Submitted by the Mahogany Coconut Group

Caribbean“What then is the future of the Caribbean?

Given its past history, the future of the Caribbean can only be meaningfully discussed in terms of the possibilities for the emergence of an identity of the Caribbean peoples. The whole history of the Caribbean so far can be viewed as a conspiracy to block the emergence of a Caribbean identity-in politics, in its institutions, in economics, in its culture and values. Viewed in its historical perspective, the future way forward for the peoples of the Caribbean must be one which would impel them to start making their own history, to be the subjects rather than the objects of history, to stop being the playthings of other people. In this respect, the Caribbean has so far been the “outsider” of the New World.” Eric Williams from Columbus to Castro page 504

“Once there is true integration among all units of the Caribbean (excluding Puerto Rico for reasons mentioned above), and once all vestiges of political, economic, cultural and psychological dependence and racism have been removed from the Caribbean, then and only then can the Caribbean takes its true place in Latin America and the New World and put an end to the international wars and inter-regional squabbles which, from Columbus to Castro, have marked the disposition of Adam’s will.” Eric Williams from Columbus to Castro page 515.

We at Mahogany Coconut are not overly pessimistic of the year in review. Suffice it to say that we expected the declining fortunes of the Caribbean region to continue. Our optimism springs from our deep belief, that the Caribbean people can and will eventually emerge from this period, triumphant and better equipped to face the new world economy. If we lose this optimism, we see no way forward.

2016 ends with all the economies in the region, fighting for survival and making efforts to hold their heads above water as the world economy, moves toward automation and increased technological efficiencies. We are at present incapable of widely influencing global trends and while we accept this major disadvantage, it should not lead us to despair and hopelessness. Having survived slavery and still n trying to remove and overcome the remnants of a colonial past, we should be aware that is due to our resilience that we have not been knocked out.

We must therefore utilize our profound ability to survive and look inward for solutions. While we respect those who spout isms and meticulously dissect our problems, we fear that sometimes, we lose sight of our historical mission which is to complete the liberation of the region from the past that continues to cause us psychological weakness. Unless we educate our youth about our historical journey and the importance of realizing that the struggle is not yet won, we would continue to look for solutions that are unworkable and problems that should really be molehills would continue to turn into mountains.

We therefore believe that the quotes at the beginning of this comment are instructive. Eric Williams and others have long identified our strengths and weaknesses. It is for us to recognize both and continue to build on the historical mission of One Caribbean Nation.

We wish all a very all the best for 2017 and thank you for your support. We especially wish our Barbados Underground family and all contributors to BU all the best going forward.

William Skinner Mahogany Coconut Group 12/31/16

109 responses to “Building a Strong Caribbean in 2017”

1. Violet C Beckles Avatar

We can not build a strong Caribbean built on lies, The DBLP of Barbados and St. Vincent must remove themselves from that Table , Until Truth can be spoken about All things in favor for man woman and child,

2. Building a strong Caribbean sounds good in theory, but on the more fundamental level, we do not even understand the basic cultural differences between ourselves for less more coming to terms with the reality of forging a better understanding and working relationship. And for starters we as Barbadians must rid ourselves of this xenophobic attitude we harbour towards our fellow islanders.

3. And Jamaica nationalistic spirit though admirable has caused some serious fragmentation and isolationism between the rest of the Caribbean people- who does not like to be identified as Jamaicans because of an erroneous perspection of the island of Jamaican and its people.

4. Eric Williams essayed lofty expectations for the Caribbean people. There is no question we are struggling to forge a Caribbean identity.

5. Its the only way out for us.

6. Dompey
    Building a strong Caribbean sounds good in theory, but on the more fundamental level, we do not even understand the basic cultural differences between ourselves for less more coming to terms with the reality of forging a better understanding and working relationship. And for starters we as Barbadians must rid ourselves of this xenophobic attitude we harbour towards our fellow islanders.

True ! but arguably THe USA is a model of varying differences where those differences have not impede the road to its progress

7. Its the only way out for us.
    No it isn’t….
    We can also call on superman to swoop in and save us with his superpowers….

Why not….?
    That plan is about as likely as ‘building a strong Caribbean’.,,,perhaps more so…

In any case, why would a strong (unified?) Caribbean fare any better that other current strong and unified …and BIGGER countries in the region and world, who are scrunting just as badly as we are…?

Any plan to solve our problems that does not involve dealing with brass-bowlery (our national dedication to albino centricity) is fatally flawed and doomed to fail.

8. Bushie

You know in unity lies strength.

9. Bush Tea December 31, 2016 at 8:04 PM #

Its the only way out for us.
    No it isn’t….
    We can also call on superman to swoop in and save us with his superpowers….

Why not….?
    That plan is about as likely as ‘building a strong Caribbean’.,,,perhaps more so…

But Bushie isn’t that what you want you BBE to be a Superman??? So why are you so negative? Your BBE has failed???

10. Unity is strength???!!
    ha ha ha ha

Boss, that was back in the olden days ….’when men were bold, and women were not yet distorted..’ 🙂
    Nowadays, unity is shiite.
    You just create an EASIER target for the enemy…
    One bomb and the fight done….

yuh mean you can’t see who are winning the wars of late…?
    Loose gorilla groups of fragmented fighters boss…
    …disjointed, mobile, tactical, innovative, creative, fearless and dedicated.

Unity shiite… How big was Saddam’s army again? …and the US army in Vietnam/ ..Iraq/ ..Afghanistan..???
    ha ha ha …. they were taking your advice no doubt….

Meanwhile Al Qaeda and ISIS don’t even seem to have known leaders, …are completely disjointed and yet got the whole world jobbying ourselves….

The modern formula for success reads like…. lean, mean, adaptable, innovative, fast, productive, efficient……. nothing to do with size. Even individuals can thrive.

@ islandgal
    Not throwing any ‘assperations’….
    but Bushie will not be casting any pearls to swine in 2017.
    You have no idea ‘what Bushie wants….or what BBE represents…’
    …so get back to your house chores.

Going to dinner for Old Years….??
    …or have you been banned from all restaurants in Barbados… ”

11. Bushie please return to the toilet ! You jobbying up all over the place. Why don’t you go and give Mrs Bush Tea a nice bed warming gift or diabetes and high blood pressure got yuh rass!

12. LOL
    Guess that means that your ass has been banned from eating out….
    …the price of being an amateur food critic…

13. Bushie, I eat where the food is consistently good and there are not many places in Barbados except chez moi. The Animal Flower Cave restaurant is very good and very popular. If you go please DO NOT ENTER THE CAVE! They may decide to lock you in!

14. Wishing every one on BU a wonderful 2017!!!

15. There is no single Caribbean identity. The Caribbean is a plural society, constructed by Europeans to serve their purposes, and now that we have asked them to leave us to our own affairs, we have no way forward. We are actually several different peoples who mix but do not combine.

I have nothing in common with Hindus or Muslims, or Dutchman speaking their own patois. The Haitian is as alien as the Cuban as the French Creole. CARICOM is a hopelessly bad idea.

16. Salutes Puntis Trianguli

Is Caricom not working?

Having a 16 strong membership is the best position to be in now. Regional leaders MUST TAKE ADVANTAGE to act now to integrate the hallmarks of Caribbean history and identity. The film “Pirates of the Caribbean” was a wake up call.
    Carifesta will be stage in Barbados coming August 2017.

Eric’s views AT THAT TIME identified “a conspiracy to block the emergence of a Caribbean identity-in politics, in its institutions, in economics, in its culture and values”, then it is the duty of true nation-state leaders to do the right thing and raise the bar, there is no room for corruption, also he suggested that we start our own history, why?, our history has already been established, what needs be done is to teach it.

It is evident that the exploitation of many for the few exists and can be remedied by education of what is the meaning of real Independence, what necessitates it and the hallmarks that promote ones sustainability.

To be termed…”Outsiders” of the new world, is somewhat baffling, rather he must have meant that they (the people of the Caribbean) are the “Insiders” of the new world…. being the “playthings” of the few. This “new world” seeks only to enslave.

Further, Eric’s call to integration also called for the exclusion of Puerto Rico, that too baffles me knowing that the said territory is part of the Caribbean Community by sea border, although being a part the USA should be of observer status, which it is TODAY.

THE STRUCTURE of CC has a designated FULL MEMBER, ASSOCIATE MEMBER and an OBSERVER status, which promotes a subtle form of segregation an probably a limited voice. All member states should exercise full membership and equal voice putting aside demographics et al.
    Likewise from the comments above, we see calls by contributors for the exclusion of BARBADOS, St. VINCENT, JAMAICA.. I wonder what a wider poll would reveal?.

@ Mahogany Coconut

…..we expected the declining fortunes of the Caribbean region to continue. Our optimism springs from our deep belief, that the Caribbean people can and will eventually emerge from this period, triumphant and better equipped to face the new world economy. If we lose this optimism, we see no way forward…….

Belief and patience will not advance anything, it calls for ACTION!. After heads of government meetings, every effort should be made to MOVE FORWARD by immediately implementing those sound policies and relevant legal frameworks for integration. The body must rid itself of AND external factors of “CONSPIRACIES TO BLOCK”, delay action, or lack thereof.

Failing economies are orchestrated, thanks to international Institutions’ agendas. Had governments refrained from hat in hand mentalities, quick agreements without scrutiny, forfeiting sovereignty and allowing lobbyists to thwart sound loyalty, then nations may have forge a new path forward, independent of influences and interdependent of all of the communities specific resources.

MORE needs to be done on educating NATION STATES of the aims and objectives of a UNIFIED CARIBBEAN COMMUNITY (Caricom)…now is the time to educate our future generations of the importance of regional integration (its history and identity) and its sustainable benefits to all its member states.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caribbean_Community

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL.

17. To build a strong Caribbean, which is badly needed, let us start from the beginning|: dynamic and visionary Barbados.
    As the general election approaches, we need a government with a vision and the will to put radical policies in to action.
    This means a third political party, given the appalling failure of the Stuart DLP government and the official Opposition is almost as silent as Stuart the mute.
    For third party to be relevant at the forthcoming general election, it must formed now and put its programme out there for the public to discuss. It must also target vulnerable seats with a vengeance.

18. AC

Yes even though I do acknowledge the multiplicity within in the American way of life, you ought to agree though that a set of ideals and values unlike those found in the Caribbean archipelago, holds the union together? Ideals such as duty to country; the can do and know it how spirit, and the idea that it is we against the world etc.

19. On Tuesday, June 21, 2016, Grenada’s parliament approved legislation (i.e. The Constitution of Grenada {Caribbean Court of Justice and other Justice-Related Matters} {Amendment} Bill 2016), for that island to replace the London-based Privy Council with the CCJ as its final appellate court.

As you are aware, the held a constitutional referendum on Thursday, November 24, 2016, when Grenadians were asked to cast their ballot (BALLOT PAPER No 1: Constitution of Grenada (Caribbean Court of Justice and Other Justice Related Matters) (Amendment) Bill, 2016) to vote “yes” or “no” for the CCJ to replace the Privy Council.

Vincent Roberts, the Chairman of Grenada’s main opposition party, the National Democratic Congress, said his party would NOT be leading a campaign ENCOURAGING Grenadians to become involved in the referendum.

Grenadians voted overwhelmingly to REJECT the CCJ.

The CCJ was established on April 16, 2005 and 11 years in existence, so far, only Barbados, Belize, Dominica and Guyana are members of the court. Under these circumstances, if citizens of regional territories are UNABLE to UNITE on a SIMPLE MATTER such as the CCJ, how could we expect the Caribbean to unify on this issue?

This situation is one example that makes me “more pessimistic” about the hopes of building a strong Caribbean.

20. Dompey

Yes even though I do acknowledge the multiplicity within in the American way of life, you ought to agree though that a set of ideals and values unlike those found in the Caribbean archipelago, holds the union together? Ideals such as duty to country; the can do and know it how spirit, and the idea that it is we against the world etc.

No i do not agree with your theory . This i will say that there are laws that are binding all rooted within in the Constitution that are the epicenter or the heart of that which unify or bind people of all races religions and culture together

21. The only responsibility of a Government of Barbados is to secure the borders of Barbados. This continual puerile reference to a “unified” or “strong” Caribbean is baffling. The Caribbean has never been unified not even when the Kalinago, the Taino and the Ciboney people were the majority populations. Barbados either continues to be an independent, unique nation or it becomes a parish or province of some yet to be identified or established nation. Other than a few navel gazers, no elected authority nor any seeker of political office since 1966 has ever proposed the latter status. I thus take it that other than in these flights of fancy of infantile minds, Barbados’ status as an independent, unique nation will continue for the indefinite future.

Let us therefore focus on making Barbados a great place for Barbadians, the others can take care of themselves.

22. Have repeated over the years that it is the ideologues who perpetuate this business about a united one Caribbean people. What we need to promote is functional cooperation on trade, foreign policy etc.

> >

23. @ Ping Pong
    Well said, ….but what if some of us CANNOT conceptualise an approach that will ‘make Barbados a great place for Barbadians’? …. are you surprised that such people will grab at Caricom straws…?

If you are unable to love yourself, then you CANNOT be part of a successful loving family.
    ….but you may keep on dreaming that such a family could be your salvation.

Even if Caricom was to be an option, we will FIRST need to start with strong individual territories…. so It is nothing but a red herring…..
    IT ALWAYS WAS, ….thanks to Owen …. and BU’s enuff

24. We can’t even agree to deregulate airspace in the region to make it cost and travel efficient for air travel.

25. 60 minutes on CBS is starting the year with a story about Passports for sale focusing on the islands of Antigua, Dominica and St. Kitts , Nevis etc. Check time slots for your area if interested

Here is a preview

http://www.cbsnews.com/videos/preview-passports-for-sale/

26. Thanks Sargeant, citizens by investment seems to be the latest policy prescription by our regional politicians. In fact it was floated in Barbados.

27. Guyana and Surinam are the only Caricom countries that offer any future strategic value to Barbados. All the others are diminishing returns.

28. Pin Pong Your comment is the first piece of self centered analogy i have read for the New Year sounds like a typical speech out of the Donald TRump Book of taking america back again
    BTW what does barbados have to offer that other small island nations does not have that would be helpful in building other small nation economies ,
    Please name one source of productivity in generating revenue other than tourism
    listen all or most of these small nations are in the same boat albeit that some show better progress than others
    But it does none of these small islands any good to be principled and governed by selfish aspirations which have failed them over and over again than not seek a common ground principled and govern by the realities of the world we live in
    Errol Barrow once said that leaders in these small nations rather be govern by small ideas and ideals by those of a tin horn dictatorships than lead by example with ideas in a cohesive and coextensive fight towards unity and progress

29. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Ping Pong “Guyana and Surinam are the only Caricom countries that offer any future strategic value to Barbados.”

I find this assertion puzzling; would you care to elaborate? It seems to me that Barbados’s most important strategic challenge is food security. Surely the islands like St. Vincent and St. Lucia that are closest geographically and have good agricultural productive potential should be on your list.

30. PLT
    if it is food we want then Guyana can supply all we want at the price we want. Why you think Simpson bought over a million acres in Guyana? Forget the OECS, we need more than bananas. We need meat, fish, fruit, rice, ground provisions, lumber and even water. Guyana and Surinam can provide these in the quantity, quality and at the price that makes sense for us. Barbados needs to recognise the historic links between Guyana and Barbados and see Guyana as the place for Bajan investment that will not only provide the inputs for our tourist industry but the opportunities for our professional and skilled workers. Note considerable petroleum deposits have been found offshore Guyana. The rest of CARICOM is a waste of time for us.

31. @Ping Pong

It would not have eluded you that Stuart seems to have cultivated a close relationship with President Grainger. We wait to see if it bears fruit.

32. William Skinner Avatar

“If we are divided we will remain poor and we will remain powerless in the international community… We are a very proud people in the Caribbean but we are still a poor people. In Guyana my own mission is to lift people out of poverty and I am sure that in all of the Caribbean countries people are concerned about poverty. How do we do it? By combining our energies,”

The Head of State explained that on his assumption of the chairmanship of CARICOM, he plans to work with his counterparts in the region to continue to promote the establishment of the economic basis for Caribbean Single Market and Economy (CSME) and integration.

“I have a duty now to continue the process, which was started between [President Forbes] Burnham and [Prime Minister Errol] Barrow in 1965, even before Guyana and Barbados became Independent. When I come here, I come to work I come to fulfill that mission to continue to bring Caribbean countries together. We have to establish the economic basis for the Caribbean Single Market and Economy for Caribbean integration. It’s not just about meeting. It’s not just about talks and conferences,” he said.
    President Granger of Guyana

33. @David

Here’s how we can tie Citizenship by Investment to the local economy as in if you create or Invest in a business that employs or will employ at least 3 locals ( verification required) for a prescribed period then you can become a citizen, the business of giving $100,000 to the Gov’t (or Minister) in exchange for a Passport is subject to abuse.

34. @Sargeant

Have always understood the economic argument but it seems a policy not fit for Caribbean islands where the investor always seems to have the better hand. It is different in Canada and the USA where specifics skills are filtered to fit the national development plan.

On Sun, Jan 1, 2017 at 4:07 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

To add to the discussion. This will continue to be a challenge for the Caribbean people.

Caribbean Civilisation?

| Posted by The Integrationist in Functional Cooperation

It is currently becoming fashionable it seems, to speak of Caribbean Civilization. Fashionable, I say, because I don’t think many have really thought through the matter, or at least it does not seem so from the context in which they utter the phrase. To my knowledge, the first time the idea was publicly stated was by Barbadian Prime Minister Errol Barrow in a speech at the Miami Conference on the Caribbean in November 1986, titled, ‘Our Caribbean Civilisation’. This is fitting, because in the English-speaking Caribbean, Barbados — with the oldest continuous elected Assembly of legislators in the Western Hemisphere (365 years old this year) and commendable achievement in building a secure, prosperous, confident, and well-ordered society — perhaps has the greatest justification in making the argument. More recently, Prime Minister of St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Ralph Gonsalves, has forwarded the idea at the Inaugural Lecture in the Distinguished Lecture Series sponsored by CARICOM on February 12, 2003. He had spoken on the topic before, and I have read the late Tim Hector make reference in March 2001, to a book of collected speeches by Gonsalves titled, The Politics of Our Caribbean Civilisation. In addition, O. Nigel Bolland, Professor of Sociology at Colgate University, New York, has recently edited and compiled a collection of readings titled, The Birth of Caribbean Civilisation: A Century of Ideas about Culture and Identity, Nation and Society, soon to be published by Ian Randle Publishers.

http://www.theintegrationistcaribbean.org/functional-cooperation/caribbean-civilisation/

36. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

the few words ‘put an end to the international wars’ is an example of a caribbean man being carried away by his own enthusiasm/brilliance.

I arrive at the conclusion that these islands must pull together because of their size. With populations and land mass often smaller than that of a large city in a next country, their small size make it impossible for them to move any pendulum one way or another. Together, they may achieve the critical mass that allows them to be players in their own destiny.

Citizenship by investment is just a next tools for others to exploit our weaknesses. It would be interesting to see the outcome of these ventures after ten years.

37. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

*tool

38. We have no choice,as a group of small entities we lack the punch to change or do anything at the head table of the world powers.

Furthermore it suits the powers that be not to have any more players at the head table.
    We have to confederate sooner rather than later,more than likely kicking and screaming thanks to policies by the usa,europe or china.

Those who wish to remain insular are playing into the hands of the superpowers.

We would have 11m people with one house of legislature,speaking with one voice,controlling the caribbean sea and parts of the atlantic with access to fossil fuels,minerals………we could easily become the new hub of the world in all areas driven by solar,wind and wave power,be totally self sufficient in everything.

Open your eyes peeps,we Pelaus have a whole world to control.

39. @Vincent

Should we follow the EU you are saying?

40. David

We have to stop following and start leading……we have enough brains around to understand what we want to achieve from our vision who can put pen to paper and give us an outline draft as to how it will work,from laws to infrastructure to interdependence which will allow us apply to the UN as a newly minted nation.

41. Vincent…
    continues to talk nonsense…. via…
    “We would have 11m people with one house of legislature,speaking with one voice….”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

We would also have one vote in the UN (as opposed to 15) one in FIFA,(where Caribbean personalities had clout until caught stealing recently)…we would be swamped internationally by South America in all areas of trade…
    Boss, there are minor cities with 11M people.

Steupsss
    No matter how many rabbits (especially female ones) get together, the best that they can become is a bigger meal for the lions….. or the doggies…..
    The trick is to convert from being a rabbit to a being fox, not join into a big pack of ……

42. Bush Tea January 1, 2017 at 1:46 PM #

Open your eyes for once and stop being so myopic and insular.

We would cotrol the caribbean sea and parts of the atlantic that alone translates to substantial power,our power base of solar,wind and wave unmatched would bring in mega players,more power and the list can go on.

You are the one incapable of becoming a lion as you only wish to be a rabbit or a fox.

43. ”Unless we educate our youth about our historical journey and the importance of realizing that the struggle is not yet won, we would continue to look for solutions that are unworkable and problems that should really be molehills would continue to turn into mountains”.

No one can underestimate the importance of ‘education’. However, were we not educating the youth about some of our histories already. And we still have these problems.

While this represents a well-established, traditional logic, we are not as minded that education alone has the utility professed. In other words, we prefer to look at other ways.

And unlike our colleagues her on BU – Bush Tea and David – we are not afraid to reverse ourselves on centrally held belief systems for change to happen.

We have to be willing to radically change ourselves before demanding societal transformation.

This thing about ‘hope’ is also centrally made popular, recently, by people like Obama, Beckles and a lot of the religionists amongst us.

For we are to live forever as hope-mongers.

‘Hope’ has its roots well planted in the histories of slavery. Neither religion nor education have been able to de-establish this well worn propaganda.

So for this writer to seek to give us a warm-over and discredited fiction in certainly not futuristic.

44. Neither religion nor education has been able to de-establish this well worn propaganda.

45. @Vincent

Nothing wrong with dreaming, it is the stuff upon which progress takes place.

We cant even agree to have a common court of appeal.

46. David January 1, 2017 at 2:57 PM #

Progress starts with a vision/dream as to the future of our presently fragmented region a vision that was tantalisingly close prior to 1966…

…..back in the days when we hopped on schooners with our suicase and settled in other islands,transferring our knowledge as educators,lawyers,police,magistrates and entrepreneurs.

…back in the day when the federal palm and maple amongst others used to service all the islands we were one.

Our future lies as one entity and yes it will not be achieved without suffering because that is the only catalyst to ignite our fellow Pelaus.

47. Prof. Clive Thomas made the case nearly 50 years ago for economic self-sufficiency in the Caribbean.

We do not need food or water from Guyana.

Lazy Bajans need to get off their backsides and build a few desalination plants (to assure a plentiful water supply), learn hydroponic agriculture, zone 20% of the island for farming, hire Eric Trump to cut the deals to bring in some large manufacturing plants, fix the malfunctioning sewage treatment plants along the south and west coasts, and turn over the tourist industry to Sandals and the Stewart family.

48. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

49. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

What Chad left out of his prescription is the need to start counting our years backwards. We would be back at 1966 in less than 50 years time.

50. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

Based on his comment on letting Eric Trump be the deal maker and turning the Tourist Industry over to Sandals. Seems as if only one set of people can provide solutions for Barbados.
    Ninety-nine percent of the solutions come from 10% of the population (or their kind).