Lane Graves
Lane Graves

One of the claims made by Disney World in Florida is that it is the โ€œhappiest place on Earthโ€. Of course, it would be difficult to convince the Graves family of Nebraska of the merits of this claim after the incident last week in which they lost their two-year-old son, Lane, after he was attacked and drowned by an alligator as he waded knee-deep in a shallow lagoon outside the familyโ€™s resort rental. The entire episode raises a number of intriguing legal issues and supplies a test case for students of the law as to the extent of an occupierโ€™s liability in negligence towards its lawful visitors.

I readily concede that there is arguably much other fodder for the columnist this weekend. The surprising criticism of the United States Embassy in Kingston by the Jamaica Attorney General for its decision to fly the rainbow flag, most used by the LBGTI community, in sympathy with the victims of the mass shooting in Orlando early Sunday morning; the unsuccessful attempt of Mr. Maurice Tomlinson, a self โ€“titled homosexual and LBGTI activist, to persuade the Caribbean Court of Justice that similar provisions in the Immigration Acts of Belize and Trinidad & Tobago deeming homosexuals as prohibited immigrants served to deny him his freedom as a CARICOM national to enter and remain in another member state for a period of six months unless excluded for other stipulated reasons; and the ongoing standoff between a local entrepreneur and my primary school classmate, now Chief Town Planner, Mr Mark Cummins, might all have provided ample material for this hebdomadal (!) essay. However, perhaps as a coda to my effort last month, โ€œThe Gorilla and the Boyโ€, I prefer today to explore the legal intricacies of the boy and the alligator.

It is at least remarkable how frequently art seems to imitate life. Just last April, in the examination for first year students of the Law of Torts, I posed a scenario where there was the need to determine whether an occupier had sufficiently complied with her duties towards another by the mere placement of a sign which stated โ€œWatch your stepโ€ in a circumstance where her lawn had been left slippery with oil and where, as a result, the visitor naturally slipped, fell, and injured himself. Now, in the Disney World incident, a significant consideration will be whether a sign that merely enjoined โ€œswimmingโ€ was adequate to protect against the rare, though not unlikely, actuality of an alligator attack. The issue is also relevant to the Barbadian occupier of premises, though, of course, the incidence of an attack by an alligator here may be a โ€œfantastic possibilityโ€ rather than the โ€œreasonable probabilityโ€ that ought reasonably to be guarded against by an advertent occupier.

Nevertheless, section 4(5) of the Barbados Occupiers Liability Act , Cap 208 provides-

โ€œWhere damage is caused to a visitor by a danger of which he had been warned by the occupier, the warning is not to be treated without more as absolving the occupier from liability, unless in all the circumstances it was enough to enable the visitor to be reasonably safeโ€. (Emphasis added)

Clearly, it may be argued that a sign which simply seeks to forbid swimming is insufficient to enable a visitor to be reasonably safe where there is a not remote probability of the presence of alligators that, as I argued with the gorilla previously, are treated as ferae naturae or wild by nature. In consequence, it is not humanly possible to predict their behaviour, especially in a situation where the distinction between a small child and prey for the evening meal would be a difficult one for the beast immediately to draw.

Nor should it matter that the animal is not owned or controlled by the occupier of the property here. The presence of the alligator presents a danger that might have been foreclosed by the resort complying with its duty qua occupier โ€œto take such care as in all the circumstances of the case is reasonable to see that the visitor will be reasonably safe in using the premises for the purposes for which he is permitted by the occupier to be thereโ€.

Other legal issues may also arise- Did the father take as much care for the safety of the child in the circumstances as a reasonably diligent parent should have? Or should he be treated as having been contributorily negligent? In other words, did he, by permitting the child to wade in the water at that time, contribute to the happening of the tragedy or was the event so objectively unforeseeable that no blame at all should be attributed to him?

Indeed, he himself might have a claim against the resort. There is no doubt that he would have been seriously traumatized by the chain of events, especially after having failed to pry his son loose from the steely grip of the alligator and watching in horror as it swam away with the child in its jaws towards one certain horrific outcome.

If the negligence of the resort may be established as well as the medical proof of some psychiatric injury having been caused to the father thereby, it would be highly likely that the father may recover substantial compensation for the psychological effects of the incident on him as a secondary victim who would have shared close ties of love and affection with his son and who, with his own unaided senses, would have witnessed the particularly horrifying event as it must have been.

News in recent days is to the effect that Disney is now attempting to change the signs around the lagoons to warn of the likely presence of alligators. In light of the above, this is scarcely surprising and may serve as a subtle concession of liability.

Thing is, it comes almost a week too late for little Lane Graves.

192 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Tragedy in the Magic Kingdom”

1. Georgie Porgie Avatar

the incident that folk are harping on did not occur in the magic kingdom.there are 4 disney parks in addition to the hotels/resorts in a separate area

all of these features were built on what was swamp land

2. @ Donna
    Anyone who cannot see the obvious danger of alligators in an open body of water in Florida, or of snakes in any bushy area …would probably also see no obvious danger in trusting an Anglican Church, which was created expressly to enable Henry VIII to get some nooksey, ….with their everlasting salvation.

Bushie agrees that Disney should put up a sign in 100 languages warning of all possible dangers… (if only because AC and Alvin may visit)

What do you need for your church? a big sign saying –
    “This Church is not real, approach with caution”

…WAIT!!! …what ever happened to Zoe?

3. And what YOU need is a sign that says?

HAVE WHACKER. WILL WHACK. GOOD PLANTS AS WELL AS BAD. I’M JUST WHACKING!

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

GP..which makes it the alligators and snakes’ natural habitat, humans had no right being there….as usual they steal everything and expect to get away scot free.

5. Georgie Porgie Avatar

It seems you fellas have ran him away like you did to Dictionary

Truth be told, the man knows his Bible and divides it rightly. The man is a thoroughbred, and withstood the barbs of the BU heathen for several years. .

Better question is what ever happened to the post with the pedantic piffler seeking to honor a man that he never knew, and seeking to give a dissertation on diabetes. I HAVE NEVER SEEN SUCH A HILARIOUS THING ON BU.

A clear case of a dog among doctors. Literally! What a donkey.

6. A pity you do not know that the Anglican church was HIJACKED by Henry not set up by him. I already admitted the church is a shiite church at present. Just as Barbados is a shiite country in a shiite world. The schools are shiite schools, the hospital is a shiite hospital, the roads are shiite roads. (But you are still driving on them.) The reality is that this is what we have. Our task is to make it better. You can sit there looking up in the sky for Christ. But as far as this idiot knows HE told us to work until He comes. There were NO PERFECT CHURCHES in Paul’s time. There are none now. I have picked one and I am working for improvement. I don’t trust the Church for my salvation. I trusted Christ for that and have received.

YOU?

7. Donnameistress, dat is true. In the olden days de fellas wud say something like – have gun, will travel. Dis man, has whacker, will blog.

Of course the effing Disney was wrong. Of course it’s all about the almighty dollar. This is business not snakes and ladders or some other stupid game to make people feel good.

In de military they does have all the fancy discipline and ting but every time dey does have one of dem so called live practice exercises wid real bullets dey does have an expected percentage of casualties and even an expected little dead soldier or two.

When dat happen they does come and say all the sweet things and mek sure de man family (well nowadays dah cud be a woman like you too) well taken care of and all dat.

Disney does have real, real live operations daily and de alligators dem like bullets. Deadly as shiittee. Case closed.

Dis fellow Bushman h’andstand all dat but he got gun and he traveling…ratta-tat-tat.

8. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Well Well & Consequences June 20, 2016 at 9:07 AM #
    I can honestly say that I have never seen an alligator in any of the 4 disney parks or at the resorts.

As to whether humans should be there all I can say is that Americans do strange things.
    Many people die in just one county in Central FL daily (far less Miami-Dade area).

9. Well Well,

I guess in the beginning ALL of the earth was everybody’s habitat. We separated ourselves and have take too much, leaving little for the animals. We have to think about that as we go about our daily lives. But I used to visit circuses and zoos and watch horse racing before I began to think about it. Sometimes in this crazy world there is just TOO MUCH to think about.

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

GP…yeah..the murders and all sorts of bad things are way out of control in Florida, have you checked NY and Chicago recently mayhem and anarchy…it’s bad.

Donna…I used to take my last daughter to the Museum of Natural History on 81st St…..one time we were allowed to go in the no visitors section because of a program….it’s then I understood only too well the greed that lives in mankind’s very soul.

11. “โ€ฆWAIT!!! โ€ฆwhat ever happened to Zoe?”

Georgie Porgie June 20, 2016 at 9:16 AM #
    “It seems you fellas have ran him away like you did to Dictionary”

GP, not a chance, I’ll never run away from defending the TRUTH of God’s Word, NEVER!!!

I had a massive Heart attack on April 18th, full emergency drill at Accident & Emergency , thank God for the Doctors, nurses etc, at QEH, wonderful people!

12. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Serious study of Church History indicates that the Anglican church was just the a version of the RC organization devised to please Henry8th.
    What is clear is that there have been godly Anglicans throughout the years. I find it difficult to believe that the author of the lyrics of many Anglican hymns did not know or understand or believe the Scriptures.
    Two such hymns come immediately to mind.
    First there is Once, only once, and once for all, His precious blood he shed. There is no better paraphrase of the teaching of Hebrew 8-10.
    There is also O savior, precious savior, who yet unseen we love c.f p Peter 1:8. And we can go on.
    The British colonists took their church, cricket and their colleges with them wherever they went as elements of discipline. The influence of Bishops Parry and Coleridge on primary education can never be accurately estimated. To many Bajans this is where our knowledge of God began, via hymn singing and Bible reading. Unfortunately this influence seemed to have been lost after the dis-establishment of the Church in 1969. I certainly enjoyed and often reflect upon such indoctrination at Bay Primary and St Lawrence Boysโ€™ and BFS and HC; as well as at St Paulโ€™s, St Lawrence and Ch Ch Parish Ch.
    It is noteworthy that there are 7 times the verses on the doctrine of the second coming as there is to the first coming.
    Revelation 2:1-8 clearly teaches that the early church was excellent , especially the church a Ephesus. 1Thessalonians obviously presents a perfect church. It is called the MODEL CHURCH.
    Whereas one must not trust the Church for oneโ€™s salvation, one expects the church to diligently present the message of salvation as presented in the NT. The church is to continue in the apostleโ€™s doctrines, and prayers and in the breaking of bread as taught in Acts 2:42.
    Romans 9โ€13-15 informs us For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.
    14How then shall they call on him in whom they have not believed? and how shall they believe in him of whom they have not heard? and how shall they hear without a preacher?
    15And how shall they preach, except they be sent?

13. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Zoe
    I am glad to see you Sir.
    I am glad that our Lord and Savior preserved your life to continue your witness for Him.PTL!

14. Sorry to hear Zoe. Wish you a speedy recovery. Let us continue to interact with each other with kindness. It is a quality which defines civilized humans.

15. Simple Simon I totally agree with you. Disney made a bad risk management decision. A very costly one at that. It is a family friendly hotel on Disney’s property and owned by Disney. You think that with children running all around the property there would be signs about alligators, dangerous alligators not pets as some of the Disney managers described them to people who sighted them.

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2016/06/15/17/355076FE00000578-3642167-image-a-23_1466008351600.jpg

The setting was a serene beach with sand and gentle waves breaking. Lounge chairs were there for guest to relax. Many who have seen the no swimming signs would never think it was because of the alligators were in the lagoon. Many visitors from other states and countries are used to lakes like these where it is ok for their children to wade in, play at the water’s edge. That is not swimming. A “NO SWIMMING” sign does not say why nor does it explain the danger that lurks. Our beaches on the East coast there are NO SWIMMING signs which goes on to explain the strong currents that are dangerous. People who have bad dogs and don’t want people entering their yard put up signs “Beware of the dog”. You mean to tell me that a BIG Hotel that claims to be family friendly didn’t alert the paying guests of the dangers on the property?

Can you imagine the anguish the parents went through and are going through watching their child who was innocently playing at the water’s edge being dragged away by an alligator ???

Disney made a very costly decision not to post signs of the danger that lurked on the beach.

16. Good to hear that you are well Zoe.

However as both Donna and I.Brathwaite correctly blogged, Have whacker will whack
    …both good and bad weeds…..so expect no quarter from the bushman..
    de Whacker cares not if um good or bad.
    In any case, you now need to ease of the lotta stress of cussing Bushie…. ๐Ÿ™‚

The good weed will grow back – even stronger and greener
    …the shiite weeds will die off …or go away – like Peter Wickky.

You are right about the need to fight on ..despite the lotta shiite …even in church.(where there are also some good folks) However you are wrong about there being no perfect church. The one led by God’s holy spirit has always been there, and always been ‘good’…ever since the Boss bushman returned home and sent the comforter to lead that church….

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Bushman…are you now fully satisfied..lol

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Glad ya survived Zoe.

19. @ Zoe

Celebrations that you are yet with us Zoe and all praise to Him who granted you this reprieve.

“Back to the Fire” since you more than others, will well know that “tarry until i come” does not mean “chill out until the Rapture” but that we, be we armed with bush wacker, D9 Bulldozer or the Sword of the Word of the Most High, must fight on against the enemy whatever form or guise he comes in

20. Colonel Buggy Avatar

The tragedy in our once very own magic kingdom/

http://i.imgur.com/rsbhP04.jpg?1

21. Zoe Totally in agreement with all the get well wishes

22. @Bush Tea June 20, 2016 at 8:38 AM “an Anglican Church, which was created expressly to enable Henry VIII to get some nooksey.”

Henry VIII was getting plenty of nooksey. He just wanted LEGAL nooksey that’s all.

23. Maybe we “brass bowl” Bajans can teach the Disney hotshots something after all. Here is a sign which today’s Nation (page 13) says is erected at River Bay:

“DANGER (This word in bold red)

DO NOT SWIM HERE (these words are in red)

STRONG CURRENT (these words are in very bold black)

You could be swept away from shore and possible drown.”

In addition there is a no swimming picture.

You see we Bajans are not rarefied Disney executives.

We live in the real, real world.

We know that most people are as dumb as big rocks.

So we make sure to “read and spell” for them.

Most of us/most people unlike say, Dr. GP are NOT Barbados scholars, or any kind of scholar.

24. @Bush Tea June 19, 2016 at 6:02 PM “Do you have a sign warning of mosquitoes and dengue? Do you issue repellant? Do you brief visitors on how to identify Aedes aegypti?”

Believe it or not. I have screened all my windows and doors. Yes I issue repellent. I keep containers of mosquito repellent on every dressing table. I tell my guests to be aware of mosquitoes. I encourage them to cover-up, especially their legs since mosquitoes typically bit about 18 inches from the ground.

Maybe I am just too careful but i have never had dengue, chick-v nor zika and neither has any member of my household, or my house guests. Also I follow my old man’s example. Just as he did every Saturday morning I take a walk all around my yard looking for and picking up any debris that possibly may become a mosquito breeding site. I believe that the incidence of dengue, chick-v and zika can be significantly reduced. I believe that it is my civic and Christian duty to do my part. I have multiple siblings and none of them, nor my parents have had mosquito borne diseases either.

And no. It is not just good luck.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Zoe June 20, 2016 at 10:19 AM

Glad to hear you are still flying the flag of earthly existence.
    Despite being my intellectual nemesis you are still a well respected blogger that has brought heightened stimulation to the brain of the nanki chimp.

I am glad you did put your faith in science (modern medicine) and not entirely in Judeo-Christian superstitution of a largely bygone era.

Welcome Zoe, to the Age of Aquarius! The Pope is dying and his โ€˜fish mitreโ€™ needs to be replaced with the โ€œanti-Christโ€™ water-bearer symbol of fresh wisdom and modern science. LOL!!

Wishing you full recovery!

Yours truly in blogging.
    Miller the Nanki Chimp

26. @Zoe June 20, 2016 at 10:19 AM “I had a massive Heart attack on April 18th”

Dear Zoe: I am sorry to hear that you were sick. Glad to hear that you are getting better.

27. Best wishes, Zoe!

28. When human beings get involved NOTHING remains perfect. We have a habit of getting our wires crossed. Even those anointed of God got their wires crossed. Please, point me to that perfect church which has perfect doctrine and perfect adherence to doctrine and does EVERYTHING it is meant to do! If such a church exists I will be very angry that the Holy Spirit neglected to direct me to it.

29. Question from an idiot –

Suppose I am confined to bed at a nursing home for six months and come down with a mosquito borne disease like dengue fever. Suppose that nursing home was found to be breeding the disease carrying mosquito. Would I have a case against that nursing home?

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Donna June 21, 2016 at 9:03 AM

Both GP and Zoe know the path that leads to the Perfect Church built squarely on the foundation rock of Christian Fundamentalism.

31. Miller,

Not me and da Pele case, bosie! Zoe is recovering from a heart attack and shall be left alone. GP and I last spoke on matters of perfect peace. I will disagree with him again later, most likely but right now I am enjoying my reprieve. Besides, I think I stand a chance of being placed in the group with the Anglicans that know a little something about God. So lef’ me outta dat!

32. @David, et al BU bloggers, thanks for your sincere well wishes, much appreciated!

GP, I have some very exciting therapy that mainstream medicine and Cardiologist wilfully ignored over the last twenty years, that most certainly appears to be the natural remedy and cure for the build- up of Plaques in the arterial walls of the heart, thereby eliminating the need for Statin drugs, etc, the BIG Pharma money earners!

I’ll keep you posted on this protocol as I use it, with its benefits to my Heart condition!

33. It’s good to see that Zoe has finally appeared to come in from the cold.

And while the protocols cited are known to have highly effective results, in many double-blind, peer reviewed, longitudinal studies, you will be subject to the return of the condition/s mentioned if you continue with a non-vegan diet.

More fundamentally, your belief systems, and you know well what we mean, are the main and underlying cause of all diseases. Period!

Can we now expect a revolution in your thinking? You may want to address dogmas which promote a Dominionist worldview. LOL

34. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Zoe June 21, 2016 at 9:53 AM #
    One of the major problems with the statins in their attempt to block the de novo in vitro synthesis of cholesterol is the tendency to forget all the good and important products made from cholesterol, especially Co enzyme Q

35. @ Donna
    Please, point me to that perfect church…
    You really are not a bad person, so Bushie will respond seriously.

Your understanding of the term ‘perfect’ is fundamentally flawed. You may have fallen for the commonly accepted albino-centric definition, (best illustrated in their fairy tales) of ‘perfect’ being associated with ‘living happily ever afterwards’ …or some such stupid shiite.

Perfect means simply ‘FIT FOR PURPOSE’.

A perfect church therefore is one that fits exactly and consistently into the fundamental REASON for which a church was created. It has nothing to do with being happy, right, godly, or any such subjective quality.
    The Church was created to be the bride of a boss bushman, to conceive and raise his children to adulthood, and for them to grow and qualify to become like him.
    The ‘perfect’ church is the one that has always done that.

Here is a hint…. It is only possible to conceive and raise ‘his’ children if that bride has been impregnated with his DNA (spirit)…. and his children are easy to spot by their fruit… and by the fact that they exude that unique spirit. (LOL …and that their father has a habit of spoiling them sometimes …and giving them a good cut-ass at other times…)

‘Perfect’ is an interesting term.
    When God created the world, he declared it to be ‘Perfect’. ….with all its diseases, pain, sorrows, strife and sorrows. …WHY?
    It was (is) a cauldron designed for the production of diamonds… and was (and continues to be) absolutely ‘fit for purpose’ even as we blog.

36. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re When God created the world, he declared it to be โ€˜Perfectโ€™. โ€ฆ.with all its diseases, pain, sorrows, strife and sorrows.

not true! NONE OF THESE ARE MENTIONED IN GENESIS 1 AND 2
    THESE ALL OCCURRED ONLY AFTER THE FOLLY OF THE FALL IN CHAPTER 3

37. @ Bushie

We like the way you have used elements of TQM to justify another ‘philosophy’.

38. Thanks Pacha
    TQM, another philosophy that reaches into the spiritual realm. … like co-operatives.

Thank you too.
    Where does it mention in Geneses 1 and 2, that matter consisted of atomic material comprised of neutrons, protons and electrons? …or was this only so after the fall too?
    Does the concept of entropy fall within the scope of your medical ambit? or does Bushie need to explain to you the concept of zero entropy at time =0?

When you buy a new car it typically has no rust. However you will find that even the little mock engineers who design cars do so with the expectation and anticipation of rust being part of the equation.

What then would you expect of the Big Boss Engineers who created entropy itself…?

39. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BT
    Where does it mention in Geneses 1 and 2, that matter consisted of atomic material comprised of neutrons, protons and electrons?

WHAT DO YOU THINK OF HEBREWS11:3?
    Through faith we understand that the worlds were framed by the word of God, so that things which are seen were not made of things which do appear.

AND ROMANS 1:20 For the invisible things of him from the creation of the world are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even his eternal power and Godhead;

IT DOES NOT SAY IT EXPRESSLY BUT IT IS IMPLIED

ALSO 2 PETER 3:10 SPEAKS OF UNTYING OF BONDS IN THE GREEK in the phrase “the elements shall melt with fervent heat,”

But the day of the Lord will come as a thief in the night; in the which the heavens shall pass away with a great noise, and the elements shall melt with fervent heat, the earth also and the works that are therein shall be burned up.

40. Gents, and Ladies

This tangent is going to be very interesting and extremely exhaustive.

I myself would wish to give my two cents to finite conceptualization and “perfect” man’s incurring disease and would join the Bush Man regarding our “continuum” encompassing that eventuality, yet not detracting from the Construct of the Causeless Cause.

Me fears, because of what such will involve, that it will, it has to hijack this blog.

We are in Page 2 of what is our eclectic interpretation of tragedy to our defenceless youth, and though the topic extends to Lane’s and Isiah’s, it is Shamar’s and Jahan’s and Abijah’s whom our activist souls and various? GOD inspired tongues can do more service to.

This is a topic that is weighty and deserves its own segment and I believe that we can beg the Honourable Blogmaster for such.

And leave this for the eyes of lookers on who want us to do justice to our own fallen tragedies.

While being ardent to our respective deities, we may ourselves become the very tool that dispels the attention needed by others per this matter of tragedies in the Kingdom of BIM

There are some who are not as erudite or schooled in the nuances of law who have and will come here to see what is their civil resort.

I beg us to let this substantive topic “breathe” and flourish for the memory of these fallen spirits and do not let our vigour for a tangent, however worthy, kill the flame.

41. To Be Prolix.

Ask the Blogmaster to give us a blog regarding this subject that going bring the big guns out but left the magic Kingdom to do it ting

42. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BT
    Collossians 1:17 is another interesting verse on this topic OF CHEMICAL BONDING
    And he is before all things, and by him all things consist.
    consist is better translated HELD TOGETHER

i FOUND A WHILE AGO THAT THERE MANY MANY VERSES THAT SPEAK OF THE CREATION BESIDES GENESIS 1 AND 2 BUT I HAVE BEEN TOO LAZY TO COLATE THEM

43. I am more aware than you think of the definition of “perfect” of which you speak. But I am still waiting for the address of that perfect church by your own definition. Got my pen and paper ready. Anyway I’m going to leave the BIG BRAINED superior men to debate the heavy stuff seeing as how I’m only Simple Simone. LOL. LOL. LOL.

So, zero entropy at time = 0. You want to burst my little woman’s brain? LOVL. (That’s laugh out VERY loud.)

GP, Bushie is trying to tell you that “whether or not it is clear to you, no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should.” .

44. Georgie Porgie Avatar

the church at Ephesus as described in Revelation 2 was commended because .
    They wereย a DILIGENT church.
    They wereย a DETERMINED church.
    They wereย a DISCIPLINED church
    They wereย a DISCERNING church.
    They wereย a DYNAMIC church.

45. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BT
    HERE ARE A FEW PAGES FROM MY D MIN THESIS ON GENESIS ON THE CREATION ISSUES
    . It is however noteworthy, as pointed out above that the discoveries of man, has contributed immensely to an understanding of the fact of creation at the sub-molecular level. For example, Hebrews 11:3 after stating that we understand by faith that the worlds came into being simply by the word of God, asserts plainly and simply that โ€œthings which are seen [visible things] were [are] not made of things which do appear [or that can be readily seen].โ€ This is common knowledge that has been explained by scientists in the last century by kinetic theory and the various discoveries of the components of the structure of the atom. We can therefore scientifically prove that this verse is absolutely true. The created things that we can see are all composed of constituents that we cannot see-things that do not exist. The tangible things on terra firma and beyond are created out of nothing-ex nihilo- exactly as the Bible states in Genesis 1:1, 21, and 27, where we have described respectively, the creation of something from nothing, the creation of life, and the creation of human life. This verse corroborates Genesis 1:1 in teaching that the creation was made out of nothing. Hebrews 11:3 thus gives us both a macroscopic and a sub microscopic view of creation. This is now common knowledge in the scientific world, and information that is easy to understand, even by High School kids.

Romans 1:20 is another potent pill against the poison of the devilโ€™s evolutionary teachers. It is a corroboration of Hebrews 11:3. Whereas Hebrews 11:3 teaches that the things that we can see are made from things that we cannot see, Romans 1:20 teaches that the invisible things or the sub-microscopic things of the creation that we can not see are clearly manifested by the macroscopic things that we can see. Furthermore, Paul asserts that this is an indication of the power of God. Paul is saying that it takes great power to enable the submicroscopic invisible components of the things that God has created to become condensed into macroscopic things that we can see, feel, taste etc. Scientists know that great power or kinetic energy is involved, because when chemicals react they commonly give of energy in the form of heat. Honest scientists know that this verse is true. We donโ€™t need faith to believe these two Scripture verses. The truth of these verses can be reproduced in laboratories any and every day. God has revealed theses truths to us in the last 70 years or so. The scientific scriptures are all now established facts. This certainly facilitates our accepting by faith the rest of Scriptures. If we can see the truths in these Scriptures, then what is so hard to believe about the rest of the Bible? A God that can condense the invisible into the visible as we understand it according to kinetic theory, and relevant aspects of Physical Chemistry, can in my view, easily perform with the order, power, progress and perfection as described in Genesis 1-2. Once one grasps the deep truths of Hebrews 11:3 and Romans 1:20, Genesis 1:1 is obviously fact!

The divine revelation begins to unfold with the amazing power, order, and organization of God in Genesis 1-2, through His Word. In alluding to this, the Psalmist said that God โ€œSpoke and it was doneโ€ (Psalm 33:9). Godโ€™s fantastic foresight in providing a habitat for man with whom he sought to fellowship is seen in the fact that light (1:3), and water (1:7) necessary for photosynthesis were provided before plant life was created (1:11). We know that light is necessary for the maintenance of life, and that no life is possible in darkness. Clearly God knew this, because at the beginning of time, He created light first, so that earth could be a fit place for habitation. It is noteworthy that when the Psalmist in Psalm 148 calls on creation to praise the creator God, he corroborates the Genesis account by stating that the waters that are above the heavens will be there for ever and ever in response to Godโ€™s unalterable decree.

Next we must note that plant life, the basis of the food chain for all life, whether aquatic, arboreal or terrestrial was provided before these animals and man came on the scene (1:12). This was because God knew that initially that man would be vegetarian in his diet. Even today most animals are herbivores, and all carnivores consume herbivorous animals. The primary point and promise is that God at creation, made provision for all living creatures. God would later summarize His order and foresight of the food chain in 1 Peter 1:24 by the simple phrase โ€œall flesh is as grass.โ€ This concept takes at least a chapter in standard Biology texts to explain. It is to be noted that though both the flora and fauna can reproduce and crossbreed and develop new species that this is severely limited. The phrase โ€œafter his kindโ€ has imposed limitations to any mutations that God has allowed within certain bounds. All honest Biologists know from careful observation and genetic experiments that this is fact, and that such observations alone should cause all men everywhere to accept the Genesis record of creation.

46. And where is the local branch?

47. Looka how wunna rass clats come and hijack the man’s blog with wunna shite talk. Ef wunna want to talk religion and the Bible go to effing Church or pon another religious site.

Too much effing Bible lies bout here.

48. Georgie Porgie Avatar

dONNA
    THERE ARE LOCAL CHURCHES THAT FOLLOW THE EPHESUS MODEL ALL OVER THE WORLD
    THERE ARE CHURCHES LIKE THIS IN BARBADOS

49. islandgal,

The blog was already exhausted. I asked a pertinent question and NOBODY responded. It always amazes me that some of you atheists seem to think you can disprove the existence of God. I know I can’t prove it so I leave you alone. I do not ridicule you. My best friend of forty years is among you. We agree to disagree.

Have a good day!

G.P,

The address?