David Comissiong, Citizen of Barbados
Submitted by David Comissiong, President, Clement Payne Movement

It is clear to me that the Freundel Stuart Administration is looking for a scapegoat for its 8 year long and continuing abysmal economic performance, and has decided that Dr. Delisle Worrell is to be that scapegoat.

Let us be very clear about this— in the real world of politics neither a Board of Management nor a Minister of Finance fires a Governor of a Central Bank! Rather, any decision of this magnitude would have to be taken by the Prime Minister and his Cabinet of Ministers.

Thus, we should perceive the decision to fire Central Bank Governor Dr. Delisle Worrell as the decision of the Freundel Stuart Administration as a whole rather than as a decision of Minister Chris Sinckler.

This decision only makes sense if it is recognized for what it is— a desperate attempt to conveniently dump all of the blame for Government’s shameful economic failure on the shoulders of a “disgraced” Worrell in the run up to a General Election.

As all Barbadians are aware, Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler and Central Bank Governor Dr. Delisle Worrell have been hand-in-glove partners during the entirety of Dr. Worrell’s tenure as Governor of the Central Bank! So, if there is a reason– on objective grounds– to fire Worrell then that reason must extend to Minister Chris Sinckler as well!

You simply cannot separate the performance and record of Dr. Worrell from the performance and record of Chris Sinckler. So if Worrell must go, clearly Chris Sinckler must go as well. (But that is only if one is making an objective non-partisan analysis of the situation.)

The fact that no decision was taken by Mr Stuart to fire Chris Sinckler suggests that the decision to fire Worrell was a purely “political” decision aimed at providing a convenient scapegoat for the DLP’s failed economic policies.

Barbadians should not permit themselves to fall for this threadbare Machiavellian political trick!

The current DLP Administration has thoroughly disgraced and exhausted itself. It has demonstrated beyond the shadow of a doubt that it has no answer whatsoever to the myriad of problems facing our country. It is long past time for Barbados to be released from this dysfunctional Governmental Administration. What Barbados needs is not a new Central Bank Governor! Rather, we need a new Government!

116 responses to “Barbados Needs a New Government Not a New Central Bank Governor”

1. This duopoly BDLP has to end. It will not end if we hobble one of the horses at the start of the race.

This morality play is not directed at the yardfowls but at those in the middle.

2. @Vincent Haynes at 10:52 AM # A hearty LOLLL.
    You will not draw me into a ‘sexist’ tit-for-tat on MAM.

The same yardstick of ‘rumor’ and public commentary that I use to denounce Freundel and Carrington and the Caves attorney’s moral ineptitude I use for MAM.

The moral thermometer that I use to measure rumors of that ‘eponymously’ labelled PM Tom-cat’s behaviour and the public commentary about a long deceased Chief Justice and the PM who appointed him is the same I used for MAM.

Let’s not play semantics my friend!

Many people would say MAM’s scale is balanced to the ‘good’. I suspect just as many would say that scale is badly out-of-balance.

For the record, as a Bajan the lady has been indirectly good to me and by extension many, many of those around me. I still find her absolutely less than ideal as a person and a leader.

That’s does not mean she will not be elected.

No rumor or innuendo there!

3. @Jeff
    You must expect fire, even ‘friendly’ fire.
    We are entering a season where ‘if you are not with me then you are against me’. The area of no-man’s land is continuously shrinking. Be wise in all things.

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ De pedantic Dribbler February 18, 2017 at 10:38 AM
    โ€œI can make the bold statement that MAM is not morally strong based on the rumors of her personal shenanigans, her public displays of pique and so on. And because she is current and it is reasonable to make a stand on such a matter. The same can definitely be said about her peers, also. Poor moral fiber.โ€

It seems your ‘concept’ of morality is one based on pure imagery laced with analogous gossip.

What you implying (rather ‘pellucidly’, of course) that politicians, of what ever breed or stripe, are lovers of domesticated animals of the dog and cat variety.

Some have a gastronomic-driven predilection for the feline fur like the purring pussy cat; others for the testosterone-inducing puking dickey dog with collar and all; while many others endear themselves to both in a bilateral arrangement of fair fluidic exchange.

The โ€˜69โ€™ thousand question to the judge and jury is which category the current leader falls into in order to spot the light of direction on the path to โ€˜clean and (un) closetedโ€™ morality.
    They say that in the court of public morality Caesarโ€™s wife should be above suspicion, far less reproach.

There is no Caesarโ€™s wife (neither Cornelia nor Pompeia) in the ancient Ilaro Court of False Reproach previously occupied by serial beaters and philanderers in the widest playing fields.

So the accused of bitter biting in the LOO has no case to answer.

5. DPD

We shall agree to disagree until such as evidence is brought on her unsuitability to lead and govern

All leaders ended in failure…..could you clarify?

Like you wake up groggy…..

6. Jeff does not use a psedonym so the ‘bar’ for him has been set at a higher level. He must now kiss the ring on someone’s pinky and swear loyalty. Fortunately for him, a few unused pseudonys remain.

7. Piece you can continue to cajole and plead for men such as Jeff to play a more active role in our domestic politics. However, my question to you would be why should such a man be prepared to place his neck above the parapet when his cowardly fellow men and women show zero inclination to rally, agitate and to protest their discontent towards those groups who have been recking their lives.

We have always known that the Bajan Negro has been short-changed and disrespected by the two main parties and the minority groups who reside on the island. This is why strident black nationalists such as myself remain puzzled at the timidity of my Bajan brothers and sisters.

Piece no disrespect, but change will only come when we as a people wake up and take responsibility for ourselves and our neighbours.

8. My comment quoted “โ€œBNTCL Holdings Limited (a subsidiary of Sol St Lucia Ltd) and the Barbados National Oil Company Limited (BNOCL)”.

I only wanted to show that the these entities will be OWNED by ST.LUCIA.

9. Exclaimer you are surprised by timidity????? when you had the bussa rebellion a lot of the rebels were shot and most of the rest were sent to other islands leaving you with what I like to call puxatawney phils whenever they see their own shadows they run for cover.

10. YOU GET THE GOV’T
    YOU’VE CHOSEN

Some say the white man came from above oh oh!
    That is if you believe that supernatural stuff. UFO
    The locals treated him not like a beast
    Like the three wise men from the East

Like how Columbus founded the West Indies
    Then try to convert the poor Indians! Please!
    When that failed they went buffalo butchering
    Leaving the Red Indians starving and cowering

Coveting land from humble folks with their flags unfurled
    Settling up their own towns and villages all over the world
    But in their wake they left many in tears day after day
    All over the good land which was never theirs any way

They maltreated many a people who cried long tears
    Someone got to be punished for we know God cares
    You can sing, and run and jump with all your might
    For karma is bitter sweet when it comes back to bite

When some countries got their freedom
    Their governments thought theyโ€™re dumb
    They too tried to do like the Caucasians
    Who maltreated the local Amerindians

They built cities and made kingdoms
    Living it up drinking coke and rums
    They lived the good life like the imperial master
    As they too put the little man on the back- burner

As their own folks live in poverty
    Amidst their mastersโ€™ proclivity
    For years the people took it and did nothing
    The doers willfully neglecting them sneering

The reapers of the ill gotten gains in their castles in a moat
    You take it staying quiet for you donโ€™t want to rock the boat
    Tears have been shed every day many going insane
    And someone has to pay, here comes karma again

Living the likes of a hog as they shed tears of joy
    As they plot and scheme to carry out their ploy
    Wives, mothers and children became high brows
    Covered from head to toe as their belief allows

But the poor farmers keep toiling and trod on
    Eking a miserable living to bring in the bacon
    And months became years and fades
    And decades ran into more decades

Until the people ran out of tears
    They swear and shed their fears
    Their anger reached every man, child and wife
    For all they ask for is just to live a simple life

Their anger reached a pitch they want to get even
    They were ready to face torture of even an AK47
    The cry for freedom and democracy was in the air
    And every man in South East Asia wanted a share

And so in Tunisia, one day in a little town called Tunis
    Using a format called Facebook the locals found bliss
    The folks sent messages to one another
    Innocently talking and in serious chatter

When Muhammad Bouazizi, a farmer doused himself in kerosene
    Which was seen all over the world to show his wrath of that mean
    Ben Ali, dictator who lived like a hog for over 27 years
    As unemployment grew, people die shedding long tears

All about their welfare and hardship in rage
    Actually, bottom line they wanted a change
    Citizens were called to silent arms and demanded democracy
    Ben Ali trembled in his boots but stuck to his despotic policy

And when the smoke cleared the dictator was kicked out
    The people rejoiced as they sang tears of joy and shout
    As they pray and hope for a better tomorrow
    But the fires were burning all the way to Cairo

Hundreds and thousands were alerted who care
    And they all met at the famous Tahrir Square
    And the words that went out were โ€œWe have taken up
    Enough of this, weโ€™ve to bring this nonsense to a stopโ€

The news spread like wildfire all the way to Benghazi
    But was trampled by tanks, guns of an insane Hosnie
    And Mubaruk refused to budge as the people persevere
    Strengthened by the victory in Tunisia they didnโ€™t care

Tโ€˜was do or die they made up their minds shouted out their demands
    To oust Mubaruk after 30 years of stealing the wealth of their lands
    Eventually he packed up his bags and left after 30years of conniving
    As the Muslim Brotherhood stood silently on the sidelines watching

The fires had already spread to Libya a kettle of a different brand
    Democracy was a word Muammar Gaddafi could never understand
    As he dined with prostitutes in Cannes in Europe like a leech
    At home he ruled with an iron hand banning even free speech

Bucket a guh a well everyday, one day
    Eh battam guh lef my Nannie used to say
    As Tripoli seethed and the people protested
    As men women and children were slaughtered

Using jet fighters, tanks and mercenaries from Africa
    As his own soldiers refused to kill their own in Libya
    Hiding behind his high walls madly raving
    With his two evil sons aiding and abetting

After 42 years of wallowing in the Libyaโ€™s troughs he can
    He said heโ€™d kill any opposer to the last woman and man
    The world is shouting that this is a crime against humanity
    But all words fell on the mad ears of a man bent on insanity

As the UN and the USA threatened and warned
    That no more innocent Libyans should be harmed
    Gaddafi answered by sending planes to shoot at oil rich
    Brega
    Threatening before he goes heโ€™d burn the oil wells of
    Libya

I said we get the Govโ€™t. weโ€™ve chosen
    Sometimes the voters are left frozen
    And they have to put up and abide
    Their time and flow with the tide

Cause theyโ€™re evil forces at work out there
    And the innocent are cornered in dire fear
    Like what happened in the 1960โ€™s in Guyana
    When the British stealthily agree with the USA

To stifle the PPP and oust Dr.Cheddi of Guyana
    For they thought Guyana would be another Cuba
    History has proved after 28 years Cheddi was not
    But Burnham was and that was what Guyanese got

In Africa and Europe dictators arose
    All eventually got the peoplesโ€™ blows
    Those who donโ€™t have it want it
    But really can they handle it?

Democracy is what they want
    They shouted give us in any slant
    In the garage we want a good motor
    An oven, a stove and the refrigerator

A detached home is so so
    A townhouse or a condo
    A job in the bank and money inside
    No matter what they promise to abide

We see water itโ€™s not a mirage
    We also want a car in the garage.
    Many times we have seen great incorporations
    And the architects ending up in incarcerations

Look back in History with the great Mahatma
    When he and Jinnah were fighting for one India
    Jinnah caused India to split is a fact
    He was the brains of the Luknow Pact

Jinnah never wanted an Independent India
    He was too violent even rejected satyagraha
    Every time Gandhi preached cooperation
    It was met with the Lahore Resolution

The same thing happened in Guyanaโ€™s PPP
    When the Muslims rejected the Jaganโ€™s Party
    In that case the CIAโ€™s puppet Mr Langley
    Gave Richard Ishmael $2.08M for perpetuating the 80 day strike
    Also to the Muslims and the Trade Union Council and their like
    The Muslims split the Indian vote and formed a PNC coalition
    Joined with Burnham who later kicked them out in
    jubilation

Greedy rulers from Stalinย  to Mussolini
    From Ben Ali to Mubharak to Gaddafi
    And the others in poor Africa
    Even Burnham from Guyana

All have one common denominator
    And that is the built in greedy factor
    Their coffers are bare yet they spend much on war
    Their people go hungry as the leaders dine on caviar

Even the educated started our good then made a mess
    This shows greedy rulers canโ€™t rule I have to confess
    How can these so-called leaders sleep deep at night
    When their people sleep with a bug infested plight

When they practice the opposite whatโ€™s preached in Mecca
    Covering their women from head to toe sheltered by Sharia
    Laws as they defile and use other women like play things
    Paying top dollars for sexy women who party and sings

They pray 5 times per day pointing towards Mecca
    As they bank the peopleโ€™s money to be used later
    At the Cayman Islands, Swiss or the country they all hate
    Or just invested it in stocks and bonds and in real estate

Since the last time we spoke
    Some thought it was a joke
    Since then we saw the fall of the South East Asian Empire
    A dire land of totalitarians and some secular pundits for hire

Tempered by monastic vows
    Treating their women like cows
    Governing wretched peoples yet who sneered and
    applauded
    Praying to their God when the Twin Towers fell and were
    bombed

A people who always want the green US dollars
    But funneled the money for domestic owned wars
    And sat and took it decade after decades
    As that part of the world became Hades

Fast forward to Toronto in Ontario, to live
    With the Liberal Party vs the Conservative
    You would never believe politicians can be so sick
    One would surely think one is in a Banana Republic

Wasting and covering it up is the order of the day
    And all the poor taxpayers donโ€™t have a darn say
    Billions of dollars wasted to save their party some seats
    As erasing tapes and emails done secretly at their meets

The fists would fly and guns would be drawn
    But all dumb Ontarians do is smile and yawn
    But really you have to blame it on the naive lesbians
    Pride has voted as a block maybe they got the billions

When the people put party before sound economics
    It always come back to bite them where it ticks
    Only time would tell in the next few years
    But then it may be too late for long tears

11. This is an obvious malicious comment against good people. In keeping with our policy to ride shotgun to represent those who use real names on BU your comment was jettisoned. By the way where has Jeff posted an article about Combermere?

12. David,

Congratulations. Do not allow people to plant fake news in your forum. We have to protect people like Jeff, Caswell, and yes Carl, who put their heads above the parapet. That is the ethical thing to do.

13. @Hants
    “I only wanted to show that the these entities will be OWNED by ST.LUCIA.”

No. They are owned by SOL. The tax territory of incorporation is irrelevant; SOL St.Lucia maybe a sub of SOL Cayman or SOL Bermuda. It is the dah-fah-lick-ya of globalized (offshore?) finance.

14. Theophilus Gazerts Avatar
    Theophilus Gazerts

The Gazer here
    I was the one persion mentioning Jeff.
    Let it be clear that I fully support the man and would not smear him

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Big up to 195 Cafe and bistro located at the Dome Mall, Warrens, well trained staff, efficient, timely service, the management understands the meaning of catering to the needs of every customer.

They could teach these fly by night government leaders and business people a think or two about treating everyone with respect on the island.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

There must be urgent concern shown to the relationship between Peter Harris, formerly of CGI Towers, Warrens, Mia Mottley, Opposition Leader and Jerome Walcott, director of Bayview Hospital owned by Harris, this concern must be expressed as it relates to the welfare and wellbeing of Bajan taxpayers….before Mia is elected. …cause I dont see bajans being bewitched enough to put Fruendel and Dumbville et al over their furture wellbeing and welfare ever again.

So these current questionable relationships Mia, other politicians and ministers have with questionable business people must now be defined.

This also concerns the new political parties, any relationships they have formed with questionable business people, must be investigated by the voters.

17. Hants
    Northern made the point regarding SOL and its St Lucia registration.Recall there was a similar development in 08 or thereabouts when the Pierhead Marina was mooted to be registered offshore in St Lucia also to satisfy some legal loophole.

18. Well well,

An audit of the assets of politicians and senior civil servants is what is needed . Already Brits involved in suspected corruption in Barbados can be prosecuted in Britain. I believe the Yanks have a similar law. How about Canada?

19. Bernard Codrington

Very well said Sir…!

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Canada also can prosecute Canadian scam artists and thieves who rampage in other countries…it’s these small island governments playing the ass, bending down prostituting the population for foreign exchange, just a matter of time before the big countries start hauling some of these crooked politicians who collude with foreign crooks to cost the large countries time and money spent prosecuting these criminals….or just make the islands pay a big fine for collusion….there will come a time when it’s no longer tolerated.

If I get a short fuse everytime I comment about it….imagine those who have to do all that paper work investigating that crap like David Ames in the UK…….or like the false drugs they allowed the Canadian dude to peddle from the island and distribute world wide….causing deaths to sick people.

21. We all have our “kinky” moments be they (i) a night out with the fellers with some skettles or (b) to be politically correct, copulation, a deux, “rubbing anna bush bush on anna bush” or appendage on appendage. (whuloss de imagery)

Some of us no longer rub, nor plug nor tug since such is physically possible to do even though we talk about it nuff.

Irrespective of our “inclinations”, we have had contributions to our society (albeit measured by albino-centric thermometers) by various people but, be it Tom, Dick and Harry or Anna, or Billie, be they straight bent or “bi-polar” as in dual polarity, that is not what is central to the discourse here.

Neither can it be, if we are to be fair and cognisant of the statement “tiger tiger in the tree, did He who made the Lamb make thee?”

I have long learnt not to be too harsh with sexual inclinations, irrespective of my own bigotted views.

My “concern” about who we choose to lead us is not set in the context of intimate partner violence (which I abhor as much as any other person would) but in the nature and extent of that violence.

Let me be sexist and put this in the context of male appendages for us testosterone spouting males. I ent got no po-po and cannot speak from that point of view but i can talk about de other fellow.

You getting some punan* on the side, you get home and during some action which ensues, you get “a bobbit” as a reward for your “libido, indiscretions and infidelity.

Think about that for a while and tell me if, as expansive as most of us might be whether, notwithstanding “same sex encounters”, why one of us who is subjected to ‘a bobbit”, would be so accommodating in our acceptance of similar barbarism, purportedly ascribed to “she who would wear the crown?”

If wunna answer me that reasonably then I will cease and desist in my prosecution of this matter.

22. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@Jeff
    You must expect fire, even โ€˜friendlyโ€™ fire.
    We are entering a season where โ€˜if you are not with me then you are against meโ€™. The area of no-manโ€™s land is continuously shrinking. Be wise in all things.

My sincere thanks to you for your kind counsel, Gazer!

23. @miller at 11:32 AM, you are smooth with words..LOLL. So as my colleague @Pieces would likely say, let’s sojourn awhile!

Alas, I have no problem about whom “the accused of bitter biting” bites. The problem lies in the fact that she allegedly often brings to her lips many and varied lovely ‘posies’ to sniff their lovely bouquet. And it appears to also nibble and bite some of the petals.

Now one should never deny a connoisseur the enjoyment of their skilled gardening craft. Never. One merely asks that the craft be practiced with decorum.

I have no interest in her gardening as in fact I have none to bathe the now deceased CJ supposedly big dogs in the sea, nor to spectate when the Tom-cat struts his stuff amongst his many timid pussy-cats. They may do as they wish in their personal livesโ€ฆBUT KEEP it there.

For who am I grab stones. I know that I need to take regular doses of the Metamucil fiber supplement so thus I accept that I should stay out of the public political and leadership fray, donโ€™t you think they should too if they need even greater doses of fiber supplements than I do!

@vincent haynes at 11:33 AM re โ€œAll leaders ended in failureโ€ฆ..could you clarify?โ€

The original and full quote is attributed to Enoch Powell and stated: “All political lives, unless they are cut off in midstream at a happy juncture, end in failure, because that is the nature of politics and of human affairs.”

So itโ€™s very simple really. E.W.Barrow: Great politician. Took his party to resounding victories. He ended in failure in 1976 elections did he notโ€ฆnotwithstanding his โ€™86 return!

O.S. Arthur: Great politician. Took his party to resounding victories at the polls, thrice. Failure in 2008 elections was it not.

M.H.Thatcher: Great politician. Resounding victories and at the helm for 11 years as probably the most powerful woman in the world. She ended in tearful failure in a 1990 internal party election as we all know.

You get the point.

If not for death in office or term-limits the average and surely too the well-above average politician ends his/her elective career as a โ€˜failureโ€™.

24. ALL AH DEM AN WORRELL WANT JAIL TIME…END OF STORY

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Could the many lawyers littering Barbados get information on this, Fruendel aint too bright and immigration does not give out information to any country….dont care who ya think ya are…under immigration procedures, only the detainee has any legal right to ask ICE to contact their consulates about their detention…everything else is procedural….tedious mind bending procedure of which most detainees are innocently unaware.

Ignorance knows no bounds.

Fruendel may want to speak to immigration lawyers in the US to get information, CONSULATES ARE ONLY CONTACTED BY ICEโ€ฆ.if the immigration detainees agree to be deported. ..itโ€™s a legal immigration court process that can take months or years,โ€ฆ..it takes up to 3 months for Consulates to be contacted by ICE to make arrangements for detainee travelโ€ฆ.only if the immigration detainee agrees that they do not want to go through a tedious detention and immigration court process in a detention facility or local county jailโ€ฆ. where they may get immigration bail, parole or detained for years in the interimโ€ฆ..the latter being more likely under trump.

Why does Fruendel as Prime Minister not know how the US system related to immigrants workโ€ฆโ€ฆshamefulโ€ฆ.he might want to make an effort and find out.

“PM Stuart: No evidence of Barbadians detained in US
    BGIS,
    Added 18 February 2017

โ€œNO BARBADIANS are being detained under the new immigration policy being implemented by the United States (US).
    Prime Minister Freundel Stuart gave this assurance following media reports that 19 Barbadian nationals had been held as part of a crackdown on immigration authorities in the US.
    Mr Stuart explained that investigations with Barbadosโ€™ Consulate-General in New York revealed that the claim was untrue.
    โ€“ See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/93688/pm-stuart-evidence-barbadians-detained-us#sthash.Frp7Z05q.dpuf

26. Violet C Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet C Beckles CUP

Prodigal Son February 17, 2017 at 7:40 PM #@@@

The DBLP tricks lies and math, slide of hand can not hold up until Election,
    They may also be counting the people who work in Barbados each time they move in and out of the planes cleaning them, anyone who touch the plane wheel or the bags in the belly in and out,

27. Barbados needs to implement a new system of governance, note just another government. A direct digital participatory democracy platform based on modern technology will remove the need for so many constituency representatives that do not represent and so many cabinet ministers that don’t minister. A TEAM of twelve qualified professionals, held accountable for transparently and profitably managing our major economic sectors in a more businesslike manner is what is needed. They can be presided over by a popular Barbadian with talent for bringing concensus and expertise in managing data from an aware and engaged citizenry.

28. Iceland recently corrected an untenable economic situation through the intervention of a society council. The challenge is to find a TEAM in which the population will place it’s trust. Historical change takes time that we do not have. There must be some way to fast track a new vehicle for national economic reconstruction while retaining some of the useful parts of legislative system. Sorry I missed Peter Boos presentation in 2014 and am saddened that all of these very valuable observations and recommendations were allowed to fall through the cracks. Corroboration with grass roots organizations, like Barbados Underground, Pan African movement and others is key to achieving consensus?

29. @Andrew

What we have in Barbados is the perfect duopoly. One would have hoped having to negotiate the economic storm for the last eight years it would have given the population the kick in the rear needed to create a new thinking.

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

8-10 years of daily, handson governmental experience should have given that whole cabinet the expertise they needed to make the necessary adjustments to the economy. …lies and excuses and scapegoating yardfowls will not work fo this election….they refused to listen to sound advice from anyone locally or internationally…the know it alls wnet ahead with their mediocre, halfwit ideas and it blew back in their faces…..this is the blowback.

Wait..nearly an hour and no one challenged me on US immigration procedures for detainees…..ah must be losing me touch…anyway, neither US Immigration, nor US Emassy may admit what I posted, but they sure wont dispute it either…lol…ya know, that miserable immigration court process and all.

The detainees’ relatives will be allowed to visit them, so will their immigration attorneys.

Even if invited by detainees, I dont see any of those lazy consular officers in the Barbados Consulate on 2nd Avenue and Lexington. ….trekking across the US to any detention facilities or jails to visit with bajan detainees, they will sit on their tails and await a call from ICE for the detainee to be transported to the consulate by ICE..just before beig deported…….if that is what the detainees wish.

When Simple’s friend who told her that her bajan sister was detained last week or this week gets more information and shares it with Simple…we will hear more.

31. I think it would be an extremely unwise Minister of the current administration who spent too much time highlightimg the ‘sexual shenanigans’ of the LOO in the hope of losing her votes in the upcoming election. That could well open up a Pandora’s box that would blow open the doors and reveal more than a few skeletons in the closets of even the most senior of her accusers.

Light the touch paper on a ‘morality’ firecracker and throw it into the crowd if you dare. But beware that when you walk away, you may discover it took an unexpected turn and detonated an entire box of pyrotechnics you thought you had safely stored.

This next election will not be pretty.

32. The Board of Directors with BU notes in red.

Board of Directors

Dr. R. DeLisle Worrell. Ph. D, Chairman โ€“ Governor of the CBB and appointed by the MoF

Dr. Woodroffe BSc, MSc, LLM, MA, PhD โ€“ he is the Director of Finance

Mr. Cecil McCarthy LL. B, (UWI) L.E.C.- appointed by the MoF

Ms. Onika Stewart LL. B (UWI) LL. M (Lond) L.E.C.- appointed by the MoF

Dr. Justin Robinson B.Sc., M.Sc., Ph. D โ€“ appointed by the MoF

Mr. Bjorn Bjerkhamn M.B.A.P.E., B.Sc. โ€“ appointed by the MoF

Ms. Sadie P.O. Dixon, LL.B., LL.M., L.E.C., Secretary to the Board (Ag)

Mr. Peter Carter B.Com (Hons), MBA, FCCA – appointed by the MoF

http://www.centralbank.org.bb/about-us/governance/board-of-directors

33. I continue to marvel at the flippancy with which we approach the issue of government and governance. The vacillation astounds me as well. The immoral praises the immoral current and past leaders, quick to describe them as brilliant, visionary etc; yet demand the next PM to be of high moral standing–a status which has a different meaning depending on who or what is being discussed. Do we plan to carry our tests using a moralometer? The team that is seen as competent, with sound policies, and instills confidence should win the next election.

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Again I ask….what is Bjorn Bjerhkam doing sitting on the board at central bank.,., which corrupt government minister put him there.

35. It should be clear that regardless of the sexual preference of our current leaders we are still in a dire situation. One can only conclude that a discussion of sexual preference is just a distraction.

Let the BDLP fight on the strength of their record.
    Let the DLP list their successes as “guardians of our history and craftsmen of our fate”.
    Let the BLP list their successes as an opposition party which protected the interest of the people.
    And let the third parties show us what they can and will do better and differently.

36. The composition of the Board of the Central Bank begs the question ” With all that education and with all those degrees sailing the economic ship of Barbados, yuh mean tuh say dis is de best dem cud do”? Old time Bajan saying ” Education ent common sense”.

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

More like they are all despicable and self-serving, all bloated with useless titles and inflated egos and not an ounce of decency to be found among any of them…..all that pomposity and combined none of them could roll back the failure of the economy, useless board of directors, useless governor, useless government.

38. Steupsss @ Enuff
    Whatever kind of meter you use, unless it measures shiite-talk, will barely show a flicker if applied to any of the jokers currently in the starting gates.
    The least that the BLP could do is bring a new set of brass bowls in whom we may at least be tempted to place some hope….
    ….but to bring back the same bunch of bribe-taking, wuk-4-wuk, scam bags that we dumped 8 years ago …while exposing ourselves to the DLP dunces, adds insults to injury.

….and the warped morals is just more shiite-icing on the mud cake…..

39. No wonder the Bank is in such a state. the Chairman and two others are so smart, they call themselves Dr. and then stick the Ph.D, behind their names as well. You use one or the other but not both. Laughing stocks all.

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Bajans…that’s because they have no professional etiquette or decorum…fly by night.

41. But Bushtea I said next PM; therefore Solutions, BIM, PEP, UPP, PUP and PDC are all included. We’ve been dumping “scumbags” and “wuk4wuk” before 2008 and they still exist even in the mightier than thou 3rd parties. But this is Buhbadus aka Fantasy Island, where we are so bright, we igrunt.

42. @ Enuff
    In the final analysis, we are all scumbags and “wuk-4-wuks” …. since none of us are perfect, ….but we REALLY need to lock up some of the scum man!!!

Perhaps one of the new parties will establish some RULES that deal with the scum…. and that provide incentives for those who are ‘wuk-4-wuk’ inclined to ‘fly right’ and to fight the temptations….
    ….With luck, the law will also deal with biters, liars, and pooch-lickers who betray the public trust.

Shiite man!!! is THAT too much to ask?

43. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

To date…,..none of the opposition partes have made that as an election pledge, to lock up the current leaders after they vacate office…….those who have brought the country to it’s knees with lies, corruption and incompetence.

Grenville got some sissy plan that sounds more like an apology to those criminal ministers, than justice and satsifaction to the people on the island for their decades of suffering at the hands of incompetent, self-serving politicians.

44. Well Well

If you’re anticipating change to come from the opposition regarding the wrongdoing by public officials in Barbados, than think again because I am afraid to inform you that you will have to wait in perpetuity. Because history can contest to the reality that true change comes from the masses, and until there is someone liken (Donald Trump) who is capable of arousing the collective-conscience of the nation and rally it into take action is will be business as unusual Well Well.
    Marcus Garvey, wasn’t an educated man by any standard of judgment, but he had had within him the inventive insight to aroused the collective-awareness of the black people in America, and rallied them into taking a stand again the many injustices they had suffered at the hands of bigoted government. Now why can we find such a man or woman in Barbados with the know it how and can do will to ignite the collective-conscience of the nation with all the academic degrees floating around the island?

45. All we need is one man or woman who is capable of rallying the collective-conscience of the nation, and the kind of people surrounding him or her who has what it requires/vision to deliver the goods to the people.

46. At some point the educated people in Barbados is going to have to sit down, and study the likes of Hitler, Garvey, King, Obama and Trump, to ascertion how these very different men were able to capture the imagination of the nation.

47. If Obama captured the imagination of the America people through demagoguery, Trump through fear; Garvey through vision, and King through hope, then there is hope for Barbados providing that intelligent mind learn from these very different men, at very different periods in our history who were able to tapping to into the collective-awareness of the people, and motivated them into taking action against they circumstances.

48. I remember voting one time in Barbados at the the age of 19, and it was back in the early to middle 80s if my memory serves to right. But what I did remember most about that time is the fact that Barrow was able to ignited something in me” when he spoke about the manner in which the BLP government was leading the country on a path of destruction, and I am quite sure a lot young people at the time were moved by Barrow’s message because he was able tapping into our collective-conscience, and caused us to take action.

49. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dompey…..talk is cheap, that’s all people had to hold on to from the 50’s until the advent of the internet and social media. ..no one is interested in empty words from politicians anymore, not รฌntelligent people anyway…governments are to be judged by their actions, politicians carry empty words.

And Worrell should know that his words do not amount to a can of beans if he does not tell the people publicly who besides the government minรฌsters are responsible for the flight of all that foreign exchange, missing millions and deliberate destruction of the economy. If his own credibility and reputation is to be restored. โ€ฆthere is no getting around thatโ€ฆ.Neither for him nor government.

All Worrell said in that letter is what ALL the creating agencies and IMF have been tlling both governments since 2005โ€ฆlong before Worrell joined central, he obviously did not listen to them eitherโ€ฆsteuppsss.

โ€œCENTRAL BANK GOVERNOR Dr DeLisle Worrell wrote Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler expressing concern about the countryโ€™s falling level of foreign reserves.

In the letter dated January 31, 2017, which was sent to the SUNDAY SUN, Worrell told Sinckler the board of directors which he chaired, had โ€œexpressed deep concern about the current state of the international reservesโ€.

Worrell told the minister: โ€œThey requested that I convey to you their view that the reserves have now fallen to a level which creates deep apprehension in the community and has the potential to undermine the exchange rate.โ€

He added: โ€œThe board is of the view that decisive action is needed on project implementation and expenditure reduction to achieve announced fiscal targets, if the Governmentโ€™s credibility is to be restored.โ€

See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/93732/worrell-word#sthash.5XFX23RO.dpuf

50. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Empty words, lies, deceit and corruption got all of the politicians and have caused the people to be also caught up in this mess.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/93733/arthur-imf

They will have to go IMF anyway, may as well get it over with as soon as.

Arthur: Go to IMF
    BARRY ALLEYNE, barryalleyne@nationnews.com
    Added 19 February 2017

THE GOVERNMENT OF BARBADOS is facing an โ€œeconomic checkmateโ€ and has run out of options,
    Police officer stabbed in The Cityโ€ฆ
    And the now Independent Member of Parliament is calling for embattled Governor of the Central Bank, Dr DeLisle Worrell, to state whether the International Monetary Fund (IMF) has been approached to assist the country with an austerity programme.

Without going as far as saying the country should seek an exchange rate adjustment (devaluation) from the IMF, Arthur said Government could not be blind about the situation it faces.

โ€œThey know what they have to do,โ€ he told the SUNDAY SUN yesterday.
    by Taboola Promoted Links”