Estwick_BWA
Minister of Water Resources David Estwick and the General manager of the BWA Dr. John Mwansa denied the initial report

It has been a few days Barbadians were alerted to the decision by the Barbados government about an arrangement with Amazone Resources to transport a maximum of 2 million litres of water to Barbados. It is an open secret the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) has been struggling to supply water to Barbadians living on the rock -especially in the Northern parishes with St. Joseph the hardest impacted.

The CEO Auke Piek of Amazone Resources was quoted in the media:

[he] would like to have the launch of the flexbag on November 21 or 22 and after that, it will be sent to Barbados with drinkable surface water from the rivers. The journey should take four to five days, using a tugboat to pull the floating flexbag/flextank … We will test, through our trial, how the water behaves during transportation.

It came as no surprise to the BU household to learn about yet another agreement consummated behind the backs of Barbadians in the dead of the night by this government. To make matters more interesting, several local news sources reported that the minister of water resources David Estwick and the general manager of the BWA Dr. John Mwansa denied the initial report.

However in light of subsequent reports from the BWA that confirmed an experimental shipment of water was approved by the BWA with the Suriname company Amazone Resources to test the feasibility of freighting water to Barbados under safe conditions in the event of a future need. The MOU with Amazone Resources did not include offloading the water in Barbados.

One wonders why the authorities in Barbados retreated to a defensive reaction when the news broke initially. Why didn’t the management make a quick decision to get ahead of the story if the agreement with Amazone was about contingency in the event the BWA is unable to supply potable water to Barbadians if drought conditions continue to adversely affect water generation. In fact the bigger concern is why did the management of water resources in Barbados not think it prudent to share the information with Barbadians when the MOU was signed off? Why the culture of governance by stealth.

Now that Barbadians have learned about the plan to barge water to Barbados, what is next? Who will tell us?

However, it was agreed that due to a lack of existing infrastructure in Barbados for the receipt of the water, storage and pumping and the need to establish the necessary water quality standards and importation control measures, the water in the barge would not be offloaded – Barbados Water Authority

Surely there is more information the BWA needs to share with the taxpayers of Barbados about the MOU between the BWA and Amazon.

The concern some have expressed is that Suriname has been tagged as a country where the risk of contracting Zika is very high. What screening infrastructure would Barbados have to implement to protect Barbadians from exposure to infectious diseases from Suriname and elsewhere if the decision to barge water to Barbados becomes a reality.

Relevant links:

The Barbadian public has a right to know what our government is doing from those who were elected to serve them. We have not forgotten this DLP government ran on a ticket of a transparency government not too long ago.

149 responses to “Importing Water from Suriname and the Right to Know”

1. The name of Mark Maloney was thrown around with other names of big players. I say if we want to stop that joker, let the water come and thoroughly inspect the interior, exterior and the contents of the shipment. Even scuba gear will be required for such an exercise. Keep the Port authorities far from that shipment and we are sure the find the real cause of decisions such as these.

2. Anonymouse - The Gazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – The Gazer

—-One man’s opinion/conspiracy theory—-
    Not against or for the government. In strong support of every Barbadian having access to clean drinking water from the taps in his/her home.

It seems as if the most any government has is a five years plan (until the next election), and this plan consists mainly of what appear to be get rich quick schemes and kicking the problem down the road for the next government to fix. Instead of long-term planning what we see is a number of patches taken from the bicycle kit and plastered over our problems.

How do these small companies with fancy schemes find our leaders? It is almost as if someone studies our problem, research/develop a ‘solution’ and then finds foreign businessmen who contact our government. It is highly likely that these foreign businessmen have a complete dossier on our officials, their negotiation strategy, and the price points that would be acceptable to them.

It may be not that we have leadership by brass-bowls. It may be that they are confiding and have confidence in the wrong people and are betrayed before negotiation starts. The hook has been skillfully baited so that they cannot walk away.

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Anon..if the government ministers did a little research pn the companies and people approaching them with these wet dream like plans, they could never be baited like fish….. it took me less than 10 miniutes to find out that this plan was developed in Europe for the Caribbean over 6 years ago by Swiss Germans and others.

The idiots in Parliament only had to hear that it’s someone white from Europe or North America and they do no background checks, their eyes automatically start dilating with dollars signs, they could get the whole population poisoned because of their greed.

……..this is a new technology not even tested yet. Barbados with their stupid government ministers are the lab rats.

Where is Due Diligence, he is also pretty good at accessing information on these shadow companies.

Of course dummy Alvin is defending with his clueless self, right along with the emptyheaded ACs..lol

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

With Swiss Germans involved, the likes of puny Maloney and Bizzy would be small bit players pretending to be big, if they have have any part in this at all…

Those clowns would not be recognized by Swiss Germans.

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

If you control the food and water, you control the people, what did these idiot politicians learn at school.

6. @ TheGazer
    It may be not that we have leadership by brass-bowls.
    Boss, we have leadership OF brass bowls and FOR brass bowls.
    Crooks and scam artists have a knack for finding brass bowls to fall prey to their schemes…

What do you want to bet that our ‘leaders’ actually respond to those shiite emails that we all get about having won the lotto …?

Bizzy and Baloney sends out such emails weekly…..

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well & Consequences November 3, 2016 at 11:18 AM #
    “Anon..if the government ministers did a little research pn the companies and people approaching them with these wet dream like plans, they could never be baited like fish…”

Who says they have been baited liked fish? Who says that a medici by the name of Quisling Boyce is not somewhere behind the scenes ‘facilitating’ the water supply arrangements?

Doesn’t this broker of scamming appear in almost all of these rip-off deals?

It would be interesting to find out if this same water supply arrangement was not part of the Cahill WTE plot to meet the shortfall of millions of gallons of water that Hades of an incinerator would have required to cool its beastly fires. Why not transfer the blueprint of the scam to the water problem caused by managerial incompetence and political corruption?

Water shortage my ass! Why not pay a visit to Bath area or other parts of St. John and see the millions of gallons of water that daily finds it way back to the sea?

But if Barbados can import millions of litres of water in unhygienic plastic bottles for drinking why not Surinamese polluted river water instead of using that from the Buxton natural stills of St. John?

8. Well Well

Don’t listening tah dah bulla Miller and yah betta keep he aa little more dan arms length because he got aa fetish fah young boys.

9. @ John

Yes, agreed

We’ve always had good technical people managing water in Barbados. We know these people fairly well.

We fear however, that external or political interference or as you said decisions made without following the plans designed by the professional water managers is causal.

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Dompey November 3, 2016 at 12:02 PM

Domps the dopey donkey, it seems you have not forgotten that night when we were together many moons ago and you were brought into the light of the mirror for you to see your true self hiding behind the walls of Glendairy.

Why have you returned to the closet, Dompey? Why are you still a prisoner of your homosexual self?

11. This request was just posted……looks like we are regressing big time.

I wish to buy a waterless toilet system
    $150
    Bridgetown, Barbados

To commemorate our big 50th celebrations I’m looking to purchase an out house aka Bajan pit toilet as shown in photos below seeing that my flush toilet no longer works because of the lack of water in my area . Must come fully equipped with matches , newspaper and lil kerosene oil for de roaches . Interested sellers can contact me here asap ..thank you

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=1438009246213217&set=pcb.627360774091899&type=3

12. Do not become distracted from the big issue which is about governance by stealth.

#therighttoknow

13. David November 3, 2016 at 1:19 PM #

I am not being side tracked as I await Alvins response but could not find anywhere else to post this apt in many respects piece of Barbadiana………this is where we are at,at 50……

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Miller…it’s easy to figure this out given some time…..Something is definitely off about that Suriname water scam, for want of a better word, because the government said nothing to the people, they cannot be trusted…

As I understand it, Surinamese people do not play and will have no problem chasing those Swiss Germans from their shores if they smell any nastiness…the retards in parliament in Bim better have a plan B…C…D…lol

…..no wonder Bizzy is so hot to get his hands on any entity that will give him control and make it appear that he owns the island totally, I doubt very much the Swiss Germans would consider any of them anything but a stepping stone to consolidate their control of the distribution of water in the Caribbean.

Boyce is obviously the yard boy for the Williams “give me” crooks…so there is no telling what role that little sellout played…..and why is Dumbville so quiet..

https://www.mail.com/int/news/uk/4725638-what-next-uk-high-court-ruling-complicates-brexit.html#.1258-stage-mmm1-3

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Pacha…you can guarantee that along with water distribution, the Swiss Germans, being a special breed of as*holes, would want to not only interfere in Caribbean politics in everyway, since they would have heard what a cakewalk it is to get over the greedy little shithounds in parliament, why do you think Barbados was chosen as the test subject to begin with….but they will also leave their mark.

I am sure the nuisances in parliament were all strutting around feeling proud that they got this big secret about the water, feeling it makes them better than the other islands, you noticed they all denied it at first, but if they knew the mentality of the Swiss German, they better pray Suriname gets rid of them.

I will feel no sympathy for them when. they get done with them…bunch of idiots, lol.

16. No David, it is not “governance by stealth”. It is governance by stupidity.

How difficult is it for a Barbados government official to write this.

We are in discussions with a company in Suriname about shipping water to Barbados.
    We will ensure that the water is clean and we would put safe guards in place to ensure that the water is absolutely safe for the following purposes.

There is absolutely no reason why government should not be transparent with something as simple as this.

Bajans are as intelligent and educated as anybody else but some jus wutless.

17. @Hants

We stand corrected Sir!

@Vincent

It was a general comment that we need to accept this is a governance issue.

18. Anonymouse - The Gazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – The Gazer

@Hants,
    I fully agree with your last set of comments.

How can you be so so busy governing and be so secretive that you forget to inform the people about everything.

One can understand that there are times when information must be carefully guarded, but being secretive on all matters cast a shadow on even honest deals.

Why must the average Barbadian have to scour the internet to learn about these government projects (deals). What is the fear?

19. @ Hants

It would be entirely plausible for such a simple full disclosure statement to be made IF IT WERE NOT FOR THE FACT THAT I, Minister of Resources and my African Manager of Water Resources happen to be directors in the newly formed Surinamese Company.

Government by Stealth ensures that if the name of the company sending the water IS NOT DECLARED there can be no connection to me and my dog which is a pitbull from Myassa or is that Myansa? do ole man cannot spell too goody goody.

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece…the company is not Surinamese, it’s based in Switzerland, the German part of Switzerland with offices in Rotterdam, Amsterdam and in Suriname, it’s not a done deal because the Surinamese people are querying the project.

These Swiss Germans would not want any little third world idiots on their boards, dont care who they believe they are, they will just be used to network and expand into new markets in the Caribbean.

I am sure the company already has dossiers on each one of the idiots….would you want any of them on your board of anything….well not me, not knowing what I know about all of them, both in the parliament and in the minority business community…redjet, cahill scam and 4 seasons failures come to mind.

You have to know the Swiss German mentality personally to understand, plus a few of them live in Barbados and have for many years….so they know.

21. Millertheanunnaki

Oh Jesus, I know you’re a real bulla in truth because mistook me the eye candy for the ladies back in the day for the young bulla Tyrone Snaggs who did in fact served time on buggery charges at Glendairy with this older man who was caught in the act. Mill, we know yah en got nah shame at nah because fah you the closet door has swung wide open.

22. How on God Almighty’s earth will we know what happens once that water enters our domain? We had 16 compactor trucks at the port for weeks and weeks on end and don’t know yet to whom they were destined. So much for investigative journalism. Were it not for Ms Mottley, we would never have been alerted to Cahill. So much for investigative journalism. We don’t know yet where M$300 flew to out of the Central Bank after how many years? So much for investigative journalism. We don’t know yet who gave permission to Rock Hard to build on Government land at the port nor when it will be demolished. So much for investigative journalism. How can millions of dollars be deposited at the Central Bank by an individual and by whose authority? So much for investigative journalism…..and we think we will find out what is the final word on this water? Fat chance!

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Besides…none of them in parliament or the minority business community can speak Dutch, Swiss French or Swiss German and would not know what the hell is going on …lol hahaha lol

They would have to hire my relative’s husband or me to translate for them…lol, hahaha, lol

At least I thought everyone knew that Dutch is the official language for Suriname and Rotterdam…and Swiss French and Swiss German are the official languages for Switzerland right…I thought everyone knew that.

…… which government minister in parliament or local business person like Bizzy “give me” and Maloney et al speaks Dutch, Swiss French and Swiss German.

Bjerkham might be the only one who may be able to communicate with them if he can remember Norwegian (norsk) since it is a North Germanic language…but he been in Barbados so long, so who knows.

So in essence, none of them will know what’s really going on, those dudes will hire some Americans, Canadians, Australians or Brits, pay them some huge bucks to front and run the English on only what they want them to know. a piece of cake….lol

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/88726/south-africans-protest-zuma

Bajans need to make their voices heard, stand for something, demand respect from the disrespectful prime minister and government ministers.

26. Anonymouse

It does seem like the average Barbadian gives a damn about the issue because had that been the case the streets of Barbados would have been overflowing with the discontent with this government inability to govern the affairs of the people effectively.

But on Facebook and many of the Barbadian social media blogs though one hears the occasional dissatisfaction with which the government is governing the affairs of the people, there isn’t a consensus that one would have expected regarding the way in with the BU eldership magnifies the magnitude of the water problem in Barbados.

So with the above analysis in hand, it does appear from Dompey’s narrow perspective that there are two forces at work here and it doesn’t take size of Miller’s larger obzocky head to figure out one: the people aren’t being properly informed, and two the BU household tendency is to blow off steam in its exaggeration of any issue has to do with DLP government.

27. Anonymouse - The Gazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – The Gazer

Dude, I am here dieing with laughter.
    I was going to give you a hard poke and watch your reaction
    But then I decided not to.. Here is a light poke
    Flyweight – ac
    Super flyweight – AC
    Not registering any weight – Dompey…
    Luv ya bro… 🙂
    Why? Cause ya yanking miller chain.

28. Anonymouse

Why hasn’t the Barbadian social media blogs been lit up with this water issue? Since Barbadians and rest of the world have a proclivity to air their grievances on Facebook and many of the other social- media blog?

29. Well Well

Why do you think that the people of Barbados need your encouragement? Don’t you think that the people of Barbados is in want or lacks the collective-intelligence to ascertain when a government is undermining the will of the people?
    You ought to give the people of Barbados a little more credit than that because we know that we Barbadians who sits in our high chairs in North America, with our twisted notion that the native Barbadians need our help.

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol….Piece. .. it’s like a punishment.

31. Dompey November 3, 2016 at 4:12 PM #

The Bimmer takes time to digest information,so BU has to do repeats like it did for CAHILL,then social media will pick it up,then our elected leaders may answer the questions asked or just dump the water and say nothing as per CAHILL……the ball is in the BU court to keep it in play…….I trust you are happy with the explanation.

32. Thanks Vincent Haynes your explanation is more than enough brother, but beyond that I am hear wondering what has happened to de old Piece long diatribe?
    These days de old man Piece reminds me of the Indian in de cowboy movie with the limited dialect, who saids to the: cowboy :come and starts to ride off without any further explanation.

33. @ Vincent Haynes

De ole man going recommend dat you be banned from BU.

How could you??

You is a reasonably intelligent fellow…

Whu happen?

Be kind to animals week come twice this year? Once when de Honourable Blogmaster acceded to the re-entry and now with you entertaining this this “hignorance?”

Whu happen?

You does drink?

You does smoke?

I hope you doan do drugs?

But my man, to stoop so low….whulosss

De next ting you going do is change your name to Vincent Doolittle since, and it is only obvious, that you do “talk with the animals, particularly orangutangs!!!

Watch now that while many have commented all evening here on BU how one will rise to the fore, ONLY ONE, and it will speak 3 times, in quick succession, (more than likely mentioning being bult in that litany IT HAVE A PREDISPOSITION TO THAT ammmmmmmm alley and then look for another victim to torment.

Vincent, say no to drugs okay???

@ FearPlay

It was not Mia Mottley who brought the Cahill issue to no fore.

Contrary to popular belief it was Mr. Kammie Holder of the Future Centre Trust and David King of Barbados UnderGround, who, in tandem, prosecuted the CAHILL matter to the point of it being relinquished by this Assification Government

That was what led to the first in the series of Stoopid Cartoons which lest you and all of the rest here forget is shown below

http://i.imgur.com/o3odXKp.png

34. Dompey November 3, 2016 at 5:11 PM #

Chuckle….I will not encourage you in disrespecting our esteemed elder…..one must give due deference to our seniors,especially those carrying out ardous tasks.

35. Well Well,
    Why you doan keep you dogs off my lawn?
    The operative words in the press release are: “…in the event of a future need.”
    Even when the government is proactive, you criticize, and if they waited you would all be jumping up and down and shouting fuh murdah. And of course you see a scam in it. Poor you!
    My advice to the government is “press on regardless”. Listen to your advisors and experts, and do what you know has to be done.
    Like the supporters of Donald Trump (Well Well among them:GP, Simon (Simple), etc) whom they will support even though he has NO redeeming qualities. These will ALWAYS be critical whatever you do. The BLP, like the Republicans who have never recovered from the success of Barack Obama; the first Black in the modern era, to win the Presidency, have not gotten over the victories of the DLP in the past two elections, and their successful hold on power, despite whatever they (the Yard Ducks) do or say.

36. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right – INRI November 3, 2016 at 5:16 PM #

Ha,ha,ha………Skippah……Ah……..cuddear….haha……ah did trying to hep de youngun by answering de questions ah even gie e a reprimand fuh dissreptin yuh….wuhloss…looka muh crosses doa.

37. Alvin

Could you answer my question about known and unknown bacteria in the water and how they would be treated to?

38. @Alvin

You inability to appreciate the concerns of Barbados is unbelievable. The issue for BU is why must the government hide the MOU arrangement with the company barging the river water. Why is the option being considered after the Minister assured Bajans in his last press conference the plan the address water supply in Barbados. Why test the freighing process if as the press release states Barbados lacks the infrastructure to test and offload the water.

39. @ Vincent Haynes

See whu I tell you??

Dat donkey ent forget me, nor Bush Tea nor the Sage Annunaki for mekking sport at he donkey and letting everyone here on BU know that the first time he lost his job at the hospital in America was when he unplug de EKG machine and plug in his cell phone.

Donkey has just get a facebook account and felt real smart with himself and was checking in on his likes.

He was lucky that the district attorney had bajan ancestry or he would have been tried for murder.

Dompey I still hair, or is that hear cause IT CERTAINLY CANT BE HERE

You are new to the Blog Vincent?

Dompey, when he ent getting noticed read cussed like shyt##e does start to blame the Honourable Blogmaster for not having more young people come off the block and come on the blog and other inane things like that

Watch he now.

6 comments, followed by a systemic mention of the “bulleration @ Station Hill” thematic, followed by reference to some ole man that held him on his way from school in Barbarees Hill and “unfaired him”, followed by the story of a Mr. Sealy, currently an editor at the Nation, but formerly a teacher at St Leonards who busted his “donkey with licks” and then an admission of some other learning impediment to garner sympathy votes.

He will of course start to get on the Honourable Blogmaster’s nerves and get banned for 4 months then beg back, start off good and then get back to the same “Thine Hignorance Knows No Bounds” behaviour

It is called the Donkey Treadmill

40. “BARBADOS (Naked Departure) — SURINAME, DIRTY RIVER WATER — I am hopping mad since I read that the idiotic Barbados government is now importing dirty river water from Suriname. This water is likely to be chock full of microbes, parasites and nasty bugs not found in our ecosystem. Once this river water washes into our underground springs, rivers and aquifers look out for diseases such as cholera. Down in Suriname there are surely Amerindians that have no water toilets or even outhouses but who shit on the river banks and this fecal matter in addition to that of the wild animals washes into the rivers.

These politicians must be freaking mad and I want to see Atlee Brathwaite, David Estwick, John Mwanza, Freundel Stuart and the rest of them, each drink a glass of this river water in public, in front of the tv cameras and the press.

So the plan is to fill the community tanks with this nasty river water? Was this water treated, filtered, cleaned, boiled or in any other way purified before leaving South America? I am hoping that a torpedo hits and sinks the tug delivering it in the Caribbean sea.

Now is the time for the coast guard personnel to show their worth and scuttle and sink that Surinamese tug laden with water sent here to poison the Barbadian population.

Barbadian water is good enough for the airplanes and cruise liners which visit here but not for bajans who are now expected to drink nasty, shitty river water?

Just like our high-quality sugar is exported and rat dung filled sugar is imported from Guyana and Guatemala for local consumption, this government of conceited ignoramuses expects us to consume river water but it can’t happen.

I am calling on all bajans to protest the introduction of this foreign river water into our ecosystem just like the people of Jamaica did a few years ago when their government imported 40 foot containers laden with human shite from the USA. supposedly to use as agricultural fertilizer.”

41. Just goes to show what scant respect these morons have for we the people.

To this day, all we have heard is this one say they know nothing, the next one said it was not them but not an official word from them to reassure a sceptical public looking for answers.

42. The BLP propaganda machine never ceases to amazed Now go bring the Facts to back up all which you have said , Nothing more nothing less

43. LOL
    The joke about the DLP is that they actually seem to be PROUD of their stupidity…
    What the hell!!!
    …if anyone needs any more proof that the end is HERE …dat is wunna foolish business…

Imagine these people spending MILLIONS of dollars celebrating some shiite anniversary, …while citizens up and down bringing water by the bucket…?

Imagine some female rabbit’ is building a shiite monument ON THE GARRISON FIELD ..while deep potholes on major roads become the trademark of the country…

Imagine that AC is their most coherent and dependable spokesman…. oh shiite!!!

Imagine that our parliament easily would contain the country’s MOST WANTED CRIMINALS …if only we had a half decent judicial system…

Imagine we have been running around the country behind Maxine McClean with a shiite ‘TRIDENT’, ….which is a KNOWN symbol that is representative of the damn Devil… and apparently the ‘monument’ will be of that VERY DEVIL SYMBOL…. who could be so FOOLISH?

There is nothing more stupid than a jackass playing with things beyond its comprehension.
    ….and then wunna wonder why EVERY SHIITE mashing up…???

Steupssss!!!

44. Maybe this Stoopid Poster and its questions might help.

http://imgur.com/a/2cts1

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Now we all see why the government ministers and all the minority business crooks as well as the leader of the opposition wanted the blogs gone from Bsrbados, they cannot hide anything anymore….they wanted the people forever ignorant and in the dark while they do as they like and enrich themselves from their people’s ignorance..they fart though, the earth is now thisbig…

.I can show you a map of the exact location of Amazone Resources in Switzerland, right on their doorstep….google earth rocks.

Surinamese do not use their river water, they do not need to, not even the Coppename River water these Swiss Germans are planning to sell the Caribbean islands, any Surinamese will tell you they get fresh water just by digging for it, so no need to use their river water, it’s not safe..

Why don’t these givernment ministers stop trying these get rich quick schemes off the backs of their people that could bring sickness or death to their people….the blogs will expose you, you are no match for technology, it locks up crooks everyday.

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

When they approve the water from Suriname I want you Alvin…to be the very first person to drink it, then the ministers, then the business people, one way or the other, the island has to purge itself of you jackasses.

47. The company plans to take water from rivers, 30 kilometers from the mouth. Annually Surinamese rivers carry 151 billion cubic meters of water to sea. Amazone Resources will collect the water in giant bags and transport them to their destination. The strategy has not been tested yet.

John Goedschalk, director of CIS, says that Barbados is a potential buyer of Surinamese water as a sustainable and cheap addition to their current desalination systems.
    The tourist destination annually needs 8 million cubic meter of water and is willing to pay US$ 3.90 per cubic meter. Suriname stands to earn at least US$ 55 million in royalties and tax from the export.

However, there is still a long way to go. The potential investor has to research the effects of taking water from nature.

48. Does anyone know if any of these water bags have actually been made?

49. Why are we importing river water when billions of gallns of our own fresh rain water washes into the Atlantic ocean every year? Why not capture our own rain water instead of importing somebody else’s river water?

but maybe I am too much of a

Simple Simon