Submitted by Crusoe

The Nation news reports that C&W is seeking to purchase all remaining shares in the company, from minority shareholders ”Under the proposed amalgamation, shareholders will surrender their shares in Cable & Wireless Barbados in exchange for a cash payment of BBD$2.86 for each common share.”

For a company that has not paid a dividend for years, yet made substantial profits, how can such a low share price be substantiated?

Surely the FSC should examine the calculations supporting such a share price, including the expected future earnings potential of the shares, as a share price should be calculated.

That C&W Barbados has not paid a dividend in years would, while making profits, is shocking, would surely not be allowed by shareholders in North America (the directors would have been roasted, as NA shareholders in any company expect a dividend every quarter) and this ridiculously low share price merely adds insult to injury.

What exactly is the FSC in Barbados doing to protect minority shareholders?

This event adds credence to the assertion that there is no real stock market in Barbados, that any semblance of such is a veneer, with no real possibility of small shareholders earning via dividends or share appreciation. Add to this, that profitable companies locally are mostly privately owned and the whole thing becomes a joke.

If one believes that assertion and I do, then the conclusion is that Barbadian citizens should be allowed to invest in international stock markets, to have every opportunity that others have. Handcuffing Barbadians in using their earned income to invest is idiocy. Government policy on investments, limitations on overseas investment, is nonsense and needs to change.

There is not and will never be a viable stock market in Barbados.

62 responses to “Cable & Wireless ‘Amalgamation’ and Lack of an Operational Barbados Stock Market”

1. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

How can we have a small public sector with GOB having to setup and manage institutions to protect citizens from every business risk?

2. @Bernard

Don’t we have the FTC setup for the purpose?

3. Does the average Bajan care about this matter? The lack of interest in a matter like this exposes our financial ignorance.

4. Where was the FTC in protecting the citizens when the BNB, now the Republic Bank, not too long ago decided that minority shareholders had to surrender their shares in exchange for payment?

David, I can remember BU blogging on this matter.

“What exactly is the FSC in Barbados doing to protect minority shareholders?”

Answer: Not ONE shrt!

5. @Paradox

Isn’t there a rule that forces minority shareholders to sell if the entity is able to gain x % of the shares outstanding?

6. “……while making profits, is shocking, would surely not be allowed by shareholders in North America” or Europe.

I can vouch for above statement. I have friends who bought minor shares in Europe and North America many years ago. They are still receiving dividends today and have not been asked or forced to surrender them.

7. NorthernObserver Avatar

My question is….how many shareholders of the 20% of C&W B’dos not owned by C&W WI, went to the annual meeting and made their dividend case known? How many wrote to the media and made a case? How many tried to organize a group? How many did nothing and are now crying wolf?

When Liberty bought C&W, knowing that Liberty is not a publicly traded firm, how many figured this was going to happen and got together and “pumped the stock” a little?

8. There was a shareholders group headed by Douglas Skeete, what has become of it? Looks like he got fedup with flogging a dead horse?

> > >

9. Brass bowls have NO INTEREST in ownership.

Ownership is something that is of interest to REAL PEOPLE, who have a positive SELF-IMAGE and who have not resigned themselves to be slaves and serfs of others as a matter of history.

Until Bajan brass bowls become AWARE of themselves ….become aware of their TRUE history …. become aware of their unbelievable POTENTIALITIES …. we will continue to go after ‘pay raises and bonuse’ and other ‘slave-perks’, and to show NO INTEREST in ownership and in building LEGACY for future generations …. which is what DEFINES true HUMAN character.

10. Bushie

Thanks for saying, in plain terms, what we tried so to do.

For at the end of the day this and this alone is all that matters, if we say we are a nation.

Everything else is BS.

11. Shareholdings are on page 13 or 16 of 80 of the below link. The NIS cannot afford to be accepting less that the best possible return on its investments and the same goes for trustees of pension funds and representatives of shareholders of mutual fund and corporate investors. C&W in Barbados reported that it was not paying dividends to finance capital investment, but, at a first look, the pricing of that capital investment in terms of expected cash flows seems to have been overlooked in preference to a comparison to the trading price on the local “stock market”.

https://discoverflow.co/sites/discoverflow.co/files/pdfs/2016_cwb_annual_report.pdf – page 13 or 16 of 80

12. A Stock Exchange trading 20 shares is so ridiculous but that is what we have.BS&T,BL&P,BHL are typical examples of a stagnant stock market here.Lack of competition,one-sided and biased captains of industry, a risk-averse-from-experience majority people,interlocking closed shop directorships all combine to coalesce into a dull marketplace and undervalued shares.Ask Massy or Emera or Banks where I held shares for 56 years and was forced to surrender them.

13. NorthernObserver Avatar

Also noted from the Annual Report, and this coincides with a point made by Pacha in another thread, relating to shareholders who represent “many”; getting a Board seat (referring to pension/mutual funds, workers, representatives “of the people”) Here, Sagicor has a seat, and their representative attends ONE of the FOUR BoD meetings, and 1 of 3 Committee meetings??? So you get the voice, and then you do not show?

And go to P39, sec 5 and you will note these Directors get paid. We are not told if this remuneration relates to attendance or only for being duly elected.

14. Thanks all, good observations and fruitful comments from all above.

What bothers me greatly, is that all of what Bush Tea fairly calls ‘ownership’, while we are discussing the stock market directly, is also tied in to how NIS funds are invested and dispensed, the limitations on foreign investment by locals, the narrow areas for locals to invest generally.

Maybe I am missing a few glasses of the koolaid, but I am astounded that, as far as I am aware, the Minister can direct investment decisions / funds dispensation from the NIS.

There is no way that such power should be vested in one individual, for a critical fund, that all of Barbados’s workers have invested in, throughout their lives. And for many, this is their only hope for a pension in their retirement.

Add to that, a status where locals cannot freely invest in stock markets in US and UK etc, and the Barbados citizen is basically working in a scenario where his earnings (profits) are held captive, with limited investment potential, while ‘his’ contributions are at the mercy of political choice. Bear in mind, foreign entities can invest locally and then repatriate both profits and original investment. No issue with that, but why penalize the Barbadian, by not allowing his investment overseas?

As far as I am concerned, this is insanity. Bear in mind too, that this is not a BLP / DLP issue, this is an ideological issue, related to the structure of the economy and working practices.

So, we have a situation where:

there is no enforcement on companies making profits to be accountable to minority shareholders
    investment opportunities are limited for Barbadians, compounded by the first point
    contributions towards one’s pension are at the whim and fancy of ‘whomever’
    all of this compounded by the recent legislation stipulating that the majority of investments held by pension funds must be held in Caribbean entities (as opposed to a broader international portfolio).

A very strange scenario overall, which I consider to basically hold one’s earnings captive.

Of course, some will / may counter with an argument that Barbadians need to invest in venture capital, in entrepreneurs etc.

All well and good, but considering the first two points above, as well as a general investment point that one should invest only if it makes economic sense vis-a-vis a reasonable rate of return etc, I really do not accept such an argument as holding water.

Really, the situation is quite discouraging to those who wish to seek opportunities as broadly as possible and also to ensure that their investments are held in a transparent and accountable manner.

Lastly, aside from you all above, who obviously understand where I am coming from, I wonder if we have been left out of the koolaid run, because it would appear, as David says, that we are in the minority who think that this is an issue.

15. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

We are constantly ignoring the fact that there is a new capitalism. It has gradually been financialized since the 1980s. My advice to the remaining shareholders in Cable and Wireless is to bargain for the highest price possible. The fact that no dividends were declared for a long time should have been a red flag to them. Has this not happened before on the local stock market? Do we not learn from history?

@ Bush Tea at 6 :34 AM

“Brass bowls have no interest in ownership” Is that why Hilton, Hyatt and Wyndham allow GOB, and Maloney to build and own hotels? Time for other Barbadians to become brass bowls or not? Just asking ?

16. @Bernard

Are you not focusing on the symptom? Many Barbadians hold shares for the wrong reasons. Even if they buy for the right reason they lack the literacy to force these issues at shareholder meetings. We observe this also playing out in the media where for the exception of Pat there is no financial coverage.

17. Northern Observer

Obvious you have more than average knowledge and a passing interest in these matters.

In the case of the ‘big six’ in Barbados there was never a deep culture of activism as shareholders or small shareholders. That was White people’s business

In the case of the then Mutual active efforts were exerted to prevent policyholders from attending board meetings, particularly along racial lines.

18. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ David at 12:23 PM.

To quote Jeff C . I can only deal with what you have put before me.

You have put a symptom and I tried to deal with it. The vote is determined by the number of shares. If one is a minority shareholder should one have the power to put at risk the larger investments of the majority share holders?
    The shareholders are shareholders to earn a profit either through dividend payments or capital gains through sale of the shares.
    The minority share holders were not getting any dividends.
    They may or may not be able to salvage their investment by selling if the present shares are worth a multiple of what they bought them for.

The fundamental issue is that if one wants to be part of an ownership democracy ,one must be prepared to take individual risks and not to rely on the taxpayers to bail one out when the downside to the investments materializes.

19. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Crusoe

several valid comments.

The NIS has several funds, but only the main fund invests in equities
    http://www.nis.gov.bb/investments/

the NIS has been discussed on BU many times, in the last few years. They ceased posting their Annual Report on their website, and I am unsure if it is available elsewhere. I would assume (u know potentially make an ASS out of U and ME) their investments are made under professional direction, and selected Board members oversee this. Not at the sole discretion of the Minister.

I suspect this is not a matter they wish to hide. More likely the inner workings of their role as a lender to the GoB.

Large investment bodies, like Sagicor, and maybe the NIS, do have permission to invest a limited amount offshore. For the individual this creates a Fx challenge. We cannot buy shares on the NYSE with Grantleys.

I live in canada, most of the time, and financial ignorance is a widespread phenomena. Having volunteered at a credit counselling operation, you have no idea the thousands of people who have credit cards and lease automobiles that have NO CLUE how they work. They couldn’t calculate simple interest owed to them if they tried. Stocks, bonds or T-Bills are well beyond them.

When we listen to our publicly elected officials, and the frequent and common mistakes they make on financial matters, is it any surprise the average citizen is clueless??

20. @Bernard

Don’t fault your last comment, however you seem to be trivialising the degree of fairness the market should treat minority interest whether the regulator or the market at large. Should it be accepted that minority shareholders surrender to market risk and that tension should not be placed on stakeholders in the process to nurture the financial ethos required to grow a diverse and robust investment market?

21. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Pachamama at 12:28 PM

You and Bush Tea are my favourites on this Blog. Your references to history are so spot on, they defeat a lot of long talk and rhetoric..

22. There is an NIS Investment Committee. Who are the members?

23. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Pacha

Let me ask you. What were the issues with BMLAS?

Appreciate, demutualization (sp?) is the conversion of rights as policy holders to shares. Policies remained intact. Who rang the bell, and what was being sought?

And I if I recall correctly, the issue of the meeting, was the Board wished to consider deM in private and not in public.

Yes the other business were run with an iron fist.

24. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ David at 1: 01 PM

A market is a place where buyers and sellers are free to take part. They should only enter it if one knows what one wants to buy and what one wants to sell. One should know the commodity well and the risks attached to buying it. You may ask for advice but the decision is always the buyers. That is the realty. Life has upside risks and down side risks
    The only way to avoid risks is to die.
    GOB has in place regulatory bodies to insure that financial markets do not destroy nor disrupt the total economic system.

Where did you get the notion that a diverse and robust investment system is necessary for economic development and welfare? Small size, despite what Hal believes, does put constraints on imitation of what takes place in North Atlantic countries.

25. @Bernard

Curious if you are of the view the regulatory culture and framework is adequate to fairly support the market you described.

26. When you work all over the Caribbean for a multi million dollar institution that had a history of good management and highly trained personnel operating in very competitive markets and you take and participate in well informed decisions and a jackass canecutter cum salesman cum political tout cum bosspimper was allowed to assume your autumnal future,then you know Barbados is run by some of the biggest brassbowls you can find anywhere in the Caribbean.Gaul bline allodem sumsbeeches and chopsutters.Barbados in the hands of the halt,the lame and the blind.Nothing but a bunch of barefoot bagblind hoes.

27. LOL
    Language…language…
    Tek it easy Gabriel…. You are named after an angel….
    You are not a stinking bushman..with a big-ass whacker… 🙂

Don’t you see that Bernard is a realis- after the order of Dribbler? His perspective is driven by the REALITY on the ground … and the truth is that investment by minority shareholders is EXACTLY similar to joining the Lodge in order to be favoured with some benefits from time to time.
    The REALITY is that you are being exploited by the albino-centric system of greed and spite – and you quickly find yourself in deeply over your head, and in fact, just another pawn of the system.

The majority share owners have ABSOLUTE control of the organisation. THEY call all the shots. Your only hope is that whatever they scrape for themselves will redound in a material share for you…..and that once used to be the case…generally.

Nowadays, however, they can play complex games to minimise profit declarations (NOT REAL PROFITS MADE); to inflate ‘expenses’; and to hide retained earnings … such that actual dividends declared (and taxes paid) are zero or even negative.
    Needless to say, these ‘expenses’ often involve strange payments to their ‘other’ businesses or associates… leaving minor shareholders holding the shitty end of the stick….

When things start to look like the pyramid is about to topple, they ‘buy out the small shareholders’ …so that no one is left to ask questions…and move on to the next scam…

That the Banks holdings shares so publicly moved…by so much…. with such ease, … would have set off alarm bells in NON-BRASS-BOWL jurisdictions…. but not bout here….

So Bernard is right (so are many Bajans for NOT investing is such businesses)
    What should they do instead?
    if not rich-as-shiite (like Bushie) to BECOME a major shareholder?

Ask him about CO-OPERATIVES…. where “minority shareholders” do not exists….
    Also ask him why this model has not taken off in Barbados…

….but try not to make Bernard sin his soul with a lotta cussing…. he don’t have a whacker either …and is a decent chap.

28. Related party transactions continue to be a challenge.

The Cooperative Model for whatwhat ever reason is not a top of mind option for Barbados mainstream. Interesting if we consider quite a few members of the political class are involved in the movement.

29. Bernard,
    I am surprised that you should think that in free markets the is information symmetry. There is not, that is why we need regulation.
    One of the myths of law is that two parties to a contract are equal. You know in the real world that is usually not true.
    Minority share holders have legal rights which are sometimes ignored in Barbados, which is why I have called for new companies legislation. It is not rocket science.
    Companies legislation was first framed in the1920s, the environment we operate in now is totally different ie Enron.
    It also shows up one of the weaknesses of our trade unions. Just look at Banks and the silence of the unions and the way the Mutual was hijacked. We must move out of the political and legal obsession and develop a financial awareness.
    We lost the Mutual because we did not understand the financial argument. The same problem with Clico. Take lawyers and politicians out of the equation, they are part of the problem.

30. Crusoe, your assertions are complex and a much more nuanced than you appear to offer in your brief piece. You said:

-“For a company that has not paid a dividend for years, yet made substantial profits, how can such a low share price be substantiated?”, and

-“…the conclusion is that Barbadian citizens should be allowed to invest in international stock markets […] Handcuffing Barbadians in using their earned income to invest is idiocy.”

As you know a company share price is not only a reflection of balance sheet ratios reflecting strong growth and profitability but also in very practical terms the market desire (demand) for their shares. For all practical purposes all the listed Bajan companies are ‘under-demanded’ and ‘undervalued’. That can be stated unequivocally based squarely (but not only) on recent acquisitions – that demand part of the equation- where purchasers came in and offered substantial premiums on the listed share price.

And dividend payments can be a long winded debate. Your cryptic comment does not adequately capture those nuances either.

In short, your first query given our very limited financial market is as some US late-night comedians would say: ‘meh’…or in Bajan: ‘so wha you expect, doh’!

On that international investment matter, you really need to flesh that out in practical terms….nothing really stops any ‘enterprising’ Bajan from making international investment…well other than exchange control restrictions (as was noted above by BC).

But they are ways to circumvent that legally (Fortress Fund, in one perspective as an example) and of course practical other options than ‘skirt’ the law.

In my view, if so many Bajans can find US currency (legally and law-skirted) to travel to Disney World or jet off to London or wherever then too if they are so inclined they can set up an online investment a/c fund it and off to the ‘races’ they are.

And on the other point noted re VCs and the like. Why are they not more of them in B’dos stepping into the breach you highlighted? Why haven’t folks like Bushie and his coop modellers (what is a VC really if not that) been unable to use some of their high-net worth discretionary income to set a Bajan market abalze with activity!!!

David spoke about the Skeete shareholder group, but aren’t groups like that exactly the vehicles that ‘corporate activists’ use to drive dividend payouts at firms like C&W and then as they mature become the breeding ground for serious players in seeking those with high net worth to fund venture capital teams.

It can be argued that in a local setting such teams or investment groups would be the ideal vehicle to fund overseas market investments.

And yes “There is not and will never be a viable stock market in Barbados”. How can there really be. Good heavens, there are a handful of companies listed; of that handful there are one of two traded on a daily basic; of those few traded only a trifling amount of shares change hands.

To call that a stock market is like saying that the Wildlife Reserve in St. Peter is a zoo… Yep, there are animals to see and some are wild and exotic but fah real…a zoo comparable to one in London or New York….let’s get practical.

31. @Bernard, well said above at 1:29 PM. And @BushTea I can also get on board with most of your 2:38 PM…except one part.

No long talk on that again but the way you present on coop matters oversimplify as it relates to success of failure in Bdos. We have had these tussles before so suffice to say: US Savings and Loans debacle…balance that of course against the wild success of later Credit Unions et al world wide….in sum, it’s not the system alone that marks great success but the people executing said system. Enough on that.

@David, you have me perplexed with some of your retorts to Bernard…he responded well, so just clarify the rather strange remark that: “… Many Barbadians hold shares for the wrong reasons. Even if they buy for the right reason they lack the literacy to force these issues at shareholder meetings. We observe this also playing out in the media where for the exception of Pat there is no financial coverage.”

Realistically on what basis are you making that comment?? What other practical reason other than a long term investment would Bajans buy shares???

Above I believe it was Gabriel who said he owned shares for over 50 years. My old man was no banker or financial guru but he also had the ‘literacy’ eons ago to buy BL&P shares which led to purchase of BS&T as well.

Quite sure they were not the only two Bajans who did that.

The lack of financial coverage at the broader public level is a function of those willing to expend energy and cost to produce it for those willing to ‘pay’ to get it.

As long as forever there ‘used to be’ a program on the then Rediffusion by Merril Lynch (as memory serves) on investing and such…of course that’s one small example but the point is that even way back then there were avenues to delve into those things for those so interested.

I also recall there was/is the Broad St. Journal and the Nation’s Business Authority which offer financial and corporate news for those that inclined…not too mention the various newsletter from the local accounting and consultancy firms that can be purchased

In short, seems to me that Bimmers are no more or less ‘illiterate’ about fin news than those Canadians which @Northern ‘ratted-out’. Neither less savvy that the Greeks who ran their country to ruin with wide-spread tax evasion or any other world citizen.

Those of us who want to know, find the data and get in the know..those who don’t, do not…..

I can say not a ‘pang’ about bashment music or the latest dub craze etc…I “lack the literacy to force these issues” anywhere…but the media does report on that sort of thing daily doesn’t it….because it SELLS daily papers….financial reporting DOES NOT.

32. @Dee Word

Agree with your point that Bajans can use their forex allowance to start investment portfolio in US, CAN or UK to create wealth instead of the shopping and vacation jaunts.

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ de pedantic Dribbler July 28, 2017 at 5:42 PM
    “And yes “There is not and will never be a viable stock market in Barbados”. How can there really be. Good heavens, there are a handful of companies listed; of that handful there are one of two traded on a daily basic; of those few traded only a trifling amount of shares change hands.
    To call that a stock market is like saying that the Wildlife Reserve in St. Peter is a zoo… Yep, there are animals to see and some are wild and exotic but fah real…a zoo comparable to one in London or New York….let’s get practical.”

What a great twist of irony to use such a witty analogy of the zoo to put things in their right perspective.

Reminds one of the comical use of the term ‘Highway’ as is known internationally to describe the ABC and other extended makeover cart roads.

One is left to wonder about the imminent demise of the corporate secretarial service unit calling itself a stock exchange.

How is the staff paid and operating expenses covered these days now that the major companies like Massy and Emera have shut shop to the public as far as trading in shares is concerned?

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David July 28, 2017 at 6:30 PM
    “Agree with your point that Bajans can use their forex allowance to start investment portfolio in US, CAN or UK to create wealth instead of the shopping and vacation jaunts.”

D’accord aussi!

Coming very soon Bajans will come to fully appreciate the vital value of scarce forex.
    When people are ‘forced’ to earn what they want to spend overseas then the adage of ‘not missing the water until the well runs dry’ will come home to them like chickens about to roost.

35. The BSE is ranked 67th out of 76 stock exchanges in the world tracked by Stock Market Clock. If any consolation it is the third largest of the four in Caricom.

http://www.stockmarketclock.com/exchanges/bde-barbados

36. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

David @7:02 PM
    I am surprised that the BSE was even listed . The economy of Barbados is too small and the culture does not encourage wide shareholdership.
    Many local companies, traditionally ,have been very tightly held. As was mentioned in one of the interventions above many of them were undervalued using the conventional method of company evaluation. Moreover,the share prices did not reflect this.Hence my advice to Cable and Wireless minority shareholders. A company does not buyback shares unless there is a financial advantage for someone.

37. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ Hal

I never stated nor implied that there was symmetry in stock markets . If there was there would be no market. Every participant assumes that he has better information than the other participants.

38. Bernard,
    Apologies. I was doing the Bajan thing of interpreting what you have said. On another matter, I have long called for a single Caricom stock market operating in real time.

39. de pedantic Dribbler July 28, 2017 at 5:42 PM #

Fair points all. Yes, valuations and dividends involve more than I mentioned, nevertheless, my simplified version still holds. Major profits and no dividends for years? Simply does not work.

And yes, on the valuations, indeed a company may be more valuable than ‘demand’ sets the price for, that is exactly what makes the local trading scenario ‘unnatural’ and no place for the minority investor.

Your point on forex allowance has some merit, but restrictions on forex generally still largely handcuff the citizen who wishes to invest more than the ‘minimum.

$7,500 (US3,750) over a long time can build up, but it still amounts to being handcuffed, as that is a limit on all such spending.

40. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ Hal Austin at 3:23 AM.

No need for apologies. I am a Bajan and I know myself and my people. As Bushie would say I have no whacker. I believe you wanted to lift the level of debate a little bit. And that is OK with me.

41. Bernard,
    Thanks. It is sometimes very difficult trying to raise the quality of discussion above personal abuse and speculation. Every one has a view.

42. @Hal

Why are you and Bernard of the view that your interventions qualify to lifting the debate on this particular topic? So far ALL the contributions have been constructive. You guys need to stop being so sensitive. This is the Internet, it is what it is. Make your comments and move on.

43. David,
    You are the captain of the ship. Equally, the standard of education in Barbados is a reflection of the quality of teaching.

44. Hal, …the second-in-command of the ‘brigade to unmask contributors’…. talking about raising the quality of debate ‘above personal abuse and speculation’….?

Shiite!!!
    Any time he, or his commander in Chief – Carl Moore, gets a whiff of who a blogger is, THEY start with the personal stuff…

Look!!!
    Bushie don’t give a shiite!! …. cause wunna won’t listen to the bushman…
    Duh give the bushman a whacker… HE WILL WHACK.
    Who don’t like um….. just keep yuh heads low….
    Lotta shiite talk about ‘raising standards of debate.’!!!!

What raise what standards of what debate what??!!
    … All o’ we talking shiite… none more so than Hal

Wunna have ….
    …NO clue about the purpose of life
    …No understanding of the lotta shiite befalling us all around
    …No comprehension of the’powers-that-be’ who are currently wrecking havoc…
    …No idea of how to escape the chaos quickly besetting us…
    …No hope of salvation – in the face of OBVIOUS doom

Wunna do not even GET the point of WHY life exists on this earth in the first place…
    ….so wunna can ONLY be talking shiite!!!

As to Bushie…. When is Rome, the bushman will do as the Romans do…. and talk shiite too..
    wuh Bushie like buff sport too…
    But remember this –
    Bushie GOTTA whacker….
    Wunna ain’t got shit…..

45. Looking at section 186 on page 105 of the companies act, CWWI must get agreement for 90% of the shares not already held to force the acquisition of all shares not already held. This will depend a lot on how the NIS Sagicor CIBC and other pension fund, mutual fund and corporate investors respond to the initial inadequate offer. It is generally known that the initial offer is way below the true value of the future realizable profits.

Section 186 on page 105 – https://www.investbarbados.org/docs/Companies%20Act%20-%20CAP%20308.pdf

46. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ David at 10 :11 AM

Who is being sensitive? Who said the contributions were not constructive? I spend a considerable part of my life as an enabler. I am a proud Bajan.

47. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Alien @10 :46 AM

Much appreciated. I have a good idea how this will unfurl. But we will wait and see.

48. @Bernard

Responded to your earlier comment to Hal that he was trying to lift the debate which suggested that ??

@Alien

Wouldn’t trustees of the pension Funds you mentioned want to push for a higher share price especially in a low yield market?

49. Yes, that is what the smaller, individual shareholders expect.

50. @ David
    Wouldn’t trustees of the pension Funds you mentioned want to push for a higher share price especially in a low yield market?
    Would you?

…if you were an albino-centric trustee who had a dastardly interest in acquiring more cheap shares (by gobbling up the minority shares)…prior to a really big future sellout to a (currently non-public) buyer?

Remember the initial low price recommended by the board to shareholders of Banks?
    Do you REALLY think that the Board were dumb enough – not to know the true value…?

Same thing with Emera and BL&P…