Many academics and technocrats are demanding a re-visitation of Barbados’ development model. Many are concerning themselves with reviewing the goals of national development, and coming to terms with the processes through which the country must proceed if a robust, strong, and productive economy is to emerge. Acting Central Bank Governor Cleviston Haynes cautioned this week that there are concerns “about the direction in which the reserves have been going. The reserves act as a buffer for the exchange rate peg, which we have held for over 40 years and which we believe is consistent with the future long-term growth of the Barbadian economy.”

This past week, Barbadians also heard from at least two personalities who have the best interest of the nation at heart. First, the Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley stated her case for doing away with the burdensome and inflationary National Social Responsibility Levy (NSRL). Mottley said that she would revert to paying fees for students of Barbados at the University of the West Indies from academic year 2018 to 2019. Additionally, she is adamant about projecting people-centred development in the context of a clearly thought out and articulated ‘economic stabilisation and growth plan’ once she becomes the first female Prime Minister of Barbados at sometime between now and June 2018.

Next, the former Prime Minister Owen Arthur made his case for a new model of development in which innovation, technology and entrepreneurship are the principal drivers of economic and social activity. Clearly, these focal areas that Arthur emphasised are co-requisites for unleashing national potential and moving towards dimensions that can make Barbados competitive and better able to sustain itself.

Yet, Arthur was clear to warn, not for the first time since his 2007 budget presentation, that the era of the ‘welfare state’ was fast coming to an end. More precisely, Arthur contended that: “A developmental model based on protectionism, trade preferences, unique tax benefits and on economic sectors which do not make the fullest use of our human capital will lead Barbados into an economic cul-de-sac.”

Elsewhere and previously, this writer has argued for a ‘new political imaginary’ that is indigenous and aptly concerned with development objectives. The national gaze towards a future and sustainable development must remain people-oriented. The next government must explore, create, and be nimble enough to implement development plans which unleash the capabilities of the Barbadian people in every conceivable endeavour.

According to international economist Joseph Stiglitz: “Development represents a transformation of society, a movement from traditional relations, traditional ways of thinking, traditional ways of dealing with health and education, traditional methods of production, to more ‘modern’ ways.” The traditional as distinct from the contemporary or future is challenging Barbados to be better. It appears that both Mia Mottley and Owen Arthur, from separate pages but a similar perspective, are suggesting that all ensuing policies from now on must in of themselves be solutions to the most vexing problems facing Barbados.

To be certain, high and uncontrolled debt, fiscal indiscipline, the persistent printing of money by the Central Bank, unconscionable taxation without resulting in commensurate services, and the inability of the current administration to reverse the downward drop in both foreign exchange earnings and the holding of foreign reserves, have combined to make the lives of Barbadians much harder than a decade ago. There is growing apprehension regarding the future should Barbados continue to receive downgrades from the international credit rating agencies, and the scrutiny of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) continues to project ominous outlooks.

Yet, the main problems affecting Barbados are too often captured in economic terms without the requisite explanations. The above issues are indicating that those problematic areas can lead to widespread poverty, corruption in governance, and the bankruptcy of ideas evidenced in large proportions of spokespersons straight-jacketed in neoliberalism’s garbs. Perhaps, it is these problems of inertia seen under the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) that has prompted the Leader of the Opposition to share the view that the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) is attuned to “developing policies that will allow our citizens to achieve their dreams of moving up and getting ahead … [and] achieving the ‘expectations great’ that our forefathers envisaged for all the children who come after them.”

New national development plans, rather than totally scuttling social programs should certainly address the real problems threatening livelihoods and jobs in Barbados. The plans must be for achieving adequate levels of investments (local and foreign) coupled with gaining sufficient national mobilisation for attaining economic growth. It is the trilogy of innovation, technology, and entrepreneurship that Barbados can begin to again contest in the international arenas above its body weight.

However, there still must be ample flexibility and commitment geared specifically towards providing for the social welfare needs of the country. Delving deeper, the national conversation cannot successfully go forward if there is the strong inclination to overlook demands being made by the Barbadian society. When juxtaposed to the increased poverty and the decreased standards of living that the nation has experienced since 2008, it is fathomable that a new government must be part of a way forward. It becomes futile to deny citizens their legitimate expectations for strong welfare programs just as self-evidently, it is reckless to do as the DLP has repeatedly done by ignoring the necessity for disciplined macroeconomic management and good governance.

Dr Clyde Mascoll, adviser to the Opposition BLP, argues that “the economic out-turn reinforces the failure of the Government’s fiscal strategy, which is designed to protect the foreign reserves and maintain employment levels.” Mascoll further stated that Barbados’ path under the DLP, “continues to fail” and that with the “economic growth prospects declining and debt rising,” the island is left in a place from which it must rise.

Instructively, Owen Arthur revealed that “the need for Barbados to move to a higher stage of technological sophistication derives from the fact that its transitional drivers and enablers of economic development and social platforms have been eroded in value overtime by adverse effects and now operate as fully depreciated assets.” Acting Governor Haynes is as correct as former Prime Minister Arthur and Dr Mascoll when he says that “we need to be able to get our private sector investment projects going such that those will also contribute towards the build-up of our foreign reserves situation.” There is merit in these statements to Barbadians.

More than anything else before off-loading with details on new development plans is a commitment by governing officials for transparency in our system of political economy. There must be unimpeded scope for the media, the Opposition BLP and all other contending political parties, the trade unions, and local businesses to know the precise nature of the Barbados economy and where the country stands in contrast to where it should be. It is one thing to traverse the choppy waters of neoliberalism, but it is another thing to abandon the social welfare project (Nordic or otherwise) when many more persons are today being pushed into the plight of poverty. Barbados needs development with the citizens in mind, and their expectations set as priority areas for policy formation and implementation.

(Dr George C. Brathwaite is a lecturer in Political Science and a political consultant. Email: brathwaitegc@gmail.com)

70 responses to “The George Brathwaite Column – Development With Citizens in Mind”

1. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

With the “citizens in mind”….reiterate it for ALL the ministers and politicians to read…..

……ALL 280, 000 Bajans in the population. …ARE THE CITIZENS….and should ALWAYS BE IN THEIR MINDS…..and not just a few chosen from the business community in the minority population. …

That low level mentality displayed toward the majority population….by ALL politicians and government ministers in the last 50 years …must be obliterated.

2. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

So the first task must be weening the slackers and unemployables off of welfare so the rest of us can afford to live, strive to prosper and are motivated to risk, build and work.

I propose a reversal of universal suffrage legislation and new laws that limit voters’ rights to those who contribute to society by way of NIS and PAYE contributions, past or present.

What a wonderful political landscape that would create. Vote-buying virtually eliminated instantly.

We can dream………………………..

3. We await the new development plans….hopefully with a 25 year vision showing us our projected growth path with new innovative areas of earning our way in the world and a formula for a complete overhaul of the system over a 5 year period.

Caricom must be addressed and we must take back the leadership role and make the Caribbean into a contender on the world stage.

4. @ Vincent
    hopefully with a 25 year vision showing us our projected growth path with new innovative areas of earning our way in the world and a formula for a complete overhaul of the system over a 5 year period.
    Steupsss!!!
    What do you NOT understand by the term …… TOO LATE!!!

Can you not see?
    Shiite man!!!
    When you look to the East and see nuff clouds – you KNOW the rain will come…
    Boss… look all around you …. what do you see???

Then again, …you are one of those fellows who would have been rearranging the deck chairs on the Titanic …. blimah!!! You would probably have been in the band with a big ass Tuba….. 🙂

5. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

lol….let`s see the implementation and enforcement first, then we can talk.

6. Apart from rhetoric and long reports, what is the Barbados development model? And has any aspect of this so-called model ever been implemented during the last 50 years, if so what?

7. Bushie

Chuckle….your BBE always talking about salvation,being saved and miracles……so wha wrong wid you……get pun yuh knees and start beggin fuh de miracle.

8. @ Vincent
    What we need in not a miracle….. we need REPENTANCE …and a fundamental change in our shiite (national) character…. (sackcloth and ashes)

Hal is right (Lord, forgive Bushie for he ventureth where angels dare not go…. agreeing with Hal) What have we EVER articulated as a developmental model …. and ACTUALLY implemented?

If we failed MISERABLY for 50 years – when we had fairly sensible people and leaders – how the donkey we will now climb HIGHER mountains – with the pack of JAs now leading us …and you following?

Boss, you better don’t sent Bushie on his knees begging yuh…. The StepDad like Bushie ‘bad as shiite’ …. and you DONE know that Bushie would be begging as follows…..

Step- father, which art in Heaven, hallowed be thy name….
    MAY YOUR KINGDOM COME – SOON,
    …..where common sense can prevail on this shiite earth.. as it does in Heaven…..

….so you see what would happen if Bushie got down and prayed?
    All wunna donkeys catspraddled…… especially yours – with no hope except in Mia….

Murduh!!!

9. Hall

……BREAKING NEWS……..

Bushie has just agreed with you.

LOL…………wuhloss……..lawd yuh bess cum fuh yuh wirl…..

10. @Vincent,
    Sit down and have a cold drink. Bushie needs to take his tablets.

11. 166 sq. miles. 280000 people.

It will get worse before it gets better.

Barbados is pucked.

12. Back to simple basics. Start with the little things; build out plans starting with a solid foundation and methodically work up from there.
    Rarely in life can we chill out in our own air conditioned den before the excavations begin.
    There are workable proposals, for widespread prosperity to be had but not being considered.

13. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ George

All your references are singing the same song but in different keys and at different beats to the bar. And are confusing most us who have an ear for good music.

The concept of a welfare state means different things to different politicians and in differing social and political contexts. I keep reminding BU Household that we had a comprehensive health, education and transport system even under the plantocracy from mid 19th century.

That system has been tweaked by successive administrations as the need arose.

So most of your references are not saying anything fundamentally new.

What we need is the implementation ,to the extent that they are feasible.

@ Vincent
    Bless your soul. A 25 year plan is a no no. Things are changing too rapidly and in unexpected directions for that to be feasible. What about a rolling 5 year plan with projection s revised every year?

14. Bernard

We are saying the same thing…..a 25 year vision……5 yearly projections continuously reviewed in order to achieve the perceived vision/goal.

15. William Skinner Avatar

The circus of these two parties continues
    “Mascoll’s reply to Arthur’s 2004 budget.

“Mr. Speaker, as I sat yesterday listening to the Right Honourable Member for St. Peter, once again I became convinced that the Right Hourable Prime Minister does not have any clue as to where he wants to take this country Barbados. The Right Honourable Prime Minister has no clear vision of the kind of Barbados that he wants to leave when he exists the political stage….The Right Honourable Member for St. Peter does not speak from a deeply-held philosophical position. His positions and policies reek of political opportunism and pragmatism. His blunderings and meanderings have been masked by excellent public relations machinery…

“Mr.Speaker… He is an excellent and affable politician but as a manager, he is a monumental failure. He is reckless with spending the public’s purse and as a Leader, he is a disappointment. Sir, with two of the biggest electoral mandates in our history, he has not moved us forward as a country. He has failed to inspire us as a people…

“He has been afraid to take the tough decisions, which is the hallmark of great leaders…He is afraid to offend his benefactors. Mr. Speaker, Over the last ten years since the Right Honourable Member for St. Peter became Minister of Finance, he has raised the national debt from $2.5 billion to $4.2 billion, an increase of $1.7 billion, which is approximately $1.1 billion in domestic borrowing and $600 million in foreign loans…
    “Mr. Speaker, in addition to that magnitude of borrowed funds, this Minister, the Right Honourable Prime Minister, had an additional $900 million more in taxes in one fiscal year, than the last Democratic Labour Party Finance Minister. Mr. Speaker, that would have given the Minister, the Right Honourable Prime Ministet, $3.5 billion more at his disposal, than the Demicratic Labour Party would have had in 1994. Sir, the national debt is not just an amorphous figure that we conjure up. It is money that our children and grandchildren would have to repay. We are mortgaging our children’s future. It is debt that could be a noose around our necks. It is a debt that if allowed to go unchecked, may signal a return of the International Monetary Fund…

“Mr. Speaker, if there is so much liquidity in the banking system, why is it that our private sector was not able to borrow funds from the commercial banks and put into a venture like the Hilton Hotel? Why is it that it is costing the Government almost $190 million in the rebuilding of the Hilton Hotel? …This Government has continued to spend recklessly. This Government owes the people of Barbados explanations for a lot of wastage. This Government needs to tell Barbadians why they are no better off ten years later, in spite of increased national debt, in spite of increased taxes, in spite of more than $3.5 billion in debt…

“Mr. Speaker, the thing about it is that this Prime Minister is a catastrophic failure, when you look at the fact he had more resources than any other Prime Minister in the history of Barbados. The Prime Minister has, in fact, not made good use of the resources available to him and when you look at the social state in Barbados, the decline in the ability to get housing, the decline in the health care delivery, the educational system, the transportation system, you have only to conclude that this Government has wasted the resources of this administration.”

The distiguished Dr. Clyde Mascoll

16. The following excerpts were taken from pages 50 & 51 of the DLP’s 2013 election manifesto, under the caption: “Pillar Four (4): Good Honest Governance.”

The DLP has a leader with the HIGHEST ETHICAL STANDARDS (hahahahahahaha, wuh loss) and his Administration will:

_ Establish an Integrity Commission to facilitate the implementation of the Act;

_ Pass a Freedom of Information Act;

_ Reform the Management of Public Expenditure by:

a) Developing performance standards for various units and departments of central government and statutory corporations;

b) Resourcing and Mandating the Auditor General’s Office to conduct at least one performance audit each year;

c) Working with the Trade Unions to develop incentive pay schemes based on these performance targets;

d) Undertaking a public education exercise to raise appreciation of the importance of the Public Accounts Committee’s (PAC) role among PAC members, parliamentarians, the press and the public in general;

e) Widening PAC membership to include members from outside of Parliament so as to change the image of an opposition institution” and allow it to benefit from the presence of experts in Accounting, Banking, Finance and Law.

++++++++++++++++++

Firstly, the DLP made a promise in their 2008 manifesto that they would IMMEDIATELY introduce INTEGRITY LEGISLATION requiring a NEW Freedom of Information law, after winning the 2008 general election.

Please note that five (5) years after, they made a SIMILAR promise in their 2013 election manifesto, thereby indicating such legislation was not a priority.

What was Stuart response when pressed to implement new anti-corruption laws???? He suggested that “a near 90-year-old piece of anti-corruption legislation that predates the 1937 riots is SUFFICIENT.”

Secondly, Stuart and the DLP promised “undertake a public education exercise to raise appreciation of the importance of the Public Accounts Committee’s (PAC) role among PAC members, parliamentarians, the press and the public in general.”

In 2014, when the PAC summoned witnesses to give evidence regarding the affairs of the NHC……….. how did Stuart and the DLP respond?

Stuart and the DLP piloted an act to repeal the then existing Public Accounts Committee Act with the “Public Accounts Committee (Repeal) Act, 2014.”

These political parties are treating anti-corruption, freedom of information and integrity legislation as though it is the ebola virus.

17. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ Vincent
    @ William S
    @ Artax

Thanks for confirming my hypothesis. Bushie would put it in a more vigorous language. We all singing the same song at different times and in different choir stalls.
    It comes down to who will deliver the goods, and with an acceptable level of integrity.

Wuh loss. Can integrity be qualified ?

18. Several subsidiaries moved from very-low-tax Barbados to no-tax Bermuda

http://www.cbc.ca/news/business/paradise-papers-paul-martin-1.4390174

19. NorthernObserver Avatar

@hants
    The question is why? Bermuda has always been zero tax, while Barbados has always been low tax. Why was Barbados acceptable to CSL for 20+ years, and suddenly no more. Did the tax rates change? No. So what changed?

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants November 7, 2017 at 4:40 PM

It seems as if Barbados is having its last hour of attraction in the setting Sun on the offshore business sector.

It’s time the ‘educated’ fools calling themselves Bajan economic policy-makers remove the blinkers of myopia and start planning for a replacement when that weakening wheel of economic sustainability inevitably runs off the rails.

Sophisticated tax avoidance and disguised money laundering (modern-day financial piracy) are not economic activities to pursue justifiably in a growing environment where the information highway (Internet and social media) leads to openness (glasnost) and economic restructuring (perestroika) and not to an ‘animal farm’ of Orwellian 1984 construct where Big Brother is equal too but greater than the working runts on the economic farm.

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ NorthernObserver November 7, 2017 at 6:47 PM

If your own home-grown child ‘christened’ “BMLAS” and raised to become a very big player in the regional financial services market to even change its name to Sagicor to bury its Bajan roots can just ‘pull up sticks ‘and leave its official birthplace so ungratefully and ungraciously because it saw the writing on the ‘selfish survival-of-the-fittest’ wall what do you think those tax dodging boll weevils looking for a dirty loosely regulated home would do?

22. @ NorthernObserver,

Barbados was more politically palatable for Paul Martin while he was Canada’s PM. the LOW tax looked better than NO TAX at the time.

The reality is that Bajans are so puckin igrunt they prefer to cuss their own than the rich furriners who use and abuse their cuntry.

Buh doan mine me. I does write a lot of shiite. ask bushie.

23. @ millertheanunnaki,

I agree that the” offshore business sector ” appears to be doomed.

24. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Corporate welfare at taxpayers and pensioners expense gotta end, let the private sector face the bank’s….not weasel at the citizen’s money….for decades.

Northern….it might be as simple as who the ministers have gotten into bed with, just like lawyers on the island, politicians dont seem concern with maintaing a prestine reputation….only money and
    material things hold sway and are most important to them, ya are known by the company ya keep.

In addition…it has been learned that most of the greedy tax avoiding people and companies, do not earn the money they are hiding and trying to avoid paying taxes on…..you dont want to know what that means…..the beast of buckingham palace is one such greedy creature….

There was absolutely no reason why a Canadian company owned by an active minister or senatir or whatever he is in the Canadian government, who avoids paying taxes by barely paying any in Barbados, should also be paid by the Barbados government to write an actuarial report on the NIS pension fund, that was the height of stupidity by GOB…

There are many contributing factors involved.

And contrary to what Dumbville said.

“It also conducted much of its international business through Barbados, where the general income tax rate on foreign-owned companies is capped at 2.5 per cent.

The Paradise Papers reveal that between January 2012 and February 2013, CSL moved a half-dozen of its Barbados-registered subsidiaries to Bermuda, where the income tax rate is zero for international companies.”

25. @ Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

If I was like Bushie I would tell you writing shite but you are conjoining two stories.

CSL was owned by the former Canadian PM Paul Martin.2003 to 2006.

Bill Morneau is a partner in Morneau Shepell, one of Canada’s largest human resources firm and is the current Minister of finance.

26. “Paul Martin, owner of Canada Steamship Lines, became the Liberal finance minister in 1993. He was politically criticized by Progressive Conservative MP Joe Clark, at the time, for leaving Barbados out when he closed tax loopholes. (Martin eventually transferred his interest in CSL to his three sons when he ran for Liberal leader in 2003.)”

27. Hants

Forget it…….de body nevah wong…… wait fuh spin coming now……showing yuh dah yuh wong wong……lololol.

28. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

The resliance of the Barbados currency to the peg, is totally due to the robust exchange control regime in place. If not, we would have no choice but to abandon the system long time ago, given our huge twin deficits of fiscal and current account. Forty years is a long time for a tried and tested system.That is why I give no credence to those predicting the imminent collapse and weakening of the currency.

29. Barbados has a risky economic ” situation ” ( in my layman’s opinion ).

Offshore business……risky

Tourism…..risky

Dependence on foreign investment…..risky.

I will leave it to the Bajan maguffees to suggest the way forward.

30. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Hants….I did not conjoin anything, I commented on 3 or 4 separate issues….all dealing with tax avoidance/evasion, the operative word…that is the issue…, trying to avoid paying taxes in their countries by hiding money in low tax or no tax jurisdications…..

……I know exactly who we are speaking about….and it extends from the 1950s…..paradise papers….who gives a shit what their names are….we been over their names several different times…on several different blogs….

Dont tell me how to précis. ..if you dont understand, just say so and I will explain, being we just keep going over there names over and over again, none of which impresses me…. no need to keep separating them when they are all doing the same thing…..ya get it….

Vincent…..ya will not be bottom feeding from Bajans anymore…I will see to that, ya can get vex as much as ya want….lol

31. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

Jamaica fully liberalized their semi- fixed foreign exchange control in 1993. And ever since, their currency has devalued on average, 6% per year. Jamaica has nothing in terms of economic growth, productivity, or competetiveness to show for all that devaluation. Only high inflation, high unemployment and a massive reduction in purchasing since 1993.

32. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

“Definition of précis. plural précis -ˈsēz, -(ˌ)sēz\ :a concise summary of essential points, statements, or facts.”

33. @ Hants
    Buh doan mine me. I does write a lot of shiite. ask bushie.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    …only when yuh get frustrated with the fishing weather. You are a font of wisdom on BU.

I will leave it to the Bajan maguffees to suggest the way forward.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Steupsss… Man DAT is shiite Hants…. or at least a reckless oxymoron.

What Bajan maguffees what?
    …like who? …Dr Robinson the DLP wizard? …. or Dr Delisle the fired mock banker? or COW the super rich fella with all the NIS soft loans to his credit?

The ‘way forward’ for Bajans is to sell off everything that our grandparents saved and built with their sweat and blood to COW, Bizzy, Baloney and Jerkham…. while rushing headlong back into economic slavery.

34. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

It will be interesting to see after all these university trained educated jokers immersed themselves into sinking the population into poverty, to impress a few, by giving away the people’s wealth….how they will dig the country out of that hole.

I can’t wait to see the outcome, it will be well worth watching….from a very safe distance.

35. Hants

Ah lie…….

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

Hants, you could be correct.
    Whether Bim is a ‘clean, low tax jurisdiction’ (and clean doesn’t mean unlittered), versus a tax haven, taxpayers in Canada see their government giving permission for some to avoid tax, while taxing them more. Bad optics.
    Further Barbados is seen as a VERY expensive destination, a home for the ‘rich and famous. Again bad optics. Why should Canadian taxpayers be subsidizing these paradises?

37. NorthernObserver Avatar

@miller
    I done with BMLAS. Wasn’t the official line something about downgrades affecting them?

38. Listened yesterday to Donville defending Barbados as a low tax clean offshore destination as he must. For him to suggest that this is the sector that will take us to economic prosperity is stretching it.

39. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Dumbville is also saying that no inferior quality goods should be allowed into Barbados….

Discarded rotten chicken that he signed off on and allowed some indian dude to import into Barbados from UK for bajans to consume and yet is to explain why …..comes to mind.

Anyone still be believing what useless politicians and ministers in Barbados say…….deserves what they will get.

40. William Skinner Avatar

Whatever became of the Public Accounts Committee? We talking about integrity legislation when we cannot even get the PAC to meet. It’s amazing that with all the evidence pointing toward widespread incompetence , in both the BLP and DLP , we have people daily coming to their defense. Imagine a politician brings a no-confidence motion against an administration and then joins the cabinet of that administration(Mascoll). How blind can we really be? An Opposition leader(Mottley) who was a Deputy Prime Minister and holder of several high profile ministries never brought integrity legislation after sitting in government for three straight terms turns up with some bogus thing called a “Covenant OF Hope”. A Prime Minister(Stuart) and former Attorney General, allows Integrity legislation to remain in some stuffy file and then announces that we had integrity legislation since 1929!!! And then the comedy of all comedies: A Prime Minister(Arthur) heralded as the greatest Minister of Finance ever wakes up after running the country for three straight terms and now realises, as he exits the political scene , that smart cities and technology and a new thinking are necessary for progress.
    Now I ask a simple question : Is it possible for a Prime Minister Grenville Phillips or a Prime Minister Lynette Eastmond to do any worse ?
    Rather than chase the BLPDLP from power we are here wasting time talking about LEC’s after annointing a woman with a QC. How can we go forward if the highlight of our public discourse is a father taking up a whole hour of radio time talking about whether his daughter is qualified to practice law?
    Where are we really going ????
    Dump Mottley, Dump Stuart. Dump the BLPDLP.
    Give Barbados some new hope.
    Vote UPP . Vote Solutions Barbados. Vote independents. Vote anybody but not BLPDLP.

Stop the window dressing and propping up political decadence. Stop running with the hare and hunting with the hound. Stop the bogus rhetorical queations. Its getting very old now.

41. Let us speculate. If the DLP loses the general election, it will be the end of Stuart; if the BLP loses again, it will be the end of Mottley. The big question, in terms of the two big parties, are the heirs apparent. With Rawdon Adams returning to Barbados, the so-called man of heritage, already some of his fans are gathering like a storm waiting to blow Mottley off course. That would be an historic wrong.
    The most impressive person in the BLP, if there is a scramble for leadership, is Ms Bradshaw. She is dignified, discreet, and not a rabble rouser and has the marks of an intelligent future leader.
    For the DLP it is anybody’s call. The worst that can happen to the DLP, in such a scenario, is Donville Inniss getting anywhere near the leadership. The man is a confirmed buffoon.
    The real losers in any such case (a DLP victory or Inniss as leader) will be the Barbadian people; in the case of the BLP, the party must spell out its programme BEFOE the general election; the people cannot continue to buy a pig in a poke. The BLP just cannot expect to win by default.

42. @ Hal
    The really worst case scenario is either the BLP or DLP wining the election. Neither the BLP nor DLP has any program for our country. Neither Tom’s son , Innis or Ms. Bradshaw can take us anywhere. The country would only breathe win these evil twins are removed from the corridors of power.

43. @ David,

To Donville, Barbados is a ” low tax clean offshore destination “.

To the average Canadian and the Canadian press Barbados is a Tax Haven.

The average Canadian looks at these Tax rates and does not accept that rich canadians should pay 2.5% tax in Barbados.

Canada Federal tax rates for 2017

15% on the first $45,916 of taxable income, +
    20.5% on the next $45,915 of taxable income (on the portion of taxable income over $45,916 up to $91,831), +
    26% on the next $50,522 of taxable income (on the portion of taxable income over $91,831 up to $142,353), +
    29% on the next $60,447 of taxable income (on the portion of taxable income over $142,353 up to $202,800), +
    33% of taxable income over $202,800.

44. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

“Where are we really going ????
    Dump Mottley, Dump Stuart. Dump the BLPDLP.
    Give Barbados some new hope.
    Vote UPP . Vote Solutions Barbados. Vote independents. Vote anybody but not BLPDLP.”

I totally agree and it’s never easy to get me to agree or say yes.

45. @Hants

Correct!

46. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Are these the new virtual Anarchists?

47. Hall

Looks like after the elections the DEMS will need saving from imploding as the ship is deserted……hmmm…..what about you,BC,Bushie,Artax,Hants,SS,SSS,to name a few patriotic Bimmers…..take over and restructure DEMs…..note all their former yardfowls would have joined the new govt and singing for their corn with a new tune.

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Vincent Haynes November 8, 2017 at 1:42 PM
    “Looks like after the elections the DEMS will need saving from imploding as the ship is deserted”

Your prognosis is not that farfetched.

All the factors are manifesting themselves to conclude there is a fast-spreading cancer existing in the bowels of that recently devil-possessed deceitful lying party to cause its implosion as a final act of demonic revenge in true Karma style for building that monument to Satan, the godfather to Bush Tea.

49. Miller

Yup…..did not mention you as I know you are wedded to the bees.

Do me a favour…..

When you accept the DEMs yardfowl let them do some groveling first with hard labour for all their foolishness……. Lol.