Jeff Cumberbatch - New Chairman of the FTC
Jeff Cumberbatch – New Chairman of the FTC
BU shares the Jeff Cumberbatch Barbados Advocate column โ€“ Senior Lecturer in law at the University of the West Indies since 1983, a Columnist with the Barbados Advocate

MUSINGS: On nearing fiftyโ€ฆ (i)

10/18/2015
By Jeff Cumberbatch

[โ€ฆ]

As Barbados readies itself to celebrate the 49th anniversary, and thereby to enter its fiftieth year, of sovereign statehood at the end of next month, it is appropriate for us to conduct a self-assessment of its journey in all respects so far and to prepare for the next fifty years; despite the fatalistic certainty of those few who proclaim the imminent end-of-days and despite the fact that we are not a people ordinarily given to planning anything beyond a five-year period at most.

In the circumstances, this essay commences a non-sequential series of critical observations on Barbados as it is now and of those reforms that might be contemplated adequately to confront the challenges that lie ahead of us. Of course, given the nature of my alleged expertise, this examination will focus mainly on those legal issues encompassing governance, social relations and the resolution of disputes.

Concerning this last, a decision delivered last Thursday by our apical court, the Caribbean Court of Justice, that treated an assortment of matters touching our judicial system provides as good a starting point for this analysis as any other.

While the decision provides a useful forensic examination of technical legal issues such as the doctrine of proprietary estoppel, rights of pre-emption, the enforceability of contracts, unjust enrichment and the award of costs, thus providing ample material for the undergraduate syllabus in Law, their Lordships also took some time out to comment on less arcane and, perhaps, more populist matters such as the inordinate delays in the judicial resolution of disputes locally and the requirement of judicial self-recusal on the basis of apparent bias.

While the latter consideration is not an immediate national concern and more likely to be of immediate interest to the prurient, the text of the judgment does reveal, as it was termed by Saunders J, โ€œa sorry affairโ€ in this regard.

The matter of delay is much more integral to national development, especially if we are seeking to project and maintain our reputation as the ideal jurisdiction in which to effect commercial investment. The dilatory resolution of disputes scarcely comports with such a proud boast.

What makes last Thursdayโ€™s strictures even more chastening is that this is not the first, nor the second nor, indeed, the third occasion on which our highest court has had to make such an observation. As noted in the leading judgment of President Byron, this dispute had commenced some 17 years earlier, winding its way through the court of first instance and the Court of Appeal for seven years in each instance, including a five year delay in the delivery of judgment by the trial judge and a more than six year period between the filing of the appeal and the hearing in the court above.

Byron P was not sparing in his comments โ€“ โ€œThis type of delay imposes hardship on the litigants. This is a case where the hardship is obvious. The delay also reflects adversely on the reputation and credibility of the civil justice system as a whole, and reinforces the negative images which the public can have of the way judges and lawyers perform their rolesโ€ฆThe unfortunate frequency of our lament suggests that the problem is systemicโ€ฆโ€

And at paragraph 69 of the judgment he delineated the various occasions on which the court had earlier commented adversely on local delay in the administration of justice. One example should suffice. As many as ten years ago, de la Bastide P (as he then was) wrote, โ€œWe would be failing in our duty if we did not express our strong disapproval of judicial delays of this order. They deny parties the access to justice to which they are entitled and undermine public confidence in the administration of justiceโ€ฆโ€

As the learned former President notes, and as borne out by the epigraph to todayโ€™s column, the civic entitlement of the litigant to a speedy resolution of a legal dispute is of hoary vintage. Indeed, it is even a constitutionally guaranteed right of the citizen. According to section 18(8) of our supreme law, where relevant, โ€œโ€ฆ where proceedings for such a determination [of the existence of any civil right or obligation] are instituted by any person before such courtโ€ฆthe case shall be given a fair hearing within a reasonable timeโ€ฆโ€

Even a member of the local judiciary has had cause to highlight the phenomenon. In July 2014, then Justice of Appeal Peter Williams, commenting on the scenario of an accused that had served seven years in prison without ever having his appeal against sentence determined, observed that the law โ€œdoes not countenance the lack of resources, systematic delays or existing court backlogs as exculpating the State from its constitutional and human rights obligations. The executive authority of Barbados therefore has an inescapable duty to organise and supervise its judicial system so that the fundamental constitutional right of the individual to a hearing within a reasonable time is not infringedโ€ฆโ€

Having recognised that there is a seemingly intractable problem in satisfying this guarantee, at least currently, the logical next step should be intelligently to seek to identify the source (s) of the difficulty and to take effective measures to eliminate it (them). A most enlightening discussion recently with a member of the Utter Bar (Queenโ€™s Counsel) persuades me that the matter is a rather complex one that will necessitate an elemental adjustment of mind-sets and a sea-change in functional relations between the Bench, Bar and the Registry. He argues quite cogently that the current state of affairs is owed principally to a sorry cocktail of the partisan politicisation of the system on more occasions than one; an enervating lack of trust between the major players; and the prevailing economic crunch that prevents adequate financial investment by the state in the justice system.

Given the fundamental nature of the matters he identifies as causative, it must be accepted that the description of the issue as probably โ€œsystemicโ€ by Byron P may not be too far off the mark. It should be a urgent concern of the state that the matter is receiving such uninspiring notices so frequently from its highest court, apart from causing it to be in contravention of its constitutional undertaking as argued above by Peter Williams JA.

After all, potential investors are legally advised as a matter of course and I suspect that few would be willing to close their eyes and ears to the probability that a legal dispute involving substantial sums in a contemplated jurisdiction might not be too speedily resolved.

To be continuedโ€ฆ

250 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – On Nearing Fifty… (i)”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Peter…….now all the lowlifes are crawling out of the earth, do you think what you say will stop me from exposing Haynes, dream on, y’all do crap to others believing you are given some right to do so along with an LLB and when someone like me comes along you feel you can stop exposure.

I am not easily intimidated and even if you knew who I was, you could do nothing about it, I am not based in Barbados, so your well known retaliatory tactics cannot scare me and even if I lived there I would already know where you live, bim is half a dot. There are 1030 of you and I know where more than half you live, so chill out, ya can’t stop me.

I am now more motivated than ever to expose Haynes.

2. The dog had some bites in Sinckler CV too, he could not get a post as research officer even thought he knew the SG and ED , the CV could not make it to long list , now sinckler is Minister of Finance in Barbados, Zoe may be on to something,the world ending ha ha ha

3. @ Caswell,
    Sometimes I am left to wonder. While you ask for openness and transparency, you can submit serious accusations about Cave Hill and a political party without providing evidence. Amazing !!!!

4. Jeff

It is not enough to say to someone that you do not believe that their do not know a particular issue or person without first providing them with proof to substantiate as well as corroborate such claim.

I can say to you that I believe that there is a God, but to provide you with the instrument of empirical evidence to support God existence I cannot do. All I have to rely on as far as the evidence of God’s existence is concerned, is the concept of faith which derives its essence from metaphysical speculation.

5. @Well Well

If you want to have a coherent debate you must try to embrace logic in your responses. Your original accusation is that the man plagiarized, we have two classmates who say no. Unless you are able to produce tangible evidence what can be achieved besides you say? Let us lift the debate to one of attacking the systemic issue exposed.

6. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

David, that the awesome ability of some bloggers. Well Well offered that 20 of Haynes’ classmates would confirm his lack of skill and intelligence BECAUSE “… any lawyer who has to use dirty, destructive tactics to try to win a case they have already lost, is not an intelligent lawyer”.

Although of course using destructive and dirty tactics is a function of ethics and morals and really have noting to do with intelligence or lack of it.

Well Well’s anger blinds his reasoning and one can imagine that the well of anger is deep and long standing.

That’s the danger I imagine when our systems become overly corrupt. We all lose sight of good reason and commonsense.

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

David I have moved pass the plagarizing by Lesley Haynes, it’s still talked about at UWI, I don’t even want to see tangible evidence that Haynes did not plagarize, bajan lawyers are renowned liars known worldwide for lying when the truth will suffice; my issues with these two, Jeff and Peter is that they are putting out signals of intimidation and just so they know, I am not the one, so we will move on.

The lawyers and politicians who are part of the problems, not the solution, have the solution to make the systemic changes, but just like with all lawyers/politicians, it’s not in their best interest to do so, or so they believe, but unknowing to them, because they are just sitting in Barbados believing themselves to be the be-all and end-all of civilization, there is currently a worldwide change in how systems will operate going forward and naturally, if the dudes and guys do not keep up and shed their corrupt ways, the island will once again be left behind as it was with the recession.

The problems lie in the thought processes of those who are addicted to titles, completely forgetting that they are paid for their public service, in their minds with a title they have moved higher up and better off, totally forgetting the original goal of serving the public, so in essence, the problems begin with the mental block experienced by these individuals when they are given even a modicum of control over others and there is where it has to end, again, I have a perfect example, but certain restraints prevent me from expounding at this time.

8. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

Jeff, I came across two quotes recently which I am sure you know only too well.

Honorรฉ de Balzac in the 1800’s: โ€œLaws are spider webs through which the big flies pass and the little ones get caught.โ€

And separated by almost a 100 years, Herbert Marcuse: “Law and order are always and everywhere the law and order which protect the established hierarchy..”

An excerpt for the statement, “I believe there is a โ€˜natural rightโ€™ of resistance for oppressed and overpowered minorites to use extra legal means if the legal ones have proved to be inadequate. Law and order are always and everywhere the law and order which protect the established hierarchy; it is nonsensical to invoke the absolute authority of this law and this order against those who suffer from it.”

I am certainly not an anarchist but how long before the invocation to resistance stops being just words to Bajans, if this legal system continues to disdain the people and political leaders/elite trample rights so cavalierly!

9. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I knew they would hate that one….lol

I remember when there were those of us on BU warning the hard-headed government about the effects of the recession on the island and we were handed our business, we all know Barbados ended up at the bottom of the pack in the Caribbean, still struggling, but this is a different ballgame.

10. @DIW

Your analysis is spot on, as usual, but your question may be purely rhetorical. For Barbadians, how long indeed, if our cultural traditions would insist that we leave it all in God’s hands?

11. Ingrunt

According to the Oxford American Dictionary: Intelligence entails the ability to gain and apply knowledge and skills.

So what I believe Well Well was endeavouring to convey is the fact if someone had had the prequisite understanding of the definition of intelligence above, he or she would have to resort to destructive and dirty tactics to win a case.

I do agree with you however that the employment of dishonest tactics to win a case has more to do with Professional Ethics because it involves the conduct of person which calls into question his or her moral compass.

12. Ingrunt

Democractic egalitarianism can only be realized when there is an equal distribution of Laws, Opportunity and Conditions available to every citizen.

13. Ingrunt

An what good is Social Justice when the people lack the Economic empowerment?

14. “…
    Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even to the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story.

Avoid loud and aggressive persons; they are vexatious to the spirit. If you compare yourself with others, you may become vain or bitter, for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself
    …โ€

Max Ehrmann, “Desiderata”

15. Ingrunt

I shall end on these few philosophical words of the late Justice of the US Supreme Court Sir Oliver Wendel Holmes: ” Life is continual clash of Groups, Nations, Races and Classes, representing great conflicting principles, struggling for survival in a world of limited resources.

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Peter Lawrence Thompson October 18, 2015 at 2:37 PM#
    โ€œ cause Bunny was always one of the sharpest knives in the drawer with absolutely no need to plagiarize.โ€

So your “Bunny” was one of the sharpest knives in the drawer, in your โ€˜eruditeโ€™ estimation!
    It’s a goddamn pity he did not walk with his moral whetstone in the CLICO affair.
    Any person who allowed himself to be ‘purposelyโ€™ hoodwinked by Leper Parris has to be both an โ€˜intellectualโ€™ idiot and a moral jackass to be ridden from behind and who would sell his soul to the devil for a few dollars.
    W W&C has every right or compunction to castigate lawyers especially those known to be crooked and tell lies as part of their daily diet like Fumble.
    Your good friend Jesus did it why canโ€™t WW&C? Unless you are prepared to call Jesus a fictitious conman and hypocrite here is what he had to say about you despicable lot:

โ€œOne of the lawyers answered him, โ€œTeacher, in saying these things you insult us also.โ€ And he said, โ€œWoe to you lawyers also! For you load people with burdens hard to bear, and you yourselves do not touch the burdens with one of your fingers. Woe to you!โ€

The above categorization excludes our BU family members โ€œAmusedโ€ and Jeff C, of course.

17. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Anunnaki

Dem ent know Bunny Haynes in truffe yeh or sumbody does get “lines” from he heheheh and he din nuh prefect like De Ingrunt Word neider heheheh

18. @ millertheanunnaki
    I know very little of the CLICO affair or of Leslie Haynes performance in that context. I won my scholarship and left the rock some 40 years ago. I have no problem with W W&C’s right to castigate lawyers… I was simply drawing attention to the fact that Leslie Haynes is no fool.

19. The UWI law faculty must have a role to play in the resolution of the systemic hiccups
    the CCJ writes about so regularly.Its time UWI,the Judiciary and a committee made up of the ministries of Education,Finance,the AG and the PM’s office meet and implement a Plan of Action to remove this evident mismanagement of the State’s resources.Its already costing litigants and the country’s reputation as well.Under and post grad students should be attached to the Halls of Justice,Whitepark,to be assigned by an oversight committee of Justices to research and prepare case files for the resolution of the Courts.Such assignments can form part of their course work.

20. I heard the great man Stuart holding forth and throwing in a spot ‘o latin …in abstracto?
    He now has the praedial larceny problem wrestled to the ground with earth shattering legislation coming in 2015.This thieving thing has been a plague to farmers since the 17th century and we have finally nailed it with a law from the great man himself.Whatanass.If only he would stay asleep….Rip Van Effing Winkle.

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Peter Lawrence ThompsonOctober 18, 2015 at 5:04 PM
    โ€œI was simply drawing attention to the fact that (“L H” redacted} is no fool.”

Certainly not an ordinary simple naรฏve fool or knave but a purpose-built learned court jester designed facilitate the execution of certain crimes and exploitation of the foolish rich and disadvantaged.

Let us agree on one principle. That is, there are basically two types of crime. Blue collar committed by the simple ignorant fool who mugs people or shoplift. On the other hand there is the white collar type committed by the smart well-educated fool with backing of โ€˜expertsโ€™ in the law. Now you try to categorize your schoolmate.

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

See, that’s the point the lawyers keep missing Piece, Dompey, Gabriel et al, they look at any and all critism and/or truthful knowledge anyone has of any wrong doing by one of their frat bros or sis as an attack on all, without thinking that things could be better if they take responsibility for their actions and castigate their own for wrong doing.

Peter was away for 40 years and has no knowledge of the nasty things Leslie did to the people on the island while a director at clico, I had to assist one of his clients whom he victimized, taking the man’s case against clico, despite knowing he sat on the board of directors at clico, most lawyers in Barbados see nothing wrong with that, but the client was unaware, that means ethics is not on Haynes’ list of priorities. My point here being that these lawyers hold the answers that can change the present dynamic of destructive corruption, the question here is, would any one of them be willing to make the rirst move toward the changes..

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

First I am going to prove what a fool Haynes is because he caused me to have to assist his client in 2005, then I will show everyone what a fool he is.

The lawyers have the tools in their hands and in their heads to do the right thing but they would be the first to claim that given the culture and rah, rah, rah……..not good enough, that will not fly, it’s called a cop out; I hate that they have destroyed the island and feel all smart about it and are now not even trying to use their taxpayer funded knowledge and skills to fix it.

No one asked me to, but given what I knew having been in and out of Barbados throuhout the years, I felt it was a public service well worth it’s weight in gold to find the root cause of the problems at the judiciary. I did not learn those skills in barbados, though I beat up on the US sometimes, I have them to thank for my skills.

So these lawyers owe it to the country and the taxpers without whom they would not have an education, to do the right thing and fix the mess their older colleagues created and which they are continuing to the detriment of the island.

24. The malaise affecting our professional class is indeed very sad.
    Habitual tardiness & casual indifference combined with mean-spiritedness is the modus operandi of these so called professionals.
    They don’t care & we all suffer.
    At the end of the day it’s all about “Pompasetting”.

25. @ Gabriel
    If only he would stay asleepโ€ฆ.Rip Van Effing Winkle.
    LOL ha ha ha
    Muh belly…
    Boss ….Joke is joke, but dah sweet as shiite hear…??!!

26. Just found out that Dirty Harry the former crime fighter and CID detective died and was buried quite recently. I knew the guy personally; he was stationed at District A Police Station back in the 1980’s.

27. @Dompey

If you don’t have anything to say why not read the comments and take away what you will?

Dirty Harry died in 2013.

For crissakes!

28. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I have found that it is better to ignore Dompey. Try it.

29. DAVID

IS DR FRANK WARD THE SURGEON STILL ALIVE?

30. Sorry my apology…I live in the US… Yall dying like flies in Bim these days.

31. @ GP,

The West Indies Rum and Spirits Producers’ Association Inc. (WIRSPA) represent distillers associations from across the ACP Caribbean (African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States). The current Chairman is Dr. Frank Ward from Barbados

http://uk.reuters.com/article/2015/10/08/west-indies-rum-assoc-idUKnPn4bfdHr+82+PRN20151008

32. @Zoe October 18, 2015 at 1:35 PM “and most of the other nations are vehemently against โ€˜Israelโ€™ and the Jewish people, ARE a direct, current, fulfillment of End-Time Prophecy.”

Where is the evidence that most of the other nations are vehemently against โ€˜Israelโ€™ and the Jewish people.

Didn’t most of the other nations (including my own father) go to war in support of the persecuted Jews of Germany and Central Europe? How does that translate as hate?

As a Christian you should not be telling lies to support your position.

33. @GP

Believe he died.

On 19 October 2015 at 00:36, Barbados Underground wrote:

34. @Dompey October 18, 2015 at 8:40 PM “Sorry my apologyโ€ฆI live in the USโ€ฆ Yall dying like flies in Bim these days.”

Cuh dear Dompey man.

The mortality rate in Barbados is 100%

The mortality rate in the United States is 100%

In other words we all gonna die.

And furthermore the life expectancy in Barbados and the U.S. is about the same. And furthermore the life expectancy of Bajans is better than the life expectancy of black Americans or of black people who migrate to the U.S.

So if you hear something behind you, look out,,,it is a duppy come fah you ars@

35. Caswell Franklyn

You’re at liberty to ignore me as you wish/want, but truth crashed to the shall rise again brother.

36. Simple Simon

Do you really believe that the life expectancy of the native Bajans is better than that of Bajans who reside in North America, with the standard healthcare that is offered in Barbados?

Come on now, North America is where you want to be if you’re afflicted with any type of Cancer.

37. Simple Simon

The number one killer of Bajan males is Prostate Cancer.

38. @Dompey “healthcare”

What is called healthcare is really sickness care.

Take note that people who live to be 100 tyically have had little contact with any “healthcare” system

39. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ Zoe
    “There would be an increase of religious cults/false teachers (Matthew 24:11 & 24)”
    Are you one of them? How would we know?

40. Simple Simon October 18, 2015 at 8:49 PM #

Didnโ€™t most of the other nations (including my own father) go to war in support of the persecuted Jews of Germany and Central Europe? How does that translate as hate?

As a Christian you should not be telling lies to support your position.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Saving the Jews from Hitlers gas chambers during World War 2, was given the least ,if any, priority , by the Allied forces. Hence the surprise by the Allied forces, when they came across the tens of thousands emaciated and dead Jews after crossing the Rhine. Your father was there , sir , to prevent Hitler from annexing the United Kingdom,and eventually the United States,and to stop the Russians from getting past Berlin.
    Saving the Jews was a by-product .

41. Dompey October 18, 2015 at 10:01 PM #

Simple Simon

The number one killer of Bajan males is Prostate Cancer.
    …………………………………………………………………………………….
    And fast becoming the #1 killer in the United States is the G-U-N

42. @ Simple Simon,

I DO NOT tell lies in support of my position(s). Know your place man!

No other Nation, or ethnic group of people, has experienced more hatred, and vehement LIES against their ancient homeland “Israel” like the Jews have; and it continues to grow, as God’s Word, said it would.

2013 at the UN: 21 resolutions against Israel, 4 on rest of the world
    Published on November 25, 2013 in General Assembly by unwatch. Closed

The U.N. General Assembly in 2013 adopted a total of 21 resolutions singling out Israel for criticism โ€” and 4 resolutions on the rest of the world combined. See the texts and votes below.

The four that do not concern Israel are: one on Syria, a regime that has murdered 120,000 of its own people, and one each on Iran, North Korea and Myanmar.

There were zero UNGA resolutions on gross and systematic abuses committed by China, Cuba, Egypt, Pakistan, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Zimbabwe, nor on many other major perpetrators of grave violations of human rights. http://www.blog.unwatch.org

43. @ Jeff,

With all due respect, you just don’t get it; the exponential gravity, of the rise in man’s behavior, in these End Times, plus the FACT of the Jews return to their ancient homeland, ‘Israel’ in two thousand years, IS* empirical confirmation, of Almighty God’s linear Time Table, for the End-Times spoken of by his Prophets, and none other, than the Lord Jesus Christ Himself.

Facts, become credible facts, when they are warranted to the relevant degree of certainty!

The structure of justification, in defending any propositional ‘Truth’ claim is coherence; coherence IS* our sole criterion for truth.

All of IT, is coherently unfolding, exactly as prophesied!

Let those who have eyes to SEE, SEE! And those who have Ears to HEAR, HEAR!!!

44. @Zoe, “Exponential gravity” or “exponential knowledge” of the phenomenon?

45. Jerusalem is the ancient capital of Israel, first declared by King David. Today the PLO demands that Jerusalem is their rightful capital.

Jerusalem is mentioned over 600 times in the Bible; it is NOT mentioned once in the Koran!

There is NO ancient nation called Palestine! Nor are they any ancient people called Palestinians!

Think on this: โ€œI am going to make Jerusalem a cup that sends all the surrounding peoples reeling. Judah will be besieged as well as Jerusalem. On that day, when all the nations of the earth are gathered against her, I will make Jerusalem an immovable rock for all the nations. All who try to move it will injure themselves. โ€œI will keep a watchful eye over Judah, Then the clans of Judah will say in their hearts, โ€˜The people of Jerusalem are strong, because โ€œOn that day I will make the clans of Judah like a firepot in a woodpile, like a flaming torch among sheaves. They will consume all the surrounding peoples right and left, but Jerusalem will remain intact in her place.โ€ (Zechariah 12:2-6)

46. @ Jeff,

@Zoe, โ€œExponential gravityโ€ or โ€œexponential knowledgeโ€ of the phenomenon?

All two both, Jeff! ๐Ÿ™‚ To use a Bajan expression! ๐Ÿ™‚

47. @ Zoe
    “No other Nation, or ethnic group of people, has experienced more hatred, and vehement LIES against their ancient homeland โ€œIsraelโ€ like the Jews have; and it continues to grow, as Godโ€™s Word, said it would.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Since you don’t tell lies to support your position, what is this PARTICULAR lie in aid of ….?

You EVER heard of Blacks?
    You ever heard of the slave trade? ….400 years of it…? …and STILL ongoing…

Jews shiite!!
    ….the only people who hate the Jews now are the damn Palestinians – who THEY have enslaved and continues to torture and harass in the West Bank and in Israel itself.

Meanwhile, EVERYWHERE on Earth, people like you continue to hate and devalue Blacks …even in the face of almost total compliance by the brass bowl blacks with wunna white shiite principles….
    In the USA, police continue to shoot blacks first and then seek to investigate the issue afterwards…
    In Barbados, when they ran out of white people to control things bout here, they sold everything to Canadians, Irish, Americans…. even Trickidadians and now South Americans… ANYBODY but black Bajans….

…and you talking shiite bout hating Jews….

Steupsss.

48. St George’s Dragon October 18, 2015 at 10:44 PM #
    @ Zoe

โ€œThere would be an increase of religious cults/false teachers (Matthew 24:11 & 24)โ€
    Are you one of them? How would we know?

If you understood what is a Cult/False teacher, vs a Defender/Contender of the FAITH, once for all delivered to the saints, (Jude 1) you would not ask such a stupid question!

Truth by definition is absolute!

The truth Shall Make You Free.

“Then Jesus said to those Jews, who believed Him. ‘If you ABIDE in My word, you are My disciples indeed. And you shall KNOW the truth, and the truth shall make you FREE.” (John 8: 31,32) Emphasis added.

KNOW, (Gk. Ginosko,) To perceive, understand, recognize, gain knowledge, realize, come to KNOW. Ginosko is the knowledge that has an inception, a progress, and attainment, it is the recognition of truth by personal experience.

49. Jews,the only religious group who think their god tell them they are better than anyone else,that they are the only ones who get free real estate because their god tell them so,the group that controls the money supply by ruthless management and enforcement mafia style,the only group on earth that’s persecuted,that the world owe them a living,that in the place Palestine which the UK slice up and dice up,the native Palestinian got no rights,the place that brought Ethiopians to the place called Israel and treat them as second class citizens,Israel,where there is so much immoral and criminal behavior like rape,incest,murder but which is not reported in the western press because the western press is owned by jews……and one can go on.its no wonder they are a despised lot.The likes of Zoe can go to hell,a place created by the story tellers like Zoe.