARMACY ETC

THE BCC IS NOT A JUNIOR COLLEGE. MANY OF ITS GRADUATES HAVE GONE ON TO EASILY GET PhD’S IN THE USA, AS THOSE NURSES WHO CANT PASS THE REGIONAL NURSING EXAMS, BUT HAVE PASSED THEIR BSc EXAMS IN NURSING WILL PROBABLY DO.

WE MIGHT NOT EMPLOY THEM BUT THE US WILL RECRUIT THEM AND PAY THEM WELL.

HERE ENDETH THE LESSON
    I HOPE THAT THIS WILL ALTER THE MORONIC MOUTHINGS AND THAT I HAVE PROVIDED SOME LIGHT RATHER THAN LOTS OF USELESS HEAT, AS IS THE NORM IN THE BU RUM SHOP.

BY THE WAY, I TAUGHT PHARMACOLOGY FOR ONE YEAR AT BCC AS A SUBSTITUTE FOR THE COURSE SUPERVISOR.

ONE STUDENT ASKED ME “YOU SEEM TO WANT US TO KNOW EVERYTHING!”:

MY RESPONSE WAS “YES. BECAUSE IF ON GRADUATION YOU GET A SCRIPT SIGNED BY ME WHICH SAYS 15 mg, WHEN IT SHOULD BE 5 mg OR 50 MG, i WANT YOU TO KNOW WHAT IT SHOULD BE AND CALL AND ASK ME WHY I HAVE WRITTEN WHAT YOU SEE ON THE SCRIPT BEFORE YOU DISPENSE.

25. RE Like it, agree with it…… or not…..“the bottom line is” BCC offers degree programs
    AND SOME OF THESE DEGREE PROGRAMS ARE GOOD ONES THAT EQUIP CITIZENS FOR SERVICE

26. Mr. Georgie Porgie

Excellent!!!!

27. Q. why is the syllabus not aligned with that of the regional test.

A This is very unlikely to be so. What is most likely is that our girls are failing the clinical aspects of the regional test, for reasons already stated.

Whereas the BCC might well be preparing the students for the theory. the BCC is not a HOSPITAL! Hence, it must depend on clinical training to be done in the clinical setting of the polyclinics or the hospital wards.

If the nurses who are supposed to be examples and tutors in these institutions are themselves overwhelmed because they are understaffed and overworked, one can expect that the clinical one on one training that is required will suffer.

28. Geogie Porgie

Haft of the time lot of doctors can’t even in write a proper medical order …or a PRN …

Here is an prn order that most doctor don’t seem to understand

Tyronel 10mg po TID ….for pain

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David February 21, 2019 9:15 AM
    “The issue to restate it is why is the syllabus not aligned with that of the regional test. This is not a gap that is unknown to the decision makers.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

And if such a necessary alignment was to take place what do you think would happen to the ‘pass’ rate at the BCC level?

The Bajan nurse-training programme is facing similar challenges to that of the Police Force; that is, not attracting ‘high-quality’ cohorts from the country’s secondary school system.

These vocations no longer carry the appeal or charisma as they did in the past as pathways to social and economic recognition and progress.

Why not incentivize these careers, especially at the entry level, in order to attract a higher academically qualified and committed cohort from the country’s educational system which has been more than a burden on taxpayers’ backs over the last 30 years without any significantly measurable return on this huge investment?

Why not increase the starting salary for a ‘trained’ nurse or police officer to that of a university graduate holding down a middle-management position in the Public sector?

30. re FIRST MANY OF THE GIRLS WHO TRAINED IN THE 70’S AND 80’S HAVE NOW RETIRED OR WERE RECRUITED TO GREENER PASTURES.

The mass recruitment in the 90’s and thereafter has resulted in a default in the CONTINUITY of the training standards……………..much like how the banning of 18 of our very best cricketers from our regional cricket competitions FOR LIFE in the early 80’s has iimpacted the standard of West Indies cricket!

31. Georgie Porgie

A lot of doctors would write a prescription and forget to add the five rights which are mandated by law … I am teaching class now GP …for a prescription to be completed is much have within it the

1) Patient name
    2) name of medication
    3) Time the medication is to be administered
    4) The route the medication is to be given
    5) And the correct dosage of the medication

And the prescription expiration date which is usually 90 to 180 days

32. Earlier I asked about the comparable about the pass rate for BCC students vs the rest of the region but as GP explained the difference could be clinical expertise not academic acumen.
    This current crisis stated when Owen changed the status of the Hospital and many nurses objected because they wanted to remain as part of the Civil Service rather than the new Board,rather than “grandfather” the existing group Owen put his foot down in a “my way or the highway” move with the result that many nurses retired or quit and the Gov’t was forced to look for replacements who remembers the Nigerian nurses? At least the Nigerian nurses spoke English as we were on the verge of total embarrassment if other plans had materialized.

Theses things (shortages) don’t happen in a vacuum we just have to look back but Bajans have short memories

33. Mr. Lexicon

When you mentioned “A lot of doctors would write a prescription and forget to add the five rights which are mandated by law,”…….

……… are you referring to doctors in Barbados and the Caribbean as well?

34. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David u have highlighted a rather embarrassing issue – if govt officials can ever feel that emotion – as it should be a deep concern that our young aspiring professional nurses can’t cut it at the regional level ALTHOUGH the educators are aware of the deficiencies and have been for years.

I would pose an alternative query to @Sargeant’s and ask what % of OUR nurses taking the regionals are failing?

@Hal, as lovely as it is to reflect on nurses from Bim filling posts in UK and US in years pass and thus be a bit perplexed that we are seemingly failing badly now in that area it may also necessary to reflect that a larger pool (and dare I say not as diligent students) are vying to be nurses…so although the educational options appear to be ‘better’ the actual focus, and inherent apitude for success may be quite diluted.

@Artax, the blogger @Lexicon can indeed be a foolbert unnecessarily but he makes a valid point re a community college and the ‘power’ of it’s degree program….and that’s not being specific to BCC or BIMAP!

Surely BCC’s provost or academic Dean ensures that the syllabus for the nursing degree will prepare a student for required certifications regionally and even internationally either on that course work alone or with defined additional course that from outset would be known as necessary.

Thus if a student passes their BSc and can’t complete the next step REQUIRED certification something is not right either with their degree program or the student… or both.

What’s wrong with the preparations of these students.

Realistically that’s not a good advert for the BCC’s program!

35. @ de pedantic Dribbler,

She revealed that out of 31 students entered to set the Regional Examination for Nurses Registration, only four students – a mere 11 per cent – passed the examination.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/02/21/record-student-failures-threaten-nursing-brna/

36. re Why not incentivize these careers, especially at the entry level, in order to attract a higher academically qualified and committed cohort from the country’s educational system which has been more than a burden on taxpayers’ backs over the last 30 years without any significantly measurable return on this huge investment?

Why not increase the starting salary for a ‘trained’ nurse or police officer to that of a university graduate holding down a middle-management position in the Public sector?

HEAR THE WORDS OF A MORON AND MEDICAL ILLITERATE, AND A GENERAL IDIOT AND MEMBER OF THE LOWEST OF THE EQUINOIDS. I.E A JACKASS!

HOW WILL INCREASING THE STARTING SALARY OF A TRAINED NURSE CAUSE OUR BEST GIRLS TO BECOME NURSES, IN A DAY WHEN OTHER OPTIONS ARE AVAILABLE TO THEM? DO YOU THINK WITH YOUR SHELVES OF HOUSTON?

HOW WILL INCREASING THE STARTING SALARY OF A POLICE OFFICER WHEN WE CANT RECRUIT THEM BECAUSE THEY ARE EITHER SEMI-ILLITERATE LIKE YOU OR ARE ALREADY ON THE WAY TO BEING DRUG ADDICTS?

WHY WILL YOU INCREASE THE STARTING SALARY OF A “TRAINED” NURSE, WHO CAN NOT PASS THE REGIONAL EXAM BECAUSE OF POOR CLINICAL SKILLS

WHY WILL YOU PLAN AND PURPOSE IN YOUR SILLY MIND TO PERPETUATE THE FALLACY OF THE “QUICK FIX” WHICH HAS TURNED OUT IN THE LONG RUN TO BE A VERY POOR “FIX”

IT WAS A QUICK FIX NO DOUBT TO SAVE MONEY BY “EDUCATING” NURSING STUDENTS AT A COLLEGE INSTEAD OF TRAINING THEM IN A NURSING SCHOOL. DO WE NEED NURSES WITH DEGREES OR NURSES WHO FUNCTION WELL USING THE APPROVED CLINICAL SKILLS.

NURSES WITH DEGREES BELONG IN AMERICAN NURSING SCHOOLS. THERE THEY GO ON TO GET MASTERS AND DOCTORATES.

IN BARBADOS WE NEED TO TRAIN NURSES WITH THE CLINICAL SKILLS TO SERVE THE POPULACE AS NURSES.

IN BARBADOS WE NEED POLICY DECISION MAKERS WHO TRULY UNDERSTAND THEIR PURPOSE, AND WHO ARE THEREFORE ABLE TO FUNCTION AS THEY OUGHT

ON BU WE NEED PEOPLE TO SHUT UP AND STOP POSTING SHITE WHEN THEY DO NOT HAVE A CLUE ABOUT THE SUBJECT ON WHICH THEY SEEK TO PONTIFICATE

THERE IS NO QUICK FIX TO THE SITUATION IN WHICH WE HAVE FOUND OUR SELVES WITH REGARD TO EITHER POLICE RECRUITMENT, OR THE DILEMMA OF REDUCED NURSING SCHOOL FAILURE RATES.

37. Having read the contribution of GP and others, this appears to be a problem that we can solve.

However, as I looked at the contribution and various link, it seem as if this problem was identified over a decade ago. I am quite certain we had the concomitant BU analysis then, and rather than going in circles to 2029 we need to ask ourselves

“How do we move from here and when should we expect to see results?”

We need a x-year plan.

38. A Registered Nurse (RN) in Manila earns an average salary of PHP 183,045 per year which is about $ 7000 Barbados dollars.

That is why Filipino nurses might find working in Barbados appealing.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants February 21, 2019 11:05 AM

So why would these well-trained outputs from the Far-Eastern Filipino nursing mills come all the way to Barbadoes when they can easily stop off in the UK or North America or even Saudi Arabia, UAE or even Australia to work along those ‘emigrated’ Bajan nurses?

“When you pay peanuts you attract only [Bajan] monkeys’!

40. @ millertheanunnaki,

41. Artax February 21, 2019 10:48 AM

Mr. Lexicon

When you mentioned “A lot of doctors would write a prescription and forget to add the five rights which are mandated by law,”…….……… are you referring to doctors in Barbados and the Caribbean as well?

ARTAX UNDERSTAND THAT THIS TWIT IS SPOUTING THE LIKKLE KNOWLEDGE HE GLEANED IN HIS PITHY NURSING TRAINING, EVEN THOUGH IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE ISSUES AT HAND, OR THE QUALITY OF TRAINING OF NURSES OR IN OTHER DISCIPLINES AT BCC

IM OUT OF HERE, BECAUSE BU DOES NOT REALLY WANT TO HAVE MY INPUT AS THEY HAVE NOT BEEN UPLOADING MY POSTS.

BE GOOD SIR

42. “Thus, if a student passes their BSc and can’t complete the next step REQUIRED certification something is not right either with their degree program or the student… or both.”

Mr. dpD

I suggest you read Georgie Porgie’s contributions. He gave a brief, in-depth explanation of the situation.

As it relates Lexicon…..….I’m not “saying” he does not have a valid point re community colleges. My contention with his reasoning is that Barbados has its ass backwards because BCC offers an undergraduate degree.

What I’m more concerned with is if the nursing degree received the necessary level of accreditation that would allow graduates to pursue their careers in other jurisdiction or graduate studies. And judging from how our nurses are recruited by other countries, “says a lot.”

43. @GP
    I think you misunderstand BU.
    Many here read and value your contribution. We may be the silent majority.
    Just post …..

44. If someone from the Philippines arrived in Barbados and presented credentials from his/her country would they be accepted as fulfilling Barbados requirements? Does it depend on the profession?

45. Now if we could get Lexicon to marry Simple Simon, move in with Enuff and they share a single computer.
    Don’t start complaining or I will include you.

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Georgie Porgie February 21, 2019 11:01 AM
    “IN BARBADOS WE NEED TO TRAIN NURSES WITH THE CLINICAL SKILLS TO SERVE THE POPULACE AS NURSES.
    IN BARBADOS WE NEED POLICY DECISION MAKERS WHO TRULY UNDERSTAND THEIR PURPOSE, AND WHO ARE THEREFORE ABLE TO FUNCTION AS THEY OUGHT
    ON BU WE NEED PEOPLE TO SHUT UP AND STOP POSTING SHITE WHEN THEY DO NOT HAVE A CLUE ABOUT THE SUBJECT ON WHICH THEY SEEK TO PONTIFICATE…”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

DR CAPS, we have already diagnosed the problem with the symptoms manifesting themselves for a long, long time.

Now tell us Dear Doctor GP, what is your recommendation to cure this dogged problem?

Why not return, Dr. Wilt(ed)shire, to your homeland and advise the current cohort of “POLICY DECISION MAKERS WHO TRULY UNDERSTAND THEIR PURPOSE”?

Why not behave like a ‘genuine’ self-confessed-committed born-again Christian and follow the Jesus-dictated injunction:
    ‘To whom much is given (free education at HC and medical training at Mona), much is expected.’

Why not return (like the prodigal son) to your birth place in its dire hour of public health management and restructure the Bajan Nurse Training programme to make it fit for purpose in the 21st Century and act as a magnet to attract well-educated Christian students like your own spoilt brats living off their daddy’s earnings from some two-bit ‘offshore’ medical school?

47. @ Georgie Porgie,

I READ MOST OF YOUR POSTS.

YOU MAKE IMPORTANT CONTRIBUTIONS ON BU.

48. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ TheOGazerts February 21, 2019 11:38 AM

Now what type of movie genre will that be classified as?

(a) horror film
    (b) action
    (c) science fiction
    (d) drama
    (e) romance
    (f) war
    (g) comedy
    (h) documentary
    (i) Musical/fantasy
    (j) all the above

Just asking/smiling

49. “IM OUT OF HERE, BECAUSE BU DOES NOT REALLY WANT TO HAVE MY INPUT AS THEY HAVE NOT BEEN UPLOADING MY POSTS.”

Mr. Georgie Porgie

I disagree with you.

The responses to this article began with general assumptions/speculations, until you came to give us an informed, in-depth explanation of the situation.

I found your submissions interesting and informative and believe you should continue to offer BU your expertise on the issue.

As it relates to Mr. Lexicon, I don’t believe he is a “twit.” It’s just he has this penchant for “twisting” the “conversation” to a topic of his choice so as to demonstrate he has a “vast amount of knowledge” of the subject,………..and, as I mentioned in a previous contribution, he uses what occurs in the USA as a bench-mark against which every situation must be compared.

To each, his own.

50. @ de pedantic Dribbler
    February 21, 2019 10:50 AM

How you like to talk shite about things about which you know naught!
    It is untrue that our young aspiring professional nurses can’t cut it at the regional level.
    HAVE YOU ASCERTAINED WHAT ARE THE PASS RATES FOR THE OTHER COUNTRIES IN THE REGION?

Note that Sargeant is able to comprehend that the issue is most likely one of clinical expertise not academic acumen.

It is CLEARLY the policy makers not the educators who are unaware of the deficiencies that they have themselves caused.

@Sargeant’s and ask what % of OUR nurses taking the regionals are failing?
    Instead of talking shite as usual, you ought to have read that the pass rate was 4 of 31 students.

@Hal, as lovely as it is to reflect on nurses from Bim filling posts in UK and US in years pass and thus be a bit perplexed that we are seemingly failing badly now in that area it may also necessary to reflect that a larger pool (and dare I say not as diligent students) are vying to be nurses…so although the educational options appear to be ‘better’ the actual focus, and inherent apitude for success may be quite diluted.

In your attempt to refute Hal, you have spouted secretions once more from your shelves of Houston.

@Artax, the blogger @Lexicon can indeed be a foolbert unnecessarily but he makes a valid point re a community college and the ‘power’ of it’s degree program….and that’s not being specific to BCC or BIMAP!

Mark Fenty is a jackass and knows nothing about the BCC. I HAVE NO DOUBT THAT THE BCC HAS AN EXCELLENT NURSING PROGRAM JUST AS THEY HAVE IN OTHER DISCIPLINES, BECAUSE I PERSONALLY KNOW THAT MANY OF THEIR TUTORS IN THE NURSING PROGRAM HAVE SUPER TRAINING……..ATTAINED AT REGIONAL INSTITUTION.E .

Surely BCC’s provost or academic Dean ensures that the syllabus for the nursing degree will prepare a student for required certifications regionally and even internationally either on that course work alone or with defined additional course that from outset would be known as necessary.

SO WHAT MORE SHOULD THEY DO AS EDUCATORS DUMMY?

EDUCATORS PREPARE STUDENTS FOR LOCAL EXAMS AND THE DAILY EXAMS THAT THEY MUST PASS EACH DAY AS THEY PRACTICE.
    EDUCATORS CAN NOT CAUSE STUDENTS TO PASS EXAMS

Thus if a student passes their BSc and can’t complete the next step REQUIRED certification something is not right either with their degree program or the student… or both. What’s wrong with the preparations of these students.

WHEN I WAS A MEDICAL STUDENT SOME OF US PASSED THE ECFMG EXAM TO QUALIFY FOR ENTRY TO DO A RESIDENCY IN THE USA, IN JANUARY, BUT FAILED THE UWI EXAM IN MAY.

SO WHAT HAPPENED THERE?
    OH THOU WHO KNOWS EVERYTHING WHILE SIMULTANEOUSLY KNOWING NOTHING ABOUT THE SUBJECT.

THE ANSWER IS THAT THE UWI EXAM WAS MORE DEMANDING

AND BY THE WAY DID YOU KNOW THAT THE UWI PASS RATE FOR THE USMLE EXAM SET BY ECFMG IS ABOUT 75% EVEN THOUGH THEY ARE NOT PREPARED FOR THAT EXAM, AND THAT IS ABOUT THE SAME FOR ONLY ST GEORGES WHICH PREPARES THEIR STUDENTS FOR THAT EXAM