The Honourable Freundel Stuart

Prime Minister of Barbados

Government Headquarters

Bay Street

Bridgetown

Barbados

THE PROPOSED BUILDING OF THE HYATT HOTEL

Dear Sir,

I write to inform you that members of the Barbados Lobby are standing in solidarity with Mr. David Comissiong in protesting the building of the Hyatt Hotel on Carlisle Bay, Bay Street, St. Michael.

The group is of the opinion that while there may be economic benefits to be derived from the building of a hotel at that locale, it will be at the horrific cost of disrupting the highly valued recreational space that the beach has become for the Barbadian public. In a densely populated Bridgetown, Carlisle Bay is one of the few remaining open places except for Queens Park and the Garrison Savannah where hundreds of people each week can freely gather for socialization, rest, vigorous exercise and recreation. We are of the strong conviction that the area should be turned into a window to the sea.

It must have taken considerable time and effort for Bridgetown to achieve its designation as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is therefore confusing why Mr. Mark Maloney of Vision Developments did not see it fit to follow the guidelines that already exist, given the historic designation of the area.

One wonders how an increase in traffic congestion due to the location of the hotel on this site will be handled. This alone may be a primary reason why the hotel should not be built on this site. A more suitable location for this hotel should be sought.

Our concerns for the environment are grave. We do not know what effect the building a hotel of that proposed size will have on the environment since no Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) has been done. What we do know is that this beach is relatively new; leading some to speculate that it may not be wise to proceed without that assessment. We can also question what impact this will have on the coastline.

We are also concerned about the lack of transparency surrounding this project. Your manifesto promises to the people of Barbados regarding transparency are in danger of yet again not being honoured. We have been informed that to date, the people who live in the surrounding area where the proposed hotel is to be built have not been consulted.

We have been disappointed by the role played by the Minister of Industry and Commerce, the Minister of Finance and the Minister of Tourism with regards to this matter. How could the Minister of Tourism participate in a signing ceremony for the building of this proposed hotel when no permission was given by the Town and Country Planning Department? To add insult to injury, we were lost for words when the Minister of Industry and Commerce and the Minister of Finance went into the people’s House of Parliament and lied to the entire population of Barbados that building permission had been granted. We can only expect that you will not take this lightly and that appropriate disciplinary action will be taken by you.

Each and every Barbadian is called to be “a strict guardian of our heritage” and a “craftsmen of our fate” on this little rock and must leave our island in the best possible position for future generations to have and enjoy. We must never be made to feel that we are trespassing in our own country.

We are therefore appealing to you to act in the best interest of Barbadians and deny building permission for the Hyatt Hotel at the proposed at Carlisle Bay location.

Sincerely,

Heather Cole

On the behalf of the Members of the Barbados Lobby and;

246 responses to “Open Letter to the Prime Minister Re:Hyatt Hotel Project”

1. I honestly do not understand this acrimony towards Kammie.

This is very simple.

I go into a rum shop and beg for two gallons of Alleyne Arthur and after fighting fuh de rum de shop owner gi me de rum euphemism for Cahill, as prosecuted by Kammie was stopped!!

Kammie come here and said that Angelique ‘s political aspirations WERE NOT OF INTEREST TO HIM (and the Environmental Crew?)

His bonafides were questioned here per his contra Cahill scam and proven to be sound.

De man come back here and repeat his position about the commingling of Environmental focus with political partisanship

Wait one second.

The content rather the letter and signees seemed to have been changed slightly?

Is this not adequate enough of a nuance to indicate to we who now are accusing Mr Holder of nitpicking that this is clearly coercion of the party/ies and that his objection, coming from a man who has gone to pains to say the little things that are important to his two children and which he said that he is committed to would seem to suggest that this “nitpicking” IS NOT AN ITEM THAT HE WILL STAND BY AND LET PASS??

This I what I never understand when a man saw he doan bull and bad talk Wickham yet Fumbles and Stikliar bullying we and dat same man getting castigated for repeating his same chant

Read the modified letter before wunna start talking bout Mr Holder nitpicking.

Angelique is a despot and is part of the despot agenda, doan let us dissemble on this issue, Kammie et al would probably share more about what they have experienced with Dark Shadows but he seems to be a gentleman whose style of engagement is not like we rabble.

Yet, not a man here can say the he will not rise to and Environmental Challenge, CHECK HIS ARTICLES, FROM WEED KILLER TO EFFLUENT INTO OUR SEA, he speaks to it all.

His organization in general and he in particular, deserve an apology from Miss Cole.

But de ole man going eat me Kangol hat and say dat the hinges of hell’s gates will freeze over before dat come to pass

2. So PUDYR you actually believe the Cahill protest group wasn’t/isn’t partisan in the majority? #justasking

3. Heather is Mr. Holder calling you a fraud and a hijacker if all his previuos efforts against WTE.isnt it ironic that both of you were on the same battlefield in agreement with the same cause. Now that you have unofficially invited him to return a favour for your cause against Hyatt he punches you in the face
    To you Mr. holder could it not have been a better way to resolve that problem than pubicly belitting your former counterpart Heather ?

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Jackass ACs….the destruction to Cuba’s infrastructure was brought about hy 50 years of sanctions by at least 9 US governmehts and Presidents. …the US would tell you themselves.

STOP SPREADING LIES AND PROPAGANDA…

You FRAUD.

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Bajans….I swear, the amount of lies and misinformation spread around Barbados by the idiot politicians, their pimps and yardfowls to keep the people on the island ignorant and misinformed would nauseate satan.

6. Do not worry comrades.

The Hyatt will fail like all other projects anyway. Like Cahill, like Fours Seasons, like Del Maestro and like the economy. Like all other promises since 2008.

Failure is the very DNA of the establishment.

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Ah got another job for the ACs…., tell Ronald Jones, edukashun minister….. to tell the Principals at the various secondary schools to let the bookstores know BEFORE THE END OF THE SCHOOL YEAR, AT LEAST 3 MONTHS BEFORE……the books needed on the list for the parents to purchase, so that the books would be available for the new term….that is how long it takes for the overseas orders to be filled.

The bookstores keep asking the schools and schools refuse to comply, causing some books not to be available for the new term.

Make yall useless ass selves useful for once…instead of telling lies and spreading propaganda. …nuisances.

8. Nincompoop you call me a Jack a.ss well nobody bray longer than you C-O-N-S-T-A-N-T-L-Y

9. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Enuff

Your query would, if extrapolated, suggest that Chad 99999 who is a Roman Catholic, similarly cannot be an ardent DLP supporter.

The two states are not mutually exclusive but, from reading what Mr. Holder stated here before, all I am suggesting, based on his current remarks, is that this was NOT an agreed position and one party unilaterally deployed a letter that impute a non ratified position.

Suppose I hold 11plus lessons at David Come Sing a Song’s building on Crumpton Street and David one day writes a letter to the headmaster at harsun college saying “I David Come Sing… And All the occupants of my building wish to say “X” well, even thought X may seem to be consistent with what I espouse normally, David is forcing me into a corner without my consent.

I read what is written, just like you, and, based on the dialogue to date, one gets the impression that “all is not quiet on the Western Front”

10. The US blockade of Cuba,known to Cubans as ‘el bloqueo’,is still in effect,formally.

11. Kammie Holder is behaving like he was the one who single handily stopped the Cahill Energy scam, he did NOT. The pressure group helped but the truth is that is was the Leader of the Opposition who used the floor of Parliament to publicly destroy the project and embarrass the Stuart administration.

12. Kammie Holder must understand and appreciate that we in the pressure group were as much concerned about the process leading up to the signing of the agreements with Cahill Energy as we were about the plasma gasification technology itself.

We are also concerned about the process leading up to the giving of planning permission by the office of the Prime Minister.

13. Kammie Holder must understand and appreciate that we in the pressure group were as much concerned about the process leading up to the signing of the agreements with Cahill Energy as we were about the plasma gasification technology itself.

We are also concerned about the process leading up to the giving of planning permission by the office of the Prime Minister for the 15 storey Hyatt project.

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Now than we have all agreed on the goal…let’s stop these idiot ministers before they turn bajans into paupers….right ACs

15. These morons with the guns are going to bankrupt Barbados before the ministers do

16. The only thing right is for the PM not to buckle under pressure to a few and be seen as a weakened and defeated person .He owes it to the many voices who have given voice for the Hyatt.
    Unlike the Cahill project whose operators were unknown and questionable the Hyatt group of Corporations is an well renowned brand and internationally accredited for its environmental work
    The many questions of transparency towards the group although warranted is polictized to generate an atmosphere of rejection towards the Hyatt project

17. @AC

Hyatt will fail nevertheless. Even without any public protest.

Like Cahill, like Grotto, like Four Seaons, like reducing budget deficit, like improving foreign currency reserves, like reducing crime, like food prices, like BWA, like tertiary education.

Like everything during the last decade.

Surrender and accept this natural law. God has made it so.

18. My secretary always tells me never to accept every invitation to confusion. I don’t do the gutter thing which may disappoint many. Why must the Bajans Against The $700M Waste To Energy Plant be associated with an anti Hyatt initiative without a poll of members. One must be calculated and avail themselves to the facts of any issue before engaging. The Hyatt issue needs its own page and its own champion which has been taken up by David Commissiong.

Every conscious right thinking person should be concerned about the approval process of the Hyatt and the conditions of this approval. What are the 52 conditions that must be met? What are the trade offs? What are the viable options? What is the opportunity cost? Balance and objectivity is what we must not loose sight off for to just oppose because it’s Mark Malonely is madness.

During the Cahill many called me names because I refused to go the way of a march to Bay Street but we stuck to the game of writing international media houses and agencies which was lead by Heather Cole.

There is however a right way and a wrong way.Never will I hold brief for any political party for country must come first. When you are critical of an initiative your argument against is best viewd by offering alternatives.

@ Heather Cole is a strong woman and loves Barbados and even an ass can see her love of country!

19. @ac re your 12:48 pm post. I am not a fraud. I hope this is a teaching moment for Kammie. Perhaps he may care to share what Leslie Taylor has done for the group. All she did was use him. Not even her or Mark Maloney will shift my focus.

20. Kammie @Heather is a strong woman and lives Barbados and even an ass can see her love for country
    …………………….

Somewhat contradictory after your admonishment of the blog master via your request and open chastiment of Heather.
    Maybe in your mind her love only transcends those works upon which you have agreed

21. Confrontation over Conversation as practiced by the politicians has now infected the whole country. Educational system has failed us. Politicians have failed us. Adults have failed youth. Masses drunk with ignorance and want to blame those who manipulate and exploit weak politicians. 20,000 at Reggae on the Hill and less than 1000 in a march for accountability.

Hyatt project surrounded by controversy because of questionable pronouncement and lack of citizen engagement. I bet if the Champion Against Hyatt calls a March very few keyboard warriors will turn out. I will not be a hypocrite and I have said publicly I support the project once the Town Planning requirements are met and the public concerns are embraced thru public consultations. The Deepwater Harbor, Independence, ABC Highway, GAIA and widening of Broad Street in the late 1800’s in the name of commerce.

The Freuendel Stuart administration is one of the most dismissive governments post independence but when they trying give them some support. Both parties have outlived their usefulness and have sold out to the neocolonial financiers of their political parties. #ANewWay

22. Yardfowls and Yardsheep should be hang publicly for treason against future generation.

23. What about the two newest political parties? This is a good issue for them to cut their teeth especially Grenville being an engineer.

24. ok Heather take down your 9000 fraudelent campagain supporters misrepresentation a read of Kammie last comment …Kammie Holder September 1, 2016 at 3:59 PM # is having no part of your initiative

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs…Kammie moved on…have yall no shame, get a life.

26. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Hear Kammie Holder at 3:59 pm

The Freuendel Stuart administration is one of the most dismissive governments post independence but when they trying give them some support. Both parties have outlived their usefulness and have sold out to the neocolonial financiers of their political parties… </B.

Should we give support when practically all the evidence in the public domain points to their trying in essentially the same heavily flawed manner as they tried in the Cahill affair?

It’s true that the Hyatt project has a number of aspects that are praiseworthy and would have merited high marks if due process had been followed, but overall, the repetition of aspects of anti-environment methodology of the Cahill affair, as well as a number of the Maloney projects, should have made someone with your credentials pause.

27. @Are we there yet, please see my earlier post. Every non partisan and those of any political party with a ounce of fairness would agree with you.

28. are we not jumping the gun in some of our conclusion since not one stone has been placed as evidence that the project has been started , i believe all we know are those aspects to project planning and management . Most seem to be hamstrung and somewhat distantly removed from the difference between the Cahill project and the proposed Hyatt
    The Two projects are miles apart when it comes to planning and the enviroment .

29. @Are-we-there-yet

Good insight!

So many promises, so many missteps.

There is now a feeling of deep distrust for many when government enters any arrangement. Just have a read of the Auditor General reports to get a sense of the inefficiency that ails our Cabinet.

30. Its a very simple matter.A 15 storey Hyatt at that location on Bay is lunacy and the person or persons who conceived it should be ignored completely.

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yeah..but not when it comes to deceiving the taxpayers and working by stealth from Fruendel and his foolish ministers…..

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

That was in response to the idiots ACs, who by the way were defending the Cahill scam, even after Fruendel and Lowe…ran in the other direction…away from it.

33. @ Are -we-there-yet. I totally agree with your 5:16 pm post. Kammie is suggesting that this goverment be given another chance after all the evidence that they have shown us that they are not willing to change. This is a democracy not abuse from domestic violence.

34. Gabriel September 1, 2016 at 6:31 PM #

[Its a very simple matter.A 15 storey Hyatt at that location on Bay is lunacy and the person or persons who conceived it should be ignored completely]

What an ignorant comment. Here’s the thing Hyatt cannot be ignored they will simply leave and set up in the regional neighborhood. The real lunatics like you will force them to do so. The unemployed, the store owners in Bridgetown , the watersports and taxi operators, the souvenir hawkers on the Swing Bridge and many more businesses will feel the loss of Hyatt in their pockets. They will realize up close lunacy in action as FDI which could improve their economic situation takes flight. From a dying Bridgetown they will learn Hyatt is benefiting a rival jurisdiction while they suck salt. This time they may not forgive the real lunatics. Too much foreign investment has been lost because of the Gabriel brand of lunacy.

35. Gabriel are you calling the Hyatt group Lunatics ThE Hyatt corporation has built many Hotels world wide i am of yet to hear of any one of the hotels closing or waiting for govt handouts , . They are a conservative group who have built their name brand and image by avoiding the political climate of degradation

As of 31 December 2014 Hyatt Corporation’s worldwide portfolio consisted of 587 properties.[ On September 1, 2011, Hyatt acquired Hotel Sierra, which has 18 properties in 10 states. Along with Hyatt Summerfield Suites hotels, several of these properties were rebranded as Hyatt house in January 2012.

However you and the other nutty operatives propagate a political spin of idle gossip and plavar as if the Hyatt group ascended on barbados looking for something for free ,You guys need to give it a rest Hyatt is not Cahill and for sure you are playing a dirty hand which barbados would not be able to recover if Hyatt makes a decision not to be drawn into the politics of Barbados

36. Anonymice - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymice – TheGazer

I might have read it wrong, but it seem as if Kammie place national interest above all other matters.

Guess he knows the difference between a patriot and a partisan.

37. Anonymice - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymice – TheGazer

places or placed

38. In and out and Ac singing from the same page.The fatted calf brigade is stung by the truth serum.There will be no 15 storey Hyatt at Bay.Take that to your local scumbag plotters and schemers.

39. PUDYR
    Looka the group got 8,600 “members”. How many called Kammie concerned? It is a FACT that membership did not require declaration of one’s non-partisan standing. How a devout environmentalist could support a 15-storey building on that site is baffling. I guess there are no “environmental” articles on google about tall buildings and air quality..lol. By the way an EIA is not the panacea for every development application.

40. Lunacy is the appropriate word; hence the FIFTY TWO conditions. 52!

41. look Gabriel do not even go there for how and where my bread is buttered does not depend on any one interest or whether there is a calf of any size shape or fashion,
    the fact is that your shouting that the Hyatt would not be built does not make it a reality if you should live long enough not only one hotel would grace downtown but several ,on the other hand when ole morons like you die the youth who understand the betterment and advancement of progress will make the hard decisions that would empower making those living in poverty lives better ,
    Maybe just maybe your bread is buttered on both sides and in your old age you are satisfied and contented with what you have and the idea or thought of people living in dilapidated surroundings does not move your inner soul of wanting to see these people having better

42. There is a destructive habit among black people that leads us to always tend towards divisiveness. We never seem able to defer to the collective good.
    Others seem to do it naturally….even animals.
    People come here from the most depraved conditions, and by putting their resources together, quickly become the movers and shakers here in Brass bowl land.
    Bajans, on the other hand, INDIVIDUALLY put their monies into the hand of foreigners (We have NO banks of our own…) who then laugh in our faces when we individually seek loans to buy shiite.
    Net result …. well look around… bunch of BREK brass bowls.

Looka…
    BU facilitates a collective approach to killing the CAHILL scam and (miracle of miracles)… it SUCCEEDS.
    Don’t fool wunna selves…. THIS WAS A DAVID(BU) project….
    Had those documents not dropped….
    Had the BU gang not organised against the shiite…
    Had David not put in the work…
    Had the BU family not stepped up with the research…

ANY other set of people, would now BUILD on the success of the CAHILL KILL …to defeat other governmental shiite – such as this stupid Hyatt hotel, the Four Seasons scam, the CLICO robbery, the Sam Lords brass bowlery, the Sugar Industry destruction f***ery by the shiite-hound (formally thought to be a ‘Pitbull’)… etc..

BUT NOT STINKING BAJANS…..
    We getting into shiite talk about whose ‘group’ it is…. about who is looking to benefit…. about who is representing political interests…

LOTTA SHIITE!!

How about getting together to do what is RIGHT??
    How about asking “What can each of us CONTRIBUTE??”
    If Heather turns out to be the natural leader – so what!!???
    Let her lead until someone BETTER shows up…

This is why – DESPITE ITS OBVIOUS BENEFITS, we avoid cooperatives…. we would rather be individually poor as ass together….than to join together and see another ‘get through’ – maybe a bit better that we do…

Brass bowls indeed….

43. @Bush Tea, thank you.

44. @Heather Cole, where have you garned such a silly conclusion thatI I wish for the DLP to be given another chance. If I had my way the BDLP would be sent to eternity in the political graveyard. You are mixing up trying to do something with imprpoer pronouncements over giving praise when its due. Both political corporations have done some good but have also squandered the wellbeing of country for the benefit of their financiers

Neither party has equity to point fingers for the neocolonist owns Barbados and most of the low paying jobs our educated have to accept. Those are the things you need to fight about and a lack of black enfranchisement thanks to a lack of vision. by black political leaders. While you are at it speak to the Anti Corruption Bill passed since November 2012 but not proclaimed that would have addressrd the issues BU ventilate.

Tell the unemployed in Urban Barbados about the concerns, pros and cons of the Hyatt as well as alternatives.

45. @Bust Tea, Heather is consistent in her prosecution of matters that impact the lives of Bajans and is well placed to assist David Commissiong to ensure the TCP 52 requirements are met

46. In and Out aka waiting Avatar
    In and Out aka waiting

Quick pick. A Hyatt exit will condemn Jeffrey Bostic to defeat he will lose his Bridgetown seat for sure. Patrick Todd once he is on the ballot returns to the House of Assembly with a healthy majority. Yard fowl messengers you all take that to the bank. Just saying.

47. I have noticed something for some time now about contributions from a few otherwise excellent contributors to BU.

It is that it seems to be almost mandatory for them to attach a disclaimer to hard hitting posts excoriating some obvious specific malfeance or miss step by the current Government. That disclaimer essentially is always a phrase to the effect that: “but this is par for the course since the opposition did the same when they were in Government. Its a BDLP thing”.

Of course there is an element of truth in the disclaimer but its constant repetition tends to water down the true extent of the comparative differences in the extent, depth and effects of the specific malfeances on the country as a whole.

It is demonstrably true that the policies and methodologies of governance by the BLP and the current DLP governments have been essentially the same and that venal, self seeking individuals have operated in similar fashion in both Governments, but I think it reduces the strength of arguments in matters such as the CAHILL affair and the Hyatt affair and the Sanitation Trucks affair, etc. etc. that good positions are presented on such matters only to be diluted by the apparent necessity to include the standard disclaimer.

Indeed, if one drills down into the likely origins of the disclaimer it seems that it might be a ploy to, in one case, make a subliminal case for a Third Party and in the few others to retain a previously declared toehold in the ruling party while making a principled stand against some of its current policies.

48. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

What ACs will be slow in realizing is that their bread will no longer be buttered with taxpayer’s money, supplemented by bribes, they will have to get off their rear ends and go begging very shortly, just like they are hoping to see happen to the taxpayers…while they enjoy freeness

People are hard at work to make this a reality.

Look retards, Hyatt just has to see and hear how unpopular Maloney’s choice of location is….to the people… and they will either agree to a new location to build the hotel, or go elsewhere, tough tits for the lawbreaker Maloney, he needs to be sent a message anyway.

Government might then understand that they should be courting real millionares and billionares, not parasites….to invest in hotel and other projects on the island. The message to be sent, get rid of the local and foreign parasites or never be allowed to lead the country again, that message should be sent every 5 years, for elections….and made very clear to the current excuse for leaders in parliament…this coming election.

49. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Enuff.

I had two impacted molars removed by two different dentists years ago, one was a man who got out the impacted molar and had my face swollen, for a week, and looking like if I fought with Tyson.

The other was a woman who leaned her warm body against de old man own and removed a more serious molar, “more pleasantly” in de ole man sexist reasoning.

And yes Enuff one will agree with you, before you respond, that “dat be de ole man vice” but I say all that story bout de molars to say that the way that the process was done made all the difference regarding how I warmed to the invasion of my mouth.

Further, while the medically knowledgeable might be correct to speak to competencies suffice it to say, all these years hence, I still recall her more fondly than him.

Is this anecdote in anyway connected to the 8% imposition of Former PM Erskine Sandiford? or can such be reasonably connected to the temporary increase in VAT imposed by The Minister of Finance? now appended by a 2% social Levy? I will respectfully suggest yes, it is

Here is a video that you should view, in its entirety, if you get time.

http://ntv.nation.co.ke/news/national/2725528-3364762-ihb3lhz/index.html which features an article titled “Lumumumba: Kenyans are not angry enough about corruption”

You should watch it since the situation detailed by the former head of their Corruption Commission mirrors our country and BDLP conundrum to a “t “, minus the killings of the persons speaking out about the corruption.

But unlike the hushed resignation of former Chief Magistrate Frank King, this Kenyan is very vocal

My point in summary Enuff is to state that This government is so tainted by all of the other things it has done on the simplest of matters that, even if they were to find the fountain of youth and advertise that they wanted to hire plumbers to effect the placement of stand pipes in villages for Bajans people would believe that it was a scam, much like the David Estwick inability to get water to BLP supporters in Dale Marshall’s constituency is purported to be.

Some people would be inclined to say that before a simple installation of the stand pipes could occur we could be assured that some scam with ionics and Bizzy would surface and some scam would manifest itself where (a) a suspect contract will be awarded and the contract would go to the customary exclusive group for 100 years, or similar disproportionate timing and (b) people would be sure that Sinkliar going tax every additional year of your life as a result of drinking the water and (c) Pornville going get somebody to dilute the bottled versions of the water and then re label the bottles and then come on TV swearing that the content is pure water of life.

Of course the usual idiot suspects like Kelly, Pigrim, AC, Alvin and Verla Depeiza going say how much FDI the project generating, and how they want an outlet in St. Lucy and, for those who speak out to say that the water is tainted, and provide DownLow texts showing that “he want his cut, Verla going strenuously agitate that they be hanged for treason

The DLP Enuff are “tainted meat” and with their stellar history of corruption in every single thing they do, the population of Barbados understandably does not trust them wants to AND WILL, see the back of every one of them AT THE NEXT GENERAL ELECTION!!!

50. Beautiful Barbados? Most definitely – but is it only skin deep?

Back less than a month and already I see that certain aspects of Beautiful Barbados haven’t changed: or if they have it is certainly not for the better. I often wonder what Barbadians have previously done to deserve the misfortunes, the miscreants and the misery that frequently beset one of the most amiable, sociable, friendly and helpful group of people in the whole world.

Although an unpalatable fact, it is clearly the case that small nation states will, in the normal way of things, be more susceptible to government corruption, media bias and, especially within the legal system, self-aggrandising ‘professionals’ and their trained lackeys – all compounded by the fallacious rantings of a wide selection of self-appointed, often rabble rousing and usually ill-informed, social commentators.

The recent personal attacks on Mark Maloney that formed part of the widely publicised planning disputes twixt Maloney and Town & Country Planning clearly and most ably (also sadly) demonstrate how a section of Barbadian society is unwilling to rid themselves of post-colonial angst. A lesson is there to be learned from Nelson Mandela – don’t waste time crying over milk that was spilt long ago, possibly before you were born. Take what you have within your own power and use it within the world you actually inhabit. It is always worth remembering that Barbados is a tiny country – being in a white autocracy (if there is such a thing) has as much value in the rest of the world as a snowball in hell. So if there is a white autocracy and Mark Maloney is a member, as he is accused of being, then he is a member of not very much at all and should not be envied . . . pitied perhaps, but certainly not envied. And as for him being a racist or white supremacist – that is absolutely ridiculous! He is not some form of perfidious ogre! He is nothing more than an energetic businessman, seemingly a pretty good one, who, along with his like-minded cadre, is screwing ‘the system’ as best he can in order to maximise his profits. It’s the system that allows him such latitude that is at fault.

If you really want to know what is going on in regard to ‘illegal’ cement plants and inappropriate hotel design you could do a lot worse that give great credence to the Nation Newspaper during the latter part of August or, better still, the recent ‘speechifying’ of Mia Mottley – if nothing else she has the ‘facts’ to hand and laid out a sensible, pragmatic course of action. She is also one of very few current politicians who might, just might (I stress the MIGHT) act solely in the best interest of Barbados rather than themselves, especially where these two planning matters are concerned.

There will be few who disagree that Mark Maloney needs his knuckles wrapped over the cement plant. Clearly, he just kept pushing the envelope until someone pushed back. However, as is nearly always the case with the incumbent Chief Town Planner and his ineffectual legal representation, the push came too late and, lacking any gumption or guts, the CTP did what he usually does and looked for a scapegoat rather than indulge in some positive, accountable action . . . exactly as he has done in regard to the Hyatt Hotel.

As far as the location of the Hyatt Hotel is concerned, it is a ‘given’ that there is a need for something positive in that particular area of Bridgetown – but it must be appropriate and, equally clearly, the current design is not appropriate. It is a superb example of arrogance over substance. A design that suits the architect, the client, the shareholders but not the community in which it will sit. It has no vernacular, historical, traditional or sympathetic content whatsoever . . . and within or adjacent to a World Heritage site that is a doubly unacceptable situation. What I wonder are the champions of the World Heritage recognition doing about this? There is more long term gain in such recognition than will ever come from acquiescing to the demands, whims and corporate greed of an uncaring international trading company, especially when they are ‘in bed’ with an equally uncaring bunch of local parasites. I have no idea who the architect was but I must make the effort to find out . . . if only to ensure that I do not inadvertently commission the visionless idiot to design something for me. In truth I suspect the overall design follows a corporate requirement, as seems to be the case with most American companies, to be as prominently vulgar as possible. There are, however, many examples throughout the world where this has not been allowed to happen but achieving success takes strong LOCAL, coordinated opposition.

Given such circumstances it was annoying to note, in The Nation, that some local businesses and their proprietors are in favour of the hotel and/or have no objections to the design. To them I say, “be careful what you wish for” – some of you have, for years, benefitted from the results of a very cavalier attitude towards Barbadian development plans, planning law and employment law – often with the complicity of ‘political contacts’ via favours or, possibly, straightforward bribery. Such activity is not the norm for multi-national a/o international companies, however, if they think they can succeed in pushing the government around as is currently being attempted, your new neighbour might well become a very prickly thorn in your side.

So good people of Barbados, especially the World Heritage team, I beg you, please get off your bums and make sure this abomination and the systems that permitted it to be put forward for consideration are allowed no further continuance. That way I can just get on with doing what I do best and what I especially come to Barbados for – enjoying myself among some of the best people in the world!