Submitted by Charles Knighton

GhandiHaving recently returned to Barbados, I am unaware if the recent passing of Oliver Sacks occasioned any comment in the local press. Dr. Sacks was a writer of remarkable skill, able to deftly explain the profound […]

with easily understood prose.

Those unfamiliar with his work should […]take the opportunity provided by internet connectivity to peruse his essays, particularly his last essay contemplating his impending death.

There is no shortage of advice on how to live, but precious little on how to die. It should be a topic of universal concern, but is scrupulously avoided, so fearful are we of our mortality; even the dying rarely address death directly. So it was with great admiration that I read Dr. Sacks’ essay several months ago after being diagnosed with metastatic cancer. With the attention to detail, insight and childlike wonder that marked all of his writing, Sacks confessed his sadness at leaving the party, but noted that ” my predominant feeling is one of gratitude.”

His had been a rich, deeply considered life. “Above all,” he wrote in a beautiful coda, ” I have been a sentient being, a thinking animal, on this beautiful planet, and that in itself has been an enormous privilege and adventure.”

I have lived long enough now to have seen a fair number of people face their deaths. There are many ways to go: with rage that this could happen to me; in silent terror and pain, clinging to life through punishing medical treatments; and with a sad but accepting equanimity. Those who enjoy life most, strangely enough, seem to let go of it with the most grace.

People like Sacks seem to intuitively understand all along that we are visitors here, passing through a great mystery. Every moment of life, including the final ones, is a gift—a chance to appreciate, grow, connect and give back. When my time comes, I fervently hope I can exit with a semblance of Sacks’ dignity and peace, and if I may be so presumptuous, I wish the same for you.

71 responses to “How to Die”

1. Some people do know how they are going to make their final exit; The Supreme Court of Canada has struck down the ban on “doctor assisted suicide” which means that terminally ill persons can, at a time of their choosing and with the help of a physician proceed to the great beyond. The Judges ruled that competent adults should be able to consent to their deaths but has suspended the ruling for 12 months to allow various provinces and other regulatory bodies to draft rules and regulations covering this action.

Some people also have living wills which provide instructions to their next of kin on how to proceed if they become incapacitated or are unable to communicate due to terminal illness ( a kind of do not resuscitate manifesto) as it were. In Europe, Belgium also allows physician assisted suicide so patients can “die with dignity”, some US States have also adopted similar laws.

Notwithstanding Dr. Kevorkian who was very vocal in his support for physician assisted death (he went to prison for helping a patient) some doctors do provide medication to help ease the transition from this world to the next.

Death and taxes, we may avoid one but not the other.

2. Ha peace and dignity? for most of us shmucks it will be the agonal, the more painful the better if we want to get to heaven. Curled up in a fetal position little more than shadow of what we once were, blessed many times with mental defect so we cannot understand what we have become. Sadly peace and dignity will escape most of us until we can die on our own terms

3. Sergeant

There is no need to fear Death brother because Death is a beautiful experience when one is in Christ. The only thing those in Christ fear most is the suffering associated with Death but not Death in of itself.

Several years ago God gave me glimpse of the Celestial-Sphere and it is way a phenomenal experienced.

Sitting in my car one morning at work, I had one of the rare experiences of my entire life, an experienced which I have accounted with several members of the body of Christ who have had the some experienced.

While in my car my sense of gravity was no more and my consciousness was at one with universe, then I look from the Celestial-Sphere and saw no evidence of the Terrestrial-Sphere, but my consciousness awareness was present.

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

…it seems to me most strange seeing that death a necessary end will come when it will come…

We who have lived long lives with kind experiences MAY be blessed with the good fortune to philosophize noble endings, in spite of cancers vile and unforgivingly painful, regardless of the painkillers…

I say noble because this morning a few of us will not exit this sphere naturally or as the writer spoke of metastatic cancer but blown to smithereens by munitions from a country we might never have seen in even a book, unexploded ordinance and mines left scattered across fields now covered by flowers

The rumor is that they have found Mrs Smiths’ murderer so her departure and that of Gillian might not necessarily cause their relatives to wax an wane philosophical about the nobility of this thing we each have a date with.

“Am I my brother’s keeper? And the answer comes back, as long as men sell guns and drugs and pollution and famine (in a world where there is so much waste) yes, while there is an understanding of the nobility of death which will come, there must be an even greater nobility with each of our intertwined lives…

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

You got it Piece……men, with their lordgod mentalities tend to gleefully visit death on each other, all for financial gain to sell their weapons of destruction, while they sit home in their armchairs directing wars.

Anything else, I believe the human race can handle with a certain amount of grace.

6. maybe it is time for death the reality show…. when the reaper comes a knocking….. move over kardashians …..the freak show they have running will pale in comparison to each week someone deciding how they can exit this world with peace and dignity ….and do it. It has to be a real end of life …not something like at AC’ wedding somebody saying ..I do… end of life. But someone honestly wanting to go in there own manner and the studio pays for it . Sound far fetched? no one would watch a stupid show like that Let me remind you of honey boo boo

7. @ Lawson
    Skippa, if you want to make a point, then you need to come with realistic analogies….

The ONLY shiite worse than death …would be the act of marrying AC….
    Why do you think she man scratch off to Arizona….?

…because it is better to live in a desert (worse than death itself) than in a house with A C***.
    LOL ha ha ha

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lawson…good to see you are still quite adept at adding a certain twist to human interest discussions…lol

9. Death! What does this word really mean?

What amuses me, is that almost all ‘death’ notices, read, ‘…entered into rest peacefully…’

If that person, died IN* Christ Jesus, then, and only then, could they truly ENTER INTO REST peacefully!

10. Death
    – a decided fact
    – a defeated foe
    – a delightful farewell

11. Food for thought!Oh death where is thy sting Oh grave where is thy victory

12. Those whose being is not connected to the space in which they exist will never embrace death. It will always be a morbid business.

13. Death

– a delightful farewell for the believer

2 corinthians 5

For we know that if our earthly house of this tabernacle were dissolved, we have a building of God, an house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens.
    2 For in this we groan, earnestly desiring to be clothed upon with our house which is from heaven:

4 For we that are in this tabernacle do groan, being burdened: not for that we would be unclothed, but clothed upon, that mortality might be swallowed up of life.

6 Therefore we are always confident, knowing that, whilst we are at home in the body, we are absent from the Lord:

we will substitute an earthly temporary tabernacle for a permanent heavenly body

Philippians 3:20-21
    For our conversation is in heaven; from whence also we look for the Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ:
    21 Who shall change our vile body, that it may be fashioned like unto his glorious body, according to the working whereby he is able even to subdue all things unto himself.

we will be delivered from our vile body–or the body of our humiliation

i john 3:2
    Beloved, NOW are we the sons of God, and it doth not yet appear what we shall be: but we know that, when he shall appear, we shall be like him; for we shall see him as he is.

Philippians1:21
    For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.

23 For I am in a strait betwixt two, having a desire to depart, and to be with Christ; which is far better:

Psalm 23:4
    Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

14. there is nothing to embrace about death no matter how spiritual or religious an individual Even Jesus in his last moments on earth and as death drew nigh cried out to God for leniency a plea for mercy as he prayed in the garden of Gethsemane,
    The truth being that NO one has died and return with profound proof of “a new or better life
    Today there are bodies lying in mortuaries who had donated their bodies to research in the event that science discover the genetic mechanism that can make life exist after death
    The cryonics institute is well known and established for promoting the possibility of life after death through science
    Until such an concurrence becomes a reality mankind would have to go through the inevitable looking forward to a world where no one has been able to conquer
    A world of death beyond the great beyond of nothingness

15. There is an anti-religious fanaticism which is almost as dangerous as religious-fanaticism.

We can all agree on the fact that man cannot through empirical evidence or learned experience prove that there is life after death, neither can he through scientific inquiry give an accurate account of the Origin or the End of the world.

Human inquiry provoked by doubt, does not precluded the creation of an altar to the unknown God because as has been shown above, there are certain unanswered questions regarding our human existence, which overpasses the limits of the human mind and or human intelligence.

16. AC

If you doubt the existence of God this you ought to understand, as I have understood sometime ago: man is no longer to look for order directly from God; God no longer talks to man by a single voice, but by all voices of the universe, and it is in this midst of the great concert of nature that man must seize and distinguish the Veritable-Word.

17. dompey

Human inquiry provoked by doubt, does not precluded the creation of an altar to the unknown God because as has been shown above, there are certain unanswered questions regarding our human existence, which overpasses the limits of the human mind and or human intelligence.
    ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
    what are you saying here dompey .that because one questions one then is subjective to a different reasoning and not allowed to form a conclusion form a conclusion
    And even so if our minds are limited to all understanding that does not mean we should accept others point of view as gospel.
    Btw where did i ever say i did or did not believe in a God, Yes i have question mans ideas and teachings about God but that does not necessarily exempt my belief in God
    i believe in the power of critical thinking
    that which exposes the minds to see beyond that which is in clear view,

18. LOL…
    This is one downside of BU….
    When serious deep topics are raised …and AC and Dompey are left to mangle them with extended rolls of shiite talk and refined idiocy…

Anyway…
    The REAL issue is not ‘How to die’ …It is ‘HOW TO LIVE’
    …cause we are all essentially ‘dead’ …in the real scheme of things.

Shiite man… think of it…
    We are tenuous, fleeting, fragile beings…. existing on a big rock, that is precariously balanced in multiple complex ways… and is travelling at 1000 mph through space …along with countless millions of other precariously balanced rocks….
    We are bounded by gravity, by the need for oxygen, for water, sunlight and food….the lack of any of which will result in our expiration…

As John Maynard Keynes said, “in the long run, we are all dead”
    …..so dying and death is our natural state.

“LIVING”, on the other hand, is the REAL challenge.
    Living is about taking this fleeting opportunity of consciousness we have… to, ‘in the short run’ actually ACCESS REAL life…. not some tenuous state of mortality.

For those who are unable to see beyond the temporary ‘short term’, death (the end of term) must be pure hell. ….but for those who have made the ‘life-connection’, “death” is as described by GP @ 5.00 p.m.

19. Let us hope that the copycat jurists of Barbados do not adopt the emerging European – Canadian consensus on euthanasia. Anyone who is familiar with the scandalous treatment of mental patients in the Caribbean must have some inkling of the horrifying atrocities that lie ahead if medical professionals are green lighted to kill “consenting” adults.

20. I saw the other day a staggering statistic, 25% of women are on mental defect medications that means 75% are running around undiagnosed so I can see your concern, we cant just go around believing some women when they say they want to die because on occasion women have been known to changed their minds. So here is what I propose if a woman wants to die she must have a note from a male doctor a priest and a bartender who all swear they believe she must and should be euthanized as they have no interest in sleeping with her. On the other hand on the rare occasion she is of sound mind with a painful and degenerative disease and wants to exit this life before she loses her faculties and dignity why should she not be allowed to. The problem is at that tipping point of wanting to go they cant because archaic laws and religion stop the doctors from helping them. Go Canada

21. 1 John 5: 11-13: ” And this is the record, that God hath given to us ETERNAL LIFE, and this LIFE is in His Son. He that hath the Son, hath LIFE; and he that hath NOT the Son of God hath NOT life. These things have I written unto you that believe on the Name of the Son of God; that ye may KNOW that ye HAVE eternal life, and that ye may believe on the Name of the Son of God.” Emphasis added.

22. it is vitally important to understand the meaning of the words, ‘Death’ and ‘Life; in the New Testament.

The root meanings for the words ‘death’ and ‘life’ ( Death, Gk. Thanatos, in its verb form ‘apothnesko’, and ‘life’ Zoe or its verb form Zac) are respectively ‘separation or to separate’, from communion or fellowship.

The Word of God, the Scriptures describe TWO types of death, physical and spiritual, the former being the separation of the BODY from the SOUL, and the latter being the separation of the SOUL from God as a result of SIN.

Also, TWO kinds of LIFE are spoken of in the NT: physical life ( bios), which is union or communion of body and soul; and spiritual life ( Zoe) which is communion or fellowship of the soul with God.

23. It is also important to understand the distinction between the Gift of Eternal Life, and the Gift of Immortality!

in 2 Timothy 1:10, The Apostle Paul writes that God’s eternal purpose ” Is now made manifest by the appearing of our Savior Jesus Christ, who hath abolished DEATH, and hath brought LIFE and IMMORTALITY to light through the Gospel.”

The Gift of Life has been bestowed upon the believer at the MOMENT of spiritual regeneration by FAITH in Jesus Christ ( 1 John 5: 11,12): However, IMMORTALITY is a future Gift, to be bestowed upon the believer’s BODY at the Second Advent of our Lord, or as Paul expressed it. “This corruptible must put on incorruption ( aphtharsian), And this MORTAL must put on IMMORTALITY, ( athanasian).

24. Jesus’ ATONING Death, was to pay the PRICE to Redeem us FROM the ultimate SEPARATION from God in Death.

As alluded to earlier, the meaning of DEATH ( Gk. Thanatos, is separation FROM or to separate), which IS* conscious TORMENT and MISERY; that is what Death, is from the Greek word, ‘thanatos’ which means, separation FROM, or to separate; it does NOT mean cessation of consciousness, soul sleep, or annihilation.

Therefore, at physical DEATH, the BODY of man IS* separated FROM his Soul/Spirit; and the LOST soul IS* separated FROM God, in Hell. The Saved, Redeemed Soul, is separated from his body, and is* PRESENT with the Lord in Heaven, awaiting the day of Resurrection, to be reunited with is new Glorified Body.

This is what the Word of God, the Scriptures proclaim and teach!

25. Amm i believe the article draws on the Fact that death is not a stranger to life.Death is instransigent
    The Bible clearly states man has am appointment with death beggining at conception.

26. Dompey October 25, 2015 at 7:05 PM #

“There is an anti-religious fanaticism which is almost as dangerous as religious-fanaticism.”

“We can all agree on the fact that man cannot through empirical evidence or learned experience prove that there is life after death, neither can he through scientific inquiry give an accurate account of the Origin or the End of the world.”

Dompey, In recent decades, many from ALL walks of life, Saved and unsaved, including children, have had REAL out-of-body, physical death experiences; BUT, very much ALIVE spiritually. they spirit/soul was very much CONSCIOUS, in both Heaven and Hell.

A number of these testimonies have been carefully documented, and ALL of them had the same striking similarities, be it in Heaven or Hell; and its torments, anguish and misery, as already described in His Word, the Bible. Heaven, it is way beyond what can be imagined, as these people sought to explain what they saw, felt and experienced.

They were then put BACK into their physical bodies, and told to go and speak what God allowed them to see and experience in both Hell and Heaven!

27. ZOE SHUT TO EFFF UP!

28. The word ‘destruction’ as used in the Bible for those lost souls, does NOT mean cessation of consciousness, or annihilation, as the JW’s and SDA erroneously teach.

Destruction means, ruination and DESTRUCTION of FUNCTIONALITY; as man in Hell, or the ultimate Lake of Fire, the second DEATH, is NO LONGER functional for the purpose he was created for; to obey, worship, and have communion and fellowship with his Creator, never to DIE!

Because, man has willfully chosen to rebel against and disobey his Creator, he has by his volitional FREE will, ended up in Hell and the Lake of Fire; his functionality is NOW ultimately DESTROYED, in conscious, everlasting torment and misery, by CHOICE!

29. If one IS NOT Saved, Born Again, Justified, regenerated spiritually, then that person is DEAD spiritually!

This is why Jesus said, “Then another of His disciples said to Him, ‘Lord, let me first go any bury my father.’ But Jesus said to him, ” Follow Me, and let the DEAD bury their own DEAD.” ( Matt. 8: 21,22) Emphasis added.

Multiplied MILLIONS of spiritually DEAD people are walking, existing, working, driving around ALL over this planet earth.

Right here in BARBADOS TOO!!! And right here on BU TOO!!!

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Zoe October 26, 2015 at 10:14 AM
    “Multiplied MILLIONS of spiritually DEAD people are walking, existing, working, driving around ALL over this planet earth.”

Then you wouldn’t have to worry about “Heaven” being overcrowded and having to accept blacks to serve the milk and honey to the lazy-ass white bastards sitting around a shining white throne with nothing to do with no sinning ‘coloured’ humans to monitor and report to your god almighty.

According to your ‘reasoning’ there will be in your heaven. no Muslims, Hindus, Buddhists, Sikhs, Jainists, Shintoists, Taoists, or even Jews (since they don’t accept your lord Jesus as their saviour but as a rebel worthy of assassination by the religious mossad).

Your intellectual myopia is pellucid as Dompey’s logic and as eye-opening as ac’s partisan political blindness.

31. Miller what you calling my name for .I have a right to my opinion as Mia has a right to her idiotic marches and rubbing shoulders

32. @ Naki-Chimpanzee!!!

“The lamp of the body is the EYE; if therefore your eye is good, your whole body will be full of light.”

“But if your EYE is BAD (Naki-Chimpanzee) your WHOLE body will be FULL OF DARKNESS’ If therefore (Naki-Chimp) the light that is in YOU (Naki-Chimp) IS DARKNESS, how GREAT is that DARKNESS.” (Matt: 6:22,23) Emphasis added.

So it be Naki-Chimpanzee!!!

33. LOL
    Ha ha ha
    “Naki-Chimpanzee !!!”
    ha ha LOL

Oh Shiirt!! wuhloss!! … dat is a good one Zoe…..
    Yuh mean you can make a joke? …and kick Miller’s ass too…???!!!

You GO….
    Zoe…

34. Would anyone believe that some scumbag in social media have there low life dirt bag mud racker friends trash talking about the four girls that died in the crash ,wuh dam the bodies barely cold and out come the shameless mud rats with no other reason except to promote their stinky selves
    these shameless bastards would do anything for self promotion even if it means pissing all over the dead
    what a bunch of lowlife sh,t heads

35. @ac

Agree with you, not good at all.

36. Why are people different colors—black, yellow, brown, etc?

The Bible does not give us a specific answer to why people are different color, the following information from The Bible Has the Answer by Henry M. Morris and Martin E. Clark will add some insight on this issue.

Question: “How does the Bible explain the origin of different races?”

Answer: The concept of “race” is biological, NOT Biblical. There is no mention of different races, as such, in the Bible, nor even of the very concept of a “race.” Evidently, there is no Biblical or theological meaning to the term, and we must conclude, therefore, that races are purely arbitrary entities invented by man for his own convenience in biological and anthropological studies.

Biologically a race is generally thought of as a variety, or sub-species, within a given species. In terms of evolutionary philosophy, it may represent a stage in the evolution of a new species. Thus different sub-species within a species may vary in their respective degrees of evolutionary advance over the ancestral species, depending upon the relative efficiencies with which the postulated evolutionary mechanisms of mutation, segregation, natural selection, etc., have been functioning in each case.

This leads to the observation that racism, in the sense of struggle between races and the conviction that one race is superior to others, must be based on EVOLUTIONISM, not on theism. Evolutionary scientists may not all be “racist” in their personal or political philosophies. Nevertheless, the various philosophies that have promoted racism have, quite understandably, used the supposed universal evolutionary process as their intellectual framework for such a position. Nazism and Marxism are two notable examples.

The testimony of the Bible, however, is that all men who have ever lived in the world are descendants of Adam and, therefore, are of essentially the same race—the human race. “God hath made of one blood all nations of men for to dwell on all the face of the earth” (Acts 17:26). Furthermore, all men in the present world are also descendants of Noah, after the great Flood. Before the Flood, God had said: “The end of all flesh is come before me; . . . behold, I will destroy them with the earth” (Genesis 6:13). Then, later the Bible says: “All flesh died that moved upon the earth . . . and every man” (Genesis 7:21). After the Flood, “God blessed Noah and his sons, and said unto them, Be fruitful and multiply and replenish the earth” (Genesis 9:1). Finally the Bible says: “And the sons of Noah, that went forth of the Ark, were Shem, and Ham, and Japheth: . . . and of them was the whole earth overspread” (Genesis 9:18, 19).

Now although the Scriptures do not mention races, they do have a great deal to say about nations and languages. These distinctions are even noted in heaven. In Revelation 7:9, the vision of the heavenly throng was given as of “a great multitude, of ALL NATIONS, and KINDREDS, and PEOPLE, and TONGUES.” The description of the eternal city includes this remarkable statement: “And the nations of them which are saved shall walk in the light of it: and the kings of the earth do bring their glory and honour into it” (Revelation 21:24). Thus, in some sense, national identities are to be retained, even in the ages to come.

The most distinctive characteristic, and the most divisive, possessed by various groups among men, is not skin color or physical size, or some other physical trait, but language. Communication is of paramount importance for understanding and harmony, and language is certainly the most basic element in communication.

The origin of human language, and especially of the tremendous diversity of human languages, is as yet quite inexplicable to the evolutionist. 6-4 There is nothing even remotely comparable to such an ability among the higher animals. That human speech and language are divine creations is by far the most reasonable explanation. Furthermore, the fact that the great variety of languages reflects a divine judgment on early man, as the Bible teaches, is also the most reasonable explanation we have.

After the Flood, when “the whole earth was one language and one speech” (Genesis 11:1), men disobeyed God’s command to scatter and fill the earth, preferring to remain together and erect a single great world empire, with its capital at the first Babylon, and centered in the worship of the “host of heaven.”

For this purpose they erected a gigantic temple tower, or ziggurat, at whose apex was a shrine dedicated “unto heaven,” undoubtedly inscribed with the signs of the Zodiac and other astrological emblems. The “host of heaven,” frequently mentioned in the Bible, refers both to the stars and to the angelic and demonic hosts identified with the heavenly bodies.

The great Tower of Babel, therefore (part of which may still be standing in or near the ruins of Babylon), was essentially a temple dedicated to Satan worship and evolutionary pantheism. http://www.bible.org

37. i was thinking about that family and unless one does not have a heart the pain hits close to home, this is so sad
    then to think that two of the girls lived in the same household that alone is gut wrenching cannot imagine the pain of these parents
    also this event brought back to mind the campos trendz tragedy and thow the girls lost their lives
    i guess those parents today are reliving the grief of their loved ones like a fresh memory,
    i was hoping BU would put a poster with their faces as a memoriam .so sad
    may they RIP

38. look the bible has a language unto itself .Even the apostle in their quest to interpret the bible when asked simply said “walk by faith not by sight: in other words try not to understand the things you see for they confound and irritate the mind soul and body
    But be guided by Faith and all things would be revealed in its correct time

39. @ AC
    “But be guided by Faith and all things would be revealed in its correct time”
    Bible shiite!!!
    You sure it is the Bible that say so….??
    …or was it Froon that told you that ….last Sunday at that branch meeting….. some shiite bout how wunna need to WAIT….. WAIT and explanations will come… WAIT …and everything will be explained…. …AFTER the pension date has passed of course… 🙂

…talking bout how he will ‘run them into the sea’ in 2018…. with the sewerage….

LOL…. IT WAS JUST ON TV AC…. and Bushie was sure that he saw you in a corner with your bag of scratch grain….. clock cluck!!

40. Wait Bush shit , speaking of Sewage one does not have to look hard and long to see where the sewage is leaking right under Mia nose in the house of the BLP party.

41. Zoe

After the Flood, when “the whole earth was one language and one speech” (Genesis 11:1), men disobeyed God’s command to scatter and fill the earth, preferring to remain together and erect a single great world empire, with its capital at the first Babylon, and centered in the worship of the “host of heaven.”

“the whole world” seriously do you understand what the bible meant by the whole world,Would that include the carribbean.

42. The Bible does not give us a specific answer to why people are different color,
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Wait Zoe… You can’t find anything useful to do…?
    What is this nonsense about race now…?

Why not go off and do a new exegesis on how Bushie will become God nuh?
    …or perhaps an analysis of how Jesus died for our sins WITHOUT actually dying ..(since THAT would upset your precious Trinity dogma…)

The human race is comprised of persons of all kinds of colours and other characteristics. But to say that the bible says nothing about colour is not correct …. unless you want to completely IGNORE the story of Naaman and Gehazi.

In short, Naaman found himself with a defective ‘white’ skin caused by leprosy, which clearly made him a freak. He went to Elisha to be cured.
    Not surprisingly, he attempted to bribe Elisha for the cure, but was rejected….. after which, Gehazi – a greedy servant, snuck off behind him to claim the bribe.
    Wuh shiite…. yuh can’t trick a bushman, so Elisha haul Gehazi’s donkey up, and God transferred Naaman’s affliction to Gehazi AND HIS DESCENDANTS FOREVER… and Gahazi left Elisha’s presence ‘as white as snow’….

…at least we know where the ‘white’ came from….. 🙂
    Unless you are saying that the bible talking shiite…. ???!!!

43. @Bush Tea October 26, 2015 at 9:30 PM “Unless you are saying that the bible talking shiite…. ???!!!… leprosy, so Elisha haul Gehazi’s donkey up, and God transferred Naaman’s affliction to Gehazi AND HIS DESCENDANTS FOREVER.”

The Bible is not talking shite, but Bush Tea certainly is…you mean to tell me that all of Gehazi’s descendants have leprosy?

Shite!!! Bare shiteee!!!

44. You Again….?

How many times do you need to demonstrate your simple mindedness?
    Have you ever heard of GOOGLE? Bushie did not ‘mean to tell you’ one shiite…. just QUOTED your bible…
    …perhaps sometimes you should try READING a bit…. it works wonders…
    leprosy/ albinism are interesting topics with which you can start….

Don’t you see that Zoe (to whom it was addressed) is doing his research BEFORE he responds? All like now, he is reading about albinos …and looking at OTHER references in the Bible – like when God turned Miriam white and turned Moses’s hand white …. as signs of his displeasure…

45. @ Bush Tea

“…at least we know where the ‘white’ came from….. 🙂
    Unless you are saying that the bible talking shiite…. ???!!!”

Bushie, If you had any more BRAINS, you’d be a complete IDIOT!!! 🙂

46. What bible you talking about mein kampf? Color is only an issue for the poor. Rich people don’t think about color they only think of what can he do for me. But now you have put me in an awkward situation do I go to Hawaii with the rest of the lepers or to Barbados

47. When Moses went before Pharoah he stuck his hand in his breast and pulled it out, it was leprous as snow (Exodus 4:6).

The question is proposed that if his hand became the color white then he must have had a different skin color. What is that skin color they ask? They answer: “black of course.”

But, if Moses had the light brown skin color of a Syrian, would that not also be a distinction to the white color? Why must the skin color of Moses be Black? Because he is in Egypt and the same color as Pharoah? This would insist that the color of the Syrian Israelites was the same color as the Hamatic Africans and this is false.

The skin color of Moses is made to be black because in black racism the color white is evil and bad. Black Hebrew Israelites are filled with black racism against whites and this is the whole intent of their false interpretation of this leprous event with Moses.

No other skin color is considered. From this perversion Black racist accuse Whites as being diseased lepers whose blood is contaminated with all manner of evil and hate and this is the cause of White racism against Blacks.

The fact is, it was not a color difference this miracle was meant to convey to Pharoah. It was God’s power over the dreaded disease of leprosy. His hand was perfectly normal when he stuck it into his bosom. When he pulled it out it was leperous and perhaps some fingers were missing as all lepers eventually experience.

There was white leperous risings all over his hand and arm. His skin just didn’t turn from black to white. Pharoah would see this disease and be in fear, as lepers in Egypt were looked upon as cursed and it appears from history they were isolated from the general public.

Pharoah see’s Moses as a normal man. He then sees his hand as a leper. He is struck with fear. Moses stuck his hand back in his bosom and pulled it out again. It had returned back to his normal skin. This is the whole intent of this miracle. There never was an intent by God to show he could change a Black man into a White man, and then from a White man back into a Black man. To claim this was the intent of the miracle, is to pervert the very intent of the Word of God. http://www.jesus-messiah.com

48. Hants now you see why kids need cell phones in the classroom lol, if people haven’t got the news yet, any conversation with a cop that starts off with…I don’t have to …usually ends bad

49. When a BLACK person has leprosy, their skin does NOT turn white! Only if their skin colour is white or brown, does it turn white or redish is appearance!

Leprosy of White people has both a white and redish appearance. Does the Bible anywhere describe this kind of leprosy? Yes!

Leviticus 13:43–“Then the priest shall look upon it: and, behold, if the rising of the sore be white redish in his bald head, or in his bald forehead, as the leprosy appeareth in the skin of the flesh.”

It is impossible for this to apply to a Black person. But, as you can see it would apply to a brown or white person. Now let’s take a look at some pictures of Brown or Tan people with leprosy and compare the appearance.

Please notice in the picture on the left the leprosy showing missing fingers and the scars on the arms and around the finger stubs have a white appearance. But notice also, the last picture of the man’s face and his leprosy has no white appearance.

It is a total falsehood that all leprosy has the color white. It follows then, that it is false for anyone to claim that Whites or non-Blacks have leper skin and that is why their skin is not Black.

What is my point in all these pictures? It is that if Moses was a Black man and he pulled out a hand that had the appearance of leprosy it could not have been white like snow.

Only a white person or brown person would have this characteristic. Therefore, the claim Moses was black because God turned his hand white like a white leper is false.

But if he was a White man or a Brown man this is possible as the pictures show it. The whole leprous hand miracle of Moses was not to show the Egyptian king God had the power to change a person’s race color, but rather the healing miracle power of Almighty God. Moses then, a descendant of Israel, was of Syrian bloodline and race stock and he was not an African Black man.

To make all African Blacks into Hebrew Israelites based upon the falsehood Moses was a Black man is perversion of the truth. http://www.jesus-messiah.com