Submitted by David Comissiong, President, Clement Payne Movement

It does not surprise me that Owen Arthur has chosen to join forces with the Freundel Stuart Administration. The sad truth is that Owen Arthur, Freundel Stuart, Chris Sinckler, Ronald Jones, Donville Inniss and all the other members of this dismal DLP Administration really do belong together.

The vast majority of Barbadians are convinced– and rightly so– that the current DLP Governmental Administration is easily the worst political administration that Barbados has had since the attainment of universal adult suffrage in 1951. But we must remember that our national woes did not start with the coming to power of the DLP in 2008!

The truth is that in Owen Arthur’s last 5 year term in government he plunged this country into a crisis of economic, social and cultural decline — a crisis that led the Barbadian people to massively reject him and his Administration in the 2008 General Elections.

The sad truth is that the DLP Administrations of David Thompson and Freundel Stuart have really been a continuation of that last disastrous Owen Arthur Administration !

Where, for example, Owen Arthur started the process of privatizing our country’s one and only indigenous and state owned bank— the Barbados National Bank (BNB)– the DLP Administration completed the process of selling off our bank to Trinidadian capitalists.

In addition, where Owen Arthur presided over an economically and socially cancerous process of conferring outrageously privileged governmental contracts on a small group of elite businessmen— such as the ridiculous contract that was granted to Mr Bizzy Williams’ Ionics Freshwater Ltd— the Stuart Administration has exacerbated this  economic and social cancer with the outrageously privileged contracts that they have conferred on companies associated with Mark Maloney and his cohorts.

So Owen Arthur, Freundel Stuart and Chris Sinckler really belong together. They all share in common the belief that our Barbadian state-owned assets must be sold off to elite private sector capitalists; that our free education must be dismantled; that our people must be made to pay for public health services; and that the foreign investor rather than native Barbadians must constitute the lynch-pin of our national economic development strategy.

But as much as Owen Arthur is determined to hurt Ms Mia Mottley and his former political party, the Barbados Labour Party (BLP), Mr Arthur has actually done Ms Mottley and the BLP an enormous favour by his linking of arms with the current DLP Administration!

You see, with Mr Arthur throwing in his lot with the DLP, it would now become extremely clear to every single BLP member that there is no “going back to Owen”! Thus whatever lingering divisions or doubts there might have existed in the BLP over the “Owen Arthur issue” should now be completely put to rest.

The political history of Barbados tells us that the BLP have always been at their best when they organized themselves around the concept of a “Great Combination” of leaders and statesmen rather than when they opted for the opposite ploy of adopting a “Going with Owen” maximum leader dominating the party, its image and its policy. The BLP therefore now has a golden opportunity to get back to the best of its tradition!

The fundamental reality however is that an extremely interesting and ideologically meaningful political battle is shaping up in Barbados.

We have now had a consolidation of the right wing, anti-social democracy, pro-privatization, pro- local  and foreign elite forces in the form of the Owen Arthur, Freundel Stuart, Chris Sinckler, Ronald Jones, Donville Inniss political axis.

And I am confident that there will be — on the other side — a similar consolidation of the patriotic, people centred, mixed economy, social democratic forces, in order to take on these advocates of political, economic and social backwardness..

It looks like we are now in for some real politics  that will provide Barbadians with real and meaningful choices on the preferred way ahead!

102 responses to “Political Birds of a Feather Flock Together!”

1. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Can someone verify if the cabinet has appointed OSA as yet?

2. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

I must say that the media in this country should ignore David Come – a- long. He is a media seeking, self promoting fraud who lends out his mouth to the highest bidder.
    Here he is kissing Mottley’s ass in the hope of a future pick and when the BLP released him from drawing taxpayers money at the Pan African Commission, he was the first on Brass Tacks Sunday cursing the BLP.
    His letters to the editor at the Nation Newspaper will be published as soon as he writes them because we al know what side of the political fence the Nation newspaper sits.
    Is it not interesting that he pin points the last 5 years of Owen Arthur’s government to criticize but COINCIDENTALLY isn’t that around the time when he lost his pick ?

This is Peter Wickham deja vu- Come-a-long and Wickham are two political prostitutes who are now serving their pimp in St. Michael North East.

3. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

State enterprises that are a drain on the consolidation fund should be jettison , with a few exception.They are a significant contributor to our high debt ratio. The Jamaican experience is a telling example (eg. Air Jamaica, Sugar factories, Bauxite entities etc ).

4. There is no doubt that these are some of the worst times for small island states, everywhere. And there are a few exceptions. In the worst of times we would expect this DLP performance to be so reflected.

But that is not the pertinent question. The real question is whether the BLP will do any better when they form the next government, as we expect they will. If history is our guide the answer is NO.

It is shortsighted to contend that Arthur, himself, did more damage in his last 5 years. The truth is that the trajectory of public affairs in Barbados could not avoid their present location. With or without Arthur.

Indeed, had the profligate spending and borrowing and printing money which have been part of the culture not face a speed bump in 1991 and again in 2008 the party of spendthrift would know no end.

Comissiong must know that even if he led a government in Barbados the current corporate elites will continue to make demands on the treasury. And under this system he now lends his support to, he would be unable to do anything about it.

So his partisan critique is misguided at best. Comissiong’s energy is better directed at a radical transformation of the existing order. Not to be drawn into food fights between what is essentially the same party by different names, as William Skinner and others have so adroitly observed.

Comissiong is rightly joined by many when he talks about how all Barbados governments have entertained development projects in a way to redistribute wealth to the one-percenters. But he must admit that under the present ethos there will never be a Barbados government that will not follow that said path.

And the level of stealing, mismanagement, shortsightedness is no different, in spite of perennial promises.

What we are to do is to use these circumstances to demonstrate to the Barbadian people that there are no differences between Bees and Dees. That the political-economic order needs uprooting. That there must be a public, non-partisan, intervention in their own defense.

This thing about ‘a great combination’ is a Caribbean, red-man, politician’s talking point. Could Comissiong be referring to the very same BLP driven out of office 8 years ago. Maybe it takes the hardest of times for the long hidden class cleavages of some who otherwise profess to be above that sort of thing, to come to the fore.

”The fundamental reality however is that an extremely interesting and ideologically meaningful political battle is shaping up in Barbados.”

This is bullshiite! There is nothing deeply ideological or interesting about this. It shall be more of the same despite the political inbreeding within the system. It will be just another battle between and among the elites but the people of Barbados will be merely the backdrop for that showing of political theater, in a cinema nearby. No benefit for most of us.

We are deeply disappointed that David Comissiong would lower himself into the gutter as a BLP supporter instead of fighting for what he must know is the necessary and deep transformation from this dying political culture.

5. It would be disappointing to say the least if David did not support his cousin Mia.Blood thicker than water….

6. Notice how OSA has the Unions in his cross hairs , If his statements for harsh punishment as a remedy this country might face a ruthless and uncontrollable populace similar to greece . After all the people have made already sacrifices and OSA treatment would not be at all sufficient to pacify the unions

7. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Aha…an operative has surfaced with interesting tidings.

8. Operative yardfowl same difference.

9. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

David C

Why stop at 1951? This DLP administration must certainly be the worst government since the abolition of slavery.

10. Our culture is deeply flawed.

David Comissiong was a member of the senate for the DLP

He served in a government, under OSA, for years.

He was a member of the NDP, under Haynes, maybe hoping for an internal coup

And the NDP was totally owned by Haynes.

Should this not be a man who after all his political wanderings would have come to know the futility of the party system in Barbados, for the masses.

We have found that there is no difference in the nature of the inbreeding within the economic or political system.

Comissiong has well demonstrated that this day. So too has OSA.

11. AC

Do you really believe that you are a fit and proper person to comment of these matters.

A yardie like you. Who cuss OSA, no end. Now that the party bosses have imposed this marriage on you. All you should do is to lay down and tek it.

But OSA has never claimed to be well-endowed.

12. Pachaman i am as fit as any other yardfowl who sits on the BU paling to speak my piece in a democracy
    Lay down and tek what , Well OSA also had a choice to say NO didnt he ,

13. AC

Not when the goodies free

Anyhow, yuh lucky he’s a small man.

14. One thing for sure OSA did all but say that the Unions stood in the way of govt having to make hard choices when he reference the BIDC as an example and the many threats which Unions made and did in shutting the country down as reason and cause

15. AC

All of OSA’s prior record and claims, good or bad, now firmly belong to the DLP

When you lay down in bed with anyone, you get what they have.

16. Clearly Arthur is working to deliver on his promise to ensure Mia Amor Mottley never becomes prime minister of Barbados.

17. @ Pachamama

De ole man was saying the same very ting to a fellow de other day.

“Here he is kissing Mottley’s ass in the hope of a future pick and when the BLP released him from drawing taxpayers money at the Pan African Commission…”

Dat is de man down to a “T”

You must examine Come Sing-a-Long in the “battles” that he picks.

He is not going to go up against any local person, or clique, or organisation, or entity that will estrange his cohort of legal friends, his family (yeah Mugabe is his first cousin) or persons from the social circles who will pay his lawyering fees.

All he does is fight the faceless government, so he doan mek no enemies and he does get free advertisements in the process.

Steupseee

18. Piece

But but…..you doing the same thing…..wuhloss

19. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@ Pacha. A well balanced analysis. Truer words have never been uttered.

20. David

He may think that this is what he is doing but he has shown that his hatred of her knows no bounds and people are seeing through him.

His naked hatred is being seen for what it is……..a vendetta. I hope Mia continues to give him the silent treatment, this is what is probably eating up him…………he wants her to respond but so far she has not and hope she keeps it that way. That will make him more bitter.

Cynthia Forde sent him a warning today………..we will see his response. A blind man could see that that call was set up before hand……….he would never dare care david Ellis or Peter Wickham.

21. @ Pachamama

You are correct.
    Where is this “ideological battle” or better
    yet what is this ideological battle? I am completely baffled by Comrade Comissiong’s
    statement ! When did fighting to get yuh
    hands in the treasury become an
    ideological war?
    Why is the Comrade not promoting
    his own party: PEP?

22. Violet Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet Beckles CUP

Same crooks different POST,

23. Pachman All of OSA’s prior record and claims, good or bad, now firmly belong to the DLP

Wrong ,,OSA said he was not a member of any party which therefore indicates his willing to admit to his failures and success
    So dont try using that line of thinking as a way to take a bite out of govt decisions to include OSA as a part of an economic advisory committee

24. @ David
    Clearly Arthur is working to deliver on his promise to ensure Mia Amor Mottley never becomes prime minister of Barbados.
    If successful, this may be his greatest gift to the country yet.
    As Bushie said YEARS ago, for this alone he would deserve a knighthood….
    as wunna may find out the hard way….

@ Pacha
    Excellent perception and analysis of the matter.

25. Violet Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet Beckles CUP

William Skinner March 2, 2017 at 8:54 PM @@@

The PEP will not run against BLP MIA now she is at the top, Blood will not undercut blood, she will have a better shot without him running. She then can pull him in later,
    All set of crooks, dont ge in their fraud game , Sit on the side and watch the show, When election time come , DUMP all them out of office BLP and the DLP,

26. @ac. “OSA treatment would not be at all sufficient to pacify the unions”.

Finally we got the official confirmation that layoff of more civil servants, higher VAT etc pp is coming. Before or after the next election? Please specify.

27. Another revealing comment in the present context: “You cannot devalue anything that has no value” (J Ince). Question: Why not paying civil servants with some money from Disneyland?

28. are-we-there-yet Avatar

dpD

Off topic. Except in that the latest info on the Trump-Russia story also treats with birds of a feather flocking together.

But it seems that the Trump admin might be starting to unravel. Meanwhile the stance and allegiances of the FBI director, Comey, is still somewhat unclear but seems to be becoming somewhat more consistent with an interpretation that his harpooning of Hillary was not a flash in the pan but a definite policy position.

Yuh still following the revelations. To me it is even more interesting (not to mention more consequential as well) than the cliff-hanger Simpson Murder mystery.

How long yuh tink Trump and his hangers-ons will brazen it out until the realization hits them that they can achieve their goals much more reliably by jettisoning Trump and promoting a quick Pence takeover of the presidency? The elements of an impeachment seem to be not too far on the horizon.

29. are we there,

This is a problem for small nations and large. Senior civil servants, military personnel and police should be banned from attending parties at the US, Chinese, UK and Canadian embassies and high commissions.
    It should be a serious offence, under the Official Secrets Act, if they do.
    They should also be banned from studying at US, Canadian, Chinese and UK military colleges.
    Caricom should fill this void with an advanced military college and the police training school at Seawell should be upgraded to cover for all Caricom nations.

30. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Gotta agree with Hal on this, they should all be banned from attending these status seeking Embassy parties where they spill their guts for recognition.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/03/02/give-us-a-hand/

This is what happens when government after governments takes up taxpayer’s hardearned dollars and gives it away by the millions decade after decade to just a few Cows, Bizzys, Maloneys, Bjerkhams et al to facilitate scams, the most vulnerable people suffer as a consequence.

Mara Thompson should be thrown out of St. John with her lying mouth never to be elected to parliament again, she lied to the people….this is the result of her lies.

“Give us a hand
    Elderly St John couple living in deplorable conditions, pleads for help

Added by Katrina King on March 2, 2017.

For over 15 years Wilson and Louise Yearwood have been living in a crumbling, dilapidated house in Clifton Hall, St John.

The one bedroom, wooden house barely stands at the edge of the Clifton Hall slope, overlooking the breath-taking crystal blue waters of Martins Bay, St John.”

31. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/03/03/rock-hard-upset-at-tcl-takeover/

What do they say about Karma, oh how sweet she is, what goes around comes back around, Maloney never complains when he is the top pig on the island trying to hog up everything so that no one else succeeds, while threatening with hot air what he can do to stop the island from progressing, if he does not get his way……….it’s nice to hear he now has struggles, life has been much too easy for them all at the expense of the majority people thanks to bribetaking, weak government ministers, it’s time for all of them to feel some struggles of the most bitter variety.

This backward boy is yet to learn that competition is good, it’s healthy. Why dont he take his greedy ways to Europe or North America and compete out there, they got much bigger markets.

“Rock Hard upset at TCL takeover
    Added by Barbados Today on March 3, 2017.
    Saved under Local News

A takeover of Trinidad Cement Limited (TCL) by the Mexican multinational building materials company Cemex would strike a solid blow to Barbadian cement companies, one local company has charged.”

32. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Hal

What nonsense are talking? I trained at one of these foreign military schools. But having done so, I must disagree with you on the need for a Caricom military college. We do not need an army. If the BDF is eliminated the Treasury would save millions that could be used elsewhere. We do not have the strength to resist a highly trained platoon from one of the developed countries.

33. Yes but who will whistle at the girls on the way to spring garden in aug. No you need a military if not just to give direction and a job to young men and women that may other wise fall between the cracks.

34. David

The man from England continues to mislead the blog

From the beginning, in his ‘articles, he has so done.

Now, not even with an apology for past mistakes, economic misguidance, he continues so to do.

He talks shiite all the time as seen above.

We have concluded that he may well be suffering from end stage Alzheimer’s

We propose that you do the right thing

35. What are you suggesting Pacha? That we should descend to fascist approaches on the blog?

36. ”’Wrong ,,OSA said he was not a member of any party which therefore indicates his willing to admit to his failures and success”, Said AC

AC

Show some political sophistication.

The party system works in informal ways

Do you really think someone like OSA will go to George Street and walk out with a DLP party membership card.

Case in point. Don Blackman was a DLP member, then a BLP member and Barrow had argued when he ‘returned’ that he had never resigned from the DLP in the first place.

AC, if you don’t protect your political poooooooooooookey these politicians gine scew yuh all the time. But you luv that.

37. David

No, But we are minded that there is a precedent for dealing with perennial uselessness.

38. Caswell,

I have said on a number of occasions that we do not need a military. I have proposed that members of the defence force should be offered jobs in the police or Coastguard. I have said this both on BU and in my Notes….That is still my view.
    But, as seems likely, if Caricom nations want to continue with a military, then they should provide their own joint training. That is the point I was making. So too for the police, immigration and customs.
    Also stop our senior officials from attending these social parties. Foreign nations gather information by the jigsaw method: one person talks to you about a; another person talks to you about b; another talks to someone else about c. They then return to their offices and out their notes together. This information can be on anything, not necessarily big matters of state.
    The Chinese are also past masters at honeytraps, a big Barbadian weakness.
    On military matters, we only have to look at Central America to see how American military universities have corrupted n entire region; look at Brazil to see how civil policing has been militarised. That is what the US/Canada teach our officers.
    The basics of discussion are ‘what ifs’. No. Caricom needs a Navy/Coastguard, no to the military. But I am not calling the shots.
    The RSS is on mission creep; it is making greater demands. I have said this again in BU recently.. They are not doing it on their own; this is what the US/Canadian military instructors are telling them.
    We must re-define our security and defend it. If we get in to the defensive, one-dimensional, semi-literate mood, as one or two of us do, we will not advance.

39. @are-we-…oh goodness don’t let we hijack the Bajan political mystery with the real, interesting and intriguing US mystery, fah real. All the bloggers wud start a noise that everything bout the US….Lolll.

But then again let’s, please. OSA and MAM is full of drama but not as scandalous as Hill and Bill’s failed ‘coup’ and Don’s pending impeachment.

Anyhow, let’s see if the Dems can get an independent prosecutor. If one is appointed whether now or after the congressional and FBI investigations are completed then this matter may totally blow it’s top. For now the pressure cooker is bumbling nicely.

I still give Comey his due as operating with integrity. For the simple reason that a man’s reputation is all he has at day’s end and men do not aspire to be the top law enforcement justice official, completely buck a president (Bush) to do the right thing and then loses his integrity in one fell swoop.

Nope. There is considerably more to this mortar than the apparent pestilence!

Yes Caswell, Hal is chattering nonsensically. I recall when you had your stint all those years ago. I cannot imagine how Hal could conflate a regional military college with stints at Sandhurst, West Point, the one in Canada or any other in a developed nation.

This is moot for grist talk really. Whether there is a regional military school or not does not negate the benefit of the stint you had or that of the cadre of men and women who went before or after you. Several of whom are leaders in the society…

And Hal also knows that this talk of “offence, under the Official Secrets Act” for attending soirees at Foreign embassies is more idle palaver.

Any military officer or official of a serious country of necessity must log their attendance, who they spoke to et al at such events or may in fact be held in violation of operational rules that surely could lead to a slap on the wrist (career suicide) all the way to accusations of treason.

That would hardly apply to Bim personnel and why would it …for all intents and purposes what secrets will they be divulging if they are conscripted as a spy!

40. OSA stated on the talk show yesterday that he has no problem with the BLP. It is obvious with whom he has a problem.

The fact Mia did not make any mention of him in a BLP publication that highlighted past leaders seems to have ticked him off no end.

41. David,

Barbados Today has a policy of if views are contentious they are quarantined for so-called moderation. People who are unnecessarily provocative and irresponsible, not in their social and political views, but in advancing a case for violence, should be treated likewise. Those hiding behind a mask then proposing beheading people should be reported to the authorities. Even better, the security services should come knocking t their doors.

42. @Hal

You have nothing to fear from Pacha.

43. This is a non-point.

Barbados spends US$50MM on its defense force.

The country has a GDP of about US$6.5BB. About 0.08% being spent on the local force.

Disbanding this force means operating on the margins while destroy social infrastructures where the cost to society maybe greater than the money saved. Opportunity cost.

That is tinkering. And the time for tinkering has passed.

Barbados needs deep, structural, economic transformation.

Trying to save 50MM here or 50MM there will not have any effect at the centre.

This is a fool’s errand. And we have taken this misguidance too many times. with no measurable positive results.

44. David,

I am not sure who s/he is, but I am not easily scared. More important, the point about saving $50m is financial and social policy illiteracy.
    First , being prudent means making all necessary savings; second, we have had a situation in which defence force pensioners were late in receiving their pensions.
    And, second, $50m can be usually used to fund other essential services, including small and medium enterprises.
    Finally,, it is the message it sends. Armies look outward, police inward, while the Coastguard looks after our borders. Ask the police and Coastguard if they will do with a further $25m and see what they say..

45. @ Hal
    Bushie has previously suggested to you, that yours be a focus on asking questions, …rather than seeking to provide answers – because ASKING is something that you do quite well.
    You persist in your ‘answers’ at your own peril….

-Senior public servants cannot be trusted – so ban them from diplomatic circles
    -The BDF is not needed in your opinion – so shut it down
    -Individual Caribbean countries are failing – so join together and success will come???
    LOTTA Shiite…

Surely even you can see that you are giving Pacha grounds for concern… You sound a lot like our politicians and ‘Economists’ with their “it aint making any money – so let us get rid of it by selling cheaply to outsiders…

This must be the MOST STUPID and self-defeating logic that is possible for mankind.

How about….
    -Senior public servants who cannot be trusted being charged with TREASON ….and shot.
    -The BDF being actually led by someone with ability – and playing a VITAL role in building the society on the ground, within the communities, in public engineering projects etc…

How about Individual Caribbean countries getting their OWN houses in order BEFORE bringing their petty squabbles to the regional table…?

-HOW ABOUT TAKING STEPS TO MAKE OUR NATIONAL ASSETS PROFITABLE with competent management, instead of giving them away to foreigners who then do just that in six months…

So many JAs
    So little time…

46. We never pretended to be a ‘peacenik’.

We care not about peace at all, but justice.

Our point of departure has been, and will always be, that any people under bondage must use any means necessary to relieve their suffering. That admission has been made in court.

To us, that is a basic human right. That is why we have always agreed with the US Constitution which gives Americans the sacred responsibility to use arms to remove tyrannical government, at home.

And we are still willing to admit this to any legal authority anywhere in the world, like we have done previously.

Why is the ugly man in England not trying to indict the French who, under oppressive systems, employed the guillotine to great effect.

The guillotine serves as an excellent metaphor for the punishment of political and economic elites who continue to betray the people. It will always be our considered opinion that there has to be a personal price for mal-administration. That will never change.

Our belief cannot be legislated, like in Europe. You pion!

We are not hiding, they know who we are and unlike the ugly man in England we are willing to confront them. That ugly man in England is too accustomed to the iron fist of the old bitc+ – the queen>

47. When the elders of the BLP did a review of the ’91 election outcome and an assessment of the way forward,Arthur was a major surprise choice to lead the party.There are those who felt he was not of the ‘chosen’ and other names were called.In recalling that occurrence,the failure to include him among the party leaders is unacceptable.He not only led the BLP,he did so with a patriotic fervour,with resounding results including an increase in the overall standard of living of the country.There were no problems with credit nor money supply.Unemployment was at its lowest ever since 1834,businesses were flourishing,property values were flourishing.Barbados was definitely punching above its weight once more under the Great Party,the BLP,led by OS Arthur,MSc.Econ.Detractors can howl and gnash,facts are facts,not opinions as spouted by the likes of Hal and Angela.We live ’bout hey!

48. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Dribbler

You wrote:

“This is moot for grist talk really. Whether there is a regional military school or not does not negate the benefit of the stint you had or that of the cadre of men and women who went before or after you. Several of whom are leaders in the society”.

You referred to the cadre of men and women who went before me, I don’t think it is vanity to point out that there was no one before me, I was the first.

49. angela Skeete Avatar

We can do all the savings warranted but the abilty to create growth is the umbilical cord that feeds a country.
    The savings can pay debt. But in the long term a society is made up of people who need jobs to survive.

50. In Europe people cannot question the ‘holocaust’.

It cannot be critically studied

No one, in a public place, can say that 6 million jews did not perish

That the number was much smaller

No one can say that this issue is a canard to hide other crimes of the Western corporations

That the real suffering of the Jewish people and others was for corporate greed.

Many people being starved in labour camps

And more, much more.

This is the orientation of the ugly man from England

But this is cyber space.

We are free to hold any number of ideas

And fight to advance them.