Submitted by Neil Watchman
Stephen Broome, Chairman of BCC

BCC staff members are still in the dark as to why after three top posts Principal: Deputy Principal and Registrar, were advertised in November 2015, no one has been appointed to any of these posts. Of course, only in two of these appointments does anyone seriously expect any surprises. The Board wasted no time in giving Mr. Roger Worrell, a well known DLP supporter, an acting appointment to the post of Registrar. Anyone who knows Barbados well would understand what will happen next.

With regard to the post of Deputy Principal it is anybody’s guess. Someone once commented that the BCC has never had any Deputy Principal worth shouting about. The current acting incumbent is Head of Computer Studies, a department which he has managed to run into the ground so that far from being a Division with excess applications it is now under-patronized and private sector companies that once snapped up graduates of this department now speak disparagingly of it.

In stark contrast, staff of the UWI Open Campus have been enlightened since 2015 because they have received a letter explaining that the Board of the BCC has requested that Dr. Ian Austin be released on secondment to assume the post of principal of the Barbados Community College. I wish to query the wisdom of this move by the Board.

My beef with the appointment of Dr. Austin is not personal; it is principled. How so? Anybody who has seriously studied the fiasco that was UCB (of which the BCC was an integral part) knows that it was betrayed by double-crossing sycophants like Bobby Morris – excuse me! – His Excellency Robert Morris, a cast of UWI hypocrites – yes UWI – who sat on the various committees and one Patrick Rowe (former head of the UCB project office) who, if the Anansi stories are have any moral at all, would be better off cloning himself so that he could hopefully finish anything that he is put in charge of or initiates. Careful analysis will show that once the UCB project was sabotaged, the UWI, always behind the BCC with regard to the development of curriculum, seized the initiative and ran with it like Usain Bolt.

Dr. Austin is head of the Open Campus which competes directly with the BCC. It is no secret to those who are in the know that the OC tried to duplicate many of the programmes run by the BCC. Of course they failed miserably at first but thanks to shrewd marketing viz. advertising, they have convinced many that they are doing well.

One could understand if Dr. Austin had had good reason to leave the OC for example, because of a falling out with the UWI hierarchy or some similar reason. The letter, however, states that he is to be hired on a secondment basis; in simple terms this means that at the end of whatever period he will be returning to the OC. What he will do with the intimate knowledge of BCC gained during his secondment there can be guessed by anyone with a morsel of common sense, except maybe, the BCC Board- which effectively is Mr. Reginald Broome, head of Systems Caribbean.

Are we being unfair to Mr. Broome! Absolutely not. How do you: (a) cause the Fine Arts department in an institution like the BCC to lose a cool 1/4 million dollars in overseas grant financing (2) bungle the firing of the last incompetent principal (3) preside over the Nigerian students fiasco and now (4) hire your competitor on terms that appear inimical to your interest and still qualify as having common sense? My Sweet Lord!

But can we really blame Mr. Broome? Not really. Blame must rest fairly and squarely on the shoulders of the Minister of Education, Ronald Jones and by extension, Mr. Freundel Stuart who does not have the guts to move the demon-chasing, shallow-minded, half-literate alleged transvestite that inhabits the post of Minister of Education and who has allowed the BCC to be run into the ground. What Mr. Jones needs is for the ghost of Errol Barrow to haunt him every night all the way to Garrison Savannah where he may find some reprieve in the company of people like Muscle Cat! Mr. Freundel Stuart, on the other hand, has gotten more than he ever expected and is not prepared to jeopardize it! But I digress.

If Dr. Austin does take up the position at BCC I can only wish him well. He is going to need it with the likes of Mr. Broome who needs to spend some quality time on the couch of one of our best shrinks with the aim of ridding himself of the control issues which he has. And what about resources? Unless the Board has been holding out on the BCC staff, or worst still, “redirecting funds” due to the institution, then Dr. Austin will have a real challenge instituting systemic quality in the institution. (Frankly, I would wager on “redirecting funds” because this would easily explain why the BCC has gotten a campus wi-fi but other infrastructure such as toilets, windows, doors, air-conditioning and simple electrical sockets remain untouched).

Of course, my analysis could be all wrong and it may be that Dr. Austin will not return to the OC. In that case, more power to BCC!

21 responses to “BCC Staff “in the Dark””

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Ronald “crack heads and shoot some people” Jones……AGAIN????

2. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

The DLP has failed this country miserably!

3. I really doan noh wuh fuh seh bout dis. I read um two and a half times and de onliest ting dat jump out at me is Jones dis and Jones dat. Nutton but reconditioned stale news.

I mean if UWI saw a need for an open campus, all BCC gine do is boast bout how many students dem duz got tuh turn back every year and complain that UWI teefing dem ideas? Wuh effing wunna en nusing dum and nuhbody down dey like duh en got nuh vision, wuh yuh expect? Open an open campus too, or UWI owns de patent on dat? Wunna doan like money?

Well the MOF abhors a vacuum. Shape up or ship out.

4. Violet C Beckles Avatar

Crooks Liars and scumbags is not limited to the DBLP government , they reach in every part where money and mind control can be seen .

If you have an Idea , 1 write it down, 2 date, time with picture and or drawn by hand,3have it witness or with JP, 4 Mail to self , on self addressed to self,5 Never open it . 6 If some one using your idea , give them Notice to stop.7 if they do not or dont want to pay for your idea, 8, file suit in a court copyright against the person or the company,9 when you get to court give the judge the mail you mailed to yourself at step 1,2,3,4 and 5. COMMON LAW COPY RIGHT,

5. This submission was all over the place. Just a rant and rave. So what if BCC & OC are competing for students. You going to attack BIMAP or those many smaller business schools as well? And who is it this author referring to as a transvestite, tsk tsk. No decency at all. I hope the ‘transvestite’ sues under the Computer Misuse Act!

6. @Neil Watchman “My beef with the appointment of Dr. Austin is not personal; it is principled. ”

Dear Neil Watchman: Your above sentence may well be true.

But it is clear from the below sentence that you hate the person so descried.

@Neil Watchman “the demon-chasing, shallow-minded, half-literate alleged transvestite”

On this blog I am called Simple Simon because I ask simple questions.

My simple question today is: “Is Neil Watchman a BLP yardie?”

7. Also nationally, regionally and internationally it is not unknown for academic institutions to engage in a little “sheep stealing” And I don’t mean sheep stealing in a pejorative way. If a position cannot be filled internally then academic institutions hire from another academic institution. Because after all if academic institutions don’t hire from other academic institutions then whom are they expected to hire?

Me? A Simple Simon?

Dr GP a well remunerated American physician/teacher?

Bush Tea the mega rich businessman?

Zoe the preacher?

Islandgal the happy gardener?

8. @Simple Simon
    You called yourself that because you were being very honest…There are some of us who really don’t care a rat’s claw about politics: Bs, Ds or R’s. I really wish you were one of them!

9. RE Dr GP a well remunerated American physician/teacher?
    ACTUALLY GP HAS BECOME A NOBODY!
    I JUST WAITING PATIENTLY FOR THE RAPTURE.

10. Why do we allow people to occupy positions for so long? Give others a chance. How
    One has this Broomes person been chairman of BCC?

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

David….if you have not yet gotten a copy of Philip V. Nicholls’ book, do so. Not only should every household in Barbados and across the Caribbean have a copy, but it should be required and mandatory reading at 5th and 6th form levels in all schools, community colleges and universities.

Amused…..shame on you for trying to make the same mistake Nicholls did…….covering up wrong doing despite seeing the penalty to be paid approaching.

Moneybrain……I know you agree.

12. @David February 12, 2016 at 7:09 PM “How long] has this Broomes person been chairman of BCC?”

About as long as you have been master of this blog.

13. It’s time I throw my hat into the ring of Barbados’s dysfunctional educational system..! After 30 years of service to education in inner city London, I retired at the ripe old age of 56 with all the benefits a trimmings… …Vice Principal at the biggest Academies in London..! My wife and I have now made our home in Barbados for the last 2 years..!
    I’m now a little bored and in need of something to do… I’m currently in London contemplating a stint (of which I’ve been head-hunted) at an International School in Abuja, Nigeria as the principal..! Do I really want to go to Nigeria (into the unknown) at my age, even though the adrenaline rush one gets from turning a good school into an outstanding one is evident in me… …the answer is no!
    So, Barbados, come get me… …although I won’t be holding my breath. I’m still waiting for an appointment I made with the Minister of Education over a year ago! In reality, what chance do I really have among my own people, I’m called a foreigner..!
    Someone out there may have the bollocks to at least chat to me… …let have your contact!

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

David is right…too many old men are allowed to hold on to position until just before they die, giving them an opportunity to display their mean spirited know it all, archaic styles that they steadfastly resisting changing.

None of them should hold any position for more than 5 years…..move forward or step aside and give more forward thinking, creative and progressive males and females an opportunity to bring positive energy to these positions…no one needs dying and dead ideas.

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/YimAK

Oh well, Scalia dropped dead.

16. A related mater, former principal of BCC Norma Holder died this morning it has been reported.

17. The problems at BCC are so deep rooted that they will get worst. Yes i am glad to see that people have noticed that Roger Worrell was given the acting Registrar post because he is a DLP supporter. Only in Barbados do people do unethical things and keep jobs. From all accounts Natalie Walthrust is still ‘teaching’ (gasp) political science. Imagine that a raving madwoman is unleashed on a bunch of working class children who subject themselves to bullying tactics because they know no better.

18. Shaft February 12, 2016 at 11:53 PM #
    TRUST ME SIR………..GO TO NIGERIA AND EARN AND GET THE RESPECT THAT YOU DESERVE FOR YOUR EXPERIENCE AND EXPERTISE

AT HOME YOU WILL ALWAYS BE SEEN AS A THREAT

19. I hope the goings on at BCC is not the reason Norma Holder died.

20. Cuh dear David. The lady was 79. At 79 any number can play. Justice Scalia was 79 too and a bigable U.S. Supreme Court Justice. But not wealth nor power, nor great intelligence can get most of us much past that three score and ten barrier.

Condolences to her family. May Mrs. Holder rest in peace.

21. @David
    I am told she expressed a high level of consternation at the depth to which the last principal, Gladstone Best, had taken BCC. For those who missed it, last year he simply vacated the post because the Board put the squeeze on him. It appears he left nothing he could claim he initiated for the 11 odd years in office. What a waste!