The double positive whammy for our tourism sector last week was the number of English cricket supporters who came for the Kensington staging of the cricket test match and the announcement by JetBlue that it was introducing a weekly seasonal flight on Saturdays non-stop from Boston.

From the first flight which began on 7th November it could easily add about 4,000 American arrival numbers until the service halts on 30th April next year. It also gives us another incredible gateway from a market that many know could witness significant increases over the next few years. While the 48 square miles that make up the actual city of Boston boasts a population of about 646,000 inhabitants, within the area known as Greater Boston some 4.5 million people reside making it the country’s tenth largest metropolitan density.

At first concern may be expressed about a single flight per week but you should remember the Americans generally have shorter holidays and many of those are crammed between two weekends therefore a Saturday departure is perfect. Often overlooked are the physiological flight times departing Boston at 7.45am with a scheduled arrival time of 1.30pm, allowing most visitors time to journey from the airport to accommodation, check-in, unpack and possibly sea bathe before dark. The return flight leaves at 2.35pm, so even after allowing time at the airport a midday check-out with almost a full morning in the sun.

Equally important is that it gives us a direct service out of New England and it is difficult to see what better visitor demographics could be presented to us. Connecticut, Rhode Island, New Hampshire, Vermont, Maine and even upstate New York cities like Albany, suddenly become a lot closer and substantially more accessible, dispensing with timely connections through JFK or Liberty Airports.

Having stated many of the pluses there is absolutely no room for complacency either in the public or private tourism sector. We have a summer of opportunity and while many still believe we can increase our dependency on tour operators or wholesalers to fill those seats my thoughts are that this industry is a people business and frankly it always will be.

The BTA (then) and BHTA Capital Radio bus promotional tour of the British mainland was in my humble opinion a tremendous idea and maybe this is one of the best approaches to entice New Englanders to our shores. We have this incredible myriad of accommodation options, a wonderful choice of restaurants and very few can take our amazing climate out of the equation. A group of hoteliers, villa rental agencies, attractions and activity operators travelling together with one sole common purpose, to drive additional arrivals. While a lot more has to be done before this could happen, such a road show could take place when airfares and hotel rates start to fall from the second week of September in that part of the USA, helping to keep down participation costs. Somebody should do the math and ask the question – what reasonable revenue could be generated for the country with a potential 4,000 extra visitors staying on average 7 days.

72 responses to “Barbados is an Attractive Product”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David [BU]

De ole man jes had a thought!!

Suppose David Ellis is AC? Suppose dat is why de two uh dem mekking dese ingrunt statements

Whuloss!!

2. You guys should know by now how David Ellis operates. In his quest to be a provocative moderator, he usually plays the “devil’s advocate” or seeks to “bring balance” by presenting his personal, (sometimes uninformed), opinion or “spin” to the discussion.

3. It seems that any goods news to highlight barbados policies towards progress gives the blp misfits gripe. The article also mention Spain and Malta as being very progressive and ambitious in their policies in tourism as a matter of fact Spain was no1.Malta also got a first place ranking.T u blp rift rafts and prophets i implore u to read the article and saved your anti barbados attacks when and if the need arises. The unpatriotic blubber on this site is mostly revealing.

Btw Adrien u ought to thank ac for generating comments although as i predicted the blp misfits would only endorse those poision pen articles that attack govt.i also implore u to hastily to get back to the drawing board and do dilligence before the blp misfit lose all faith in u

4. So why don’t you cease commenting on BU?

Unless of course you have not anything else to occupy you and are addicted to this site.

5. Sigh!…steupse….

6. Colonel Buggy Avatar

The Barbadians people may be more attractive than Barbados itself . And we are not talking good looks here.
    How else can you interpret it, when in today’s newspapers we see the T&T owned Massy advertising “Lots of band house space for Foreday Morning and Crop over”. Space obviously of the former DaCosta Mannings, et al, which were closed down putting may out of work, and left abandoned.
    Perhaps with the many redundancies made at the Electric Company, we may see them too, trying to rake in loads of cash,on short rental of their disused properties.
    PRIDE and Industry. As the Guyanese Engineer who came to Barbados, and had to work as a labourer said, ” look what the frig , we have come to.”

7. I find this posting from Adrian desperate and tragic. I am aware that he is a hotelier and has a vested interest in promoting the tourist trade within Barbados. He places too much emphasis on tourist numbers? Are we to assume that the arrival of 4,000 Americans will automatically produce a growth in our GDP figures? I would like to know the true figure of how much money we make from the tourist industry. I believe that it would be dismal.

As our economy shrinks we seem to be focusing most of our efforts on promoting our tourist industry. So much for diversification! If we are to put our eggs in one basket, then we should fully commit to making Barbados a place fit for tourists. The interior of the country and the coastline should be beautified. This would include landscaping the island, renovating Barbados historic buildings and adopting a strategy where Bajan homeowners become real stakeholders of the tourist industry by opening up their homes to tourists.

Sea, sand and jump-up-music are fundamental to those tourists who have a stereo-typical view of a Caribbean holiday; however, this will never be enough for the sophisticated traveller.

8. I think you guys should take a look at this video. I believe that it has been posted in the wrong place. It will shock you to the core.

Reposting:

Anthony May 13, 2015 at 3:17 PM #

REAL Undercover – The Marriott Hotel Guyana

If there was a prize for the worst Marriott Hotel in the world, with the worst beach in the world…this would get it. Join Real Guyana on an undercover tour of the new Marriott Hotel Guyana so you can see what the $12billion dollars ($12,000,000,000) stolen from taxpayers by the Bharrat Jagdeo, PPP/C government.

9. Well even barbadians are getting their share of the good news as the country was voted the second best to have the most beautiful females in the world

10. Yes right behind Armenian women, this year the men obviously have chosen the hairier the better route instead of beauty and figure after the jokes about Brazilian women being number 1 last year. The real good news is I see no drop in alcohol sales anytime soon.

11. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Rihanna was the poster girl for Bajan women ,and Bajan women were placed high in the ranking. Bajan men did not get a 2nd , 3rd or 50th look. I wonder who was the poster boy for us Bajan men?

12. @ ac May 13, 2015 at 6:16 PM #

“Well even barbadians are getting their share of the good news as the country was voted the second best to have the most beautiful females in the world…..”

Yes, ac, we are getting our share of the good news. We know the Democratic Labour Party is a party that places a particular emphasis on the development of Barbadians.

Therefore ac, forget the BLP misfits and yardfowls, join with me in thanking the Honourable PM Stuart and his team of competent ministers for implementing policies which has made it possible for Barbados having the most beautiful females in the world.

13. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Czar Kastic May 13, 2015 at 10:10 PM #
    …………..join with me in thanking the Honourable PM Stuart and his team of competent ministers for implementing policies which has made it possible for Barbados having the most beautiful females in the world.
    ………………………………………………………………..
    One thing that we can say about them, they are not selfish.

14. Czar u idiot..now join with me and thank the Freundel Stuart administration for not being part of the blp bandwagon that want to see Barbados covered in doom and gloom

15. AC you mutt. If barbadian women are so hot …why do all the guys want tourist chicks….is it because your not heavy enough for this gang of chubby chasers. Hardly LOL

16. Lawson bajan guys looking fuh cheap tricks and quick money..things that you are quite familiar with. i bet a white chick was a meal ticket anda quick visa to canada fuh u

17. and here is another piece of news that would never be posted on bu.Jamaica trails barbados according to the Global Travel and Tourism Competitiveness Report 2015 in travel and tourism product

18. Bajan men are some of the toughest dudes I know, anybody that can get a fat chicks jeans down to her ankles and.. even though her ass is still in them .. will still have sex with her is one sick puppy and deserves that quick money.

19. Farewell BB King

20. why all the scribble above the comments.it needs to be removed.it is annoying

21. Colonel Buggy Avatar

lawson May 14, 2015 at 12:00 PM #

Bajan men are some of the toughest dudes I know.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………..
    A fellow on the block told me that if Barbados wants to get rid of the sargassum seaweed overnight, they should try marketing it to the Bajan man, as Hard Rock , a Medicine to Raise the dead, and as a Long Stay visitor.

22. Bajan guys haven’t got it right yet ,they should charge by the pound and not the act then they would be rich enough to import others to pick up that seaweed.