Submitted by Old Onions Bag

NUPW_Strike“they came for the Jews but I was not a Jew.”

Pinch me hard I dare say, (anywhere but the posterior), for surely I must be dreaming. Like Alice in the Wonderland, I running with Ernest but falling like Forrest  Grump…trying to keep up with the rationalizations of this now lame duck government.

We now on the verge of a nationwide shutdown in the height of Crop Over.  And over what I dare say? This BIDC fore-play; prepare thy selves NHC, CIBC, Port Inc. and the likes. A government with (out) a social conscience, the crowned Prince used to say. Caring and putting people first our #1 motto. Nowadays when you reach that terminal age of 60 you past expiry date and should be put out to pasture. Nonsense.

Treatment dished out to the statutory nobodies like the 13. Whoever said what’s good for the goose is good for the gander? Not about here. Give of your best til 60 then go home. All because square pegs in round holes and ‘fumbling’ when it comes to econometrics. The result: foolishness abounds. What’s the sense? Nonsense.

Why if this administration could see it fit to extend his contract for another five years of a recycled 70 year old robot whose sole purpose was regurgitating every quarter, the words “STABLE ….why not let the messenger and two maids up at BIDC continue to work until 67? What else can one expect from a governor that saw sense in getting rid of all the good cents? Nonsense.

Give them hell NUPW…. They got away with murder before. A non –existing tribunal recall?  Let history record : The rule of the Non-sensed!

186 responses to “A Government of Nonsense”

1. @Prodigal .
    Why should I take a non de plume? I am proud of my name and no one can mistake me for AC or ac. I am Alvin Cummins. As for a name like Lazarus…You need to read my recently published novel Yeshua A.K.A Jesus the Nazarene, available on Amazon.com. Was Lazarus really dead when Jesus was “supposed” to have raised him from the dead? Maybe he was in a coma? Maybe he was an experiment that went wrong, Read the book, and you will find out that he was not really dead. The evidence is right there in the Bible.

I cannot take a name like that. I was close to death, but maybe I was kept alive to be a thorn in your sides.
    By the way, the money that was supposed to have been left “that this government “lick out” was borrowed money…remember that Arthur borrowed “for a rainy day? It still had to be repaid and that is the yoke that is around the neck of this government…It just so happens to be the DLP, but if the BLP had won the last election the debt would still have to be repaid.

2. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Alvin;

So wunnah licked out de borrowed money dat OSA left for a rainy day and din have enuf sense to realize that in 2008 the storm clouds were above us and the rains started coming dung in earnest around 2009 while DT was splurging the borrowed money?

Wunnah fuh real?

3. @ Alvin cummins July 11, 2015 at 7:27 PM #

@Prodigal .
    Why should I take a non de plume? I am proud of my name and no one can mistake me for AC or ac. I am Alvin Cummins. As for a name like Lazarus……………

You see what I mean about you……..you rush in without reading first! It was not me who spoke about you using your name! Man, go take your meds!

4. @ are-we-there-yet July 11, 2015 at 7:43 PM #

Your comment was serious…but I had to laugh. You see now how ignorant these dems are?

Borrowed money for a rainy day yet they licked it out and a moron now has the gall to say……….

…….”By the way, the money that was supposed to have been left “that this government “lick out” was borrowed money…remember that Arthur borrowed “for a rainy day? It still had to be repaid and that is the yoke that is around the neck of this government…It just so happens to be the DLP, but if the BLP had won the last election the debt would still have to be repaid”.

This is priceless logic from a dem…………why spend borrowed money……….you all should have repaid it immediately!

5. Really Boots Cummins as Bushie says you are a real Lazarus because my first reaction when I saw your name ….wait he still around?And such ignorance you exhibit.Bloody JA!

6. @ The Brek Up Dem also known as Fractured BLP July 11, 2015 at 6:47 PM #

This DLP government is the best.

………………………………………………………………

This DLP government led by a moron is the most inept incompetent government ever. This present group is even worst than the Sandi government and we though Sandi was the worse.

Sandi move over, Freundel is the worst. According to Sandi………………how did we get back in this same position? You answer that, brek up dem!

7. @ David “It was discussed the budget for the camps is $700,000 a cut from 3 million in prior years.”

Let the record reflect that the DLP government is making attempts to cut spending despite the propaganda that is put out by opposition to the contrary. That is why the fiscal deficit that was cut by nearly half in one financial year will continue to move in the right direction. Kudos to the Minister of Finance and his team.

8. @De Ingrunt Word-
    Its Crab Hill not Cahill.
    Crab Hill is where you will find an example of gross wastage of your money and mine.
    Crab Hill is where you will find a hypocrite named Mottley who gave a contract to a company in which she has an interest.
    Crab Hill is where you will find BLP mp and “contractor” lining their pockets.
    Crab Hill is where you will find no accountability and transparency by the minister in charge- MOTTLEY.
    It’s about CRAB HILL, not Cahill.

The sad thing is that there are other occasions when she repeated such behavior.

And some people on this blog are trying to put this woman in Bay Street to start to line her pockets again along with Wuk Fa Wuk and Trevor Prescod? Please. Come again. Mottley want shutting down not the SSA.

9. What a low life yardfowl you are!

10. All these lawyuhs and scholars pon BU and not one has asked: Is the purpose of having the option of retiring people at 60 to disadvantage or benefit workers? #justasking

11. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

Mr Bajanfahlife, let’s accept your reasoning that it’s ‘Crab Hill not Cahill’.

Help me to ‘overstand’ that if your team are aware and cognizant of grave wrong doings there and other places and you steadfastly promised legislation to prevent such activities, promises which in part helped carry your team to a rousing victory, on what basis does your team now justify your present behavior?

The question was asked in one of the major online media outlets ‘Who Lost Iraq: Bush or Obama’. When one accepts that the war was falsely started and all that and deal with the management of the aftermath of the war itself then on a question of politics and management, Pres Obama and his team falls short.

Crab Hill was done and dusted. Your team condemns that and in the same breath they carry out greater misdeeds with Cahill. How ridiculous and corrupt!

…Fight the current war to win the battle. What is done is done and will not affect current operations. You know that as well, PM Stuart, Pres. Obama and every other rational person alive !

Your political double-talk is the standard nonsense of all politicians seeking justification for unjust and inherently bad actions.

12. @enuff

Why does a lawyer need to answer the question? The national age of retirement is 66/ 67 not so? It answers itself.

13. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Fractured BLP July 11, 2015 at 6:47 PM #

This DLP government is the best.

They saved Barbadians from what the Greeks are facing right now
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    The Greeks could learn a thing or two about Greece ,(grease) in Barbados.

14. That is so David but what BIDC arguing?

15. We will hear their brief next week when they go to court.

16. if a resolution in not found in the coming weeks ac predicts that this issue is going to divide the blp as the public blame sweeps across the nation and the pointing fingers began with an inescapable mia having to shoulder blame for her inept and loyalty to political arsonist

17. @Walter Blackman July 11, 2015 at 3:04 PM “the Arthur administration made a strategic error in removing government’s ability to reduce the salaries of civil servants if dire economic straits required such action. Arthur was able to do that because he had a 2/3 majority in Parliament. The Thompson administration secured a 2/3 parliamentary majority in the 2008 elections, and therefore had an opportunity to put the salary cut “weapon” back in government’s arsenal. We now know that, instead of focusing on such things, David Thompson immediately put his energies into assisting the laundering of CLICO’s policyholders’ premiums [writing a 40 million tax debt for the Barbados Turf Club] . After Thompson deservedly reaped divine retribution in 2010, the Freundel Stuart administration retained a 2/3 parliamentary majority by winning the by-election in St. John. That administration immediately focused its attention on letting Barbadians know that Leroy Parris is a friend and client of Freundel Stuart and therefore must not be shunned by a perceptive and discerning public. The Freundel Stuart administration lost its 2/3 majority in 2013. Thus, when it comes to the ability of government to cut civil servants’ pay, Arthur is no longer on the hook for criticism.”

True, true.

18. Reading most of the above suggest that we are so caught up in name calling and personal attack that intelligent discussion of the real problems remain largely unaddressed. Wow, so much for the nations’ investment in education.

19. @Fearplay

Where we are and how we move forward may best be phrased in a question: how do we define social partnership and can we have a partnership if there is no dialogue.

20. So who should the nation blame? Themselves? indeed not on matters that effect their well being these laws were prescribed by the so called intelligent in the society. Now when the sh,tt hits the fan much deserving these so called intelligent deserves every ounce of lambasting especially when some like Mia joined the crowd of “mob rule to dismantle the country.shit man she should be told. her presence was needed to be a peace maker not a crowd pleaser.She over stepped the bounds that gave her a privilege to be a servant of all and satellite for None.

21. How does the country get back on track is a decision the Court will decided in a issue which was complicated by law. However what most intelligent people would Never forget those who was there for the country in time of NEED and those who were NOT. Yes the dye was cast ! messages were sent! and the people watched calmly and observed. The psychological markings of instant and uncalled pain would reverberate in the minds of many recalling the day when barbadians and barbados was brought to its knees in a war game of political gamesmanship and cast their vote accordingly.

22. LOL
    AC’s ass is in nettles….ha ha ha he he LOL

All we EVER needed to deal with this bunch of jackasses was a strong leader somewhere…with the balls to stand up for TRUTH and Justice.
    Caswell didn’t stand up when called….. but thank God that Mac D came along…..

Bajans are too damn spoilt.
    ….expecting that democracy, justice, fair-play and peace is a RIGHT!!! …It isn’t.. !!!

It has to be FOUGHT FOR; PROTECTED; DEFENDED and MONITORED.

How far were we willing to let these thieving, bribe-takers go in destroying the National Treasury …in order to fund Bizzy, Butch, Maloney etc while funnelling kickbacks to secret and not-so-secret family accounts?

WUNNA LUCKY THAT YOUNG FELLA HAS BEEN SENT TO GIVE WUNNA A CHANCE….

23. @Prodigal Son.
    My humble apologies. I should have addressed my answer to Bushie. But then again I am old enough to remember the case of “Swain” who was charged with the shooting of a little black boy on the plantation. He got off because he testified that he thought it was a monkey. If I mistake you for Bushie, I do, but you, Bushie, are-we-there yet and all the other BLP Yard Ducks (have to separate you from us yard fowls) so maybe the earlier teaching kicked in: “things that are equal to the same thing are equal one another.” You are all the same and sing in the same choir, from the same hymn sheet; there is no one singing a descant, so mistaking you for Bushie is no big thing, the Red of the choir robes blinded me. (Such a harsh colour)

Cahill Energy is the company associated with the gas-plasma waste to energy project. Ms Cowan is an entrepreneur who seeks to interest Venture Capitalists to invest in projects. There are not many gas-plasma waste to energy plants in the world, Barbados has the chance to join that group and move ahead of many other countries. When Silicon Valley began there were not many computer companies in the world, look at it today. Can’t you people look forward and not be constantly seeking to pull down and destroy, instead of forward, upward and progressive? Since before the last election you have been saying and doing the same thing. All last year and before you were preaching the demise of the tourism industry. What happened the past tourist season?
    It is time to put the past behind and be forward thinking. present positive blogs, stop the character assassination, stop the cussing, help your country (if it still is) and be proud of its accomplishments. Things cannot be so dire that the liquidity factor in the banks is so high;government bond issues are over subscribed within days of release, barbadian savings in local banks (foreign) and Credit unions and other financial companies were over 9 Billion dollars, at the time. These are hard facts.

24. For those who talk about age discrimination, it exist all the time everywhere. Isn’t it age discrimination when persons are restricted from voting until they reach the sge of 18? Isn’t it age discrimination when a 12 year old murders someone and is tried in juvenile court? etc.
    @David, The retirement age is not legislated to be 66/67. It is an arbitrary age based on actuarial calculations that would keep the NATIONAL INSURANCE FUND viable. It is voluntary. Note that the persons from BIDC would begin getting their pensions years before they reach that age. Persins MUST not keep thinking that the same conditions apply to Statutory Corporations and the regular Civil servants they have separate guidelines.

25. @ De Word

You have made two very good and well balanced contributions.

26. the same ole same ole shitt talk from Deputy Daw alias bush sh .t,
    The question to YOU deputy Dawg Have You Not Benefited from policies that was instrumental to your progress . Have You Not? So why Now You and others see the need to kick the bottom of the bucket out instead of using measures to repair or correct the leakage
    Why is it so important that change of direction must be climaxed through chaos and
    mayhem
    Deputy Daawg Have people of your ilk forgotten the many gains and benefits which you have derived through the very system that you are trying to dismantle .
    What is at stake is not the right or wrong but the measure taken to correct measures that can be explosive not so much as to affect the rich or well to do but to wreck have on the weak and vulnerable in the nation.
    Have we become so self centered that out of principal we cease to remember that Barbados is the only place we can call home and the need to rest and put aside differences in issues that affect the best interest if nation and all it people takes precedent.
    Yes it is time for a change but not one that is guided by political opportunism but one that is guided by ethics integrity and moral persuasion
    Leaders lead people would follow gazing back on the turn of events we saw leadership that was bent on a Will that was designed to destroyed and strike fear with an uncompromising need to grasp and observed what is best for the country.
    AS one writer in his column today points out Roland Reagean did not entertain the strikers Will to impose and dismantle and disrupt the security of the nation ,but put the well being and security of the country and its people first

27. @ AC
    Why is it so important that change of direction must be climaxed through chaos and
    mayhem
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    It ISN’T……

Tell Froon to call elections next time he rouses…

28. Dems and Bees be damned, a new political party is being formed and there is at last an alternative – a choice apart from having to pick just one from two of the worst. Dems and Bees have had their run (and destroyed everything in sights), let us now move on to something else, hopefully better.

Let us review the aims and abilities of this new party, and perhaps leave the Dems and Bees behind fighting for a handful of votes with the Communists and Marxists… at last there is an opportunity to see what someone else can and will do – someone else who may not have all the yard fowls to pay off and gaping financial holes to fill.

Is RESPONSIBLE administration even possible in Barbados? Democracy worldwide seems to have degenerated into elected dictatorships – Stuart has amply demonstrated that if a Prime Minister in such an administration does nothing – and refuses to be proactive – then NOTHING GETS DONE in the entire country.

In Barbados that has led to the makings of a Greek Tragedy.

Do not allow anyone to fool you, Barbados is in DIRE financial straits. And that situation is entirely 100% totally due to political and economic maladministration.

Perhaps if this new party was elected, Barbados could lead the world in legislation making stupid political decisions punishable by jail time. Then, perhaps, while discussing decisions our so-called “leaders” might give some thought to how their decisions might actually affect their people, economy and country.

Because right now nobody on high seems to give a damn how their decisions affect the rest of us. And that’s the truth.

29. The BLPites can jump high or jump low….but in Barbados we don’t do so!

We change our governments through the ballots…NOT through riotus behaviour.

So here is a recap :

Both parties take their case to the electorate

In 2008 the DEMS put up Owen Arthur $750,000.00 cheque (meant for the BLP) but ended up in his personal bank account!

In 2013 PM Stuart put up on the big screen, Owen Arthur’s note to him to ‘trade’ Mia Mottley (though MAM and OSA were telling all and sundry the Bees UNITED!

Well the 2018 dossier already have in enough to give MAM….nightmares. Too bad this time around…….OSA have jumped from her ship bawling…..’MAM and her BLP have lost their soul’
    Who does MAM and her BLP scallywaga think they fooling
    ….?????

Surely not George Payne……
    who perpetually calls her a THIEF….

BLP…
    JOKERS

30. @ Bush shit

Why don’t you answer the Question Jas

31. alvin cummins July 12, 2015 at 8:42 AM #

“For those who talk about age discrimination, it exist all the time everywhere. Isn’t it age discrimination when persons are restricted from voting until they reach the sge of 18? Isn’t it age discrimination when a 12 year old murders someone and is tried in juvenile court? etc.”

So, Cummins, you are essentially implying that if a man does not allow his 9 year old to attend “Bridgetown Market” or “Kadooment” unsupervised, but at the same time allows his 18 year old daughter to attend those events, his actions are tantamount to age discrimination.

You suggested to BU that contributors “who want to get facts check your internet, there you will find answers to much of what you are ignorant about, instead of spreading false information or spouting disinformation.” So, I checked the internet for a definition of “age discrimination.”

The Australian Human Rights Commission defines age discrimination as “when a person is treated less FAVOURABLY than another person in a similar situation, because of their age.”

“For example, it could be ‘direct age discrimination’ if an older applicant is not considered for a job because it is assumed that they are not as up to date with technology as a younger person.”
    “It is also age discrimination when there is a rule or policy that is the same for everyone but has an unfair effect on people of a particular age. This is called ‘indirect discrimination’…..”
    “For example, it may be indirect age discrimination if an employer requires an older person to meet a physical fitness test – which more young people are able to meet – if the fitness standard is not an inherent requirement of the job.”

Can you state, beyond reasonable doubt, that an individual under the age of 18 is being treated UNFAVORABLY if he is ineligible to vote; or if a 12 year old alleged murderer is tried as a juvenile?

Therefore, I’m suggesting to you that your above examples of age discrimination are very flawed and you are guilty “of spreading false information or spouting disinformation.”

32. @David,
    I read the articles you referred me to, and also Jeff’s other article in Barbados Today. The legal teams will have a field day. It may even have to go to the Caribbean Court of Justice eventually.

The thing to be argued; at least one, is the legality of the contractual agreement. The workers agreed to terms under the old act. The new ERA came into effect and they did not seek to alter the terms of their contract. Are they still eligible for new terms of employment, which would have to be renovated? And since they did not act on this in a timely manner, under what terms of employment are they covered? You cannot separate the rights of the employer to apply only one part of the original agreement.

Jeff never touched this part. What is his opinion on this in terms of contractual obligations of employer and employee.

33. @Artaxerxes,

I was not talking about parental control. I was referring to government or other controls; movie houses that restrict entry to persons under a certain age etc.

As I mentioned elsewhere the major issue for me is the fact that the persons employed AGREED to the terms when they applied for and were given the positions with the corporations. HAVING SIGNED ON HOW CAN THEY SAY THAT THE EMPLOYER IS UNFAIRING THEM.
    David referred me to an article posted by Caswell who referred to a contribution in Hansard where she pointed out that the terms and conditions did not prevent an employee from retiring early. Where is the difference?

34. Fractured BLP,

Is that how you treat people who voted from you since the days of Errol Barrow. You can’t keep me on the BLP Opposition bench as I never sat on it. It is poor, misguided souls such as yourself that will keep this country on its knees where the DLP has brought it.

35. Artexertes,

Thank you for always taking the time to expose these stupid arguments for what they are. I really don’t have the patience to do so.

36. Ac switched personality again. Unfortunately though more intelligible she is still lacking in intelligence.

37. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins
    “the major issue for me is the fact that the persons employed AGREED to the terms when they applied for and were given the positions with the corporations. HAVING SIGNED ON HOW CAN THEY SAY THAT THE EMPLOYER IS UNFAIRING THEM.”
    The Employment Rights Act 2012 introduced a number of employment provisions which apply to existing and new employees. Take an easy example. If you were employed a number of years ago on the basis that you had a verbal agreement as to the terms of your employment, the Act overrides that and makes it obligatory for you to have a written contract. It is not sufficient to say your original agreement stands; the new law has changed things – that’s what laws do.

38. Fractured BLP Avatar

Donna go and take a bush bath!

You now recognise that the BLP you rigidly support is a fractured party.

Kerrie Symonds hate MAM!

George Payne hate MAM!

Edmund Hinkson hate Payne!

And there are Court documents to prove all of the above !

BLP……United…….meh A$$ !!!!!

39. @Fractured

Is the Eager 11 sorry they failed?

40. You silly fellow,

If you could read well you would see that I ruefully admitted voting DLP up until the last election. My father voted D, my mother voted D, my brother voted D. We have all been Dems forever.

Thanks for the advice. I’ve already had my bush bath. Afterwards the spell was broken and that’s when I saw your party for what it has become rather than what it used to be.

Now take my foolish advice and don’t open this can of worms!

41. @St. George Dragon.

“If you were employed a number of years ago on the basis that you had a verbal agreement as to the terms …”
    We are not talking about verbal agreements, These are signed contractsThe conditions were agreed to during the era of the OSA administration.They did not apply for renegotiation of their contracts, to remove this anomaly when the new legislation was passed See how many things the present government has to undo that were the offspring of the past administration.

42. @David,
    sorry for what? Failed to do what?

43. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins
    You are missing the point. Let me give you another example. If you were employed a number of years ago under a written contract of employment that said you were entitled to one week’s notice of termination by your employer, you are now entitled to the numbers of weeks set out in the Act, so four weeks where you have been employed more than five years but less than ten.
    As I said before, it is not sufficient to say your original agreement stands; the new law has changed things – that’s what laws do.

44. Fractured BLP Avatar

Donna

You claim you bathe…..try again….
    .you smelling like a BEE HIVE !

45. Fractured Head,

Wrong again!

But a bee hive produces delicious honey and bees are essential for life on earth, aren’t they?

Thanks. I’ll take that as a compliment.

46. Fractured BLP Avatar

Donna

If you are so worthwhile…..then why they smoke out your hive?

47. @Fractures

Instead of using the forum to challenge and debate the issues you come with this school boy crap? Barrow must be turning.

On 12 July 2015 at 20:57, Barbados Underground wrote:

48. Fractured BLP Avatar

Go and pick up seaweed !
    Do something good fuh your country for once