Subject to subsection (4), the Minister shall so exercise his

power to make regulations under subsection (1) as to secure

1. that it is not unlawful under section 5(l) for a practitioner, acting in his capacity as such, to prescribe, administer, manufacture, compound or supply a controlled drug, or for a pharmacist, acting in his capacity as such, to manufacture, compound or supply a controlled drug
  2. that it is not unlawful under section 6(l) for a practitioner or pharmacist to have a controlled drug in his possession for the purpose of acting in his capacity as such- section 12-Drug Abuse (Prevention and Control) Act 1990-14

Almost predictably, Barbados last week announced an intention to approve the use of marijuana as a legitimate treatment for certain prescribed ailments, while reserving its position on the current criminalization of the recreational use of the controlled substance. Even so, the use of medical marijuana here will be rather tightly circumscribed, being susceptible for prescription as a last resort only and, according to the Chief Medical Officer, Dr. Kenneth George, the smoking of the substance will form no part of the new therapy.

In the same week, the neighbouring jurisdiction of St. Vincent and the Grenadines announced the roll out of three kindred Bills to be sent to a select committee of that nation’s parliament; namely the Cannabis Cultivation (Amnesty) Bill; the Permitted Use of Cannabis for Religious Purposes Bill and the Medicinal Cannabis Industry Bill.

St Vincent & the Grenadines has sometimes appeared to be a step ahead of Barbados in certain legislative reforms, none more stark than that of the adoption of legislation protecting against unfair dismissals, first enacted in Barbados in 2012 and yet a legislative reality in St Vincent & the Grenadines since 1979!

The subject matters of the recently enacted pieces of legislation should serve as a harbinger of the enormity of the legislative task that faces Barbados if we are to approve the therapeutic use of marijuana as announced. For one, if we are to avoid the patently ironic and foreign exchange depletive importation of the substance, then we are going to have to licence its local cultivation under certain regulated conditions. It should be noted that the cultivation of cannabis is currently an offence in Barbados. According to the local Act-

(1) Subject to any regulations under section 12, it shall not be lawful for a person to cultivate any plant of the genus Cannabis, any coca plant or opium poppy… and

(2) Subject to section 39, it is an offence to cultivate any such plant in contravention of subsection (1).

In this connection, the proposed Vincentian statute envisages initially, the declaration of an amnesty period, whereby a qualifying person as stipulated who, in or before that period, is or was engaged in the criminal cultivation of cannabis shall be entitled to the relief provided –

Notwithstanding any provisions of the Drug (Prevention of Misuse) Act or any other relevant enactment, no criminal proceedings shall be taken against a qualifying person who complies with the provisions of this Act and the conditions of a traditional cultivation licence issued under this Act during the amnesty period.

In order to be treated as a “qualifying person”, the cultivator must register with the to-be established Medical Cannabis Authority by submitting certain prescribed information and surrendering all cannabis in his or her possession to the said Authority. Once the information submitted by the individual is verified by the Authority, it then makes a recommendation to the Minister for the issuance to him or her of a certificate of amnesty in the prescribed form and subject to stipulated conditions, including whether there is the intention on the part of the qualifying person to apply for a Traditional Cultivator’s Licence pursuant to the Medical Cannabis Authority Act. If so, this must be notified in writing to the Authority.

Another item addressed in the slate of Vincentian legislation although scarcely lobbied for in Barbados in recent years is located within the Permitted Use of Cannabis for Religious Purposes Bill. This novel statute is styled

An Act to provide for the decriminalization of the use of cannabis as a sacrament in adherence to a religious practice by such religious bodies as may be prescribed by Order of the Minister, including, but not limited to, the Rastafarian faith, at their place of worship and at an event declared by Order of the Minster to be an exempt event, for the purposes of this Act and for matters and purposes incidental thereto”.

In this Bill, a person who is an adherent of a religious body, including but not limited to the Rastafarian faith, or an organization comprising of (sic) such persons, may cultivate, possess, transport, supply and use cannabis for religious purposes. Immediately, certain questions beg asking. For instance, while it is by now notorious that certain members of the Rastafarian faith use marijuana for sacramental purposes, one may legitimately wonder which other religious bodies do such. The Bill does not supply a direct answer, although in a provision that comes close, in my view, to infringing the separation of Church and State and the concomitant guarantee of freedom of religion, religious faith is defined as “a religious faith designated by the Minister by Order under section 4, as a religious faith for the purposes of this Act”, thus leaving the designation as a matter entirely for the state.

Of necessity, the Bill also proposes the non-applicability of legislation such as the Drugs (Prevention of Misuse) Act, the Drug Trafficking Offences Act, and the Proceeds of Crime Act to render unlawful the cultivation, possession , supply and use of cannabis in accordance with the provisions.

The Act is not entirely a religious adherent’s charter for the use of marijuana however. According to Clause 3 (2)-

For the avoidance of doubt, where there are reasonable grounds to suspect that there is an intention to contravene the provisions of section 6 or 7 or 8 of the Drugs (Prevention of Misuse) Act, subsection (1) shall not restrict the exercise of the discretion of the Director of Public Prosecutions from prosecuting a person for a relevant offence under that Act or any other relevant enactment.

These sections treat the possession and cultivation of marijuana. And it appears, any cannabis used for religious purposes must be homegrown. Clause 7 of the Bill mandates-

No person shall import cannabis into St. Vincent and the Grenadines for religious purposes”.

The content of these two Bills signal that Barbados may have some other matters to consider before settling on a comprehensive legislative machinery for marijuana use. The governing administration has already made it clear that any legalization or decriminalization thereof must be subject to popular affirmation in a referendum. Few would doubt however that the legalization of marijuana for medical use will not lead to a likely upsurge in its recreational use, given the increased availability. Future legislation must therefore address issues such as the public use of marijuana, the circumstances of its cultivation and distribution including especially their location and accessibility to minors, and its link with the control of motor vehicles and other activities. We may still have some way to go.

151 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – For Medical Use Only”

1. “For one, if we are to avoid the patently ironic and foreign exchange depletive importation of the substance, then we are going to have to licence its local cultivation under certain regulated conditions. It should be noted that the cultivation of cannabis is currently an offence in Barbados. According to the local Act-‘”

We thought that was a given seeing they already said they will not IMPORT medical marijuana…unless it’s necessary ..

…..from first hand knowledge it is very, vey expensive to process, and for the GREEDY…it is nothing like they are thinking it is with their eyes being bigger than their stomachs…they WILL BE disappointed..that is why Mia must be WARNED REPEATEDLY…to leave the medical marijuana trade in the hands of the majority black population…who know what to do…St. Vincent already KNOWS THIS..

…people have been warned for years…that it is best to GROW YOUR OWN medical marijuana..that also applies to those using the medication…so naturally..licences for cultivation…is NECESSARY….for varying reasons, most of it HEALTH RELATED..

ironically…that is where government will. make most of it’s money, from LICENSING CULTIVATORS…because ya see all these PRETEND MARIJUANA EXPERTS now crawling out the woodwork..they have NO CLUE…what it entails…to successfully extract medicine from that plant.

BTW..thank you Jeff…vey enlightening.

2. Spot on Jeff, you are correct …there are a few hurdles to overcome before cannabis can be distributed …There is a specific order of things that the ordinary bajan must adhere to if this is going to work….Its puff…puff…pass.

3. WARU

How difficult could it be when the criminal elements in Barbados have been cultivating marijuana in Bim for many years? I would agree however, that the rules and regulations are going to be the most difficult hurdle to cross for producers, but people in Barbados with little or no formal education have been cultivating marijuana for many years Sir.

4. “How difficult could it be”

How difficult could what be?

5. WARU

“That is why Mia must be warned repeatedly … to leave the medical marijuana trade in the hands of the majority Black population …who knows what to do”

I am troubled by you statement as to why only the majority black population in Barbados knows how to cultivate marijuana?

6. Leximoron needs some sort of medication, since he doesn’t seem aware of who are the experts in drug cultivation, importation and distribution.!

7. @@45colt and Lexicon

Enough of the rubbish comments.

8. @Jeff

The Rastafari group has been a strong lobby for the legalization/decriminalization of the vegetable matter not so?

The push to change status – is this a moral, economic issue or both?

9. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Dean Jeff and @ Blogmaster, as you note from the other blog you were both on right track re Mr Phillips…you are indeed that “genius advocate” Dean!

And you Messrs Blogmasters have long been genius profilers of men and women here!

Top drawer stuff.

I hope Mr Phillips knows what he is doing…

10. Please note the difficulty am talking about relates to PROCESSING THE PLANT INTO MEDICINE…it helps to do research to find out WHY….it helps to do research to understand that if ministers in Barbados had been forward thinking from 1990..when it was very CLEAR…they had a “legal regime” in place to start the legislation…many people who had to run off island just to get any job opportunity, would not have needed to…

Marijuana cultivation… creates JOBS.

Marijuana medicinal EXTRACTION…..creates JOBS..

marijuana packaging ….creates JOBS..

Marijuana exporting….creates JOBS

And we have not even gotten to the selling part yet….which should also be CONTROLLED..by the majority black population..

Government will make more than enough selling licences for cultivation…and would not be continually CULTIVATING A WELFARE STATE…so that CROOKS can TIEF taxpayers and pensioners money..

11. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

^The Rastafari group has been a strong lobby for the legalization/decriminalization of the vegetable matter not so?*

The push to change status – is this a moral, economic issue or both?

@David, The Rastafarians might be on firmer ground lobbying for as Permitted Use for Religious Purposes Act. I do not even see decriminalization of recreational use on the horizon for us. As you ask, it is a moral, economic health AND geopolitical issue!

12. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

I hope Mr Phillips knows what he is doing…

@ DPD, I hope so too. I have accordingly so advised him on the other blog.

13. Why must it be a separate Act? A silly question!

14. Barbados govt is not known for writing legislation that would pass the test of time
    There is evidence to show that legislation written by barbados govt when brought to the attention of the eyes !ears and hands of the justice system has failed miserably in its effort to present a thorough and precise understanding of its intrepretation
    In my humble opinion this govt does not have the legal or professional wisdom to tackle and write cannabis drugs law which will affect not only the economy in barbados but also the civil and social enviroment long term of a nation
    To quote Hal “this will all end in tears”

15. Mariposa. .the government can get help within the region and really, really good legal help…outside the region, if they are not too sure how to FRAME cannabis legislation…all they got to do is ASK Canada, or Norway or Sweden or any of those countries that have ALREADY drafted and framed legislation….and already have a VIBRANT..cannabis TRADE controlled by their MAJORITY POPULATION.

16. In saying that, I do not trust the current gang of law makers to draft legislation that will benefit the people in this…they all come with too much baggage, bribery corruption and all manner of lowlife activities attached….too much heavy baggage the lot of them are carrying around …way too much.

As long as it sinks into their heads that the plant is a very spiritual plant and the game playing they are accustomed to as ministers with titles …will blow up in their faces..

17. Havent govt already strapped barbadians with taxes to pay high paying demanding advisors to help sort out barbados economy
    Now yuh asking for more of the same
    I will agree on a point that she considers firing the bunch she hired on May 24th.
    A bunch of takers whose performance is indicative to a duck nest of addle eggs

18. It is amazing to see how how some got as far as legalization and decriminalization and yet, many of us are stuck back there thinking of the victims who were caught up in the war on drugs.

Some here, who would oppose the government on any law, embrace medical marijuana as if it was a magical genie which they can smoke instead of rubbing its belly.

For me, before we take the step of having medical marijuana, there is the need for the state to look at those who were caught up in the drug wars and release those who were jailed for possession of small amounts.

Governments believe they have found a way to make money off of marijuana and what was once a crime is a big business venture for some. No one speaks of the casualties, of the live ruined, of those who were imprisoned or harmed. Instead we see see people touting the new business model.

In my mind, we have not yet reached the time where medical marijuana is a solution for anything,; it is nothing s more than a pretense for the better off of society to light up without paying the penalties that those less fortunate have paid.

Since when did the voice of the Rastafari become the voice of the people and of God.

Let’s go through the jails first.

19. Why must it be a separate Act? A silly question!

There are no silly questions, Davis, only silly responses. There does not have to be a separate Act but, given my sense that we are not going to legalize recreational use anytime soon, the Rastafarian movement might seek an exemption on the basis of religious practice as was seemingly done in SVG.

20. @Jeff

A reasonable position. If countries bordering Barbados will adopt a more aggressive policy there is bound to be ‘contagion’?

21. This type of legislation has to take into consideration international laws !standards rules and regulations
    Btw with Trump bellowing about drugs entering america via underdeveloped countries one can bet that barbados and other small nation islands legalizing cannibis in any form would be placed high on Trump list of drug countries to watch

22. A reasonable position. If countries bordering Barbados will adopt a more aggressive policy there is bound to be ‘contagion’?

@David, I suggested or hinted as much

Few would doubt however that the legalization of marijuana for medical use will not lead to a likely upsurge in its recreational use, given the increased availability.

23. Countries bordering Barbados?????? Oh Laddies Goddard, why did I not study my geography in your class more attentively? Is Barbados still surrounded by water? Is that bordering?

24. Quite a few states in the US are rushing towards having medical marijuana.
    At some stage I expect to see a concomitant increase in the number of young blacks that are arrested.
    I take pains to point out to my son that what we hear is “legalize medical marijuana use” and never “legalize marijuana use” or “decriminalization of marijuana use”.

My legal knowledge does not provide me with the machinery to handle the fine distinction there, but at some stage we will be back here complaining about the distinction between marijuana use and medical marijuana use.

25. No one cares what trump thinks..he is going to jail..

Jamaica is doing just fine on that score..they are even sending their marijuana to a university in US for several reasons…despite the feds still playing footsie with legislation…looking to see if they could make more off the plant than anyone else..

26. You are aware that the islands have maritime borders? You may have the last word.

#myopia

27. Theo..it is very clear, I had some horrific injuries some years ago and was on opioids for years until it was felt that the injuries that degenerates with age calls for medical marijuana, it is the only medicine that actually does it’s job in my case…it is indeed REAL MEDICINE, people who know me were shocked to see the transformation….. so the distinction is very clear, just as it is for millions of people suffering with various ailments or pain that marijuana can alleviate OR cure…surprisingly, I recently saw a list of such ailments and diseases and the list is very long…so the time is right for Barbados with it’s one hospital to make sure they heal the sick and lift the burden off the healthcare system.

I think recreational use can wait until the medical marijuana and all the wrinkles legalizing it will create…are all ironed out.

28. Just my observations from the mouthings of Trump who has made no bones and has been pain stakingly obviuos on how he paints small island nation
    Having maritime or what ever is not fool proof prevention
    David u can have the last word

29. WARU

One of mine cowork from Jamaican told me last week that her parish received the ok from the government of Jamaica to cultivate marijuana and she has booked her fly last week and is heading home tah get her cut…

30. Many countries have territorial waters (often 12 nautical miles). A border is when two or more sovereign states have land or restricted water borders and are legally defined. This was part of the principles of the Westphalian settlement. International waters are not borders. Between Barbados and St Lucia and Barbados and St Vincent there are international waters.
    Between Guyana and Brazil there is a border, between Haiti and the Dominican Republic there is a border. There is no ‘border’ between Trinidad and Venezuela.
    We must stop normalising ignorance.

31. In my home and native land.

People flying within Canada will be able to pack up to 30 grams of cannabis. But travellers should remember they still can’t bring weed aboard international flights.

https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/marijuana-faq-legalization-need-to-know-1.4862207

32. Let me go for a while, But before I go,

Sometimes you see things that restore your faith in mankind….
    🙂 I was thinking that all was doomed but we can keep hope alive if a guy like Lexicon can find a woman
    Yvonne Lexicon, I salute you., 🙂

33. @Hants

Tell us, will you be having a puff then forthe season?

34. Lexicon actually has his heart in the right place and that is what is important.

35. A pity the last government wasted so much time to address this matter as it relates to implementing a framework for medical marijuana. It is government that will be remembered for its sloth.

36. The Liberal government’s announcement that it will expedite the processing of pardons for people with minor cannabis-related criminal records is welcome news to tens of thousands of Canadians who have been convicted of possession offences.

https://www.cbc.ca/news/politics/tasker-pot-pardons-limitations-1.4866610

I support the legalisation of marijuana for recreational use in Barbados.

37. TheOGezerts

“I was just play with 45govt … to stop him from using mah name”

I had the best women the islands have to offer … now I need to find a woman with money …looks and shape is for the youth …

38. @ David,

I haven’t smoked weed since 1977 because I didn’t like the ” feeling “. I will have a sip of single malt “for the season “.lol

39. This is good stuff! The article, not the marijuana.. I hope we will get this right. The legislation and its enforcement and the marijuana.

40. The implementation of the legislation maybe the easiest part of the transaction. It explains why there will be a challenge down the road.

41. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster, remembered for their sloth and inept governance too.

I almost had a brain anuerism trying to process the utter hypocritical gibberish from Mariposa who wrote in part…

“Barbados govt is not known for writing legislation that would pass the test of time
    …In my humble opinion this govt does not have the legal or professional wisdom to tackle and write cannabis drugs law …”

That is the height of political nonsense.

Both DLP and BLP govts have produced sterling pieces of legislation that properly benefited all Bajans and of course there have been badly drafted Acts but for this syncophant who was part of the team who miscued badly on the important fingerprinting bill to opine as they did is utterly ridiculous.

Is there any wonder the country is in the despair it is…steeupse.

42. @Dee Word

In a democracy there will be yardfowls and those whose opinions will be always critical. We have the independents, not enough of them, that will try to be objective read constructively critical.

43. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ dpD at 12 : 24 PM

The process of legal drafting in Barbados has never been the remit of the Political Class. There are legal technocrats in the Public Service trained in the skills of legal draftsmen. Very often their skills are supplemented by borrowings from similar legislations of other countries in the British Commonwealth. I believe they now borrow from similar legislation in the US.

I ,therefore, agree with the views you have expressed above.

I am still open-minded about the legalising of Marijuana. I am not persuaded that the recreation easing will contribute to our national wellbeing.

44. @Vincent

The observation is the the reference to ‘drafting’ legislation is used loosely. There is the CPC to which you referred BUT have you forgotten the role of the MO and working committee of parliament? Is there a role played?

45. @TheoG
    For me, before we take the step of having medical marijuana, there is the need for the state to look at those who were caught up in the drug wars and release those who were jailed for possession of small amounts.
    ++++++++++++
    For the Gov’t to do what you are suggesting it would have to amend the laws that portend to possession of MJ for recreational use, so far that prospect is not on the horizon.

46. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Yes indeed Mr Blogmaster it is the role of ‘independents’ to call yardfowls to task…admitedly political loyalty can be a hard cloak to wear but it CAN be worn with integrity …that’s why ridicous comments from people like Sen Orin Hatch or Hillary/Bill Clinton in US or Mariposa in Bdos must be addressed forthrightly.

I am confident that the marijuna legislation will eventually achieve it’s goals as there is TOO much outside pressure that will affect it…as the Dean noted in his piece.

One aspect that I noticed the Canadian @Hants or the businessman @Theo didn’t address is the exploding investment opportunities on both the Canadian and soon too the US stock markets.

As I recall a major US pension fund bought shares in the major Canadian marijuna player recently….and the Canadian companies like Tilray, in which that investment was made, appear to be trying to corner the market on cannabis product supply…they want to get ahead of their US counterparts who do not yet have the legislative runway on which to take off!

I mention this to highlight that these development may this a very substantive process and it will take a tsunami well beyond US Republican abilities to halt the progress…similarly it would be insane for nations like Barbados not to CAREFULLY match the larger countries and embrace the benefits of cannabis and its derivitive products.

And BTW what exactly does accepting greater use of the marijuna plant have to do in a policy sense with the criminal justice programs which saw thousands of poor youth (most of them Black) being incarcerated for insignicant use of the drug?

Addressing the latter has been an agenda item for all progressive liberal administrations in US for years now ..some with success.

This push re cannabis acceptance for medicinal or low level personal use is an entirely different policy matter.

47. Where did i say that barbados did not draft good pieces of legislation
    Barbados is entering uncharted waters in an area where the marijuana plant is still consider illegal as well as any drug that can be removed from it as a source
    Any legislation written cannot just be towards barbados but legislation which will be comprehensive and sufficiently enough not to erode or diminish the impact of drug laws and agreements barbados signed with other countries
    Btw getting cocky does not work or appreciated in a global community

48. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

@TheOGazert

Quite a few states in the US are rushing towards having medical marijuana.
    At some stage I expect to see a concomitant increase in the number of young blacks that are arrested.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Recreational marijuana is already legal in Washington, DC, and nine other states: Washington, Oregon, Nevada, California, Colorado, Alaska, Vermont, Maine and Massachusetts.

49. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

33 US States allow medical marijuana.

50. USA allowing medicinal marijuana does not help small islands
    These small islands still have to meet the smell taste of ironclad agreements pursuit to drugs laws of america which they signed
    Further more our immigration policies would now be subjected to heavy scruinty by as well as small island immigrants travelling in and out of the USA and other international countries