Submitted by Anthony Davis
Ronald Jones, Minister of Education

Minister of Education Ronald Jones has raised concern over the drop in the number of students writing the 11-plus exam, saying this was due to a declining national birth rate. Jones pointed out during a news conference Wednesday morning at his office at the Elsie Payne Complex on Constitution Road, that 3,216 students wrote this year’s exam, representing an 8.8% decline from last year’s figure of 3,527. And that is as a result of . . . if you have been following what has been happening, there’s been a declining birth rate in Barbados and this is being reflected in the number of students at age 11, who have been writing the exam,” the Minister of Education told reporters. He warned that the implications of the falling birth rates extend beyond educationBarbados Today June 07, 2017

Pray tell me, Mr. Minister, if you need more children, why don’t you go right ahead and do it?

I guess you mean yourself and your colleagues who run this Government, because I don’t think you could mean the rest of the populace of this country.

Haven’t you just ganged up with the tax collector to hike the NSRL from 2% to 10% knowing full well the burden of the taxes on the population of this country is putting many of them on the poverty line, making them lose their jobs, their homes, their cars and, above all, their dignity and respect?

The Minister of the Environment already said he doesn’t see any garbage in Bridgetown, so I guess you don’t see any vagrants there. You don’t see that they are increasing, and also younger because you ride around in your limos with the windows rolled up and the AC on to avoid the stench which emanates from these individuals.

The problem, Mr. Minister, is that many of those citizens who you are addressing are already having difficulties raising the one or two they already have, because of the high taxes they already have to pay on everything – especially VAT which was raised to 17.5% for 18 months, but I have surmised that that year hasn’t come yet, and now the NSRL will be raised from 2% to 10% come July 01. A whopping 500% increase!

All you have to do is check with the various NGOs – the Salvation Army, the Barbados Red Cross and others, and you’ll get a run down on what’s going on in our country.

Check with Mr. Saffrey of the Vagrants organization.

It’s obvious that they have wide-reaching implications for every facet of our society, Mr. Minister, but you and your colleagues just sat around, and thumped your tables and shouted “hear, hear” as the tax collector set about the demolition of everything which those who have gone before put in place as safety nets for the poor, the needy and the vulnerable of our society.

Do you really think that anyone would bring children into this world in which we live in Barbados these days?

Should the people put out the children to graze?

Methinks not!

You would be the first person who would want to charge them for child neglect.

Just imagine, Mr. Minister someone having to get up at 3AM to get a bus that leaves at 5AM. The bus arrives punctually and the person gets to one of the terminals hoping to catch a bus about 6AM or 6.45AM to get to work for 8AM.

When does the person get a bus? At 9.45!

By the time that person gets to work three hours of that person’s working time has been lost. That person then has to do without three hours’ pay.

In the evening it’s the same nonsense.

They can’t get home before 8PM or 9PM.

By that time one or both parties may be too tired to partake in any sexual intercourse, and therefore no children can be procreated.

Others just can’t afford children in this overtaxed country.

You have money for an S-Class Mercedes Benz, but you don’t have enough for welfare!

Who owns the new E-Class Mercedes Benz with the number MP100?

How many Mercedes Benz have you purchased recently?

This is a case of hiding and buying land and trying to hide and work it.

Sooner or later the others will be spotted by someone else.

You have money for the S-Class, but you don’t have any to give the public servants who haven’t had a raise for years!

Do you still wonder that the populace of this country just can’t afford children under such circumstances?

It’s only you and your colleagues who couldn’t live without a 10% cut who can afford to have children!

You’re “entitled” to get back your 10%, but the rest of us can suck salt!

Now this tax on forex being taken/sent out of the country will make life even harder for the poor, the needy and the vulnerable, because if they want to visit relatives in one of our neighbouring islands or further afield they have to look for extra money to pay that new stupid tax.

I wonder how much you and your colleagues are allowed to take out without paying one red cent in tax!

I believe you are the one who is being selfish, because you are only seeing the children as numbers growing up to sit the Common Entrance exam!

A child isn’t just a number, he/she must be well looked after – a roof over his/her head, a good meal daily, clothing, schooling, sports, good parenting, etc.

We can’t do it like Adolf Hitler – set up a place where certain women are held for procreation only.

In other words, Mr. Minister, you cannot determine which female in our society should bring forth a child  just because you want to fill exam rooms.

If people can’t afford something – especially in our overtaxed society – they can’t do so, and that’s that!

Will you give up your 10% to help?

Donville Inniss surely won’t, because he said up front that he couldn’t afford to have 10% of his money deducted because he has bills to pay – as if the cash cows of this country don’t have any to pay.

What will happen when the people decide to have more children?

Will you and your colleagues give them a ride to the QEH, or polyclinic when necessary to save them the long wait for the buses?

Will you be there for them when they have to go to the Welfare Department to collect what little they are getting nowadays?

Will you ensure that the fathers pay their meagre dues?

Will you make sure that the Transport Board gives an appropriate bus service, instead of having to listen to the stuck record: “Passengers please note, we are having some challenges with our services,” whereas the buses are lined off at the terminals, and only certain routes are being serviced – especially the one where the ZRs come into play in the Fairchild St. terminal.

When they do get a bus after they guess that all of the school children are out of the terminal – some of them being there up to 9.30 or 10 – they hear the other stuck record: “We do apologize for the lateness in your service.”

The only “challenge” is with the logistics.

What you should do is to listen to the head of the Barbados Family Planning Association, but neither you nor any of your colleagues know anything about listening, because you are all infallible, and therefore have a condescending attitude.

I’ve heard that:

1) Red means danger

2) Yellow means cowardice

I wonder if that’s the reason why no one in the ruling party has stood up to the tax collector when he decided to introduce new taxes or raise some old one – one even by 500%!

My dogs will decide for me for whom I should vote – if I vote at all. The louder they bark when people come canvassing will make the difference for me.

It’s the “silly season” already, so I would advise my compatriots to be wary of gift-bringing Greeks.

Pride goes before destruction, Mr. Minister!

140 responses to “Government Allocates Monies to Buy S-Class Mercedes Benz But …”

1. David would bring this issue even though it is legal and approved by cabinet for PM to buy the car legally which is owned by the people of barbados
    However David would never pick teet about a piece of legislation which gave Mia a right to become a lawyer without her ever having to pass one bar examination.
    David is plain and simple a hypocrite

2. @Prodigal Son June 22, 2017 at 8:48 PM “they can afford to have plenty children. Let the fun begin, Ronald Jones…get busy making babies!”

Please note that I was joking when I offered the young women of my family as baby makers to elderly high ranking high officials.

In reality I do not think that any young woman should be making babies for men who are older than 40, because in truth old people do not make good healthy babies.

However the government should create family friendly policies so that the only people who can generally make good healthy babies, that is women younger than 35, and men younger than 40 would want to bear and rear children. After all babies are lovely. We all love babies.

But I don’t see any party has any family friendly policies.

Telling women to breed, as though they are livestock will just NOT CUT IT.

Calling the tax oppressed middle class selfish will just NOT CUT IT.

Being querulous,demanding, petulant, peevish, pettish, complaining, fractious, fretful, irritable, testy, tetchy, cross, snappish, crabby, crotchety, cantankerous, miserable, moody, grumpy, bad-tempered, sullen, sulky, sour, churlish, snappy, grouchy, cranky with grandmothers who can no longer bear to hear babies crying in our homes at nights will not persuade anybody to bear children, and certainly won’t persuade us grandmothers to take on the responsibility of housing the children of reluctant daddies. He who had the fun is responsible for housing the snivelling little bastards.

The government–any party–has to give some serious THOUGHT to our demographic problem, and then develop and implement good pro-natalist policies.

But I ain’t see that happening.

3. Chad99999 is literate enough to appreciate that this piece was submitted by Anthony Davis right?

You are also capable of understanding that the poster of the Benz was submitted by SSS.

4. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Ain’t Stuart looking real savvy posing next to his S-Class Benz in garbage and pothole filled roads nuh?

5. @SSS

How do you feel when traveling our roads? The consensus in the BU household -it is very stressful having to avoid potholes, not being able to avoid some of the potholes, the recognition that our roads and other infrastructure is crumbling – a clear indication of failing systems.

6. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

From what my girls tell me, it is better to drive a tractor on the roads of Barbados. The PM, on the other hand, will be dodging his P-holes in style. It’s the Dan Gordan thing to do when you are a PM. The roads will be fixed soon David, no worries.

7. While we talk about a Mercedes, over-valued at Bds$700000, read the story in the Nation about the money government is trying to get back from David Ames and Harlequin. This must be a joke. This shambles of a government and a brain-dead attorney general – along with a media that could not tell a story if it fell in their laps – have done nothing since the Serious Fraud Office charged Ames. They have not frozen any assets they own in Barbados, they have not launched an investigation in to the behaviour of Ames and his agents in Barbados. Absolutely nothing.
    A simple news story s not enough. Investigate what they have been up to.

8. If Harlequin owes the BRA $700000 in land tax, which is seems not to be to pay, why does the BRA not take them to court and, if successful, send in bailiffs or seize the land? Had they owed that money to banks the banks would have re-possessed ages ago.

9. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/98023/battle-millions

This is what both incomoetent governments have allowed for decades, fly by night schemes and scams by foreign british, US, German and local white criminals…because ministers do no due diligence, no background checks and never factor the past history of their local scam artists who  already owe government entities millions….read 4 Seasons scam…..and the current  Hyatt scam in waiting. It’s the treasury and pension fund are always the losers, it’s the people who pay for government incompetence

“DOZENS OF CREDITORS, including Government, are facing an uphill battle to recoup millions of dollars owed by the English developers of two abandoned tourism projects in Barbados.

A high-powered team of financial and legal experts from the Caribbean and the United Kingdom has been assembled to recover at least $600 million in debt left by English company Harlequin.
    It includes more than $134 million tied up in a 70-acre property at Merricks, St Philip, and H Hotel at Hastings, Christ Church.
    The WEEKEND NATION learnt that the funds owed to local and foreign creditors included $115 million associated with Merricks, $19.5 million for H Hotel, and about $700 000 in land tax due to the Barbados Revenue Authority. (SC)…”

10. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

I guess you are clearly seeing the problems Hal….it all points to two incompetent governments and ministers who refuse to understand their job descriptions.

The attorney general is useless.

11. Wunna let David Thompson and the same Ronald Jones trick wunna in 2008 about Guyanese, now complaining about population size. Back then the narrative of “too small, not enough social infrastructure, tiefin jobs, tiefin men, one room rentals” etc etc was the “gospel” according to King David. (I always thought declining birth rates is a characteristic of developed and developing countries…..but no we’re 98% literate and God is a Bajan so we different.) Now primary school classes dwindling, room renters’ incomes dried up, and Fairchild Street and community shops struggling. The trend will not change! Bajans will continue to have less children; and, as I said here on BU before, with the continued expansion of and demand for private primary school places, classrooms in public schools will shrink even further–au contraire to the 2008 propaganda. Thompson and the DLP have a lot to answer for mi sey.

Yuh let an agenda-driven trini newspaper fool you into believing Rowley did not get out and talk to people..lol.

12. @ Hal Austin

You never cease to amaze me……………

How did you come to the conclusion that “we have police kicking people even killing innocent people…..?”

13. Arta,
    Plse hold on to your hair. We have an inquiry ongoing about an alleged kick by a uniformed police officer, is that not so? And we have a detective on bail for shooting a neighbour, and no date has been publicly made for his trial, is that not so?

14. @ Hal Austin

You are a very interesting individual……. perhaps it’s you who should hold on to your hair.

Because you have demonstrated your knowledge of the law in this forum and while, according to you, I am “ignorant of the law of evidence,” (Hal Austin May 30, 2017 at 2:15 PM), I asked you the question for a specific reason.

I am aware an internal investigation has been launched by police, after a VIDEO was circulated on social media, showing what APPEARED to be a policeman KICKING someone. And I’m also aware that a Detective Constable of the Drug Squad is currently on bail for ALLEGEDLY killing his neighbor.

Recall in response to contributors referring to the revelations of the Deloitte forensic audit report relative to Thompson & Associates, Leroy Parris and the INVOICE for $3.333M, you suggested the invoice COULD NOT be described as EVIDENCE because it was NOT “tested and cross examined in court.”

1) “Hal Austin May 30, 2017 at 1:31 PM #: David’s ‘INVOICE’ is NOT evidence. Please. Evidence is what is presented in court and tested. This is what you learn on O level law courses.”

2) “Hal Austin May 30, 2017 at 2:10 PM #: Sit down and take a deep breath. Until David’s invoice – or the original – is PRESENT in court and TESTED UNDER CROSS-EXAMINATION IT IS HEARSAY. That is what the rule of law is all about. It is not rocket science.”

3) “Hal Austin May 30, 2017 at 2:15 PM #: David: I am not being disingenuous. It appears as if you are like Artax, ignorant of the law of evidence. Until the invoice is presented in a court of law and tested by the defence attorneys, it is what is called in some jurisdictions hearsay. Until then, David, it is just a bit of paper.”

Surely you must likewise agree: “Until the (original video or statements) are presented in a court of law and tested by the defence attorneys, it is what is called in some jurisdictions HEARSAY. Until then, it is just (a video and) a bit of paper,” then it would be PRESUMPTUOUS of you to form the “categorical conclusion” “we now have police kicking people.”

Is that not “what the rule of law is all about? It is not rocket science.”

To now state otherwise, you would be presenting contradictory statements.

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal AustinJune 23, 2017 at 4:09 AM
    “If Harlequin owes the BRA $700000 in land tax, which is seems not to be to pay, why does the BRA not take them to court and, if successful, send in bailiffs or seize the land? Had they owed that money to banks the banks would have re-possessed ages ago.”

Glad to see you are climbing down from your lofty English tower from where you idealistically extol the virtues of the “Rule of Law” and have arrived at the coalface of political graft and sheer incompetence à la Barbade the fast ripening banana republic.

Hopefully, as a result of your descent you will come to an understanding of why your pal Leroi Greenverbs can drive around Bim in his Mercedes and stuff two imaginary fingers up the suffering backsides of the scammed policyholders daily suffering from large financial piles while actually cocking a big snoot at your much preached about Rule of Law.

As far as we know- even in accordance with the basic arithmetic invented by the totally-challenged Stinkliar the ‘numeracy dyslexic’- the tax (at the marginal rate) due on the $3.3 million laundered gratuity is much more than the $700,000 owed by Harlequin.

16. Hahahaaaa Artax!!! Hal, Artax just snatched your wig.

17. David,
    “…the poverty line, making them lose their jobs, their homes, their cars and, above all, their dignity and respect?”
    Dignity and self respect are not lost by being in a state of poverty. Dignity and self respect are characteristics that become part of a person,s psyche. It is not based on financial position.

18. @ Hal Austin

I ask these questions because, as you are aware, I am ignorant of the law of evidence:

“Hal Austin May 30, 2017 at 2:15 PM #: David: I am not being disingenuous. It appears as if you are like Artax, IGNORANT of the law of evidence.”

It seems as though you conveniently “manipulate” the “law of evidence” and “shift the goal posts” to suit your specific agenda.

As it relates to the DC who ALLEGEDLY shot his neighbour, we are all aware the case is presently before the court and the accused is “out on bail.”

According to you, it would be ERRONEOUS or UNJUSTIFIED for anyone to SUGGEST the DC is GUILTY of murder only on the BASIS of being ACCUSED of perpetrating the crime.

Recall your previous comments:

1) “Hal Austin May 30, 2017 at 1:23 PM #: Police ARREST on the GROUNDS of a PRIMA FACIE case, but THAT is NOT GUILT. That COMES in a COURT OF LAW when EVIDENCE IS TESTED UNDER CROSS-EXAMINATION or if the accused pleads guilty. Anything else is hearsay or gossip.”

2) “Hal Austin May 30, 2017 at 8:55 AM #: I know Barbadian REASONING is SUCH THAT to be ACCUSED is to be GUILTY.”

3) “Hal Austin May 30, 2017 at 2:38 PM #: David: Closer investigation is NOT guilt or EVIDENCE of guilt. Remember: INNOCENT UNTIL PROVEN GUILTY.”

By your comment re: “we have POLICE (kicking people) EVEN KILLING INNOCENT PEOPLE,” it seems as though you are, by terms other than those you previously presented in this forum, SUGGESTING the DC is ACTUALLY GUILTY, which, according to you “ COMES in a COURT OF LAW when EVIDENCE IS TESTED UNDER CROSS-EXAMINATION.”

Are you conveniently ignoring you comment re: “Remember: INNOCENT UNTIL PROVEN GUILTY?”

However, when contributors make similar assumptions based on what they consider evidence, you are quick to mention “defamation” and an individual’s “constitutional rights.”

Or does this apply specifically to Leroy Parris and Hal Gollop?

Hal Austin, you made the rules, so play the game according

19. Artax,

I said killing, not murder.

20. My apologies, Hal…

So, my writing “murder” instead of “killing” makes my observations and queries null and void?

21. Carson

What are your predictions for the Nation Poll being released on Sunday coming?

Hint: A WASH PAN OF LICKS?

22. Miller,
    I have no doubt that the proprietors of Harlequin (crooks) and the proprietors of the initial Four Seasons Project (crooks) can hold hands. It should be as they go to jail, but since both of these (crooks) whose projects were conceived, and given approval; as well as legal advice and support by the BLP administration; and further, leaving the DLP to clean up their mess, to the detriment of the people of the island, you should not be throwing stones at the DLP house (glass or otherwise).
    Your sins are more than the leper that Jesus cleansed and sent away with the admonish” go and sin no more.”

23. Have the Barbados authorities seized any documents relating to Harlequin’s business on the island?

24. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Alvin….the government picked up 120 million dollars of pensioners money and poured into 4 seasons scam and millions more they poured into Cow’s Apes Hill scam, one of the 4 Seasons crooks…your government.

Who made Fruendel and David Thompson do that…you liar.

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Democratic Labour Party video:

https://www.facebook.com/DLPBB/videos/1479477515448382/

Watch it and learn.

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

London Morris June 23, 2017 at 11:37 AM

You all with these polls again?

Let me quote the Right Hon. Prime Minister Freundel Stuart:

“The only poll that matters is POLLING DAY.””

27. Alvin Cummins June 23, 2017 at 11:37 AM #

“I have no doubt that the proprietors of Harlequin (crooks) and the proprietors of the initial Four Seasons Project (crooks) can hold hands. It should be as they go to jail, but since both of these (crooks) whose projects were conceived, and given approval; as well as legal advice and support by the BLP administration….”

@ Alvin Cummins

I suggest you read and contemplate Bushie’s comments re:

“Bush Tea October 21, 2016 at 10:12 AM #: @ Alvin: Bushie is just at a loss to understand any rational basis upon which you CONSISTENTLY TAKE CLEARLY ERRONEOUS POSITIONS, …and then DEFEND them in the face of OVERWHELMING EVIDENCE that you are COMPLETELY WRONG ….. except for the explanation of ‘idiocy.’

28. Embarrassing.

29. An embarrassing and cringeworthy monologue from Chris Sinkler that further exposes the muddled thinking of the government. Assuming that, as Finance Minister, he is espousing official policy, then no one should be surprised that Barbados is at the brink.

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

A. Dullard June 23, 2017 at 2:26 PM

According to your BLP, Barbados was at the brink from 2008.
    So what you are saying is purely partisan politics.

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

You can delete all you want it is not going to change the FACTS.

32. Artax

Chuckle…..yuh bowling like Macho….2 ducks in row both clean bowled.

33. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Hmmm…..this one may be better.

Mercedes-Benz Barbados
    Yesterday at 09:44 ·

The 2018 CLA is here and it’s 😍!
    Come by and check out all the new upgrades and the completely redesigned interior!

https://www.facebook.com/MercedesBenzBarbados/photos/a.870213709765226.1073741828.870186776434586/1278259288960664/?type=3

34. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger June 23, 2017 at 1:06 PM #

Alvin….the government picked up 120 million dollars of pensioners money and poured into 4 seasons scam and millions more they poured into Cow’s Apes Hill scam, one of the 4 Seasons crooks…your government.
    …………………………………………………………..

Well my dear……Well Well………….I must tell you that unlike Four Seasons, COW has put the NIS money to good use.

I was at Apes Hill recently for a function and I was really impressed, the place is beautiful. All he has to do now is to repay the money.

35. Hangs

Ah beg pardon….should have known better.

36. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Prodigal…you know I dont care how good Apes Hill looks….friend of mine told me recently he was at a place in St. James that Cow owns looking better than Apes Hill….is that where all the pensioners money went….does the government know about the place in St. James.

And when will Cow pay back all the pensioners money he borrowed.

Will the slaves of parliament go after him to pay those hundreds of millions of dollars back.

He will gush about the millions coming into the island which knowing Cow could be a lie….we want to hear about the hundreds of millions repaid to pensioners….with interest.

I was hearing recently how these crooked business people bypass the local banks with real estate transactions from overseas……..so no way is that money coming into Barbados…Cow lied.

37. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

More on the local crooks bypassing local banks with real estate transactions later.

38. @ Hants
    …still can’t touch the Bushmobile… 🙂

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“”MINISTER OF FINANCE Christopher Sinckler will not be losing any sleep about the pessimists and naysayers who have a problem with his recent budget.

In fact, he stressed he would continue to focus on the job at hand – the recovery of the Barbados economy.””

Well said Chris!!!

The hallmarks of a REAL man.

40. carson cadogan ur are so right “The hallmark of a real man “.God help Barbados

41. Why don’t you tell the people why you cannot travel to the USA ?

42. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Hants

My apologies….did not intend to “Hangs” you.

43. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

These faces look very glum to me…..largest turnout ever……and…..he is saying a third term……well,well,well…..Dreams are made………

https://www.facebook.com/BarbadosToday/photos/a.293752783190.144768.246784233190/10154908721213191/?type=3

44. @ Bushie,

Bushmobile …..” Impeccably well-mannered, bristling with intelligence and reassuringly easy to live with, yet when provoked, it’s a visceral and snarlingly potent performance car.”

lol

45. @ Vincent Haynes,

Those faces show people paying attention.

This election campaign will be very similar to previous ones.

DLP will bend the truth and twist the facts.

BLP will bend the truth and twist the facts.

The fringe parties will try hard but will fail miserably.

We will all continue to write varying degrees of tabloidesque fodder on BU…except for Jeff Cumberbatch and Caswell

46. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Hants

Where and when have I disagreed with you…..like you I supported the DT victory….like you I wanted to see the back of OSA and still blame him for the ground work that created our present fiasco.

Presently,I like most Bimmers we wish to see the back of this inept govt that only has itself to blame for making a bad case worse and continues along that path.

We differ possibly on the solution for the country which to me lies with community groups becoming strong enough to dictate to whoever is in power,also on not belonging to any party other than the failed NDP.

Those faces to me indicate bewilderment as to how this individual can continuously try to bamboozle people without ever delivering on promises made and expects a third term.

47. Vincent Haynes Avatar

“It is better for a man to go to work and earn a dollar and for me to take ten cents or twenty cents out of that dollar than for me to send him home and he gets nothing at all.”
    Sinckler: Taxes or cuts, you choose | Loop News
    Barbadians must either accept the tax measures proposed by Government or face the possibility of cuts in essential social services or even jobs….
    loopnewsbarbados.com
    http://ow.ly/HQvC30cRpXN

What he omitted to point out is that layoffs will come after elections……

48. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Vincent Haynes June 24, 2017 at 9:42 AM

The look on the faces is called paying rapt attention to the speaker. Don’t want to miss a word.

49. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Vincent….Sinckler is trying to convince himself, none of those faces believe him..lol